Read Ambit Energy Reviews



Ambit Energy


( 2.6 / 5 )

258 Reviews

Replies

Founded in 2006 and headquartered in Dallas, TX, Ambit Energy is one of the fastest growing energy companies in America. Ambit started by selling electricity and have since expanded into selling natural gas in many different deregulated markets including: New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Illinois and Texas.

Seen by some as controversial, Ambit Energy primarily acquires customers through multi-level-marketing practices. Ambit Energy Marketing Consultants pay a one time fee of $429 to Ambit Energy and Affiliate Partners pay a one time fee of $99. Both Marketing Consultants and Affiliate Partners then attempt to recoup their investments by receiving sales commissions for signing up new customers or other marketing consultants.

Top Pick
Low Rate
Best Green Plan
Free Power
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Reliant Energy | PUCT# 10007
4Change Energy | PUCT# 10041
Green Mountain Energy | PUCT# 10009
Direct Energy | PUCT# 10040

Savings are great and customer service is awesome!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit is the best energy service I have ever had. Straight forward, no teaser rates or hidden fees.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The absolute best company ever!!! Free Energy is the way to go! Travel Reward Points per kilowatt that I use!!! Thank you Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consultants are top-notch! Never had an energy company that actually CALLS ME to make sure I renew at the best rate possible until I switched to Ambit Energy. If you want personal service, this is your company!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a customer with Ambit for 2 years now. They beat TXU price by almost half. I have had no issues with them and highly recommend them to any/all electricity users.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been so pleased with Ambit Energy since we became customers in the Fall of 2011. We had been with one of the largest retail companies in Texas for 34 years and I discovered that we were paying way too much for our electricity. I had to do something!! Right away we started paying less each month. After 11 months our light bill came over 70-80% lower! We now receive Free Electricity Credit every single month!! I am so thankful that God brought Ambit Energy to us!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Savings are great and customer service is awesome!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit is the best energy service I have ever had. Straight forward, no teaser rates or hidden fees.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The absolute best company ever!!! Free Energy is the way to go! Travel Reward Points per kilowatt that I use!!! Thank you Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consultants are top-notch! Never had an energy company that actually CALLS ME to make sure I renew at the best rate possible until I switched to Ambit Energy. If you want personal service, this is your company!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a customer with Ambit for 2 years now. They beat TXU price by almost half. I have had no issues with them and highly recommend them to any/all electricity users.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been so pleased with Ambit Energy since we became customers in the Fall of 2011. We had been with one of the largest retail companies in Texas for 34 years and I discovered that we were paying way too much for our electricity. I had to do something!! Right away we started paying less each month. After 11 months our light bill came over 70-80% lower! We now receive Free Electricity Credit every single month!! I am so thankful that God brought Ambit Energy to us!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been an Ambit Energy customer since June of 2014. Great customer service and competitive rates. They also have an incredible referral program that any customer can earn FREE ENERGY credits up to the entire bill minus the applicable taxes. This is a monthly credit I have been enjoying since October of 2014. Feel free to call me to verify this information as accurate, but you won't because this website is bogus. Have a nice day. 214-205-0124


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I HAVE BEEN WITH AMBIT ENERGY FOR A WHILE AND I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS. PAY YOUR ENERGY BILL ON TIME AND YOU WILL BE FINE!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If you call them to fix an issue or to get a standard discount, they will say you have pay the full amount first in order to get the discout and they charge $5 extra to process the payment. In order to get a few cents doscount you will end up paying mote money. And the communication between two representatives will have two different information and you will emd up with a headache and a hold on the line for hours. Very bad customer service. Specially, if you have a iphone, you don't have access to mobile app or to their online acct.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

this company will change you bills due and the will disconnect the electric in 90 degree day with out notify the customer Stay away from it .


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I switched to Ambit Energy 5 years ago after being completely dissatisfied with TXU energy as they were charging me 16.9 cents per kwh. Ambit provided a great rate of 9.0 cents per kWh and offered me the opportunity to earn free energy every month if I referred 15 customers. To date, I have received over $7,500 in free energy credit from Ambit. Thank you so much as it allow me to pay off all my credit card debt. Great company!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

These guys are a bunch of crooks. I set a cancellation date months in advance because I moved out of the apartment. I got verification MULTIPLE times that the once the contract ended that they would automatically cancel the service. Got a huge bill a month after the supposed cancellation date. I called and they claim they have no automatic cancellation and refused to give any kind of explanation or refund. So they essentially told me the new people in my old apartment got a free month on ME. Absolutely embarrassed that I could get scammed by such a "well known" company, I guess that's why they have contracts and huge early cancellation fees because they know they will provide terrible service and we will be trapped into paying.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware!... yes they are a rip off. Avoid Ambit Energy at all costs! I would not recommend this service to my worse enemy!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horable service across the board! Thay will find a way to rip you off! I've been a client of Ambit Energy for 4 years now. I went through a some hard time and had to have an extension on my account, customer service was very poor about explaining the process, and making sure that I knew the steps in order for my extension to be completed. In result my service was disconnected and I was charged after 4 years??? I was charged an extremely ridiculous amount deposit fee???? Really??? after 4 years of being with the company???? Customer service was not genuine, they were cold-hearted and all about getting their money! I will be switching and going to another company, I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy!please avoid at all costs!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was out of town for 2 weeks I get back and see a disconnection notice so I called ambit to see where I can make payment so they get it quickly the representative tells me several pay location where I can make my payments I go make my payment and call ambit back and tell them I have made my payment and the representative tell me your payments has not posted. I provided a confirmation number and representative say confirmation does not make a difference if we do not get your payment your services will be disconnected. I explain to the representative that I have a new born and can not be without light the manger stated there is nothing they can do . So I had to make another payments, So I pretty much have a 200.00 credit on my account. THIS IS RIDICULOUS YOU PEOPLE NEED TO GET A SYSTEM THAT WORKS AND STOP RIPPING PEOPLE OFF BY HAVING CREDITS CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS . AND YOUR MANAGEMENT CUSTOMER SERVICES SUCK !!!!!!! I WISH I CAN CHANGE LIGHT COMPANY BUT THIS IS ONLY LIGHT COMPANY THAT SERVICES THE AREA I LIVE... As you can see I did not give you people any dam lights.. Because your customer services suck and your receiving payment is the WORST !!!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a loyal customer with Ambit for over 6 years. Along with the fair pricing I also enjoy the rewards vacation and the referral program allowing me to get FREE electricity.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been an Ambit customer since 2015. They're always disconnecting my service without notification. And when they disconnect my service, its usually because of a balance due of $20. Customer Service is not 24 hours and that's even worse, especially if you're reactivating services. You'll just have to wait until Monday. In addition to my services being disconnected, I contacted them because I was curious to why am I still received a bill if my contract ended. I was told that if I were not to call them to disconnect my services, I will still be billed month-to-month. Which is ridiculous because I'm basically paying them for someone else using the electricity. So after speaking with the supervisor, you'd think that they will delete the balance due or at least take care of it. He insisted that I'd pay for it or it will go to a collection agency. THE WORST ENERGY COMPANY EVER!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I missed my payment by a couple of days and charged me 7 times the amount of my bill just to restore service. Bill was approximately 32 bucks and charged me upwards of 200 just to restore my service. Customer support supervisor was super rude and said that I could cancel and pay them 200 dollars for early termination of contract. I literally just paid 5 months of electricity for a on time late fee. Oh and since they don't own my meter I have to pay the other company that own meter a fee too. Typical companies that nickel and dime you until the end.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been on the service for 2 years. I have no issues or complaints....


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a customer of Ambit for going on 6 years. As I read some of these complaints on here, I can see that most complaints are from people that don't pay their bills on time. My billing is always accurate. I have never had a problem with monthly auto draft. Their pricing is always great. Plus I have referred enough clients that I receive a huge discount off my electricity every month. Most months it is completely waived. My last bill was only $9.10 . Their perks are outstanding.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have joined Ambit Energy for 2 years now and I have no problems. knock on wood! The renewal rate is competitive to other company and the customer service was great when I called in. I love the points that I can use to travel and book hotel. I am saving up my points to take a trip to Cancun. How many company out there can offer you that for using their energy. I have this great consultant that answer all my questions and concerns. I have referred 10 customers already. 5 more customers and I will get free energy. This is a great company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Because I did not get some paperwork back to them, (we were in the middle of emptying our house to have the floors refinished) our rate more than doubled. When I called them the only thing they offered was to sign me back up for the lowest rate that would take one to two billing cycles to show up. They will rip you off if they get the chance!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed with Ambit Energy to help a friend that was a consultant. The promise of travel rewards was a nice perk and the rates were average. I encountered a billing error on one of the months; we normally pay $70 month for our apartment, but it jumped to $250 and I immediately contacted support. First of all, they are hard to get a hold of with customer care hours ending at 6pm on weekdays CST. That means having to take time off of work to be put on hold to attempt to speak with someone. When I do get to speak with someone, they want to blame the customer first...I got responses like are you sure you turned off your A/C...Our avg bill for the past 6-7months was $70 and it spike to $250....I was finally passed through to someone that assured me that they would send someone out to read my meter to fix. They do get one light bulb for ultimately resolving the issue, but it was a terrible experience. Oh, did I mention the travel rewards were not worth it. You get 1 pt for 1 kwH, trips cost 25k to 45k pts and had lots of stipulations and limited dates (down season). Needless to say, I left Ambit as soon as my contract expired.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

all you need to do is pay your bill on time. 8yrs no issues


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been an Ambit customer since 2009. They disconnected my service without notification once when I went to pay online and the transaction did not go through for some reason. I was never notified that there was a problem. When I called them back and tried to explain, they said they are able to see when someone was on their website and they had no record that I was on it the day I told them. I knew the day because I made a note in my checkbook. I told them I definitely was on the website and I would look up my computer history to show them when my electricity came back on. They charged me disconnect fees along with others and required a deposit to turn my electricity back on. After my electricity came back on, my computer history in fact did show that I was on the ambit bill pay site that day. They didn't care. Now, they have screwed up my billing for the past several months. I get one bill that says I owe one amount, or have a credit, and then get a disconnect notice the day after my bill is due, all because of their shoddy billing. It is an absolute joke. I haven't received a correct bill in months. I go to the online area to verify it and it is the same as my incorrect bill. Today, the lady told me to ignore the amount due and just pay the current charges amount from the usage. I told her I expected their math to be right and be able to tell me how much was due on my bill. These people are a special kind of STUPID! I am gone!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We've had Ambit for almost 2 years and we've had no issues with them. Sure the price went up a bit but we expected that along with higher usage in the summer especially living in Texas. I can see other people have complained but we've had no issues especially since we moved up to the DFW area from South Texas where it wasn't common to "shop" for an energy provider. Ambit will also allow you to pay your bill online for free provided you're paying with your checking/savings account.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely the worse energy company! Stay far far away!!! I signed up with them in 2012. They screwed me with my renewal in 2014 so when moving in 2015 I decided to find a new energy company. Although I did call to cancel my service (I was told that it was no worries and that it would be done by a particular date). I'm still being charged and it's just ever so convenient that they have no record of my call to them when I canceled. They will take your money and are truly deceitful. Horrible customer service! Save yourself the stress!!! They are no help!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Everything was going along fine until I was a victim of credit card fraud. I had to get a new credit card and I took the time to notify all those that were on auto pay. My next bill came on my credit card just fine. But the following bill I got a cut-off notice. When I called to find out they are trying to say that my new Credit Card number was used for a one time only payment and not put me on auto-pay again. So now I have the choice to pay online monthly and have to pay $2.50 each month, or pay $700 for two bills to get back on auto-pay. I offered to make my monthly payment plus $50 to widdle away at the second month bill, I can do that but I won't be on auto-pay until it is a zero balance. Plus I will have to pay the $2.50 monthly fee. All this because I was the victim of credit card theft. You would think they could look at your previous history and make some exceptions for this. Speaking to a manager did not change a thing! Counting my days to cancel this service!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates kept going up year after year, while payment via online using a credit card is charged "$2.50 - Electronic processing fee" With all of the power transmission fees and usage fees, this is a pretty good deal for Ambit. Kind of like how asian business only accept cash, no fees.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Granted, I live in an older, not very well insulated apartment with one energy efficient major kitchen appliance, but after the TDU fees and all, I pay $135/month on average. I also missed the fine print that you're charged $10 if you use less than 1000 kW, which was the case when I tried to lessen my expenses by turning off everything on surge protectors. I haven't had any issues requiring me to call customer service, I just attribute the expense to my selecting them as my option and not using the Power To Choose website. I'll soon be moving and changing companies as well. One with no minimum electricity usage.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love getting rewards for something I'm buying month after month


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was actually a consultant for this company when they first started out. I signed up with them and I have been with them for years. However, I think our relationship is now coming to an end. My bill is suddenly astronomical! Within 2 short months, my bill doubled! I really don't know why! I have looked into my usage, my bills, my plan...nothing makes sense as to my why bill suddenly went from $90ish to just under $200 for an 800sqft. apartment. I think it might have to do with their usage variations, but I guess we shall see. My answer from them is still pending. They're relatively pleasant to speak with and try to be helpful, but if you are looking for a similar bill amount each month, this would not be my pick. Plus, their rates have increased, so you can probably find a better-suited provider in your area for less. Good luck!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highly do not recommend


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've read a lot of the reviews on here and I am shocked. I have not experienced any issues what so ever. We've had Ambit for just over a year now and I'm truly loving the service. Are they perfect, no. But neither is any other company. As long as you pay your bills on time and pay attention to your renewal dates, all will be well.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was only a customer with Ambit for a few months. 1. I paid a half payment for my bill on 8/15/15 because I did not have enough to pay the $108 bill for a 600 square foot apartment using the air conditioner at 80 degrees from 8pm to 8am and I take my laundry to a washateria. 2. I received a voicemail on Saturday 8/29/15 that my bill needed attention.. 3. I received another voicemail on Saturday 9/12/15 that my bill need attention. 4. I checked my mail on Sunday 9/13/15 and saw my normal white envelope that was my Ambit billing statement that I threw on the counter to open later. 4. I came home from work Monday, 9/14/15 at around 7:30 p.m. and saw my electricity has been turned off. 5. I called Ambit and their automated system said their business hours are form 8am-6pm central time and that in order to turn my electricity back on I had to pay $309 dollars including a $125 deposit, $40 disconnect fee, $25 reconnect fee and a $53.79 past due payment and all of it had to be paid before I turn my electricity on and NO ONE WAS THERE TO TALK TO WORK OUT A PAYMENT PLAN TO EVEN TURN MY ELECTRICITY BACK ON AFTER 6PM! 6. I called a friend to stay with until the next day. 7. I called Ambit the next day at work and was on hold for 30 minutes before I could talk to a live person. 8. Finally I spoke to Longa and when I asked if would work out a payment plan because I did not have $309 to turn the electricity on she repeated over and over that I had to pay $309 before I can turn on the power and that she did not have the authority to accept a payment plan. 9. I asked to speak to a manager and was on hold for 30 minutes before I hung up. 10. My coworker told me to call Reliant. 11. I called Reliant and they are open 24/7 if my power goes off and they take payment plans if it does, and I said sign me up! 12. My power was on that afternoon! No deposit! No Problem! MY ELECTRICITY WAS DISCONNECTED FOR JUST A $53.79 PAST DUE BALANCE A FRIENDS ELECTRICITY WAS DISCONNECTED FOR A 7 CENT PAST DUE BALANCE


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

These ppl rip off customers and they are the worst electric company that I've ever dealt with in my 50 years on this earth. I had to use them while I lived at The Enclave at Hometown apartments, because we were having a home built. I never paid as much monthly as I did with this company in my life. In my opinion and if you have an option, do not go with this company, it's terrible what they do to their customers. And if you try to have issues figured out with the customer service people, don't bother because it's a waste of your time. They don't fix anything and pretend like you are who is wrong.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience as an Ambit customer for 5 years has been very positive.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Order shut off on the 29th. They shut off on 20th. Centerpoint needs order to activate. So no electrify during summer for 2 days since Ambit has NO weekend hours. STAY AWAY!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have many properties that are rentals and resale projects , a friend of mind suggested I try Ambit Energy . The service is OK , the communication is very challenging /


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit really messed my billing for multiple accounts which i have for 2 different rental properties. They disconnected the electric the same day that I called to question a weird, never seen before charge on a bill. When I called day later about the disconnected service, the rep said that she understood what happened and waived the disconnect /reconnect fee. She never sent the order to reconnect service to AEP. The following day electric service was finally restored after my tenant was without electricity for nearly 2 days. Ambit reps could not tell me why the service was disconnected or why the order was never sent for reconnection. HORRIBLE billing & customer service. They couldn't care less if you remain a customer.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Even though there is an error in my bill and my lights got turned off.... Once I paid what they said I owed my lights were back on within 30 minutes after hours! So I have to be thankful for that until I get to call in tomorrow morning!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The billing and customer service departments are nightmares. I had an issue with adding a new checking account. I think what happened is I entered the number incorrectly. I called multiple times and was told my payment was fine. Then I get a call saying it wasn't and that I'll have a fee... even though the gal I talked to couldn't help me fix the problem. I couldn't figure out how to delete or edit the account information and it wouldn't let me add the account because I already had one with that number. so I call customer service and am then told I have a 12 month block that will prevent me from even paying with a checking account at all. The supervisor says there is nothing they can do about it. My deal is if I couldn't edit the account numbers or even see the account numbers I put in I don't know if they are scamming me or if it was my mistake. I asked what the account and routing numbers were and no one I talked to apparently had the ability or authority to see them... they just knew the payment didn't process... even though I was told everything was fine. The short version... shady, not helpful, parrot policy customer service because the only thing anyone could say is the exact sentence over and over, and an overall lack of training with their employees. Also, I tried to get help through their Facebook page and they deleted my comment. So now I am looking for every review site so no one has to be as irritated and frustrated and the lack of resolution as I am.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I can tell you 1 thing guys. If you want to really NOT UNDERSTAND what is going on with your gas bill and who gets what and why something is showing and other thing is not- this is your place. I am completely NOT SATISFIED with AMBIT ENERGY and I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND TO USE THEM


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is a great company if 1. You love a company that can't keep accurate accounting records 2. You love having your ambit account hacked with and having your billing information changed automatically (you automatically get to pay extra for that feature). 3. You love being put on hold for long periods of time with annoying music for customer service 4. You love having simple features such as setting up autopay online not work properly 5. You have total faith that if something can get screwed up will get screwed up with billing 6. You love customer service representatives who play around with your billing information to see if they can make different numbers work better 7. You love waiting extra long periods of time to speak with a managers 8. You don't mind that your Ambit problem won't be solved on the first phone call to customer service 9. You don't mind that Your Ambit problem won't be handled on the 2nd phone call to customer service 10. You're aware that either your credit card number or address will change by the time you've finally ironed out all your current issues with Ambit. I have never experienced such a poor company to work with. I have now been on my decent to hell with them for more than 2 years. The good rates are not worth the hassle. Yes, Ambit, we will be parting ways. Changing credit cards for autopay has been a complete nightmare. Their automated system crashes on my account every time I need to change the credit card. I call customer service (wait 20 minutes through their annoying music with their stupid recordings just waiting for the one that says to press a button and they'll call back, but I rarely get that courtesy). Once I get them on the line, they ping my credit card (successfully twice) to make sure it works, then they tell me the credit card doesn't work. I call my credit card company and they tell me that Ambit successfully pinged the account and charge the credit card $0.01 2 times, then the 3rd time, they typed in the wrong 3 CVV code. Don't you think the first correct ping was sufficient! The best time - was when all had been going well with autopay for 9 months and I get a phone message and an email that my credit card on file is no longer working. What? I go into my records, and they have somehow pulled up an old credit card (that had been deleted from the system 9 months before) and were trying to charge the old credit card. No record of the new credit card. Customer service tells me that their records show that I have been paying with the old credit card for months! I look at my new credit card statements for the previous 9 months and Ambit regularly charged my new credit card! Do not use this company. Your hair will turn gray, your stomach will ache, you will explode while talking with them.Pay attentions folks, this company will eat your insides.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have never been more satisfied with an electric company I have earned the 15 referrals to qualufy for free energy every month. If you pay your bill on time you should not have any problems. If you dont then that is your fault not ambits fault.. I will never be anyone elses customer. Thank you Ambit fot all the special perks. I even got to go on a cruise thanks to Ambit Energy. Very happy customer.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was astonished that Ambit Energy offered an energy credit. I have now gotten the credit for three months in a row. All I can say is they really come through on there promises.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I foolishly renewed my contract with them and now my bill has nearly DOUBLED in price. They claim energy rates have gone UP since I signed up in July 2013. Sure they have, but not THAT much. Now I feel TRAPPED with a company that can charge me whatever they want. I am a widow and try to live as "Green" as I can. I can't afford to keep paying these rates. They are cutting off my power on the 29th because I don't get paid until the 30th. They wouldn't even bend to give me ONE DAY. I'll NEVER use them again.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Of all service companies I have used Ambit has continually far surpassed my expectations


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We were signed up with this fraudulent 3rd party scam. Do not sigh up with these ambit crooks and alert your family and friends of this travesty.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Always nice on the phone. I pay my bill on time every month. No issues. Rates are great! I am shocked to read some of the bad reviews. I have had no problems of any kind.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Had a 1100 sq ft apt bills ranged from $80-110. Never had any surprises or problems.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with ambit for over a year. Somehow there are always billing issues, they either don't use the correct rate or change my rate whenever they like. When they tell you that they have resolved your issue for calling what they really mean is that they will make crappy notes, not fix your problem and you can expect to call in and relive the experience every month. DO NOT CHOSE THIS COMPANY I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE HAPPY WITH THEM!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolute WORST customer service I have ever experienced . I cancelled and they kept charging me for TWO MONTHS without an email like they had always done to let me know I had a bill but noooo they just charged me and let a debt collector handle it. Total CROOKS


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is the worst I have had dealings with, took over 4 hours on the phone to get account open. Repeated calls, could not speak to same csr, on hold for hours, took 10 days to get power back on after a new account was setup.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit energy is awesome, not only do i get very cheap rates their customer service team is awesome!!! The women at Ambit will let you eat their pussy and cream pie their face whenever you want!! Why would anyone not want to switch?


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

current (for 3 years) ambit customer--never checked rates til this winters polar plunge.ambit is charging me some months 2 and one half times the amount the local supplier charges. they claim by the end of the year I will have saved from what national grid charges. in order for that to happen I will have to get some supply portion of my bills free. thay say they will send a check if overcharged. THEY DONT GIVE THEIR RATES LIKE OTHER SUPPLIERS DO THEY JUST SAY THEY WIIL SAVE YOU AND ITS VARIABLE. that's fooey!!! this month april to may national grid was 7cents per kwh-ambit was 16.7centsper kwh and similar bills the last 3/4 months. I guess im getting a big check at the end of the year!!! doubt it!!! I think companies not willing to publish rates are suspect like ambit. the only reason im still with them is I am friends with the consultant. they also lied to me about which plan imsupposed to be in.they wont tell you how much your current savings will be because there is none. I wish I had the time and patience to review my last 3 years of bills I cant trust them anymore and don't think ill continue


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Totally and completely heartless jerks. First time in 3 yrs I needed an extension and they refuse to give me two days to pay them. I have kids and all our food will spoil but they won't help at all. I've been a customer for 3 yrs without incident. Great way to show appreciation. Choose anyone but these a~holes. Anyone else.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yes the price of my service has gone up over the past three years, right along with the cost of living, salaries, and medical expenses. I really don't have to think about my service, it's there every time I plug in something and every time I flip a switch. I pay a little closer attention to how many "smart" pieces of electronics we have going and we pay our bill on time. I expect to get paid on time, I'm sure they do too. I strongly recommend AMBIT ENERGY.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

since we got it we have never had a problem


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is my experience with Ambit -- I had a 12 month contract with them, and a 12 month lease on my apartment. I called and paid what I owe on Dec 17th and was out the door. I asked them to cancel the service (as there were only 3 days left on my contract). Somehow they have no record of me canceling the service, yet gladly took the payment I made on the 17th over the phone. 5 Months later, with absolutely no communication (no e-mail, phone call etc) They sent me to collections on a 30 dollar balance that had late fees up to 80 dollars. They had automatically rolled me into a "month to month" plan, even though I had already moved and used zero energy. No one there is willing to help -- I paid the amount. But this is what I'm telling you to do if you use Ambit. 1.) Lawyer up! Just in case they try to pull a fast one on you 2.) If you're moving, make sure they actually close your account, and some random person in their service department doesn't just say they did, when they really didn't. 3.) Don't let them automatically roll you into a month to month 4.) Just because you pay "everything" you owe, doesn't mean there isn't another pending charge they haven't told you about. Other than that -- I didn't have much issue with the actual energy provided


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Had Ambit for 3 years at 6.0 a KWH and it jumped to .139 a KWH. would run as fast as I can. Have talk with others and we have all left Ambit this month. Would go so far as to call this a pyramid scheme.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed up in Jan 2014 for 12 months fixed at 7.59 in Ct no problems and very happy with results till MARCH 2014 seems a computer error switch my to 10.5 called on line for 20 minutes before they checked account and verified my 12 month rate promised to send a check in 7 days and so sorry. I know of 2 other ambit customers who were ripped off but did call in . looks like they did this to many customers CHECK ALL AMBIT BILLS VERY CLOSELY FOR A OVERCHARGE. JL MARCH 2014


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Made a huge mistake by choosing Ambit My bills literally doubled. I'm changing as quick As possible:/


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very difficult to make payments, high price charges.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched one of my businesses a few months ago. So far so good. Now have all 4 accounts with Ambit. Only complaints I have heard are from people that pay late or don't keep up with their responsibilities.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm a new customer to ambit. I was told they would connected next day with "expedited" service and a fee, but still no service. I was told one thing and they come out with another. I asked for my small deposit back, that they withdrew from my account in one day, and they can't refund me till 20-30 days via us parcel service. I even gave them a chance and asked if they could some how get service turned on the day I wanted to cancel and even at that , they couldn't do. Customer Service places you on hold for a long time and when they do answer they place u on hold again. What kind of training or call center is so poor! Wow! Very disappointed and that's because I was referred by a friend who works for the company. I will not support or recommend ambit. Bad service from the start. I will be taking this a step up an contacting the CEO and others at the top. Exploiting this company and it's misleading reps is what this company needs. Social media goes a long way. And incase the upper department reads this , you may contact me at red.salinas@live.com.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a customer for three years I pay my bill and I have no issues.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have had Ambit for 4 plus years now. The rates started off awesome but each year it increases. Im fine with the customer service never had a problem with it. My only problem is that rates keep increasing. I started off with 8cents and now its 10cents. Also they have a 9.99 charge each month if you use under 1000kw. I like the reward packeages also in which u get free hotel nights.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have no complaints as I'm loving the referral credits that I get on my bill every month. If there was a way to post them on here I would. What a program, a low fixed rate, travel rewards and other perks until you get to the point of getting FREE Energy - Where have you been all my life Ambit Energy !! Pay your bill on time and find 15 others to do the same and you can't be anything but Happy - Happy - Happy !! It was pretty much a no brainer to renew for another 24 months.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have had the worst experience with this company, they do not work with you and after reading all of these reviews, being as I've been with them for about 2 years now, I have had the same problem as most of the complainers! THIS COMPANY SUX AND THEY NEED A 24 HR SERVICE!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have had Ambit energy for about 3 years now. Signing up with no credit for my first apartment was not a bad experience at all. From my first apartment to a house and a baby on the way Ambit has been my electricity provider through it. I knew times were going to be tough when I would take my unpaid maternity leave and having no health insurance for the baby as well. For the month of January my electric bill was over $300 and was due around the time my 2 month year old had gotten a cold. My bill was due on the 16th so I called the 17th. After waiting for an hour to get a hold of a customer representative I had informed them that I had the money but if their was any other way I could make a payment arrangement because I had to take my sick baby to his doctor appointment where I would pay cash, she asked me the necessary questions to proceed and detailed her notes about my situation and how my husband gets paid every Friday so a payment every week would be made on account. After thanking the lady she told me to pay the next Friday and call back for an arrangement, so I did but after calling twice and no answer and long waiting hours I gave up but still made my payment through the automatic system. That was a Friday that following Monday they cut of my electric. After calling and asking why because I had made the payment the supervisor said its because I didn't call and that was the end of it. I asked her if she could cut it back on because of the cold temperatures and my two month year old was sick and I would just pay it all but she said she couldn't and there was nothing else she could do because I did not call. Never again will I be with this company again after being with a company for years and the circumstances they made me feel like I was trying to not pay.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payed online, the link acts like it is broke when you hit reenter, it deducts again without any conformation. Then when you call to dispute it, they don't want to refund your money. I wish you could give negative rating to this company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Kind customer service. Great rates and even cheaper with the convenient auto pay.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've been sucked into some kind of crazy cycle because I was late on my bill. They are now disconnecting my power every two weeks.(no exaggeration) They've switched my plans twice without me knowing and doubled my rates. Both times I didn't find out until my bill doubled. I've never experienced such poor customer service before. The "travel rewards" is just a scam. I can't wait to be free.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Please do not use Ambit Enrgy as your next electricity provider. They charge lot of extra fees. Even though you keep control on using the electricity at home the bill will drastically increase never decrease. Also one of the poorest customer service they are rude.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is without a doubt the WORST company for "customer service." I have just been on hold for 40 minutes in their "Customer Care" 800 number hell. I paid my October bill, on time, in November. I kept getting dunning letters which I ignored because I had paid my bill as always, using my bank's direct transfer service. After getting a letter threatening to cut off my power, I called them to see what the problem was, as the amount had been debited from my bank account on the payment date, but apparently never made it to my Ambit account. I have sent them everything they have asked for to prove the payment, it is now two months later, Ambit still "can't find" the money, and they again are threatening to cut off my power over my "past due" October bill (the succeeding November and December bills have been paid). So so so so very frustrating!!!!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've had it for 3 years. It was sort of high but I do use a lot of energy. Never had any outages or issues. Highly recommend ambit !


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The company is ridiculous! It is very poorly run and has zero customer service. You cannot get through to anyone through their 800 customer service number. I have multiple rental homes with them plus had my primary residence just because I knew account representative in a prior job. When I moved from my primary residence I paid my last bill and moved on. Evidently there was a small balance left on the last bill of which I was unaware. They evidently mailed it to the former home where the service was discontinued and of course it was kicked back to them. Not sure why they couldn’t see the other rental residences mailing addresses and mail it there. What do you think they did in this instance? Maybe you’re thinking an email message or a phone call informing me that there was a small balance. Of course not, they dinged my credit with a collection within 60 days of moving out! I buy rental homes and use my credit extensively for my business so this is serious problem for me. It dropped my score by 100 points costing my thousands in extra financing fees. You may ask yourself what kind of idiotic company reports THEIR OWN CURRENT CUSTOMERS to the credit agencies with derogatory information without even a minimum attempt to collect it. AMBIT ENERGY does! That is a really creative way to keep customers. I love their long term business plan. After multiple drawn out attempts to contact them and pay the amount they informed me that they cannot remove the collection off my credit report. I still not sure why an crappy energy company has the right to ding a credit report when NO money was borrowed or credit extended. I will be telling everyone that will listen about my experience with AMBIT. STAY AWAY, there are too may good choices with well-run companies to mess with these amateurs!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RUN! All I have to say is run away from this company! Ambit will bend over backwards to make you a dissatisfied customer. They do not care about their customers, they are rude to their customers, you will see a lot of fraudulent charges on your bill and you are wrong for questioning them. You will be dropped from your low kwph rate at any given moment, for any given reason, even if you are under contract. Your monthly bill will quadruple even when you're out of town! RUN!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will shut your power out with out sending a bill... Then are rude when you are trying to get it back on... All the promos are fake I've been with then 2 years haven't seen anything they promised and have had my power shut off 3 times and left with out power for a day after they are payed up.. Stay away from this company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They cutting my power off tomorrow and will not give me a 6 day extension I do not get paid until the 25th. So now I will be without power for 6 days in Texas, this is the worst company I have ever delt with. This is the first time I was ever been angry enough to actually complain online about a company. I am asking for 6 days!!!!!!!!!!!!! LESS THAN A MONTH BEHIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We have 5 buildings on Ambit. Every one saved us money upon transfer to Ambit, and we have had no problems at all. Sure, when we miss a payment we get a notice and have to scramble to make the payment on time. Is that not normal ?? Great service - Great staff - great prices. What's not to like ?


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company has no concern for their customers. They have a average billing plan that allows you to pay the average bill each month but at the end of the year you are sent a huge bill to make up for what the average bill did not cover. I am sure a lot of people got caught in this and was put in a financial strain. I leaving them and will never return.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had Ambit for a little over a year. When I opened the account with them, there was a long wait on the phone. I also had to call back because their system was down. This shoudve been a sign. Anyways, a few weeks later, I realized that the guard light near our house was disconnected. So, I called them again to have the guard light reconnected to our account. This, again, involved multiple calls because they could not figure out ESID for that guard light (although the previous house tenant was using them too!). Unfortunately, I had to call them again a few weeks later because some tree branches were getting close to our power lines. Again, this involved multiple calls. Ambit (and Oncor) gave me different stories on who is responsible. For a while, I didnt have a reason to call them since I was paying my bill and I did not need anything from them. Until, I had to disconnect. I was already un-happy that I had to pay double because my contract had already expired and I couldnt get the "good" rate unless I go under contract with them. But, I accepted and moved on as this is "business as usual" for companies like Ambit. WHen I called to disconnect, it was fairly straightforward. Until I got another bill for the guard light. Apparently, I did not tell them to disconnect that although I cancelled my account. Because of this, I was still charged for a line that is part of a closed account. I am still working with Ambit on getting a refund for this but its not looking good. Stay away from Ambit.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I moved from another state and signed up for ambit bc my my apt complex has some deal with them. First off, if people are really here to simply rate ambit for great customer service, why are you you blasting on people who forget to pay one of their "most important bills"? It seems to me that you "happy customers" have have something invested in this horrid company or you would simply rate it without belittling others who aren't perfect like you and who DO have "everyday problems" which most service providers tend to want to work with because they, unlike ambit DO have good customer service. Secondly, ambit advertises as if they are the "best customer service" out there except they are not, according to their many many complaints which range from not even turned on yet to years of customer loyalty thanked by skyrocketing prices. This company is obviously set to make it impossible to pay on time unless you sign up for them to have access to your bank account and who wants to do that when there are so many complaints of overbilling based on assumptions that benefit the company at customer expense. Furthermore, you "satisfied customer" ambit zealots, it is against the LAW for them not to notify a customer of a disconnect. However, ambit doesn't care because they WANT to disconnect you so that they can charge outrageous kw hours to the hard working people who live paycheck to paycheck (unlike the overpaid corporate zealot hand slapping ambit happy customer fat cats full of self righteous indignation posting here). Ambit traps people in contracts with high penalties and then blamed their customer base up to the man in the moon for what they are sorely lacking in every department. Ambit was founded in tx and lobbies tx and is in every way degenerate with big business mafia type tactics. I will do everything I can not to pay my contract fee bc dang it they charge ridiculous amounts. I am paying twice what I should for a 900 sq ft apartment. They tie in with apts so together they and the apt can screw you with late fees but by law they cannot screw you with late fees while you have filed a complaint disagreement with their charges. Even if I end up paying the godawful fee to this lying lying illegitimate customer service thieving company I consider it good riddance and I will will continue to tell everyone to RUN NOT WALK from this company. Please someone down here explain to these happy customer ambit zealots what SCAM means! Obviously the meaning of customer service and the scam of overpromise underdeliver escapes them.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service as a consultant or customer is very poor. They change your plan when they wish and give you excuses for doing it. you get no help or consideration out of them if you fall short do to a any reason you may have. Mine was a wreck and had my back broken, out of work and it was of no fault of mine. They did not care that i was a consultant and in a tight time , there was no help from them or care just cut off the electricity. Got it back on and the bills come late so the charge late fees and threaten you with cut off. Do not recommend them to any one.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Ambit Energy for going on three years now... Never really have had any issues with my billing never really any issues at all. Until, I had to call and speak with customer service. Apparently my energy usage was switched to another provide (direct energy) and this happen by someone accidently giving them my apartment #.( I understand things happen) However, I was being charged rates at a much hight rate, but by DE, but another compay, that my apartment complex uses. Ok, it was a big mess, but I was more then patient with Ambit to send in a workorder and regain me as a customer... WE ARE TALKING THREE MONTHS WENT BY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cases were put in and the canceled one after another.. Called to check status and was told they would just put in a new one.. But, then again that would get cancelled. Told to call my and ask for higher up guy and then was told he doesn't talk to customers over the phone????? I was begging for someone to help me with my problem. (almost in tears people) No one could tell me anything as to why they couldn't regain me as a customer... I wasn't even looking for another provider and they couldn't get their input right to regain me! Then the lady I last spoke to told me to have a good weekend? What? Now, I'm stuck with paying higher rate for another electric com, fees from apt office, fees to cancel with ambit, fees to start up with new com. I have never been more disappointed and really when a company is making so much money and keeping your customers isn't an issue, that is a problem. I wouldn't recommend this company to my EX-husband or my worst enemy!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience