Please excuse us while we perform system maintenance.

We apologize, we are currently doing some maintenance. Our website will be back up again shortly.

Reviews | Texas Electricity Ratings

Read Reviews


Shop

Find different electricity plans in your area:


Rate

Choose a company below to review:

Rate Company »


Reviews

Choose a company below to read reviews:

Read Reviews »



Customer Reviews for APNA Energy

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

poor set up on web site

Debra Dean, Fort Worth, TX - 2014-02-26 09:07:32

They try to stick you for a deposit - AFTER you give them permission to transfer your service - even when you've had good credit service elsewhere for years. Then you sit on hold on the phone until you get tired of waiting trying to reject their service ... not good.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Will never use APNA Energy again

Daisy, Houston - 2013-08-22 10:41:51

My experience with APNA Energy Company was horrible. They have the worst customer service and Billing system. I had my credit card stolen not too long ago and when they billed me for my monthly payment, they got declined. However, I scheduled a bank direct payment to pay my bill by due date. My bank account was set to pay to an old account with APNA, so they considered my payment was past due. That was August 19th, 2013. They then tried to reach me through my home phone, which we do not usually check on a daily basis. They also have my email address but they never tried to reach me via email. So ONLY 2 days later, on August 21st, 2013, they actually CUT THE POWER OFF AT MY HOUSE!!!!! Let's face this -- they have never send me any email, or mail trying to contact me other than calling me at my home phone number once. This is ridiculous considering I had no intention to avoid any payment. When I called them and questioned why they cut the power off in only 2 days without further attempt to reach me, the response I got from a manager was -- We cut the power off so that you can contact us. This is a horrible company to work with and I will never ever recommend them to anyone. And once my contract expires I will never go back to them either. The rates nowadays power comapnies offer are relatively similar and there are a bunch of companies I know have a lot better services than them. So don't only look at the rate, but also pay attention to the customer service they will provide. At least, in my experience, my electricity service through APNA was not reliable at all, because they can cut off your power any time so that you can call them back!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Customer Service with a personal touch.

Kim Sonnier, Santa Fe, Texas - 2013-07-31 09:31:48

I can't say enough about APNA's customer service. Sandra is an outstanding customer service supervisor who was extremely helpful in my situation. I will and have recommended this company to others already. When problems arise is when you see what type of customer service a company really has, and APNA has proven to me they are very customer oriented. They take a personal interest in trying to understand and resolve your issue. So glad I switched.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

horrible customer service!

Grace, Houston, Texas - 2013-06-25 11:25:55

We live in a 600 sq foot apartment and were looking for 6 month fixed rate plans. Despite all the negative reviews on the customer service of APNA energy, we still (foolishly!) called them . After the terribly long wait (20+minutes), we finally got through and enquired about the rates on the 6 month plan. While the electricity facts label gives different average rates for 500 and 1000 kwh usage, the customer service rep insisted it was the same 10.2c for any usage. Despite trying to explain to him that their website said otherwise, the rep was cocky and laughing when we tried to ask him further questions on the rate per kwh. They apparently don't reveal the itemised details and only give you the overall number. I don't see the problem in revealing the charges/Kwh to a potential customer. Overall, it was a frustrating experience and shady , might I add. If this is the treatment rendered to a potential customer, imagine if you actually sign up with them!!!! No , Thanks!!!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Watch out for $15 base charge

KT, Tyler - 2013-06-13 12:35:44

If your monthly bill is less than 1000kW, they will charge a $15 base charge, which is higher than most, if not all companies. That means at 8.6 cents per kW, you have to spend at least $86 per month to avoid the charge. The charge will be in addition to your usage. To cancel a contract, they charge a cancellation fee (termination of service fee) of $150. Calculate you usage before using this company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Electricity for my home

Sylvia, Houston, Texas - 2013-05-22 16:11:37

So far so very good with my service with APNA. I've had APNA for a year now and have never had any issues. Rates much lower than Reliant and other power companies. They offer good package deals to fit your budget. High recommend APNA for your power needs.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

So far, so good

Paul, Sugar Land TX - 2013-02-26 09:18:38

I accepted their offer for 6 months at 7.9 per kWh. The transition was smooth, their website is functional. No problems so far. Auto bill payment is not yet established, so I have to pay manually each month.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

APNA Energy Cares About People

Deonna B, Lewisville - 2012-10-29 15:45:57

Happy with this Company 2.5 years of Great Customer Service! Agents helpful & friendly, Rates great & all around wonderful experience.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Selina Lee, Dallas Tx - 2012-09-24 06:11:45

I Recently had a issue with my account, reguarding the amount due. I just did no understand how my bill could be so high. Well the representive i think her nam was Sandra broke down my charges were i could understand and compare my previous bills and my usage . This company has excellent customer service i would recommend my friends. Thank You

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Best in Texas

d nguyen, houston - 2012-09-21 16:48:51

Wonderful company, great customer service, lowest rates.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great Serveice and Great Rates !

Doug Asher, Houston, TX - 2012-09-12 10:45:04

I have had APNA since I moved to Houston. I have not had 1 issue with service, billing, or maintenance for that matter. I gotta be honest, I haven't had to focus one ounce of effort on my energy related stuff. Great job APNA!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Horrible Service

Chance Thomas, Rosenberg, TX - 2012-08-21 08:25:07

The customer service for this company is way below average for what it should. If you have one account then it seems to be okay but when you have multiple accounts with them then it gets all hay wire. Billing does not get done correctly. They might bill you one month but then bill you two or three months back dating all the service. I tried to talk with a supervisor about it but they are never around and there might be one person there all day. The supervisor team told me that they would call back but they did not. I closed one account down b/c I sold my house and that started the chain reaction of non billing and overcharging for their service. I set up auto draft and they were billing me the whole time but then decided to not bill for three months.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Very angry about early termination fee

Baree Blake , Houston - 2012-07-12 21:34:19

Called to tell them I was moving a couple weeks ahead of time. No mention of an early termination fee for $75. Apparently it's refundable if we prove we moved. Would have been nice of them to mention that so I wouldn't have to call again.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great prices, great service

Ty, Round Rock - 2012-07-12 11:31:03

I have now been with APNA for just over a year, since we moved into our new home in Round Rock. The prices are the most competitive that I have seen in our service area, and the customer service has been fantastic. At the end of our first year contract, we actually did not receive our contract renewal notice and our rates reverted to the standard monthly rates, but they worked with us to take care of it and sign a new contract. I'm very impressed with the customer service, and as I mentioned the prices are the most competitive you'll find. I highly recommend APNA to anyone searching for new electric service--the sign-up process is simple, the bills are easy to read and understand, and the service is fantastic.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Higher total rate than Direct Energy

Barbara Bundy (Tan & Tone), Chandler, TX USA - 2011-12-12 00:00:00

When the salesman said that switching from Direct Energy would lower my rate from 9. to 6. I went with Apna. Now there are so many new charges on my bill that the total rate for the kWh is now 28.6cents. I called Apna today and asked them why it was higher. And the lady told me that the less I use the more my rate is. This doesn't make any sense to me.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

APNA Energy: Rashid EMP# 901 Coll. Sup. Rep.

J, Dallas - 2011-11-04 00:00:00

First, using "power to choose" is a breeze to find providers. APNA Energy, relatively unheard of, provided great rates and service when in need. Secondly, towards the end of our contract we experienced delinquency due to our card being maxed out. Thirdly, Rashid, a collections supervisor EMP# 901, was willing to spend over an hour explaining each detail of the last six months. I had not been managing the account and had no invoices to go from. He met my pace and was willing to go over unclear areas. I was very direct in questioning and he delivered with professionalism that is parallel to any successful organization. Rashid is the one that should be acknowledged for providing exceptional service while operating within the needs of his customers, the company, and the law. Rashid's approach to a situation would accompany any title or position he could hold within APNA Holdings LLC. Thank you Rashid!!!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

elect

charles weems, arlington tx - 2011-10-23 00:00:00

apna is fair , good service also.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Spectrum ASSN. MGMT.

Community Manager, Houston, Texas - 2011-09-28 00:00:00

APNA Energy has saved the HOAs our company manages in Houston and surrounding areas at least 30% on their electric bills in 2011 compared to the other providers listed and used last year (2010): Reliant, Spark, Direct, and Tara Energy! Our HOAs are VERY Happy with the service and savings!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Rip off

Honesty, Corpus Christi - 2011-08-12 00:00:00

They charge things that are not in the bills. You have to complaint for charges that you don't see in the bill. Their costumer service are dumb,always lost in the conversation. I thought, I was going to save money but no, I was receiving a monthly charge from AEP of almost $40.00. Those are things they never mention and is only on the small prints. They wont give you your deposit unless you ask for it. That right there tells you how honest they are.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great.... Until I had to deal with them!

Kala, Alvin, Tx - 2011-07-15 00:00:00

I have never had a problem with apna energy as I was on automatic payments I never had a need to deal with them...until my bank sent me a new card now since then for over three months I have been trying to get back on automatic payments via online and telephone and kept recieving late notices in june my family and i went to california for vacation came back to no electricity explained to him my problem, he agreed said he could see that i have been trying to correct my card info and would not be charged reconnect fee. the next month.. received another late notice and this guy basically lies to me says it was a misunderstanding on MY behalf because he did not state i had a 0 balance he just stated i was not being charged a reconnect fee... I do not recommend an unprofessional business that tries to skew meanings and does not resolve problems.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

all around happy

Katie, Corpus Christ, TX - 2011-06-07 00:00:00

They never charged me a crazy rate or were unwilling/unable to answer any questions I had. I signed up for a 12 month plan, at a FIXED rate (all online/autopay), and will be re-newing. Very happy with the service. They never did anything crazy to my bill. I would recommend this company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Good Company

Anonymous, Houston, TX USA - 2011-03-30 00:00:00

APNA Energy is a good company to have. They have reasonable rates and they work with you if you have a problem paying your bill. The customer services reps. I have work with were really nice. I didn't have a deposit when I started with them or when I moved, and moving was easy.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

You can do better

Becky, Roanoke, TX - 2010-11-12 00:00:00

Their prices are high. They advertise as having low rates, but there are better companies with even lower rates. I also hated dealing with them on the phone. Most of the people I spoke with were very hard to understand. The worst experience I had with them was when they accused me of (and charged me a fee for) canceling my service and re-ordering the next day, which I didn't do. It sounded like a technical error on their part, but they wouldn't even listen to me. Very long story short: you can do way better than APNA. It's not hard to find a company with lower prices and employees who actually know what they're doing (I am with Kinetic Energy now: no complaints and I'm saving $50 a month on average).

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Best customer service in Houston

Norma, USA - 2010-09-28 00:00:00

Every time I call customer services are very friendly and willing to help you and explain anything you don't understand.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

GREAT SERVICE

sarah, houston, tx - 2010-10-26 00:00:00

Great customer service.. Thank you. :-)

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst Provider EVER

Research, Houston, TX - 2010-07-06 00:00:00

The owner Rahim Ali is not business savy at all. He doesn't know the energy industry and he is basically running off "research" to run this company. His staff is very MININUM which leaves for a ton of mistakes.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Yuck

Terry, Houston, TX - 2010-01-17 00:00:00

This company is a joke! They do not value their customers they actually use and abuse their relationship with them. They will charge your credit card even months after you've canceled their service. They call & harass their customers if your payment is even 1 day late arriving (even if that day was a federal holiday). They are just the worst electric company I've done business with PERIOD. Now I with Gexa & it's night n day there's no comparrison.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

i couldnt...

jon dixon, houston - 2010-03-18 00:00:00

Recommend to my best friend NO WAY! I had service from this company over 1yr and it was miserable the customer service reps were polite BUT they call & harass you if your payment is even 1 day late. Its ridiculous the way this company abuses your trust. I had a friend pay the bill with his credit card one time. Several months later they charged his card again for fees that I was disputing. Totally waste of time even trying to reason with that idiot Rahim. Don't do business with them you will regret it!!!

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

EXCELLENT, SPEEDY, RELIABLE & MUCH MUCH MORE

DR. ANDREW WILKINS, HOUSTON, TEXAS, USA - 2009-07-22 00:00:00

EXCELLENT, SPEEDY, RELIABLE & MUCH MUCH MORE. BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE OUT THERE IS IN THIS COMPANY! A COMPANY THAT WE CAN DEPEND ON!

0 of 5 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Quick Links