Read Direct Energy Reviews




PUCT#: 10040

( 3.3 / 5 )

149 Reviews

Replies

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.
Live Brighter Weekends 24
Live Brighter 12
Free Power 100
Moving Done Easy plus Nest
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Direct Energy | PUCT# 10040
Direct Energy | PUCT# 10040
Direct Energy | PUCT# 10040
Direct Energy | PUCT# 10040

Yesterday I heard about the offer that Direct ENergy has that gives you 100 free days of electricity. I ordered online and it was extremely easy.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service has been good. No billing problems and rates as promised. Contract is about to expire and will go with someone else as DE's energy costs are now not competitive with the current market.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have been with them for about 4 years now. Never had any problems. Customer Service is very nice and friendly. Rates have been excellent and competitive. I would highly recommend


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Direct Energy since 2004 and have never had any of the problems I read here. I moved a year ago and the switch was seamless. My service was turned on the day it was supposed to be and they left service on at my old place until I was fully moved out. It was great!!! I just renewed my contract with them for less per kWh than any other company I checked, and I really did some shopping! In the time I’ve have been with them, they have been a great company! You could do a lot worse.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company. Good prices. Been with them for 6 years and I moved recently and was all setup to move then they got a flag to have me fax in a copy of my SS card and some other ID. Well I was in the middle of my move and needed power now not when I had time to do all this s o I bailed and went to penny wise and got a lovely wise 3 for 4.4 cents pkw. But a fine company with great rates.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yesterday I heard about the offer that Direct ENergy has that gives you 100 free days of electricity. I ordered online and it was extremely easy.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was called on a Saturday morning about changing my electric provider. I told the young man that I thought I was on a contract with TXU and would not have access to the information to confirm until Monday. He insisted that I give him all my information so he could get everything set for me to agree on Monday to switching. He even told me that Direct Energy would cover any cancellation fees from TXU. We discussed several times in the course of the conversation that I was not agreeing to this change today. Monday morning I got an email thanking me for switching to Direct Energy. I got on the phone and started telling my story. I was told my service would be transferred back to TXU. I filed a complaint against the sales rep and was told I would not be charged for any changes. I have everything straight with TXU, but I am still getting a bill from Direct Energy. I did convince them to stop calling me (5 times one day) and that I didn't owe them anything. I thought it was over and today there is a bill in the mailbox! If you are thinking about changing over, I hope you read these reviews and save yourself some grief.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was offered a $400 gift if I signed up. I switched and then was informed that I would have to be with them for 6 months before I get the gift card. I waited the 6 months and I received an email to a link to receive my gift card only to find out that it didnt work. Plus I was only eligible to receive $200 not the full $400. I would have to wait another 6 months to collect the rest. They wasted a lot of my time and I never received the gift card. Then when I switched they charged me a $300 Early cancellation fee. They are a bunch of crooks. Do not sign up with this company. You have been warned.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had prepaid service through Direct Energy. I transferred my service with. 52.76 balance left on my account. I was sent a text message from this company advising I would have a refund of my balance minus 2.50 within 4-6 weeks. I called and was advised that it could not be put back on my card, refunds had to be mailed. After 6 weeks I still had not received my refund. I called and spoke with a customer service agent and 2 supervisors. Still got no where. I am now currently speaking with office of the president with Direct Energy. I was advised that a refund was put on my card on January 19,2016. #1 this lets me know that I was lied to from the beginning that they couldn't do refunds on my card, #2 I still have NOT received my refund on my card. I was told to allow 3-5 business days. Today is the 7th business day and still no refund. I've contacted my financial institution twice to ensure its not a error on their end. It's been confirmed that no deposit has been made from Direct Energy. That as soon as they receive the funds it will be deposited in my account. So I'm telling Office of President agent that I have been dealing with this information and yet nothing has been done. I still don't have my refund of my money. This company has showed no empathy at all and seems to have no answer as to why it's been 8 weeks and I still don't have my refund. I would NEVER do business with this company or refer them to anyone. I'm really thinking of pursuing an attorney.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I paid my bill at 6:15AM in the morning. Between 8:00AM and 12:20PM the same day my power was cut off. I don't understand why. At least they cut it back on before I got home. Service really sucks.... Choose another company, I am going to transfer my service today


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After using this company for over 9 years today i have been let down and will no longer recommend this company to anyone! They do not believe in customer service but more upholding a company policy instead. Personally i dont want to give a company my money when they could care less about helping meet my customer needs. They disconnected my services this morning ( never have i had my services disconnected) over $40 that i was unaware that i didnt pay because their online services didnt notify me of a disconnection or the actual balance that was owed. i know they have always had issues with there services weither it was mail or online because nothing ever match up or was correct. i always ended up over paying through the mail and now apparently under paying online. I spoke with the supervisor who only remaind quet and only preached what was obviously something she had been trained to say which was that is what the company policy states. Oh and to add to the fun they added a $29 reconnect fee. well i will be looking for a new company today and i will contine to give bad reviews for this company where ever i go!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yesterday I heard about the offer that Direct ENergy has that gives you 100 free days of electricity. I ordered online and it was extremely easy.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was called on a Saturday morning about changing my electric provider. I told the young man that I thought I was on a contract with TXU and would not have access to the information to confirm until Monday. He insisted that I give him all my information so he could get everything set for me to agree on Monday to switching. He even told me that Direct Energy would cover any cancellation fees from TXU. We discussed several times in the course of the conversation that I was not agreeing to this change today. Monday morning I got an email thanking me for switching to Direct Energy. I got on the phone and started telling my story. I was told my service would be transferred back to TXU. I filed a complaint against the sales rep and was told I would not be charged for any changes. I have everything straight with TXU, but I am still getting a bill from Direct Energy. I did convince them to stop calling me (5 times one day) and that I didn't owe them anything. I thought it was over and today there is a bill in the mailbox! If you are thinking about changing over, I hope you read these reviews and save yourself some grief.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was offered a $400 gift if I signed up. I switched and then was informed that I would have to be with them for 6 months before I get the gift card. I waited the 6 months and I received an email to a link to receive my gift card only to find out that it didnt work. Plus I was only eligible to receive $200 not the full $400. I would have to wait another 6 months to collect the rest. They wasted a lot of my time and I never received the gift card. Then when I switched they charged me a $300 Early cancellation fee. They are a bunch of crooks. Do not sign up with this company. You have been warned.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had prepaid service through Direct Energy. I transferred my service with. 52.76 balance left on my account. I was sent a text message from this company advising I would have a refund of my balance minus 2.50 within 4-6 weeks. I called and was advised that it could not be put back on my card, refunds had to be mailed. After 6 weeks I still had not received my refund. I called and spoke with a customer service agent and 2 supervisors. Still got no where. I am now currently speaking with office of the president with Direct Energy. I was advised that a refund was put on my card on January 19,2016. #1 this lets me know that I was lied to from the beginning that they couldn't do refunds on my card, #2 I still have NOT received my refund on my card. I was told to allow 3-5 business days. Today is the 7th business day and still no refund. I've contacted my financial institution twice to ensure its not a error on their end. It's been confirmed that no deposit has been made from Direct Energy. That as soon as they receive the funds it will be deposited in my account. So I'm telling Office of President agent that I have been dealing with this information and yet nothing has been done. I still don't have my refund of my money. This company has showed no empathy at all and seems to have no answer as to why it's been 8 weeks and I still don't have my refund. I would NEVER do business with this company or refer them to anyone. I'm really thinking of pursuing an attorney.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I paid my bill at 6:15AM in the morning. Between 8:00AM and 12:20PM the same day my power was cut off. I don't understand why. At least they cut it back on before I got home. Service really sucks.... Choose another company, I am going to transfer my service today


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After using this company for over 9 years today i have been let down and will no longer recommend this company to anyone! They do not believe in customer service but more upholding a company policy instead. Personally i dont want to give a company my money when they could care less about helping meet my customer needs. They disconnected my services this morning ( never have i had my services disconnected) over $40 that i was unaware that i didnt pay because their online services didnt notify me of a disconnection or the actual balance that was owed. i know they have always had issues with there services weither it was mail or online because nothing ever match up or was correct. i always ended up over paying through the mail and now apparently under paying online. I spoke with the supervisor who only remaind quet and only preached what was obviously something she had been trained to say which was that is what the company policy states. Oh and to add to the fun they added a $29 reconnect fee. well i will be looking for a new company today and i will contine to give bad reviews for this company where ever i go!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous. Every time I call them for anything it is at the very minimum a 1-2 hour ordeal. Have been handed off an embarrassing amount of times. Literally - they handed me off 5 times! each service rep saying that my question was not in their department. One customer service rep even transferred me without even saying so after he overheard me laughing due to the ridiculous number of times I was being transfered already (probably didn't want to be responsible for a poor customer survey)- can you believe this? Each switch took 5-10mins, so it took about an hour before I spoke to someone who had any idea what was going on. To be fair, there are a few reps that are good, but the vast majority are not well-educated on their company. Also, I'm not sure I'm the only one with this problem, but every time I call them - on a land line no less! - the customer service rep's voice is near inaudible, and he seems unable to hear me. This happens with no other company I've had the displeasure of dealing with. Bottom line - I hope you can get a good price with them, but the customer service really is horrible for current customers at least, sad to say.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have had direct energy for a little over 10 years and have had a great experience. I have found that enrolling in online auto pay helps me to never worry about a late payment and allows me to establish good credit. The other thing that has helped is always enrolling into a plan to save on the cost per kilo. Currently I am paying .13 cents and that is outrageous but looking over the plans I could be paying .8 cents per kilowatt. I have recommended direct energy before and I will do it again. Have never had an issue in 10 years. Although I am currently checking into clean energy plans so if they do not offer that then I will change to another company if the price is right.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plans I found out I was placed in a plan that I did not authorized and told them to put me in a better plan than .14 way to high. Was told about Free Saturday Power for 12 months. Requested to be placed in that plan and was told it would take only 3 days to changed. Called back the next day after finding on the DE website that in fact it takes one to two billing cycles to change a plan. CS rep became frustrated, combative and argumentative when I called him out on the discrepancies. CS rep talked over me talk me and said that the person I talked to yesterday was new and didn't know and that training was taking place. So, I asked him if I was placed in the Free Saturday plan or not and he replied that it would have to be investigated what plan I was placed in and what the previous CS rep did. I would not let him off the hook and asked again when would the new plan take place and he placed me hold. Came back to the line to say that "a plan" had taken place but he didn't know which one and that I requested that the plan be back dated as it showed the "plan" (with free Saturdays) had been backed dated to 7/14/15. I told him that was a lie and that I did not request that nor did I have the authority to do that with ANY electric company. He suggested I wait a few days and call back to see what was investigated . I hung up and went to the DE website and found that I was enrolled in a "family and friends plan" at a rate 8.2. I became even more baffled and looked up this plan and found that it is suppose to used for family and friends of employees of DE. They never told me the name of this plan, explained this plan to me nor did I give them permission for this plan even though it appears to less than the Free Saturdays plan. I called again a few days later (8/7/15) to ask again what was the name of the new plan that I was placed in and they placed me hold even after giving my name, phone number, security number, address and they still placed me on hold as usual. CS rep returned told me that my new plan was called "Live Brighter Plan" which totally conflicts with what is on my account manager page, however, he did state that the rate was 8.2. I asked if this plan included free Saturdays and he said NO. I became very angry and told him that I was told that my new plan was suppose to include free Saturday and he said this was the better plan. I then inquired about cancellation and he stated what their policy was of 135.00 dollars, that I had to call the cancellation department and that it would take two months. I told him that was insane. I ended the phone that was taking way to long to do the simplest things with DE. Customer Service is a joke. Placed on hold for the simplest questions like what is my current plan or current rate. Placed on hold for several minutes just for that. CS representatives is rude, give conflicting information from one rep to the other from what the website says (when that is working) talks over you, gives excuses, blames the consumer for their error, gives you the run around, talks over and down to the customer. Also, reps have hung up on me several times mid conversation or pretended they could not hear me. Billing I've notice over the last several months how my bill has soared even though I am decreasing my usage. I've tinted my house windows, dark blinds, unplug, use little lighting and keep my temp at 79-80 degrees in Hot Galveston, Texas. I also noticed the charges were different and new ones added like an increasing charge DE has listed as Centerpoint Delivery Charges which I've never seen before and called to inquire about. I was told that DE is now dividing what they charge and what CenterPoint charges. Even with that explanation I still did not understand how and why my bill was doubling and steadily increasing. I feel totally violated by DE's customer service, deceptive billing, changing my plan without my permission or knowledge, the lack of communication and explanation of anything and what appears to me as total theft by deception which is criminal. These people should no longer be in business and should be in prison. I am going to cancel with this company even though I know that will be a battle and they will block my efforts to so by either not cooperating, adding frivolous charges to my account and just simply not turning off the power so the NEW company can turn it on. I feel bullied and RAPED by Direct Energy!!! This company has the greatest number of complaints in the state of Texas and there are several blogs and website dedicated to warn consumers. There are thousands upon thousands public horror stories from previous DE customers and what they experienced. If these very things were done by individuals or small business they would have been charged, arrested, jailed and have to serve a prison sentence. Went to the Texas Public Utility Commission website to read and learn my rights and how to go about cancellations with Direct Energy .


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I switched to direct energy but ended up having to cancel on the third day after signing up they charged me 135.00 even though I called on the third day and they try to tell me Saturday is a federal business day to them because they are open so do not use them they will rip you off in the end.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They sold me an in-home wiring warranty plan and when I tried to use it nobody at the company seemed to know what it was. I couldn't get any service for the plan I was paying $5.50 a month for. But the major problem with them is they started passing along $50-$70 a month in electric provider fees without letting me know about the change. Couldn't believe it when I looked at the bills. They used to be competitive but now have snuck their rates up without telling any of their customers.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

As I type this complaint I have been attempting to simply disconnect my electricity service for over 45 minutes (second attempt this disconnect) but due to the "automated answers" and customer service reps unable to assist my request I have been unsuccessfully transferred or disconnected to other reps who have been unable to complete the task at hand. One rep in particular had me on hold 15 mins. After returning to the line, he simply said "noone is avail to help". I said, "okay". Pause. Pause. Pause. He offered no resolution and simply became mute to my questions. All I needed was a disconnection in which I had attempted to resolve 5 days ago in but was put on an excessive hold at that time as well. Now, as I am typing. Less than 3 minutes was I finally able to speak to live rep, give forwarding information and be done. I AM BEYOND FURIOUS. 3 min???? Are you serious?? This could have been simply handled but the way in which Direct Energy handles incoming calls with automated system is broken, to say the least. I am an efficient consumer and expect to handle my electricity payments responsibly. I can only expect the same professionalism with the electric provider. Rest assured I will NEVER be a Direct Energy customer again.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is horrible!! They switched me from the month to month to the power to go without my concent and when I asked to get switched back they told me it would take 45 days! Mean time I'm without electricity even after I explained to them that I have a parent with terminal cancer!!! They didn't care and they have the nerve to call me and ask me 12 days before my last bill is due what kind of payment I wanted to keep on file for them to run on the due date!! NEVER WILL I GO BACK TO THEM!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

‘You may cancel without penalty if you move to another location and provide evidence of the move, such as a forwarding address and any other reasonable evidence that you no longer occupy the service location and you agree to provide us with at least 14 days advance notice of your move date.’ This is what their booklet and reps continued to tell me yet I provided a months notice and forwarding and am still getting dunning calls and bills. I paid the entire usage off in full so they are just trying to squeeze the $300.00 ETF that they told me repeatedly I don't owe, out of me.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If there were a burned out light bulb rating system, to gauge this company, I would give it 5 burned out bulbs! That's how difficult it's been to deal w/reaching them, accessing my account, dealing w/bouncing around customer service reps - 4 x the other day, to only get one I could not understand, kept either playing a recording or talking incessantly. I finally got through to a decent one today, but it took two calls. I terminated my service, and WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They started out great, then after 6 months to a year we realized they switched us to a variable rate plan when our bill was ridiculously high in the winter without having used the heat at all. We called and had them change it, but in 6 months they did it again. Not only that, but we have not been able to access our online account for the past 8 months, supposedly due to "website difficulties". When we have called, they say they have to transfer us, but conveniently that office is always closed or busy or it just hangs up on you automatically. They sure don't have a problem charging you late fees even when you literally can't sign up for auto payments. So done with this company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was new in the area so they required a $400 deposit to open an account, which was ok. The deposit would be "refunded when your bills are paid on time for 12 consecutive months". Fast forward 10 months and all my bills had been paid in time. The 11th bill was more than double from any bill I had received from them, including the hot summer months when the A/C is on full speed. Mind you, the 11th bill was for November when the bills are usually a lot lower. 10 days before the bill was due I emailed them asking what the bill was about. It took them 5 days to reply, and I tried to call them several times during those 5 days. They apologized and blamed it on internal billing issues. I asked them to give me the correct amount so I could pay the bill in time. They never replied to my email so I kept calling them but since they never picked up the phone after 25-45 minute on hold, I gave up. One day before the bill was due, I just paid the full amount, even though it was wrong. I didnt want to mess up my 12 months of paying on time. But of course, they received the payment 1 day late. I then paid the 12th bill on time and contacted them for the deposit, but since I was one(!) day late on the 11th bill, I did not qualify for a deposit refund and had to make 12 new payments on time. I was pretty pissed but, for some reason, I decided to stay with them. Fast forward again and I had 12 payments on time and contacted them again for the deposit refund. And guess what, the deposit would be refunded towards the account balance and used as a credit towards future invoices. Excuse me?! Towards future invoices? What exactly does that mean? I asked them if they could just use those $400 for the next invoices until the deposit account was "empty". No, it "didnt work that way". I asked them for an explanation but never received one. So, you can imagine if they require a $400 deposit from, lets say maybe 5000 customers or whatever - that would give them $2 million which they could just keep and, on top of that, get interest from. So their customers is actually giving them a free loan and THEY get the interest. If thats not a scam, I dont know what is. A deposit is YOUR money and its supposed to be paid back in full, as long as you dont violate your contract in any way. Yes, I was one(!) day late the first time, after THEY made a mistake on the bill. It would not surprise me if they did that deliberately. I cancelled the contract and moved to another provider. I asked for my deposit (again), and they sent me a check of $150. I asked them where the rest of the money was. Of course, that was kept as termination fee. Worst company I have ever dealt with. And dont expect to get any answers or explanations from them. If they do answer, its just jibberish and they always leave you stranded if you ask them the "tough" questions. I would rather live in the dark than to give these folks my money.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is horrid! Signed up for paperless billing after not receiving paper bills. Emails would show up a few days before the due date.You will get charged late fees and collection recovery fees for a payment posting a day later. Also expect to receive a disconnect notice the day after your payment is due. These people read off of a script and are of no help when you call in. I have never had any issues like this with other companies. Not to mention that their website is crappy if you are even able to log on.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed on for balanced billing last year paid 225$ a month. Labor Day weekend I received a disconnect notice for 1498$!! I was so upset. I called right away....my balanced billing was canceled with no notice or explanation. I was treated like a criminal because I didn't have 1500$ laying around to pay them. I was hung up on 3 times on the phone having to start from scratch each time. I finally got a guy who would set me up with a payment plan. 555$ due September 8th with first payment due of 88$ due to coincide with my current charges. Paid 600$ September 8th and 520$ October 10th (bill due date) received disconnect notice. Started calling and being hung up on again. They acknowledge my payment arrangement was set up incorrectly and did not coincide with my bill as stated and said my payment plan was broken because it was due the 8th. I requested my payment plan be reinstated to which they replied they can not because ivy payment plan was broken.....finally they agreed to a new plan but I would have to pay 245$ right away. Again I'm offered charity because after paying them a mortgage payment I do not have 245$ today. If this single mother has a heart attack and dies in her sleep tonight someone please sue the hell out of these scammers on my behalf!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had a problem with my bill and had to call Direct Energy the other day. The rep was extremely helpful and resolved the issue without any push back. A pleasant experience for an industry that is definitely not known for their customer service.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I took over managing a business that used Direct Energy, We would typically receive the bill less than a week before it was due which was annoying but something we can all work around but can be a little hard to juggle at times. My issue came when our contract was ready to be renewed, They gave me there rate and it wasn't completive so we decided to switch to another provider. My mistake was telling the sales rep who I had been talking to for about a week while looking at options that I wasn't interested and wanted to cancel, the sales rep did not inform me that in order to cancel I must talk to customer service that nothing I said to the sales rep mattered for cancelation. Now I'm getting billed at twice the standard rate. I believe that this system is manipulative and is designed to take advantage of customers who are looking to cancel. I admit I didn't follow the correct procedure according to our contract that was signed long before I started, but anyone in the business should have been able to inform me that when I said I needed to cancel which department I needed to talk with.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Month after month we have seen bills not show up until 3-5 days before the due date. If you pay the bill as soon as it is received, you are still likely to receive a charge for being past due as they do not credit the payment to your site until several days after you make the payment (even if you make the payment on their web site or using their phone service. We have received cut-off notice emails three days after a phoned in or online payment was made! I am convinced that they are holding off on mailing invoices and then holding on time payments to post after the due date in order to charge their past due fee to as many clients as possible. This is a fraudulent business practice and should be investigated. As for me, fortunately I have a choice in who my electric provider is and it will no longer be Direct Energy!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After nearly two years of Direct Energy, I changed to a new provider, last week. My bill had gone up substantially over this time, last year. That gave me the incentive to go ahead and move my service. I have regretted being with Direct Energy from the first month. PROBLEM: they start calling immediately (well before the due date) with "subtle" phone messages of "an important matter, regarding your electric service". This gives the illusion that they are about to cut your service off. The number I gave them, is my business line (my mistake). But, I cannot have "collection calls" (especially unwarrented ones) on my business line. Also, I had signed up for Direct Energy for my (deceased) parent's house, at the same time I signed up for my service. Since then, the house has been transferred from the estate to one of my siblings.. We tried to move the service on that residence, into the (new) owner's name and were told the rates were contingent upon the bill being combined with my residence and that if we separated the statements (one bill going to each owner) that our rates would go up. I have been paying the bill on my parent's (former) house and recouping the money from my sibling. What I found most interesting was that each residence was billed at a different Kw rate even though I signed them up at the same time. And, I thought, at the same rate.. I could not see how mailing (or e-mailing) the two statements to two separate owners would justify a rate change.. BIG, BIG, BIG headaches. Not worth the "saving" to deal with these yahoos.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Originally started and was supposed to get a 20$ card, but due to their error I did not receive it. Called more than once to resolve this, got nothing in return till finally they told me that I would be getting a 20$ bill credit....... 4 years later NADA, NOTHING, ZIP. Not to mention the horrible price hike they hit me with. If you're late 1 day the harassment begins. When I harass them about my $20 no one can answer F THIS IM OUT!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had 2 accounts with this company taken out at the same time. They say they stay current with the economy's needs but she found over the last several months they had beenraising her rate monthly. When addressed about this issue they refused to help. They doubled her bill in less than 6 months. Complete fraud! Do not use this company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed up for a 24 mo contract at .08/kwH. They magically have no record of said contract so they put me on a variable rate plan with no consultation of course. I have called virtually every month to get this fixed and either get my account credited back with all the over payments or send me a check. This week I get an email stating they've now put me on a fixed rate plan of 19.8/kwH. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?! Naturally no one from customer service nor their "supervisory" level can seem to figure it out. Its the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen. This company is beyond inept, they are a flat out scam. Should've known when they aren't registered with the BBB.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expiration date changed on card being used for auto payments. Received notice for late payment. Made payment and changed information. They were unable to get automatic payments to work from that point. Talked to customer service. They were nice but had no explanation and had to go back to paper payments. Very inefficient company in my opinion.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

this has been the worst company that i have used for electricity. Customer service is very bad, everyone at the customer service tells you something different. They raise rates although it is not on your plan. They can not even do the simplest thing. Please please don't use that company!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

By far the worst company out there. HORRIBLE customer service. The company is out to deceive you. It is an absolute joke that they have a referral program because no one in their right mind would refer unless they are pulling a cruel prank on their friend.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I validated with no less than 3 reps that the advertised rate was indeed 10.4 and every Saturday free, midnight to Midnight. I left better rates behind thinking I would save money with free Saturdays and am stuck 24 months, unless I move. Saturdays may be "free" but the 10.4 rate they claim you are receiving is untrue. They are guestimating what your free Sat may lower your obnoxiously high per kilowatt rate DOWN to and they DO NOT TELL YOU THAT when you sign up. 3100 square feet and a home over 100 years old, clearly I am always looking for the best kilowatt hour deal. so now I'm good and pissed off and I make sure on Saturdays I turn every light on every fan on every electric thing on that I possibly can turn on. I reallywant to help the environment, but right now I'm just bloody angry. considering moving


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

As a landlord and Direct energy customer, I was happy using the prepaid service while I was between tenants at my rent houses. When a new tenant moved in and tried switching power into her name using Direct Energy. I was told that the account cannot be transferred into her name, rather the tenant would have two wait 3 days until the system could close the account at which time a new account could be opened at the house. After probing into this odd process for long enough, they said that I could speed up the process by submitting the lease and tenants drivers license to assure them that they were really moving in there. It was the most backwards day of dealing with a utility provided I've had yet, and I've had many.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We have struggled with this company. With the latest snafu, we underpaid a bill by $12 due to a misunderstanding on our part. Shame on us for the mistake. However what was aggravating is that the company cancelled our service without so much as a phone call. With the rates they are charging us now that we are month to month this level of service doesn't fly. We are shopping for plans now and see rates that are ~40% less than what we are paying with them today.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Started with Direct Energy at an apartment that I was living at for three months. When I moved I called to cancel with Direct Energy. They convinced me to stay with them and "transfer service" so I did. After reviewing my bill three months later I realized I was still being billed for the old address on top of my new address. When I filed a complaint I was told I cancelled my disconnect service request and never called back to schedule the transfer. Meanwhile they added service to the new address. When I asked why would I need service at two locations they had nothing to say expect I never requested to properly disconnect the old service. That's because they conned me to saying I want to transfer. Word of advice, don't use Direct Energy but if you do when moving to a new location, confirm a disconnection date with them. They lied and said things I never said to make it benefit themselves. The customer service rep and supervisor were rude and should not be in a customer service role.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had an incident where I paid for my lights & they show a positive balance but Direct Energy (power to go) still disconnected my service. No one could tell me why this happened & after 4 hours, the electricity was still not turned on. Mind you I am 34 weeks pregnant & on bed rest. I spoke to a rude rep named Audrey who kept over talking me & telling me the same thing over and over that I was going to have to wait close to midnight before my lights could be turned on when they turned them off at 2:30. That's ridiculous!! I have been with them for several years and this is the second time this has happened and no one could tell me why BOTH TIMES. I will be taking my services elsewhere especially if they have employees who are rude to loyal customers.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If you are in a temporary home such as an apartment. I would STRONGLY advise you not to use this company! Horrible customer service and terrible rates! You might as well stick with a contacted electric company.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I moved one block over and switching electricity has left me and my kids in the dark. I have a 41.00 dollar balance but I've been given the run around lied to and told that the floor supervisers don't have supervisers don't have supervisers. They are holding on to my 41.00 dollars and have cut off my lights because supposedly my balance is too low. Well if they would give me my balance from before my move that is being tied up with "unfortunately I cannot help you'd" I would have a higher balance. This company has blatantly robbed me! Who can help me with this. I have called direct energy and center point and Texas electric commission. And here I am with no power although this company has my unspent money.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service has been good. No billing problems and rates as promised. Contract is about to expire and will go with someone else as DE's energy costs are now not competitive with the current market.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy has the absolute worst customer service. I was placed on a higher rate plan than I had signed up for. It is almost impossible to get a hold of a human being in customer service to rectify problems, and when you do, you will be speaking to outsourced staff from outside the US who basically read from a script. I was told I was wrong, that I had signed up for this higher rate plan, and they were not willing to accept proof (the EFL and confirmation from PowertoChoose.org when I signed up). Once I contacted the Texas Public Utility Commission, all of a sudden they were willing to look at the issue. Of course, once they were forced to correct their error, the horrible customer service continued in the form of treating me like a deadbeat for not paying the overcharges while waiting 1-2 months for them to issue a credit. Read the reviews - they are systematically billing customers rate plans that are higher than what the customer signed up for. This is clearly deliberate on their part. Good luck getting a direct phone number for anyone there, or having any electronic communication whatsoever. Their website is also down frequently. Worst of the worst. Devoid of any business integrity whatsoever.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They suck you in with a low rate then jump it up. Let the buyer beware. Look at your bill and the cost of a Kilowatt hour (KWH) Compare Direct Energy's cost with your local provider and all other companies.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shockingly dishonest bad company with horrible customer service experience. Compared to other electric companies, they absolutely stink. Repeated over charges, incompetent billing and astounding arrogance. I would not do business with them again if their "promoted" price (likely a myth) was 1 penny a kwh. I paid their billed extortion but promised them I would tell everybody I knew. Be forewarned.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE WORST company I have dealt with in my life. Sales rep came to my door offering lower prices and to waive my cancellation fee with my current provider (Reliant), but when I called them back their number changed. Tried getting this solved with DE and they are trying to charge me $300 as a cancellation fee. So basically I've wasted 2+ hours of my life, have to deal with paying the early cancellation fee from Reliant and supposedly now another from DE (total of $550). They life, cheat, and steal so PLEASE DO NOT get this company as your service provider.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

There was an inadvertent switch at my parents' home. They did not switch companies, nor received a call to confirm such switch. Their power was turned off in the afternoon. They spent about two hours trying to connect and speak with the correct person. To every single rep they spoke they had to explain the whole situation from the beginning. They just wanted their power back (their payments have always been on time). This time was during the cold fronts and house was freezing. They are elderly and when asked how should they sleep during the night - the representatives state "I am sorry - I don't know what to tell you" They did not receive power the next day nor the day after. Without exaggerating, there were about 15 call to Direct Energy. Those calls took hours and to every rep we had to explain the sitation from the beginning!!! At the end, my parent switched companies and received power within an 1hour!! I did write and e-mail to CEO of Direct Energy, but apperantly he fowarded it to a manager to handle. The e-mail was pitiful!!! End of story - horrible customer service / inefficient employees!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They keep charging me 30.00 for something called a bill collection fee??? What in the hell is that? Then they keep calling me to "remind" me when my bill is due. When I question the 30.00 I get the run around. Stay away from this company at all costs. They Also bill 15.00 for a disconnect notice to be sent out but you never receive it.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

for the past 3 months i have been recieving a bill that has increased tremendously, looking at the svc charge to me makes absolutely no sense so that does not help, except that they don't match up to what they are advertising, calling the 1-888 number - what a joke, on hold for a operator for over 20 mins and still have not talked to anyone. what are we to do, is there anyone we can call to help with this, i don't even know if i can switch with out getting sometype of fee... FRUSTRATING.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After reviewing several plans, I recently attempted to sign up with Direct Energy to take advantage of a low rate. The rate they were offering on chooseenergy.com was 8.8 cents per kwh per 2000 kw used, I made a copy of the Energy Facts Label and signed up. After a couple of hours, they sent me a confirmation email which had an Energy Facts Label that stated a rate of 10 cents per kwh for 2000 kw used. I immediately emailed them back pointing out the error but received no response so I emailed them again. Still no response. At this point, I was getting angry so I emailed them again to cancel my request and the agreement. No response. All this was on the same day I signed up for the plan. Called them the next morning, and after several minutes of the guy treating me like I was an idiot and could not read the table at the top of the Facts Label, I was told that there was nothing they could do until my account became active, but I did not want it to become active. Anyway was told I would have to call back with nothing getting done. Called them later that day and found out they had already switched my service and had taken over as my electricity provider. This guy also treated me like an idiot who could not read the table at the top of the page of the Facts Label. All in all, do not trust this company. I signed up for a plan and they signed me up for a different higher rate without even contacting me and then tried to act like I was crazy for being upset. They never even acknowledged that there was a mistake made somewhere. Might still be with them if they had, but when they lie to you from the get go and refuse to admit any mistake, it is best to run away fast. People reading this should just stay away.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is the most unscrupulous company that I have ever done business with. Direct Energy plays with their rates and 'forgetss' to tell customers that their contracts are expiring and they then boost the rates astronomically. My rate in January was 50% higher than the local utility. They are scammers! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Their promotion was good, the original price was good. Then the promotion was over and without any contact to let me know they raised the rate. And then raised it agin . If I had signed another contract the price would be about the same as before. So why without the contract is the price 33% higher. When I called to reason with them after waiting almost 35 min on the phone. There was nothing they could do even if I would sign the new contract. I said that I wanted to change back to ComEd and they told me to contact them direct. ComEd answerer in 3 min and said that Direct Energy needed to call to switch me back. I have paid my other bills, surfed the web, had a sandwich and a pepsi, written this review and i am still on hold. They finally came on the line and said I would be transferred to the cancelation department. Ten minutes latter they answered and told me because of high call volume (the cancelation department ) the computers needed to be updated and I would need to call back tomorrow. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she would not let me. I asked her to take my name and call me tommorrow after they canceled my account .and she wain no I would need to call back. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE CROOKS. AND THEY HAVE THE WORST COSTUMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I agreed to switch to Direct Energy in October of 2013. The initial selling point the door-to-door salesman made was 2 Free Decembers to help with Christmas in the upcoming 2 years upon their 24 month agreement. I got my December bill and had a balance of $357. I called 5 times in 2 weeks with no resolution and threats of turning off my electricity. I refused to pay my bill knowing that I was told this information and a refund is near impossible. I know my rights and they have 21 days to contact ME and they can't shut off service over a disputed bill. After finally talking to a representative today due to my persistent calling and being put on hold, I was informed that my free month is in January and I no longer qualify for the incentive because I refused to pay for the month I was told I got free.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love Direct Energy. I've been using them for 12+ years at multiple residences. Transfer is always easy, and I love that I get a month of free energy service every year! Their rates are competitive, and any time I've had to speak to customer service they've been really friendly. I even call about every 6 months to see if they'll lower my rate, and often they do by a cent or two! You get a discount when you sign up with a personal referral. You're welcome to use my refer-a-friend code: BD51V1 - enjoy!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is the worst company ever..my bill is increasing by 119% per month for the last three months..they can't give me no answers and there customer service sucks to the extreme..they keep me on hold for 30 minutes to tell me they could not help...losers!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I used Direct for over a year and never had any issues with them except for with their idea of average billing. They offer average billing, but it is unlike any average billing I have ever experienced, and to this day, when I inquire about how average billing works with potential energy providers, I have never encountered Direct's odd approach to the matter. Direct Energy doesn't average bill in the sense of keeping your bill around a steady amount and then adjusting it for over or under usage. Direct's average billing bills you exactly what you used that month, so the bill is always a surprise. I spoke to several customer service reps about this issue, and they all seemed confused by my confusion; like average billing meant regular billing. It's really weird. So if you are okay with your average bill being a mystery surprise each month, go ahead and sign up with Direct. Honestly, it's the only issue I ever had with them, but it was enough to inspire me to switch to another provider. Just my personal preference, though.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

20 years of service this is by far the worst experience I have ever had. Without any warning they raised my rate when they were in trouble and would not answer the phone for DAYS so that I could stop the auto payment they had set up on my account, and there is no way to change this online on my account. I understand a variable rate but going from $118 the month before to the most allowed by law to charge the next 2 months without any call or warning is just their way of lining their pockets under the right circumstances knowing that someone on a fixed income may not be able to cover a bill for over $425 a month for 2 months straight. I feel as though I have been robbed and switched immediately! This is not the way to treat any customer in any type of company!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am dropping them after 5 years due to lack of customer service! I tried calling and using their on line account management sys several times to set up direct draft, and it still doesn't work. Then when I logged in again they said my service was being disconnected and I had been sent a disconnect notice. I had not received any such notice. I called to talk to a rep and they said their system had a problem and then hung up on me. I thought the cable industry was bad, but their customer service is worse. I haven't shopped rates yet, but I have filed a complaint with the PUC and will read reviews about customer service before getting stuck with another company like this. Buyer Beware!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had been with Direct Energy in 2006 and left because of their lack of customer service to resolve an overage charge on my account. I switched and went with another carrier for the past 4 years who was unable to beat Direct Energy's rates when my contract expired. I made a mistake in going back with Direct Energy. I enrolled in September 2013, and they kept promising a welcome packet that I didn't get until November, My first bill was a nightmare with claims I owed a past due balance from 2006, but couldn't send me any proof past two years to show I owed any monies. I fortunately had my bank staement, monthy home finance records, and personal journals that documented I paid them off when I switched and had no contact from them. I suspect they'd not completed their records in their computer system correctly when I announced I was switching in Sept 2006, and went with my other carrier effective November 2006. It took a few weeks to get someone from their resolution department to call and let me know all these fee charges would be take off the account but I still owe a past due balance of $63.00 but unfortunately they can't show me any proof as they have no way of sending any past reports past two years. So in other words I just have to trust them and take their word for it. My next bill a mess they didn't have all the charges taken off they'd promised and I had to call in and discuss it and couldn't get ahold of the rep who said to call her if I had any problems with my bill. They alleged reopened my complaint ECHO #, and it's been over a week with no one having called me to resolve this issue. Worst company ever, they have apologized for not having sent my welcome packet in a timely matter, they apologized for me having talked to over 12 differnt people trying to resolve issues on my account but their lack of departments not being able to talk to each other and READ what each departments documents on line shows a lack of structure and disorganization. When they were supposed to have put my account on hold to research my 06' bill they instead sent my account to their collections department to hassle me about this 06 bill. I've been at the same residence for the past 12 years and have never hand any problems with my Energy companies until this company. I recently read the reviews of disgruntled contractor and employees of this company online and would not recommend anyone select them as an Energy Provider


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with this company since I first bought my house. Four years later I called to make a payment and the customer service that took my call convinced me to switch to their power to go plan and if I did not like it that I WIll NOT HAVE A PROBLEM SWITCHING BACK Direct Enery you are a Lier its 2 days before Christmas and I have kids at the house I have been trying for 5 days trying to get back to switch back to my monthly bill I know that have to pay my balance and when I tried to pay 5 DAYS AGO ya would not take my money that I had to wait 72 HRS for someone to call me back so I can switch well guess what the money that I had to pay you guys went to the power to go and now that I am in desperate need for electricity they won't work with me I get paid again in one week and they can not connect me back they will not work with me after I have been with them for 4 years and they caint wait for me for One week..Direct Enery you really disappointed me..


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is a horrible company. You should avoid them. There was some problem with DE finding the meter identifier associated with my address and they didn't connect me on the day I was supposed to be connected. Even though I called ahead to verify that everything was on track with the connection, they failed to get it started on the right date and did not call in advance or after there was a problem. I ended up using a another company because they also could not resolve the problem. They would say things like "your address is our enrollment system but not in the other system do you need to submit another application" instead of just fixing the problem and adding the address. Direct Energy = Incompetence.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

3 months ago I signed up for the power to go plan and things were great until recently. DFW area experienced a lot of power outages and my family was without power for 2 days in 20 degree weather. Well once we received power, we were billed for those days by power to go. I called and CSR placed a dispute for those days and dropped my rate down 1.8 cents for the next 6 months so I went on and funded the account again and 2 days later, power is off. Now I'm pissed!! Call again CSR tells me it usually takes 3-5 days for those disputes to be finalized so I guess it the mean freaking while you just continue to overcharge me huh!! Again I had no choice but to find the account because my kiddos get home before me and they were home without power. Mind you, account shows that I find this account faithfully every week. Now one day later, I added up the previous days kWh used to find out I was overcharged $6 once again CSR does a freaking dispute. Aldo tells me it's taking longer because since the power outage a lot of customers are calling and that department does not have enough staff to handle the call volume and disputes. Okay well hire more dang people. Can't take this crap anymore, will be going back to traditional electric plan and it will not be with DE!!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i didn't start having trouble with them until one day my energy was cut off without notice. they have an option online where you can choose how to be contacted when you balance is due. i never got a message!!! my energy was just cut off and im a stay at home mom that does not always have a car available to her. so im here pissed off and trying to figure out a way to pay the light with no car and a dying phone. CUSTOMER SERVICE??????? they dont know what that is! WEBSITE???? piece of crap and not at all helpful. logging in and making payments have never been more difficult! PAY OVER THE PHONE???? almost took over thirty minutes! i have not idea what was going on with their automated payment service but it kept repeating itself or hanging up. i tried talking to A REAL PERSON but when i finally got through she told me she had to transfer me. WTF? cant you just take my payment over the phone?? i got transfered put on hold and then i was hung up on. dont waste your time!!! i will be switching after this month.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They don't let you know about all the fees they will charge you, for example I I have been charged $15.78 for fees including $9.95 minimum usage fee, where my energy charge is $23. Customer service is extremely rude and they don't know the answers to the questions. and they put you on hold for so long. There are better options.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I activated automatic payments...which apparently they did not take note of, since, after 2 months of not receiving bills, I got a disconnection notice. I hadn't received a single bill, or a single letter telling me I was past due. When I called the services center, they apologized and said they would waive the fee, and told me not to pay until they had done so. As I was waiting, I came back from a business trip and my electricity had been disconected 4 days before de due date, and all my food had gone wrong. Since it was saturday evening, I had to stay without electricity until Monday morning, in which they connected me again, after I had paid everything, includinbg the fee, and including a new rate that they had decided to charge me, more expensive than the one I had. I will definitely be changing my provider.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have never had an issue with any other service provider that has affected me in such a negative way as with Direct Energy. I signed up with them in early October to begin my services on October 8, 2013. However, yesterday around 4:15, my fiancé went to my apartment and informed me that there was no power. I called Direct Energy immediately. I was notified that when they went to switch my services over, the order somehow was cancelled and never took place. At that time, it was around 4:30 pm when she advised that she would submit what was called a “safety net” request. She said this is an emergency order to connect my services with Oncor. She advised me that the time frame on this could take up to 24 hours. After this, I contacted Oncor. They advised that once they actually receive the request, they would have my services connected within 2-3 hours. However, they said that they didn’t see my order had been sent to them, but advised that that could take up to an hour. So, I waited until 6:15 to contact Oncor. They advised that they still had not received my request. I contacted Direct Energy again. They advised that the order had been submitted and that Oncor was at fault in not receiving it. So, I again called Oncor. The representative advised me that they receive these requests in an email format. She was checking that email and had not received it. She advised that I again contact Direct Energy, but request that they conference Oncor in so that we can get this handled correctly and promptly. I followed the instructions of the Oncor. I asked the DE representative to conference me in with Oncor. Due to her not having the ability to make outbound calls, she transferred me to a supervisor named Michelle. It was at that point, around 7:30 pm, that I was advised of their procedure. When a safety net request is submitted, they do not send it to Oncor directly, but rather to their back office. She advised if the order is not submitted by the time that dept closes at 5pm, it would not be sent to Oncor until the morning. This particular department only sends these requests twice a day. Considering that my request had been sent at 4:30, I do not see why my request had not been received. I asked that she send this request directly to Oncor. She refused to do so and said she would not because it is against their policy. This is completely ludicrous as it is their fault I am without power. Maybe I am making assumptions, but when you wrong your customer, most companies are willing to go against their normal policy to fix their error. Apparently, not Direct Energy. Policy and Procedure is more important that their Customers. My electricity being out was of no fault of my own. The blame, as admitted by each DE representative I spoke with, was entirely on their company. I feel as though I was treated very poorly. I understand there are certain procedures that Customer Service must follow. However, is it your normal procedure to forget to connect your customer’s service? It should not be; therefore I believe an extra effort should have been made to ensure I was not without power. Rather, I was forced to go without. This is more than an inconvenience. I have also been put out financially. I could not cook dinner, so had to take my family out instead. In addition to that, I had just purchased $200 worth of groceries the day before. At least $100-150 worth was in the refrigerator and freezer. It has now gone bad. As you know, chicken and such does not keep and it was not like I could cook it, because I had no power to work my stove. I will have to purchase groceries all over again spending double my normal grocery budget. I also had no hot water. I had to take a cold shower and go to work with wet hair because I couldn’t use my hair dryer causing me to look entirely unprofessional. This experience with DE has been horrible. And what is worse, is that I haven’t even received services yet. But, I am in a contract that I cannot cancel without a penalty. I am not looking to have my contract cancelled yet, I just want to live a normal life with electricity like everyone else. It would be one thing if my power had been turned off due to nonpayment. At that point, I could understand a lack of urgency to help me. However, I have not even accrued a bill to fall behind on yet. This experience was entirely unacceptable.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy uses an online billing and customer system that appears to have been developed in the 90's. It is cumbersome, inefficient and failed multiple times to accept my credit card change. Then, the system failed to correctly credit my account for my manually-input payment, even though they sent me an email confirmation of the payment. They finally sent me a letter asking for payment for the same invoice they had already confirmed payment for. The letter included a threat to disconnect service on October 19, and although the letter was dated October 2, I did not receive it until October 17. I could not deal with the disaster of customer service and poor billing and payment systems any more and switched to Bounce Energy.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After viewing the offer online I attempted to oder service online. The plan that was advertised was not available. "Price Protection E-Plan 24 month" with 2 free months of service I called to see if there was a different way to access this plan and spent most o my first contact giving out all of my infomation without getting any information from them. Then I was told that this pland offer is not available in my area. But I could be transferred to a servcie group who could likely determin what special offeres were available. I was then sent to another automated phone program. After completing the drill I was sent to yet another automated phone program, this time asking me to choose English or Spanish. (voice was in english by the way) I selecte #1 for English and was then sent to yet another automation asking if I was a new or existing customer. Keep in mind I spent more than 5 minustes giving my personal information to the first person. I selected New custoemr and was prompted again for English. #1 and a person answered asking how may I help you. I began by saying how long I have been on the phone and how frustrating the autmated system was. And would she mind passing on my comments. The proceeded to esplain what I wanted in terms of service and pow..."please press 1 to continue in English, opremre dos para espanol. I hung up.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After years of using Reliant Energy I was coaxed into applying for a Price Advantage 12 Plan for 12 months at a fixed rate of 9.8c a Kwh, only to find upon reading my first bill that the rate was 12.1c kWh. After repeated enquiries and calls to their useless customer help line I am still no better off. I have email confirmation from Direct Energy of the rate they advertized and contracted, however their "investigation" shows no such rate. Seems odd to me that their rate is still advertized as I originally saw it, I wonder if anyone else has been scammed by these con artists.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bill was over $300 for a one bed room 730 feet apartment. They could not explain the bill to me at all. So now I just recieve another bill for $125. How my air is cut off all day and I was out of town for a couple of days and my bill was $179. When I called and ask them how did I get such a high bill. She said we average ove the last 3 months. Hey woman I was off for the summer and now I'm traveling around so why would you average my bill especially if Im using less energy. Truth is that they have to make some money off of you so they set an amount to charge you evry month.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company took over another and never notified me. I was paying my bill through the other company and it was never applied to my account so my power was shut off. After $120 in disconnect fees and 5 hours on the phone, they told me they had made a mistake but b/c I already had changes made, I just had to call back the morning after my disconnect date and they would put a credit hold on my account. Here I sit on hold 2 hours, 1 minute and 47 seconds later after being disconnected 3 times just today...the worst company ever!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with them for over a year. My avg bill is around 700/month so you would think I would be somewhat important. I signed up online and gave a credit card to direct pay monthly. The credit card number was stolen and had to give a different number. Easy right? NO! I get a call every month and have for the last 6 months from them telling me I need to give them a new credit card number b/c mine is no good. I tried calling once and b/c I am an "online customer" I had to pay 5 or 6 dollars to speak to a live person regarding this. They will not let you speak to anyone that is important. Just the guy from another country that calls you to get the card info every month. Very frustrating when you try to make sure all bills are paid every month and you have to deal with this. When I redo my electric, direct energy will have to be substantially cheaper for me to stay.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed up with Direct Energy one year ago when they claimed that they charged less for electricity than their competitor. When the contract ended the charge per KWH (kilowatt hour) went from 7.3 cents to 12.8 cents. ($99.00) I changed electric suppliers at 6.4 cents and for some reason it will take 2 months to switch. So Direct Energy will be raping me for the next two months.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

direct energy changed the phone number on my account with out my permission. they called a complete stranger and gave my account information for months. the person whom they were calling even notified them of the mistake several times and they never fixed it nor did they contact me to verify. my electricity was turned off and when i tried to have it turned back on they told me the only way was to pay a fee. direct energy doesn't care about their customers!!! any other company is better!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had my identity stolen and put a fraud alert on my credit with all three credit bureaus. Nearly one month after the alert was placed, Direct Energy ignored the alert and allowed a fraudulent account to be opened in my name. My first call to Direct Energy resulted in the customer service rep refusing to give me a phone number for the fraud department; instead, providing me with a fax. Two later calls resulted in me being transferred to the fraud department to leave messages with no return phone call. Finally, a customer service rep took my complaint, apologized for the inconvenience and told me to file a police report. No report would be needed if Direct Energy wouldn't have willfully ignored the fraud alert. I still have not heard from the Direct Energy fraud department.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very easy to work with. Been with them for 3 years now. Recently worked out something for me for last months payment. Were very very nice.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have been with them for about 4 years now. Never had any problems. Customer Service is very nice and friendly. Rates have been excellent and competitive. I would highly recommend


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Direct Energy since 2004 and have never had any of the problems I read here. I moved a year ago and the switch was seamless. My service was turned on the day it was supposed to be and they left service on at my old place until I was fully moved out. It was great!!! I just renewed my contract with them for less per kWh than any other company I checked, and I really did some shopping! In the time I’ve have been with them, they have been a great company! You could do a lot worse.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company took my ssn and ran my credit for service, then I supposedly had an account with the. I moved into my apartment and got a small bill for 2 weeks due to my billing cycle. Then somehow I didnt get a bill the next month. I was told by my apartment manager that her company is paying for the bill because there is no energy provider with an account for me in my name in their system. I thought this had to be a joke. I called Direct more than once just to be told i did have an account, and their company Green Mountain was trying to make me their customer. I got bills from my apartment manager for 2 months from then. So then I said enough and I called Oncor just to be told there is no account in the state of Texas with my name. I was so upset that I made a complaint to them to pass on to the right people. Then I called Direct and told them I am upset that they took my information and even billed m once, but somehow managed to take me out of their system. They told me that I never signed up for service with them, but mysteriously I had a two week bill. This company is full of liars, scam artists, and rude employees that do not want to take their blame for their mistakes. I would not tell a millionaire to start electric service with them in their party pad, they are a joke and untrustworthy in every way. No wonder the sales people are so cheerful when you start service, they suck you in and scam you behind closed doors afterwards. I have never had this experience ever with any electric company, and I have lived in a few states due to my husband being military over the years. This company does not need to be sneaky to make money, be honest when you mess something up and maybe you can keep customers!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is difficult to deal with on every level. I have received 4 phones in 2 days regarding my bill that is not even due until May 31. I feel as if I am constantly being harassed. I changed service to Texas Power when I recently moved. Unlike Direct Energy that haggled with me over transferring my rate, Texas Power was easy set up and very helpful, plus I got a cheaper rate.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I called to have service activated and they where pleasant with getting my deposit but later the service was not switched no in my name. Contacted customer service and was told because they did not send the correct information the request was sent back I said ok let get it corrected so per customer service rep it was done. Well two months now have passed and I still don't have service in my name. Called customer service and was told my request was in the BACK OFFICE wherever that is so I said just cancel my request and refund my deposit. They told me that since there was no service provided the refund would go back on my debit card within 3 to 5 days now here it is 11 day later and no refund. I called customer service again and was told it would take 4 to 6 weeks I'm upset at this point and asked for the corporate number to file a complaint and when I called the corporate office stated I wanted to file a complaint the corporate office transfer me to customer service WOW!!! Now I understand attitude reflects leadership. This has been the worst service I never had and yes I said this correctly because I never got the service connected. I would advised DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE AT ALL!!!! WARNING


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is BIG SCAM... I asked for a refund that still took 6-8 weeks for me to get and then the refund was $7.00 short of the $100 that I paid them... I went 5 days with no lights and finally swithched companies... They had the nerve to tell me that services were started at my house which they were NOT... They told me that I was suppose to call customer service and that is NOT my job that is what I paid them the money to.. IF that was the case I wouldve kept my money since they wanted me to call Center Point... Direct Energy is a BIG SCAM and are just out to get money and nothing else... I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE IN LIFE!!!!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This has been the worst experience ever with the electric company and I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas to even get an answer. Been living here for 2 months with electricity and even got a bill for a $150 deposit. But all the sudden we got shut off May 1st after we payed $300.00 March 6th then $150 April 17th. They said as of March 8th this meter was on a switch hold so we had to fax them proof we just moved in here on March 16th. At this time we was told it will take 24-48 hrs once fax was received. We waited and STILL at this very moment (5 days have pasted) we have no electricity but on May 1st at around 7:00 pm they confirmed they got the fax... Every time I called all they could say "we emailed our back office and are waiting for them to send back a response". Then when I would check up on it after a few hours they would repeat the same stuff. They say they have no other means of communication to this "back office" other than an email. For 5 days of begging, crying, and pleading with them still nothing. And when I ask them how have we had electricity for 2 months they cant tell me how cuz they don't know, but yet my meter is on a lock down due tempering as of March 8th.Today I finally got someone from there to call me back after I filed a complaint on them today just to tell me the paperwork I sent wasn't matching the county records? Well no shit we go through a "RENTAL" agency. They can't seem to understand that this is our "LANDLORDS" the people we pay rent to.... I would love to just switch company's but I need a deposit to get set up with someone else.... Direct Energy has my $450.00 ... In order to get that money back I would have to wait 4-6 weeks? I finally got them to call my Realtor so they can explain. ... I mean hell I have only told them 20 times to call the phone number on the cover sheet from the fax where it says "If there are and problems please call this number (***)***-****". I will be switching if I do ever get my electricity turned back on......... its 4:21 pm May 6th still am waiting.....ugh...


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was referred by a leasing agent to Direct Energy. It was the biggest mistake!! I ordered power what they did was asked Center point to take the meter. I did not find out that was the problem until I called them again because I still didn't have power. They decided to close my account with out even notifying me. I called again and was enrolled again on a different account and they had promised that my electricity would be on with in 2 to 4 hours. It has been more than 16 hours and until now I don't have power. Please DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS. There is also a rep by the name of JOE and his supervisor by the name of "DAN" both need to get out from Direct Energy and maybe work for Mc donalds . Both of them were very rude and caused all this trouble. It even begun from the department of new account set up. By the way the I was trying out for Power to go-Pre Pay. DO NOT USE THEM. I am sorry at the moment I cannot refer any other company because I had problems with Reliant Energy also.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up with this company. After 6 months of normal bills our gas bill doubled in price. We use about the same amount of gas every month and payed over a 100$ more. It did not get colder, so no reason there (warmer actually). After calling them they said " it's because of the variable rates". Yes sure, variable rates I understand but paying double feels like a rip off. Ooh and it will also take them 2 months to cancel. Just be prepared. Please if you can don't sign up with this company!!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have had so much trouble with this company. DO NOT sign up for E-Bill online. you will not get to talk to someone with out getting charged a fee. I was not able to log-in to view my bills. Everytime I tried to call someone to help, they said they would charge me a $5 fee to talk to them because I am a E-customer. They have all kinds of hidden fees, and it is SO hard to get anything resolved with anyone. Very deceptive and not good customer service at all. I got hung up on, we got our electricity turned off with out any notice. Such a pain! I would not reccomend this company to anyone. I would recomend that direct energy re-do their customer service.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

In the fall of 2012 I renewed my contract with Diret Energy and was so foolish as to believe the would actually send a Visa Gift Card for that renewal. It was promised in 3-10 weeks. Now, 4 months later I am still waiting. They say some time in the future I will get one; but, I do not belueve it!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company. Good prices. Been with them for 6 years and I moved recently and was all setup to move then they got a flag to have me fax in a copy of my SS card and some other ID. Well I was in the middle of my move and needed power now not when I had time to do all this s o I bailed and went to penny wise and got a lovely wise 3 for 4.4 cents pkw. But a fine company with great rates.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Give me a break ... I've had two billing issues now, two months in a row. The first one involved Direct Energy crediting me three times for the amount of my bill - twice on the due date, once the day after the due date - and then reversing the first two payments, leaving me with the payment they credited one day late. I double-checked with my bank, and they only paid one time, so this whole "one day late" was completely Direct Energy's fault, and to top it off, they had the audacity to charge me a late fee. I called and was told they would forward my request for that late fee to be removed, which it subsequently was. This month, I called and made my payment over the phone, several hours before the cut-off for it to be credited that same day (the due date) ... and guess what, but they didn't credit my payment until the next day ... another late fee! When I called, I was told by their billing dept that I needed to pay earlier in the day (that would mean earlier than Direct Energy's phone system says it needs to be paid by???) to be credited that same day. When I explained that I called in plenty of time, she proceeded to explain time zones and that it can be difficult when people live in different time zones ... since I live in Texas and therefore in the CT, and the cut-off time was listed specifically for the CT zone, that didn't wash. It was at this point that I was scolded by this woman for always making my payment one minute before the deadline every month (can't control when they put through a payment from my bank's WebBillPay ... and it is still before the deadline, right?), and she stated she could not understand why I would call "every month" to find out if there was a late payment. That ticked me off, because I have only called twice, both for billing errors on Direct Energy's side! She then stated that she had never seen the kind of errors I was bringing to her attention ... as if this was all somehow my fault, or maybe it's just me being annoying because I don't want to pay a late fee for payments that aren't late??? The call ended when I told her that there is obviously a glitch in their system, that I was the unhappy recipient of their glitch, and that instead of telling the customer to "pay earlier in the day" that it might be better to instead look at why these billing issues occurred in the first place. There was silence, followed by this person telling me that she had made a note of my comments in my file ... I'll bet! And guess what? Since my contact expires shortly, I have made a note of her comments as well and will not be renewing my contract with Direct Energy, because nothing is achieved by blaming the customer for billing and accounting errors, other than to piss off the customer!


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy lost my October and Novermber payments. The checks were cashed but not credit applied to my account. After countless calls and over 8 hours on the phone with them, they still cannot get the information to confirm payments even though I have faxed proof of payment FOUR times to them. DO NOT use this company -they are totally disorganized. They have a fax department, an email department, a payment tracking department, a collection departemtn and a customer solutions department. None of whom can or do speak with the others so there is no way anything can be achieved.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i read a lot of your reviews i never had any of your guys complaints, i did find out that there is Direct Energy and Direct energy business two different companies i use direct energy and am very happy i use it at all 23 of my business locations and my house.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is a Rip Off; high priced energy. It is nearly impossible to sign up for new service and just as hard to sign up for auto pay, and they charge you $5 for every call...and they charge you $15 for "Autopay Breakage Charge" to which will be their fault for not properly setting you up in their system. They also will charge you for a Late Penalty when your not late, an advanced Metering charge, etc. I will file (and have had success filing claims) with the Federal Consumer Protection Agency, and suggest you do the same any time these guys or a bank messes with you. It's easy and you get results, as I have on two or three occassions!


Billing and Account Management