Please excuse us while we perform system maintenance.

We apologize, we are currently doing some maintenance. Our website will be back up again shortly.

First Choice Power Reviews | Texas Electricity Ratings

Read First Choice Power Reviews


Shop

Find different electricity plans in your area:


Rate

Choose a company below to review:

Rate Company »


Reviews

Choose a company below to read reviews:

Read Reviews »



Customer Reviews for First Choice Power

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Wonderfull

Shirley , Dallas - 2014-08-14 10:28:10

Great experience all around.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Don't Do It!!!

SCREW THIS COMPANY, Corpus Christi - 2014-05-19 15:36:58

Am extremely upset that they continued to bill me after canceling my account with no warning and were charging me for THE WRONG ADDRESS AND METER.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Impossible to work with!!

Ash, mineral wells - 2014-04-24 11:59:59

ive been trying for 3 weeks to get my energy started and i was told to fax in a refernce letter from a fellow user to get my deposit dropped. Ive faxed it in twice now grom different places same number they said was correct and they have yet to "recieve" it. They hang up on me when i call to speak with supervisor and its the most frustrating company/business ive ever had work with. Im very disappointed and dissatisfied. If i ever get it to go through i probably wont use them. so far NOT so good.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bad

Frank , Alvin Tx - 2014-04-21 18:45:12

FCP is really bad! Over the years these idiots kept sending me notices for bills that I already paid, and could prove it! The last straw these bastards cut off my power saying that we had a past due of 11.00$ this was wrong according to our online statement. Who do the think they are HL&P! I do NOT recommend these people! It is my belief that the person whom I talked to last had parents that where also cousins!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Hijack transfer three weeks later.

Jeff Houze, Seabrook TX - 2014-04-03 19:29:36

I signed up online, didn't receive any confirmation for three weeks. In the meantime I transferred to another company. Then First Choice Power couldn't stop the transfer supposedly. This resulted in a cancellation fee from the company I actually intend on keeping.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Impossible!

George&Carolyn, Galveston - 2014-03-19 10:03:21

Concerted attempts to get this account set-up were thwarted by a poor computer system, and overall bad organizational system. Despite several attempts to assist by good customer service reps, still I was unable to set up automatic payments. Even cancelling the service order to switch was difficult and painful. The voice mail hell message informing it would cost $5.95 to even get human customer support was the final straw! Finally got it cancelled before the switch. GROAN!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

dont believe reps

becca culbreath, abilene - 2014-03-19 06:01:52

I have been a customer 10 years. In beginning great customer service now not so much. Paid my bill 2 night ago by automatic system which the rep told me to & transfer me to. This morning I am in the dark. This isn't the first time either!!! And last time I still got a reconnect fee. And was told pay or no service. Called today and they told not worry your work order is already in just takes time. Had new phone number for a month gave it to them and still Not in the system. So I will be shopping for new provider

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Dissapointing

Tina, Dallas - 2014-02-11 14:19:10

When I first started with this company they were great! No deposit & the customer service was excellent. Several years later they were bought out by Direct Energy & the customer service & common sense went out the window! They were rude & kept cutting off my power (finally the 3rd time I said to hell with them) I had to send proof that I had paid the same bill twice & was not refunded for it & they had cut me off for that same amount even BEFORE my due date! I was put on hold by this girl who tried to claim she didn't have a supervisor on duty. I told her don't dare lie to me & tell me that a call center and/or company will allow employees who have to deal with people be there at work UNSUPERVISED. I was place on hold for 2 hours, no one answered. while I was on hold (1st hour) I had gone to my moms to call from her home phone & finally got a hold of a supervisor who had me pay the bill again to reconnect & send him proof that the bill had been paid & that I had not been refunded nor credited on my bill for $74! & get this supposedly it took them 3 months to APPLY this credit!! If I were you, I would look at a different company. because they definitely suck now.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Dissapointing

Tina, Dallas - 2014-02-11 14:16:56

When I first started with this company they were great! No deposit & the customer service was excellent. Several years later they were bought out by Direct Energy & the customer service & common sense went out the window! They were rude & kept cutting off my power (finally the 3rd time I said to hell with them) I had to send proof that I had paid the same bill twice & was not refunded for it & they had cut me off for that same amount even BEFORE my due date! I was put on hold by this girl who tried to claim she didn't have a supervisor on duty. I told her don't dare lie to me & tell me that a call center and/or company will allow employees who have to deal with people be there at work UNSUPERVISED. I was place on hold for 2 hours, no one answered. while I was on hold (1st hour) I had gone to my moms to call from her home phone & finally got a hold of a supervisor who had me pay the bill again to reconnect & send him proof that the bill had been paid & that I had not been refunded nor credited on my bill for $74! & get this supposedly it took them 3 months to APPLY this credit!! If I were you, I would look at a different company. because they definitely suck now.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bill tripled in a month!

Williams, Killeen - 2014-01-13 19:17:45

When we started with First Choice, I thought it was going to be a piece of cake, and that I wouldn't have any problems. My husband and I have been in this house for 8 months, and we received a bill that was TRIPLE what it had been, even in the dog days of summer, which, in Killeen, can get over 100, and does quite frequently. When I called to have the bill fixed, I sat on hold for 25 minutes, and when I finally spoke with a rep, I couldn't understand her. She couldn't give me a reason as to why my bill was so high, so she 'put in' for someone to come check my meter. A week later and I still haven't heard back from them. My husband called last night, and was also given the runaround. Our kWh price jumped twice during the service period and our usage went from a 725 average, to close to 2000, without us using extra, or changing anything we were doing. I will definitely be switching, after I call, yet again, and complain.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Door to door Salsman would not go away to the point I had to call 911

Summer S. , Cypress - 2014-01-04 13:10:48

A door-to-door salesman came to my house this afternoon to try and make me change companies. I told him I was not interested and he refused to go away and knocked on the door again after I told him my baby was asleep and that I was not interested. After the third or fourth time of telling him to leave I threatened to call the police when he told me to call the police because he had a license to be there. There was no way that I thought he was with a legitimate company and so I called 911. Then walked off once he heard me on the phone with the police. When the police officer showed up he said he had spoke to the Man going door-to-door to sell his power company and that's when off sir told me he was with first choice power. I will never switch to this company ever! I called to speak with a supervisor to report the matter I was on hold for 30 minutes and once I spoke to him he sounded like a child and did not take any information from me and said he would look into it. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Shady

Linda, Dallas - 2013-11-12 19:13:42

Had average billing for a year. It ended and without warning they charged me additional fees and overages. I called to see why my bill was so high. I asked If I opt out of the average billing would I be charged additional fees. I was put on hold and afterwards was told NO, there would be no additional fees. I confirmed by asking twice and was told no. The next day I check my bill and the bill is $35 more. I call to see why. I was told, "after the over night processing of the changes there was a fee." Now I want to know why was I told different. They simply kept repeating themselves on the overnight processing. Finally I ask the tape be reviewed and a complaint filed. I was told I still need to pay the bill and MAYBE they will not charge me the additional fees. The customer service representative also read the complaint back to me and it only addressed what he said and nothing I had said. I then got off the phone and switched companies. SHADY!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Avoid First Choice

Adam, Temple - 2013-09-07 06:23:23

Con 1. Price is about 30% more than other company 2. Horrible customer service. They will hang up on you to answer a call and then call you back later without apologizing. 3. Automated caller will call you none stop for advertisement and billing reminder, even those I always pay on time. Pro None

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great Price Poor Everything Else!

Megan Christopher, Fort Worth - 2013-08-30 12:17:24

I was with 1st Choice Power for many years. I did not have a problem with billing for the most part until I realized I was getting over charged. The only that was ok with the situation is that they caught it too and reimbursed me my money back. I later decided to go with another company and the last bill that would usually be due the next month they wanted right away. Within 15 days my account was sent to a collection agency for $47. I spoke with customer service who said I needed to talk to Finance. Finance told me I needed to talk to customer service. I was hung up on twice and I was finally told by someone that my track record is impeccable and that my account should have never been sent to collections. 4 days later I called again because the collection agency called me again stating they never received anything from 1st choice power. I asked to speak with a supervisor. He was not willing to answer any of my questions and kept cutting me off and was clearly frustrated. He finally transferred me to Finance who then told me AGAIN that they will note my account to not be transferred back to Finance because I needed to talk to Customer Service. I am more than willing to pay my bill, when it is due. I also would like for someone to just answer a few questions and they seem unable to do that as well.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

first choice power is horrible

judy simmons, north richland hills tx - 2013-08-27 10:29:29

I went to transfer my electric because I had a friend refer me there. When I first signed up I gave them my referral number so my friend would get credit they said they couldnt take it at that time when the credit department called me they would take it. Credit department calls me and I go to give them the number they said it had to be done at enrollement so my friend would not get his credit nor would I. I talked to a supervisor and she also said it had to be done during enrollment so what to do to get credit was cancel my account and start new, so I did that and the supervisor told me to tell them to put the referral on first page. Well when i got ahold of them to redo I got the same answer from enrollment they couldnt put it in on erollment, I agrued with them and got another supervisor which she said she would send a workorder and get me my credit but my friend would have to call in to get his. I let this go after I got my credit. THEN i was told i needed to fax my drivers license and social to get my service transferred. I did this and I call them and to see what was going on was my service transferred since my old electric company was shutting my power off in two days, they say they still havent got the fax which by now i already faxed three times. I refaxed and was told to give them up to 48 hours to get fax at that time i told them my service was being turned off the woman on the phone told me she was putting in a priority order to have it transferred that day which was a wed and that everything was ok. Friday comes and my electric is still on so I assumed everything was ok, well it comes monday and I am sitting at the house when the power goes off. I call first choice power and they tell me the priority order didnt go through so they couldnt transfer my electric cause they still havent received my fax I ask them what i need to do to get my power on and they tell me I have to fax that again which must have been the 6th time and it would take 48 hours to get turned on, my husband has copd and has to have his oxygen but that didnt matter they would not help well needless to say I called direct energy and they had my power on in two hours.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Poor Loyalty

Tirza Hedger, Irving TX - This company's HOMETOWN! - 2013-07-16 09:06:40

I have been with FCP since 2008. I have always paid my bills on time and was in a contract with them for 2 years. I opted to enroll in another locked in rate, but this action did not occur. And I did not notice, I just thought my bills were high because I have a poorly insulated apartment. After the merger with Direct Energy, I did not receive a billing statement. I phoned and the agent stated that even though I have no statement, I should go ahead and pay what I have been paying monthly, so that when the statements are released in another month or so, I am not stuck with a double bill. WHAT?? The billing statements changed completely when they did come out and I couldnt figure out what was the actual amount owed! Who can even read those?! There is a balance due, but its not the balance owed? The whole system is ridiculous. I called in to cancel my service and switch to another provider. I was informed that, OH, they can offer me a locked in rate at 8.6 (which comes out to 9.3, really). So.... there is no customer tracking in place that can clearly identify customers who have been with the company for some time and could benefit from being on a locked-in rate? This company really just lets people continue to pay higher rates without even a phone call to inquire whether they are interested in lowering their rate? This company does not look out for its customers no matter how long you have been with them. It is sad, and has been a huge waste of time for myself and my family.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Should Be Last Choice

Former FCP Customer , Dickinson, TX - 2013-06-13 13:08:29

My Transmission Distribution Charges (TDU) shot up to $20.08 in the last 4 months on a meter that only uses 18kwh/month. I have another meter and account with Champion Energy on the same property and those second meter TDU charges are $6.49 per month. Champion says current TDU charges are uniform at $9.98/month and that their, Champion's, charges are passed trough from the utility without any mark-up. I did not know that the energy billing company could add on to, MARK UP, the TDU charges. First Choice would not give me a straight answer, so I changed this account over to Champion Energy and reduced my bill by 35%.Cut the TDU in half!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

bad aftertaste after long-time customer

Carolyn J, Houston - 2013-04-30 15:15:38

I am very disappointed that my final bill was not sent to me but was instead sent to the collection agency when I never received a final bill. I had been a customer since 2008. A review of my payment history would have reflected that I always paid my bill and on-time so why would i skip out on a $55 bill. No customer service follow-up was conducted that ensured there were no communication gaps before forwarding this account to a collection agency. I will write a yahoo review to inform others to be beware of this company because I feel this was a spiteful dis-service on a honest, hardworking citizen. I would suggest before you send a person to a collection agency that you first check and make sure the final bill was received in hand, esp. if their payment history reflects a good status. I will probably not consider this company again or recommend it to my friends.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Robert Brown

Robert Brown, Grand Prairie - 2013-04-29 12:24:00

In Feb 2012 I was a victim of identity theft because of First choice Power's way of just signing anyone up without making them show any documentation. I recieved a collection notice from them at which I cooperated with them as a victim of this crime. I gave the company very personal information, copy of my driver's llicense, SS card, my electric bills etc which they told me would be confidential. I faxed this infor to the number they gave and recived a faxed confirmation that that the matter was being looked at and heard nothing more till this date. On this date I recieve another collection notice form from them again wanting all my personal info. I found out through a customer service supervisor that first choice electric was bought by some other place or debt collection. I contacted first choice directly and talked to thier collections per the recieved collection form. I informed them I had already cooperated even giving them the supect in Feb 2012. I was upset they lost or misplaced my person information identy theft packet and now want this again. This should really be a flare to all about where personal information of ours is stored and that this company cannot even keep up with it and thier investigations of identy theft packets! I was upset again being harrassed twice as a victim of identy theft. It seems to me that due to this buy out or whatever they did, that they did not make any effort to reserch and to see I had already cooperated in past. It appears they are just sending out new packets to every old debt and making me go through as a victim of identity theft twice! I feel very very uncomfortable! with resending them all my person information again and misplace or lose it a second time. I have no confidence in thier ability to do thier jobs correctly and keep my packet with person info in a place they can refer to. Makes me wonder what was done with this packet. I wonder how many others are being recontacted to do this all over again!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bad service

Lizeth, Rio grande city texas - 2013-02-07 20:42:00

I had a late balance if 10 dls and my light got disconnected. I made the payment that same day and service was supposed to be connected. The day passed it wasn't connected, I called the following day and they said it was already on it's way for connection, need less to sayi It took me four days to switch company because first choice never connected my device. All they would give were excuses and I didn't have a balance my payments were always made on time. Really hate there customer service

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

First Choice needs to be your very last choice! (MUST READ)

SAHM, Mckinney - 2013-02-04 01:42:08

Where do I begin. Lets see . Ive used First Choice for almost 3 years . My fiance and I just moved into our third apartment and were going to stay with them. We have lived here for a month and about four days ago at about 7 in the morning before it was light outside our power shut off. We have a 6 month old little girl and I was just about to warm her bottle and bam the power shut off.. Called oncore and reported a power outage. I was told there was no outage that I had clearly been shut off. We have NEVER been late on a bill. I let my fiance take the car to work that day so I had to bundle my baby up and walk to the leasing office and use the phone since I couldnt charge my cell without electricity. I call first choice to ask why this happened to me and told them I needed my power back on immediately due to the fact I have a baby in the home, and every representative gave me the run around. They all said Mam we didnt order you to be shut off blah blah blah let me transfer you to so and so. After about 3 hours of talking to probably every representative and being treated like shit the last one I talk to tells me that it was an error and they didnt mean to cut me off ,and that they would turn me on the next day. Next day still no power so I call again and the lady said oh your on a service hold the people who lived there before you didnt cancel their electricity. You have been using their power and when their bill wasnt paid it shut off. She said we never turned your meter on. I said so I have lived here a month and you didnt call me to notify me that the day I moved in you didnt start service? Ive even called and made a payment from my old apartment and the representative never once said this to me.Not to mention the person I spoke with yesterday never said that and also said I would have my power back on today. She said im sorry but there is nothing we can do for four days until we have the service hold removed. I said well this is not our fault and we have to do without power because this company failed to tell us about a service hold? I said what about all of my groceries in my freezer and refridgerator and she said well do you have a reciept you can send us. Who keeps grocery reciepts from months ago? I had tons and tons of frozen meat that was ruined this company showed no remorse. I was in tears because we didnt have the money for a hotel and we couldnt be with out power. My baby wont take her bottles unless they are warm. Nobody could help us I asked to speak with a supervisor and he admitted that they should have notified me of the service hold but that there was nothing he could do. I hung up on them and called txu and what do you know they had the service hold removed in three HOURS because they are not lazy assholes who need four days to fax a damn peice of paper. We had power with txu that day. I will never ever go with this company again. First choice does not care about their customers needs at all. Most companies who make mistakes like this fix the problem immediately. I can promise you one thing if you go with First Choice it will one hundred percent be your most worst possible choice. It took a while for me to type this with a baby in my lap. I did this to get the word out because I pray this doesnt happen to someone else it was god aweful. Nothing in the world is worse than having your power cut off for no reason and the company not helping you!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Double Charge

Mandy, Houston - 2013-01-25 10:42:55

First Choice was my in-laws choice of electricity...so we stayed with First Choice. From May to November I would be notified the 4th or 5th of the month via e-mail that my new statement was available..how much was due...then I would pay it. Sounds fine, right? Well we were notified that we would be experiencing some changes with their new system, I was fine with that, but didn't expect to NOT receive a bill or text stating that my statement was available. So the 5th of the month comes and goes, I wait a few more days, decide to check my account to see if there was my new statement, can't log on.. Find out I have to create a new username and log in to sign on (after I already had made one and been signing on since May no problems), I create a new username and password, sign on...no new statement, but prompted to sign up for e-mail billing AGAIN. I e-mailed customer service about not receiving my new bill, nothing. Five more days pass still no new statement. Finally after 20 days there is a December statement, about what I expect to pay..I pay it, no problems. Well January 21 comes around and I get a new text notification stating I owe "X" amount of dollars. As usual ready to pay it, but then the next day get another e-mail saying I owe ""x" amount of dollars...which was double what I was supposed to pay. So in two days...two bills. January is not a huge electric bill for me as for many people, but when the second statement comes, its what I would pay in the summer! I call customer service. He doesn't know anything, keeps telling me that I requested a hold on the payment... talking to me like I am an idiot. I never requested any holds of any kind. Then he says that their was a delay in the meter read and this was for a previous month. So basically they held charges on their own account and expect me to pay double all of a sudden. Here I have paid my bill every month on time, never call them or anything until I didn't get my statement. Then First Choice delays 20 days in sending me a statement and changes the billing date on their own terms, and I get stuck with paying double. So needless to say, I will be reviewing the billing periods, the due dates, statement dates, and looking for a new electric company. I don't think I would have been so upset, if they would have billed me on December's statement like they should have.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bad Customer Service

Sandra Voronin, Pasadena - 2013-01-11 12:35:51

I switched to First Choice last October 2012 and never received a bill. I called numerous times and was always told to wait a week or so more so they could research the problem. On January 9, 2013 I had finally had enough and called and requested to be released from my contract because I felt they had not kept up their part of the contract. I was told I was released with no penalty but then on 1/11/13 they called and said I would have to pay $295. I couldn't afford to do that so I called the other power and company and explained that I would have to stay with First Choice and was released from their contract. I then called First Choice and told them I would stay with them because I could not afford the penalty. Apparently they didn't reinstate me and Center Point Energy cut off my power. After spending 1 hour on the phone with First Choice trying to resolve this matter I finally gave up and called Reliant Energy who very professionally reconnected my service. VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE AT FIRST CHOICE.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

They should go to jail !!!!

Jacques Bell, Texas City - 2012-11-07 11:53:29

I moved in the home of my deceased mother from out of town.I chose this company,paid my deposit and begin service.A few days later someone contacted me and asked if I knew someone with my last name. I told them that the person was a relative.They asked if he still lived there and i said no as he didn't.They told me that i had to prove that he did not live there and that i didn't live with him a certain time. I answered them.shortly thereafter they stuck me with his $2,100 bill,turned off my power and kept my deposit. All because i was related to someone that supposedly owed them.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Scam artists

KC, Houston - 2012-09-14 14:01:00

I have never used first choice power but my wife has in the past, so I called them to find out the rates and get something going for our new house. Well to say that it was a mistake would be an understatment!! Not only does my bill skyrocket every month it never declines. We went on vacation last month for 2 weeks and I had all new windows installed as well as new door seals the month before. Receiving my bill I was happy to think that it should be little to nothing....WRONG!!! My bill was $1 off from the month before!!! When I called them it was a "oh well" experience. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER use or reffer first choice power. Needless to say when my contract is over in January I will be going elswhere as fast as possible! If you are reading this RUN........if you dont you will regret it in a month or so.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Have been dissatified for awhile

L.B, Dickinson - 2012-08-17 12:03:31

I have been with First Choice Power for four years now. I am finally deciding to try out with Bounce Energy. First Choice is very hard to work with for payment arrangements, they are very unforgiven for misstakes to help out again if you had been late for past arrangements. Yeah all ppl make mistakes. I was late in December of 2011 for an arrangement I was on, one day until it was due, was the day before pay day, I ask if they could please give me just that one day to pay, but they refused, so with baby and all, electricity was cut off. Until this day August 2012, I needed an arrangement, but because of that last time, I have to wait a year (December 2012) to receive for another arrangement. Times is hard for ppl, and their options for hard times is not care to them at all. Its best to find a company that will work with you just incase for hardship, because you never know what you will go through in time of need for your family.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Excellent

Cas, Houston, TX - 2012-04-10 00:00:00

Have not had a problem at all with this company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

great provider for us!!

Margaret Burton, Odessa, Tx - 2012-03-22 00:00:00

We are a non-profit community provider in Odessa and First Choice was great. We are saving about 450-500 dollars per month. This helps with the budget. Wish we had this provider many months ago. We did start Aug 2011.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Inaccurate Billing Practices

Former Customer, Texas - 2012-02-23 00:00:00

After Receiving an incorrect bill I was disputing it with the company who was supposed to get back to me. Instead while waiting for the company to call me back they turned my account over to NCO Financial as a collections issue. In the meantime, being tired of the poor customer service practices and not being in a contract I switched providers to be rid of First Choice. I paid the final bill for what I owed for electric usage to NCO and on my Final Bill I was also charged $250.00 for a new deposit and $150.00 for early termination fee. What makes NO sense is why would I owe a deposit when my bill was paid in full and I was with a different electric provider. And why would I owe an early termination fee when I was no longer in any contract with First Choice Power. Now,4 years after this entire ordeal was resolved their innacurate records still show the balance for not making an additional deposit and for early termination both of which are invalid charges. Billing is a Major SCAM.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

the worst company I've ever used!

Keara, Dallas TX - 2012-02-06 00:00:00

Please beware that this company, they are extremely high. I received a bill every month that was $500.00 or more. I found that hard to believe and try to contact first choice and they were no help all they said was that I use that much service. I questioned that due to the fact that I work an 8-5 everyday. I later received a 1088 bill which my service was then turned off because I could not pay the bill. Once I finally got a chance to pay the bill after sleeping at hotels they didn't remove the switch hold that they had placed on my account stating that it would take 7 to 11 days for it to fall off. First choice never told me that it would take so long for it to come off. This company has made my life HELL! PLEASE DONT GO HERE THEY ARE HIGH AND RUDE!! The name does not fit them AT ALL THEY WILL NEVER BE MY FIRST CHOICE PLEASE DONT MAKE THEM YOURS OR YOU WILL REGRET IT LATER!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Bad company

cherry1979, Wichita Falls, TX - 2012-01-30 00:00:00

Well I was with reliant and we decided to go to first choice.. boy was that a mistake. I wish I had never switched over. I got behind on one bill and everything went to h*ll so fast. They helped me with one payment arrangement and then I paid over the amount of the payment arrangement and they counted it as broken.They turned off my power when I gave them more money than I owed. Called customer service and they had a supervisor call me back and he stated that he made it right.. and that I did not have to worry about a thing...then 2 weeks later my power went off again. CS stated that I needed to make another payment arrangement and more money had to be laid down. This company will take all your penny and then some. Go with a good company please.. after a while we just gave up and went to another company and payed the 200.00 disconnect fee. DON'T TRUST THIS COMPANY

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

just my opinion

Scott, Cleburne Texas - 2012-01-26 00:00:00

I have been with First Choice for about 7 years , had money problems along the way and never had a problem getting an extension and if you know you are going to be late they wont charge any extra IF you call for extension before due date . I read a lot of reviews complaing about thier rate going up after the introductory rate period ran out..a lot of providers offer a ridiculous rate of around .04 as a way to get you to choose them..it only last a couple of months people so instead of taking that rate for 3 months get a 1 year rate and nobody is going to give you more than 3 months at .04 . First Choice worked with me when I was laid off and was slow paying my bills so I will stick with them as long as I get a good rate from them . I am currently paying .09 and I am happy with it . I always get friendly and helpful people when I call .

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:

Horrible

veronica, houston - 2012-01-09 00:00:00

I have been with them for 3 yrs when i recentlly had finaicial trouble and asked for a five day extension on my bill they wouldnt do it even after i told them about my two small children and damn near cried!!!! they showed no sympathy and continued to tell me i would have to pay 50% first. After i borrowed 300 to pay them from brother and paid online they said you would have to pay the money when your on the phone setting up the payment plan. I was devastated they wanted another 150 I had to get my lights cut off and me my mom and my one and two year old would be in the dark

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Words are not same as contract.

Hattie Carlson, Sweetwater, Texas - 2012-03-08 00:00:00

"We will lower your current bill by 25%!" is what I was told so I switched companies. BUT my bill went higher by 25%! And it was too late because I signed a two year contract. I will never take on a two yr contract again. I feel "had" or "stuck" for two years. I have a hunch they were charging the wrong rate for my small business.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Poor Customer Service

Mad in Texas, Dickinson, TX - 2011-11-20 00:00:00

First choice is a poor customer service company!! I have been a customer of this company for 5 years. I had some trouble with fraudulent use on my credit card and had to cancel the card. This caused the bank to block my First Choice Power bill. I paid in full when I realized that this was an issue. They cut off my on-line auto pay and told me I had to pay them in cash from this point forward. I was able to get my auto pay enabled again after dealing with the rudest of customer service groups. I am now shopping... Thanks First Choice!!!

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Horrible Experience

Kurt, Lewisville, TX - 2011-11-08 00:00:00

When we recently switched to a new provider First Choice turned us into a bill collector only a week after we recieved the bill in the mail. We consitently paid our bills in full and on time. This was the capstone of constant late bill notices in the mail and a threatening letter to pay our final bill BEFORE we even received it. I would highly recommend looking elsewhere for a provider. They obviously do not care about their customers, only your money. We will NEVER use First Power again!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice Power is not the best choice...

Jacquel Willis, Rosenberg, TX - 2011-12-27 00:00:00

I have been a customer for 3 years and I am very unhappy with First Choice Power, I was under payment arrangements for a previous bill, I was told by Customer Service, if I can't pay my bill on the due date, always call and let them know. I called a total of 3x, on the 3rd time, I was told if I don't pay the full balance on the 3rd of January, my lights would be cut off. I explained to them that I get paid on the 5th, and would pay them in full on that day, and also asked them could they extend the due date for 2 extra days only, on my pay day, they said "No!!" I talked with two different managers, and they both said the same thing. The 2nd manager was very rude, he called me and after he said who he was, he immediately said, "I am backing what the previous manager said, and we shouldn't have anything else to discuss." I tried to explain to him about my payday and he didn't want to hear a word I had to say. I do plan to find another light company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Horrible in all ways possible

Phil, Dickinson, Tx - 2011-10-17 00:00:00

Received my first bill, holy crap. If you plan on using this company get a second job. They charge for everything! Maintaining thier own equipment costs you 65$! And they don't just charge you for kWh, there is a 95$ base charge. It was described as a "small" base charge. Good grief... I really thought moving to a place where the power was deregulated would make for a cheaper electric bill. Greed screws up free enterprise once again. Good job...

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Deceptive Business Practices

Stuart Richards, Houston, TX USA - 2011-10-26 00:00:00

Very low 'Intro' rate to get you to switch. While it does say the rate is variable, there is nothing that says it is *guaranteed* to go up. I've been with other companies with variable rates before and they have fluctuated slightly over several years. After the first month this company TRIPLES the rate. When you call customer service they tell you that you were informed of this. Of course, I was never ever made aware that after the first month 'intro' rate the rate would go to their 'standard' month to month rate. I was lead to believe that the initial rate may go up or down based on market conditions. Avoid this company like the plague, or pay for it with your wallet.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

RIP OFF

GJ, Dallas, TX - 2012-01-03 00:00:00

I was signed up for autopay. My credit card expired and no one notified me that the payments were not going through. I never receieved any requests for payment nor was I contacted. When I recieved the disconnect letter, I was not allowed to pay over the phone or online. This is by far the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. Finding a new provider now. I would rather pay 10-fold than to give this company another dime.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice Power

Shante Sanders, Houston, Tx - 2011-08-28 00:00:00

I have been with First Choice Power for over two years and I have not had any major issues. I have been offered good promotions each time I renew my plan and I am satisfied. My electricity bill is still extremely high but I would not imagine it has anything to do with them, It's HOT!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Bait and Switch

Dan Swysgood, Wichita Falls, TX - 2011-09-21 00:00:00

I chose this company solely based on their introductory variable rate of .04/KWh. I got a bill after two weeks of being their customer..no problems. The next full month I was billed for .128/KWh--more than triple the intro rate. I expected some increase, but not to this extent. This company is only specializing in profits and making their customers angry.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Simple Customer Service/Courtesy

Anonymous, - 2011-07-28 00:00:00

I've been with 1st Choice Power for two years now and I would have switch but I waited too late. I've learned that it is your responsiblity to keep up with your own business so I make sure I pay everybill on time and in full, I always keep a confirmation number, and I make sure I write down the who..what.. when.. where..and how much when I speak with customer service. I found out that hard way that a lot of company's and/or employees don't give two shits about customer service/courtesy or simple respect. I've reported them to the Federal Trade Commission regarding the advertising/disclosures because over the phone you are told and agree with one thing and they send disclosures to you stating something totally different. In the end I control my electricity not 1st Choice Power.

6 of 7 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

This Company Is A Scam

AngryBro, Arlington TX - 2011-06-23 00:00:00

I've never seen a $500 electric bill for a small 2 bedroom apartment. They lie to get you to switch and blame it on the meter. My bill instantly went up after switching to them.

6 of 8 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

PLEASE DO NOT GO WITH FIRST CHOICE

Anonymous, TX USA - 2011-05-18 00:00:00

if you are one day late they send you a disconnect letter. Then they nail surcharges on you, and charge you another deposit. You can actaully end up paying out 300 hundred dollars a month.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Electric bill rate

LOIS JENNINGS, LA MARQUE, TEXAS - 2011-06-18 00:00:00

NO PROBLEM WITH FIRST CHOICE POWER.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

They double charge you

Anonymous, Texas - 2010-12-21 00:00:00

every few months i would get a bill for double my usual bill. first time i paid, 2nd time i complained and they removed it. this time they refused. i told them that they were charging me for a month that i had already paid and i had the confirmation number to prove it. guy said it was double reading and i still owed. would not help me at all. i have switched and am reporting them. i keep all my bills and confirmations so lets see them prove me wrong.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Go Elsewhere! I AM

Margaret Friend, Clifton, TX - 2010-11-17 00:00:00

I've been with First Choice Power since May of 2006. Several months ago, I had a 200 credit on my account (I like to pay in advance) they let some stranger with a past due from another company take over my utility and use MY credit without even checking to see if that person was the rightful property owner. The only way I found out was her bills started coming to my address. First Choice Power did NOTHING to help me, the rightful customer. I had to go to TexNewMex Power Company and talk with someone in person to get MY account back. Now I have wires hanging from the main drop outside and First Choice told me they would have aperson over yesterday; but today said it would take 3-5 business days to 'process' a ticket. I'm paying 12.52 pkwth and going elsewhere.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Only So-So

Bethany S., Houston, TX - 2010-09-10 00:00:00

Overall, I didn't have many problems with my power except with all the unexpected outages after Hurricane Ike. My problem came with billing when one month they apparently "estimated" my usage and billed me. When the bill came and it was more than double my normal bill, I called and they changed it. But shouldn't billing someone for accurate useage be a requirement for a good company? They also tend to be one of the more expensive companies currently so I will be switching as I move to a new apartment complex this month.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

1st

Charles R Brown, Gatesville, TX USA - 2010-09-01 00:00:00

This has been my company for a couple years. When someone told me about another company, I started checking them out. I decided to give Green Mountain Energy a try. I ordered a six month plan that was a little cheaper to try to save a little money.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

CEO

Dr. Malcolm Jones, Houston, TX, USA - 2010-07-27 00:00:00

Great experience. No tricks on billing or hidden charges.

0 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst Choice Power

Jack, Dallas TX - 2010-07-17 00:00:00

They might be your 1st choice, but after they steal your money and ruin your credit score, they won't be your 2nd, 3rd, or 4th... My experience is very similar to others who have posted reviews here. I.e., Erroneous charges, hours on the phone trying to correct billing errors caused by First Choice, power being mistakenly shut off spoiling hundreds of dollars worth of food, contracts that automatically self-renew unless you notify them in writing 6 months in advance, lots of sneaky fine print and tricky loop holes for them to take your money... First Choice was a nightmare for my family. I called the Texas Public Utility Commission in Austin and they put my complaints in a file and told me that my experience was par for the course with First Choice. Save your money and a lot of pain and suffering too... AVOID WORST CHOICE!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

not the best....

Deborah Wiseman, Lewisville, Texas USA - 2010-10-12 00:00:00

Was not forthcoming with information to me now I'm on SSDI to know about Lite Up Texas that is available to me. Gave me the runaround for two years until I was finally able to find a supervisor Dora who took the time to help me for the first time anyone did when I called First Choice Power. First Choice Power does not help SSDI customers find out about what's available to them with their electric bill when you call them and ask them.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

electric co

Jenn, Gatesville Texas - 2010-10-23 00:00:00

Frist Choice power cares absolutely nothing about customer service...I have been with them for 5 years and threatened to disconnect me when I paid a bill 5 dollars short in error.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice

CK, McKinney,TX - 2010-06-14 00:00:00

We had problems from the first day of service. The customer service reps will argue with you until you have them review the history. They always assume they're right when obviously they make an unusually high amount of mistakes.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice Power

Sandy Clark, Victoria, TX - 2010-05-15 00:00:00

I would not recommend First Choice Power. They manipulate the renewal contracts, do not have a safe check put in place when you pay your bill on line with a check so if you make a data entry error in your routing number or check account number, they charge you as if you had an NSF EVEN THOUGH you can prove you had the funds and the bank did not charge you for it AND the bank can show they had a check come through with data entry errors. THEN to top it off, you are placed in their category were you have to pay in cash until the alleged NSF drops off their system. So needless to say if you lock in with one of their 12 month rates, which because of how they "get around to processing it" you can't get away from them for another 3-6 months after you think your contract should expire. For example, we signed up with them in March however we have to wait until July of the following year to change to hopefully a company set up to better handle customers. I DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Long term customer

Smith, Dickinson Texas - 2010-02-15 00:00:00

I have been with First Choice for 17 years. Neighbors have been changing from First Choice to other companies that have lower rates. I decided to check and looked up rates on the Power to Choose.com site. I found that First Choice had very high rates compared to other companies. I called thinking that as a good customer of long standing that perhaps they could adjust my rate. They would not adjust my rate and didn't seem to care when I advised that I felt I didn't have a choice but to change companies. In the past, I spent hours on the phone with them each month trying to adjust an error of their doing on my bill. After about 6 months, they finally were able to resolve the problem but it was very frustrating to me to have to spend so much of my time trying to resolve a problem. They would assure me each month it was resolved but then the next month it was still on the bill. Finally, they did get it corrected. They obviously do not care about their long term customers.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

don't use them if you value your money or credit score

C. Smith, Euless, TX - 2010-02-07 00:00:00

The initial promotion was good but when it came time to renew customer service was awful. There was a dispute as to the length of the plan & a complaint had to be filed with the PUC to get any documentation. They sent disconnection notices for the disputed amount during the investigation, raised my rate to a default rate of 20 cents a kilowatt and disconnected my service (over a $55.73 dispute) before I got the results of the investigation after telling me that it would not be disconnected until I'd been notified in writing once the investigation was done by both the PUC & them. When they were called afterwards a supervisor verified that the disconnection was in error and that they should be responsible for my expenses. The executive office told me to send all my documents to them within 2 weeks & that I would hear from them within 30 days of receiving it. The date on the letter from the collection agency was before that two weeks was even up; they didn't reimburse for anything.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

save your money and your time-don't do it!

Debra, Central Texas, USA - 2010-04-15 00:00:00

First of all, I am a responsible adult with excellent credit that pays my bills on time. This company adds late fees and disconnect notice charges to my bill that they automatically draft from my bank account. I have spent hours on the phone getting the charges removed. I have contacted the Public Utility Commission, and the BBB. I am getting out of my contract and changing companies. Seems they have had numerous complaints of the same kind. Save yourself some headaches, go somewhere else!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Sadly terrible

Anonymous, Texas - 2010-01-20 00:00:00

We have only had First Choice for 5 months and had continuous problems with customer service and billing. As of today we are already looking for another provider.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Sadly terrible

TM, McKinney, TX USA - 2010-01-20 00:00:00

We have only had First Choice for 5 months and had continuous problems with customer service and billing. As of today we are already looking for another provider.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst Utility Company in Texas

L Renee, Houston - 2009-12-04 00:00:00

This is one of the worst utility companies in the state of Texas. I was double billed for one month and they still have yet to provide me with an explanation or proof that I owe them for more than one month. Its really insane. You can't rely on anything they tell you. I wouldnt recommend this company to anyone.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:

Keep looking

361 Erica, C.C ,TX - 2009-10-26 00:00:00

I have had sevreal problems with this company.They have messed up my billing more than once and never fixed the problem I ordered for AEP to re-read my meter and when I got my following it was still to extremely high so I called FirstChoice & turns out that they said I never placed an order.So I requested again & then this time they said that nothing changed it was right. Wich I know it's not.And i had told them to make a note to AEP to come to my door so i can take them to my meter cause i hate when they try to read it threw the fence.Which they all do. My bill had came out to $300.00 & my previous bill came out to 154.23 So why did it double.Nothings changed my a/c is off its just me & my husband no/kids. we are gone to wrk all day.Now my current bill is 225.00 the current balance is 180.00 & i dont know what the $50.00 is for cause it dont say. So I Will Say This To You...KEEP LOOKING!!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice Power - unprofessional

Derek Presley, Bedford, TX - 2009-09-15 00:00:00

First Choice Power is the worst electrical provider EVER. Their customer service is laughable...the most rude, unorganized, and unprofessional people I've ever come across at a company. They hold no responsibility whatsoever and there is no way to get a hold of any management. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY - I would rather go without electricity than have this company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Zero stars - the worst ever

Jessica, Texas - 2009-09-27 00:00:00

Absolutely bad company. Customer service is awful. Traps customers by attractive ads, but after short period your bill will include many surcharges in addition to "base rate". Ugly customer representatives.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

mrs

WILLIE HORTON, FORT WORTH TX - 2009-09-03 00:00:00

first choice offers you a saving plan but only follows through for the first two months of service. They then raise their rates. Their customer service representatives are very rude. Neither of them knows what the other one working on. They will charge you a return check fee if their automated service is wrong.I sincerely hate that I switched from TXU of whom I had been a life long customer.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Disgruntled

Burning Up, Magnolia, Tx - 2009-08-23 00:00:00

started out as a great provider, but just like Reliant, they have gotten full of themselves. They now think that they can charge outrageous prices,monthly bills jump from $370 to $600 with no rhyme or reason to the madness. Will not use them again.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Get you in and you want out

Unknown, Texas - 2009-08-19 00:00:00

Getting a plan and the service was not complex. After having their service for over 7 years. After IKE they changed after the hurricane!

0 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

mr harvey

harvey saga, wichita falls,tx - 2009-08-14 00:00:00

first choice disconneted my service over 55.00 that i owed them.i have never had that happen to me.i am on a contract with them, requested a copy of it. 2 weeks later i have not recevied it.i am trying to get out of it.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

fcp

j, Aubrey, TX - 2009-07-18 00:00:00

High rates.

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice is No Choice

Lynn, Dallas, TX - 2009-05-27 00:00:00

First choice disconnected my power on accident, despite the fact that I hadn't missed a single payment. And then, even after admitting it was their own error, they refused to turn my power back on without charging a fee to re connect my service!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

First Choice Power Complaint

John H. , Texas - 2009-05-12 00:00:00

When I switched to First Choice Power, the salesman assured me that I'd be on a Flat Rate program and billing method. This was important to me because I'm out of the country a alot. Well, when I got the bill, sure enough, I was on a Variable plan, and the customer service representative I spoke with told me that they didn't even have a fixed rate plan for sale, even though the sales representative assured me twice. DON'T GET FIRST CHOICE

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Quick Links