Read Pennywise Power Reviews


Shop

Find different electricity plans in your area:


Rate

Choose a company below to review:

Rate Company »


Reviews

Choose a company below to read reviews:

Read Reviews »



Customer Reviews for Pennywise Power

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great company, great prices

ryan c, houston - 2014-10-01 10:14:28

Great prices, awesome customer service. So glad I left the scam artists known as Just Energy for a legit company. A++++ all the way!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

CLASSIC BAIT AND SWITCH! RUN FROM PW AND DON'T LOOK BACK!

Steve B, Katy, TX - 2014-08-08 22:16:16

These guys have screwed me for the last time! I am one ticked off homeowner. From 6/5/14 to 7/7/14 I used 3656 kwh at an average rate of $.077/kwh for a total of $280.92. On July 5th, I replaced both of my 16 year old 10+SEER AC units (one for downstairs and one for upstairs) with brand new 16+ SEER systems. I couldn't wait to see how much money I would save over the next billing period during the hottest time of the year. Boy was I in for a surprise. My statement was emailed to me today and what a shocker! My bill increased to $337.47! I checked the usage and I only used 2464 kwh, so almost a third less. The rate, however, jumped from $.077/kwh to $.137/kwh, effectively doubling! I was on the variable rate plan so expected minor fluctuations in the rate, but I sure as heck did not expect the rate to double, and in the middle of the summer! I am cancelling my service first thing Monday as we are now rolling into the weekend. WARNING! DO NOT FALL FOR THE PENNYWISE LOW INTRODUCTORY RATE. IT IS A TRICK! THEY WILL SUCK YOU IN, DOUBLE YOUR RATE, AND THEN TELL YOU THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. This is actually the 2nd time this happened to me as my fixed rate plan expired and converted to a rate that was twice as high. When I signed up for this plan, it was only $.077/kwh. That lasted for 2 billing cycles, then wham! We just doubled your rate again, sucker! Okay, that's the last straw for me. PENNYWISE YOU WILL NEVER, EVER GET MY BUSINESS AGAIN, YOU SORRY DOGS! SHAME ON YOU AND EVERY SINGLE SCUM BAG WHO WORKS THERE!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise - good for a few months

TomC, Carrollton - 2014-07-08 09:46:17

Great introductory Energy Charge rate (0.023/kWh) for 8months then the rate increased by 4x to 0.094/kWh . Had to find a lower rate. Other factors of Pennywise Power service were fine and comparable to competing electric power service companies.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great!!

Zach, Waxahachie - 2014-06-19 09:29:03

I bought my first house in March 2013. Compared prices and went with pennywise power. I have had no problems whatsoever. Prices have been fair, right now I am doing month to month because my 1 year has gone out. They didn't notify me, but the prices really haven't changed drastically it is still about the same. I have paperless bill and automatic withdrawal and have had no problems with this company. Customer service is great as well.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise Warning for All consumers

Jeff, Rockwall - 2014-06-17 12:33:22

So i locked in a rate last year, everything is done via email and zero mailing. When my contract expired my rate went from 9 cents avg to 12.9 cents average. I didn't receive any notice other than an email which was overlooked. Customer service call confirmed their was nothing they would do for me. My month to month bill jumped to double what my contract plan was. I dont take kindly to people screwing you after being a customer for a year. Dont plan to go back either

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Terrible Account Management

R. Marcotte, Azle - 2014-06-14 14:54:44

They have limited ways of paying the bill, I ended up paying a late fee because of if.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Zero Customer Service.

Maria Durham, Missouri City - 2014-06-14 04:34:43

My husband called Pennywise to turn on power at our second home on Friday afternoon. They transferred power instead. We have been without power since last night and the idiots don't answer the phone on weekends. Great service! I work from home. Huge problem.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Worst Customer Service Ever

Palmer, Pottsboro - 2014-06-10 15:16:36

All I wanted to know was how to keep service on at my deceased parents' house & make a payment. The service rep was so rude. Accused me of using profane language, which I don't do. Then kept talking over me . So instead of finding out how much I have to pay to keep the service I was yelled at. Poorest customer service I have ever had. Would not connect me to a supervisor or another rep. So the poor will be cut off. They receive lost satisfaction rating ever. After reading other remarks and my experience, I have to agree with the others also.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Poor customer service

Ken, Pflugerville - 2014-06-01 10:00:48

This retailer of power does not provide very good customer service. They failed to charge my CC when I have it setup for auto-pay... no changes of CC or anything Fortunately I logged onto the site because I did not see the anticipated charge. Come to find out there is a late charge now... I will drop them as soon as my contract is finished

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Online Payment Issues

Lara, Houston - 2014-05-07 06:27:26

The billing and account management by this company is terrible. Their online payment system has not been functional the entire time I have had my account with them. If you submit a payment through your own bank or by mail it is very doubtful that the money will be applied to your statement. They are terrible at customer service as well - it is very difficult to contact an actual representative to discuss discrepancies in the billing/account department. Based on this, I would not recommend working with this company unless you have tons of time at your disposal to deal with these matters.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

$740, $233, $325, $849 bill for a 2 bedroom home over a 4 month span?!

Jessica Gunter, Fort Worth - 2014-04-15 14:26:15

My bill was at a normal price $80-160 for years. And then this past December I received a bill for $740! Especially seeing as I live in a modest 2 bedroom home. After I paid the bill I asked to be placed on average billing. I was told my bill would run around $174 a month and that it might take a few months to go into affect. So the next month was unusually high $233 and then $350 the next. After recieving another high bill I called and asked when my average billing the $174 would be in effect. The man I spoke to was incredibly rude and told me that they never told me that because I wasnt signed up for average billing but they didn't lock me into a rate so that's why it fluctuates. Fluctuates $100?! I asked what he could do and he had no answer on how to help me with this problem. I asked to speak with a manager and he was just as rude, telling me he would be happy to send someone to turn off the service as soon as the next buisness day when I told him that all of this makes me want to switch providers. I told him bc of this I was switching and asked if there were any cancelation fees. He said no. I then got a bill for $849! I called again and they told me it was high because of the back kW I had used on average billing. So frustrating. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

run

vicki Lawson, Waxahachie - 2014-04-10 18:26:58

Run. not walk away from them. However never use them. It is the worst electric company I ever used. They give you a good story, but it isn't.. you best bet is don't sign up.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bait and Switch

Tony Hanson, Dallas - 2014-03-27 15:37:59

I signed up a year ago and have been extremely pleased with every aspect of the cost and services provided... until it was time to renew my contract. In spite of the fact that I can go to the 'Power To Choose' web site and pull up hundreds of plans (including many from Pennywise), they will only allow me to renew from a choice of three (more expensive) plans. I'm upset for several reasons... There is absolutely NOTHING in the original "Residential Terms of Service" agreement, the "Your Rights As A Customer" or the Electricity Facts Label documents that indicated that I would only be able to renew from a restricted group of plans of their choosing. Also, there is NOTHING on the 'Power To Choose' web site that indicates that plans are only available to new subscribers. And there is NOTHING in the Electricity Facts Label documents on the web site today that says that even implies that they are limited to new customers. To me, it seems hugely deceptive to allow providers like Pennywise to have their plans listed on this web site when there are undocumented restrictions such as this. I realize that I can choose another provider, but I don't think that our regulators set this system up with the intention that consumers would be FORCED to change providers every year to get the best possible rates.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Worst Company EVER

Robert Erskine, Mesquite - 2014-03-24 15:26:45

You can never get a supervisor on the line when you call them. They don't follow up and follow through. Their so called customer service is HORRIBLE. The absolute worst I've ever encountered. I finally left after my 7 month contract was up, and even then, I received a stupid letter from them telling me my credit card didn't pay the final bill. Bull. They have two cards on file, my final bill said do not pay, but their records then showed me not enrolled in auto pay. All of my bills are auto pay. Their system was what caused the no payment. These people are idiots or just don't care about customer retention. I hate them now, and I will NEVER use them again. I would advise anyone to use caution, and go with another retail electric provider in Texas. That's all. You've been warned. Stay away from Pennywise Power!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Overall Satisfied

Aaron Hebert, Houston - 2014-03-15 09:07:13

I am overall satisfied with Pennywise Power. I have been with them through 2 - one year plans, simply because they had a lower rate and a decent customer satisfaction rating. You can't always trust these sites because it's usually just the negative reviews that get posted - NO COMPANY IS PERFECT. I am probably going to leave them this month, but it is just due to someone else offering me a lower rate that Pennywise refuses to match.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

DO NOT USE!

April, Fort Worth - 2014-03-10 14:17:24

This company is awful! They only let you do auto-pay for their "fantastic" rate. So we fell into their trap. Things were fine for the first few months. Then one month they sent our payment through our bank twice which in turn over-drafted us because we did not know we needed to account for that money. Then a week later tried to run it again. My husband had to cancel his debit card to prevent any more charges. We then sent them a check for the final payment (which they charge you to cancel even if you are not under contract anymore) because we did not trust them with our debit card information anymore. They sent the check back to us! 4 months later we are still fighting with them. We got our bank involved and they even managed to talk the bank into retracting money that they really were not due. So we ended up out $300 that we DID NOT owe them! They even asked my husband on the phone one day who he thought he was. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL! Now we have to switch banks too!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise Power Problems

Ulla Gheida, Houston - 2014-01-30 19:19:42

I had a seven month contract with Pennywise Power (Wise Buy 7). Instead of notifying me that my contract was about to expire (as required by contract), Pennywise switched me to their much more expensive month-to-month plan. I sent two e-mails to Pennywise Power requesting a refund. Pennywise Power ignored both requests. I've since filed a complaint with the PUC.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Thieves

Thelma , Missouri City - 2014-01-09 18:26:07

I am disgusted hearing that after my friend's son passed away, she canceled his service in August and yet it is now January and they continue to withdraw money from his account. After my friend called to discuss the matter they told her that they could not refund the money to his account. This is stealing from a deceased man for several months. There is no reason why this should have been allowed to happen. Now the family is having to deal with even more grief. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

No regard to loyal customers- stay away from these idiots

Jim, Houston - 2013-11-06 12:41:03

After 14 mos of service, they decide to disconnect my service because of an internal change. I sent them an electronic check from my bank because for some reason, they could not draft it ( plenty of funds available) and they would not accept the check from my bank. So instead of calling or sending me an email, they just cut off my power. Never been late in the past. They have no regard for any customers and they don't try to work with you or use basic common scenes. Stay away from this group of incompetent morons.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Buyer be aware of it's fake fixed rate plan

Buyerbeaware, Plano, TX - 2013-11-02 23:09:53

After I switched over to Pennywise for a 12-mo fixed rate, I noticed that its rate has NEVER been fixed (actually higher than what's been published). I had discovered that Pennywise called fixed rate had 50% portion that is NOT fixed, meaning the rate I have to pay is much higher than a "fixed" rate. I had signed similar fixed plans with TXU and Reliant Energy, they DO honor a true fixed rate, meaning you only pay the rate when you signed, period. Unfortunately Pennywise manipulated a fixed rate practice. I was amazed that both BBB and TUC do NOT want to do anything about this type of malicious act. So sad.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Hidden fees and fine print

Concerned customer, Houston - 2013-10-17 08:17:10

Could not believe how much our bill went up when we switched to Pennywise. It nearly doubled from our previous provider. Beware the hidden fees. Glad we only signed up for three months and weren't stuck with them long term.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Confused Customer

Brent, Houston - 2013-10-16 01:07:47

I have been a customer of Pennywise Power for about 7 months. One day recently I woke up to no electricity. I discovered that Pennywise had disconnected my electricity for being less than 2 weeks past the due date. I pay my bills pretty regularly every month and never carry a balance, even on credit cards. Its a difficult task keeping up with the exact dates that everything is due, but I have never not paid my bill within what I would consider a reasonable timeframe. Pennywise disconnected my power for being less than 2 weeks past the due date without warning. I didn't even have a balance from the previous month. I thought this was a mistake, so I called them and asked if this was typical for their company. The customer service rep told me that it was typical for them to do this. My advice is, if you use this company, be careful with your due date. I for one will not be renewing my contract.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good for Houston

Dee, Houston - 2013-10-14 10:51:19

Have read some really bad reviews. I have been with this company for 16 months including moving my service from one location to another. I have never had any problems with this company and have saved on my electric bills. They did go up on rates after my contract ended this month but their new rates are competitive. There are lower plans with other companies but that was not enough to risk changing. Pennywise notifies you that your plan is about to change. The previous company did not and they gouged me with a month-to-month plan for not contacting them.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Horrible Horrible Horrible

Bryan Feuling, Lewisville - 2013-09-24 09:00:32

Bill went from $60 for a month to $249 a month. I moved out, and the last bill wasn't even for a full month, it was $196!! I used 800 kWh in one month, cost $69. I used 720 kWh the next month, it cost $100!! How is that even possible??

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Don't bother.

Curtis Moss, Dallas - 2013-09-23 15:52:24

Don't bother or you'll be sorry you did. Tried to pay through my bank's bill pay. My power gets shut off. I call, and they say we dont accept paper checks. They shut off my power a week before I received the returned check (which displayed as paid with my bank!). So no email, no phone call to say power will be shut off, jus the mailed returned check which I received AFTER the power was shut down. They are dismissive idiots when you call. Customer service is piss poor; a real crap company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Sheldon, Santa fe - 2013-09-13 10:35:19

They will jack up your bill. Went form $100 to $300 bills.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise and Pound Foolish

Mark, Dallas - 2013-09-10 11:35:50

Rates doubled from month one to month two on variable rate plan. DON"T SIGN UP WITH THESE CROOKS - THEY WILL SCAM YOU OUT OF YOUR HARD-EARNED MONEY!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Deceiving pricing practice and rate

Texan, Plano - 2013-08-20 13:56:02

You could never trust their EFL as there are indeed hidden fees undisclosed, and it will result in far higher per khw price you have to pay than what's been published in its EFL.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Worst Customerservice

MaryAnn, Dallas, TX - 2013-08-06 21:42:12

They promised me a discount of $20.- for renewing the contract. Even they acknowledged they agreement and after multiples e-mails never got the discount! The Customer Service simply does not respond to inquiries. As soon as I can, I change to another company. If they compromise and accomplish a simple issue like this what can I expect if there would be a bigger problem than this?

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

beware!!!

kerry, richmond, texas - 2013-07-25 15:50:46

They get you with introductory rate - and since everything handled by email - you don't realize they have jacked up rate until it is too late. Bill went from $350 in May to $900 in July

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

horrible

Muhammad, Dallas - 2013-07-23 15:16:58

First of all, they offered good promotional offer. after expiring the promotional period, they switched me to the month to month. I checked the rate and It was ok. after two months my bill increased by almost twice compared to previous month. They told me: we can change the rate without announcing. I am switching to another company right away. don't get into their trap on low promotional rate.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!

Blake, Fort Worth - 2013-07-22 15:27:46

As seen many other times in the reviews, they will jack your rate up seemingly over night. I went from .07x to .15 in a month, while one of my other houses a couple of miles down the road remained largely unchanged. When I called I was told that it was the going rate, when I asked about my other house, they had no answer. They write the rules and have no problem ripping you off. No wonder this country is spinning down the toilet bowl.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Don't waste your time and your money

Claudia , Katy - 2013-07-17 15:26:54

The first thing you need to start a contract with them is your credit card, they got you now, there is nothing you can do about it, even talking with a manager is worthless. They send me my last invoice for 525 dls. For a single family home. Good luck to their new customers.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Gotcha!

Anh le, Fort worth - 2013-07-13 11:57:36

Beware, the rates may be cheap the first month, however the following months, they will charge you the 10 cents per kw while you're still in the contact. And on top of that, they will mess up with your billing information and charge you a "returned check fee" and accrue late payment charges . When checking with your bank, that the payment was never attempted to withdraw from the company. Their customer service is awful, would not transfer you to a supervisor and would disconnect your calls when you call back. Once you sign a contract with them and they have you bonded, there is no way out but a $150 cancellation fee. And beware, their automatic bill pay is another technique they use to scam their customers. There are other companies out their that does not require autopay, has cheap rates, has no contract and has good customer service. Don't fall for the trap that I did. Hope this information helps with your utility company decision !

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Most clever scam company out there

Hoanganh Le, Fort Worth - 2013-07-06 12:49:26

Our family recently moved to Texas in May, and signed up with Penny Wise Power online because of their attractive prices for new customers. To begin service, it was required to sign up for automatic bill pay. We agreed to that and provided them our checking account number for the automatic withdrawal. We had service started for the whole month of May. June comes around, I received a letter from the company stating that they were unable to withdraw $38.37 from my account due to "insufficient funds" and threatened to turn off our power. I IMMEDIATELy check with our bank, there were plenty of funds available and there was no attempt from Penny Wise Power trying to withdrawl from our bank. So I called Penny Wise IMMEDIATELY to verify the bank #. The gentleman on the phone confirmed with me twice that it was the correct bank and bank #. I was informed that they unable to withdraw that amount the first time, so they attempted two more times. The gentleman on the phone informed me that there will be no "return check fee" if I pay within that day, which I paid in full after the phone conversation. Now July comes around, I received a bill for $94.55. The statement indicated once again charged me the $38.37 that I had paid and posted in June AND a $20 "return check fee". I called PennyWise right away on 7/3/13 to inquire about the charges, they could not and would not help and refused to connect me to their supervisor and hung up on us. I had attempted to call back three times and at all occassions, were disconnected.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

"Gotcha"

Mary, Carrollton, TX - 2013-05-11 22:10:31

Take care that you don’t get stung. I was satisfied w/them until stung by a huge rate increase in the MTM rate. I manage the electricity for 2 households. As others have stated, there is no mercy or work-around should you get caught in the rate trap. We used Pennywise from mid July 2011 - mid July 2012. MTM for the first 4 months and the last 3 months + a week. Had the 4 Mo plan pricing for the 5 months sandwiched in between. Their online historic rate chart (Oncor) and our rates at cut-off date of approx the 9th - 12th of the month following: Jul '11 -- 7.6 / 4.4 (08/10) Aug '11 -- 8.0 / 4.5 (09/12) Sep '11 -- 7.7 / 7.1 (10/11) Oct '11 -- 7.7 / 6.8 (11/09) Apr '12 -- 8.5 / 7.3 (05/11) May '12 -- 8.7 / 7.3 (06/12) Jun '12 -- 8.8 / 14.6 (07/12) Jul '12 -- 12.2 / 14.6 (07/18) I checked the current rate for my account on 06/14. It was 8.8. I failed to check the rate again until reviewing the bill that cut-off on 07/12/12. The rate had soared to 14.6. If I assume a prevailing rate of 8.4, my household saved $453 during the 6 months from 07/13/11 – 11/09/11 and 04/12/12 – 06/12/12 while receiving a low rate on the MTM plan. The 5 weeks 06/12/12 – 07/18/12, cost us $255 extra. It doesn’t take long to wipe out any savings at that pace.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

"Gotcha"

Mary, Carrollton, TX - 2013-05-11 22:10:31

Take care that you don’t get stung. I was satisfied w/them until stung by a huge rate increase in the MTM rate. I manage the electricity for 2 households. As others have stated, there is no mercy or work-around should you get caught in the rate trap. We used Pennywise from mid July 2011 - mid July 2012. MTM for the first 4 months and the last 3 months + a week. Had the 4 Mo plan pricing for the 5 months sandwiched in between. Their online historic rate chart (Oncor) and our rates at cut-off date of approx the 9th - 12th of the month following: Jul '11 -- 7.6 / 4.4 (08/10) Aug '11 -- 8.0 / 4.5 (09/12) Sep '11 -- 7.7 / 7.1 (10/11) Oct '11 -- 7.7 / 6.8 (11/09) Apr '12 -- 8.5 / 7.3 (05/11) May '12 -- 8.7 / 7.3 (06/12) Jun '12 -- 8.8 / 14.6 (07/12) Jul '12 -- 12.2 / 14.6 (07/18) I checked the current rate for my account on 06/14. It was 8.8. I failed to check the rate again until reviewing the bill that cut-off on 07/12/12. The rate had soared to 14.6. If I assume a prevailing rate of 8.4, my household saved $453 during the 6 months from 07/13/11 – 11/09/11 and 04/12/12 – 06/12/12 while receiving a low rate on the MTM plan. The 5 weeks 06/12/12 – 07/18/12, cost us $255 extra. It doesn’t take long to wipe out any savings at that pace.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great!

Victoria, Tarrant County - 2013-05-06 08:54:27

Everything was great with Pennywise. Simple straight forward billing. Even after the contract expired, the month to month rate was not a huge increase. We would stay, but the lowest rates are only for new customers.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good Rates

Jon, Houston - 2013-05-01 10:05:28

Good Rates

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

good experience but leaving to get promotional rate elsewhere

Deborah Luik, Bellaire - 2013-04-30 06:41:23

I don't have time to do a review but I know good reviews are rare since warning people of bad experiences is much more compelling! I'm using voice recognition so ignore any weird errors. I'm too lazy to fix them, But this site has been useful to me so I wanted to reciprocate. This company worked out well for me. I did use customer service and they were helpful. The transition to them from the other company was seamless and invisible. My bills were accurate (or, actually, so low I didn't check them) and arrived on time online And were automatically charged my credit card correctly. My bills were much lower than my previous company but that's a function of the rate I got. I'm only changing because promotional rates are always better than the rate they can offer existing customers even with the little five dollar credit per month for renewing. The customer service rep did point out that I could change to a variable plan for even one month and become a new customer of Penneywise again but I don't know if I'll bother.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Tricking you into service

Pat, Dallas - 2013-04-22 15:50:50

I went to the Power to Choose website and switched to Pennywise. They had the best variable pricing. My variable rate went from 2.4 cents to 6.8 cents. Said it was because power cost more. I reviewed my bills. The ONCOR delivery charge was still at 2.9 cents. I have looked around to try to understand why the my charges increased 283% in one month!!!!! I was on a month to month not some fixed plan that was supposed to adjust.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Short and Painless

Kam H., Houston, Tx - 2013-04-13 01:13:42

Signed for a 12 month fixed all online, automatic bill pay, never messed up on anything. After the year was up, I was automatically switched to month to month, bill still isn't high. Highest bill I've paid has been about $48, one bedroom apartment 685 sq ft.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

MINUS TEN STARS

Bree, Fort Worth, Texas - 2013-04-02 21:16:57

Signed up for Pennywise online (1*9*13) at 11pm the night before my contract was to end with another electric company. The next morning, I emailed Pennywise to let them know to resend my electric back to my previous electric company. I received an email stating that I had to call them to cancel my account. I did as they asked but as of tonight, 4-2-13, I have yet to get a refund of my $200 deposit and to add insult, they are transaction monthly billings from my bank account. They now owe me $400. Meanwhile, I am still paying my electric bill from the company I chose to return to! Please stay away from this company. It's not worth the loss of time and money. Learn from our unfortunate mistakes and choose a reputable electric company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Thanks for helping me AVOID this company!

Art, Houston - 2013-04-01 16:30:01

Thanks for helping me AVOID this company!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Would not let me talk to anyone in the US.

Deana, Tomball - 2013-03-22 12:33:20

Would not recoomment a company that outsources their service center.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Can I give ZERO stars?

A. nonimous, Houston - 2013-03-04 12:02:11

Horrible Co. Changed my service before I requested, which caused me to get fined for breaking my contract with previous provider. Sent me a letter denying my request for service after that, but paperwork still showed them being my provider, Never called back, never answered emails. If you want to waste hours of your time on the phone, this is your place to sign up with............

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

!!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!!

X customer, Fort worth, Texas - 2013-03-04 11:17:42

I had variable plan for 1 year and after the rate skyrocketed 60%!!! They do not notify you for better rates or send you any thing in mail or email. Only thing they will send to you is an email telling you that if you don't pay the bill in time they will cut off the power. How sad this is:(

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

AVOID!!!

Donald Cline, McKinney, Tx - 2013-03-01 07:33:47

AVOID AT ALL COST. DISHONEST

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Excellent Service!!! No Billing Problems!!!

Gail Parnell, Southlake, Texas - 2013-02-28 15:42:17

I have been a customer of Pennywise Power for 1 year (Feb. 2012 - Feb. 2013) I have had NO Problems. With service or Billing! paying 7.9 cents per KwH. FYI - They are a sister company to Reliant so they have a large operation to help keep things running properly.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good price

Chris, Houston - 2013-02-25 13:46:25

Pennywise has been a good solution for me as I always use over 1000/kwh. No billing problems but did have log in problems with their system. Apparently if you have been a customer in the past and then come back you have to use a different email and user name to have online access.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

avoid!

Kate J., Dallas - 2013-02-07 13:26:59

I wish I had read these reviews prior to signing up with Pennywise. Yes, they will lure you in with a very low rate. I signed up for an initial contract of three months. Once my contract expired (they say they sent an email, I never received it) my rate tripled! Upon calling, they did not care that I was an upset customer, nor did they really care that I plan to switch electric providers. I also did not appreciate the condescending tone from the supervisor. Other electric companies I have used in the past will auto renew your contract price, but not Pennywise. They are just waiting until someone forgets that their on a contract or that their contract is about to expire to pounce and up the rates. Avoid this company at all costs. There are plenty of other providers to use, I suggest beginning by going to www.powertochoose.org to research different options.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise costs a hard inquiry to credit score

GH, Round Rock, Texas - 2013-01-22 12:58:38

A power company should not do a hard inquiry costing a couple of credit points. Pennywise power did that to me and for that the credit score dropped 3 points ! I would go with another power company, had i known this before..

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

SCAM - Theives!!!

UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER, HOUSTON, TX - 2012-12-12 08:36:27

I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT IN JULY IT IS NOW DEC. AND THEY ARE STILL BILLING ME SO I CANCELLED MY CARD AS IT WAS AUTOMATIC WITHDRAWAL YET THEY SAY I STILL OWE MONEY!! I HAVE CALLED AND CALLED TO GET THIS FIXED BUT THEY JUST DON'T CARE, COUNTLESS HOURS HAVE BEEN WASTED ON THE PHONE WITH THESE TERRIBLE PEOPLE, THERE IS ONLY ONE SUPERVISOR IN THE WHOLE COPANY, GOOD LUCK TRYING TO GET A HOLD OF HIM, NO ONE ELSE CAN HELP OR HAS AUTHORITY TO HELP. I AM INT HE PROCESS OF MAKING A COMPLAINT TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAURU AND AM GETTING A LAWYER, THIS IS GROUNDS FOR SUING!, I EVEN WENT THROUGH THE TROUBLE TO SEND THEM PROOF OF ALL PAYMENTS MADE UP UNTIL THE CANCELLATION DATE BY PRINTING OUT THE LAST YEAR OF BANK STATEMENTS. IT WAS AUTOMATIC BILLED, THEY HAD MY CARD NUMBER AND EVEYRTHING AND THEY STILL SAY I OWE MONEY, HOW CAN THAT BE WHEN THEY HAVE MY CARD NUMBER AND CONTINURED TO BILL ME EVEN AFTER I HAD CANCELLED THEM?! DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE, THEY MAY BE CHEAP BUT I RATHER HAVE SPENT THE MONEY TO GO TO A REPTUABLE POWER COMPANY WHO CAN PROVIDE CUSTOMER SERVICE, AS THIS COMPANY HAS NONE WHATSOEVER! I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY ARE STILL IN BUSINESS, DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE I MADE, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! THEY WILL STEAL LIE AND CHEAT, HOSSIBLE COMPANY. IF I DON'T PAY UP THEY THREATEN ME BY SAYING THEY ARE GOING TO RUIN MY CREDIT SCORE, HOWEVER, THEY CANNO0T PROVIDE ME WITH ANY PROOF OF MY CHARGES, THE BILLS THEY SEND ARE JUST ALETTER WITH THE AMOUNT I OWE, NO USAGE INFO IS ON IT, WHAT PERSON IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD PAY IF THEY CAN'T EVEN SHOW MY USAGE?! I HAVE NEVER DEALT WITH SUCH AN UNPROFESSIONAL COMPANY IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. PLEASE TAKE MY ADVISE DO NOT USE THIS DREADFUL COMPANY!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

DON'T CHOOSE THIS PROVIDER

Robert Wiggers, Lufkin - 2012-11-29 09:28:56

Boosted my rate (month to month plan) from 7.2 cents per KWH to 13.6 cents per KWH with no warning. Their own terms of service state, under the section governing variable rate (month to month) plans, that no material change can be made to your contract (which in this case lasts 31 days or less) without written notification at least 14 days before the changes will take effect. When I pointed this out, they simply said "Doesn't apply to month to month plans". I told them it was in black and white in their terms of service. Was just ignored. Avoid this provider at all costs

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Variable Rate is a SCAM

tm, Dallas - 2012-10-15 08:06:42

Same experience as others have had. Big rate increase over the summer which I understood but then the rate doesn't decrease once the peak demand period is over. Customer service told me that would have some call and explain why. They never did call.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bad Choice

ss, Irving,tx - 2012-09-28 15:16:40

Switched 3 months back - first two months the bill was ok, third month there is a 200% jump in the per KWH rate, Oncor delivery charges on the bill was too high. Surprisingly I did not receive the third month bill - this is the month the bill was too high. I had to check my credit card and then logon to their site to check the bill. Called customer service and the explanation for the charges were not convincing.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Gawd I wish I had known about this review site sooner.

Dave, Fort Worth - 2012-09-26 16:02:55

Yes, as nearly everybody else in this space has noted, PennyWise Power will lowball you for a while and then make all the money back in one month!! Don't believe it? I won't feel sorry for you if you ignore all the warnings for this provider. As the light bulbs indicate, not all aspects of the experience were bad ... just the near doubling in rate in a very short time period (about two months for me).

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

They're practically robbing people

Austin Gibbs, Crosby, TX - 2012-09-06 17:46:36

I can't believe that any company that wants to keep customers thinks its OK to double your price from one month to the next. When I spoke to customer service, both on the phone and by email, all I kept hearing was "We can change prices to whatever we want whenever we want." They couldn't care less when I told them that all the friends and family I had signed up with them were all going to leave.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Run..Run..as far and as fast as you can.

Disgruntled ex-potential customer , Texas - 2012-08-29 12:19:28

Pennywise Power is a complete joke. They have poor customer service. Go somewhere else before you use Pennywise. You have been warned.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Sorry excuse for a business.

Sean B., Austin - 2012-08-29 07:13:12

Okay, so here goes. I went with pennywise because they had the best long term rates available for my area. Wow, do you ever get what you pay for. First things first. Part of my contract agreement was to set up automatic payments. No problem, I think. In this day and age of technology, that shouldn't be an issue. Well, the first month, they take out my deposit as well as the first bill. Then I get a disconnection notice days later. What is this, I say? Surely a mistake. I call the company, and it turns out, this is no mistake. I still owe the entire deposit plus the first months bill. Apparently, the automatic payment was sent back, but it actually wasn't sent back. After many phone calls to the bank and Pennywise, I get this resolved, but it takes going up a few levels. So fast forward to today. During the time that has elapsed, I have attempted to set up automatic payments no less than 6 times. Each time, I get a confirmation email. Each time, I receive a disconnection notice due to failure to pay. We have tried using two different bank cards, cards that have no issues with any other automatic payment plan. So what gives? Now the thing that really ticks me off about this, is that they can send me an email informing me that my statement is due, but they can't send me an email telling me my automatic payment didn't go through, or that I face disconnection. But okay, that I can tolerate so long as my service isn't interrupted, right? Silly me.... Today, as my fiance is getting ready for work, our power goes out. Okay, I guess another automatic payment failure. I grab the phone and give them a call. And on to the biggest complaint I have with this company: Customer service. The first customer service representative I dealt with started off by mumbling some incoherent statement into the phone. In fact, this continued throughout the entirety of the conversation. I constantly had to ask her to repeat herself, and even then just sometimes had to accept the fact that I wouldn't understand her. I tell her my issue, and that I need my electricity reconnected. No problem, she mumbles.. Let's get this payment squared away first, she mumbles. Alright, no problem. Pay my bill, now on to the reconnection. Then she tells me that it will take until the 30th (tomorrow) by 11:59PM for my electricity to be reconnected. Now this is where I lost it. I tell them that this is unacceptable, we live in 100 degree weather, I have a job and school that I need to be presentable for and capable of handling. They tell me they don't handle the electricity, they just handle the accounts. After going back and forth with the CS Mumbler, and her not even pausing to let me speak as she reads the same script over and over again (This is 100% true, by the way. No exaggeration. She literally repeated the same script, and when I tried to talk, just continued in a louder voice.), I ask to speak to a supervisor. She basically tells me no, and hangs up on me. Alright. NOW I'm pissed. I call back, and immediately ask to speak to a supervisor. This proves to be successful, as a clearly near-panicked customer service rep immediately transfers me. After being on hold for about 15 minutes, I get the supervisor. I go over the entire situation with this supervisor, and am read the same script I was previously read before. The thing is, she reads this like she's getting some information out of it, herself, then changes her tune and starts explaining it to me. Apparently, since Oncor handles the electricity, it could take up to 2 days for them to get to me. And there is literally nothing they can do. I bring up the automatic payments, and how they always fail. The exact words I receive back are, "Well that isn't our fault." Basically, the entire time I speak to this lady, I am told that they are accountable for nothing. Not for my service being turned on, not for their system not taking my payments, and they are not responsible for making any of this right. I wish I had it recorded, because as outlandish as it sounds, this is precisely what I was told. Infuriated, I hang up. So then my fiance decides to give it a try. As I am already livid and ready to tear this company to pieces with my bare hands, it takes every bit of willpower I have not to yell into the phone while she holds it. However, she calmly explains the situation (from what I can hear, she gets a real person, not another mumbling script reader), and mentions maybe she needs to call Oncor to have this addressed, as our disconnection notice specifically mentions same day reconnection. It's funny how this immediately changes the ladys tune from "We can't do anything" to "Let me see what I can do". After being on hold for a few minutes, my fiance is told that since our electricity is handled through a remote box, it should be able to be turned back on the same day. As soon as they hang up, our power goes on. Amazing how a mumbler and a supervisor can't do a damn thing, yet this third person, when faced with the threat of calling their provider, can fix it immediately. All in all, if you expect anything short of a company disregarding all of the issues they cause you as "not their problem", inconsistent results, botched payments that threaten to render you without electricity, and passing off ownership of fault to whoever they can point the finger at, I'd recommend this company. If you want to be treated like a human being, and pay your hard earned cash to a business that will take ownership of their mistakes and treat you like a valued customer, go elsewhere. Because Pennywise is in the taking your money business, not the electricity provider business.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pathetic Company...They increase their rate very high without notice on month to month plan

A angry customer, Richardson, TX - 2012-08-28 12:06:59

This company is a scam!! ....They give you all the good information before signing up and then they increase their rate crazily once you are on their month to month plan. My rate doubled from 7 cents to 15 cents in one month and unfortunately my usage was highest for that month,so I had a bill of >350$ .....called their customer service and spoke to supervisor but they didn't do anything. Feel really bad that they do such a rip off. I immediately cancelled my service and recommend everyone to stay away from them. Will never ever recommend them to anyone

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Should have known bettter

MMDRP, Dallas - 2012-08-28 10:56:35

This company set up a scam and I fell for it. I signed up for a low rate and it expired in the middle of the summer. By the time I realized it my rate had tripled! It is now more than double the going rate. Of course they know I will switch providers but they are not interested in long term customers. Pennywise had me paying triple the normal rate for 6 weeks out of the hottest season in Texas. That margin is more than enough to satisfy them. They will get new customers to fall for their scam and continue to make money because we are too busy in our daily lives to manage the rate game effectively. Buyer beware. Pennywise is definitely counting their pennies and they must be adding up. If you want to get overcharged so that they can experience a higher than normal profit margin than try one of their promotions or special offers. I've learned my lesson and I won't buy energy from this company in the future.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Beware the variable rate increases, and they won't respond!!!

Matt Slezak, Houston, TX - 2012-08-16 20:26:18

I was with these guys for nearly a year on the variable plan. All of a sudden, my bill went from $60 to $100. Same weather, same setting on the thermostat. I couldn't get access to my account online and they were unresponsive to my requests to see my bill for an itemized billing (DO NOT DO ONLINE BILLS!!!) My rate on another account went from 9c to 16c over a 1 month period, and I can only assume they did the same on this account. I transferred to another company since they would not give me a bill and they then billed me what appears to be another DOUBLED rate! 60% higher than the prior month, but this only was for 3 weeks!!! Very shady business practices from this company. They really need the attorney general to investigate them for fraudulent practices.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Avoid at all costs!

B Johnson, Fort Worth, TX - 2012-08-15 13:41:01

Switched for their low "teaser" rate, and expected rates to increase somewhat afterwards. However, from 5.5 cents to 13.5 is robbery. Of course, they read from their canned notes and say "demand in Texas from the heat" is why it increased. I also asked to be put on a fixed plan, retroactive to the last bill date, and they refused. They said it could be completed in 2-3 billing cycles. Must think we are crazy, as switching is free and can be done in 2 days to another provider. The second big problem was that when I switched online, they did not ask for the ESInumber. I put my address in with "B" afterwards, which differentiates me from our rent house in back. They sent me my confirmation e-mail with the correct address. They then switched the wrong house, without the "B". I called them and they then reswitched me and assured I wouldn't be billed for the few days my rent house was switched. I got billed anyways for the $17, but blew it off, no big deal. When the huge increase came in, I called wanting my $17 refunded. They said no dice, because I signed up online, so it was my mistake. I told them I have the confirmation e-mail and can forward it with the correct address. They was told to speak to a supervisor, put on hold, no one available, will call back, no one did. Called the next day and the supervisor gave me the same canned speach about me signing up online so I made the mistake. I repeated to him that I had the e-mail confirmation with correct address that I put in and would e-mail it back to them. He finally said ok, mail it back and they would look at it. They really must think we are all stupid to say with them. Just don't switch. It is not worth you time or lost $$ when they jack up your rates.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Please DO NOT use Pennywise! They will rip you off

Kevin, Allen - 2012-08-07 16:45:24

Please DO NOT use Pennywise! They will rip you off. I'm still trying to get my deposit back because they couldn't start my service. Stupid wrapped service.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

SURPRISE!!!!!! Your electric rate has DOUBLED as of last month.

Tim Drennan, Quinlan - 2012-08-03 04:56:12

From 7.5 cents to 15 cents a KWH and they don't tell you until AFTER you use it. Would you pay $15 for a hamburger that was on the menu for $7.50 just because they told you it doubled in price while you were eating it? Welcome to Pennywise Power! So I switched immediately but still was with Pennywise for 2 weeks while waiting for the switch and got a bill that was 50% even higher than the whole month before. Can't access my bill either to see what rate they're charging me now because they have apparently blocked my access but it looks like it must be about 50 cents a KWH. So now that $7.50 burger is up to $50 and I didn't even get fries. I think these people deserve prison for this kind of criminal activity. Stay away from Pennywise or you'll end up a few dollars short. Scam company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Unspeakable

Andre Leaf, McKinney, TX - 2012-07-31 19:02:33

I wish I found these reviews a few months ago when I signed up with Pennywise Power flexible plan. All was good for a few months with rates drifting higher of course but at a reasonable rate. And than when in the middle hottest month they jumped the rate 2X! Unbelievable. It looks like this is their business plan to rip off customers. They should be sued for this scam. Avoid Pennywise scam by all means. I switched the same day the bill arrived.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Time to call the Governor.

David - A concerned citizen, Sugar Land - 2012-07-28 09:17:39

This month, Pennywise Power has nearly doubled what they charge me for electricity. My bill indicates that Centerpoint Energy did not increase their portion of charges nor did the incidentals show increases, only Pennywise Powers portion showed a large increase. I do not know much about the current Texas Public Utility Commission. I hope they have true interest in protecting the citizens. I realize that I am just one person and that business puts more money into the state's coffers, but I can hope as I call them this week. I also plan to call the Office of the Governor and the office of the Texas Attorney General. Actions which I personally consider deceptive. It is my opinion that doubling a charge without prior notice and without demonstrating a correlation to a sudden dramatic increase in company expense is unconscionable. Like any good citizen, I respect your right to agree or disagree with my opinion, but if you do agree, I would encourage you to also make these phone calls. My single voice is small, but as more call, the sound of the phone ringing may suddenly reach the ears of those that need to hear and understand that consumer protection is a service you provide to citizens, not business. Here are public phone numbers: Governor's Office Information and Referral Hotline [for Texas callers] : (800) 843-5789 Attorney General's Office Consumer Protection Hotline: (800) 621-0508

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise scammed me

Nicholas Weber, La Porte, Tx - 2012-07-25 14:16:29

I was a content customer with Pennywise power for a period of 8 months paying an average rate of 9.1 cents per kwhr. I was on a month to month plan with them when I got my June bill my rate had skyrocked to 17.5 cents per kwhr. The justification from them was an increase in electrical demand by Texas residents, yet no other electric company on a month to month plan is any higher than 13 cents per kwhr. I got the run around from them when I demanded an explination. Needless to say I dropped them the same day and am moving to another company under a long term contract. AVOID PENNYWISE.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Mr.

jack ripped off, tyler tx - 2012-07-21 12:34:48

Last month's bill more than doubled, no explanation of cause except to say the energy charge was 12.6 vs 5.3 for the previous month. No help on why energy charge increased, nor any attempt to check it out.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Avoid this scamming company at all costs

Angela, Dallas - 2012-07-20 10:48:26

My rate jumped from a little over 9 cents to over 16 cents/KwH. My bill more then doubled in a month from this sudden increase. When speaking with the company I was told this was for increased demand this summer. When I asked how my rates were never this high last summer which had a record breaking heat wave, I was not provided an answer. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told none were available but I would receive a call back by the end of the day. First I was told they were at lunch then I was told they were receiving too high a volume of calls. Then, like you, I was offered a new contract. They list their average month to month historical rates on their website. VERY misleading, as they do not list rates over about 10 cents. I would encourage everyone to avoid this company at all costs as they are nothing but scam artists.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

It's all about the rate!

K. Smith, Plano - 2012-07-17 15:40:46

I was with Texas Power for two years. I had no issues with TP however when my contract came up, I researched and found they were not the lowest priced player so I switched to Pennywise. So far so good. My rate is dirt cheap and it is charged automatically to my credit card so I get miles to boot. I have come to the realization that power in texas is all the same because Oncor (in Dallas) owns the lines and these players are just resellers. Go with the low rate and keep switching. It's like when you would switch long distance providers back in the day. It's a commodity.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Unfortunately i have to switch...

Richard Kinney, Lancaster - 2012-07-17 13:10:04

I say unfortunate because i really would prefer to stay with them, but in one month my rate went from .06 to .127. Dont get me wrong, i know how electricity prices work... supply and demand and all that, but when i offered to sign up for the 12 month plan they offered me in exchange for retroactively changing the rate for the one month that it went nuts they refused. I made it clear that i would switch providers unless they fixed the outrageous invoice, they refused. It is surprising to me that they would rather loose a client who had been with them for over two years and never missed a payment or was ever late with a payment rather than fixing one invoice that would have been a different price if i had called a month earlier. If you are thinking about going with this company, just make sure you never get hit with the month to month rate... otherwise they are really good to work with and it makes me sad that i now have no choice but to go with another provider.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Wise Buy Monthly = Fraud Potential 100%

Roger, La Porte, Tx - 2012-07-10 19:52:43

I've had PwP for over a year now without much of a problem - until my latest bill. Up thru Feb 2012, I was on their Wise Buy 12 plan - with no problems - and auto-drafting of my bank account. After Feb, I decided to try their Wise Buy Monthly plan - since I was told I couldn't get the price quoted on their website because it was for new customers only - 1st 3 months went pretty well - my montly kWh charge was $.09 - $.095 - nothing too bad. That changed this last bill - the $/kWh shot up to $.165 - a nearly 70% increase. And, after going back-n-forth with their Customer Service department, they said that "fluctuations" are normal - per market actions. Their own updated Facts Label for the Monthly plan shows a $.075/kWh figure for Energy Usage - mine was $.127/kWh. My prior month for EC was $.056 - so it really jumped!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

200% increase in one month!

Ben, Dallas / Lakewood - 2012-07-05 18:44:18

Stay away from these guys! They will increase your kWh by over 100% from one month to the next if you are not on a contract.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Poor renewal offers

Robert, Lake Jackson, TX - 2012-05-31 17:08:41

I had the Wise Buy 12 plan (fixed 12 month) and was happy with the pricing and the smooth online automatic credit card payment. However, when it came time to renew, they would not offer me the same deal they offer new customers, but instead offered me a renewal rate that was 13% higher (at the 1000 kwh usage level) and without the $50 bill credit offered to new customers. I called customer service and after 20 minutes on hold, they could not offer me anything better, so I have decided to move my business elsewhere. I know Pennywise isn't alone in this practice, but I don't understand the mentality that it is better to gain a new customer than keep an old one that paid bills ontime. Maybe it makes sense if you are trying to scam existing customers by switching them to a variable plan and hoping they don't notice. Or maybe enough customers are too busy to bother shopping around and just renew at the higher renewal rates without complaining? Oh well.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pennywise Has POOR customer service

Robert J. Williams, Houston, TX 77062 - 2012-05-31 14:00:22

I was a customer of Pennywise with auto bill pay from Feb 2011 to Aug 2011 before going with another provider. On my last invoice it still said "Do Not Pay - Auto Bill Pay". Pennywise failed to withdraw the charges on Sept 7th 2011 as they should have. In May of 2012 I get a letter from a collection agency demanding payment. Thinking it was a mistake I called both parties and researched my bank records, etc. Found out Pennywise failed to follow their auto pay program procedures and never notified me of the unpaid amount ($213.15). I returned to Pennywise in Oct 2011 and have been with them till now also on auto-pay. They accepted no responsibility for their lack of action. The Service Rep I spoke with talked to her supervisor and they wanted me to pay the full amount, made no apologies, nor would make any concession.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

EXPENSIVE

REBECCA, CORPUS CHRISTI TX - 2012-04-18 00:00:00

THE MOST EXPENSIVE BILLS I HAVE HAD IN OVER 2 YRS OF ELECTRICITY USAGE

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great Savings, Great Prices, Self Service :)

M. Barnes, Fort Worth, TX - 2012-04-08 00:00:00

I don't know why anyone would give this company a bad review.We've been with them 9 months and the only problem I have is deciding what iam going to do with all the money I save.Pennywise has cut my bill down 35%.I live in a modern 2-story,4bedroom,2400 sq ft house & run my ac/heat day & night (even when iam not home)my bill has never been more than $100.I do also pay a gas bill to atmos that's between $20-$50 but even with that combined amount it's a heck of a deal considering my last house had $180-300 electric bills for a new but smaller 1400sqft duplex.I found them on powertochoose.org after doing lots of research on the other companies to get the best low contract rate. Iam so happy we switched.Be warned that pennywise drafts directly out of your account (no option to do it otherwise) but you can pay early if you wish.Also refundable deposit required, & lastly the hold time for customer service is long but they allow you full account management online so no need to call.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Flaky

Marty, Houston - 2012-04-06 00:00:00

Inticing introductory fixed four month rate. Website refused to complete the order after all required information was entered save establishing the website login ID and password. The site stated one can do that later, but it offered no way to otherwise complete the order. Called customer service a few days later who were prompt and polite. The offer had expired and they could not find the incomplete application or commit to complete the order on the expired offer. On to the next guy... Too bad... It was a terrific rate.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Overall very well pleased

Anonymous, Dallas, Texas - 2012-01-09 00:00:00

The prices offered are excellent, service has been seamless, and the only difference I have found between Pennywise and TXU is the amount of money I pay Pennywise for electricity which is significantly less.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Order Experience:

ripped off

Bruce Crowhurst, Van Alstyne, TX - 2011-11-01 00:00:00

Pennywise drafted my final bill w/o an e-mail confimation/notice as they had in the past. It was also 2 months after my request for termination of sevice. So it really caught us by surprise and cost us an additional $140.00 in fees from our bank, because when it hit, it overdrafted our account. I got no help when I called customer service. They said their records showed an e-mail notice. I never recieved it. Besides they said they sent the notice on 10/8 and then drafted on 10/26. I am very disappointed with how they have dealt with this. In addition, their prices went up very quickly after the first month. Just another price scamming trick. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Plus, how do you contact anybody except customer service?

2 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

unpossible to get deposit refund !

Matt, fl usa - 2011-10-12 00:00:00

It been 3 months that i canceled my service because i moved from Texas.They told me after the cancellation i m going to get my deposit in 3 weeks but after three months i receive a check for $3.67 instead of $225 dollars, like a joke.When i called cost. service the same as 4-5 times that i called before they said that they are waiting for final bill. Final bills are never ends since 3 months again again the same answer. Now still waiting for my deposit refund and don't know how long it going to take...

3 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

TURN AWAY.

Anonymous, Houston, TX, USA - 2011-09-16 00:00:00

When I was first shopping for an electricity company, pennywise seemed to be the best fit for me. Boy, was I dead wrong. This company has the WORST customer service representatives I have ever dealt with, they are extremely unorganized, and even more unhelpful. One representative tells you one thing, and another tells you a different. Even with my contract, they insisted that I had a 12 month contract, when in fact it was only a four month contract on my invoices. They then proceeded to change the date so now im stuck with them for eight more months. If youre reading this, please do not make the same mistake I did. Go with a company that actually knows what they are doing, and how to treat their customers. Sincerely, An Unappreciated Customer.

5 of 6 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Pennywise Power Review

Diane T, Richmond, TX USA - 2011-09-24 00:00:00

I am so pleased with Pennywise Power. I switched to Wise Buy Monthly and simply check the energy cost on a monthly basis to see if I want to sign a contract or switch but there has been no significant increase. My electricty bill is now half of my previous supplier's bill. The rates are a great value, it was easy to sign up on-line, the switch was seamless - there was absolutely no problem with my power during the switch, I receive my bill via email notification, the bills and auto-draft have been accurate. I have called Customer Service and received very professional and informative information.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Horrible Company

Jocelyn, Texas - 2011-09-12 00:00:00

Pennywise Power is the worst company and has the worst customer service. They took money out of my account without any notification. They never sent a bill, just took the money. They did not apologize for their mistake. The prices are good, but its not worth headache. They are very unprofessional.

4 of 5 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Very good for me

Robert Thornton, Fort Worth, TX - 2011-09-28 00:00:00

I see a lot of bad reviews on Pennywise, but my experience has been just fine -- just cheaper than the others. I am sure that different companies have the lowest rate at any given time, but for a 12 month deal it was the lowest when I signed up. I could see that they were new to our area, but I appear to have gambled and won (so far)!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

No problems here

Dee DoubleYoo, Plano, TX - 2011-09-29 00:00:00

I locked in earlier this year for a 1 year rate. It has been that rate all year long so far. The rate was among the lower of the 12 month rates when I was shopping. They auto-debit each month for the amount that they say they will and I don't have to do a thing. No need for customer service since I haven't had any problems.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Average

Anonymous, Texas - 2011-09-30 00:00:00

nothing great nothing horrible

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Be careful

Elizabeth Atkinson, Tx, USA - 2011-09-06 00:00:00

I wouldn't recomend pennywise to anyone they are very unethical in their business practices. I had looked into signing up with them 3 months ago. At that time I had to give them my bank account info for the plan I had chosen. A few days later they came back and said I would have to pay a $200 deposit. I told them to cancel it. Today I went online to my bank account and they had taken $225 out of my account which was totally unauthorized. When I called them they said oops! it was a mistake and couldn't tell me when the money would be back in my account. Don't do business with them.

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

penny wise rip off

Anonymous, humbel, tx - 2011-08-21 00:00:00

peeny wise's variable rate plan is a bait and switch. for the 2nd invoice expect to pay 12cents / kWh. best bet is to use them for a month then ditch them fast

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

FABULOUS RATES

GW, Belton, TX - 2011-08-19 00:00:00

I have been in absolute shock that my electric bill in the middle of the highest heat and greatest drought I can ever remember, has been a modest $200 top for over 2000 sq feet. I'm all about saving money. I have had no need for customer service of any kind. I took out a 3 mo fixed and did receive a notice that that was coming to an end.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

worst

Kenneth Large, usa - 2011-08-17 00:00:00

I live in houston and Penny wise ripped me off with their fasle teaser rate

0 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Bait and switch

Ross Boulet, Belaire, Texas - 2011-08-11 00:00:00

Signed up on a variable plan at 5.3 cents/kwh. While it does say the rate can go up, nowhere do the tell you it is just a teaser rate. First partial month bill and first full month bill were at approx 5.3 cents. Second full month they jacked it up to 12 cents. Learned my lesson about variable rates.

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Feeling scammed

Pennywise user, Tx - 2011-08-09 00:00:00

After signing up with Pennywise, and getting 2 bills that were great, my price started soaring. Interesting thing was, I recommended the plan to a friend a month ago (before I got my 3rd bill). He got his 1st bill yesterday @ $0.046 per KWH, I got my bill today @ $0.114. How can two people on the same "plan" have rates that different? Looks like your plan with pennywise, is get the great rate for 2 months then jump ship. Feels like a scam to me.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Worse electricity company ever

Travis A., Coppell, TX - 2011-08-04 00:00:00

Pennywise Power is a complete joke. They have poor customer service. Go somewhere else before you use Pennywise. You have been warned.

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

company sucks

Anonymous, joe - 2011-07-30 00:00:00

company sucks not revealing charges and fees

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

RUN!!!!

Carolyn Jenkins, Lake Jackson TX - 2011-10-06 00:00:00

In 4 months time, I was billed 2 months bills at a time, called 7 times, talked with 7 different reps with 7 differing stories, was assigned 2 different account numbers, with no verifiable explanations. 2 weeks ago I called to get my bill (they didn't send one to my address or my e-mail account). The rep couldn't find the account, said he'd "get right on it" and call me back. He didn't. Yesterday in my e-mail, got a bill for $233. Today got another one for $378.....at 5:02. Their offices close at 5. Their service blows- their communication blows. Their charges are "fuzzy&", adding up to $150 as an added charge I've yet to figure out. They said they "lost" my bank info, asking to make my last (2-Month) payment over the phone. Then this last (2-month)payment, the e-bill said they'd debit my account. They've lied, hedged, and duped us since we've used them....never again. Run. Don't use them. You'll end up feeling used, abused, and poorer for the experience.

3 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Bait and Switch Ripoff

Craig, Fort Worth, Texas - 2011-08-15 00:00:00

Yep. I too fell victim to the bait and switch they tease. Yes, they offer incredible rates. For the first full month. (Usually first two bills.) I figured if the rate doubled I would still be in good standing. Yep. It Doubled. Then the next month it went up again. (Now at triple the original rate.) And of course the billing is behind the service, switching takes weeks. So now I'm stuck for probably another month. The Terms of Service should state this is an introductory rate.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Reasonable - just stay away from month to month

Tom, Katy, TX - 2011-08-15 00:00:00

For Pennywise - Their plans are reasonable and are locking in if you get a locked in plan. ALL electric providers screw you if you are on Month to Month. They ALL give teasers and jack the rate. My last one went from fixed to variable (and THEY NEVER TELL YOU WHEN IT IS OVER) and my rate went from 9.2 cent to 11.3 cents when the "advertised rate" was 8.3 cents. BUYER BEWARE

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

They Claim Auto Pay only & double debited my account

Anonymous, Dallas, TX - 2011-07-07 00:00:00

When you sign up, you are required to give them your bank account/CC information for billing. Autopay was fine with me, less paper and not having to deal with bills...UNTIL they double debited my account. The rep told me I could not decline or change the autopay service on my account. He also said they would credit my account, but they didn't know how long it would take. Being in the legal field, I know for a fact they can credit it just as fast as they debit it. Waiting to hear back from supervisor regarding autopay. Filing BBB and AG file as we speak. THis is not right. DO NOT USE PENNYWISE POWER.

4 of 5 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

security deposit fumble

robert, texas - 2011-06-10 00:00:00

i was signed up and was told i needed a security deposit, i asked why and they referred me to the credit check companies they used. i contacted the companies and got my own credit assessment, which came back spotless. i contacted pennywise to get an explanation and none was given. i imagine that most of their customers are required to pay a security deposit for no reason. i signed w/ a different electricity provider because there was a great feeling of distrust upon my part. i honestly think they set the credit score so high that almost no one can wave the security deposit. i checked w/ the 3 companies they use to check credit and my score was amazing w/ all of them. pennywise is another corporation entirely out for their own profit and defiantly not concerned w/ their customer service or honesty aspects of a good business. i do not recommend at all.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

bargain-bargain-bargain

S. Szymanski, Tomball, TX - 2011-06-07 00:00:00

I tried Pennywise because I wanted a short term acct. (selling house); the 6 mo. deal at 7.9 cents/kwh saved me a bundle! No issue with customer service; monthly bill is paid automatically. Starting service was a snap. The current 6 mo. deal is higher; may try mo.-to-mo.- it is dirt cheap!

5 of 5 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

BAD BAD BAD

Tim, Houston, TX - 2011-02-12 00:00:00

Terrible customer service stay away

8 of 19 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Quick Links