Spark Energy Reviews

Spark Energy

Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.


Customer Reviews for Spark Energy

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

NEVER AGAIN.

Unhappy, Moreno Valley - 2014-09-22 15:47:45

If I could give every rating a 0, I really would. Someone representing Spark Energy came to my door to talk my dad into switching over to their service. He promised my father they'd discount his monthly bill for signing up with them and that it's guaranteed it'll be cheaper than the cost of his previous utilities service. We were infuriated to see our first bill of the month... Not only was it much more expensive monthly, but we were charged $100 for a cancellation fee on top of the bill due for that month? Are you serious? Customer service also sucks. The call representatives sound so smug and miserable, and I've been placed on hold for at least 20 minutes on end for each time I've made a call to them. REALLY do not recommend!! Sign up with The Gas Company or something else!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Bait and Switch

Brandt , League City - 2014-09-15 16:43:56

Signed up for a higher rate plan that promised no low use fee. This was a lie and a scam. Now paying higher rate and same low use fee.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great Company

Dave, DeSoto - 2014-09-13 09:05:06

I've been with Spark Energy for 8 years and have been very satisfied. Not big on the auto pay, but I never missed a payment. Price is mid-range and I've had good experiences with customer service.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Spark does not care about service.

Craig, Houston - 2014-09-05 19:10:24

We have been working with various people on their team to clear up billing issues which have not been corrected over the last two months. Their custom service supervisor Adam will give you his "direct phone number" and will never call you back. He will make false promises for changes to your account that won't happen. You will sit on hold for hours and get nothing done when you someone.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Terrible customer service

Adi, Evanston, IL - 2014-08-25 16:37:26

I've been trying to cancel my account for days now since I'm going to be moving. I called them to get it cancelled, and to their credit they did that pretty quick. To settle a final balance due (of only 24$ mind), I was redirected several times to the pay desk, where i was put on hold twice for over 2 hours. I'm on hold with them right now, it is 1.5 hours and counting. Never going to go back to this company again.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

hated it

letra fields, houston - 2014-06-26 15:29:19

They were a bad experience. I'm am asking others to find a better provider in electric. The reviews I read are true. Spark energy is horrible.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2014-07-09 09:12:14

I'm sorry this has been your experience; please contact me at hpena@sparkenergy.com with details so that I can review this and address your concerns.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Just another number

Ian , Cypress - 2014-05-23 12:58:26

I have been a Spark Customer for over 5 years. Due to auto draft I have never been late on a payment. The three times in my tenure with Spark that I have had to call them for assistance however, has left me just mystified at how lazy and uncaring they are for their customers. You absolutely will be just another number and they will not have any concern over how they feel you are treated by their employees.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

New customer Hilda

Hilda Estrada, San Diego, CA - 2014-05-20 10:54:09

I just joined this company in California, and I have not see any good review, I am afraid of this step, I dont want to end up paying too much after the year contract or any hidden fees, please Spark I hope you answer these concerns, I would like to be a happy customer and rate you the best of the west.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Happy Happy Happy!

David, Mansfield - 2013-12-08 09:02:57

I've had Spark for at least 5 years, never had a problem with them in the DFW area. Have set up month to month contracts for rent houses, all opened and closed with out incident. Oncor had the power up and running and off on stated dates and bills reflected the changes correctly. Last time I renewed I asked if they had a customer loyalty rate and was pleased that they offered one, at least that day. When checking Texas's online complaint site Spark has consistently been low in the pack for complaints. Keep up the good work guys and I'll stay a satisfied Customer

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Customer Service vs Customers Serve Us

G Wilhelm, Houston, TX - 2013-11-11 15:28:07

Requesting that all my billing and communications be on line through e-mail, Spark alerted me to the expiration of my term fixed contract through snail mail and it went unnoticed until months later of them overcharging me by $50 per month.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-11-20 08:05:04

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the renewal notification. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Buyer beware - a perfected process to rip you off

David King, Decatur Texas - 2013-09-17 11:34:13

I have been a supposed customer for 5 years and I was gullible enough to believe in them as a company by giving my automated billing information. All they had to do was supply a competitive rate and automatically take their money. However........ Spark quietly and efficiently but according to their business strategy and "fine print" increase your unit cost by as much as 25%. They are complete crooks! I hope to break from them as soon as possible.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-11-04 19:50:43

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to bring this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please send your account details as well as your contact information to me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com for further review.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

You will be hit with nearly $15 more in fees per month

Steve N, Houston - 2013-08-06 20:20:38

I had 3 houses in Houston on Spark Energy and sign long contracts. In the last 2 years I have been switching every house over to TRi Eagle since they charge $15 less in fees than Spark and also have slightly better rates. Spark use to have a flat $4.95 fee like TRi Eagle but that all changed in 2012. In comparing bills for all 3 houses I can see that TRi Eagle would have saved me $15 in fees and an additional $6 in electricity cost. Power to choose means power to change from the Spark Energy rip off fees. On some comparisons when adding in the high fees of Spark I would have saved 22% off the bill. I have just one house left on Spark from a 2 year contract and will be so glad to get this last house changed to Tri Eagle. January 2014 my last of 3 houses will be on Tri Eagle and I will be saving $20 per house per month over Spark energy! That is a wopping $720 per year savings when I add up all 3 homes. Tri Eagle is the only energy provider left that has a flat $4.95 fee per month. You will be charged $9 in a monthy fee from Spark plus another $10 in taxes and BS fees. Switch to TRi Eagle. The other two houses have had Tri Egle for nearly 2 years now and it is the best deal plus it gives you weekly usage emails. Go Tri Eagle....Run Spark Energyout of business!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-09-04 08:48:22

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to bring this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please send your account details to me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com for further review.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Excellent Service and Rates

T. Barber, Houston, Texas - 2013-07-10 14:14:33

I am starting on my 3rd year of service with Spark Energy. The service and rates I have received has been outstanding. I have dealt with their customer service department and it too, has been excellent. Their rates are extremely competitive and I appreciate the fact that when my contract expired they didn't raise my rates like other companies do. Thank You Spark Energy!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-07-26 10:36:24

Spark Energy appreciates your continued business and loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our customers.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Rate Change/Billing Issue Resolved

Jack Gamble, Spring, Texas - 2013-06-28 11:39:41

I've been with SPARK for 8 years. After our latest 1 year contract expired, our rate went from 8.9 cents per kilowatt to 12.69 cents per kilowatt in March. I experienced a $300 bill instead of a $205 bill which is a big difference. We were not aware of this rate change for three months because we were not notified. I called customer service in June and renewed it for another year at 9.1 cents per kilowatt. New customers get a $75 gift card and I asked for it. I was countered with a $25 credit. Also, they did send us an email on February 27 and we must have missed it or thought it was spam. When all is said and done, I am almost completely satisfied. The customer service rep did an excellent job on her end when I called. However, I suggest the following to SPARK ENERGY: 1) Post a customer's contract ending date and rate change on our online account because it is easy to do and can be automated. 2) Offer the same specials to your core customers (existing) for renewing as you would for a new customer.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-07-26 10:33:49

We want you to know that we appreciate your comment and always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing and what you feel we should work on.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Idiotic Billing and Account Management:

John Healy, Houston - 2013-05-24 10:41:14

Following a change of Banks I called to change my new bank debit information. They insisted I must fill out a form and fax or email it back to them. They sent two formsw with no indication which was correct. I chose one printed it , filled it out , scanned the completed signed form, and emailed it back. Today I get another email stating they required a voided check on the new bank before they make the change. My checks arent due for two weeks and my billing date is 12 days away. The email had 6 additional attachments, which I have not opened ??? The other companies just took my new info by phone and made the change. Really Stupid!!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-06-18 08:44:36

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good two years

RA, Abilene, TX - 2013-05-16 13:27:33

I signed a contract with Spark and was satisfied. They elected not to offer power in my area so we parted ways. I signed up with them because they were one of the last companies not to charge a monthly fee but they've joined in the collusion now. They even refunded a charge for the short time I was with them after the contract expired and the switch to someone else occurred.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-05-22 09:12:05

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, Spark Energy is not offering renewal rates in your service area at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We’d like you to know that we appreciate the opportunity to have serviced your electricity needs!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pleased with the experience

Daniel, Sugar Land, TX - 2013-03-25 13:03:14

Have good website, billing, and email communication... and saved a lot of money compared to my previous provider. Never had any issues. Don't know what it's like to call them, because I've never had a need to do so. I'm going to try another provider for a lower rate now that my contract is up, but I'll return if my experience doesn't match up to Spark.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2013-05-17 12:03:05

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the renewal plans available for your area. We are always happy to hear from all of our customers.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

The "Spark" is Gone

krancmm, Lake Jackson, TX - 2012-11-29 17:36:45

Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity. That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month. Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

High priced and poor customer service

Patricia Paker, Austin Texas - 2012-09-28 09:44:24

I rarely write reviews and usually only give positive feedback, but I decided to just write a review as opposed to taking more time to mess with the late charge this company tacked on my bill. I paid my August electric bill the way I always do through my bank's bill pay online on the 2nd of the month. The bank sent the payment in on the 4th of the month. On the bank site it said the bill was delivered on the 11th and it was due on the 12th. Last week I received a letter saying the payment was late. I called and disputed this and the person said I would have to wait for my bill to see if there was a late charge, which seemed ridiculous since I had gotten a letter from them about it. When I recieved the bill of course, they had a $12.44 late charge. I called again and in order to speak to an operator I stayed on the line like the recording said. I was disconnected after two minutes. I repeated this and the same thing happened. The third time I called I chose the 'set up a new account' button and someone answered on the first ring. It was the billing department. I told her the situation and after checking she said I would have to contact my bank so they could send all the documentation, and that was after I had established a year's record of paying my bills on time. This is the first time a company has ever done that. With a great credit history and a record of paying my bills on time, a reputable company, even a credit card company, has always forgiven an occasional error. Both operators were very efficient, cordial and cold as they explained the situation but refused to drop the late fee charge. In the meantime I had already changed my service to a company with a much better customer service record with a much more competitive price and I will be saving money. I will never use this company again. So, instead of using my time to contact my bank and go through all the riggamarow of fixing this mistake, I will pay them their twelve extra dollars and use this time to inform others of the practices of this company. In the long run, if people avoid this company, Spark will certainly have received their twelve dollars, but hopefully lose future customers because they put profits ahead of customer service.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Pleased customer

Jisel , Fort Worth - 2012-09-26 11:29:17

I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

direct pay problems

anon, colleyville - 2012-09-10 07:13:03

Never had a problem until my credit card expired. Spark did not notify and sent a collection letter. I tried to set up new credit card for direct pay but was informed they don't except credit cards for direct pay anymore. I asked them to send statements so I could pay the old way and they did start sending statements but each one has "DO NOT PAY" "FOR YOUR RECORDS ONLY" and "Payment will be drafted on the due date" printed all over the return portion of the statement. Very confusing !! I've moved on to a company that will accept automatic credit card payments.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

overcharged and nothing they are willing to do

mary, houston - 2012-08-29 08:33:11

When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

overcharged and nothing they are willing to do

mary, houston - 2012-08-29 08:33:05

When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Time to move on...

Uncle Joey, Corpus Christi - 2012-05-30 11:03:56

I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill. You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch. I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds. I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways. I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Sprk is a Mess - Customer Service Problems

Bob, Victoria - 2012-05-17 18:25:33

Spark has completely messed up our account. First, our account was inproperly terminted by mistake (somone else gave a wrong address). Our power ended up getting cut off and Spark charged us a $250 termination charge when we never terminated. Then when the incorrect switch got switched back to them, they did not reactivate our old account and started charging us double our contracted rate. We have spent hours on the phone with these people trying got get it straight. They say everything will be OK, but it just keeps getting messed up.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

STAY AWAY from this company

D Nguyen, Houston, TX - 2012-04-09 00:00:00

Since I received the email from Spark saying that it is time to renew my contract, I made a huge mistake by switching over to StarTex without realizing that my contract with Spark does not end until 4 days later. They charged me $250 for early termination. I called and emailed them several time but they just refuse to do anything to help minimizing this cost. StarTex even offered to help me by allowing me to come back to Spark without charging the early termination fee. Again Spark refused that offer as well. I have been a great customer by doing several referral for them for 6 years and this is the way that they treated their customers. I will not be the only customer that they lose.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

worst customer service

charmaine, pearland,tx - 2012-02-20 00:00:00

NO customer service at all..will never recommend to family/friends

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

never had a problem

gerg, chicago il - 2012-03-15 00:00:00

i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Very deceptive marketing

Ron B, Rolling Meadows, IL, USA - 2012-03-05 00:00:00

These folks have very deceptive marketing. Watch your backs or you will be burned like I got burned. I signed up for a 12-month fixed rate plan. After a year it converts to a variable rate plan. No big deal, right? WRONG!! Their variable plan is now at .87 per term, about double that of the competition! What is even more interesting is that once I learned this I called them and pretended to be a new customer. When I asked about the price of the variable plan I was told .535 (still high, but not outrageous). When I told them I was an existing customer paying .87 the rep said he made a mistake on the quote. BALONEY! They got caught and now they're trying to cover their tracks. Those customers ending their 12 month guarantee should give Spark their 30 day notice and run away. This company hopes you will do nothing, and get socked. There are lots of reputable companies out there ... this is not one of them.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Rip off artists

Bob Olson, Houston, Texas - 2011-12-14 00:00:00

Signed up with them - rates increased from what I was paying utility.....called to cancel and got big run around.......had to call three times to get it done...NEVER AGAIN ! !

0 of 1 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2012-01-05 01:48:42

Hi Bob- Sorry to hear about your frustration, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive for 1st-call resolution, and if you can remember the name of the representative(s) you spoke with, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com so we can address them directly. NOTE: If you attempting to switch providers at the same address, we actually don't have the power to cancel your account. You would need to call another provider and sign up with them, and your account with Spark Energy would automatically be canceled. If you were attempting to cancel your account because you were moving to a new address, it sounds like we dropped the ball and we apologize. If there's anything else we can do for you or any other questions we can answer, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com. Thank You.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Rates Nearly Tripled

Cher, Houston - 2011-10-23 00:00:00

Prior to moving to Texas, I set up a six month account with auto draft for reduced fixed rates. When the contract expired, I signed a new for a similar rate plan. Given the bill was on auto draft and I'd yet to have a problem, I didn't check the price per kilowatt hour after the first new bill. Recently, when I did, I noticed I'd been billed nearly TRIPLE what the agreed upon rate was for four months in a row. They were unwilling to work with me on their error, given said bills were already paid. Service is being switched to a different provider tomorrow morning. I will go off the grid before I use them again.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Think twice before you buy

Jenna, Houston, Texas - 2011-10-18 00:00:00

I had service from this company for about a year and everything was good up until 2 months ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service and gone with another company. It started out great with my bill being about $40 for my first month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about 9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The following month they knocked it up further to 17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on the phone, it appears that I was on a variable rate plan and if you are on that plan, your rate can go up at any time for any reason at all and they dont have to let you know it either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer beware.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Horrible

Pam, Spring Tx - 2011-10-07 00:00:00

Billing is the worst ever, they cant get it right, send you an email stating one thing and do another, NOT just once every other month. Sent all their customers today a disconnect notice that was an ERROR I cant wait till my contact is up and I can run away from here.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Simple, Cheap, No Problems

MYOB, Houston - 2011-09-17 00:00:00

I've had Spark a couple years over the past several and I like them very well. Their plans were easy to understand, competitively priced, and they had competent customer service, not that I needed much. Their website has improved since the last time I used them and they got auto-billing set up right away.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Been Good to me

Greg, Texas - 2011-10-28 00:00:00

Been with Spark since about 2007. No horror stories, no weird billing/meter issues. This seems like it should be a given, but it's not these days. Competitive rates, also enjoy the credit card auto pay - not everybody has that, you know. If you simply read and understand the difference between fixed and variable rate, are a person of average intelligence, etc., you should have no issues with Spark sign up and service. The one time i needed an email response for a question, I got a satisfactory answer in a day or 2. It seems they really cared. Been a happy camper. My only concern is that I think Spark's Residential service may be coming to a close for my Zip code (website only returns Commercial service hits now on my Zip). Hence I may need to find another provider that can give me *everything* Spark has given for the past years. Hard to do... One Co. might have good rates but no credit card auto pay. Another has cc auto pay but consumer horror stories... and so it goes.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Convinent but not the best price

blb, Houston, TX - 2011-09-12 00:00:00

No issues for 2 years. They charged my credit card once a month and sent me email statements about my bill. The web site was also well done and provided me all of the information that I needed. I would continue using them but they no longer have the best price.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Consistant Excellent Service

Nina, League City, Texas - 2011-09-12 00:00:00

I have been with Spark Energy for a long time. I don't even know how long. But they have worked with me on billing and I have even had an single individual work with me via email several times over email. Always very responsive and very helpful. I am currently comparing prices now that my contract is to expire with them on 10/13/11. I have noticed now that they are way down on the list on "Power to Choose" because they are higher than a significant amount of other copmanies. In the past they have always been consitently at the top because they had the lowest prices. I am disappointed that I will be leaving them. :( Who knows...I might regret it later and wish I had stayed with them.

4 of 5 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Ridiculous surcharges-new customers, aweful cust service

Jay, Houston - 2011-10-27 00:00:00

I had to go to another provider (there are many other better options)since Spark has unreasonable surcharges for new customers. All I was doing was changing the name on the account. I lived in the house for 3 years, but still had to set it up as a new service under my name so they wanted to slap on the $8.99 monthly service fee if I don't use 1000kwh per month. Then when I tried to get their customer service to help change the cancellation request my wife sent in, I was told to 'hope' that the electricity is not turned off because the request takes 3 days to process. They didn't really even try to help, they just told me that things coundn't be done. This is what happens when a company is making too much money to care.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

never had a problem

gerg, chicago il - 2012-03-15 00:00:00

i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Best buy and excellant service

RS lasiter, Very south Texas. - 2011-08-26 00:00:00

I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Am guessing I have saved about $2000 comparing to other South texas providers. My mother saves over a hundred dollars a month on her electrical bill.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

not sure if I should keep them

Anonymous, - 2011-08-05 00:00:00

I have had spark for 2 years. I noticed if I renew that I have to pay $8.99 a month when I use less than 1000 kw. This would be 9 months out of the year. Why should I be penalized when I don't hog electricity and keep my house freezing, etc. Not sure who to switch to since I had no problem with their billing or service.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Taking advantage of homeowner

Philip Lindner, Kingwood Texas - 2011-08-03 00:00:00

This is one of many Houston Retail Electric Providers (REP) that impose a minimum usage fee on homeowners. If you use 1000 kilowatt's or less per month you must pay this fee of $8.99 ($107.00 year). In a time when we all should be seeking to conserve energy this company is encouraging users to use more electric to avoid this fee. This fee amounts to, a fine for conserving energy.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Well, better than Abacus...

Ian, Houston - 2011-07-25 00:00:00

We originally had a contract with the infamous Abacus. Abacus was so badly managed that they thankfully folded, selling our contract to Spark. Spark IS better than Abacus, I'll give it that. However, we're obviously being overcharged - 10.1c/kwh isn't terrible, until our 630sqft apartment somehow started using up over 900kwh per month - implying an average power draw of over a kilowatt! Including while we're sleeping, and AT WORK. Of course, conveniently for Spark, this sudden spike in energy usage began exactly when they started billing us. Now we're trying to switch providers, and they're being very reluctant about giving up our deposit. My wife paid the deposit originally to Abacus almost two years ago, and Spark acknowledges that it was transferred to them with our contract. However, they have no record of it - WE HAVE TO PROVIDE PROOF THAT WE PAID A DEPOSIT BEFORE THEY WILL RETURN IT. Maybe they should hire an accountant to keep track of that. Or maybe buy a copy of Excel.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Best Energy Company Anywhere!

Enrique, Houston, TX - 2011-06-29 00:00:00

Spark Energy is the best electricity company I've ever worked with. I've been with the large companies (Reliant & TXU), and the smaller companies (Yep), and Spark Energy beats them all. The big ones charge too much, and the smaller ones don't have enough customer service experience to help you when you need it, and can still be more expensive too. I'm probably saving $25 a month on my electricity bill with Spark, which definitely adds up! The customer service is local, and they actually work for the company too, so you're not talking to some outsourced company that can't actually make decisions. Their sign up process is a breeze, and you can't beat their auto-pay so you don't miss a payment (they even give you a discount for using it too, instead of charging you). They also have a referral program so that you can get $25, and they can get $25 too. All in all, you can't beat Spark Energy - I won't ever go anywhere else!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Used to have best price, but not any more

John, Houston, TX - 2011-06-25 00:00:00

I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service. Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers. I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider

6 of 6 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Good service - check prices

Larry Lineberger, NE TX - 2011-06-08 00:00:00

I've had two separate contracts with Spark and find they deliver what they contract to. Never a bad billing, but you must deal online and by credit card, unless you have an occasional question via phone. Don't believe the price hype on how low they are without comparing. I quit them once and am about to do so again.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

spark energy

Anonymous, arlington, tx - 2011-06-15 00:00:00

Spark energy is a good electricity company!

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

They will never close your account, plus add fees

Anonymous, - 2011-05-25 00:00:00

When I moved out of state, Spark would not honor our agreement and tried to charge a $200 termination fee. After 15 phone calls and 3 months wait, I got this fee removed. Months and months later, they still refuse to close my account. Is there any other reason for this then to try to charge me for something and hold my personal information?

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

MAD, TEXAS - 2011-05-18 00:00:00

THEY ARE PRETTY DECENT BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE SUXS !!! I WAS TRYNA GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE AND NEVER GOT AN ANSWER JUST DANG MACHINES AND THAT MADE ME MAD !

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

"Buyer Be Ware"

Don, Houston, Texas - 2011-06-21 00:00:00

Spark Energy jacked-up my rate 53% after original 9 month term expired. Rate went from 9.5/kwh to 14.5/kwh plus Sparks added additional fees and charges. At time of expiration average 1 month terms were 10.3/kwh. I would have understood a slight increase to current month-to-month or variable rates, but Sparks didn't do that. I was billed at the 14.5/kwh plus extra fees for over 4 months until I recently changed to another supplier at 8.99/kwh + PUC tax, 12 month term, with NO ADDITIONAL Fees or Charges. I had no billing surprises with the new supplier. Shame on me for not seeing the end of term notice Spark Energy sent me. I feel Spark Energy took advantage of my mistake. Bottom line, Buyer Be Ware when dealing with Spark Energy.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great Company and great rates

Kyle A., Fort Worth, TX - 2011-04-26 00:00:00

One thing I have liked about this company is that they value their customers. They provide a lower rate to their current customers. WOW what a concept.

1 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Deceptive - don't choose Spark

Lynn, Houston TX - 2011-04-26 00:00:00

I agree with previous post. Exact same thing happened to me. They did not notify me of contract about to expire - so I had 2 months of summer electricity bills to pay the automatic newly contracted rate that they just decided on. When I called to discuss, I was told that they "have no obligation to notify customers of contract expiration." DO NOT USE SPARK!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Competitive last year, new monthly fees

Raj Lal, Dallas, TX - 2011-04-18 00:00:00

I give them an A minus on order/billing/service. Thought i would be forever a loyal customer. 12 months later... now they have $8.99/month fee and rates are not competitive either. Had to find another company.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Sad to have to leave

Mart Rich, Pearland, TX - 2011-05-04 00:00:00

I have had a very good experience with Spark for several years, but noted that when my 12 month period was up (and they did notify me by email) that there was a new monthly service fee of $10 plus they had instituted the graded system. I have a pretty efficient house and rarely go over 1,000Kwh/mo. so will be penalized by higher rates/Kwh for trying to conserve energy. Too bad. Will have to look elsewhere. MR

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Shopping for Energy

Energy Shopper, Houston, TX USA - 2011-04-11 00:00:00

I came on here to look at reviews from real people about different energy companies. I have been with Spark for over a year. I've never had a problem with them, their service, or billing and they sent me a notice to renew my contract with them recently at an even better rate. I am moving into a new home and wanted to weigh all my options before going with Spark again. I would stay with them, but they have recently added a $8.99 monthly service charge if you don't use 1000kwh that month. I looked at last year's bill and I only go over that amount in the 2 hottest summer months. They said the other companies are charging this too, but I have yet to find it true. A few charge a $5 or $6 fee if you don't go over 500kwh, but not $9 for staying under 1000. I'm still on the fence because Spark does have good customer service and I've never had a problem until this little extra fee popped up. I don't think we should be punished for using LESS energy.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Solid Energy Company

George, Chicago, IL - 2011-04-13 00:00:00

Solid way to save some money. Easy to sign up, no early termination fee. Pretty good overall.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst Provider EVER!

Glen Martin, Alvin, Texas - 2011-03-19 00:00:00

I was a customer for 3 years and I renewed for another 3 years at 9.2 cents per kwh. But somehow they lost my renewal and started charging me 34 cents per kwh. I called and wrote them over and over and they told me I was screwed. They refused to give me a refund, so I found another company that is treating me like a human being now.

4 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

Gordon Greenleaf, Houston Tx USA - 2011-03-27 00:00:00

My complaint with Spark is that when my contract expired, they didn't notify before or after so i could renew at a favorable rate and therefore my rate skyrocketed for several months before i noticed. They should have notified me. Because of this I will be leaving them after my next contract expires. My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2011-04-14 02:57:06

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do send 2 emails and have a link listed on your online account within the last 60 days of your contract. We do apologize that our notifications may not have reached you. Please let us know what else we can do at customercare(at)sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Haven't had problems

John Armstrong, Houston, TX - 2011-03-06 00:00:00

Can't say i've had any problems with spark... my bill is about 10% cheaper now that i've switched after deregulation

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Reliable

Peter J Sawyer, Dallas Texas - 2011-02-21 00:00:00

I switched to Spark and have begun my third contract. They are competitive but like many there pricing does not guarantee renewal. I will buy from another Company if it is 10% better. Deregulation screwed consumers in Texas.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Spark Energy Was Never a Problem

bamm, Katy, TX USA - 2011-02-01 00:00:00

Although we have not had Spark Energy for the past 2 years because we switched provider with a lower rate. We were with them for 2 yrs. prior and never had a problem with receiving billing statements via mail at the time and the bill was paid via auto-pay. Switching to Spark Energy was not a problem either. We were very pleased with them when we parted. I would recommend Spark Energy, my son is still with them, and I referred him 4 years ago! Everyone, including businesses are prone to hardships in this economy. *A note to Spark Energy, there are way too many thumbs down for your company regarding customer service and billing departments. 1st impressions are everything. The "reception" I first receive when I call any office with a problem or question will define whether or not to continue doing business. Make the changes that are needed to give the customers the courtesy and professionalism that is expected and win back past customers and help to retain the one's you already have!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great but for billing

Teasip, Plano, Texas - 2011-01-09 00:00:00

About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg. billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork. However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records. No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to change next month however ratings are better for this company than those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Saving Money Is Not Worth It

Anonymous, Houston - 2010-12-14 00:00:00

I'll have to admit that my bill has been a lot lower than with previous providers. However, these few dollars saved has not been worth it. My account was a pain from the start. They created duplicate accounts. After a month of service, Spark charged me $175 for an early termination fee. I did not cancel my power at all. It took them 1 month to refund the credit. This occurred again and it took another month to refund me the additional $175. They should not be canceling someone's power without a formal confirmation. Billing has been a huge pain. I have actual bills that show incorrect amounts, overcharging me. A rep had to call me to let me know. The troubles don't stop. My gas just got cut off due to payment issues. Ironically, I just received an email confirmation the day before thanking me for my payment. I also checked my bank account and noticed that Spark has taken money out. Hmmm. Payment issues? If you try to call Customer Service after hours, you can't leave a voice message.

5 of 6 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

No problem so far

Sophia, Houston, TX - 2010-11-23 00:00:00

I lived in a house and have used Sparks for 1 year. The account set up was a bit messed up at first, but I was able to cancel the duplicated account eventually. There has not been a problem as far as billing is concerned. I have set up automatic pay and so far my electricity bill has been around $60 for winter, and no more than $130 during summer.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2011-02-28 01:30:28

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any issues while enrolling. If there are any other issues, please contact us - https://www.sparkenergy.com/Customer-Service Otherwise, we appreciate the feedback!

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

G in Houston, Houston - 2010-11-12 00:00:00

Never had a problem with Spark for the past 3 years. Switch was easy. Billing/payments are automatic and easy to set-up. Never have needed to contact customer service.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Harrassing phone calls

M. Webster, Houston, TX - 2010-11-08 00:00:00

My account with Spark Energy was set up wrong from the beginning. Throughout the 4 weeks it took to get it straight, I received a bill showing a past due amount and a late fee that I disputed. Before I could get the corrected bill, I started getting harrassing phone calls both on my home phone and on my cell phone - 8 to 10 per day - regarding the past due amount. Explaining the circumstances of the account to the callers did no good. Even with the account paid in full, I still received hourly phone calls for two days after the payment was made. I have two other Spark accounts that I will now cancel. This was the worst experience I have had in years with an electrical provider.

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Spark Energy

Jim Simon, Tyler TX - 2010-10-29 00:00:00

I have has Spark Energy for two years with no complaints. Easy billing process and the best rates with no promotions or gimmicks. I would recommend Spark Energy to my friends. Easy renewal process and I used a promo code to save even more.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

way too late charges.. immediate payment demand

flavio, London UK - 2010-09-16 00:00:00

I receive a final bill 8 month later for which they apologies but then Spark energy requested immediate payment. It seems absurd that a company keep you waiting months on end for a final bill but then pretend immediate payment. it seems like double standart to me.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-09-28 03:48:45

This comment is directed to Spark Energy in the UK. That company is not related to Spark Energy in Houston, TX in any way.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst experience ever!

VERY DISSATISFIED CUSTOMER, Houston, TX - 2010-08-16 00:00:00

We initially signed up for a 2-yr contract with automated billing and payments. Did not discover that contract had ended until I questioned why last bill seemed extremely high. I noticed that they just switched me to higher M2M rate. When I asked if I could get adjustment if I renewed, CS told me NO, the rate would be effective the date I renewed. I argued that they gave me no advance notice that contract was expiring and expected me to remember 24 months after signup! Total difference between old and new rate was over $300. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE CROOKS AGAIN!

4 of 5 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-09-28 03:54:48

We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify any errors to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Excellent customer service and website

M. Dover, Texas - 2010-08-09 00:00:00

I used Spark Energy for 2 years, recently changing to another provider for a lower cost. I have regretted my decision. I received excellent customer service and never had any problems with Spark. I wish that I would have renewed my contract with Spark.

5 of 5 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-09-28 03:55:35

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the rate plans available for your area when your current provider's contract nears the end.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

good service, good price

Robert, Corpus Christi, TX - 2010-08-07 00:00:00

I have been with them for 2 years with no problems

1 of 2 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-08-24 01:05:09

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great Company

Sharon Philips, Houston, TX - 2010-07-28 00:00:00

I have had Spark for over 3 years and love them. Great rate, easy auto pay and courteous customer service. I am paying 9.9 pkwh!!!! Spark kicks ass.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-08-24 01:06:11

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Back again? How long will they last this time?

Mark, Houston - 2010-10-07 00:00:00

Wow how quickly we forget. Well I was one of the Spark Energy good customers a couple a years ago that was dropped and assigned to the Provider of Last Resort without notice when they went "bankrupt" just in the Houston market. Now that the rates are low they are back but what happens when the rates go back up will they drop their customers again?

2 of 4 found this useful.


Spark Energy Responds

2010-10-18 08:14:02

Spark Energy has provided electric service in the state of Texas for several years and has not gone out of business, or had the need to drop any customer to the Provider of Last Resort. We believe that there is some confusion or misunderstanding regarding this review and would be happy to review the comments further to clarify the matter. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Zilch for Customer Service

Switching as Fast as I Can, Pearland, TX - 2010-05-25 00:00:00

Spark has no phone number to call, and only answers email within 48 hours (they got to me early - 47 hours 52 minutes). Online info consists of bills only - no contract info, no expiration of term data, etc. Beware letting your contract expire because they put you on an exorbitantly-priced variable rate plan (50% higher per kwh).

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Vice President

R. Sivley, Houston, TX USA - 2010-05-06 00:00:00

Had to file a Formal Complaint with Public Utilities Commission of Texas. After insisting I was being over billed I confirmed through Centerpoint Energy they were in fact over billing on my pass through charges. Worse company ever, extremely poor customer service!!! If you use this company be prepared for the worst!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Spark Energy Review

Anita Henderson, Houston, Texas - 2010-02-15 00:00:00

Spark Energy takes advantage of people just because they can and I have never had my electricity turned off in my life. They were the first to turn off my electric when I protested a bill. Turns out their provider reads the meters occasionally, because I read meter also and it was no where near the correct reading. The readings also reflected the next larger number each time they read it. Only one member in my household and I keep my programmable thermostat on 80, since I am cold natured. Something wrong there. Never had electric bills like the ones I received from Spark Energy.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Watch out!

spark frustrated ex customer, Houston TX (galleria) - 2010-02-09 00:00:00

I used spark about 2 yrs ago and had several problems with them. I was happy with my initial rate which at the time was lower than the others, but when I tried to cancel at the end of my contract because I was moving out I had difficulties. It was near Hurricane Ike, I had set a turn off date plenty far in advance and they forced me to pay for electricity after the cancellation date they agreed upon. It did not get turned off for almost a week later(which I paid for to just be done with it). Then about 8 months later I got a bill from them saying I owed MORE money. They said they made a billing error. I complained a few times and nobody would budge, then stated in an e-mail I would complain to the PUCT they decided to drop the extra fees. Please beware! I gave half a lightbulb since that was the lowest I could go!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

No good.

Jill, Plano, TX - 2010-02-09 00:00:00

This company treats returning customers terribly. After a year, they switch you to a high variable rate with a monthly charge if you do not sign on for another year. And, if you decide to sign, they will not refun the overcharge for the month you did not realize they had switched your rate. Plus, if you ask to speak to a supervisor, they fill out a request and tell you to expect a call in 24-48 hours. Not pleasant.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Beware the fine print

Momstudent, Fort Worth, TX, USA - 2010-01-25 00:00:00

The Texas PUC mandates that electricity providers make customers aware of the expiration of their contract 14 days before the event. Spark does not send a letter as in years past. Customer service (complete misnomer)was most unhelpful as I tried to resolve the matter. Yes, it is my responsibility to review the bills. However, I would have never thought to check the contract expiration date each month. I was told by customer service that the only way they would reduce my bill was if I renewed my contract. No way. I signed up with another provider, for a much lower rate, and wrote off last month's extremely high bill as a lesson learned.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Satisfied with Spark

Jim, Houston, TX - 2010-03-16 00:00:00

Very satisfied with my Spark experience. Transition from Reliant was simple (they took care of everything...only spent 2 minutes of my time on the transition) Very good rates with no "bait and switch"

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

What happened to the low rate?

Anonymous, Texas - 2010-01-10 00:00:00

Spark is fine, has a fully functioning website (ie account details, history etc.), accepts AX, had the lowest rate for a company I thought would remain in business, but when second contract with them came for renewal they where significantly higher than competition, so had to bail.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Excellent choice once - No more

Moving on, Houston, TX USA - 2010-01-07 00:00:00

Careful, Spark Energys notification to renew is in small print and only once. If you miss it and do not renew your fix rate plan, they'll charge you at daily rate. No further notifications. Spark Energy used to be customer friendly: After the first year we received a renewal email and we renewed. Worked like a charm. This year no email, a small note on my invoice once, which I missed as I pay the amount listed in the email notification. Customer service was not responsive to my complaint: I am responsible to renew. True, but a questionable business practice nevertheless. Of course this is a blessing in disguise, because whereas Spark Energy used to be the most affordable for green energy. Now they list as the most expensive. I am saving 40%!! by moving on.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Good experience for a first time customer

Paul, Sugar Land TX - 2010-01-01 00:00:00

We are nearing the end of our first 12 months with Spark. The rates were good and we have had no issues with billing. The website is easy to navigate.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Jacked Up Price

Gerald Skiles, Texas USA - 2010-03-04 00:00:00

My contract expired and they made no reasonable effort to inform me that my rate would go through the roof if I didn't renew. Despite receiving emailed statements from them every month, they never put it on their bills. The only way to find out was to log into THEIR website and download a pdf file where it was written in very small print. I was paying 11 cents per kilowatt hour, the day it expired they jacked it up to over 16 cents per kilowatt hour, almost doubling my electric bill. After calling customer service, they were unwilling to make any adjustment even if I renewed my contract... so good bye. Very unethical business practices and no loyalty to their customers. Will also be filing a BBB complaint.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Jim Simon

Jim simon, tyler, Tx - 2009-09-11 00:00:00

Have had no problems. Easy access to my account. Prices are very comparable.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

My experience with Spark

Anonymous, Houston, TX USA - 2009-09-10 00:00:00

I was a loyal customer with Spark for 5 plus years and my contract expired. Instead of charging my the month to month rate or any reason rate they charged me 5 cent above the going market rate.

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Dishonest, cheating and lying company

Anonymous, Houston, TX USA - 2009-08-31 00:00:00

I had to make payment arrangements for a bill during the summer that was more than twice my normal rate due to A/C problem. I called and made the arrangements with Crista Elda and she suggested that I make a payment of 50% of the bill of $763.56 ($381.78) on the normal due date and then make another payment of $381.78 a couple of weeks later, I agreed to the plan. Instead Spark debited my account for the full amount $763.56 on the due date. This caused me to have over $600 in overdraft charges and late fee charges. I have called over 15 time in the last three weeks to find out what happened. I have received absolutely no returned calls and constantly get the run around. I would not ever use this company again. There are too many other good choices.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Jeane, Houston, TX - 2009-08-30 00:00:00

Customer service is not good! Happy to be with another provider.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:

Disceptive Trade Practices

Misled customer, Dallas, TX - 2010-03-23 00:00:00

After being a loyal customer for years, my bills increased dramatically. Months later I learned that my contract had expired and they had switched me to a higher rate. I never received anything from Spark notifying me that the contract expired. I went from approx $60 a month to $200. I spoke to a supervisor who explained it was my responsibility to log in to their website and look for notifications about the contract expiring. I asked how I would know They sent me two emails a month - I am disappointed they couldn't be bother to email me that my contract was expiring. I aksed to renew the contract retroactively and was told it was not an option. I aksed for the name of someone higher to whom I could write a letter and was told that was not an option; I could only write to the anonymous email account. I feel misled and cheated.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Bills have never been higher

Katy Content, Spring, Texas - 2010-02-25 00:00:00

I changed from reliant so I could lock in a lower rate. I have changed to all energy saving appliances, have solar screens, tinted windows, new shutters and blinds and my bills have never been higher. I complained once. They re-read my meter and my bill dropped over $500 the next month and then went right back up. I am not sure they even check the meters. It is the middle of winter and I don't use my air and my bill has not gone down at all! Can't wait to change.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

bait and switch

Joe consumer, Indiana - 2010-04-05 00:00:00

Promised lower rates always. Promised no contract, just month to month.Last months rate doubled.Rates have been higher than local supplier. Now they say it's a 24 month plan and they will save money only over the 24 months.They are liars.Promised to get back with me and have not. Next step complaints to BBB and reg commission.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

everman texas

rick, everman,tx - 2010-07-14 00:00:00

i had a 12month contract with them first bill about average 2nd bill almost triple. I called them they said they had undercharged prior month. 1st bill @300.00 2nd $900.00 i complained no good. after that my bill averaged out. like a fool 2 year same thing 1st bill 300.00 2nd almost 700.00 same crap. I'm with southwest power and light. my bills havent been this low in years. @ 150.00 to 200.00 a month 1600 sq ft house.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

$660 bill for 1070ft^2 apartment??

S. Park, Houston - 2010-03-25 00:00:00

I am not even sure how I've got this $660 for the month of Feb. I live in 1-bed room apartment and I was told that I used 3500kWh. Even though my heater was set to 65deg. And given my water heater's power rating is 5100kWh/year, something was wrong on my meter. I explained my situation, but the customer reps. kept saying "No, you used that much of electricity, and you will have to pay for it". Sure. I did have those people re-read the meter and even re-check the meter, but they kept saying the same thing. I see another guy complaining about the same thing as I am. I guess they are just busy charging the customer for the electricy they haven't even used. I would recommend you to check the daily usage everyday if you are going to use this company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Gassed by Spark Energy

Robert Yolles, San Jose, CA - 2010-05-01 00:00:00

After claiming at least a 5% savings compared to PG&E, charges for gas about the same for first 6 mos. Next 6 mos. Spark began charging about 50% MORE than PG&E (without notice). What a rip-off! Very unethical company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Switched to MTM Rate > any advertised

Anonymous, Carrollton, TX 75007 - 2009-07-03 00:00:00

My fault, but didn't realize when the 2 month promotional rate expired they would charge considerably higher on the MTM than anything they had listed at PowerToChoose. Req'd paperless billing and autopay and the monthly email doesn't state usage and current rate, just net due and due date. I was neglectful and didn't sign on to the website to see my full statement w/the exorbitant rate. Was generally happier w/GEXA and am now giving Kinetic a try.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Spark Energy Review

Matt, Houston, TX, USA - 2009-05-23 00:00:00

Everything seemed satisfactory. The prices were OK when we started, but later they were no longer competitive so we switched.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review