Read Spark Energy Reviews




PUCT#: 10046

( 3.1 / 5 )

113 Reviews

Replies

Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.
Price Protect 9
Price Protect 12
Sure Saver 12
Green Price Protect 12
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Sign Up Now   
Spark Energy | PUCT# 10046
Spark Energy | PUCT# 10046
Spark Energy | PUCT# 10046
Spark Energy | PUCT# 10046

I am starting on my 3rd year of service with Spark Energy. The service and rates I have received has been outstanding. I have dealt with their customer service department and it too, has been excellent. Their rates are extremely competitive and I appreciate the fact that when my contract expired they didn't raise my rates like other companies do. Thank You Spark Energy!


Spark Energy appreciates your continued business and loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our customers.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-07-26 10:36:24
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Am guessing I have saved about $2000 comparing to other South texas providers. My mother saves over a hundred dollars a month on her electrical bill.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark Energy is the best electricity company I've ever worked with. I've been with the large companies (Reliant & TXU), and the smaller companies (Yep), and Spark Energy beats them all. The big ones charge too much, and the smaller ones don't have enough customer service experience to help you when you need it, and can still be more expensive too. I'm probably saving $25 a month on my electricity bill with Spark, which definitely adds up! The customer service is local, and they actually work for the company too, so you're not talking to some outsourced company that can't actually make decisions. Their sign up process is a breeze, and you can't beat their auto-pay so you don't miss a payment (they even give you a discount for using it too, instead of charging you). They also have a referral program so that you can get $25, and they can get $25 too. All in all, you can't beat Spark Energy - I won't ever go anywhere else!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Very satisfied with my Spark experience. Transition from Reliant was simple (they took care of everything...only spent 2 minutes of my time on the transition) Very good rates with no "bait and switch"


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

We are nearing the end of our first 12 months with Spark. The rates were good and we have had no issues with billing. The website is easy to navigate.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have been using Spark Energy since 6/2015. On 9/2015, I referred a friend. Then I called Spark Energy for my $25 credit of referring a friend, they told me to wait after 3 months, to make sure that my friend would pay her bills for 3 months for me to get the credit. I said ok, but why you don't say anything about that waiting after 3 months anywhere on the website or in the letter you send me about my ID of referring a friend. After 3 months, I called them, they said they could not locate the referral, and asked me to asked my friend for their account number. Then I called them again this morning for the account number, a guy picked up the call and asked if at the time of the referral, if I sent my friend a link, and he said everything should have been done through the link and the referral would automatically applied. I told him I was the one that opened that account for her through online and put in my referral ID, and about the specific step of the link, I can't remember, and it would be too much for me and my friend to open her email to make sure that she received that link through her email. Then he said that was the only way. I asked my friend for me to check her email and it was an email of the link, and the email was read, it meant that I really used the link to open the account for her. Then I called Spark Energy again to tell the fact, and the lady ask me to have my friend with me to verify the account. Are you insane? How if my friend is living far away from me? Representatives of Spark Energy just provided different instructions and explanations every time I called them and avoided paying me my referral. I would switch to another company whenever my contract ends and will never refer any friend to Spark Energy again.


We are sorry to hear about your experience with getting your Refer a Friend Credit. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with you and your friend's account information so that we can review and assist you as soon as possible. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-03-28 09:09:59
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a Spark customer for two years. I called to renew my plan. One of the choices is the Sure Saver 12, which claims you get a $60 monthly credit if your usage is above 999 kWh. The representative figured out what my bill would be on that program and it was quite a bit cheaper than the Price Protect Plan. Well, he put me on hold and when he got back on the line, he informed me that the $60 was INCLUDED in the price and there actually is NO CREDIT!!! In other words, it is a wash. Very deceitful practice, if you ask me. FALSE ADVERTISING!!!!


We apologize for any confusion. We would be more than happy to review your current product and products that we have available. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may assist you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-03-28 09:07:52
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am the kind of person who understands that bad moments happen. When I read review I always disregard the 5 stars and the 1 stars due to "bad moments". On this company please take into account the 1 star ratings and poor reviews because they are 10000% TRUE!!!! I have had Spark energy for almost 2 years now. Had no issues with my main residence. When I went to add my daughters apartment as a secondary service location is when all hell broke loose. For the first 6 months of a 6 month contract they never billed me. Called every couple of weeks asking for my invoice but the person on the phone argued that my account showed a zero balance. Must have called at least ten times. Finally i got a hold of someone that had a higher IQ than a cupcake and they went digging in the account to find that Centerpoint was billing them but they never billed me. The bills were astronomical for a small one bedroom apartment. I had to pay close to $1000 in bills. Then the delivery charges started hitting. I was being charged $200-300 just in delivery charges! Paid it all but was stuck in a contract. Then the bills went to normal. $60-80 a month so I just let it go hoping that it was finally done. Then I get December's bill. For 484 kwh the electricity portion of the bill was $20. They were also charging me $127 in delivery charges!! So out of a $216 electricity bill only $20 was actually for electricty!! Called in and was told once again that there was nothing they could do about it because Centerpoint charged them that. What s BS line!!!! Had them cancel service for my secondary service location effective immediately. As soon as my main residence contract is up in March I will be changing service providers then.


I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to review your account and make sure that everything is being properly billed. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further review and better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-02-02 10:32:34
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i'm all about supporting new smaller businesses but i don't think data information is managed well here. i don't think i've had so many issues with a provider since i've been on my own. issues since jul 2015, we are in dec 2015 as i type this out: 1. since i joined in july i was promised a 25 credit after 90 days and each time i call after this time frame, they say, i promise, the next invoice you will see it. this is with every rep i talk to. my neighbor who referred me can't get her 25 either. we still have not rec'd the credit. 2. 1st billing i got, there was a charge for underusage when clearly i was just switched over and had a shorter statement cycle - why would i be penalized? they waived it but for it to appear automatically tells me the customer setup/billing system sucks if they blanket apply to all statements regardless of when a new customer was switched over. 3. i've received messages from their IT system about how their system was down and/or there were billing errors 4. after point 2 above, i've received 2 additional statements with billing errors: one in conjunction with the above point 3 IT system issue (per rep) where they charged me a late fee when i'm on autopay? and another where they gave me a credit (not the 25) and then took it back. save your time and money folks. they are too much of a hassle to deal with considering all the phone calls you have to make. i don't know where the issue is? the reps are nice enough and they put in the notes and all but it appears to be a system issue? i don't know. i'm tired of making notes about who i speak to and when and what they say. ridiculous.


I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and assist in the best way possible. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-02-02 10:28:37
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Encouraged me to sign up for a new plan with a very low rate. Did not disclose TDSP delivery charges. A 3-4% rate is actually more than 11%


I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and enrollment so that we may investigate, as this is not normal practice. We make an effort to disclose all terms of service at the time of enrollment so we would be more than happy to review. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may better assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-12-23 14:26:43
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After moving out of state a letter arrived with the incorrect address of my former home. Spark Energy is wanting an even 50.00 or they will go to collection. Called the number and the person who answered put me on hold for 5 minutes only to get nobody on the phone. Another company that does not produce any energy sources, but love billing people for no service. Stay far away from this company, it like extortion give me 50.00 dollars or else.


I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I am not sure if the person on the phone was able to fully assist you but we want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may try to assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-10-26 11:29:26
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been using Spark Energy since 6/2015. On 9/2015, I referred a friend. Then I called Spark Energy for my $25 credit of referring a friend, they told me to wait after 3 months, to make sure that my friend would pay her bills for 3 months for me to get the credit. I said ok, but why you don't say anything about that waiting after 3 months anywhere on the website or in the letter you send me about my ID of referring a friend. After 3 months, I called them, they said they could not locate the referral, and asked me to asked my friend for their account number. Then I called them again this morning for the account number, a guy picked up the call and asked if at the time of the referral, if I sent my friend a link, and he said everything should have been done through the link and the referral would automatically applied. I told him I was the one that opened that account for her through online and put in my referral ID, and about the specific step of the link, I can't remember, and it would be too much for me and my friend to open her email to make sure that she received that link through her email. Then he said that was the only way. I asked my friend for me to check her email and it was an email of the link, and the email was read, it meant that I really used the link to open the account for her. Then I called Spark Energy again to tell the fact, and the lady ask me to have my friend with me to verify the account. Are you insane? How if my friend is living far away from me? Representatives of Spark Energy just provided different instructions and explanations every time I called them and avoided paying me my referral. I would switch to another company whenever my contract ends and will never refer any friend to Spark Energy again.


We are sorry to hear about your experience with getting your Refer a Friend Credit. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with you and your friend's account information so that we can review and assist you as soon as possible. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-03-28 09:09:59
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a Spark customer for two years. I called to renew my plan. One of the choices is the Sure Saver 12, which claims you get a $60 monthly credit if your usage is above 999 kWh. The representative figured out what my bill would be on that program and it was quite a bit cheaper than the Price Protect Plan. Well, he put me on hold and when he got back on the line, he informed me that the $60 was INCLUDED in the price and there actually is NO CREDIT!!! In other words, it is a wash. Very deceitful practice, if you ask me. FALSE ADVERTISING!!!!


We apologize for any confusion. We would be more than happy to review your current product and products that we have available. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may assist you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-03-28 09:07:52
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am the kind of person who understands that bad moments happen. When I read review I always disregard the 5 stars and the 1 stars due to "bad moments". On this company please take into account the 1 star ratings and poor reviews because they are 10000% TRUE!!!! I have had Spark energy for almost 2 years now. Had no issues with my main residence. When I went to add my daughters apartment as a secondary service location is when all hell broke loose. For the first 6 months of a 6 month contract they never billed me. Called every couple of weeks asking for my invoice but the person on the phone argued that my account showed a zero balance. Must have called at least ten times. Finally i got a hold of someone that had a higher IQ than a cupcake and they went digging in the account to find that Centerpoint was billing them but they never billed me. The bills were astronomical for a small one bedroom apartment. I had to pay close to $1000 in bills. Then the delivery charges started hitting. I was being charged $200-300 just in delivery charges! Paid it all but was stuck in a contract. Then the bills went to normal. $60-80 a month so I just let it go hoping that it was finally done. Then I get December's bill. For 484 kwh the electricity portion of the bill was $20. They were also charging me $127 in delivery charges!! So out of a $216 electricity bill only $20 was actually for electricty!! Called in and was told once again that there was nothing they could do about it because Centerpoint charged them that. What s BS line!!!! Had them cancel service for my secondary service location effective immediately. As soon as my main residence contract is up in March I will be changing service providers then.


I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to review your account and make sure that everything is being properly billed. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further review and better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-02-02 10:32:34
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i'm all about supporting new smaller businesses but i don't think data information is managed well here. i don't think i've had so many issues with a provider since i've been on my own. issues since jul 2015, we are in dec 2015 as i type this out: 1. since i joined in july i was promised a 25 credit after 90 days and each time i call after this time frame, they say, i promise, the next invoice you will see it. this is with every rep i talk to. my neighbor who referred me can't get her 25 either. we still have not rec'd the credit. 2. 1st billing i got, there was a charge for underusage when clearly i was just switched over and had a shorter statement cycle - why would i be penalized? they waived it but for it to appear automatically tells me the customer setup/billing system sucks if they blanket apply to all statements regardless of when a new customer was switched over. 3. i've received messages from their IT system about how their system was down and/or there were billing errors 4. after point 2 above, i've received 2 additional statements with billing errors: one in conjunction with the above point 3 IT system issue (per rep) where they charged me a late fee when i'm on autopay? and another where they gave me a credit (not the 25) and then took it back. save your time and money folks. they are too much of a hassle to deal with considering all the phone calls you have to make. i don't know where the issue is? the reps are nice enough and they put in the notes and all but it appears to be a system issue? i don't know. i'm tired of making notes about who i speak to and when and what they say. ridiculous.


I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and assist in the best way possible. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2016-02-02 10:28:37
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Encouraged me to sign up for a new plan with a very low rate. Did not disclose TDSP delivery charges. A 3-4% rate is actually more than 11%


I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and enrollment so that we may investigate, as this is not normal practice. We make an effort to disclose all terms of service at the time of enrollment so we would be more than happy to review. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may better assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-12-23 14:26:43
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After moving out of state a letter arrived with the incorrect address of my former home. Spark Energy is wanting an even 50.00 or they will go to collection. Called the number and the person who answered put me on hold for 5 minutes only to get nobody on the phone. Another company that does not produce any energy sources, but love billing people for no service. Stay far away from this company, it like extortion give me 50.00 dollars or else.


I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I am not sure if the person on the phone was able to fully assist you but we want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may try to assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-10-26 11:29:26
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This has been one of the most unethical experiences while dealing with an electricity supplier. I signed up a sixth month plan where I was told by the sales representative that I would be charged 9.9c for the period. Two months later I was being charged 13.3 c. I didn't notice this for 4 months (Spark never informed me either) and when I call I am being told that it was a flexible rate and not a fixed rate. This was NEVER COMMUNICATED to me before signing up and now when I call I am not being comped for this nor will they drop the ridiculously high rate (30% above market rate) till the next billing cycle A very dissatisfied customer, Zahid


The experience being described is not one that we are proud of but we would definitely like to make it right. We are concerned and want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may assist you with this matter. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-09-16 12:37:54
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We were long time customers of Spark Energy for a number of years and never experienced any problems until recently. Our rental home became vacant earlier this year and while we made some minor repairs, we decided to go back to Spark Energy for a 6 month contract at 6 cents per kWh. Things were great, bills were low until the contract expired in July. Being close to putting the house on the market, we didn't want to get stuck with a cancellation cost so we decided to go on month to month (variable rate). Boy o Boy was that a mistake, the rate jumped from 6 cents to 21 cents per kWh :0 Really???? I called the customer service number hoping there was a legitimate reason or a mistake in the billing. How can the rate jump 3 fold in the course of 1 month? No luck, they responded with their standard response of... it's a variable rate and we use the rate of what we buy it at market? Really?? We have a different electricity provider in our primary residence and it just so happened our contract expired at the same time our rental home did. Our 'variable rate' in our primary residence was 7cents per kWh? How can one company have a variable rate of 7 cents and Spark Energy have a variable rate of 21 cents per kWh? This does not sound right at all..sounds more like Price Gouging... I also reviewed my invoice and under Plan Information it lists Residential Evergreen, expiring on 9/14/2015. Why can't I find the Residential Evergreen plan anywhere on Spark Energy's website? Help?? I'm looking at a $575 bill for a vacant house :0, this is almost double that of my primary residence.


Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Please be advised that , for fixed rate contracts we hedge the energy, which means we purchase it in advance based on the fixed rate price and consumption history. When an account is on a month-to-month variable product, we purchase it on the spot; therefore the price is volatile depending on market conditions. We would still like the opportunity to further assist you with your concerns. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-09-01 15:58:22
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy continues to utilize a third party marketing plan that is misleading consumers, they encourage consumers to unwillingly sign agreements by stating that they are attempting to lower their current rate for gas services. Spark promises savings but can't deliver!


Please be advise that Spark Energy in no way condones fraudulent behavior. Our sales team is trained to only enroll customer who are over the age of 18 and state that they are authorized to make changes to the utility account in question. We will gladly review your account with you and answer any questions that you may have. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:40:03
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Our usage is usually under 100Kwts and Spark was charging us more to use LESS power. They would not offer us a lower price contract. Why should we be penalized to use less electricity...see ya Spark!


Thank you so much for sharing. We would like to speak with you and review your account and the options available to you. Please contact us at 1-877-547-7272 1-877-547-7275 between the hours of 7am -7pm CT M-F and on Saturday 7-4pm CT so that we may further assist.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:37:43
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy quotes kwh prices significantly below competitors rates but these rates do not include TDSP delivery charges. My quote was .07 cents per kwh. but my first bill showed an additional TDSP charge of $49.26. While this is not illegal it is deceptive because most companies include this rate in their quote. My termination fee is $100. I'm terminating!!! Read the fine print in these contracts and call to verify that the rate you are quoted includes TDSP charges.


We appreciate your feed back regarding the Spark Energy service as it keeps us on our toes. When we quote the rates to enroll or renew a customer for the Spark Energy service we most certainly advise them that the TDSP charges are billed separately at no additional mark up from the utility company. If you would like to speak with someone regarding your rate and charges you may do so by contacting us at 1-877-547-7275 between the hours of 7am -7pm CT M-F and on Saturday 7-4pm CT. We look forward to speaking with you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:36:19
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We switched over to them in Sept of 2014 for a 5.2 cent rate. I did not receive a bill the next month, called, they said they were having a problem with their billing/invoice system; I asked for an estimate, they said could not give an estimate. I paid $200 to the account anyway. THIS WENT ON OF A NUMBER OF MONTHS, and I kept paying $200 a month, BUT EVENTUALLY I GOT A GROSS BILL FOR ALMOST $1000 (YES, A THOUSAND DOLLARS!!!). Luckily, I had been paying something every month, otherwise I would have been screwed. THEY CALL CONSTANTLY. I have had them call over missed / nonpayment of a $13 late fee. Their customer service call center reps are incompetent and do not know what they are doing, obviously due to high turnover caused by low pay. WE ARE DEFINITELY NOT GOING TO RENEW WITH THEM. DO NOT USE THIS PROVIDER !!!! SHOP FOR ANOTHER !!! TELL EVERYONE!! RATING THEM ON A SCALE OF ONE 1 TO FIVE 5, I WOULD GIVE THEM A MINUS (NEGATIVE) -1.


This is certainly not the experience that we want you to have as we understand how a bill higher than normal can be frustrating. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. We look forward to hearing from you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:32:30
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After my contract expired Spark rate for month-to-month stated to me was at 8.6c / KwH. Thus, I after being customer for 3 years, I relied on their statements, trusting their business. Due to traveling, I took a month and a half before reviewing Plans and planning to renew contract with Spark. Spark, however, switched me to Renewable plan without asking nor notifying me, and rate went to 18.9 c / KwH! My two bills doubled, and they did the switch in June and July when my consumption is the highest, costing mew few hundred $. Spark did not bother to remind me to renew contract or review my rates. Being customer for 3 years, paying my bills with by withdrawal from my checking (was never late), did not mean anything to Spark. They were just charging me hoping I will not check rates for few months, so they can rip me off! After I complained, they called me from office of the president, but did not want to adjust charges nor explain how price per kwh doubles when gas prices are at historic low, and no changes to regulations! The explanation is that plan is just 19 c/ kwh! Spark did not care about keeping my business nor considering any resolution to my complaint. I agreed that month-to-month is pricier, but within the reason. But doubling rate with no changes in the market environment! No excuse!! I will never, ever use Spark and will tell all my friends and colleagues about their malpractice. Be warned! PS Yes, there is a way to warn people. Reliant forecasts customers’ bills trending per latest consumption and sends alert emails warning customers of potential high bills (so you can adjust your consumption timely, if you want). I explained this to Spark, but they did not care about this service.


Rest assured Spark Energy never wants any customer to not be aware of the services or rate provided which is why we make every effort to be as informative as possible with renewal notifications that include the EFL for our customer's to review. We certainly value your feedback and if you would like to have your account further reviewed then please do so by contacting us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:30:20
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After 8 years with Spark I noticed my rate had increased (Quadrupled). I called to discuss the issue and was told someone would call me in 24-48 hours, that didn't happen. So I had to call them back and after going through the very lengthily verification process of who I am, we finally discussed my issue. Apparently my contact had lapsed and they allegedly sent me a renewal notice, though I never received one. After 8 years of service they could not do anything about the increase in the billing rate unless I signed up for another 1 year term, which is not possible because the home is for sale which I explained. This was also mentioned when I added my new home with Spark, they just don't care, so I will now switch both homes to another provider. Hopefully I can find a company that actually rewards loyalty, though from the reviews I have read I think that might be doubtful.


This is not at all the type of customer experience that we would want you or anyone to have. We would like to apologize for this inconvenience and at least review your issue to in an effort reach an amicable resolution. When time permits please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:25:59
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed up with them but the very next day I send in a cancellation letter that they gave me and this was in June 24, 2014 and now it's May 11,2015 and I am still getting billed that I owe but in there computers it shows that I canceled. Now they are threatening to send it to collections, how are they gonna do that when I cancelled a long time ago!!!! Phone calls don't stop!!!!


We are sorry to hear that this has been your experience and we would like the opportunity to certainly make it right. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. We look forward to rectifying this situation for you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-25 16:22:50
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Call 2 different times and after a wait of approx. 45 minutes I disconnected. Tried to call the Houston office which was the same as cutomer service. Switching providers!


Spark Energy would like to apologize for the delayed response to you as we certainly appreciate your feedback regarding your customer experience. It is never our intention to have long hold times, howeve;r sometimes they occur as certain situations require more time to review and resolve. Although time has passed, we would still be more than happy to assist you with any questions or concerns that you may have. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com. for further assistance. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds 2015-08-13 07:43:11
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed up for Spark Energy when I bought my town home in Houston. I signed up for their 6 month plan. The agent was professional and courteous. I was very impressed. And, the rate was great. Upon expiration of my 6 month contract, the rates shot up! When I tried to renew on line, the product offerings were confusing. After calling an agent, I was able to lock in a 12 month rate which was slightly better than the online promotions. Slightly. I was set up with Auto Pay, so I was upset when I received two cancellation notices within days of each other. When I called, they had apparently updated their billing system and wiped out my Auto Pay information. I had my last statement from the month earlier that clearly said, "DO NOT PAY"...I re-entered Auto Pay information after learning of THEIR error. The following day, I get another cancellation notice!! When I called collections, Traci, hung up on me after I told her that I was getting cancellation notices because of their system update. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and BILLING!


Spark Energy would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced concerning this matter. Please be advised that it is never our intention to cause any confusion. In addition, any error on our part is certainly not something that we would hold you accountable for. Please know that your concerns are very important to us and we would like to make it right. So that we may review this incident in detail, please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com. Hopefully in the near future your confidence in Spark Energy will be renewed. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 10:30:36
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If I could give every rating a 0, I really would. Someone representing Spark Energy came to my door to talk my dad into switching over to their service. He promised my father they'd discount his monthly bill for signing up with them and that it's guaranteed it'll be cheaper than the cost of his previous utilities service. We were infuriated to see our first bill of the month... Not only was it much more expensive monthly, but we were charged $100 for a cancellation fee on top of the bill due for that month? Are you serious? Customer service also sucks. The call representatives sound so smug and miserable, and I've been placed on hold for at least 20 minutes on end for each time I've made a call to them. REALLY do not recommend!! Sign up with The Gas Company or something else!


I cannot apologize enough for the experience in which you just described. Spark Energy does not condone providing misinformation to gain sales. We have a Third Party verifier for that very reason. This verifier reiterates what the sales agent offered to the customer by going over the rates and the Terms of Service. For added customer security, the verifier also confirms that the customer is authorized to make changes to the utility account before processing the enrollment. We would really like the opportunity to look further into this incident in an effort to clear any possible confusion caused by Spark Energy. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may assist. We appreciate your patience. Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 11:04:09
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Signed up for a higher rate plan that promised no low use fee. This was a lie and a scam. Now paying higher rate and same low use fee.


We are very concerned with what you are stating has occurred with your enrollment. I can assure you that Spark Energy is not a scam at all. We have been servicing customers from coast to coast for gas and electricity supply for well over a decade. However, complaints of this nature are taken very seriously. We know how important this is to you so that makes it even more important to us. In an effort to review this incident in depth, please contact us by either calling 1-877-547-7275 to speak to a Customer Care agent or you may email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 11:24:33
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've been with Spark Energy for 8 years and have been very satisfied. Not big on the auto pay, but I never missed a payment. Price is mid-range and I've had good experiences with customer service.


We are so happy to hear that you are not only satisfied with the Spark Energy service but that you are also a valued customer with tenure. Thank you for entrusting us with your supplier needs. We look forward to many years of continued business with you.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 11:40:53
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We have been working with various people on their team to clear up billing issues which have not been corrected over the last two months. Their custom service supervisor Adam will give you his "direct phone number" and will never call you back. He will make false promises for changes to your account that won't happen. You will sit on hold for hours and get nothing done when you someone.


What I have just read is very alarming. This is not at all how Spark Energy wants their customer to feel. I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have previously experienced. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account and make it right. We can only hope to earn your trust again in the very near future. Thank you for your patience.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 11:47:36
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've been trying to cancel my account for days now since I'm going to be moving. I called them to get it cancelled, and to their credit they did that pretty quick. To settle a final balance due (of only 24$ mind), I was redirected several times to the pay desk, where i was put on hold twice for over 2 hours. I'm on hold with them right now, it is 1.5 hours and counting. Never going to go back to this company again.


We would first like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced. Over the Summer we did have unexpected call volume which resulted in longer than normal hold times. However, the hold times that you are describing are most certainly unacceptable. Although this incident occurred sometime ago; we would still like to make sure the problem was resolved. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may review your account in detail. We understand how important this is to you and we thank you so much for your patience.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-11-24 11:55:18
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They were a bad experience. I'm am asking others to find a better provider in electric. The reviews I read are true. Spark energy is horrible.


I'm sorry this has been your experience; please contact me at hpena@sparkenergy.com with details so that I can review this and address your concerns.

Spark Energy Responds 2014-07-09 09:12:14
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a Spark Customer for over 5 years. Due to auto draft I have never been late on a payment. The three times in my tenure with Spark that I have had to call them for assistance however, has left me just mystified at how lazy and uncaring they are for their customers. You absolutely will be just another number and they will not have any concern over how they feel you are treated by their employees.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I just joined this company in California, and I have not see any good review, I am afraid of this step, I dont want to end up paying too much after the year contract or any hidden fees, please Spark I hope you answer these concerns, I would like to be a happy customer and rate you the best of the west.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've had Spark for at least 5 years, never had a problem with them in the DFW area. Have set up month to month contracts for rent houses, all opened and closed with out incident. Oncor had the power up and running and off on stated dates and bills reflected the changes correctly. Last time I renewed I asked if they had a customer loyalty rate and was pleased that they offered one, at least that day. When checking Texas's online complaint site Spark has consistently been low in the pack for complaints. Keep up the good work guys and I'll stay a satisfied Customer


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Requesting that all my billing and communications be on line through e-mail, Spark alerted me to the expiration of my term fixed contract through snail mail and it went unnoticed until months later of them overcharging me by $50 per month.


We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the renewal notification. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-11-20 08:05:04
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been a supposed customer for 5 years and I was gullible enough to believe in them as a company by giving my automated billing information. All they had to do was supply a competitive rate and automatically take their money. However........ Spark quietly and efficiently but according to their business strategy and "fine print" increase your unit cost by as much as 25%. They are complete crooks! I hope to break from them as soon as possible.


Thank you for taking the time out of your day to bring this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please send your account details as well as your contact information to me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com for further review.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-11-04 19:50:43
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had 3 houses in Houston on Spark Energy and sign long contracts. In the last 2 years I have been switching every house over to TRi Eagle since they charge $15 less in fees than Spark and also have slightly better rates. Spark use to have a flat $4.95 fee like TRi Eagle but that all changed in 2012. In comparing bills for all 3 houses I can see that TRi Eagle would have saved me $15 in fees and an additional $6 in electricity cost. Power to choose means power to change from the Spark Energy rip off fees. On some comparisons when adding in the high fees of Spark I would have saved 22% off the bill. I have just one house left on Spark from a 2 year contract and will be so glad to get this last house changed to Tri Eagle. January 2014 my last of 3 houses will be on Tri Eagle and I will be saving $20 per house per month over Spark energy! That is a wopping $720 per year savings when I add up all 3 homes. Tri Eagle is the only energy provider left that has a flat $4.95 fee per month. You will be charged $9 in a monthy fee from Spark plus another $10 in taxes and BS fees. Switch to TRi Eagle. The other two houses have had Tri Egle for nearly 2 years now and it is the best deal plus it gives you weekly usage emails. Go Tri Eagle....Run Spark Energyout of business!


Thanks for taking the time out of your day to bring this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please send your account details to me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com for further review.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-09-04 08:48:22
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am starting on my 3rd year of service with Spark Energy. The service and rates I have received has been outstanding. I have dealt with their customer service department and it too, has been excellent. Their rates are extremely competitive and I appreciate the fact that when my contract expired they didn't raise my rates like other companies do. Thank You Spark Energy!


Spark Energy appreciates your continued business and loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our customers.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-07-26 10:36:24
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I've been with SPARK for 8 years. After our latest 1 year contract expired, our rate went from 8.9 cents per kilowatt to 12.69 cents per kilowatt in March. I experienced a $300 bill instead of a $205 bill which is a big difference. We were not aware of this rate change for three months because we were not notified. I called customer service in June and renewed it for another year at 9.1 cents per kilowatt. New customers get a $75 gift card and I asked for it. I was countered with a $25 credit. Also, they did send us an email on February 27 and we must have missed it or thought it was spam. When all is said and done, I am almost completely satisfied. The customer service rep did an excellent job on her end when I called. However, I suggest the following to SPARK ENERGY: 1) Post a customer's contract ending date and rate change on our online account because it is easy to do and can be automated. 2) Offer the same specials to your core customers (existing) for renewing as you would for a new customer.


We want you to know that we appreciate your comment and always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing and what you feel we should work on.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-07-26 10:33:49
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Following a change of Banks I called to change my new bank debit information. They insisted I must fill out a form and fax or email it back to them. They sent two formsw with no indication which was correct. I chose one printed it , filled it out , scanned the completed signed form, and emailed it back. Today I get another email stating they required a voided check on the new bank before they make the change. My checks arent due for two weeks and my billing date is 12 days away. The email had 6 additional attachments, which I have not opened ??? The other companies just took my new info by phone and made the change. Really Stupid!!!!


Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-06-18 08:44:36
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I signed a contract with Spark and was satisfied. They elected not to offer power in my area so we parted ways. I signed up with them because they were one of the last companies not to charge a monthly fee but they've joined in the collusion now. They even refunded a charge for the short time I was with them after the contract expired and the switch to someone else occurred.


Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, Spark Energy is not offering renewal rates in your service area at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We’d like you to know that we appreciate the opportunity to have serviced your electricity needs!

Spark Energy Responds 2013-05-22 09:12:05
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have good website, billing, and email communication... and saved a lot of money compared to my previous provider. Never had any issues. Don't know what it's like to call them, because I've never had a need to do so. I'm going to try another provider for a lower rate now that my contract is up, but I'll return if my experience doesn't match up to Spark.


Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the renewal plans available for your area. We are always happy to hear from all of our customers.

Spark Energy Responds 2013-05-17 12:03:05
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity. That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month. Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I rarely write reviews and usually only give positive feedback, but I decided to just write a review as opposed to taking more time to mess with the late charge this company tacked on my bill. I paid my August electric bill the way I always do through my bank's bill pay online on the 2nd of the month. The bank sent the payment in on the 4th of the month. On the bank site it said the bill was delivered on the 11th and it was due on the 12th. Last week I received a letter saying the payment was late. I called and disputed this and the person said I would have to wait for my bill to see if there was a late charge, which seemed ridiculous since I had gotten a letter from them about it. When I recieved the bill of course, they had a $12.44 late charge. I called again and in order to speak to an operator I stayed on the line like the recording said. I was disconnected after two minutes. I repeated this and the same thing happened. The third time I called I chose the 'set up a new account' button and someone answered on the first ring. It was the billing department. I told her the situation and after checking she said I would have to contact my bank so they could send all the documentation, and that was after I had established a year's record of paying my bills on time. This is the first time a company has ever done that. With a great credit history and a record of paying my bills on time, a reputable company, even a credit card company, has always forgiven an occasional error. Both operators were very efficient, cordial and cold as they explained the situation but refused to drop the late fee charge. In the meantime I had already changed my service to a company with a much better customer service record with a much more competitive price and I will be saving money. I will never use this company again. So, instead of using my time to contact my bank and go through all the riggamarow of fixing this mistake, I will pay them their twelve extra dollars and use this time to inform others of the practices of this company. In the long run, if people avoid this company, Spark will certainly have received their twelve dollars, but hopefully lose future customers because they put profits ahead of customer service.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never had a problem until my credit card expired. Spark did not notify and sent a collection letter. I tried to set up new credit card for direct pay but was informed they don't except credit cards for direct pay anymore. I asked them to send statements so I could pay the old way and they did start sending statements but each one has "DO NOT PAY" "FOR YOUR RECORDS ONLY" and "Payment will be drafted on the due date" printed all over the return portion of the statement. Very confusing !! I've moved on to a company that will accept automatic credit card payments.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill. You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch. I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds. I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways. I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark has completely messed up our account. First, our account was inproperly terminted by mistake (somone else gave a wrong address). Our power ended up getting cut off and Spark charged us a $250 termination charge when we never terminated. Then when the incorrect switch got switched back to them, they did not reactivate our old account and started charging us double our contracted rate. We have spent hours on the phone with these people trying got get it straight. They say everything will be OK, but it just keeps getting messed up.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Since I received the email from Spark saying that it is time to renew my contract, I made a huge mistake by switching over to StarTex without realizing that my contract with Spark does not end until 4 days later. They charged me $250 for early termination. I called and emailed them several time but they just refuse to do anything to help minimizing this cost. StarTex even offered to help me by allowing me to come back to Spark without charging the early termination fee. Again Spark refused that offer as well. I have been a great customer by doing several referral for them for 6 years and this is the way that they treated their customers. I will not be the only customer that they lose.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

NO customer service at all..will never recommend to family/friends


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

These folks have very deceptive marketing. Watch your backs or you will be burned like I got burned. I signed up for a 12-month fixed rate plan. After a year it converts to a variable rate plan. No big deal, right? WRONG!! Their variable plan is now at .87 per term, about double that of the competition! What is even more interesting is that once I learned this I called them and pretended to be a new customer. When I asked about the price of the variable plan I was told .535 (still high, but not outrageous). When I told them I was an existing customer paying .87 the rep said he made a mistake on the quote. BALONEY! They got caught and now they're trying to cover their tracks. Those customers ending their 12 month guarantee should give Spark their 30 day notice and run away. This company hopes you will do nothing, and get socked. There are lots of reputable companies out there ... this is not one of them.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Signed up with them - rates increased from what I was paying utility.....called to cancel and got big run around.......had to call three times to get it done...NEVER AGAIN ! !


Hi Bob- Sorry to hear about your frustration, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive for 1st-call resolution, and if you can remember the name of the representative(s) you spoke with, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com so we can address them directly. NOTE: If you attempting to switch providers at the same address, we actually don't have the power to cancel your account. You would need to call another provider and sign up with them, and your account with Spark Energy would automatically be canceled. If you were attempting to cancel your account because you were moving to a new address, it sounds like we dropped the ball and we apologize. If there's anything else we can do for you or any other questions we can answer, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com. Thank You.

Spark Energy Responds 2012-01-05 01:48:42
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Prior to moving to Texas, I set up a six month account with auto draft for reduced fixed rates. When the contract expired, I signed a new for a similar rate plan. Given the bill was on auto draft and I'd yet to have a problem, I didn't check the price per kilowatt hour after the first new bill. Recently, when I did, I noticed I'd been billed nearly TRIPLE what the agreed upon rate was for four months in a row. They were unwilling to work with me on their error, given said bills were already paid. Service is being switched to a different provider tomorrow morning. I will go off the grid before I use them again.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I had service from this company for about a year and everything was good up until 2 months ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service and gone with another company. It started out great with my bill being about $40 for my first month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about 9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The following month they knocked it up further to 17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on the phone, it appears that I was on a variable rate plan and if you are on that plan, your rate can go up at any time for any reason at all and they dont have to let you know it either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer beware.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Billing is the worst ever, they cant get it right, send you an email stating one thing and do another, NOT just once every other month. Sent all their customers today a disconnect notice that was an ERROR I cant wait till my contact is up and I can run away from here.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I've had Spark a couple years over the past several and I like them very well. Their plans were easy to understand, competitively priced, and they had competent customer service, not that I needed much. Their website has improved since the last time I used them and they got auto-billing set up right away.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Been with Spark since about 2007. No horror stories, no weird billing/meter issues. This seems like it should be a given, but it's not these days. Competitive rates, also enjoy the credit card auto pay - not everybody has that, you know. If you simply read and understand the difference between fixed and variable rate, are a person of average intelligence, etc., you should have no issues with Spark sign up and service. The one time i needed an email response for a question, I got a satisfactory answer in a day or 2. It seems they really cared. Been a happy camper. My only concern is that I think Spark's Residential service may be coming to a close for my Zip code (website only returns Commercial service hits now on my Zip). Hence I may need to find another provider that can give me *everything* Spark has given for the past years. Hard to do... One Co. might have good rates but no credit card auto pay. Another has cc auto pay but consumer horror stories... and so it goes.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

No issues for 2 years. They charged my credit card once a month and sent me email statements about my bill. The web site was also well done and provided me all of the information that I needed. I would continue using them but they no longer have the best price.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have been with Spark Energy for a long time. I don't even know how long. But they have worked with me on billing and I have even had an single individual work with me via email several times over email. Always very responsive and very helpful. I am currently comparing prices now that my contract is to expire with them on 10/13/11. I have noticed now that they are way down on the list on "Power to Choose" because they are higher than a significant amount of other copmanies. In the past they have always been consitently at the top because they had the lowest prices. I am disappointed that I will be leaving them. :( Who knows...I might regret it later and wish I had stayed with them.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I had to go to another provider (there are many other better options)since Spark has unreasonable surcharges for new customers. All I was doing was changing the name on the account. I lived in the house for 3 years, but still had to set it up as a new service under my name so they wanted to slap on the $8.99 monthly service fee if I don't use 1000kwh per month. Then when I tried to get their customer service to help change the cancellation request my wife sent in, I was told to 'hope' that the electricity is not turned off because the request takes 3 days to process. They didn't really even try to help, they just told me that things coundn't be done. This is what happens when a company is making too much money to care.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Am guessing I have saved about $2000 comparing to other South texas providers. My mother saves over a hundred dollars a month on her electrical bill.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have had spark for 2 years. I noticed if I renew that I have to pay $8.99 a month when I use less than 1000 kw. This would be 9 months out of the year. Why should I be penalized when I don't hog electricity and keep my house freezing, etc. Not sure who to switch to since I had no problem with their billing or service.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

This is one of many Houston Retail Electric Providers (REP) that impose a minimum usage fee on homeowners. If you use 1000 kilowatt's or less per month you must pay this fee of $8.99 ($107.00 year). In a time when we all should be seeking to conserve energy this company is encouraging users to use more electric to avoid this fee. This fee amounts to, a fine for conserving energy.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

We originally had a contract with the infamous Abacus. Abacus was so badly managed that they thankfully folded, selling our contract to Spark. Spark IS better than Abacus, I'll give it that. However, we're obviously being overcharged - 10.1c/kwh isn't terrible, until our 630sqft apartment somehow started using up over 900kwh per month - implying an average power draw of over a kilowatt! Including while we're sleeping, and AT WORK. Of course, conveniently for Spark, this sudden spike in energy usage began exactly when they started billing us. Now we're trying to switch providers, and they're being very reluctant about giving up our deposit. My wife paid the deposit originally to Abacus almost two years ago, and Spark acknowledges that it was transferred to them with our contract. However, they have no record of it - WE HAVE TO PROVIDE PROOF THAT WE PAID A DEPOSIT BEFORE THEY WILL RETURN IT. Maybe they should hire an accountant to keep track of that. Or maybe buy a copy of Excel.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark Energy is the best electricity company I've ever worked with. I've been with the large companies (Reliant & TXU), and the smaller companies (Yep), and Spark Energy beats them all. The big ones charge too much, and the smaller ones don't have enough customer service experience to help you when you need it, and can still be more expensive too. I'm probably saving $25 a month on my electricity bill with Spark, which definitely adds up! The customer service is local, and they actually work for the company too, so you're not talking to some outsourced company that can't actually make decisions. Their sign up process is a breeze, and you can't beat their auto-pay so you don't miss a payment (they even give you a discount for using it too, instead of charging you). They also have a referral program so that you can get $25, and they can get $25 too. All in all, you can't beat Spark Energy - I won't ever go anywhere else!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service. Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers. I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I've had two separate contracts with Spark and find they deliver what they contract to. Never a bad billing, but you must deal online and by credit card, unless you have an occasional question via phone. Don't believe the price hype on how low they are without comparing. I quit them once and am about to do so again.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark energy is a good electricity company!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

When I moved out of state, Spark would not honor our agreement and tried to charge a $200 termination fee. After 15 phone calls and 3 months wait, I got this fee removed. Months and months later, they still refuse to close my account. Is there any other reason for this then to try to charge me for something and hold my personal information?


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

THEY ARE PRETTY DECENT BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE SUXS !!! I WAS TRYNA GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE AND NEVER GOT AN ANSWER JUST DANG MACHINES AND THAT MADE ME MAD !


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark Energy jacked-up my rate 53% after original 9 month term expired. Rate went from 9.5/kwh to 14.5/kwh plus Sparks added additional fees and charges. At time of expiration average 1 month terms were 10.3/kwh. I would have understood a slight increase to current month-to-month or variable rates, but Sparks didn't do that. I was billed at the 14.5/kwh plus extra fees for over 4 months until I recently changed to another supplier at 8.99/kwh + PUC tax, 12 month term, with NO ADDITIONAL Fees or Charges. I had no billing surprises with the new supplier. Shame on me for not seeing the end of term notice Spark Energy sent me. I feel Spark Energy took advantage of my mistake. Bottom line, Buyer Be Ware when dealing with Spark Energy.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

One thing I have liked about this company is that they value their customers. They provide a lower rate to their current customers. WOW what a concept.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I agree with previous post. Exact same thing happened to me. They did not notify me of contract about to expire - so I had 2 months of summer electricity bills to pay the automatic newly contracted rate that they just decided on. When I called to discuss, I was told that they "have no obligation to notify customers of contract expiration." DO NOT USE SPARK!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I give them an A minus on order/billing/service. Thought i would be forever a loyal customer. 12 months later... now they have $8.99/month fee and rates are not competitive either. Had to find another company.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have had a very good experience with Spark for several years, but noted that when my 12 month period was up (and they did notify me by email) that there was a new monthly service fee of $10 plus they had instituted the graded system. I have a pretty efficient house and rarely go over 1,000Kwh/mo. so will be penalized by higher rates/Kwh for trying to conserve energy. Too bad. Will have to look elsewhere. MR


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I came on here to look at reviews from real people about different energy companies. I have been with Spark for over a year. I've never had a problem with them, their service, or billing and they sent me a notice to renew my contract with them recently at an even better rate. I am moving into a new home and wanted to weigh all my options before going with Spark again. I would stay with them, but they have recently added a $8.99 monthly service charge if you don't use 1000kwh that month. I looked at last year's bill and I only go over that amount in the 2 hottest summer months. They said the other companies are charging this too, but I have yet to find it true. A few charge a $5 or $6 fee if you don't go over 500kwh, but not $9 for staying under 1000. I'm still on the fence because Spark does have good customer service and I've never had a problem until this little extra fee popped up. I don't think we should be punished for using LESS energy.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Solid way to save some money. Easy to sign up, no early termination fee. Pretty good overall.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I was a customer for 3 years and I renewed for another 3 years at 9.2 cents per kwh. But somehow they lost my renewal and started charging me 34 cents per kwh. I called and wrote them over and over and they told me I was screwed. They refused to give me a refund, so I found another company that is treating me like a human being now.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

My complaint with Spark is that when my contract expired, they didn't notify before or after so i could renew at a favorable rate and therefore my rate skyrocketed for several months before i noticed. They should have notified me. Because of this I will be leaving them after my next contract expires. My wallet and my feelings were hurt.


Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do send 2 emails and have a link listed on your online account within the last 60 days of your contract. We do apologize that our notifications may not have reached you. Please let us know what else we can do at customercare(at)sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds 2011-04-14 02:57:06
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Can't say i've had any problems with spark... my bill is about 10% cheaper now that i've switched after deregulation


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I switched to Spark and have begun my third contract. They are competitive but like many there pricing does not guarantee renewal. I will buy from another Company if it is 10% better. Deregulation screwed consumers in Texas.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Although we have not had Spark Energy for the past 2 years because we switched provider with a lower rate. We were with them for 2 yrs. prior and never had a problem with receiving billing statements via mail at the time and the bill was paid via auto-pay. Switching to Spark Energy was not a problem either. We were very pleased with them when we parted. I would recommend Spark Energy, my son is still with them, and I referred him 4 years ago! Everyone, including businesses are prone to hardships in this economy. *A note to Spark Energy, there are way too many thumbs down for your company regarding customer service and billing departments. 1st impressions are everything. The "reception" I first receive when I call any office with a problem or question will define whether or not to continue doing business. Make the changes that are needed to give the customers the courtesy and professionalism that is expected and win back past customers and help to retain the one's you already have!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg. billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork. However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records. No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to change next month however ratings are better for this company than those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I'll have to admit that my bill has been a lot lower than with previous providers. However, these few dollars saved has not been worth it. My account was a pain from the start. They created duplicate accounts. After a month of service, Spark charged me $175 for an early termination fee. I did not cancel my power at all. It took them 1 month to refund the credit. This occurred again and it took another month to refund me the additional $175. They should not be canceling someone's power without a formal confirmation. Billing has been a huge pain. I have actual bills that show incorrect amounts, overcharging me. A rep had to call me to let me know. The troubles don't stop. My gas just got cut off due to payment issues. Ironically, I just received an email confirmation the day before thanking me for my payment. I also checked my bank account and noticed that Spark has taken money out. Hmmm. Payment issues? If you try to call Customer Service after hours, you can't leave a voice message.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I lived in a house and have used Sparks for 1 year. The account set up was a bit messed up at first, but I was able to cancel the duplicated account eventually. There has not been a problem as far as billing is concerned. I have set up automatic pay and so far my electricity bill has been around $60 for winter, and no more than $130 during summer.


Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any issues while enrolling. If there are any other issues, please contact us - https://www.sparkenergy.com/Customer-Service Otherwise, we appreciate the feedback!

Spark Energy Responds 2011-02-28 01:30:28
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Never had a problem with Spark for the past 3 years. Switch was easy. Billing/payments are automatic and easy to set-up. Never have needed to contact customer service.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

My account with Spark Energy was set up wrong from the beginning. Throughout the 4 weeks it took to get it straight, I received a bill showing a past due amount and a late fee that I disputed. Before I could get the corrected bill, I started getting harrassing phone calls both on my home phone and on my cell phone - 8 to 10 per day - regarding the past due amount. Explaining the circumstances of the account to the callers did no good. Even with the account paid in full, I still received hourly phone calls for two days after the payment was made. I have two other Spark accounts that I will now cancel. This was the worst experience I have had in years with an electrical provider.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have has Spark Energy for two years with no complaints. Easy billing process and the best rates with no promotions or gimmicks. I would recommend Spark Energy to my friends. Easy renewal process and I used a promo code to save even more.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I receive a final bill 8 month later for which they apologies but then Spark energy requested immediate payment. It seems absurd that a company keep you waiting months on end for a final bill but then pretend immediate payment. it seems like double standart to me.


This comment is directed to Spark Energy in the UK. That company is not related to Spark Energy in Houston, TX in any way.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-09-28 03:48:45
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

We initially signed up for a 2-yr contract with automated billing and payments. Did not discover that contract had ended until I questioned why last bill seemed extremely high. I noticed that they just switched me to higher M2M rate. When I asked if I could get adjustment if I renewed, CS told me NO, the rate would be effective the date I renewed. I argued that they gave me no advance notice that contract was expiring and expected me to remember 24 months after signup! Total difference between old and new rate was over $300. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE CROOKS AGAIN!


We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify any errors to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-09-28 03:54:48
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I used Spark Energy for 2 years, recently changing to another provider for a lower cost. I have regretted my decision. I received excellent customer service and never had any problems with Spark. I wish that I would have renewed my contract with Spark.


Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the rate plans available for your area when your current provider's contract nears the end.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-09-28 03:55:35
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have been with them for 2 years with no problems


Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-08-24 01:05:09
Price, Plans and Promotions
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I have had Spark for over 3 years and love them. Great rate, easy auto pay and courteous customer service. I am paying 9.9 pkwh!!!! Spark kicks ass.


Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-08-24 01:06:11
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Wow how quickly we forget. Well I was one of the Spark Energy good customers a couple a years ago that was dropped and assigned to the Provider of Last Resort without notice when they went "bankrupt" just in the Houston market. Now that the rates are low they are back but what happens when the rates go back up will they drop their customers again?


Spark Energy has provided electric service in the state of Texas for several years and has not gone out of business, or had the need to drop any customer to the Provider of Last Resort. We believe that there is some confusion or misunderstanding regarding this review and would be happy to review the comments further to clarify the matter. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds 2010-10-18 08:14:02
Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark has no phone number to call, and only answers email within 48 hours (they got to me early - 47 hours 52 minutes). Online info consists of bills only - no contract info, no expiration of term data, etc. Beware letting your contract expire because they put you on an exorbitantly-priced variable rate plan (50% higher per kwh).


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Had to file a Formal Complaint with Public Utilities Commission of Texas. After insisting I was being over billed I confirmed through Centerpoint Energy they were in fact over billing on my pass through charges. Worse company ever, extremely poor customer service!!! If you use this company be prepared for the worst!!!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

Spark Energy takes advantage of people just because they can and I have never had my electricity turned off in my life. They were the first to turn off my electric when I protested a bill. Turns out their provider reads the meters occasionally, because I read meter also and it was no where near the correct reading. The readings also reflected the next larger number each time they read it. Only one member in my household and I keep my programmable thermostat on 80, since I am cold natured. Something wrong there. Never had electric bills like the ones I received from Spark Energy.


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend

I used spark about 2 yrs ago and had several problems with them. I was happy with my initial rate which at the time was lower than the others, but when I tried to cancel at the end of my contract because I was moving out I had difficulties. It was near Hurricane Ike, I had set a turn off date plenty far in advance and they forced me to pay for electricity after the cancellation date they agreed upon. It did not get turned off for almost a week later(which I paid for to just be done with it). Then about 8 months later I got a bill from them saying I owed MORE money. They said they made a billing error. I complained a few times and nobody would budge, then stated in an e-mail I would complain to the PUCT they decided to drop the extra fees. Please beware! I gave half a lightbulb since that was the lowest I could go!


Price, Plans and Promotions
Order Experience
Customer Service
Billing and Account Management
How likely are you to recommend