Please excuse us while we perform system maintenance.

We apologize, we are currently doing some maintenance. Our website will be back up again shortly.

Reviews | Texas Electricity Ratings

Read Reviews


Shop

Find different electricity plans in your area:


Rate

Choose a company below to review:

Rate Company »


Reviews

Choose a company below to read reviews:

Read Reviews »



Customer Reviews for Texas Power

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Sad to leave, but I can't afford anymore

TC, Houston - 2013-09-16 12:51:17

I have to leave. My rate plan went up a lot. From 7.6 cents to 14.9 cents/Khw.. I was not happy. A week after my rate change agreement and two days before it went into effect the rate plan dropped again. I asked if I could change my rate plan, to what is what before and I was told "No, rate plans change everyday. You got it on a day that was higher. Sorry." I was not happy. So, I have to leave.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Why was my account sold?

TEXAN , A TEXAS CITY - 2013-09-06 09:51:30

ACCOUNT SOLD TO COMPANY IN HOUSTON, YET MONEY GOES TO DALLAS, HOWEVER CUSTOMERS SERVICE TAKES YOUR CALLS IN .....>>>> MEXICO !! WHY

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Never a problem

Kim, Lake Jackson - 2013-08-22 07:25:37

We have had Texas Power for 2 years and have never had any problems. They offered us the lowest rate 2 years ago and met that rate again when it came time to renew.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Be Wary When the Contract Ends

Steve, Dallas - 2013-08-21 20:09:48

my contract with Texas Power ended and I foolish believed that the rate would revert to the lower month-to-month rate that I had seen when I had researched rates. The month-to-month rates were universally cheaper with all of the electricity providers. BUT, when your contract runs out apparently Texas Power, L.P.'s policy is to gouge you hard until you wake up to the fact that they have DOUBLED your rate; mine went from .07 per Kwh to .14 per Kwh. I now have in my possession the highest electrical bill I have ever had.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Ease of access & payment! Competitive for a long time!

Price-Loyal Customer, Cypress - 2013-08-05 09:51:23

I have had Texas Power for 5 years. Due to my ability to keep track of contract expirations & negotiaion, I have been able to renew my rate at a competitive level everytime! The customer service is good, and billing is easy! Btw, no price hikes here!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

BEWARE! No longer competitive

Tom, Mansfield - 2013-07-08 13:27:22

I have used Texas Power since it was originally started and have been reasonably satisfied. For a long time they were very competitive while not always being the lowest cost provider but at least very close to the lowest. I have just now looked at their rates on Power to Choose and find they are no longer competitive. They are 28% higher than the service I am switching to and, if you can believe it, they are even more expensive than Texas Electric Utilities. I do not know what has happened to the competitiveness of Texas Power but whatever, they will be doing it without me.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

So rude

Rene Moscot, Orange Grove - 2013-04-22 08:01:27

I have never experienced such rude treatment over the phone before for just asking a question. We are cancelling today.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Happy for 3 Years

Chris, Spring, TX - 2013-04-20 21:12:30

I have been a customer of Texas Power for 3 years. I always lock in a contract for at least 1 year. I have been extremely happy with them. I highly recommend them.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Texpo Energy has high quality of a service and sasfe electricity to applied to the costumers

MW, Houston texas - 2013-04-07 14:28:11

this company has highly recommend for any of the people who needs electricity has good deal with high rate of electricity and has a good ccostumer service center.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Meter Fee

LJ Jones, Euless - 2012-12-06 08:17:12

No real complaints on customer service…my main problem comes in the $14 fee I am charged for using less electricity. I have a small duplex and try very hard to keep my ele bill low. Then I get penalized for this with a $14 fee? I will be switching as soon as my contract is up.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

overall company view

William p. hill, aLLEN - 2012-07-04 09:37:49

shopping for another company now!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good customer service, hassle free

D.B., League City - 2012-05-12 12:12:30

I hate to leave Texas Power, but their rates aren't as competative as they used to be. I do not have any complaints. I sold a home and moved into an apartment for 3 months while my new home was being completed, I then moved into the new home, taking Texas Power with me on each move. I did not have any issues and the customer service made suggestions to save me on the move. There were never any fees attached. I always paid my bill on line, but they also sent me one in the mail in case I chose to send them the payment USPS. I hate to leave, but they wouldn't budge on their rates.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Been good so far for a year

Marc, Mansfield - 2012-03-20 00:00:00

my only complaint is that you can't setup autobill pay online. Though, it has only been a year and I just got my 1 month notice that it is time to renew. Also they have a Veterans thing, though no discounts, only no deposit with autobill pay... wooopppyyy...

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

good service, but rate got higher over time

tiffany, spring, texas - 2012-03-02 00:00:00

i switched to texas power around 2009 and saved a lot of money from what i was paying with Gexa. But over the past few years, I've noticed that they aren't even close to the lowest rate available. when i initially signed up, they were the lowest. i'll probably switch to a lower rate company when my contact is up

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

What customer service?

Robert, Arlington, TX - 2011-07-25 00:00:00

All I wanted to do was change our address from a PO box to our actual address. First there is no place on the bill to do this, so I looked online at the web site and I could not find it there either. So, I called. I was told there were only 7 people in line, waited on hold for 15 minutes while their recording keep telling me how they were the best in customer service, and finally hung up. Unless they have only one person answering phones, how could it take over 15 minutes to answer 7 calls? And why don't they allow me to change the address? I give up.

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Best service yet.

K Fancher, Tyler, TX - 2011-05-18 00:00:00

All communication was friendly and courteous, easily understood. When you call Customer Service, you talk to a real English-speaking person. Smooth service and no unexpected charges. Would definitely recommend!!!!

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

good experience, no problems

Anonymous, Texas - 2010-08-06 00:00:00

Great experience, good customer service, work with me with all my questions. I am renewing now for 6 months. I am planning on having my son with this plan. Thanks for good prices and customer service.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Texas Power Satisfied User

Debbie Kohls, Lewisville, TX - 2010-06-26 00:00:00

Reasonable rates, very good billing format, customer service excellent, actually spoke with someone in person and in Texas!

3 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Avoid the Poor Service and High Rates

Unhappy Camper, Houston, TX - 2010-02-17 00:00:00

I first had to fight tooth-and-nail to get Texas Power to stop charging me city sales and state transit taxes as I reside outside of the city limits and residential gas and electricity are specifically exempted by statute from any transit taxes. Then, a few months after that debacle was straightened out, Texas Power sends me notification that the Market Rate Plan that I am in is being discontinued and that I will be moved to a variable-rate plan that is currently at 15.8 cents/KWH---I don't think so! DO yourself a favor and look elsewhere for your residential electricity needs.

5 of 6 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great

Facundo, TX USA - 2010-07-14 00:00:00

They are currently offering 9.2 in the Oncor area for 12m and my bill is literally simple I used 1948 kwh in June at 9.8 cents and my total bill including taxes was 198.94. They did not charge any addtl fees like base charge or meter charge. Great Price and Great service

1 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

I like this company

Paul Williams, Fort Worth, Texas - 2009-09-16 00:00:00

i have been with the company a while now and I have not had any issues. I like the people I have spoke with and dealt with so far.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Treated us so badly after Hurricane Ike

Tia, Cypress, TX USA - 2009-07-03 00:00:00

Told us they would give us time to recover after Ike, then sent a guy out on a Thurs. to disconnect w/out sending us a notice. Got the notice the following week it said disconnect was set for the week after that, thus had they disconnected us when the guy came out we would've taken them to court. Lady was totally rude, told her I could pay full amount the next day which was Fri. as we were waiting for payday, she belittled me & threatened me until I gave in & got my in-laws to call her & pay our bill, she then discussed my bill with my in-laws, without my consent or knowledge, thus violating my rights. After all that we switched providers & TX Power sent us a refund check, claiming they overcharged us. Since then they have put us in collections claiming the refund was an error on their part & we actually owe it to them. Seems to me they don't know how to run a business at all. We are very happy with our current provider and we will stay with them.

3 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Texas Power - Liars and Cheats

Trent, Grapevine, TX - 2009-06-02 00:00:00

We thought Texas Power was a provider we could trust, and they got us in the door with a low rate. We were happy for a couple months, but then they just up and increased our bills from 11.9 to 20 cents! Outrageous. And then they added insult to injury a few weeks later by telling us that we owed them an additional $500 because they had undercharged us for the first 6 months of our service. They claim PUC laws make us responsible for this money. WE're going to fight it, but either way, these guys lie and cheat to make a profit. They're charging us almost 200 a month to heat a mobile home!

4 of 7 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Quick Links