Please excuse us while we perform system maintenance.

We apologize, we are currently doing some maintenance. Our website will be back up again shortly.

Reviews for TriEagle Energy | Texas Electricity Ratings

TriEagle Energy Reviews

TriEagle Energy

TriEagle Energy is an electricity company that has specialized in commercial electricity since it's founding in 2002. In 2011, TriEagle expanded into the residential electricity market in Texas as well as the deregulated electricity market in Pennsylvania.


Customer Reviews for TriEagle Energy

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Horrible, misleading e-bills, customer service.

Steph S., Houston, Texas - 2014-08-15 14:56:05

I've worked with multiple electricity companies. Chose Tri-Eagle because of combo of reviews and price, and could not be any more disappointed. I would cancel now if they would allow me to without penalty. Here are the problems that I experienced in just the short period of time I've used their company: 1. Hold wait times. 2. My power was cut off despite not receiving an e-bill indicating that cut off was imminent. The ebill received was entitled: ""Your TriEagle Energy Electric eBill - Period (06/06/14 - 07/08/14) Due on 07/28/14" Nothing in the bill suggested that payment was due immediately or cut off was going to happen. They cut off my electricity on July 14th, which is a big problem in a Houston July with school kids home. 3. When I contacted the first representative, he was rude and gave me wrong information that suggested they had sent a notice of cut off by email. I checked both my inbox and spam and this was not true. 4. After the phone system cut off as I was trying to make by phone payment to get my power back on, I had to call back and got a second representative. He was more polite and had accurate information. He said they sent one notice of cut off by snail mail and what the previous rep said about email was not true. Snail mail is the bare requirement of the PUC that most established companies in my experience do more than. I had been out of town, and when I received my box of real mail, there was no cut off notice in it. When I told him the misleading nature of the ebill that said 7/28 cutoff notice, he told me to contact customer service. 5. When I contacted customer service, they sent an automated notice that said that they'd get back to me in two days. They did not email me but apparently later I learned they tried to call. 6. When I contacted customer service again, they sent me a generic email that did not address my concern and just sent me my most recent bill. 7. When I finally spoke to a "Customer Care Manager," she indicated that she could do nothing about this other than share my concerns with their staff. She indicated that it was impossible for me to terminate my service without penalty. And said in her follow up in part: "The billing functions and disconnections functions, while obviously related, run on two distinct service loops. Your bill that you received showed the balance due and the new month’s billing, but the disconnection notices and process was also going on concurrently." "The notification of customers of a pending disconnection by “snail mail” is required by the PUC unless the customer has specifically opted out from these notifications in lieu of electronic only notifications. To that end, we are exploring the addition of electronic notices for disconnections, but do not have them available currently. As for calling customers, this is simply uneconomical given the number of customers that periodically take advantage of the extra 10 days grace period prior to disconnection." 8. Customer service does not seem to be a priority to them at all. They seem like a small company that does not prioritize sending accurate and non-misleading ebills. Working with them is basically the worst case scenario you worry about when dealing with some random electricity company who has only recently started working with residential customers. I rarely leave negative reviews for anyone, preferring to informally work through misunderstandings, but this is the only recourse I have to help warn other consumers. There is no telling when they fix their ebill system, and no way to cancel without penalty if your experiences with them are below what you expect from regulated companies. 9. Despite not having a system for cut-off notices by email or phone in 2014, they will send you a lot of special offer junk by email. Oh. Joy. 10. I cannot recommend this company to anyone. YRMV.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Happy customer

Anthony Williams, Plano - 2014-07-01 10:15:14

I have been a customer for over 3 years now and have never had any problem. I really like that they have no hidden fees. Also like the usage reports that are emailed to me weekly.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 09:41:50

Thank you for the feedback Anthony - we appreciate your business!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Posting of payments

Madge, Houston - 2014-06-04 07:02:26

I am just about to come to the end of my contract so I am going to vent. About halfway through my contract TriEagle quit accepting electronic payment from my bank, USAA. My bank started sending a bank generated check a week before the due date. Twice I was charged a late fee. USAA has world wide customers who rely on their bill paying services! And my energy bill went from San Antonio to TriEagle's payment center in Dallas and couldn't be posted on time! I had to start going to my postal center the day after receiving my bill and pay for a postage meter stamp, taking a picture of the envelope, to avoid late fees! I will not go into the run around I got from their customer service!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 12:20:15

Thank you for the feedback Madge - please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, this is an issue between your bank and our bank. TriEagle does not determine what online payments are or are not accepted. You would need to contact your bank to figure out what might be happening here. One other possibility is that some piece of information provided for the transactions was somehow incorrect and causing it to reject. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to call customer care at (877) 933-2453 - we would be happy to provide any information we can to help resolve the situation.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Misinformed by Phone Rep for "Priority" Sign-up

John, Houston - 2014-05-13 12:11:32

The TriEagle Customer Rep who signed me up on the phone said that having my account marked "priority" for 1-day transfer would cost only $1.57. Sure, why not? He did not know/did not tell me that CenterPoint charges $36. Yikes! TriEagle's price per kWh isn't so good that I will recover this charge over the next 12 months! Requested "consideration" by TriEagle since it was their Customer Rep who did not provide accurate info concerning charges. Of course, the answer was "NO!" Bad start for a new customer.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 12:26:53

Thank you for the feedback John - I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. The standard "priority" tariff from CenterPoint for standard Smart Meters is $1.57. It appears that you do not have a Smart Meter but rather a self-contained meter since the "priority" tariff from CenterPoint for a self-contained meter is $36. Unfortunately, TriEagle would have no way of knowing what kind of meter you have before you actually became a TriEagle customer. According to CenterPoint, near 100% of meters in Houston are Smart Meters and it would be very rare to have a different kind of meter. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and if we can assist you in any other way please don't hesitate to call us at (877) 933-2453.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Satisfied

Sarah, Dallas - 2014-04-08 08:45:44

We don't use very much electricity, our rate is good, they e-mail us our usage difference every week, they have online payment and paperless bills. We love these features. We have never had a problem with them so I can't comment on their resolution skills or customer service since I have yet to interact with that area of their company. We have had the plan for less than a year so I also cannot comment on how well they handle contract renewal.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 09:44:06

Thank you for your feedback Sarah - we appreciate your business!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Best Pricing for Our Usage

Bob, Dallas - 2014-03-31 16:19:19

I was initially attracted to TriEagle because they have very competitive rates below 1,000 KWH, which is where we fall 8 months of the year. Most companies are much higher. We like the weekly usage recap and the set up / billing works fine. We have no reservations about recommending.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 09:43:07

Thanks so much for the feedback Bob and thank you for your business!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

No Answer

Ky, Houston - 2014-03-25 10:51:02

I saw the excellent customer service rating and liked how they addressed complaints on this website. I thought their pricing was just a bit higher than the competition but would be worth it for good customer service over a 12 month contract. I called at 4:30 on a weekday afternoon to inquire - after staying on hold for over 10 minutes, the line hung up on me. Thanks for the customer service. I went elsewhere.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 11:57:13

Thank you for the feedback Ky - please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We strive to provide the best service to our customers and are constantly looking for ways we can improve. I obviously can't say for certain what happened in this case but I can assure you it is not customary for our representatives to hang up on customers. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will definitely investigate the situation further if you can provide more details to customercare@trieagleenergy.com. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

horrible online portal

Rana1, Galveston - 2014-03-25 10:33:45

TriEagle Energy has horrible online features, the online simply does not work. It says account number and email are incorrect when i obviously have the emails with BOTH in front of me. I'm convinced it's purposefully flawed so customers can't pay online and are more prone to late fees. There is no way to fix it but to call them, which is a great show of their customer service. All i want to do is pay my bill online and it provides more problems than ANY other service i have. I will not renew my contract with a company that has such poor online services.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-07-17 12:04:11

Thank you for the feedback Rana - First of all, I apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced using our online portal. We take pride in providing our customers with the most innovative and convenient payment options. We have thousands of customers who successfully use our online portal for payments every day. We would love to speak with you and help you figure out why the system is not working for you. Please call customer care at (877) 933-2453 so we can assist you.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Trieagle slow to post payments

EPB, Texas - 2014-03-04 14:45:44

Please be aware as a customer that TriEagle will take approximately a week to post your check payment although your bank may have withdrawn the money to allocated for the payment. Sounds like a long time to float the money. Would like to know why, (with a true logical answer), it takes so long in today's electronic world for TriEagle to post payments?

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-06-06 07:08:02

Thank you for the feedback EPB - TriEagle never holds customer payments. They are processed immediately by our bank once they are received and posted within 1 business day. What it seems like might be happening here, if you are using your bank's online bill pay, is that your bank may not have you set up to electronically transfer your invoice payments to TriEagle, so they are having to physically send a check to us. Your bank would withdraw the funds at the time that they cut the check but we would not be able to process the payment until we receive the physical check in the mail. This is most likely where the delay is happening. For our customers' convenience, we accept many different payment methods - Visa, MasterCard, online payments through our online portal, payments over the phone, and automatic debit - all for absolutely FREE, no convenience charge. We strive to accommodate all of our customers and we apologize for the current situation you are experiencing. If you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to call us at 877-933-2453.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Horrible Customer Service!!!!! Do not use this company!

Stephanie D, Houston - 2013-12-13 19:20:02

It is December 2013 and I have to say that this company still has HORRIBLE customer service. Especially after 5pm. Everytime I call after 5 pm to make a payment I get the most rude person who answers. Then they inform me that they are only an answering service and you cannot make a payment after 5pm because the business office is closed. They asked if I would like to leave a message that way someone can contact me the next day. Well that never happened so I ended up calling back at 4:50pm. Big mistake! I got the same answering service telling me they do not accept payments. Although on Tri Eagle's website it says that they accept payment by phone 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Then I located my bill and it says that you can make a payment 24 hours a day. So I try to make a payment online and the login system does not work and to contact customer service at the same number I have been dialing. Now no one answers the phone when I call. I called 13 times in a row and someone picked up then immediately hung up. I called 5 more times and the same rude woman that I spoke to earlier answered. I asked to speak to her manager hoping they can help me with the login in issue from the website. I get put on hold. Then when someone got back it was the same rude woman saying the manager was unavailable to speak right now. So I said fine, I will call back. I call back an hour and 18 minutes later. I had to keep calling for another 8 more times before someone picked up the phone.The same person answers the phone and says and i inform her that your phone system keeps hanging me up when i call and I have called several times. She says that she is not aware of any phone problems. So I ask if I can speake to her manager. Once again she puts me on hold. This time for 3 mins and 42 seconds and then she tells me the manager is on another call and can't talk to me right now. So I inform her that I am trying to login to make a payment and I'm having issues. She responds and says I can take a message and have someone to call you on the next business day. I said well no one ever does call me after I leave a message so what is the pont of leaving a message. I just need to pay my bill. Bottom line this company sucks. I am switiching to another electricity provider that actually has a 24 hour customer service representaitve that can assist.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-02-06 14:46:43

Thank you for the feedback Stephanie – we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Providing our customers with the best service is very important to us. Last month we made some major changes in our Customer Care department in order to better serve our customers. We are always looking for ways to improve the customer service experience and for this reason we have also expanded our hours to be from 8AM-7PM. As you stated above, we do also provide 24/7 online access, although we apologize that you ran into some issues logging into the customer portal. If you are still having issues with your login, please call us at 877-933-2453 so we can help you resolve this. If you have any further questions or comments regarding these matters, please feel free to contact us at the same number.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

All I needed to know

Cynthia, Fort Worth - 2013-12-03 11:33:19

Was shopping around last night (on line) and called several companies with one question in particular. Called the number on Tri Eagle website, the one that says 24/7. Was told they were closed and I would need to call back during business hours. I was so surprised I called back twice more. Its bad enough for your energy company not to have 24/7 customer service, but seems so much worse when the web site tells you it is a 24/7 number. Needless to say, I didn't get my question answered, but found out all I need to know.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Loving my usage reports!

Lizbeth T, Spring, Texas - 2013-11-14 08:08:11

My electricity bill has gone down ever since I switched to this company but what I'm really loving is the usage reports. I get an email every week letting me know how much I've used compared to the week before. Awesome report and customer service.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2014-02-05 12:36:30

Thank you for your feedback Lizbeth - we really appreciate your business!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good and honest rate

Lin Bi, Houston, TX - 2013-11-12 22:00:22

Many power companies boast of cheap rates but hide many fees, Trieagle is more straightforward, simple and easy!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 07:38:10

Thanks for the great feedback Lin!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Happy

Ed Abud, Houston - 2013-11-11 08:32:22

Decent rates, no hidden fees. I pay less when I use less power. I can pay with credit card with no added fee. Happy with their website. So far, so good.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 07:39:39

Thank you for the feedback Ed!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

VERY SATISFIED

Robert Carpenter, Spring - 2013-11-05 20:14:52

We have only been with TriEagle Energy a short time, but there have been no issues. Therefore, we have been very satisfied and would highly recommend this electric company to anyone.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 07:40:01

Thanks for the feedback Robert - we appreciate your business!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

fair company

Brian, Arlington - 2013-11-04 18:55:01

It is fair company they don't rip you off

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 07:40:16

Thanks for the great feedback Brian!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Run!! Run as fast as you can!!!!!!!

Michelle Padon, Spring Tx - 2013-10-24 13:40:22

Their prices may peak your interest but run from these people as fast as you can. The price isn't worth the headache. What you save you will spend in headache medicine. It is impossible to reach a living person...you stay on hold for 20 - 30 minutes at a time just to get disconnected. The only way to reach a person is through email and then they still take hours to respond. In one day I have called 3 times (waited each time a minimum of 20 mins) and emailed twice. I finally heard back from them almost 5 hours later. It's amazing though that if you need tech support or email in regarding needing help to log on to pay your bill that you get a call back within 15 mins. I will not renew with them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

highest bill I ever have had?

JO STEEN, LA MAQQUE - 2013-10-24 06:55:21

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS UP? NO CHANGES IN MY LIVING SITUATION OR ELECTRIC USAGE FOR 3 YRS SWITCHED PROVIDERS AT A LOWER RATE AND GOT A HIGER BILL? CUSTOENR SERVICE SAID SHE DID NOT KNOW WHY I HAD A HIGH TDU RATE ON MY BILL, SHE WOULD HAVE TO CHECK INTO IT AND MAKE CONTACT BACK WITH ME. REALLY? THE HOLD WAIT TIME FOR A LIFE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT 20-30MIN. I AM SO SCARED I HAVE MADE A BIG MISTAKE (WHERE ARE THOSE NO HIDDEN CHARGES ADVERTISED BY THIS COMPANY?) I AM A SENIOR LIVING ON A VERY TIGHT SET INCOME. NOW I AM WORRIED!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 08:29:16

This is actually a Texas-New Mexico Power issue. Since you chose a specific date for your service to begin (9/26), TNMP charges you an out-of-cycle meter read charge of $27, which showed up on your first bill. This is not a TriEagle charge, but one from your poles and wires company. We are actually one of the few REP’s that do not have additional charges to process your order. We also do display the charge for your convenience when this switch method is chosen during the sign up process and you are required to affirm the charge. Please know that this is a one-time charge from TNMP only, and will not appear on future invoices. We understand shopping for electricity can be a bit tricky and its possible to miss something during the process but we make every effort to display all potential charges during the sign-up process, even charges that do not come from us.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

NEVER AGAIN

Mark G, Sugar Land, TX - 2013-10-22 15:26:43

First of all, I renewed my contract with Tri Eagle in June 2013. Before June 2013, I had no problems. Following the renewal, I've had numerous issues. I did not receive a bill until August 2013. At that point it was for $1,200+. I called customer service to discuss and spoke to a somewhat reasonable lady and made a $900 payment (she also helped me get my online access log in info corrected since they had arbitrarily changed). She indicated the remainder would be due in full on the next bill. The next bill wasn't due until the 28th. Cut me off on the 22nd with no notice. Online access includes a "message center". No "messages". Called customer service to find out why cut off? Had no record of my previous call and asked the typical "Well who did you speak to?". Rude customer service lady this time. Said they didn't cut people off during the summer but are now. OK, BUT DO YOU GIVE NOTICE? AND DO YOU LIVE UP TO THE AGREEMENT PREVIOUSLY MADE?????

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 08:47:44

Thanks for the feedback Mark – We have reviewed your account and it appears that the last two invoices were not paid, each for around $400. It is unclear whether you received the paper invoices in the mail or not. The invoice dates were 8/13, 9/12, and 10/11 and not all at once as you stated. Your account also shows that prior to your latest renewal, you have received 5 disconnection letters in the previous 12 month period, so this does not appear to be a new issue since the latest renewal. We make every effort to assist our customers in any way that we can which is why we would like to remind all of our customers that we do offer deferred payment plans for customers who express difficulties paying their bills when due. Additionally, we encourage customers to also have bills emailed to them to avoid delays with mailed paper bills. For the convenience of our customers, all of the bill delivery options with TriEagle are FREE of charge.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

No problems

Jeff Q, Kingwood, tx - 2013-10-18 08:04:53

I've been with trieagle for a couple years now and I've ever had any problems. My bills comes around the same time every month and I'm always happy with what I'm paying. They have really reasonable rates. Since I never really have any issues I've only had to call customer service once a long time ago but I recall the rep being friendly and helpful. Overall I'm happy with trieagle as my electricity company.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 08:48:07

Thank you for the great feedback Jeff!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

HORRIBLE!! Don't do it!!

Matt, Watauga - 2013-10-17 08:14:49

Anyone looking to change electric companies should NOT use TriEagle Energy. I had a SUPERVISOR threaten to shut my electric off over $4.46 they left off my bill. All that after spending a total of 50 mins on hold, talking to 2 other employees, waiting 3 days for a supervisor to call me back (which they never called so I called them back), already paying the bill the fee was added to after the fact, and of course never being 1 day late on any bill I've ever had. The supervisor was a smartass with an attitude. Pretty poor customer service. ****Update**** All that happened on my last bill. Here's an update on my new bill. My paper bill reads $71.00 of new charges, $4.46 previous balance. Total $75.46. I login online to pay the $71.00 and it shows the amount due to be $75.59. I'm willing to bet that's a late fee percentage for the unpaid balance. I guess they offer a low rate so they can hit you with hidden charges after you've been billed then charge you interest for not paying. Haha. Take $5.00 and multiply that by every customer they have........... TERRIBLE!!!! Crooks with an attitude and not ashamed of it.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-11-14 09:03:46

Thanks for the feedback Matt- We have reviewed your account and your recorded call into our customer service team. The issue in this case was that your bill was initially generated incorrectly, and then replaced with a corrected bill, which had $4.46 in additional charges. When you paid the initial bill instead of the corrected bill, it left a balance forward on your NEXT bill of the $4.46. Then on your next bill you only paid the $71, not the full amount, so this original charge is still showing due on your account. As you probably know, if you do not pay off this $4 charge it will show up again on your November invoice. This is not a new charge, it is the carry-over from the September invoice. We do apologize for the inconvenience of having initially generated the invoice incorrectly but on the rare occasion that this does happen, we make every effort to rectify the situation by replacing the incorrect invoice with a corrected one as quickly as possible. Please know that according to PUCT rules, if you have legitimate concerns about a charge on your bill, you should go ahead and pay the undisputed amount while we research the disputed amount. However, once the disputed amount is researched and confirmed as a legitimate charge, you will need to remit payment for those amounts.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Terrible Customer Care

Princess, Spring - 2013-10-03 12:10:20

Just got of the phone and she was rude, after waiting to speak with them for days. they have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. pricing is good but please replace your CSR, its bad for business

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-10-17 09:41:13

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. At TriEagle Energy, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. We are rapidly growing and have recently doubled our customer service team in an effort to better serve our customers in a timely manner. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us at 877-933-2453.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

a little disappointed :(

patricia, lewisville,tx - 2013-09-25 21:29:17

About a month ago I got my service on TriEagle everything was very well plans were ok, but I'm a little disappointed with my first bill i live in a two bedroom apartment and I have nothing connected and I'm hardly ever home is a bit unusual for a two bedroom apartment gets the amount of $167.72 i use to live an a 2 bedroom house and was with another company and my bill did not rise $139.05 i hope and my next bill comes less than what I get this month

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-10-17 09:44:00

Thank you for your feedback Patricia. We understand that moving locations can be frustrating so we make every effort to assist our customers throughout this process. There are many factors that go into determining the cost of your electricity. We strive to provide competitive rates to our customers but the cost of your electricity will depend on your usage. Your usage can be affected by the weather and also the energy efficiency of your home. Tracking your usage can be tricky so we like to provide as many tools as possible to help our customers. TriEagle PrimeTime is a free service that you can sign up for that will provide you with a weekly usage report via email. This will allow you to better track when you are using the most energy and how much you are using. We value your business and urge you to sign up for PrimeTime for more insight into your consumption. If this has not fully addressed your concerns, please feel free to contact us at 877-933-2453 to discuss in more detail.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Renewed again

Cheryl, Richardson, TX - 2013-09-23 09:02:11

I have been with TriEagle for 2 years now and I just called in to renew for another 12 months at 8.8 cents/kWh. I had to wait a little bit when I called but once I was able to speak with a rep she was really helpful and made the renewal process quick and easy. I also signed up for their weekly usage summaries several months back and am loving being able to see how much energy I’m using each week! Definitely recommend TriEagle!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-09-27 08:13:52

Thanks for the great feedback Cheryl!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good experience, but price not competive

Scott, Spring, TX - 2013-09-16 12:36:14

I have been with TriEagle for a couple of years and had good experience. My contract is up for renewal, but I am disappointed to find that a number of other companies have plans available that are up to 1 cent/kWh better than TriEagle. I don't want to switch, but it seems that TriEagle is not as price competitive as they used to be

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-09-27 08:16:43

Thanks for the feedback Scott! I strongly urge you to check all the fine print on those plans claiming to be 1 cent lower than our rates. There are minimum usage charges, e-billing and ACH requirements, and all kinds of other outlandish fees that will lead you to pay more each month. Make sure to review the "EFL" for any plans you are considering - this is the standard PUCT format and gives you good insight to these crazy charges. And remember, even if you AVERAGE 1,000 kWh per month over the course of the year, you will drop below this 7-8 times in individual months, and incur some of those minimum usage charges.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Best rates for 100% renewable

Van, Richardson - 2013-09-16 10:46:45

I signed up last year. Their 100% renewable plan was actually cheaper than their regular plan at that time, and was the best rate I could find for 100%. I just renewed for about $0.01 more per kWh (a substantial increase), but it still beat any other 100% renewable plan. My monthly use averages under 500 kWh, and I rarely use over 1000 kWh in a month. Most other companies have a minimum useage (usually 1000 kWh) to avoid a hefty service fee. TriEagle's is a flat $4.95/mo, and there are no suprise fees. Believe me, I've put together a spreadsheet just to evaluate the complex minimum useage, fee and surcharge fomulas of other companies. So, someone who uses a lot of electricity, or who wants just a conventional-energy plan may do better with other companies. For me, the decision to renew was simple and pain-free. I've never needed to contact TriEagle, so my good rating is because of the weekly emailed useage graphs, and the several notices about the upcomong expiration date of my contract (some other companies do a poor job with that, and let you go to a very expensive daily rate plan). My only problem was that I wasn't able to open any of the renewal PDFs from email, even with updated updated Adobe reader. My wife could at the office. Go figure. On Price/Plans/Promotions, last year there was a promo code on the Power To Choose site. This year I found a code elsewhere online that shaved off $0.001 . Better than nothing. So, for another year, I'm set.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-09-27 08:17:18

Thanks for the feedback Van - we try to offer competitive renewable products for those who want to promote green alternatives.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Customer service and due date

Upset Customer, Spring - 2013-09-13 08:22:36

I switched fom Reliant to TriEagle in July. They came highly recommended by many neighbors on our neighborhood Facebook page. I don't have complaints about their prices and plans, but Im not happy with their billing and customer service. I received my first bill for a due date on the 16th of the month which was perfect because I'm payed on the 15th. Then the next bill comes and it is for the 9th of the month. I called customer service to see if I could get my due date back to the original date, but the rep explained with the new billing system this was my new date. I asked if my date could be moved back to the 16th because of my budget, but her response was no. I knew I wouldn't be able to pay my bill on time and I had never been late with my previous company and now I would be with them. Not how I wanted to start my new service. She proceeded to tell me that I had until a certain date before they would cut my electricity off - not what I wanted to hear. My call was because I would have been on time with my original due date. I know I will be late in paying and I didn't want be late. Poor customer service, TriTagle needs to improve there hold times and how their reps handle this type of call. I'm sure I will receive a canned response-if I even get a response. I'm not interested in "we are sorry" - I want my date due date changed back to my original date when I signed up. Social Media can effect a business positively and negatively.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-09-27 08:21:21

We are sorry you are upset concerning your due date. We do NOT control when your meter is read is month. If you are in Spring, then Centerpoint reads your meter on approximately the same day each month. We receive this meter read, and turn around and send your invoice out to you - it's that simple. Your meter read would be the same each month, regardless of your electric provider. Maybe your old provider took longer to process your meter read? You can check Centerpoint's meter read schedule here: http://www.centerpointenergy.com/staticfiles/CNP/Common/SiteAssets/doc/MeterRead_2013_Cycles%201-21_Non-IDR.pdf

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

TRIEAGLE Review vs. Reliant

J Bassett, Plano - 2013-09-09 06:52:19

If you are thinking about switching to TriEagle DON'T....I did a three year constract and regret is very very very much. Reliant is excellent, no hidden fees and very reasonable in proce. My last two bills with Reliant were $404 and $446 in the hot summer month and with TriEagle the last one for the same hot summer month was $750, biggest mistake I made.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-09-27 08:28:22

Ms. Bassett - we are sorry that you were surprised by your first bill, which was actually $701, not $750. A thorough review of your account revealed that you used 6,999 kilowatt-hours for the service period, so your energy rate of 9.3 cents actually resulted in a much lower bill than you would have received on any currently available Reliant plans. Based on their website on 9/27/13, their lowest rate for a 12-month price is 9.5 cents. You would have paid approximately $15 more with them. We do offer budget billing programs that can spread these high summer bills out over the entire year. If you are interested, send us an email or call our customer service group.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Worst customer experience ever

brad, fort worth - 2013-08-21 08:42:00

They apparently do not like people to pay their bills. My online login was not working. Strange, I thought... well reset the password. This takes you to a continual loop of receiving an e-mail to reset your password with a link to generate the same e-mail. Now you have to suffer the absolute hell of contacting their customer service. No matter what time of day, the automated lady will tell you it's a 20+ minute wait. Waited 35 minutes to get a pick up/hang-up on one call. Anyone else going through this ridiculous crap, here's my suggestion. Hit the commercial service option, they answer almost immediately. They will not help with your residential issue BUT just ask for a supervisor. They called me back about 5 hours later. This leads to the final ridiculous experience. I asked about my login not working. She informed Tri-Eagle reset everyone's account info. Me: Did you notify prior to the change? Supervisor: No, what do you think I am doing now... Low rate company, avoid....

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:11:41

Thanks for the feedback Brad - we did send out everyone's new account numbers and temp passwords way back at the end of July. We know that many people are busy and it they don't need the information right then, or if it goes to spam folders, those things can be lost. What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Horrible customer service

Fara, Houston - 2013-08-21 07:41:07

Horrible customer service, holding for 30 minutes, seriously. I can not reach anybody from customer service if your have any issue.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:11:56

What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

WORST EVER

CINDY, EULESS - 2013-07-31 13:08:38

The customer service is an embarrassment to this company. They should be ashamed of the wait times and quality of information provided. I am done and wish I'd never signed up. THE WORST EVER... STEAR CLEAR. OF THIS ONE!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:12:03

What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Customer Service is non-exsistent

N Vogel, Houston - 2013-07-30 11:03:25

My experience with TriEagle has been limited. The price plan is very good. However, the customer service dept is so lacking, it is not even funny. When you have a power outage, you can't call TriEagle and have them check it out. No. You must call the provider company like Centerpoint and get it reported and resolved. I expect more. However, the VP for Marketing stepped up. He is allowing me to terminate without fees. I have accepted his offer. I am leaving TriEagle with a better view but still leaving.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:22:20

Thanks for the feedback Ms. Vogel - For power outages, like all other Texas REPS, we rely on the poles companies like Centerpoint to maintain the lines. In cases of outages or emergencies, we often suggest our customers call these poles companies directly, as they will have all the latest information at their fingertips.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Never Again!!!

Linda, Spring TX - 2013-07-29 11:22:18

Not a bad electric company as long as you don't have to contact them. Wait time to speak to a customer service rep is 30+ munutes. I have paid my bill online for the past 10 months without an issue. Last month I went to pay online and I am unable to do so to as TriEagle upgrading their system. This was done with no advance notice from them!! Received an email from them yesterday saying I can now sign on to new system. Just tried and the new system is down!! Is this the way to run an electric company?? My time and money is good anywhere and I will no longer be spending ot with TriEagle....

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:14:41

What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

What a joke!

John , Grand Prairie - 2013-07-29 06:09:57

Website doesn't work (at all!) so you can call to pay your bill, but guess what? you will wait for more than 20 minutes to get a real live person on the phone. What a mickey mouse outfit. Never again!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:14:58

What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Current Customer-

Jim, Kingwood,TX - 2013-07-19 18:13:48

Have been a customer I think for three years; small company out of the Woodlands Texas; if you call they give the person by name who handles a function not an extension. Straight Forward and simple. They are the cheapest in Houston at .084/kilowatt hour but renewal this month just jumped to .093/kilowatt hour. All the others have minimums or other catch tricks. Even with distribution fees. I own an open 3,100 sq. ft. house with 11-12 foot ceilings and my bill was just $141 for June with temps in the mid 90's. House is set at constant 75 degrees 24/7; not adjusted.... Go TriEagle !!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:16:46

Thanks for the feedback Jim! We appreciate your business.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

HORRIBLE Customer Service

Kayla, Houston, TX - 2013-07-18 07:49:06

As a new customer looking to sign-up with Trieagle, I call their customer service line prior to completing the online application. And boy, am I glad that I did! Firstly, I was placed on hold for 30+ minutes before I was able to speak to customer service representative (CSR). I didn't quite mind the long wait because I figured I'd called at a busy time. However, one I was finally connected to a CSR, she couldn't have been ruder or more curt if she tried! She didn't introduce herself, she didn't care to ask for my name, she didn't answer my queries about their connection/disconnection fees and just told me to contact my TDU provider (which doesn't make any sense as I was inquiring about TRIEAGLE's PLANS/RATES!), and then rushed to say "you have no more questions" (as a statement rather than a question) and proceeded to hang up! Now, their rate pricing definitely is cheap, but I'm not gonna try to call in customer service just to waste the better part of an hour for crappy service! If their service is so abysmal when I haven't even signed up, I can't bear to imagine how horrible it will be once they've locked me in to a contract! How do you expect to have new customers, and keep existing customers, if your customer service is so poor!?!?

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:15:17

What happened to TriEagle? Outstanding ratings forever and then BOOM our ratings go in the toilet! Here’s the scoop: during July, we converted over to a new billing system for our Texas customers. While we tried to prepare as best as possible, the transition resulted in huge numbers of calls into our customer service team. Thousands of customers with changed passwords combined with outstanding rates and the busiest time for Texas switching activity, July and August have been very challenging, to say the least. Long hold times and a stacked up inbox were the norm for several weeks, and our existing and potential customers felt the pain. WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED DURING THIS PROCESS. We have been working very hard to improve our customer service. Over the last month, we have almost doubled the size of our customer care team, located right here in our Woodlands, Texas offices, not offshore. We even had to double the number of phone lines coming into our building. We are already seeing the hold times down to minimal levels in all but the very busiest times. Our new customer portal also gives our customers many more advanced features and options than before, and our new billing layout provides more information for customers to make informed energy decisions. As we finish the first full billing cycle with the new system, while there are still some hiccups, we are definitely improving every day. We are committed to quality customer service and will continue to roll out enhanced features and services for our commercial and residential customers. – Rob Cantrell, CMO

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Policy

m slack, whitney - 2013-07-17 10:53:17

particularly liked the early withdrawal fee of monthly, and not a set fee no matter how much time is left on your contract.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:18:28

Thanks for the feedback m slack. We feel like having a sliding amount is more appropriate and fair than some huge fee, even if you cancel with only 1 month remaining.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

The last legit company in Texas

RA, Abilene, Texas - 2013-06-22 20:24:17

After 2 hours of searching through the cesspool that is the Texas electricity market, I came across TriEagle. I signed up for a 3-year plan with a rate I am quite happy with. The company does not add on every fee they can possibly lard on and even covers the TDU charge. They do things the way it ought to be done. If not for its bogus $4.95 monthly customer service fee, I would consider them a perfect company. But you can't have everything, especially in Texas. It is early yet, but here's to TriEagle for doing things the right way (almost) and being the last legitimate electricity company in the State.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-08-27 09:17:17

Hopefully we have continued to impress the last few months RA - thanks for the feedback!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

solid company

Dave, Kingwood - 2013-06-04 18:09:55

used last year ( 2012) rate was 8.4 cents a kilowatt, renewed this year went up to 9.9 cents I will stay, but will monitor at end of year... what I am afraid is, once they get more customers, they will pull a reliant or txu and increase their prices...you know the bait and switch, hopfully, they have a better long term business strategy... however, I check every year for the best rate, so if it gets out of hand, I will choose someone else... but for know it is still reasonable, no customer service issues, I like the weekly usage reports... Recommend!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-06-18 09:19:48

Thanks for the feedback Dave! Unfortunately, over the last year, we've seen natural gas (and thus power) prices continue to trend upward. We try to keep rates for both new and renewal customers as low as possible, but market movements have forced us to move rates up this calendar year. We are constantly monitoring the market and hopefully we can continue to provide competitive prices when you are up for renewal next time (and the time after that as well!)

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

terrible billing practices & customer service

GKS, Houston - 2013-05-15 08:43:54

never never never recommend this company to anyone whatsoever -- the worst experience; they have continually messed up my payments which in turn will mess up my credit rating --- HATE this company with a passion -- please do not be fooled to pick them as your service provider; they are liars & cheats

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-06-18 09:18:09

We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with us GKS. Unfortunately, you didn't provide enough details in your review for us to respond to your specific issues. One note, however, is that we would NEVER report late payment activity to any credit agencies if the activity was due to errors on our end, so your concerns there should be alleviated.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Overall....Pleased

Jon, Flower Mound - 2013-03-26 09:33:01

I have not had the opportunity to choose electric company in about 10 years, but I recently moved and had to choose. I chose TriEagle and other than the first month everything has been fine. The first month was a bit of an issue with me since I received a $4.95 monthly charge plus the electricity consumption for just 5 days. I was not happy paying the $4.95 for such a short period. I understand things a little better now...not from the customer service rep, but based on my own research. My 12 month plan is about to expire and based on the powertochoose site today I do not see a reason to go elsewhere.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-06-18 09:09:22

Thanks for the feedback Jon! Sorry about that first bill, but hopefully we made up for it over the next 11.5 months of service. We appreciate your renewal - customers like you choose to stay with us year after year - we have incredible renewal rates with our customers.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

The MOST Simple Bill!

Roger Bartel, Klein - 2013-02-28 17:05:27

I been with 7 different Energy Providers in the past 10 years and TriEagle has been my favorite. All a customer sees on the bill is 3 line items...the $4.95 service charge, the kilowatt rate multiplied by usage, and about 10 cents of tax! There are no metering fees, passthru charges, hurricane recovery fees, or other strange fees I have experienced with other Companies. I research my power providers at PowertoChoose.org when my contract is about to expire. TriEagle was not listed as the cheapest (based on the 1000 kw rates posted), in fact there are 15 other Companies that have a lower 1000 kwh rate. I rarely use 1000 kwh ( according to the PUC, the average Texan has a monthly usage is 900 kWh) Many other power providers penalize those who use less than 1000 kWh, but TriEagle just charges a $4.95 to everyone, despite the usage and thus their 500 kWh rate is one of the lowest. Do your research people and check the FACTS LABEL of all of the providers you considering.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-06-18 09:07:53

Thanks for the feedback Roger! We take great pride in offering products with no hidden fees or gimmicks. That's why so many customers like you choose to stay with us year after year - we have incredible renewal rates with our customers.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Recommended

Tod, Houston - 2013-02-13 07:50:31

I originally signed up for a 12-month term (GREAT rate!) that will expire next month. I just renewed for another 16-months after comparing rates and reading reviews here -- I found some other, slightly lower rates, but I've had a good experience w/ TriEagle and didn't want to risk billing issues or poor customer service -- TriEagle has done a good job and offers competitive rates so I'm sticking with them. Their website is not the most advanced, but it is definitely adequate.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-06-18 09:21:18

Thanks for the feedback Tod! Hopefully you've revisited our website recently, as we've just gone through a major facelift. In addition, look for even more online feature and services in our online portal at the end of the summer.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

A little less expensive!

Sobran, Richmond - 2012-12-03 14:21:39

I have a guy who checks my energy to get the best rate when ever my contract expires. So This was less expensive. I like the auto bill pay. I only have a six month plan. I wish their website was more like Reliant! I do miss Reliants website. I could do average billing, and even check my daily usage report at the end of every week! I do not use that much energy to begin with, so it is only saving me $15-20/month.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 07:49:11

Thanks for the feedback Sobran! Look out for some great new features for our residential customers coming out in late Spring, including daily and weekly usage reports.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Great Everything

Anne S, Kingwood, TX - 2012-10-17 12:36:40

I've had TriEagle for almost 3 years and have to say it's one fo the best companies I've ever done business with! Live customer service people - here in Texas, not in India! And they don't have any of those crazy hidden fees like the other guys.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 07:49:27

Thanks for the feedback Anne!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

THEY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

aaron n, katy tx - 2012-07-13 23:08:29

I called tri eagle energy today because i noticed they have increased my bill by over $150(I had a $300 bill for a 1500 sqft home.) Lets start off by saying if u have any issues with your bill do not press the number that states that you are having issues with your bill you will be left on hold for over 30 minutes!!!!! Press the new service button they will answer in less than 30 seconds... NOW here is where you will wish you would have never called this horrible company. All this company wants is money and they do not care about any of there customers whatsoever. (THEY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS) I pay my bill online so i did not no my contract was coming up. so when it did expire they doubled my RATE!!!!!! Now I have a $300 bill, they have refused me the right to speak with there supervisor as well as refuse to help me with the bill if i sign a new contract.... This company is a big joke and a scam I am turning my bill over to my attorney if they don't not lower it to make it feasible to pay.....

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 07:56:14

While we do not release specific customer information due to privacy issues, we want to reiterate that ALL customers receive renewal notices 30-60 days prior to the expiration of their agreement. For a customer who has an expired contract, TriEagle is unable to purchase forward energy because we don't know how long the customer will remain with TriEagle. Therefore, holdover rates are typically at a premium to contract rates, as we are forced to buy power for holdover customers at spot real-time prices. We value all of our customers and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Halved my Summer Electric Bill from Entergy!

Margie, Tomball - 2012-06-22 16:42:24

I signed on with TriEagle almost two years ago. First I did just the short trial, not wanting to get roped in by what sounded too good to be true. IT WAS TRUE! My first month with TriEagle was half of what I had been paying to Entergy. It has remained consistently lower than all of my past bills (5 years with Entergy). Nice people, too. Will be with TriEagle as long as they are there or I am here!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 07:56:32

Thanks for the feedback Margie!

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Do Not Trust TriEagle Energy

Ricardo Sanchez, Houston - 2012-06-07 13:02:11

One of their sales rep tricked me into signing up with their company (away from my current provider) by saying they were working with my provider to lower my utility rate as part of a government program. I contacted my provider immediately after the call to verify what they were saying. It turned out that not only was Reliant Energy not working with TriEagle Energy to lower my utility rate, they never heard of them. So, now I am waiting for their bill or penalty notice since I informed Reliant Energy that I did not want to leave them. If this is how TriEagle Energy does business, law enforcement needs to shut them down. Whatever they say or promise you, it is not true.

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:01:22

While we do not release specific customer information due to privacy issues, we searched our records and could not find you in any of our systems. In addition, we do not utilize telemarketing or door-to-door sales in Texas, nor have we been associated with any government program. We would love to discuss this matter with you - please call our customer service number at 281-681-2381 and we can try to research what may have happened.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Best Energy Company Ever

Anonymous, Texas - 2012-04-10 00:00:00

I will never switch!

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:01:37

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Good service

kATIE, kATY, Texas - 2012-04-10 00:00:00

fRIENDLY AND GOOD SERVICE

0 of 0 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:01:58

Thanks for the feedback Katie!

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great Service and Great Rates

Anonymous, Texas - 2012-02-06 00:00:00

I have been with TriEagle since they entered the residential space in mid-2010. They have live customer service people right here in Houston, and the rates are some of the best around. ALSO, there are no HIDDEN extra charges like you get with the other guys.

1 of 1 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:02:10

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Trieagle isn't worth it

anonymous, Tomball, TX - 2011-10-27 00:00:00

Trieagle was our choice because TXU had such high rates. However, when they reel you in with low rates expect them to operate less than professionally. They stopped sending bills for no reason. When we called to get our balance one month they didn't have an explanation, just claimed to be mailing them. We were never more than a couple weeks late and they still disconnected our power, even with half a payment! They will NOT work with you if you can't pay on the FIRST of each month. So by week 3 of the month they disconnected us with half of the current bill paid. They are bullies with no flexibility. It's not worth the small amount we saved from TXU.

3 of 4 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:04:11

While we do not release specific customer information due to privacy issues, we want to reiterate that we are always willing to work with customers who contact us with an inability to pay their bills. We work with numerous community agencies that can pledge to help customers with bills, and offer deferred payment plans for customers expressing an inability to pay.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Very Good Company

AS, Hurst, TX - 2011-07-16 00:00:00

I had a good experience. I switched online, went smoothly. Whenever I called them, they answer within a few mins. Originally they didn't accept credit cards, now they do. In my 12 months, not one bill or payment was misplaced. They don't have any junk or minimum usage fees, just a $4.95 base charge + taxes. They do have a non-standard cancellation policy - $20 x monthe remaining on contract vs $150- $200 norm. You will lose if you cancel within the first four months but come out ahead vs other companies. My contract expires in a month, I am looking at 2-3 companies that are very slightly but leaning towards renewing with them. I gave them a 4-star for billing and account management since it is hard looking at usage trends (you have to look at PDFs of individual bills).

4 of 4 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:04:25

Thanks for the feedback AS!

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

double whammy

Kendra Turnbow, United States - 2011-03-14 00:00:00

For 2 mths. now (Feb. - March) 2011, I have NOT used my hvac. Meaning no ac, no heat and my bill went from 260.00 to 420.00. In a 2 mths. time frame I have paid 840.00 to them for electricity I know I don't owe. They even put a switch hold on my electricity so that I can't switch rep's while in contract. Ugh....

2 of 2 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:09:03

While we do not release specific customer information due to privacy issues, we want to reiterate that we are always willing to work with customers who contact us with an inability to pay their bills. We work with numerous community agencies that can pledge to help customers with bills, and offer deferred payment plans for customers expressing an inability to pay.

Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Complete Incompitence

Al, Fort Worth, TX - 2011-03-10 00:00:00

In this day and age with electronics everywhere this company has no online option for payment of services. Today, I received the crowning moment of their ineptitude. I got a disconnect notice claiming I owe them $0.00.

2 of 2 found this useful.


TriEagle Energy Responds

2013-02-12 08:06:15

TriEagle has numerous online payment options, including recurring and one-time credit card and ACH payments, as well as the traditional "mail us a check" option. And all of these options are WITHOUT A FEE, unlike most retail providers.