Please excuse us while we perform system maintenance.

We apologize, we are currently doing some maintenance. Our website will be back up again shortly.

YEP Reviews | Texas Electricity Ratings

Read YEP Reviews


Shop

Find different electricity plans in your area:


Rate

Choose a company below to review:

Rate Company »


Reviews

Choose a company below to read reviews:

Read Reviews »



Customer Reviews for YEP

Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Very good

George Cortes, Bedford, TX - 2014-06-08 16:31:04

I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Do yourself a favor and find another company

MMM, Angleton - 2014-04-09 07:12:45

I had YEP energy for a couple of years and for the most part everything seemed to be OK. Their plans and pricing was competitive. The account was for a property that I was trying to sell so my usage was very low. I noticed that my bill jumped one month and when I went to investigate I found that they hit me with a disconnect/reconnect fee. When I called to discuss why that was I was told that they had every right to charge me that fee if I did not pay within 26 days of the invoice date. Keep in mind this has never been an issue before. When I paid the fee and decided to move on they re-issued another disconnect/reconnect fee for a 7 day period. These guys are crooks. Do yourself a favor and find another company. They will do everything within their power to inflate your bill with charges that are not warranted.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Good Company

KH, Shady Shores - 2014-01-23 12:47:17

Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

3 years running so far

Barrett, Houston - 2014-01-08 09:24:57

I've been with YEP now for 3 years running and about to have to renew again. I like to do 100% renewable energy plans (and yes I know that's a relative term, but the more people that get on board the more/better it gets, and we all have to start somewhere so it's worth the extra cent or two per kwh to me to start) and they have typically had one of the best renewable for 12 mo auto pay plans out there if not THE best. I've always been able to see my usage and billing info online (I prefer paperless) and never had ANY issues. I put 5 stars for customer service because the only contact I've had with them is when I renew each year and they typically offer me a better rate than their going plan because I'm an existing customer. I don't get marketing calls or other material emailed to me. It's almost out of site out of mind except for the monthly email I get letting me know my bill is ready to view (autopay).

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

No major issues for 12 months

Stephanie, Houston - 2013-10-08 07:39:49

We've had YEP for about a year as they had the cheapest fixed rate contracts, for our area for our kwh, many do not realize that most companies charge MORE per KWH if you use less than 1000 per month, we average at 500, we're only switching because our contract ends in Oct and I've discovered most the major companies start offering lower rates in the fall...

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Competitive pricing for new customers

Thomas, Plano, TX - 2013-10-02 07:05:01

When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere. Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

GAMBLER

CHUCK, CARROLLTON, TX - 2013-09-26 08:05:57

IN LESS YOU ARE WILLING TO GIVE THEM YOUR BANK ACCOUNT NUMBER AND ROUTING NUMBER SO THEY CAN BILL YOU AT WILL THEY CHARGE YOU TO PAY YOUR BILL. LAST MONTH MY BILL WAS APPROX $106 AND THEY CHARGED BE $16 TO PAY THEM. I CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY COULD CARE LESS. SO THEY CHARGE YOU MONEY TO GIVE THEM MONEY. CANT WAIT TILL MY TERM IS UP WITH THEM.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Extremely dissapointed

Krystal, modesto,ca - 2013-09-24 18:56:01

They came to my door telling me that if i signed up with them there wouldnt be any extra fees and it would help lower my bill. Come to find out they just ADDED more charges to my bill and are now trying to collect this money from me. I did not CONSENT to any of it, your rep misinformed me to get me to sign up for your services and i DO NOT WANT THEM AND YOURE NOT GETTING YOUR MONEY. I heard from the vine that there is a lawsuit against your company,services,and employees. I WILL BE contacting any lawyers nessecary if you try to send me to collections for any money you are NOT rightfully entitled too!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Disgusted by their Fraudulent Practices and Horrible Service

Beth , Frisco, TX - 2013-09-23 08:23:27

I've been with this company for a few years. My contract expired and they made half-hearted attempts to "inform" me to lock in a good rate. Not true. They raised my rate to astronomical prices. I spoke with someone else in the industry who was confounded by the rate they charged me. An attempt to fix it yielded in a "supervisor" who refused to escalate the issue further. They are willing to lose a customer and get bad reviews on the internet over $178. Not very smart, YEP.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Avoid at all costs

Will Shen, Houston - 2013-09-17 06:39:39

Avoid now, be glad later: 1) deceptive prices, a lot of hidden fees 2) horrible customer service 3) will try to bill you extra amounts when you cancel even though not under contract

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

YEP

Layne, Irving - 2013-08-14 13:40:10

Yep has been o good quality REP in this past year, and I would recommend their services.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

YEP Rating

Layne Hutchings, Irving - 2013-08-14 13:38:55

I've had YEP now for a year, and it has been very easy to navigate the website, change payment options etc. They give a discount for allowing them to debit your bank or credit card. So far no issues, but really don't like giving them the access to my acount.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

It's not LOVE but more....ehh

Cheryl, Crowley - 2013-07-26 08:35:49

I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP. I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print! PS: What promotions????

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

TopazLace

Texastopaz, san angelo, tx - 2013-07-19 09:07:41

I have had this electric provider for 8 years. Never had a problem with them at all. No billing mistakes, rate is .054 & I am quite pleased with my experience overall.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

YEP is nothing but CON artists

Jeff, Ft Worth - 2013-07-17 19:36:02

They charge 3.50 for printed correspondence fee, This is if they have to send out any notices to you. Then there is a 13.40 if you are not setup on auto pay. This correspondence fee is charged on every bill, when we called they said yes that fee is on every bill. we asked so we have to pay to know what our bill is? They said yes. Then they have people who speak broken English call you, they wont give you 24hr extension unless you pay half the bill. Keep an eye out for www.yepenergysucks.com

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Utter lack of any customer service

J Rabe, Dallas - 2013-06-20 13:15:48

It is almost impossible to get customer service. It's really aggravating when they require you to contact them personally to change credit cards but make it almost impossible to reach them via the phone. They don't respond to emails. It's awful.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

AGGRESSIVE bill collection - NEVER be late with a payment or ELSE

Bonnie, Mesquite - 2013-03-20 18:57:53

I've been a customer of Yep's for 5 years with a perfect record of on time payment. I saw that my electric bill was due (via an email alert), but the bill NEVER arrived. I missed making the payment. Four days after the bill was due, I recieved a mailing from them stating: DISCONNECTION NOTICE. Really?? This is how they treat customers??? I called the office to ask for a copy of my bill, and the customer service rep sheepishly admitted that maybe that using 'disconnect' wasn't the best tactic. Now that I've gotten my next month bill I see a $3.50 printed correspondence fee for the pleasure of having them actually send me a bill. WOW. This company is hard core. Know what you're getting into when you sign up. I didn't...and I'm leaving when my contract is up....

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

They will turn off your power if you are 2 days late

Matt, Bedford TX - 2013-02-07 07:13:02

I was a customer for 4 years, they had a change of management of accounts so now if you are 2 days late they will turn off your power. Why would anyone give them their business!!!!!!!!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

run

Barbara Vos, Kingwood, Texas - 2013-01-30 12:11:13

I have had this comapny for several years, but I just got ripped off. I had a zero balance and requested termination due to home being in foreclosure. My final ends up being 3 times the highest bill. I want to be fair and pay for what was used but this is not right. They have a lot of hidden charges. This a company that I would never consider.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

I like this company

Rene, Houston - 2012-12-28 09:16:00

I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Just as Competitive as Other Companies, Excellent Customer Service

Terry G, Galveston, TX - 2012-12-07 11:14:15

I have used several providers since the beginning of Deregulation in Texas, this company has always been just as competitive and unlike many other companies, they actually breakdown the Energy and Transmission charges. To some it may seem like a "hidden fee" but other companies just bundle it all up, I like that I can see the two seperate charges. Once I was charged a $7.95 "monthly service fee" for usage less than 1,000 kwh, because my billing dates were not a full month, their customer service representative was happy to waive that fee. Our contract is expiring soon and we will be signing up again, hopefully for a longer term as we have been extremely pleased.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Beware

Crystal , Houston - 2012-11-13 07:59:09

I was originally with Epcot which provided awesome service and now the company transferred to YEP which is a horrible company. My bill was due on 11th and now my electricity is off....two days later for crying out loud. That is ridiculous. I tried paying my bill today by check because my bag was stolen and they told me they cant accept a check only a card... I indicated all of my payments were ALWAYS on time. This is the very first time this has happened and the the rep says, "Well we want to make sure we get the money... A check is not guaranteed." How insulting is that. Now I'm currently in the process of withdrawing funds to give to someone so they could make a payment on my behalf. Reliant Energy here I come.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Very dishonest. Avoid at all cost.

Daniel H, Houston - 2012-11-05 10:16:07

This company is very dishonest. It goes under a few names, YEP, Texpo, etc. That should be a warning right there. However, they ripped us off by charging extra fees and their customer service is the very worse. Their people are the rudest and most heartless people. Don't use them under any circumstance. We learned the hard way.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Cancelled today!

Bruce T., Dallas - 2012-11-02 13:35:46

I agree with all the negative reviews. I suffered far too long with this cut-rate, poor excuse of an electric company. I somehow overlooked one payment in four years, and I receive not a friendly reminder, but a letter threatening a small claims lawsuit! Then on top of that, the next invoice charges a "printed corresponedence fee" for the pleasure of receiving the collection letter. One insult too many.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Hopeless

Gordon Rudd, Mission - 2012-09-19 16:39:25

Refuse to meet Epcot billing as promissed.Will let PUC settle it.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Crooks. Worst Customer Service in the Business

Nicole D., Houston - 2012-09-19 15:41:55

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY HAVE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I DID NOT HAVE A SINGLE ISSUE WITH ERCOT AND AS SOON AS THEY BECAME YEP - THE SERVICE IS BAD, THE BILLING IS INCORRECT IN THEIR FAVOR, AND THEY HAVE FEES THEY CAN'T EXPLAIN IN THE BILL. THEY WRONGLY BILLED ME FOR A LATE FEE, SAID THEY WOULD CREDIT IT AND MAGICALLY THE SAME AMOUNT SHOWED UP AS "BALANCE FORWARD" IN MY NEXT BILL. WHEN TALKING TO CUSTOMER SERVICE (AGAIN) TO GET IT CORRECTED, THE FIRST ONE PUT ME ON HOLD FOR 12 MINUTES, THE SECOND ONE HAD A "I COULD CARE LESS" ATTITUDE AND WOULD NOT GIVE ME HIS LAST NAME, AND THE SUPERVISER ALSO DOES NOT GIVE OUT HIS LAST NAME, TELLING ME HE ISN'T REQUIRED TO DO SO. THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING - MANAGEMENT THAT DOESN'T WANT THEIR CUSTOMERS TO BE ABLE TO CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY. I CAN NOT WAIT UNTIL MY CONTRACT WITH ERCOT EXPIRES SO I CAN SWITCH TO A BETTER PROVIDER THAT CARES ABOUT ITS CUSTOMERS.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Avoid YEP Energy

Unhappy, Carrollton, TX - 2012-09-15 11:19:39

I switched to YEP because they offered 100% wind and their advertised price per kwh was excellent. Every month I get an added $75 fee for transmitting energy on top of the advertised kwh. My monthly bill from my previous provider was only about $100 per month. Every month YEP charges me about $90 for electricity and $75 for fees -- almost double the rate of my previous provider.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Thanks for such great service

Marlen , Killeen - 2012-09-08 20:32:58

I've been a happy customer for over 3 years; used to have TXU for a very long time and even when they keep offering me $300 to switch back to them I will never do, my bills are always reasonable and fair and as long as they keep business the way they do, I will stay with them for as long as as Live :) Thanks Yep Texas!!! You rock!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Scam!

Roberto, Freeport - 2012-08-27 15:02:07

I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

LOVE THEM!

Cameron M., Dallas, Tx - 2012-07-12 15:01:16

We switched from Txu about 3 years ago to Yep, and I have never been happier! The service is great(if we ever have problems- only had 1 issue in the beginning) and great prices! We have moved twice, and kept Yep! Love them!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Poor Customer Service

BOBO, Waxahachie - 2012-07-02 16:47:48

We heard YEP had very low rates so called and customer service was aloof and may have not been telling the truth. Their PDF file online showed a different amount per kwh than what the customer rep stated. I asked why the rate on the PDF file was much higher and the reps said they were unclear about what I was looking at (again, this is a PDF file on their website by the plan!). I feel like there may be some unfair practice going on, if the PDF file has incorrect prices then wouldn't they update the file??? I'm now scared to enroll with them.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Dont be late - Fees the least of your worries.

Tammy, Wichita Falls - 2012-06-04 11:20:52

Awaken this morning at 7AM to the home alarm going off due to a power outage. Wondering why the electricity is off I pull up my account to find that the Bill was PAID on the 17th last month. The new bill was Due on the 2nd, which is a Saturday. Today is the 4th, Monday morning. Customer Service will open at 8:30 AM, call back then. When I reach customer service I find it has been shut off for non payment. "Due on the 2nd means due on the 2nd mam, not the 4th." Pay the bill and it should be on sometime within the next 24 hours. June in Texas is not the time of the year to have this happen. Guess they realize since they have you bound in a contract they can treat you like crap for 12 months. I would not recommend this company, due to this practice. No matter how good you are things sometimes things come up or get overlooked.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
How likely are you to recommend:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Looks like they gone down hill

Shannon , Round rock texas - 2012-05-24 08:39:22

I use YEP back in 2008 - 2010 and I loved them, told all my friends about them. However, Because I had never had any bills in my name I did have to pay a crazy high deposited $400 but got almost all of that back when I moved out of their serves area. I was told I left in good standing and that if I came back to them then they would wave any deposited. I called them today and was hung up on ( after waiting a few mins, someone pick up the line and then hung up on me.) I called back and the rep was rude and short when I was asking questions. After talking with her, I thought I better check the reviews and sure enough that's what most people were saying. I will not be choosing YEP this time around

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Awful Company

D. B., Dallas, Tx - 2012-02-28 00:00:00

This is my first experience w/ electricity in Texas. I feel like I'm getting ripped off by this company. Every month my bill increases to the point where now Im paying double what anyone else in my building is paying for the same size apartment. When I inquired they said it was because I wouldnt sign a contract w them and they could charge me whatever they wanted until I did so. I can't sign a contract bc I am very likely to move at any point. I like the simplicity of other states where everyone pays the same company and same rate..Plus the staff at YEP is rude and unhelpful.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

THEY HAVE CHANGED FOR THE WORST

Chester, Fort Worth, Texas - 2011-11-30 00:00:00

First of all if you have an account you do not have 30 days to pay your bills, i always pay the morgage 2 weeks early (so mid month) and all the bills and the begining, so at the begining of the month i would not have the current invoice it would show up shortly after and you only have about 15 days to pay your outstanding balance, i have a perfect credit rating and always pay everything off, so i was 8 days past due with a outstanding balance of 39 dollars, i have been with this company for 4 years, i never had a issue until recently, they have just changed the way in which they treat there customers, SO BE WARNED STAY AWAY NOW, they have changed for the worst.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Very pleased

Will, Azle, TX - 2011-08-04 00:00:00

Been with them nearly 2 years, with three different meters/esiid's, all at the same time. I have never had a problem with them, and when I contact them, I always have received great service. Their rates aren't quite as low as some others, but after reading about all of the changes in extra charges after you sign up with most of the other companies, I'm staying with YEP.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

These guys rock

Mary Anne, Dallas, TX - 2011-07-27 00:00:00

These guys have the best customer service. After I called with what i thought was an error on my bill, they talked with me and explained the TDSP fees. I never knew. Anyway, Johnny was kind enough to take me through it. thanks for the low rate and the respect.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Shady, Fraudulent and Rude

David, Dallas, TX - 2011-07-20 00:00:00

Wow. Where to start with this unethical company? FEES My wife and I signed up for a plan with no monthly fees. YEP charged us anyway. ONLINE PAYMENT When I pay my bills online, every single payment takes 1 day to get credited. YEP takes 5 business days, or a full week! And YEP is so bad about sending bills out late, sometimes by the time you get the bill in the mail, it's already too late to pay it on time. CUSTOMER SERVICE But how do they resolve issues after a mistake? I called and talked to a representative to resolve our erroneous charges, and was told they would be taken care of. So I paid our bill (minus the fees). Not only did they not remove the bad fees. On a nice 100 degree day in July, two hours after my wife got home from the hospital, they cut off our power. My call to customer service after this was not pleasant. A man named Daniel explained why their screw up was our problem, not theirs. You've got plenty of choices. There's no reason ANYONE should pick YEP!

3 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

excellent

jeff, terrell, texas - 2011-06-12 00:00:00

after years with txu, and being ripped off on charges, I switched to YEP. I am glad I did! No problems, excellent rates.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

No serious problems in two years

James, Oncor service area outside Dallas TX - 2011-05-28 00:00:00

I have been with YEP for two years, and experienced zero serious problems. The only thing I was a slight bit unhappy with was the first time my contract was about to expire, I was not notified, or sent any offers to renew. I phoned and got an offer that was better than what I was paying so I renewed on the phone. Super rate!

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Yep, its time to switch.

Anonymous, TX - 2011-04-18 00:00:00

They refuse to answer basic questions through email.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great experience

Joy, Houston, TX USA - 2011-04-01 00:00:00

I used Yep in 2008-2009 and thought they were great. But their prices were higher when I needed a new contract, so I switched.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Don't trust them

Mark, Seabrrok, TX - 2011-03-29 00:00:00

We have had YEP Energy for over two years. One of out bills got lost in the mail. When they sent the late notice we called customer service and paid with a check over the phone. Two days later someone was writing checks on the account we paid by phone. We canceled that account and have not have had any problems with other accounts. Just stating the facts.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Avoid YEP at all costs

YEPishorrible, Dallas, TX - 2011-02-22 00:00:00

YEP Energy is a horrible company. Do not select them for service and avoid at all costs. I don't care if they offer you 1 or 2 cents/kwh less than others, DO NOT TAKE THE BAIT! They are horrible to cancel with and then they will continue to bill you until someone else takes over your old service. I was stuck with some extra months of billing after my contract ended and I contacted them to cancel. They will then threaten you with a mark on your credit and a collection agency even if you have evidence that you are correct. DO NOT USE YEP!!!!!

2 of 3 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

POOR Customer Service!!

Anonymous, Texas - 2011-01-25 00:00:00

Customer service at YEP is HORRIBLE!! They talk over you, don't let you speak, don't listen, and alway try to convince you that you are at fault. This is an absolutely horrible company.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great affordable service

Mary, Temple, TX - 2011-01-10 00:00:00

We love this service, it is cheap with no problems

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

customer service

jerry d ware, corsicana tx - 2011-01-04 00:00:00

told on 12/29 elec would be on no later than. mon 01/03. said paying extra for priority. its now 01 /04 and still not on.terrible service.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Worst Electricity Provider Yet

Amanda R., Houston, TX - 2011-01-01 00:00:00

I started using this company 10/1/09. My first bill, 600 s/ft apt, was $350 dollars. I asked them to recheck the meter and they told me that they would but if there was nothing wrong on their end then they would charge me a fee of approximately $70 for a service charge, so I declined them to come out. In the middle of my contract, I get an extra $175 disconnection fee because someone had supposedly switched my electricity. YEP did nothing to confirm it. No phone call or email. Towards the end of my contract I told them that I would move out 10/25/10. On the 25th I realized I needed till the end of the month Oct. 31, and called them and told them that exact thing. In the middle of Dec I get another bill saying I still owe and if I don't pay they will turn off my service. When I called to complain I got a rude guy that kept telling me that he was sorry I felt that way and that there was no one above him that I could talk to. Needless to say I'm not paying for service in Nov and Dec.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

So Many Names for One Company

Tired of the Fees, Dallas, TX - 2010-08-13 00:00:00

They operate under several names including Texpo Power, Texpo Power & Light, YEP, Southwest Power & Light, and who knows what else. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. In this day and age where you can get cheap rates and service from nearly anywhere, they're butt heads. Their billing system is retarded. I called to ask that they move the date a couple of days to accommodate when my pay check hits so that they'd stop costing me $35 over draft fees. They actually tried to hit my checking account 7x in 3 days - really racking up the fees with my bank and you HAVE to pay on line to get the best rate. It's taken multiple complaints to the PUC and BBB and it's still not fixed yet!

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Yep

Doris, Temple, Tx - 2010-08-03 00:00:00

When I switched to Yep my electric bill sky rocketed. What I didn't know was that the had a distribution charge also, which was never mentioned to me. It was costing an average of $200 a month. I would never recommend them to anyone. I think they are the most awful place I have ever used. I am so glad to be rid of them now.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

YEP is horrible. Do not use

eric s., Houston, tx - 2010-10-08 00:00:00

If anyone is trying to switch electricity, DO NOT use YEP Energy. Customer service reps are idiots and deserve to rot for letting my 60 year old mom sit in the dark with no electricity and wait for their phone call that never came. Reliant also sucks for putting a move out order on my account when i was just trying to switch providers. When i called to get my electricity turned on the next day, YEP has the nerve to try to charge me a fee to get a priority order to turn on my power which should have been done the previous day. They then smugly say they can waive the charge as if they are doing me a favor. Not to mention they will give me no reimbursement for the spoiled food and wasted time.

0 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

YEP is okay

Jennifer, round rock, tx - 2010-06-18 00:00:00

I've had YEP energy for a little over a year. I haven't had any problems with them and I especially like the fact that online bill pay is so easy. The only thing I wonder about is that when I signed up for their contract, I signed up for 10 or 11 cents per kwh, but every time I get my bill it says my avg price was 12 or more per kwh. I don't know if that's a common thing among all providers. This was the first time I had ever had to choose my own electricity company, so I'm not sure about the tiny details.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Horrible Service

Angela, Houston, TX USA - 2010-05-19 00:00:00

Their tech supports were newbies and the services were just amazing bad.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Terrible Service

Tony Orlowski, Tyler, TX USA - 2010-07-13 00:00:00

I'm working out of town and my wife is paying the bills. She didn't get/lost this month's bill and the power is cut off. We changed our home phone number so didn't get calls from them. OK -- our fault, but when my wife called to see what happened, customer service wouldn't let her ask questions. She had to tell the service person to stop talking and listen. She had difficulty getting her to update our phone number. I would only reccomend this company to people I didn't like.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

No Customer Service

kfj, Pflugerville, Tx - 2010-06-10 00:00:00

My 3 experiences with YEP customer service over 3 years were all negative, never any relief from an apparent overcharge or suggestion of another approach to resolve a problem.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

BAD BAD Customer Server @ YEP ENERGY

Customer Service Gone Wrong, Fort Worth, TX - 2010-04-15 00:00:00

I am normally a super laid back person but the customer service at this place takes the cake for the all time worst experience. I paid my bill within the time of the due date and called the company to inform them that I used my online bill pay to pay the payment and gave them the transaction# and check# Can you believe they were still going to disconnect my electric? I am a single mother with out a job since May of 2009 and I have a special needs child that needs breathing treatments and we need electricity. They said they had heard this sad story before and wouldn't make an exception in my case. The odd thing was I had already made the payment and it had already cleared my bank, I wasn't sure what they didn't get about that. Anyhow I am stuck in my contract until Jan of 2011, and they will charge 175.00 to get of the contract.I hope I get a job so I can pay this and say goodbye to this Rotten company. I hope this helps anyone that is thinking about going with this company.

3 of 4 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Great doing business w/ YEP

Vanessa, Liverpool, Tx - 2009-10-28 00:00:00

Only complaint is the tedious payment screen. Does not save any previous infor so must monthly type ALL info regarding my account.

2 of 2 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Yep is a jip!

Anonymous, Texas - 2010-04-28 00:00:00

On the application for YEP energy, it didn't specify that there was a "delivery" charge equal to the amount of energy used. When I called about that, the rep said "All companies do that!". NO THEY DON'T! Other companies that offer under $.10 KWH do not charge an additonal delivery surcharge.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:

Good Lord!

Eric, Dallas TX - 2010-04-01 00:00:00

I have been with these folks for a couple of years. No problems. I always pay my bill, but in March, I was on a cruise and the bill must have came the day I left. I was 3 days late paying the bill, and they sent a nasty letter threatening to sue me, send my account to a collection agency, etc etc. I understand them trying to get their money. But this is borderline psychotic. I just switched to another company. Hopefully if I am ever late, they won't threaten me like YEP did. Seems kind of stupid to be so mean to your best customers if they are only a few days late after years of history never having been late.

1 of 1 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

Green Energy Plan Penalizes Conservation

Ben, Houston, Tx - 2009-08-07 00:00:00

I signed up for YEP's 100% renewable energy plan and they charge me a monthly fee of $7.95 for using less than 1000 kwh per month. Therefore, YEPs "Green" Earth Plan actually penalizes me for wanting to conserve energy!! What a joke.

10 of 10 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

YEP problems

Paula Hicks, Plano, Texas - 2010-04-08 00:00:00

I signed on for YEP and wasn't told there was a $7.50 per month fee. I also wasn't told they Oncor would be charging a separate fee for their service. I have excellent credit and was charged a $390 deposit and it took over a month to get it back after several phone calls and e-mails. I'm changing as soon as my contract is up.

0 of 0 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
How likely are you to recommend:
Billing and Account Management:
Customer Service:
Order Experience:
Price, Plans and Promotions:

Excellent

R, US - 2009-07-14 00:00:00

Excellent

2 of 8 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review
Price, Plans and Promotions:
Order Experience:
Customer Service:
Billing and Account Management:
How likely are you to recommend:

YEP Opinion

Bo, Bedford, Texas - 2009-05-12 00:00:00

Easy sign up and good rate. Short wait for customer service reps.

5 of 7 found this useful.


Is this your Company? Respond to this Review

Quick Links