Read Stream Energy Reviews


Stream Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Stream Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

392 Reviews and Replies for Stream Energy


New Service Order

(1 / 5)

  I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.

C Kaye from Houston
February 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

(1 / 5)

  I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!

NICOLE COX from Fort Worth
February 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.

STREAM ELECTRICITY from Killeen
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Collections??

(1 / 5)

  We cancelled our service and paid our final bill on the phone with customer service. Several months later, our account went to collections claiming we owe them money. Our account has said we owe $0 since we cancelled. Where did this charge come from? NEVER USE STREAM. THEY'LL DESTROY YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

Angry Customer from Corpus Christi
January 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

California to Texas mover

(1 / 5)

  I had no idea how to choose an energy company this one was reccomended. Paying like 15 cents plus additional TPU charges. My bill has been 2X higher. They offer me a renewal at 10.2 cents but still higher than what the current low is for what I'm using which is like 8.8 with no hidden fees. Not the lowest out there. Using the advertised energy finders are all money makers. Finally I clicked on a link from my local city that sent me called power to choose. Free at last.

CAtoTXMover from Grand Prairie
December 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DONT

(1 / 5)

  Omg..Where do I begin..I'm a previous customer of Stream Energy and I must say, what a terrifying experience Its been with these fools...first off when I first signed up they tied me into a 3YEAR contract ( that should have been a red flag) and was told that the cancellation fee was gonna be $300 (another red flag)...I live in a 800 square feet...1 bedroom apt..my Bill's were consistently over $200/month..
I called and called trying to find out why my bill was so high. But everytime I called, the customer service rep would beat around the bush trying to offer me $10 off etc...I finally switched to another provider cuz I was being suffocated to death with the BRUTALITY of the bills...I recently got a nasty notice from these damn fools threatening me that they are gonna send me to collections and ruin my credit..I switched services barely a month ago and the final bill just came in the mail today..not only could i not believe the final bill ($669), but the letter was so nasty and threatening my credit..I'm getting ready to bring them to the attention of the media so everyone will know how nasty they are...Please DO NOT GO WITH Stream Energy...They will RUIN YOU..also spread the word to everyone one you know..I want these devils to get HIT where it hurts..IN THE POCKETS.

Dj from Houston
November 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam if I ever knew one!

(1 / 5)

  This has been the worst experience ever with any electrical company. They lock you into a contract and then the prices begin to fluctuate. We also dont get the regular bill but always get the disconnect notice that adds on an extra $20 to the bill every month. I wish we wouldve never signed up for this company now were stuck paying $300 to get out of a contract which will honestly just save us mor money in the long run because thats how much service is costing us every two months. Do your research and choose another company!

Taylor from Webster
November 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheaters

(1 / 5)

  After 7/8 years of being without this company, they decide to call me and say I have a outstanding balance and that they would go to court if I didnt pay it. This is absolutely ridiculous because i paid all of the bills.

Nic from Richmond
October 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

requesting new service

(1.2 / 5)

  on hold at time of this writing for over 3 hours, still holding, spoke with DeAnthony, Jose, Sewena, Carlos, Amanda, John, Kevin. Still no service, holding to get account established. I don't know what has happened to this company.

willie Ruiz from San Angelo
October 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  I called and was insulted with very devious language by a person that was clearly not in the U.S as he stated it laughing while i asked him to say the least when the terrible service was over he told me to go suck a dick bu the way their customer service reps are in Mexico not in Dallas

Mark Schakleford from Addison
September 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ex Stream Decline

(1 / 5)

  There is a pyramid scheme suit pending and it makes sense. There is a new number. Calling this number makes the caller navigate many menus just to find the state your account is in, Texas is 8. To actually talk to the service provider, Encore, you have to call them for service issues. For billing issues due to Covid, they have longer than normal wait times?? Why am I dealing with Stream when the energy provider is Encore?

Austin from Pflugerville
September 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Website of All Utilities

(1 / 5)

  Unable to pay bill after 10 attempts to pay online. Shows $ -0- balance due which is so wrong. Keeps tryiong to throw me to facebook.
Switching providers as soon as plan ends.

Sharron from Houston
August 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stream Customer Service Suxs!!

(1 / 5)

  Haven't recieved a paper bill in the mail since June 2020. And they don't want to do anything about it. Been with Stream Energy for 12 years. But their customer service has really when to hell in a hand basket the last 5 years. So I'm dumping them & finding me a new energy provider!!

JD Leddon from Freeport
August 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Collection department.

(2.6 / 5)

  After I cancel my service I call them twice to make sure my balance is paid off. The gentleman that answer my phone call said my balance is $0.00 Now I get a collection letter with balance of $51.00, I call them and all what I get is
" I sorry there is nothing I can do" even when was theirs fault.
Now they hurt my credit for life thanks to theirs " profesional " workers.

Isael J from Spring
August 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Inconsistent with bogus charges

(2 / 5)

  My bill is due different days every month. Not a big deal but sucks trying to remember to pay your bill when it could be due either at the beginning, middle, or end of each month. Have had to pay late bills simply because I was confused when it was due. I don't get anything in the mail and have to check my email constantly if I want to avoid late payments. And at first, I was paying around $62 a month. That was in the winter with the heaters running all the time and me being home consistently. Now, without even being at my house for 2 and a half weeks out of the month with the AC off and almost nothing plugged in (absolutely nothing powered on), I'm paying $117. Sometimes the delivery charge is $14 and sometimes its up to $28. With that and the mandatory $10 "minimum usage fee" (which doesn't make sense or seem necessary unless you didn't meet the minimum energy requirements) a quarter of your bill isn't even from your actual energy usage. I see why they force you into year long contracts now and why more people are living off-grid.

Anon from Del Rio
July 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They cancelled my previous service without my permission

(1 / 5)

  I enrolled online and it didnt give an option start date. I called and was told would get a reply in 2 days. Then the order was worked the same day. They cancelled my old provider who is going to charge $295 cancelation fee. I didnt ask for order to be worked same day I put in order. It didnt give me a chance to enter a due date

Virginia from Athens
June 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(1.8 / 5)

  At first it was ok but now it's getting ridiculous.. From 110.00 to 150.00 to 175.00 and now 222.00 and my next is 272.. I am switching

Rogelio Infante from Corpus Christi
June 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do NOT use Stream! -NEVER-

(1 / 5)

  I was a loyal customer for Stream for several years. My bills kept getting bigger and bigger, when I would call and ask about it basically saying it's getting out of hand. I was switched over to "someone that could help me". I then explained the situation to them and asked if they were able to help, her reply was I can take your payment. ((Keep in mind I've been with them for years)) so I assumed they would hold their word. NOPE! After explaining the situation with them, they had the nerve to switch me over to "someone that could help" . Needless to say no one was able to help me understand why my bills were so expensive.

THEY DONT HOLD THEIR WORDS.

THEY SWITCH YOU OVER TO MULTIPLE PEOPLE.

THEIR PRICE IS OUTRAGEOUSLY HIGH.

IT'S AN AWFUL COMPANY TO WORK WITH.

I RECOMMEND ENERGY OGRE

Nicole from Waxahachie
June 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars

(1.8 / 5)

  I spoke with customer service about a payment that was made on my account and i was giving the round around about returning the extra payment that was posted to my account, and also the money that was left over from the the bill i was informed that it would take 7-14 days to be returned by mail and it was already sent out already and it has been over a month and i haven't receive nothing yet then when i checked my account to pay my bill i noticed that it was posted to my account as if i had made a payment

Bad customer service from Corpus Christi
June 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing and account

(2 / 5)

  Their system sucks! I can not even pay my bill online.
It is a disaster since they decided to issue new account numbers without properly updated the system.
I am ready to go back with Reliant or any other co.better than this.

Dc from Houston
May 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


Stream Energy is a leading energy and connected life services provider and direct selling company. In March 2016, they received the “2016 Most Innovative Marketer of the Year Award” by the Energy Marketing Conference, which took place in Houston, TX this week. This award is given to an energy provider that makes notable strides in creating new programs, products, bundled services, and improved customer experiences.

Founded in 2005, the Dallas-based company's innovative use of direct selling revolutionized the energy industry, generating more than $8 billion in total revenue in 12 years and transforming it into one of the largest direct selling companies in the global energy market.

Stream's Connected Services (Energy Services, Wireless Services, Protective Services, and Home Services) work seamlessly together to fit customers' on-the-go lifestyles, keeping them connected, wherever they are. Stream Energy currently provides Energy Services in Texas, Georgia, Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Washington, D.C., and New York. All of Stream's other services are available nationwide.




Example Bill
loading...