We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power, Constellation, Spark Energy, TriEagle Energy and Texans Energy

This company sucks

(1.8 / 5)

  The prices might seem not too high as other companies....but they are not organized at all...the billing process it's horrible....customer service seem like they don't know what they are doing or they are all new....they take forever to answer emails back...they don't send paper bills....don't give you access to sing In online either...they start harassing you emailing you bills since you just signed up....among other bad things. I really regret choosing this company.

Mary
October 27th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not exactly good customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Really didn't have anything to bad to say about 4Change Energy until I ended my account due to moving. Ended my service on 10/24/15 and was supposed to see my returned deposit back at some point. Called today on 12/4/15 and was told they would START processing that return and it would be mailed in 6 weeks. No explanation was provided for why they didn't start processing the return when I ended my service. Seems like they just hold on to those deposits hoping customers will forget about it. For that reason I will try a different electricity provider next time. Customer service should be standard throughout the entire service process.

Brett from Galveston
December 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive pricing, poor customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Signed up on a variable plan with 4Chage energy in May 2014. Online account set up did not cause any issues. However, advertised rates are deceptive and misleading as they apparently don't include TDU charges which are approx 3.5~4C per KWH. The advertised rate when I signed up was $8.1c, the actual rate was $10.8c on the bill. This went to $11.5c, $13.1c and $13.4c in the next 3 months before I decided to cancel.
Cistomer service mentioned that the first month rate was a 'promotional' rate, however no information on what the expected rate would be after. The EFL also does not mention anything on a promo rate.
The historical pricing on the website at http://www.4changeenergy.com/historical-pricing has different rates that what shows up in the bill, so can't even use that as a basis of comparision.

In short, avoid as deceptive pricing practises with low teaser rate. Also be warned that the teaser rate only applies ofr the 1st billing cycle, not for 30 days. So, if you sign up Oct 1 and the billing cycle is Oct 6, you get the low rate for 6 days!

Sanjay from Allen
October 3rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They suck

(1.6 / 5)

  I found them offensive and discriminatory

DS M from Arlington
May 21st, 2019

Hi there, this is really concerning to us. We do apologize if you found us to be offensive, and frankly, we are unsure of how. We would love for you to call us right away and let us know in more detail of your experience and how we can be a better energy company for you.

4Change Energy Responds July 10th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fooled me once

(1.6 / 5)

  Price was great the 1st year. No chance to renew at same price. Price went up by almost 50%. Called and let them know that the person that recommended 4 Change for to renew at the same rate but we couldn't. So they offered us 8.5 which was great til we got the 1st bill. The other charges actually brought the cost to over 12 cents per kW. We ask them twice before the contract went into effect to send us the information for our contract pricing but never received it. When I looked at the bill it actually showed the program we were on but that clearly showed the pricing at a higher rate than even the original pricing offered but by not telling us the plan we were actually getting they fooled us into another year at a price that is one of the highest around. It will be worth the extra charges to cancel our contract before year end. No hidden charges....Right!!

Foolmeonce from Killeen
November 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unhappy

(1.6 / 5)

  My electric bill has doubled

Ron from Burleson
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not me but you

(1.6 / 5)

  For the second time I been put on auto pay and never applied for it.
In stead of just a transfer of account address you cancelled service at old addressee and put me down for a new contract. for regular bill month to month You want more every month than my highest bill has been.

Bad from Houston
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not upfront with their charges.

(1.6 / 5)

  Our first year was fine. Rates up the next year and cost doubled. On the price rates it says TDU charges are included ( which they were the first year), but if you don't read the actual contract, you will get a big surprise with your bill. $90.00 TDU charge. Not upfront with this. When I called and complained, they took me to the contract. I think it's very sneaky. And now I am locked into a one year contract.

Not upfront with charges! from Jacksonville
June 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service sucks

(1.6 / 5)

  They do not answer phones. They only give standard response to emails "we received your email".

Lousy customer service from Houston
March 7th, 2018

Hey there! We're sorry that we seem to keep missing you. Sometimes we get a large volume of calls and emails and things get a little crazy. We apologize for the inconvenience and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to improve our customer experience each day!

4Change Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

incapable and inefficient costumer service

(1.6 / 5)

  I bough a new house after 4 months of 12-months contract. I call 4Change to switch service to a new address, spend one hour talking to agent and he told me it's done. Next day I called them again with a question. Turned out they did not switch it. Moreover, this time they said that terms of the contract could not be continued at my new address, even though I moved within a block. I said OK if you cannot provide the contract please terminate it now without cancellation fee. They were not able to do it either. I asked them at least send me email confirming that they cannot switch the contract to the new address. The manager Guillermo told me that they are not able send emails (they asked my email address few times during conversation). Than I asked him about his last name he said that he cannot provide it either. Management is incapable and inefficient.

Anna from Houston
October 6th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Useless back office and powerless operators to make any change

(1.6 / 5)

  Applied on the 9th to have my power turned on for the 13th, The 13th I get a email saying they need more documentation to prove I am the owner . Since the last renters left a bill. sent the docs that day, no reply back, its the 17th and the power is still not on, Not reply for their back office , 2 email and a fax, the front office operators are powerless and cant change anything, They blamed it on Oncore holding it,, I call on Oncore , They tell me that have not received anything from 4change to release the hold. Now my move has been put on hold, because the back office wont reply or is just completely useless . Great way to treat your veterans ( DON'T USE THEM ) ,

kevin from Killeen
September 17th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Irresponsible Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  They'll be the greatest thing since sliced bread, until you need their customer service to resolve something. Good luck then.
I canceled my 12 month contract TWO business days after signing up, contracts provide 3 business days to cancel. Now, less than two weeks later I'm being charge for 12 months early termination fee - FOR A LEGALLY CANCELED CONTRACT! I've called and called, only to be left on hold or sent to a voicemail... I've sent emails to the "service" email, nothing in reply. AVOID THIS COMPANY.

Richard from The Colony
March 31st, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They just want your security deposit of $300!

(1.4 / 5)

  Beware! After having service at my home for almost 20 yrs, I decided to see if there was a better option out there. Talk about swimming with sharks! My first leap and I end up with 4Change who wanted to charge me $300 deposit. REALLY! I haven't paid a deposit since I was in college and am not going to pay for months of service in advance for the gift of having this service provider. No thank you! Went with another provider who was slightly more on the plan cost but WAY nicer and easier to deal with..... Customer service at 4Change doesn't even know their own TOSA (Terms of Service Agreement) and mis-spoke to me several times in violation of their own policies. Beware and be warned.

Lea Steinmann from Friendswood
July 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They have changed

(1.4 / 5)

  The rates now are way too high. I originally was paying about $67 a month for a 700sqft apartment. Once my term was up they offered me a new plan. Its nothing new now for me to pay $120-160 a month for a bill. Not to mention they once sent me a payment confirmation and said my payment had been applied to my account, but it never went through and without any notice, they shut my power off. When i calle din they apologized and we agreed i would not pay for reinstallation fees, however on the next bill they were there. I called in today to get my rate changed and the gentleman said the lowest he can do is $5 off per month. Scam. I'll switch. Go get free nights and weekends, 4change energy has gone down the toilet and theyre trying to take their customers with them.

Alyson from Dallas
January 26th, 2019

We're sorry to see you so frustrated. With each renewal, it's possible that we offer a different plan based on the trend of energy prices. We do our best to deliver some of the most affordable prices across the state. We're sorry if your renewal process was not what you expected and we apologize for the inconvenience.

4Change Energy Responds February 20th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

comparing old and new ...quite a difference...shocking!

(1.4 / 5)

  The lowest bill that I've gotten is higher than than the highest bill from my old electric company. I went on vacation three different times beginning (1). July 15,18 until August 1,18. (2). August 5,18 until August 27,18 . (3).September 24,18 until October 17,18. Each time I turned my thermostat to 80 degrees. Me being gone during these time periods reflected very little decrease in my monthly bill. I read and log my meter CLS almost everyday except when I'm away and I never turn my heater on at all because(I like it cold) ! My meter reading never conqueres with 4 Change Energy.??? I always knew my exact bill amount with old carrier. 4 Change Energy doesn't allow me to compare to verify if correct kilowatts were used. I have to blindly trust what they show to be correct. I always pay it but ....I haven't saved anything by swiching....which I regret. My contract is up in May. I will certainly swicth back if I can. Sorry, 4 Change Energy ...this contract didn't live up to the 6cents per kilowatt promised in conversation when I agreed to switch. Why doesn't your reading show what my meter does and why don't you print beginning and ending readings each month?? (I can't verify accuracy).

jan adkinson from Arlington
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pulled bait and switch

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for $.06/KWH from the TX power webpage after shopping but was ACTUALLY put into a plan where they charge x for first 100kwh, the x+y for 2nd kwh etc. No * that there is a catch.
So the rate is not constant. i didn't save the web page link so i can't "prove" what i signed for.

Joe Victim from Allen
November 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid 4Change by any means

(1.4 / 5)

  Their customer service is very bad and their bill collection is EXTREEMLY AGRESSIVE. I have been with this company for almost 2 years without missing single payment. At one time I was going through some difficult time and was not able to pay my bill on time. The next thing I know is that these EVILS sent me disconnection notice within 2 weeks. At that same time I did not also pay my gas bill but my gas company just added the balance to the next month bill and did not even charge me late fee whereas 4Change tried to put me in darkness just because payment was not received two weeks past due date. YOU NASTY EVILS, TRY TO BE A HUMAN.

Fanta from Round Rock
September 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy

(1.4 / 5)

  These people will not tell you that there is a switch hold at your new residence from a previous tenant until you realize that power has not been turned on. Here I am literally in the middle of moving in, wondering why it's so damned hot.. had to call up the actual energy dept and ask why. They said that a previous tenant has not paid their bill. Despite giving them My ssn and drivers license number, I still have to prove I'm not the prior tenant.this is screwed up.

Carlie from Houston
May 26th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad customer service and worse billing pratices!

(1.4 / 5)

  I put in an order with this company for a month, to try the company on for size. I had to call customer service to put the order in because of some issue about my address caused the online services to fail. I got a customer services rep that apparently is dyslexic. I had to argue with her about my apartment number multiple times and she still got it backwards on the service address. They turned on power to the wrong apartment anyway the Saturday I moved in. I looked online to verify the address and transfer of services and of course. It was showing the wrong address so I tried to call them. Their offices were closed. The best I could do was call Monday morning. I called on Monday morning and they told me "we will take care of this immediately" which in part, they did. They fixed my address, but to do that they canceled my services and reopened a new account - none of which was told to me. Because they had the wrong service address upon move in, my apartment complex charged me a $50 fee for not having services turned on when I moved in and the electricity charge of $26 for the two days I used the electric while it was not in my name. Then 4 Change Energy tried to charge me as well for electric that was used in a different apartment that I didn't even live in, nor did I request services for on top of electric for the month in my new apartment. I called them several times to get this straightened out. I've been hung up on, put on crazy hold times, had to endure rude and stupid people all while nothing has been fixed. I called again and they said because the electric was switched in the other (not mine) apartment the investigation was canceled. That was why I was being charged for the electric that was not mine. I told them to listen to the recording and they would see that I did not say the wrong address, their representative put in the wrong address. This has been going on since 8/23/14. It is now 10/02/14 and this issue is still not corrected. I had to pay all the fees and electric to my apartment complex and 4 Change Energy will not reimburse me. I gave up trying to get them to listen and just paid the fees. This company is apparently VERY SMALL and with very crappy customer service reps that do not know what they are doing. I do not recommend this horrible little scab of a company.

Jana from Houston
October 2nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not go with 4change

(1.4 / 5)

  I called 3 separate 4 change representatives and was lied to 3 times about the price, rates and fees. After being told three times that there was no monthly delivery fees fees I get charges over $60 plus a month on top of my usage charges in fees Do NOT go with this lying company they will lie and say whatever just to get you to sign a contract

Erod from Dallas
August 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad experience

(1.2 / 5)

  Bill was not constant ...rate was very high. Ask to make the change...customer service response was not proper.

Rajeev kumar from Pearland
September 23rd, 2019

Hey there Rajeev, we're sorry to hear you had a negative experience! We would love more information from you and to be sure we can take a look at your account to be sure you are on the correct plan. Please give us a call at (855) 784-2426.

4Change Energy Responds October 14th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They try their best to pull money out of cutomer

(1.2 / 5)

  I took monthly 1000 KWH plan. I used it for 6 months on my 2 bedroom apartment. Later I planned to move to my friends apartment. I requested for cancelling my service on mid of month. 4Change energy said I have to pay full charge of $96.96 for 10 days. On the last day of requested cancellation date i.e. 10th day, I requested for extending my service because my friends apartment was not ready. 4change energy energy sent me one more bill of $96.96 for 20 days.
Surprisingly, next week I got a third bill of $96.96 more. Talking to customer service, I came to know the agent whom I spoke to extended my service to date which was one day next to my cycle date. So I was asked to pay $96.96 for 1 day usage . After speaking to customer service agent again and explaining all that happened they gave a great discount of $20.
I requested for call recording .. they never gave..
some of the agents even dont listen to the problem and they start speaking about policies...

Umesh Pujari from Arlington
May 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer Service

(1.2 / 5)

  I called to order new service like the online plans,but representative was very rude and stated i will need to pay a deposit with any company i chose to use which is very untrue i have fairly good credit and never paid a deposit he didnt even disclose he was doing a credit check

Poor Customer Service from Houston
April 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Please NEVER try this company.... Please, listen to the advise!!!!!!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Just to use a few words, I moved from Chicago to Texas, I have been in diferent electricity companies... I HAVE NEVER EVER PAID this expensive 4 change energy charges, not even in Chicago. They deceive you with their different plans. I do not want you to work a whole week in your job, like me, just to pay money hungry people, it is not fair. By the way, in my experience, the best company, here in Texas is Amigo Energy.. I do not know if they are offering the same good rate I got at that time, but at least they will not deceive you.

Mred from Arlington
September 11th, 2018

Hey there, we're sorry to see this! We never mean to deceive any of our customers. We do our best to make sure customers are educated and read the EFL (Energy Facts Label) that is linked to each of our plans. They have info regarding all charges and costs when it comes to how you're billed for electricity. We're sorry if it may have been confusing and we appreciate you feedback as we work to be the best energy company we can be!

4Change Energy Responds October 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible billing problems

(1.2 / 5)

  We have been with this company for a few months now. We have received disconnection notices and fees every billing cycle. We paid our bills well within the dates due and had to show proof of payment with cancelled checks. The company deposited our checks but didn't know they did? We will be changing asap!

Leona Coen from Houston
May 12th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Promos & Billing Disaster!!!

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed with 4change looking for a better rate on Feb/2014. I did mo to mo to try them out at a rate of $0.074/kwh. Average rate/kwh: 1st bill $0.076, 2nd $0.084, 3rd $0.113 & thereafter more than $0.123 until I was paying $0.129 for peek summer mos. At the end of Oct I decided to give them another chance & signed up for a 6mo promo at $0.083 for ave. usage of 1000kwh. Nov. bill rolls around at a rate of $0.101/kwh plus a $19.95 disconnect fee for non payment. I enrolled in their auto pay so naturally I call to find out what went wrong. Turns out their system bumps out the auto pay whenever there's a change on the acct. So I get that charge removed & an additional $20 credit for the usage overcharge which brought the rate down to $0.0878/kwh on 1540 kwh of usage. When I questioned why I was still not getting the promo rate, I was told that it was based on 1000kwh of usage after that the rate would be higher. Long story short, I've never seen the promo rate on my bill & ended up paying up to $0.092/kwh on my January bill for 3097 usage hrs. I also had another disc fee removed in Dec because there had been changes to my acct in Nov.
In April 2015 when the weather got warmer, I was anxious to see what my bill would look like. I was able to keep my usage at 939 kwh that mo. When my bill got in, I was surprised to see that it was for $96.87 w/ ave. rate of $0.103/kwh!!! I called cust. service & this time I was told that no credits could be made to my acct since I did not reach the 1000kwh min. usage. So basically the only way I could see the promo rate of $0.083/kwh was if I was able to use 1000kwh and maybe just a tad over that but I will never know. My contract is finally up and I'm so done dealing with all this nonsense!!!

Emma from Axtell
May 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST EVER

(1.2 / 5)

  I'll make this as short as possible. Everything started out fine until one month they "forgot" to bill me, I'll called them and told them that I want to get this taken care of asap so that I don't end up getting double billed and they said they'd look into and call me within 24hrs. Well I got no call from them so I called back a few days later was told the exact same thing and they still never called me back! So then FOUR WHOLE MONTHS later they try and charge me for the skipped month!!! I am obviously upset because I was doing THEIR job by calling them and trying to correct the issue myself (so mugh for me trying to do the right thing) so when I called to ask how they were going to help fix their mistake they tell me they can give me a few days but that's it. I explain to them that THEY made a mistake and are now trying to pass the mistake onto the customer and that they should at least give me a 50$ credit or something!!! The guy says he can't do anything so I ask for a manager and I get to speak to IVAN (totally rude, incompetent and clearly has no idea the values behind "customer service") he tells me that he knows it's their fault and mistake but they can't help give me a credit and then he insults me by saying "you used the energy and you think that we should pay for it? That does not seem like a solution" so I ask him "if you were in my shoes does this seem acceptable?" And he said "no"!!!!! So he KNOWS this isn't right but chooses to fuck over the customer! We talked for an hour and he refused to do anything to fix thier mistake even though I know these calls are recorded and he could listen to the one where I had previously called and said that I did NOT want to get double charged and they think that it was okay to charge me FOUR months later!!!! I will be sure to contact their corporate office, write as many bad reviews and warn anyone even considering such a awful company that admits even if they make a mistake, YOU will be the one taking responsibility for their screw up! I would rather pay the most expensive price for an energy company with amazing customer service than even consider using this pathetic excuse for a company. Better yet, I'd rather have no energy company if this was the last one on earth. Wish I had the recording for everyone to hear/witness what I dealt with!

Corrine from Arlington
May 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

IN a nutshell....

(1.2 / 5)

  Long story short: These people are thieves with license !
The whole terms and conditions and their policy is made on stealing from you !

Elin from Dallas
March 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highly Disappointed

(1.2 / 5)

  This company will quote you one rate and charge you another. Then they will double charge you and call it charity donation. This company should not be in business here in TX they are a disappoint. When you try to discuss this with them they ask you to prove to them what they advertise. They don't understand what fix is although they advertise it. They promised me an 8.8fix but they charged me a 9.7 rate and they were not willing to change it at all or hear me out.

Margarita Santana from Houston
December 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I do not recommend.

(1 / 5)

  This is the absolute worst electric company I have ever had in my entire life. I have never had the highest bills that I have had with them. They send you an email to renew your service and it's just one little click of a button and you're screwed. You can't take it back they don't care. I tried they have horrible customer service. They know that they're wrong my contract isn't even up yet and I'm signed on for another 2 years and they're charging me almost $400 to get out of their service at almost 10 cents a kilowatt hour. The only way to get out of the 2 year contract that I did not sign is to re sign for another 2 years how stupid.

Not happening. from Fort Worth
September 27th, 2019

Hi there, thanks for writing us. We're sorry if you weren't ready to renew with us! We do our best to offer our customers the best price year-to-year and we apologize if you were not intending to renew. Feel free to give us a call at (855) 784-2426 and we can take a look at your account and at least be sure your plan is the correct one for your usage.

4Change Energy Responds October 14th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company AVOID

(1 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, prices are high, billing practices are a joke. Dropped them as soon as the contract was up. When I changed to them my bill nearly doubled.

Jason from Edinburg
July 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again

(1 / 5)

  This company may be cheap, but its because their customer service sucks. They are not likely to work with you. If you need help from outside sources, they dont work with 4Change because of hard they are to deal with

Rdh from Baytown
July 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Look elsewhere for better customer service and more competitive rates for your utility service

(1 / 5)

  I have had a poor overall customer service experience - and have been disappointed by my overall experience - with 4Change Energy.

RM from Dallas
July 2nd, 2019

Hey there, we're sorry to see you so disappointed! We do apologize for your experience and would love to know more as to how we can provide a 5 star service for you.

4Change Energy Responds July 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

tired of the hassle

(1 / 5)

  The customer service sucks every time my bill is ready i have to contact you people to get a new pass word I should get a e-mail that my bill is ready and just click on the prompt and pay my bill but no I have to contact you people after a lenghtly time and a difficalt time i finally get my bill paid this will be my last contract with you people

john groenewold from Cypress
March 21st, 2019

Hi John, we're sorry to see you so dissatisfied. We appreciate the feedback as we work towards being the best energy company we can be for our customers. We wish you a wonderful week.

4Change Energy Responds April 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again

(1 / 5)

  They r so hard to deal with. If you make a payment arrangement, no where on their website does it show that arrangement. So if you pay your bill believing that you are paying the arraignment amount, you are wrong. At no time do they even give a courtesy letter, email or call about the arrangement. People get busy, things that are written doen get lost. So a friendly remind would be nice. If you even need 1 day after the disconnect, you wont get it.

Rharrell from Baytown
February 15th, 2019

Thanks for writing us. Our payment arrangements are on a case by case basis and mainly go through our customer support center. We understand how it can be frustrating to not see that reflect in your account. Thanks for leaving your feedback and thank you for choosing 4Change as your energy provider.

4Change Energy Responds February 20th, 2019

Oh i will not be a customer for much longer. I am making sure to tell everyone i know that your company is not consumer friendly

Rharrell Replies February 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4Change Energy - Worst Company -

(1 / 5)

  This company shut the power off to my elder parents due to what they show as $98.53 that was due. I was able to send them a screen shot that showed that amount was taken out.

When you call in they could care less. Jose Cannon the supervisor tried to get it corrected, but you can tell this company has poor procedures in place.

Jeff Oldham from Houston
February 7th, 2019

Hi Jeff, thank you for your feedback. We never purposefully shut off power without indication of nonpayment, we're sorry to hear it was a personal situation. If you would like to send us an email at 4changeenergy@gmail.com with the account number and a phone number we would be happy to take a look with one of our supervisors.

4Change Energy Responds March 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Expensive. Expensive billing pattern

(1 / 5)

  I enrolled to 9.3 cents plan for 12 months and the first month they charged me $93 for 867KWs. Next month I was charged $196 for 1133 KWs.
Looking at the plan I understood they have a slab of $93 for every 1000 KWs and hence I was charged $93 for 133 KWs used.
The app is so intelligently designed such that it do not display current cycle's usage. you have to login online every time to check your usage . However online page do not show your usage details immediately. It takes 4 days to show usage details of yesterday. Hence you cannot plan your usage to reduce your bill which will led to under or over use of power.
It also has a contract breakage fees of $20. And this is not $20 overall but $20 X no.of remaining months on contract.

Umesh Pujari from Arlington
January 23rd, 2019

Hi Umesh, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy with your plan. We apologize if our EFL and contract was confusing when signing up. We will take your feedback into consideration going forward.

4Change Energy Responds February 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

you listen,but you don't hear

(1 / 5)

  Why don't you give customers accurate meter readings so they can confirm their meter readings with yours. It doesn't leave us any way to validate or confirm your truth to ours. Begining reading and ending for each usage period. You just say ....here, this what you used.
This is how much we're taking from your bank...no need to verify...just pay it!
I feel vulnerable with no means to verify you!??

jan adkinson from Arlington
December 22nd, 2018

Hey there Jan, you can always call your local TDU and have them read your meter to confirm that what's on your bill is correct. We charge customer based on their usage and that meters controlled by the TDUs provide. We never charge for more or less usage, and it's important for us to be accurate. We apologize if there was any confusion here and we're sorry to see you frustrated. Thank you for choosing 4Change Energy as your energy provider.

4Change Energy Responds February 20th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You SUCK.

(1 / 5)

  I started to look for a new electric provider in June and found 4change and it looked like their rates were good so I signed up the morning of 06/06/2018. After finding a better company that same day I tried to call and cancel but no one took my call so I sent 2 emails and said cancel my request. That same day 06/06/2018 I signed up with Axon energy. I never got a bill from 4change in the mail or by email. I was very surprised when I got a bill from Convergent outsourcing, a collection agency that claimed I owned them $21.03 and a additional amount of $47.00. I disputed this with convergent and was sent a second letter that said it was a valid debt so I will send another letter to them and dispute this fraud. I have called 4change at 855-784-2426 more than 10 times and always get a person in Honduras. They have no idea what is going on and when I ask to speak to someone in the U.S they tell me someone will call me. I am still waiting for that call. I don't think 4change has any employees in the U.S. I was told they only have manager's in Dallas. They have a P.O box in Dallas but no brick and mortar building. 4change energy is a scam and I want to warn people to stay away from them. They have 68 Customer Complaints with the BBB and a one star rating. I also believe that Convergent outsourcing is a scam and a fraud with over 780 complaint's with the BBB. I will also file a complaint with the BBB over what I consider a scam with both 4change and Convergent

Mark from Roanoke
November 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for this service in July I paid my bill in August come to find out it was for the wrong apartment same address just different apartment so I received the email stating that there is sorry that Im leaving them so I had to call. The representative that I spoke with informed me that that was an automated mistake then come September comes and my bill is now my bill sky rockets to $321. So I call and I speak to another representative he informed me that the previous representative did not remove that cancellation fee of $200 from the previous conversation moving forward October comes I get another bill now my bill is 431 so I c so I called and I speak to another representative he informed me that the previous representative did not remove that cancellation fee of $200 from the previous conversations moving forward October comes I get a Nother bill now my bill is for $431. The representative that I called was very rude told me that customers sometimes do make mistakes as far as giving the wrong apartment number I literally had to go back-and-forth with this representative about who was incorrect and who was right. Buy this time I am very frustrated and upset so she gets back on the phone to tell me that the mistake was on their end I have yet to pay a bill with for your change energy because of their mistakes in there lack of communication! This has been the worst experience with an electrical company that I have ever experience I would not recommend this service to anybody if the representatives are going to point the finger at the customer before going a through investigation thats horrible customer service. When I originally got my first bill the balance was for $50 I paid that not knowing that it went to a completely different apartment same address different apartment number I have to ask the representative so its possible for you to allow me to have service in the same apartment complex at two different apartments Ive never heard of that. I only paid one bill that was for the month of August I am now just putting my second bill due to their incompetence .

Angelique baulding from Houston
November 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4Change Energy Lied To Me

(1 / 5)

  Year 1 experience: I inadvertently signed up for a plan which was either $71.21/month or $142.42/month regardless of how much electricity I used. It ended costing me approximately $400 more for the year than the previous year.
Year 2 experience: I renewed under a different plan which was actual use and my bills have been nearly as much as the previous year. I will not renew with 4Change Energy.

Steve from Plano
September 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely frustrating

(1 / 5)

  This company has made every month frustrating when it came time to pay my bill. Each month I was late, and had to pay a late fee. Even when I would try to pay early it wouldnt take my payment. When I decided to cancel ( I had a set rate of 77 a month) they charged me
$224 for my last bill e en though I wasnt in the apartment that the bill was under. But they didnt have any fees if I canceled early. From day one it has been a headache.

Go any where else.... from San Angelo
July 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Forced to use credit card to pay bill

(1 / 5)

  Have had electric service with many companies over 40 years. I'm someone with perfect credit and always pay my bills on time. Was one day late however, with payment to 4change. I always use online bank ACH payments. I was forced to use a credit card to make a payment. Customer rep. said a manager would call me back. Never heard from anyone. Will cancel my service. I don't see how this could be legal!

Very dissatisfied from Dallas
May 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(1 / 5)

  I had a unpaid bill I was going to pay thay took the money out of my account with out permission and cause me to lose my apartment and said thay would only return 110 dollars of it if I could provide I wasn't at the apartment anymore once I mailed the evidence still never received payment this place will take your money be careful

Jerry Geter from Arlington
April 5th, 2018

Hi Jerry, we're very sorry to hear this. This is not the way we like to do business. Please give us a call, we would love to chat.

4Change Energy Responds April 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't get stuck with expensive electricity; Don't go with 4 Change Energy!

(1 / 5)

  It seems like low electricity prices, but it's not! The terms are complicated. Wait til the bill comes! What a shock! They do not explain the complicated billing system. You may think you are getting a good rate, but only if you use a certain amount of electricity, that is not explained upfront. Not only that; but if you call their "customer service", you will speak to someone outside the United States, who probably doesn't know much English. So you don't get an explanation and you can't complain. The only way out is to pay $20 a month for the remaining months on your "contract". What a rip off!

4 Change Energy is a Rip-Off! from Dallas
February 26th, 2018

Hi there, we're sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction! We never meant to deceive or trick you when signing up for our plans, that's just not the way we want to get people loving their service. We appreciate the feedback and will surely take it into account as we work each day to be the best that we can be.

4Change Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest Advertising for Renewal of Contract

(1 / 5)

  I have been a customer for well over 3 years. My bill sky rocketed. I called to see why. The rate I was paying went up without notice. I resigned my contract early to keep the same rate I was paying. The rate went up as if I had not signed up early. Customer service told me that I needed to find the advertisement for renewing my contract early as if it wasn't true. I wouldn't have made any of this stuff up, so why couldn't they look up their own advertisement? Answer: Because I was deceived.

Decline Heard from Wharton
October 12th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1 / 5)

  4Change Energy is price gouging their customers in Houston TX (during the Hurricane) I renewed my plan after getting a bill double the price I was Previously paying now the new bill comes and it is still double the cost I went from $167.00 to $ 340.00! Awful customer service they have no record of me calling now I have a new issue to deal with DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!

Ed Morales from Pearland
August 31st, 2017

All of us at 4Change are deeply concerned for all our customers affected by Harvey. We have family members who have lost property and are currently displaced. We understand that your electricity bill is only one of MANY things you have to worry about right now, so we don't want it to be an added stress. We have been working with customers on an individual basis to mitigate the impact that 4Change has on an already difficult time. Please give us a call and we'll do everything we can to help.

4Change Energy Responds September 11th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Trust Renewal Programs

(1 / 5)

  I initially liked the first year, get you hooked program. Then they changed up the plan and raised the prices and added TXU transmission fees that were excessive and almost equal to the total amount of the bill. I received emails telling me my plan was going to expire so "sign up now". I did but they did not receive my email, or say they didn't. Every time I responded to their emails it was not registered as received by them. Frustrated I finally called and was told the new plan involved a six dollar increase per tier. Deciding that was a reasonable increase I agreed to renew. I was told that was the only difference between the plan I had last year. NOT SO!! Now I will either pay them this con job increase for transmission fees or pay a cancellation fee. Guess who's searching for a new plan?? Beware of this company.

Senior Citizen Conned from Euless
July 28th, 2017

We apologize for the confusion. It sounds like there may have been some miscommunication. If you send an email with your account # to service@4changeenergy.com we'd love another chance to talk about your plan and your options.

4Change Energy Responds September 11th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sitting in the dark...

(1 / 5)

  I called to set up new service, then called back to cancel the work order, as my husband had found another electric provider. We moved in last night, and the power was working fine through our other provider. 4 Change sent in a request to SHUT OFF my power to Oncor, even though it shouldn't have been active through them to begin with. Instead of cancelling the work order, they put in a move out order. Now I'm sitting in the dark because Oncor can't do anything until my new providers work order reprocesses. I'm 7 months pregnant, have a sick 2 year old, and it's the middle of July in Texas. I am not impressed.

Misty from Fort Worth
July 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from this scam

(1 / 5)

  Stay far away from this company. They are a complete scam and have the worst customer service ever. If you request a quote and then decide to not go with them they will still setup service and then cut your service off. After 3 days of telling them I wanted nothing thing to do with their company or service via email and talking to customer service after being on hold for 20+ minutes, they told me multiple times my service was cancelled and would not be processed. Guess what they still went through and setup service then cancelled where my electricity was shut off. This company is a fraud and needs to be shut down. Do the smart thing and stay away from them!!!

Britt from Spring
June 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verbally quoted one price and charged another

(1 / 5)

  I have used a lot of electric companies and have never had an experience like this. I always use the power to choose website and have become fairly knowledable of how it works. I selected 4change energy even though it had several neg reviews (mistake 1). I talked with them over the phone, felt comfortable and got a complete breakdown of their pricing- I have detailed notes on how much my bill would be for each 1000 kwh used. 0-1000 47 plus taxes, 1001-2000 94 plus taxes and then 2001 12.9 per kwh. The first couple of months were fine but then my bill was much higher than it should have been I called and they said I was not correct and that those were not the charges- they didn't know where i got those amounts. That infact it was anything over 1000 was 12.9 per kWh Somehow though my notes matched exactly what my bill would have been with the correct pricing, charges and taxes- how would i have come up with that number if they hadn't given it to me? Mistake two when they sent me my email for signing up it gave averages of what the charges would be not a breakdown of the plan. You have to go to their website and click on the plan link and it pulls up details- i didn't do this, i only took their verbal explanation. i never write reviews but this just was not right and felt i needed to let others know. hope this makes sense.

Lorin from Fort Worth
May 19th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Charges are highest

(1 / 5)

  When you compare bills
Everytime bill + TDU delivery charges around 30$ + DNP notice 19.95$ + Late Penalty 5.68$ = i think every bill i am paying 55$ approximate extra on top of my bill.
Regardless you pay bill on time or not it will be charged for any reason

BG from Houston
April 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disconnection notice and Penalty

(1 / 5)

  Most Horrible company.
I have never received regular bill but only they can email is Disconnection Notice bill with Penalty every time with 20$ disconnection letter + 5$ penalty for late payment.
I also requested to paper bill at home so i can avoid DNP charges. Result is same instead of sending regular paper bill, I only received Dis connection notice at home with penalty.
I talk to customer service several time and they said to check online to avoid penalty. They don't know why i am not getting regular bill.
Do not sign up, compare to other their charges are highest in the world.

BG from Houston
April 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

frustrating experience, which it's not even possible to end!

(1 / 5)

  I bought General Saver 12 Plan, and several months later I bought another house in the same block. I asked 4Change to transfer service, but they told me it's impossible. I asked to cancel service, but I was told it was also impossible. I spend hours trying to solve this by phone, but every person I talked while again and again asked me all the possible questions to identify me, but was not able to solve this simple problem.
At the end, I was offered to keep my service at the house where I do not live. No other option.

Now the current bill I have (I would love to attach here but there is no attachment function) is a joke:
Energy charge is $4.80 (as I mentioned we moved out)
Total Charges $143.77
When I try to call 4Change to discuss this bill I was put on 20 min hold twice (we appreciate your time bla-bla-bla), and as soon as I hear the operator they disconnect me. Frustrating experience!

Anna from Houston
January 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Company: Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  Customer service is terrible. Refuses to send paper bills. After we repeatedly asked and were told our bill would stop coming via email, no bill arrived in the mail or email. Our power was cut off without notice while we where on vacation. Cost us hundreds of dollars in lost food and refrigeration repair. Filed a formal complaint with the company and was ignored for months. After I called repeatedly, they assured me they would return my call with a verdict for damages but never did. Still trying to resolve the matter. The only reason I gave one star is because 0 isn't an option. My advice is that you stick with a reputable company that cares about their customers.

Dissatisfied Customer from Dallas
November 28th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are an absolute nightmare

(1 / 5)

  I've been with this company for going on 3 years now. The first two years were wonderful, this years has been aweful. I asked them a hand full of different times to be taken off of the ez pay method. Two-three months later I'm put back on WITHOUT my consent. They took out a $300 payment TWO WEEKS EARLY so I was left with absolutely no money. they claimed they canceled the payment, but it never made it back to my account. NOW they are claiming they never got it. I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone. And I cannot wait for my contract to be up. I'm FED UP.

Ms. Jordan Akers from Cleburne
October 17th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer BEWARE!

(1 / 5)

  I have had this service for a few months. This company NEVER honors their agreements. They promised to adjust the billing errors on my invoice...Never did....Instead they issued me a disconnection notice. The Represenative stated that customers MUST pay invoice in full in the amount as stated and later dispute discrepancy charges. (WOW) If invoices not paid in full as stated, electricity will be disconnected, additional fees charged for reconnection..etc. I would NEVER recommend this company. It has been months, I have yet to have the error billing charges reversed. Not to mention that I am in a 1 year contract and 4changeenergy will not let me out of due to their poor billing practices.

Cornett from Humble
October 11th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch routine

(1 / 5)

  I tries to sign up for Budget Saver 12 @ 6.1c 2000 kwh. This was advertised rate on this website, but it would accept my information. The online chat rep told me to contact 4change directly and gave me the number. I spoke to someone called Rafael, and told him this is the plan I wanted. I reiterated it to home several times on the phone. In my follow-up email, I see the signed me up for more expensive plan Generous Saver 12. Buyer Beware!!!!

Paulsur from Plan. TX>
September 12th, 2016

Paulsur, We're so sorry for the confusion. Please send an email to tamara.channel@4changeenergy.com. Include your account number and put "TER Review" in the subject line. We'll have our priority response team get in touch and get you on the right plan.

4Change Energy Responds September 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY!!! ABSOLUTELY AWFUL COMPANY!!!

(1 / 5)

  I cannot even put into proper words how terrible this company and its service actually is! Please do yourself a favor and find another electricity provider!!!! Our bill was ALWAYS HIGH even with having our meter checked by CenterPoint, in addition to long hold times every time you call. I'll also say that when I cancelled this account for our move out they DID NOT CANCEL IT and so I was still being charged....then after the fact I paid the balance just to get them off my back and not reported onto my credit.... only to have them come back to me nearly a YEAR LATER to tell me I still owe them over $150!!!!! I am literally on the phone with them right now waiting for a manager to come on the line to assist me with pulling my recorded call from last year stating that my account is well and paid in FULL!!! I am beyond angry at this point, there are no words to describe how horrible this company truly is!

STAY AWAY!!!

KNAR HENRY from HOUSTON
June 16th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I just called to order new electricity service and the customer service is horrible. it took so long to find the basic EFL sheets... even i as new customer found this EFL sheet less than 30 sec.... and she keeps saying that they have different websites to find this EFL and i looked up all the EFL online and there is only one EFL... so it doesn't make sense... I just had a simple question asking Budget Saver 12 EFL says 59 per month so, my question was to ask if there's any other additional charge on the bill in total... if i use less than 1000kwh... this is company is WOW.

Eusun from Han
May 19th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FIND ANOTHER COMPANY!!!! HORRIBLE!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I will not go with this company in the future once my contract is up. I do not like the customer service I've had to deal with when I call the number 855-784-2426 to deal with automatic payments not working. Ever since their system "upgrade" nothing has worked. I received a disconnection notice and have tried talking to an airhead at their customer service dept. I did not like the condescending manor in which I was spoken to and the fact that I asked for a supervisor and never got to talk to. Also, I will make sure that everyone I know will shop around for another energy company due to customer service, billing, and overall failure.

Anonymous from Round Rock
March 17th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive marketing

(1 / 5)

  Very misleading advertising. What looked like the lowest available rate turned out to be the highest. Advertised price of 8.3c claimed to include "all recurring TDU charges". Customer service verified over the phone that this meant all TDU charges, however, the real rate for service turned out to be 8.3c plus 3.4c "TDU pass-through charges" leading to an actual rate of 11.7 c. The fact that customer service did not explain the pass-through charges when specifically asked prior to selecting the service left the impression of having been intentionally mislead.

E Fleck from Bedford
October 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pathetic Customer Service Experience

(1 / 5)

  I am distraught to say the least, I had to relocate to my home country as my project got over and my company asked me to move back. I spoke to customer service department several times, sent them the official document for my relocation from USA and got assurance that i will not be charged the early termination fees but to my surprise, they just took the money out of my account with out my knowledge. This is extremely poor customer service, not happy even with rates that i was charged by them as it was not what i expected it to be. So, I am totally disappointed with their service and will not recommend them to anyone.

Mahesh from Houston
June 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from these crooks

(1 / 5)

  My 78 yo mother, that just lost her husband, that has dementia is being screwed over by this company. They have NO moral standard, they're trying to charge 140 in fees to someone living on SS income, they raised the rate she pays from 8.3 to 12.9 without anyone contacting me, they can't even get a supervisor on line to talk to me about it. They are dishonest crooks. Use anyone but these thieves ...

Dan Ross from Granbury
May 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cannot get worse!

(1 / 5)

  Had errors in there billing cycle & wasn't notified of the error because they never corrected my email address with the 4 phone calls I have had with them to fix it. Was charged twice in one month & that comes out to 200 dollars when my bills have been around 60-70 a month. Offered no sort of help & didn't correct anything when they made a mistake! Small bit company who doesn't understand proper customer service when they have made mistakes & it affects your hard earned money!

Taylor Baumberger from Fort Worth
February 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Santa Rosas

(1 / 5)

  Worst Service and 4Changes deceives with 25$ which they do not credit. I have called them 3 times and emailed and every time they say you will get credit in the next billing service and never credited finally. Finallly I decided to switch other providers. DO NOT TRUST 4CHANGE promo!!!

Naga from Iriving
February 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

(1 / 5)

  If there were negative light bulbs (stars) to select I would select a -infinity. I have been with this company for 7 months. With it being hectic during the move, I chose them because of the charity and decent rate. However, I guess I did not read up on the fact that this electric company does not offer the basic stuff with their service such as a paper bill, weekly usage updates or decent customer service. I guess I also didn't read over their excessive fee schedule close enough either. Go with another company and save yourself the headache and money.

Michelle from Fort Worth
December 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WARNING!!!WORST PROVIDER I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I never rate companies but felt I needed to warn people about this one. I signed up for a plan back in July. I received an initial welcome email saying that they were processing my order, and then a second welcome email a day or so later stating my service was active and included my contract plan documents. Come to find out I was dis enrolled due to an "application error" and just put into a month-to-month plan at a much higher rate without ever being emailed or notified in any way of this change. After multiple calls and emails, I have been told that they cannot backdate my service on the plan I was welcomed into, and that they will not issue me a credit for the difference in rate that I was told I had and what I was actually receiving. The "manager" i spoke to agreed with me that i should have been notified but was rude and offered not solution or reimbursement! They will definitely not be getting my or my families future business, and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you stay away from this company as well if you value the money you work hard for.

John from North Dallas
September 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER

(1 / 5)

  I called and "Jose" was the customer service representative. He only repeated what is in my bill. He did not help AT ALL! I request to talk to a manager and he said no one is available. I turn off my A/C, turn off lights, only use those at night and my bill is TOO TOO HIGH. Also, they are charging me a rate so high that is not even in the comparable rates online.

Aura from Katy
September 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Off

(1 / 5)

  This company passes TDU charges on to you which in effect raises the KWH charge by about 5 cent per KWH. The advertised rate is very MISLEADING! Do Not Use! You will end up paying much more than you expect!!!!

SUZANNE from FORT WORTH
September 11th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE

(1 / 5)

  I never give reviews for companies and after dealing with this company I feel obligated. I have been robbed. I signed up for a 6 month contract at 0.08$ per KWH. I have been paying almost 0.14$ per KWH for the past 4 months. I am beyond furious with this company and have given up on speaking with their customer service. I have paid almost $100 more every month than I should have been paying and every time I call them they blame it on Centerpoint and the flexible TDU delivery charges. No one here can give me a straight answer, and they WILL NOT refund me any money. I have ended my contract short, even though I know I am going to have to pay termination fees for ending the contract early. This company should NOT be in business. Worst company I have ever dealt with.

LS from Houston
January 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not choose them

(1 / 5)

  WORSE COMPANY EVER! Do not use them. They say they will donate to a charity but what they won't tell you is that they will charge you extra each month and that is the money they will use to donate. Stay away from this company. They will charge you Taxable TDU Delivery Charges where some companies include those charges in Energy Charge (2977 kWh x $0.06577). That extra charge is what you will donate. This extra charge will be about an extra 100.00 a month. I went ahead and paid the cancellation fee because I came out saving in the long run. They will also charge up my contract was 8.8 fix so they charged me 9.0 and anything over 1000 they charge me 9.7. When I spoke the the sales person it was just 8.8 fix. WORSE COMPANY EVER. I went back to Startex. with 8.9.

Alen from Houston
December 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not even think about it

(1 / 5)

  1.Their low rates are nothing but a lie. They are just their charges, for example you sign up for a fixed rate 7.7 c/kwh but it`s not the total charge, they add 6-7 cents TDU delivery charge and send you a bill for 14-15c/kwh. They just fool you with their low rates. But it`s a huge LIE.
2.If you want to receive a normal paper bill they charge you ! They send you and email and if you forget to pay they charge you more than $35.
3.The low rates are JUST for new customers, if you sign up with them and want to renew, the prices are so high for current customers.
4.Customer service is awful ,some of them are so rude and there is nothing but irresponsibility and negligence

Armin from Dallas
December 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues and NOTHING ELSE

(1 / 5)

  LOCKED myself in a 6-month FIXED-rate. I always use between 500-1000.
1st bill: 10.70/kwh 567 kwh usage
2nd bill: 11.9/kwh 534 kwh usage
3rd bill: 13.19/kwh 514 kwh usage

Someone just let me know what kinda FIXED-RATE is that? I was with TXU and for 24 months and all 24 bills was 10.9/kwh. I have been told not to do business with 4change. But I would defiantly dispute these rates and file a complaint with TCU of TX.

Robert from Plano
November 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bet you can`t find even ONE good rating

(1 / 5)

  You wanna save money on your first bill? OK then, just find ONE customer who is pleased with this company and I will give you $500 on your first bill. They cheat, they lie.There is no one over there to talk to. No customer service. I was with them for 6 months and sued them 3 times due to my billing issues and every time I was right. THEY CHEAT

Jerry from Dallas
November 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Headache

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever

Max from Richardson
September 2nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible,Horrible and HORRIBLE

(1 / 5)

  From the day i signed on with 4Change, I have been nothing but frustrated. It is absolutely impossible to speak to a representative in person, they don`t even have a customer service. I wish I could give them zero star. I don`t like to call them thief or criminal,nothing but lies, ignorance and lots of billing issues. They are HORRIBLE. STAY AWAY FROM THEM if you wanna save your money and time.
Here are lots of other reviews, you can not even find one good review
http://www.yellowpages.com/irving-tx/mip/4change-energy-476107975

Alex from Dallas
August 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions