We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power, Constellation, Spark Energy, TriEagle Energy and Texans Energy

ChangeEnergy What A Huge Dissapointment!

(2.8 / 5)

  I had Frontier Utilities who was charging me $200 per month for a 700SF apartment when it is empty for 2 to 3 weeks out of the month. Paid penalty of over $200 to get out of contract, and signed for 4ChangeEnergy. They are only charging $96.00. My problem, I never received bill, so I called to make payment. Well, that was Mission Impossible; I was on hold for so long, and was not able to make the payment. It is a new account and it seems that company has issues with their platform. This is nuts, that I can't go on line, create my account and pay. Sounds simple. Why can a company not have an efficient way to collect payment in this day, and age?

MCM from Dallas
February 8th, 2019

Hey there, thank you for choosing 4Change Energy! This is not how we like to welcome new customers, and hiccups in our payment process are definitely out of the norm. If you could please shoot us an email at 4changeenergy@gmail.com with your name and number to give you a call, we would be happy to get things back on track.

4Change Energy Responds March 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Back Office

(2.8 / 5)

  I requested additional service for putting on another unit of a 4-plex I own and they had changed their policy.

I requested a call from their back office to help resolve the issue and be able to send the correct information to them I never got a call.

I also was billed for the wrong meter and they refuse to look into it.

I am using a different utility company for my electric needs.

Stan from Kennedale
November 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What happened to for energy the last 2 months

(2.8 / 5)

  I have loved this company until recently I cannot get somebody on the phone couldn't even get my bill finally got it talk to someone today cuz I still haven't got my bill ask for a supervisor and told me that y'all didn't even have one what's going on

Cynthia Williams from Fort Worth
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good price - as long as you do not have to call customer service

(2.8 / 5)

  With this company you can get some good rates on special if you're lucky through the power to choose website. You will be happy as long as your bill is correct. If you stay with them, they'll rip you off on the renewal plan but so does everyone else. If you try and move and disconnect, that is where you will run into issues. Their customer service has lied to me on multiple occasions, are rude, the hours are very inconvenient. I also tried emailing, don't even bother, they won't read your email they just automatically respond (3 1/2 days later mind you) that there is not enough information in your email even though everything is right there. If you're just looking for a deal and plan on switching afterward, go for it. If you are doing it for the "charity" don't bother, just give a few dollars to the charity you want and save your time on the phone being lied to by their customer service.

Disappointed Dan from Houston
September 1st, 2016

Dan, We're so sorry that your experience with 4Change has not lived up to your expectations or ours. The head of our customer service department would love to talk about your experience to figure out how we can fix it and prevent others from having the same experience you've had. Please reach out to tamara.channel@4changeenergy.com if you'd be willing to chat for a few minutes.

4Change Energy Responds September 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't try calling for anything

(2.6 / 5)

  The title says it all. I've tried to contact customer service to discuss a new plan because the current one was ending soon. First I did it by email and that was a dead end. I called and that was even worse. It's almost like nobody wants to take a call for fear that the call may be an issue they don't want to deal with. In the end, they never got back to me so I'm still a 4change energy customer that's paying more than I did last year because I wasn't able to speak with someone about a better rate. Maybe this was intentional?

Still a customer from Dallas
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Start Bad Finish

(2.6 / 5)

  We have had this company for almost a year now. All of our bills are paid with them and we use quite a bit of electricity. Last month we were traveling and forgot about the bill. We were disconnected and paid the bill the same day. Now we have a mysterious new bill that we have been disconnected AGAIN for. I have personally been in the account and screenshot everything. We have paid them $1400 over a couple payments and our bills for the last few months only total $1100. Even the new $181 bill doesn't go over the $1400 we have paid and even IF you include disconnect fees (which were waived and I record all my cell phone calls) it still doesn't go over the $1400 we have paid in total. I just had to pay an additional $181 to have electricity for my girlfriend while I am traveling for work. Our total paid now with 4change is $1581 and our total charged usage is $1164.

They also refuse to let me speak to anyone in the united states. I am forced to speak with marginally abrasive, half english spekaing middle easterners who have no real concern for what transpires here. I was even hung up on after I got upset that I was being interrupted every time I started a sentence. I loved this company at first and the price was great and service was excellent but as I get closer to moving they get worse and worse with billing and customer service.

I used to recommend this company to everyone and now I will have to take them to small claims court for my overpayment to them. WHAT A DAY!

Magnolia Resident from Magnolia
April 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive pricing

(2.6 / 5)

  This company deceptively prices itself as the cheapest per kwh but don't be fooled!! The bill includes a $60 monthly fee. Very disappointing.

Ell from Dallas
March 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Pricing, Horrible Billing Practices - Likely Fraudulent

(2.6 / 5)

  4 Change Energy has a habit of applying funds to my account on an extremely tardy basis. In two instances 22 and 25 days after the check was sent from my bank via online bill pay service (with the correct account name and account number). Not only does 4Change charge late fees when this happens--they also charge a $19.95 fee for sending a disconnect notice. In addition, they have not removed these fees when I have called to complain and make a SECOND payment via phone, prior to the first being applied. Then...very shortly thereafter they magically seem to find my payment and credit it to my account. Now on my latest bill, not only are there charges for one of these late payment application scams, they are not calculating the account balance properly.

WILL NOT RENEW; DO NOT RECOMMEND!

Andra Schreiner from Dallas
July 29th, 2016

Andra, We sincerely apologize for the headache. We'll have our priority response team reach out and get your taken care of.

4Change Energy Responds September 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

System Upgrade Is No Excuse For Poor Management

(2.6 / 5)

  I really have had no complaint with 4Change Energy since joining them 3 years ago. However, in December 2015, they sent a flowery email to their customer base, informing us of a fantastic system upgrade that they were about to execute. We would receive a new account number, but nothing else would change. I look at such disclosures as an alert that something is about to take place, and that I should be on guard for a customer scam. I was an EZ-Pay customer (auto withdrawal from my checking account monthly), and they had always done this properly since I originally joined. The fantastic system upgrade took place, and we received another flowery email saying so. However, I noticed that they didn't take the auto-withdrawal in early Feb 2016 as usual, so I called them. The guy said that all was OK and my account would be drawn on 02/08/2016. That didn't happen, so I called that afternoon. The lady said that the system upgrade had left them unable to do auto-withdrawals. I asked why they didn't send an email regarding that. She said that she could take my account info over the phone. I said no, I would login to my account and make a payment, which I did and she confirmed seeing it. I asked what would have happened if I had not called today, and she said in two days I would be disconncted and be charged fees for non-payment. Two days later, after having made the payment, I received a disconnect notice anyway. What the heck is going on here? Customer scam. All the folks who weren't being careful got hit. STAY AWAY from this company. This is my experience, and may not be same as your own.

BRho from Grapevine
February 10th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service

(2.6 / 5)

  While the rates are competitive, the customer service is abysmal. You can easily expect to wait half a day on the phone to someone to help you, and even when they do help you, half of what they promise will be done (i.e., friends and family credit) is not properly reflected in the system, taking me at least four different calls to actually get the credit applied.

Also, even though they are not allowed to charge you an early termination fee if you move (no electric company can do so legally), you have to wait until they charge you before you can get them to credit it.

Finally, even after you've discontinued the service, they continue to bill you after the disconnect date, requiring yet another phone call to figure it out.

E-mail is a little more reliable, but still, you cannot provide the instant feedback that is necessary for more complex issues.

Please save yourself the hassle and go with a different electric company.

Edward from Dallas
December 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Department Needs Improvement, customer service hard to reach

(2.4 / 5)

  I received a disconnection notice after three years of service with this company. I always used the auto pay feature, (EZ Pay) meaning they had my debit card information on file, with authorization from me to deduct the monthly bill automatically. There is nothing wrong with my debit card - the funds are there. They somehow managed to mess that up, did not send me any kind of email reporting a billing problem, and went straight to a disconnection notice. Customer service is not readily available, was unable to reach a human being. I'm still waiting for someone to call me back.....

LG from Cypress
November 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service / Good Pricing

(2.4 / 5)

  I've had a plan with 4Change since July '15. I chose them when I relocated to TX from CO and had to live in an apartment temporarily as I built a new home. (approx 12 mos) I ordered a 6 month plan initially and renewed with a 12 month, thinking I would be able to transfer the plan to my new home. That is where things went sideways. There was a little over a month overlap between my apartment lease and closing on my new home. I called and started a new plan with 4Change when I closed on my home and the CSR agreed that there would be no penalty for changing the account to a new residence...not the case. They charged me $120 when I had to cancel my apartment service...I went through 3-4 more reps
and they went back and forth with me. They also used the fact that I had changed my last name on the second account (I was going through a divorce, thus the name change). They refused to acknowledge that my SSN remained the same...etc..etc...I am now at the end of my contract and I will not be renewing for the principal of this. I believe that loyal customers should not be penalized by situations like this. Too bad for them, I'm moving on.

E Martinez from Roanoke
May 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Office not properly staffed.

(2.4 / 5)

  Their office is not staffed properly. They take up to 20 days to process a bank check. Their call center is in Central America. I send checks via bill pay to get there a week ahead of time and get many cut off notices due to not having the staff to process and deposit them in a timely manner. If you sign up they want do automatic payment which I am not going to do.

Tomus from Ft Worth
October 13th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2016 Problem Year for 4Change

(2.4 / 5)

  In January, 2016, 4Change undertook a huge system upgrade, fouling cust service for several days. Also caused us to be issued a new account number.

When time for annual contract renewal came in April 2016, they emailed a new contract proposal. It was a good deal, with a reduction in rates. I clicked "Yes, I Accept" on April 1, 2016. On May 6, 2016, they repeated the email again as if I had not accepted the previous. It was for a new contract with a 25% rate increase. This came after quitting time on a Friday night, so all of us can stew in it all weekend. Then hit the phone on Monday morning.

Watch these guys. They're generally OK, but you have to watch them.

William Rhodes from Grapevine
May 7th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy sign up but horrible renewal

(2.2 / 5)

  I had a pleasant experience in the beginning. I received an email leading up to my renewal offering me the same great plan so of course i clicked the acceptance offer link. And several days later i received the same great offer, so i called customer service to find out why i received a duplicate email offer. I was informed that my renewal was in a que but not ready to view. Amonth later I went to pay my bill and discovered that i was no longer under contract. So i immediately phoned 4change. I spoke to several customer service reps telling me i should email my offer and my acceptance email. The only problem was i never truly received an email accepting my renewal. I did receive an email asking me to post a review because i accepted the renewal. So i sent them the original offer and the email where they were requesting a review of my renewal experience. Today i received an email stating that i need to send the offer, the acceptance of the renewal and allow 72 hours to receive my welcome kit. Which again i never received the actual renewal confirmation. I last spoke to Anthony in customer service who seemed really sincere and wanted to help but was unable give me the original offer but offered a higher per KWH rate. I told him no, that i wanted the original offer rates. He came back with a $30 credit, i again did not accept. He promised me he would get to the bottom of this matter and said he would calll within 2 hours. Its now been 3+ hours . I have now decided to put 4Change energyy to rest, this company is on the DO NOT USE list along with 1 orher company in 18 years.

Tia from Pasadena
July 8th, 2019

Hi there Tia, we apologize for your experience! It sounds like something went wrong and we're sorry to hear that our renewal experience was not as seamless as intended.

4Change Energy Responds July 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of Renewal

(2.2 / 5)

  When my renewal came up I just clicked on "renew." Today I checked on their cheapest plan because I have offers from other reputable companies. Today...4-2-19...4Change cheapest plan on their website is $0.69 per kwh. I called customer service and was told this rate was for new customers.....obviously to drag them in so that their rates could be raised to over 12cents like mine. If I had canceled at the end of a year and then reenlisted I would have a cheaper rate...and the customer representative even agreed with me.

Terrell Reagan from Dallas
April 2nd, 2019

Hi there, Terrell. We apologize our renewal rate was not up to par with what you expected. Thank you for choosing 4Change Energy and we will consider your feedback moving forward to be the best that we can be. Have a great week.

4Change Energy Responds April 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away From This Company

(2.2 / 5)

  I have had this company with two different plans. The first plan was fine. On the second plan, the company did not give me notice that the plan was expiring, yet the company continued to send me e-mails that showed my energy usage and stated quite clearly that I was enrolled in a plan. Since my bill had jumped in amount charged, I called and waited on hold to talk to someone. Waiting to talk to a rep is common when you call. it took two phone calls before I could get a representative who stated my plan had expired. The first rep said there was no change in my billing rate. Obviously, he was wrong. I asked the second rep why I had not been notified. She said sometimes 4 Change Energy provided notification and sometimes 4 Change Energy did not provide notification. My plan expired in the heat of the summer, when 4 Change Energy could maximize any non-plan bills! I have complained and asked for a re-billing as if I was on my last plan because 4 Change Energy was deceptive in saying I was on a plan on my weekly usage e-mails. Life is too short to put up with these folks. Direct 4 Change leadership needs to read the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act.

J.G. from Sugar Land
October 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be careful with fixed monthly price plans

(2.2 / 5)

  4Change was not bad as far as service goes. However, they will not prorate your final bill when you are on their monthly fixed price plans. Meaning you can essentially be charged for the whole month even if you've only used their service for a few days at the end of your contract.

JS from Houston
July 24th, 2017

JS, We'd love a chance to talk through your final bill with you again if you'd give us a call or send us an email. Toll Free: (855) 784-2426 Mon - Fri, 7am - 8pm CST Sat, 8am - 5pm service@4ChangeEnergy.com

4Change Energy Responds September 11th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Ready For The Run Around

(2.2 / 5)

  I was trying to close out my service without having to pay the penalty charge. We are moving overseas, I provided the real estate contract to their customer service as requested and they told me that was not good enough. they said I needed the following "We need either a Move Out Statement from the Apartment complex on letterhead, Bill of Sale or Purchase or a Notice to vacate letter, new Lease or Deployment letter." I would think the real estate contract with the closing date would satisfy this requirement. They would not allow me to talk to a supervisor or manager. Careful what you ask for just to save a few dollars.

Rob Marcotte from Azle
June 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  I called to let them know I was going to be late one day and they still want to charge me a bunch of fees. Seriously one day! I'm a divorced single mom so I'm doing what I can but there is do.

Disappointed from Copperas Cove
June 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4Change Energy

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up for because the rates were good. Unfortunately this company has issues processing payments in a timely manner (10-14 days) with electronic bank payments. I ended up with pink disconnection notices and would call, only to be told they are just behind in processing. Not worth the hassle!!!!!

4 change - need a change! from Bedford
December 6th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE Company!! Run the other way!

(2.2 / 5)

  I set up automatic payments, I have not missed a single payment. I am a single woman, I live alone. My job involves international travel 35% of the time. (I turn everything off when I am gone) my 2nd bill was over $100 during this same month I was gone for 2 weeks. I let that slide. But recently, my card expired. And instead of mailing me a letter to pay with a different card, this company mailed me a DISCONNECTION NOTICE, and charged me $20 for mailing me this notice. Even though I had actually paid the bill. The notice arrived 2 days AFTER the bill was paid. When I called to have them remove the $20 fee, they refused. I dropped them the same day. I would rather pay $60 termination fee to have absolutely nothing to do with them anymore. The customer service sucked. Some man named Danny complained about having to return my call after hours, I left a message in a general mailbox, they could have returned my call the next business day. I did not ask him to call me after hours in the first place.

Jessica Scott from Dallas
July 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service due to technical difficulties

(2.2 / 5)

  4 Change Energy seems beset by problematic technical difficulties. I signed up online for the Charitable Saver Monthly variable rate plan without problems. But everything after that was bad. Could not even create a simple online account with user ID and password without hiccups. Emailed 4 Change Energy for help & called them a couple times before I could even create the online account. Emails were never answered by a 4 Change Energy rep. The tips provided by the phone rep failed numerous times. And this was just trying to register for an online account with 4 Change Energy! After my contract ended, I attempted to sign up another time months later, but their online system still thought I was a current customer. Phone call to 4 Change Energy didn't help. Rep says if I wanted to sign up as a new customer, I had to do it by phone and not online. In this day and age, how can a company NOT have a workable online system? So I signed up with another electricity company whose online system worked. 4 Change Energy is simply NOT user-friendly due to their technical difficulties. I didn't have any problems when I paid my bill online with them though, lol.

anonymous from Dallas
August 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Most dishonest and deceitful power reseller ever!

(2.2 / 5)

  After 8 months into my 12 month contract of .089/KWH I find I am paying a lot more. I was going through my credit card statement and found I was being billed twice each month and have been billed a total of $1350 in just 8 months. With the usage statement, I calculated I should have been billed about $675. I have read that they bill us for charitable donations without ever telling us?? Anyway, I will be bring this up to the lawyers at my bank to see what remedy I have.

William from Houston
April 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very expensive

(2 / 5)

  I really thought it was gonna be lower, never ever wanted my light bill over $300! I should've stayed with my previous company just energy!

Lupe from Uvalde
July 29th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The sales pitch is misleading

(2 / 5)

  I selected 4Chnage Energy on the state website after evaluating the various plans. My bill went up significantly due to the tiered structure of the rates.

GARK from Houston
November 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharging at it's finest

(2 / 5)

  I have been going back and forth with this company because I am being sent disconnection notices every other week. I call customer service, thinking I have resolved the issue, pay well over $180 for fees I am not even understanding, under the impressions I would have certain charges waived from the account (about $56). Looking at my following month's bill, the $56 charge has rolled over to the following bill, with a disconnection notice for the amount the representative told me would be waived. Every time I call, I get a different story on these fees and nothing showing the fees were waived. So here I am, making another HUGE payment for my electricity, frustrated that no one is on the same page as I, yet I am paying because I do not want to be disconnected. I was so excited to switch over to 4Change energy, but this has been a big mistake. Still haven't received a resolution to any of my issues with this light company, it has just been a endless circle every time I call.

Tina from Houston
November 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mediocre, prices going up.

(2 / 5)

  My renewal experience this year, which should usually be pretty easy, was terrible. Required several phone calls and explanations as to why i was getting emails saying my power would be turned off even though I renewed appropriately. Not to mention the old plan that was the reason for getting on with 4Change has changed and prices have gone up signficantly... Wouldn't recommend.

Ryan from Round Rock
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

nguyen lee

(2 / 5)

  all 5 STARS, good price and good service.

nguyen from Richmond
June 25th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAT AWAY!!

(2 / 5)

  My account was late and I never received a disconnection notice. I sent a check but they said they never received it. I can't cancel it because I am under contract and it's $25 a month to cancel the contract. The prices are okay...they are a little higher with TDU charges and trying to get more money out of you. I had a better experience with Green Mountain Energy and will be returning to them as soo as I can!

Charlon from Pflugerville
June 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions