Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Abacus Resources Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.7 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
0%
 
4 Stars
8%
 
3 Stars
15%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
77%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Jisel

Never had a problem
I had a pleasant experience with this company. Customer service was great and the cost was reasonable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jisel from Fort Worth on September 26th, 2012


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very pleased
Abbacus was a good company. Whenever I needed extra time to pay my bill, they always helped me out.I was with the company one month from being a year when they went out of business.I was very satisfied. Customer service was good. I hope to find another company that good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on February 25th, 2011



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Never had a problem
I had a pleasant experience with this company. Customer service was great and the cost was reasonable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jisel from Fort Worth on September 26th, 2012
No problems at all
The company closed down. True enough was informed last minute about closing but did receive my deposit in may 2012. I had no problems with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Dallas on July 11th, 2012



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very bad company, fraudulent, didnt return $200.00 deposit
THINK 100 TIMES BEFORE HAVING ELECTRICITY FROM ABACUS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sourashish Nag from Houston on October 16th, 2012
Talk but no action; good-bye to my refund check!

similar to other postings on this site. when Abacus 'left the Texas electricity market' back in Feb, they did not and have not yet sent me a $66 refund check due me for overpaying a bill.

they do not answer the phone; they do not return calls from messages; they do not acknowledge or answer e-mails. their customer service is terrible. just plain out-and-out thieves.

wherever it is that they are now located, if you ever encounter them....run far, run fast! keep all of your friends and family away from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Dallas on June 21st, 2011
Former Abacus Customer
I was a customer of Abacus for 12 months in DFW
Texas I choose the company as I thought it was a
good idea to do business with a local company but
after my 12 month contract ended the company will
not answer their phone or return messages, 16
weeks later and I still am not getting answers as
to where my deposit is. I would NEVER do business
with this company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bodie from N. Richalnd Hills on June 1st, 2011
Stay away! Good luck getting your deposit back
Started out simple enough. Contract, normal fees, all that was fine, except for this $200 deposit. We gave it to them on good faith and maintained contract conditions. Before our contract ended they sold our policy to Spark energy. Its been months and every time I contact them, they say "we will make sure we mail your deposit back to you this week", but it never comes. Its blatant theft. If it wasnt over such a meager amount I would take them to court. Stay away!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rodney from on May 31st, 2011
They closed down
Customer service is the worst I've even seen. last night, I saw on the news that abacus is closing down. this morning I called to check. as a customer, why was I not informed? the customer service person barely gave me a response. she was quiet for a little while and then came up with....electricity is higher and they couldn't afford to pay it. therefore, they have to close. I asked what will happen to my electric. she said it will be taken over by spark energy. I can't comprehend why it was that I had to ask her all the questions. this is not the only time I've had to encounter customer service. the last few times were just as horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mik from Arlington on February 11th, 2011
Fair billing, non-existent customer service
We signed up in the summer so 10.2 fixed for a year was a decent rate. The bill is simple- they charge you rate*usage+tax, and nothing else. (With the exception of my first bill- we were charged for 1 day's usage and a 5$ min. usage fee.)

They allow you to pay online which is simple- but too simple. You can't view your bill online- just the amount you owe.

Most recently when I tried to use it, being 100% certain everything I entered was right, it wouldn't find my account. It had a "pay by phone" number listed on the page so I called and it went straight to a voicemail that didn't even identify itself with the company. When I looked up the number for customer service to ask about the online bill pay, the number listed was the same as the voicemail/bill pay number!

If this is the best rate you can find and don't mind having customer service comparable to a Speak N' Spell, sign up. The cancellation fee is only 100$ anyway.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unimpressed from Houston on January 29th, 2011
Horrible Customer Service
My experience with Abacus has not been good. They misdeposited a payment, and eventhough I sent them a copy of the cleared check and my bank statement, and after they told me my acct would be on hold, they disconnected service anyway. Then, they still charge me late fees, do not return phone calls, and the representatives are rude when I call to check on the status of finding my payment. This has been going on over a month. I did get reconnected within a day, but I had to call the utility company to check on the connection, they wouldn't. In addition, they are now giving me false deadlines just to appease me, and then not calling. It is frustrating. The supervisor told me to go straight to her, but she doesn't answer her phone or return phone calls. So, I get to talk to an agent, who relays messages to her, but can't do anything or know the status of my account, and can't promise me that my call will be returned. I do not recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori Ziehr from Temple on December 20th, 2010
Very confused billing dept. Will issue disconnect at 1 day past due. Bills not always
received before disconnect. Issued credit on disconnect and could not tell what was owed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry Wells from Magnolia on October 13th, 2010
Don't do it
This is a very small provider - if you call them you just get voice mail - it's very frustrating to never be able to reach anyone. their online bill payment system is very cumbersome and outdated - it won't remember you each time you log on. they don't have automatic bill pay. there are too many other choices that have much better customer service - don't go with these guys
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Emily from Waco on August 30th, 2010
BEWARE!
[Company Contact: Customer has contacted company.] I was late on my payment for June, and received a letter stating that if it was not paid by June 24th, we would be disconnected. My husband gets paid on te 24th, so I planned to pay it at midnight on the 23rd when his direct deposit went through. At about noon on the 23rd, Oncor energy disconnected service. This was an entire day early. I ran outside and asked the gentleman to wait so I could call and pay it and he could turn it right back on. He waited, but the no one at Abacus ever answered. After letting it ring for 30 minutes straight, and he already left, Larry finally answered. I let him know that we were in a heat advisory, and I have an infant son home with me... we needed AC! His response was that maybe I should pay my bill. I told him my situaton, and he said I should call back the next day to pay if I didnt have the money. I am a diabetic and also had insulin in my fridge that cannot get warm. He was not at all sensitive to the situation. I ended up having to pay the bill, which led to a $34 insufficiant funds fee with my bank. I called the next day to speak with them with a clear head, and was met with the excuse that there was a glitch in the system, and lots of people were shut of that should not have been. When I asked what my balance was remaining, he informed me that there was a $25 disconnect fee, and a $25 reconnect fee! I was not rightfully disconnected! He said he would look into it, and see if they can be taken off. Since then I have not been able to get ahold of anyone, as there is no voicemail, and it rings and rings and rings... He also informed me that in order to change companies, even though I have a right to be upset, would cause another $100 fee. I refuse to pay this! Something needs to be done. All I want it to get out of this contract, and have my fees refunded.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on June 28th, 2010



Recommended Electricity Plans