Very bad company, fraudulent, didnt return $200.00 deposit
THINK 100 TIMES BEFORE HAVING ELECTRICITY FROM ABACUS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sourashish Nag from Houston on October 16th, 2012
Never had a problem
I had a pleasant experience with this company. Customer service was great and the cost was reasonable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jisel from Fort Worth on September 26th, 2012
No problems at all
The company closed down. True enough was informed last minute about closing but did receive my deposit in may 2012. I had no problems with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Dallas on July 11th, 2012
Talk but no action; good-bye to my refund check!

similar to other postings on this site. when Abacus 'left the Texas electricity market' back in Feb, they did not and have not yet sent me a $66 refund check due me for overpaying a bill.

they do not answer the phone; they do not return calls from messages; they do not acknowledge or answer e-mails. their customer service is terrible. just plain out-and-out thieves.

wherever it is that they are now located, if you ever encounter them....run far, run fast! keep all of your friends and family away from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Dallas on June 21st, 2011
Former Abacus Customer
I was a customer of Abacus for 12 months in DFW
Texas I choose the company as I thought it was a
good idea to do business with a local company but
after my 12 month contract ended the company will
not answer their phone or return messages, 16
weeks later and I still am not getting answers as
to where my deposit is. I would NEVER do business
with this company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bodie from N. Richalnd Hills on June 1st, 2011
Stay away! Good luck getting your deposit back
Started out simple enough. Contract, normal fees, all that was fine, except for this $200 deposit. We gave it to them on good faith and maintained contract conditions. Before our contract ended they sold our policy to Spark energy. Its been months and every time I contact them, they say "we will make sure we mail your deposit back to you this week", but it never comes. Its blatant theft. If it wasnt over such a meager amount I would take them to court. Stay away!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rodney from on May 31st, 2011
Very pleased
Abbacus was a good company. Whenever I needed extra time to pay my bill, they always helped me out.I was with the company one month from being a year when they went out of business.I was very satisfied. Customer service was good. I hope to find another company that good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on February 25th, 2011
They closed down
Customer service is the worst I've even seen. last night, I saw on the news that abacus is closing down. this morning I called to check. as a customer, why was I not informed? the customer service person barely gave me a response. she was quiet for a little while and then came up with....electricity is higher and they couldn't afford to pay it. therefore, they have to close. I asked what will happen to my electric. she said it will be taken over by spark energy. I can't comprehend why it was that I had to ask her all the questions. this is not the only time I've had to encounter customer service. the last few times were just as horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mik from Arlington on February 11th, 2011
Fair billing, non-existent customer service
We signed up in the summer so 10.2 fixed for a year was a decent rate. The bill is simple- they charge you rate*usage+tax, and nothing else. (With the exception of my first bill- we were charged for 1 day's usage and a 5$ min. usage fee.)

They allow you to pay online which is simple- but too simple. You can't view your bill online- just the amount you owe.

Most recently when I tried to use it, being 100% certain everything I entered was right, it wouldn't find my account. It had a "pay by phone" number listed on the page so I called and it went straight to a voicemail that didn't even identify itself with the company. When I looked up the number for customer service to ask about the online bill pay, the number listed was the same as the voicemail/bill pay number!

If this is the best rate you can find and don't mind having customer service comparable to a Speak N' Spell, sign up. The cancellation fee is only 100$ anyway.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unimpressed from Houston on January 29th, 2011
Horrible Customer Service
My experience with Abacus has not been good. They misdeposited a payment, and eventhough I sent them a copy of the cleared check and my bank statement, and after they told me my acct would be on hold, they disconnected service anyway. Then, they still charge me late fees, do not return phone calls, and the representatives are rude when I call to check on the status of finding my payment. This has been going on over a month. I did get reconnected within a day, but I had to call the utility company to check on the connection, they wouldn't. In addition, they are now giving me false deadlines just to appease me, and then not calling. It is frustrating. The supervisor told me to go straight to her, but she doesn't answer her phone or return phone calls. So, I get to talk to an agent, who relays messages to her, but can't do anything or know the status of my account, and can't promise me that my call will be returned. I do not recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori Ziehr from Temple on December 20th, 2010







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Abacus Resources Energy are , rated at 0.0 out of 5, and , rated at 0.0 of 5.
5 Stars
10%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
20%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
70%
 
0.0 / 5
Overall
0.0 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
0.0 / 5
Order Experience
0.0 / 5
Customer Service
0.0 / 5
Billing and Account Management
0.0 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Abacus Resources Energy

Abacus Energy was a short lived electricity provider based out of Texas. They went out of business as a result a cold snap shut down several electricity generation plants. This resulted in rolling blackouts, which caused the short term spot price for electricity purchases to skyrocket. Abacus wasn't able to meet the financial obligations set forth by ERCOT (The Electric Reliability Council of Texas) and subsequently went out of business. The bulk of their customers were transferred to Spark Energy.


Recommended Electricity Plans