Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
11%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
70%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Cheryl Stewart

Stop charging so many extra charges!!
I have been with ambit for 10 years. No problems with company.. if I do have a with them they will hear. Ambit energy what's with all the extra charges.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl Stewart from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021


Our Analysis of Ambit Energy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

45 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Love this company!
We qualify for their free energy program so nobody can beat the rate we get now. I am super happy!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rose Duncan from League City, TX on June 25th, 2020
A happy Ambit customer..
This is 2018. I've had Ambit electric service since 2011. In all these years, I've never had a billing problem. Like the other companies, Ambit is a billing company. Oncor is the actual provider but I call Ambit if I have a problem. Lightening struck at my house about 4:30 A.M.in Feb, 2018. Among other damage, my transformer was blown so all electricity was out. I called Ambit. Within hours they had Oncor out here and before nightfall, the transformer was replaced. Before signing up with Ambit, I had tried two other electric companies. I had billing issues with both with errors on my account. Since joining Ambit in 2011, I have not had one billing error. I have to be conservative, but my electric bills have been something to brag about. Thus I'm happy with Ambit Service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann from Sanctuary, TX on March 12th, 2018
OUTSTANDING Company!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I've had AMBIT for several years. My bill is always less than neighbors. The few times that I have called customer service, they were VERY Friendly and knowledgeable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Mesquite on November 28th, 2016
Excellent Service, Excellent Price, Highly Recommended
I have been with this company for over 2 months, everything is great about the company and the service, have no complaints. Recommend it to everyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Electricity Provider from Sugar Land on September 24th, 2016
You light up my life!
Savings are great and customer service is awesome!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lenora from Lenora on August 4th, 2016
Great rates great service
Ambit is the best energy service I have ever had. Straight forward, no teaser rates or hidden fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lou from Lou on August 4th, 2016
Ambit Energy 100% 5 ???? ???? ???? ???? ????
The absolute best company ever!!! Free Energy is the way to go! Travel Reward Points per kilowatt that I use!!! Thank you Ambit Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Benito from Gutierrez on August 3rd, 2016
Awesome Company
Consultants are top-notch! Never had an energy company that actually CALLS ME to make sure I renew at the best rate possible until I switched to Ambit Energy. If you want personal service, this is your company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddie Ruesewald from Eddie Ruesewald on August 3rd, 2016
2 years and saving money on my electric bill
I have been a customer with Ambit for 2 years now. They beat TXU price by almost half. I have had no issues with them and highly recommend them to any/all electricity users.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Desiree Munson from Munson on August 3rd, 2016
Ambit Energy, Different From Rest!!
I have been so pleased with Ambit Energy since we became customers in the Fall of 2011. We had been with one of the largest retail companies in Texas for 34 years and I discovered that we were paying way too much for our electricity. I had to do something!! Right away we started paying less each month. After 11 months our light bill came over 70-80% lower! We now receive Free Electricity Credit every single month!! I am so thankful that God brought Ambit Energy to us!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ruth from Orozco on August 3rd, 2016


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

40 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Stop charging so many extra charges!!
I have been with ambit for 10 years. No problems with company.. if I do have a with them they will hear. Ambit energy what's with all the extra charges.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl Stewart from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
Great company
Really top notch service and prices !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gw from Plano, TX on February 7th, 2017
Excellent Energy Company. Best experience ever!
I switched to Ambit Energy 5 years ago after being completely dissatisfied with TXU energy as they were charging me 16.9 cents per kwh. Ambit provided a great rate of 9.0 cents per kWh and offered me the opportunity to earn free energy every month if I referred 15 customers. To date, I have received over $7,500 in free energy credit from Ambit. Thank you so much as it allow me to pay off all my credit card debt.

Great company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allen from Dallas on June 2nd, 2016
Very nice and great customer service
I have joined Ambit Energy for 2 years now and I have no problems. knock on wood! The renewal rate is competitive to other company and the customer service was great when I called in. I love the points that I can use to travel and book hotel. I am saving up my points to take a trip to Cancun. How many company out there can offer you that for using their energy. I have this great consultant that answer all my questions and concerns. I have referred 10 customers already. 5 more customers and I will get free energy. This is a great company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnson Black from Carrollton on February 29th, 2016
No complaints
We've had Ambit for almost 2 years and we've had no issues with them. Sure the price went up a bit but we expected that along with higher usage in the summer especially living in Texas. I can see other people have complained but we've had no issues especially since we moved up to the DFW area from South Texas where it wasn't common to "shop" for an energy provider. Ambit will also allow you to pay your bill online for free provided you're paying with your checking/savings account.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fernando Martinez from Plano on November 24th, 2015
Travel rewards
Love getting rewards for something I'm buying month after month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Lufkin on October 22nd, 2015
No issues, company seems solid
I've read a lot of the reviews on here and I am shocked. I have not experienced any issues what so ever. We've had Ambit for just over a year now and I'm truly loving the service. Are they perfect, no. But neither is any other company. As long as you pay your bills on time and pay attention to your renewal dates, all will be well.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Pflugerville on October 3rd, 2015
Great Service & Free Energy Credit
I was astonished that Ambit Energy offered an energy credit. I have now gotten the credit for three months in a row.
All I can say is they really come through on there promises.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ALR from Pollok on October 1st, 2014
No problems
Had a 1100 sq ft apt bills ranged from $80-110. Never had any surprises or problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Al from Dallas on June 17th, 2014
Try Them!
Yes the price of my service has gone up over the past three years, right along with the cost of living, salaries, and medical expenses. I really don't have to think about my service, it's there every time I plug in something and every time I flip a switch. I pay a little closer attention to how many "smart" pieces of electronics we have going and we pay our bill on time. I expect to get paid on time, I'm sure they do too.
I strongly recommend AMBIT ENERGY.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PBShanks from Whitney on May 7th, 2014


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do your research first
When I decided not to renew my contract, my price doubled. I was moving apartments and didn't want to renew with them. Other companies have better pricing. My price for 15 days was the same as 30 days. I came to find out that my leasing agent and her friends were getting free electricity from Ambit based on referrals. I came to find out that this was "illegal." Leasing agents can't recommend only one electric provider. So, we the other customers were paying for their electricity. Their cost was being passed on to us.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Micheal from 79316 on September 4th, 2020
Not terrible, but could be better
I was actually a consultant for this company when they first started out. I signed up with them and I have been with them for years. However, I think our relationship is now coming to an end. My bill is suddenly astronomical! Within 2 short months, my bill doubled! I really don't know why! I have looked into my usage, my bills, my plan...nothing makes sense as to my why bill suddenly went from $90ish to just under $200 for an 800sqft. apartment. I think it might have to do with their usage variations, but I guess we shall see. My answer from them is still pending. They're relatively pleasant to speak with and try to be helpful, but if you are looking for a similar bill amount each month, this would not be my pick. Plus, their rates have increased, so you can probably find a better-suited provider in your area for less. Good luck!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ally from Richardson on October 16th, 2015
I hope I don't regret this...
I'm leaving Ambit after 4 years. I have really never had a problem with them, it just all came down to the best they could offer was a 10.4 average and I found a different company for 10.2. I have read sooo many reviews and Ambit has a lot of bad reviews, but so do so many other companies, including the one I'm switching to. If I regret my switch, Ambit I may see you in another year!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori from Houston on May 6th, 2013
Good services
I have been a customer of Ambit Energy for about 3 years and my electricity bills have been the lowest then any other company I have been through. Their customer service can be better, but overall, the money I save on my bills overshadows the less then professional customer service line. Whenever its time to renew my contract, I always gets something in the mail from Ambit. Also, if you created an online account, its actually listed there when its time tor renew. I have had my share of issues with Ambit but overall, the service is good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JSmith from Houston on March 6th, 2013
Do people work here??
I have been a customer for 2 years and have been satisfied with product. The lights turn on when I flip the switch to 'on'. So no complaints there. Where there is a huge issue is the customer service. Since joining..I have called in to customer service 4 times for various non-critical issues. I have NEVER spoken to anyone. I always call during working hours. The recording always says 'we are very busy..you are next in line"..then plays horrible music over and over again. Each call last, on average 45 minutes. Waiting waiting and waiting. If you want to get your blood pressure up, have the need to get frustrated or yell..I would recommend calling Ambit Energy "customer service". What a JOKE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc Thibodeau from Media on March 4th, 2013
Craigr64
It okay for me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Craig W. Ricketts III from Fort Worth on January 13th, 2011
Great Company
We've had Ambit for a year and half. We were with TXU before that. Ambit has been wonderful! Switching companies was easy and I've never had any problems with billing.
I want to sign another contract but am having trouble finding a way to do that on their website. Also, I want to use my reward points but am also having trouble using them on the website.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Forney on January 7th, 2011
I am very pleased
I like the free electricity offer and the free travel. The consultant helped me sign up, and has kept in contact with me, which I enjoy. I am not a number, but somebody important. I never have had a problem with the billing, and saved myself over $82 a month, just by switching. My old company (Reliant)offered to match the rate I was getting, but I didn't want to stay with the company that could have offered me lower rates, and didn't.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina Sweet from League City on September 10th, 2010
Satisfied Customer
Ambit has met all expectations. No complaints, friendly service, no issues. Rates are competitively priced and there has been no issues with service or billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Houston on August 5th, 2010
Bigguy
Ambit is number one in my book
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnny Chambers from Dallas on March 13th, 2010


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The Worst
The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DW from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2021
Bill is too confusing!
I just moved in with my mother. I tried to read bill statement. It was the most confusing piece of paper I've ever read in my life. I'd give this a 5 stars but I can't call customer service to change anything. Confusing. Why can't Ambit just display our meter reading and bill due? If pay it immediately, but I can't because of all the "adjustments". Too confusing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Confusing Statement! from Woodway, TX on December 13th, 2020
Easy to sign up for, impossible to cancel.
Theres absolutely no way to cancel your plan online and they don't answer the phone, so be prepared to be billed indefinitely.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brandon from Fort Worth, TX on July 27th, 2020
Shady company, Shady practices. 3 yrs of experience
They don't care that its a pandemic and the bill is only 29$, they'll disconnect anyway and then charge a 40$ reconnection fee and then a 15$ disconnect fee.

Peices of sh** humans

Oh and ignore the 'sign up with me and you'll both get 200$'
My dad got it but I never did
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

3 Years Of Experience, Shady Company, Shady Practices. from Lake Worth, TX on May 19th, 2020
Billing
I have been charged $35 extra, for Ambits mistake in processing my account.
The customer service rep was very courteous , bur was not able to solve me problem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tariq from Houston, TX on May 16th, 2020
Poor customer service
Been with ambit for over 5 years, i always pay my bill on time, today is 7/31/2019 and my bill is due on 8/16/2019, i made a payment today and forgot to adjust the payment date to 8/16/2019 so i went to their website and chatted with andrea,i asked to push my payment to the correct date,she refused,said i could call my bank and stop the payment but there will be a 25.00 returned fee charged,told her you haven't received the monies as yet,no dice,refuced to help so the impression ambit left on me is that they are hungry for your money and not flexible, but i have the power to choose and as soon as this contract is over i am switching.
Goodbye ambit you have lost 1 reliable customer for your stupid inflexibility.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A Mohamed from Irving, TX on July 31st, 2019
MISLEADING
I HAVE BEEN AN AMBIT ENERGY CUSTOMER FOR YEARS AND FOR THE MOST PART THEY DO TRY TO WORK WITH YOU ( OF COURSE AT A PRICE) . RECENTLY THEY CAME UP WITH A NEW PLAN FOR FREE NIGHTS AND SOLAR DAYS. THEY ADVERTISE AN AVERAGE OF 12 CENTS PER KWH WHEN IN TRUTH IT IS 16 CENTS AND THERE IS STILL THAT PESKY ONCOR CHARGE WHICH GETS BIGGER THE MORE YOU USE ELECTRICITY. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE SO DECEPTIVE WITH THEIR PRICING AND HARD TO READ GRAPHS OF ENERGY USAGE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A PLAN LIKE THAT IT SHOULD BE EASY TO READ TO COMPARE SAVINGS SO YOU CAN CHOOSE HONESTLY AND WISELY. ONCE THEY HOOK YOU THOUGH YOU ARE RAKED OVER THE COALS AND CAN NOT OPT OUT WITHOUT A HUGE PENALTY SO I ADVISE ANYONE LOOKING TO CONSIDER EVERY OPTION INCLUDING THE PROVIDER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ROY from Lake Worth, TX on October 31st, 2018
Late fees and delivery charges
I do not appreciate getting a late fee for being less than 24 hours late on paying bill. $10.00 is robbery when you are paying basically on time. I also have noticed lately that whatever my light usage is I am paying half that amount in delivery charges... so for a $60.00 usage add $27.00 in delivery fee then and taxes....it is ridiculous....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rosemarie S. from Killeen, TX on October 30th, 2018
Its trick.dont trust them
Its trick playing.some how they charge you ever you dont use power. i left my home for vacution for 3 weeks
evey think is off. exspet 2 liaght 60w and cealing fan on. when come back found my bill is up 350%.
when you call Ambit Energy customer service they wel say smae do every time you complain about you bill.
wel check your meater elctric .after that they say like they do it for so many customers every think is ok. you must pay you bill. they stolen your mony some how . dont ever trust like this Ambit Energy or other like this .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Its Trick Dont Trust Them from Pantego, TX on July 17th, 2017
In 2015 and they still charge you a fee to pay with a credit/debit card.
Rates kept going up year after year, while payment via online using a credit card is charged "$2.50 - Electronic processing fee"

With all of the power transmission fees and usage fees, this is a pretty good deal for Ambit.

Kind of like how asian business only accept cash, no fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Winn Nguyen from Arlington on November 10th, 2015


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

289 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scumbags
Very dishonest company. Bills are high for no apparent reason. Customer service mislead you into some packages that are expensive and when you call them they suggest another different plan. They contradict themselves and are clueless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from The Woodlands, TX on February 15th, 2021
Horrible Experience
This is so ridiculous they charge me 165$ for a studio apartment!!!! I wasn't even there for 10 days last month and it was my highest bill. Definitely terminating the contract with them. The costumer service line is impossible to get through and each time have to call back several times to actually speak to someone 0/10. Seriously do not recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Wylie, TX on February 14th, 2021
SCAM!
I think a class action lawsuit needs to be opened because I do not understand how my bill fluctuates the way that it does. $89 one month and the. $165 the next. My service has been disconnected for missing my pay date by like 2 days. I am not sure what this company has going on, but DO NOT use them. I signed up because I was new to the area and my Leasing Manager suggested them. I am terminating my contract next month!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Houston, TX on February 3rd, 2021
Horrible company( I dont know why I had to put 1 star )
Customer service sucks and they never have a answer to your questions or help for that matter. the rates are completely out of line and so expensive for a 2 bedroom apartment Im paying $350. Like NO WAY !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Go Somewhere Else from Pearland, TX on February 2nd, 2021
Dont do it
They charge you a early termination fee if you switch before you contact them and your last bill will be your highest bill!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Montgomery from Houston, TX on January 28th, 2021
Bad overall
Never in this life time will I recommend this light company to no one... very inconsiderate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Inconsiderate from Houston, TX on January 20th, 2021
Overcharging and bad customer service
Been a customer since 2016, but lately the are overcharging me, taking advantage of the autopay..2 bedroom $279.00 tv,fridge,couple light bulbs. Its time for change.:(
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kb from Arlington, TX on January 14th, 2021
Nightmare service
I unfortunately got covid and my family unable to work through holidays begging ambit to please assist me as I had no income they would not care to hear me out and disconnected me during 30 degree weather with my child using ventilator for covid would never recommend need to find a new company wish they would have atleast help me with partial very dissatisfied!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bad Experience from Weslaco, TX on January 11th, 2021
Ridiculously high prices
I moved from Ohio to Dallas. I promise for over 6 years living in my 2 bedroom apartment, I never paid over $100. I come here is 3 bedroom, I expect something a little higher. First bill $135 (ok), next bill $235 , what?!! My third bill is $415!!!! There is no absolute way in the whole world, this is possible. This company is a scam. They are not doing something right!!! No way
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs Ekun from Sherman, TX on January 5th, 2021
Dont waste your energy using theirs
This is the absolute worse company ever I was disconnected on an installment planned I wasnt properly explained in detail what needed to be paid in full...Paid $268 to be billed the following 2 days a bill for $280 they all about money Im switching to TXU who I shouldve chose to begin with....This business is a complete rip off please read the reviews before you get in a contract with them $199 or $299 Im getting away from this mess!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR ENERGY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim Sampson from Irving, TX on January 4th, 2021


Recommended Electricity Plans