We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, TriEagle Energy, Pulse Power and Texans Energy

Outrageously Priced

(1 / 5)

  I was charged way too much with Ambit. Whenever I cancelled they kicked me out of their app. I wasnt able to see specifically what I was charged for. Whenever I call customer service I am on the phone for 20+ minutes.

Melissa Amon from McKinney
October 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The wrost company ever

(1 / 5)

  They have been charging us normal rate for 8 months around 200 to 300 per month and this month the bill is 5 times more to 1334 usd

The wrost company from Houston
September 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the WORST - Count me in for a Class Action Lawsuit

(1 / 5)

  Could not take it anymore. Ambit Energy is charging $10 for cancelation notices even if the bill is paid on the due date. Ambit Energy is charging $2.50 electronic processing fee when you pay your bill if a debit or credit card is used. But they are also adding a miscellaneous charge of $2.50 for an electronic processing fee to the next bill.
A Class Action Lawsuit is the way to stop Ambit Energy!!!
BTW !! I RATE Ambit Energy: THE WORST (0 STARS)

Ruben Arnedo from Mesquite
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy Sucks Bait and Switch Company

(1 / 5)

  I was quoted by a friend a supposedly abetter deal than Stream Energy. I was with Stream over 4 years and never got a bill like this. I will be contacting the P.U.C, BBB and my lawyer. This is a freaking bait and switch. My very first bill was $778. When I looked up Ambit on the BBB their rating is a BIG FAT F.

Llewellyn from Southlake
September 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Raping their Customers with wholesale plan

(1 / 5)

  My bill more than doubled in August
Avoid the wholesale plan at all costs their sales reps are pushing it like crazy and youll be grabbing your ankles like I am

Susan from Arlington
September 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from this company

(1 / 5)

  I would rate them zero if I could. No online chat and no emails! my last bill was for 29 days and my usage was 534 kWh and my bill was $160.40!!!!
I have been trying to call the company every day for a week and no one responded to my call even though I was on the line for 2 hours!!!! By enrolling in the auto payment you basically allowing them to rob your bank account.

Arjang from Friendswood
September 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse company ever.

(1 / 5)

  They keep raising prices and their customer service is the worst. On hold for hours!

Sterling diggs from Alvin
September 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with no loyalty

(1 / 5)

  I was with ambit over 7 years and just couldnt take anymore. Then give cut off notice the day after its due and even tho u may pay it the very next day because their computer automatically sends disconnect out u still have a 10$ late fee. Theres no incintives anymore didnt even get to use the points that kept me there so long plus the base charges and rates keep going up. Another scam they have is when u pay the bill they charge you right then 2.50 to pay with a card debit credit etc. for electronic processing fee they say then they re charge u on your bill I get miscellaneous for the same $2.50 electronic processing fee. Cant wait until that is on the class action and will be getting so much money reimbursed. Their no hidden taxes and fees is a joke their taxes and fees is what gets it sky high. Now their customer service..: uniformed..: thank goodness I finally left and even tho my contract was up I just got a bill for 201$ for 5 days it said . Negative 1 should have been an option with them and to think I use to pay them to be a representative independent consultant for them. What a joke

Asia McGee from Tyler
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

B.S Prices/Fees

(1 / 5)

  I have been an Ambit customer since 2012. THEY HAVE PROGRESSIVELY RAN UP THE CHARGES ON MY MONTHLY BILL!! I have a ONE BEDROOM 800 something sqaure foot apartment!! THERE IS NO WAY MY LIGHTBILL SHOULD BE $219.00!! The only person here during the day IS MY DOG!! So how TF my bill progressively goes from low hundreds to TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS IN A SPAN OF TWO MONTHS!!!?!?!?! I cannot wait until my contract term is up! I WILL DEFINITELY BE CANCELING THIS SH**** A** SERVICE!! And would have already done so if i wasnt in the process of buying a home and cant have anything put on my credit!! THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST I HAVE USED!!

B. Barriere from Houston
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the Worst Company EVER!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Three customer representatives kept me on long holds because they did not want to discuss my request for a refund. One customer representative refused to transfer me. Their fees are exuberant and their customer service is beyond poor.

Jon from Houston
August 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Conversation

(1.8 / 5)

  You are losing a customer today - because of your unwillingness to work with a person through a difficult situation - the only way through this will cost me money - I have worked for companies such as this and know the work around. It is sad that all you seem to care about is money and not the humans that make up your customer base. I will be posting this in as many places as I can find.

-------------------------------------

7/25/2019 9:17:53 a.m.
Welcome to Ambit Chat. Ambit Energy will never ask you to disclose personal details or non-Ambit account numbers through live chat. Please do not share personal account numbers, including credit card and social security, through live chat.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction transferred to Chat_TX_EN.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction alerting Glen.

9:17:53 a.m.
Glen has joined the conversation.

Glen
9:18:05 a.m.
Hi! This is Glen. Thank you for contacting us through Ambit Chat. How can I help you?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:19:23 a.m.
Hi Glen - I'm am Rebecca Gates - I set up a payment arrangement yesterday - went online to make my 'initial' payment of $100.00. selected the 'other amount' option - and to my amazing surprise - after I selected 'submit payment' button - the full amount was taken

9:19:49 a.m.
I called in immediately and told my tale to the customer rep

9:20:23 a.m.
was sent to the escalation dept after my request - and was told flat out that there is nothing Ambit could do because it was a 'past due' amount

9:20:27 a.m.
and I did it online...

9:21:59 a.m.
so I am pleading here trying to figure out - because now my bank account is over drawn - even though I set up a deferred payment plan with Ambit and something glitched - I am now faced with the payment getting returned, a nsf fee from my bank plus whatever returned payment fee Ambit will tack on because you can

9:23:03 a.m.
so I'm asking one more time - is there ANYTHING that Ambit can do to fix this situation?? All I wanted when I called in yesterday was for the amount of the 'overpayment' of $257.22 be refunded so I wouldn't be in this situation.

Glen
9:23:39 a.m.
Thanks for verifying your name.


9:23:47 a.m.
I understand how difficult this may be for you.


9:24:29 a.m.
If you want to cancel a transaction with check you need to contact your bank. However Ambit will apply a $25.00 rejected payment fee.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:25:09 a.m.
How is this fair??

9:25:21 a.m.
I will still have to pay a cancellation fee with my bank as well

9:25:53 a.m.
I loose money to this idiotic situation because no one on Ambit's side of things is willing to help or fix the situation

9:26:11 a.m.
seriously - do you see how messed up this is???

Glen
9:28:00 a.m.
I understand your concern Ma'am. Unfortunately those are the policies.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:29:48 a.m.
there is absolutely nothing Ambit can do to help out in this situation??? AT ALL??

9:30:02 a.m.
Except recommend I cancel this payment and incur more fees

Glen
9:30:40 a.m.
Yes Ma'am. Because we can not cancel the payment.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:31:24 a.m.
fantastic Glen - 5 stars for not being a real human and trying to work with a customer.

9:31:54 a.m.
there's obvious nothing else that I can do except sit here and wait for my lights to get shut off

9:32:14 a.m.
have a fantastic day Glen...know you and this company have ruined mine

Glen
9:32:48 a.m.
In addition to help you checking your account status, is there anything else I can assist you with?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:33:00 a.m.
no

Glen
9:33:06 a.m.
Thank you for using Ambit Chat and have a wonderful day!


9:33:08 a.m.
Agent has left the conversation

9:33:08 a.m.
You have been disconnected from the chat

Becca from Garland
July 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse energy company Ive ever in my entire life had.

(1 / 5)

  I absolutely hate this company. If I didnt HAVE ago use it because its the only company my Apts provide I definitely WOULDNT. They have the worse customer service!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! They shouldnt even be in business! HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE!

HateThisCompang! from Dallas
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

do not get energy with them ambit energy

(1 / 5)

  i have been on 1 year contract with them and bill is at almost 300 when i dont use energy til after 6pm to 11 tells me the times we waste more energy are from 5 am to 12 pm no one is home at that time and everything is off and from 9 pm to 5 am everyone is asleep jus use one night light for my kids room and for them thats when i mostly use energy really?? i asked if they could come check there meter because i feel im being over charged and they wanted to charge me 30$ for coming to check something that its theirs why would i wanna pay more money after i have 300 light bills for a 1400 sqft home with no one during the day 4 people living here

Ambit energy from Pflugerville
March 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched because of fees

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved apartments and set up with ambit at my new apartment. I was told my recurring payments were going to continue but they didnt and after no bill pay they shut my power off. Not a big deal, but when I went to have it turned back on they charge: $40 reconnect fee, $20 disconnect fee, and made me add a $125 deposit. I explained the situation and that I had never missed a payment and it was a mistake but that meant nothing and they still demanded payment of all. I threatened to switch service and they just warned there would be $199 early termination fee to which I agreed and paid because I refuse to give a company like that my business. Highly recommend green mountain.

Tanner from Irving
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I thought I was making a smart decision...

(1.6 / 5)

  When I switched to ambit I thought I was making a smart decision. I was with TXU for years prior and was convinced of Ambit's cheaper rates. Upon doing my research, Ambit wasn't cheaper than TXU, but I decided to go with the free nights plan. It turned out to be a horrible mistake. My bill ended up being much higher than TXU. Calling customer service isn't easy, it takes at least an hour to get to somebody. And my password never worked, no matter how many times I changed it.

Sonya from Channelview
October 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They say they offer A/C heat sheild coverage but I havent gotten it after 4 mos or more

(1.6 / 5)

  They need to get rid of this coverage and stop advertising for this because they cant enroll you. CS has no answers. This is bad CS

Nikki Wallace from Dallas
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont get fooled by initial offer and huge hidden charges are there

(1.4 / 5)

  Dont get fooled by low electricity bill. They have something called avg usage bill from previous year and that make you feel you are getting less electricity bill but at the end of the service they will send you huge adjustment bill. They keep you in dark about this until you disconnect the service. So unfair and wrong business practice. I would not recommend Ambit Energy to anyone.

Pandurang Yachwad from Irving
June 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What they do is legal...but it is deceptive...

(1.6 / 5)

  Ambit requires 1 year contracts, at least they did for residents of my community. I pay my bills online, but Ambit's website is down regularly after 10pm or so....maybe earlier, but that is when I finish my day and sit down and work on bills and stuff. This led to late payments, waiting for the next time the site was up. So I set up auto pay, but then my bill goes up. And then a payment fails, but I am not notified until my service is cut. Sometimes I work from home, so this is not acceptable. I am planning to move, but now that they have required a deposit, and for me to re-start a 1 year contact because of the shut off, I will lose the deposit when I move. All of this is legal. You can get bills and notices mailed, but they won't get to you in time, so paying online is still better. But keep an eye on the rate and rate changes and don't set up autopay. Better yet...don't waste your time and money on this outfit. Look at their reviews. They are profitable because of with held deposits, fees, and energy rates that change or are to their best interest, not yours.

BlueCat from Dallas
June 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just dont. STAY AWAY! Two bedroom apartment, $500 a month

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a month to month plan with them. Paid more than $800 for two months, for the months of December and January. Switched to a contract with another company, less than $30 a month. Their excuse? Prices fluctuate!

Dont ambit from Dallas
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service

(1 / 5)

  I was with Ambit for over 5 years and never was I ever late. Paid my bill online and one day loan behold my electricity was shut off. No notice whatsoever, said I failed to pay the current bill. No curtsy call checking to see what might have happened. It cost me 125.00 deposit plus like a $140. to get it turned back on. No grace what so ever. My contact expires his month and will not be renewing it. They better return my deposit. This is how they make interest money on your deposit.

Beverly Hagen from Hurst
June 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady billing practices

(1.4 / 5)

  When my contract expired I was expecting an increase, I was not expecting my bill to double. When I got that bill I thought it was a mistake, nope, customer service said since Im out of contract they can charge whatever they want. So I changed service and now I get the bill for the last six days from Ambit and they want more than I was paying a month, no justification, just bill you whatever they want to punish you for switching service.

Aaron from Lancaster
June 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billed without being notified

(1.4 / 5)

  There was a bill posted to my account without me being notified of it. Therefore I had to pay my bill late and when I spoke with coustomer service about the issue they did not help or give any reason as to why I was not notified. I will not be using ambit energy in the future.

I was billed additional cost without being notified from Sugar Land
May 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Experience Ever

(1 / 5)

  Ambit took money off my card for a deposit before they knew if they could even provide me service. After figuring out they would not be able to provide the service I was told a refund would be issued. It took them less than five minutes to take the $80 off my card but for some reason the refund had to be sent back as a check, it has been a month since the day they claimed to have sent my check out in the mail. Customer service is a joke as well as the supervisors. I would not recommend Ambit to anyone ever. They are by far the most unorganized unprofessional energy company I have ever dealt with.

Ambit Energy from Commerce
April 25th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RIP OFF

(1 / 5)

  This is one of the biggest rip-off companies I've ever dealt with. They bill you starting the day you do not pay $10 for a disconnect notice which cost them just a few pennies to send. Then 14 days after you miss one payment you're disconnected they want a deposit and a big reconnection fee. They are just greedy. Most electric companies let you go a full and tire cycle and pay the next due date without any penalty at all which is what I'm used to. Not these scam artists. Oh and did I tell you that they cut my power off in the middle of an ice storm and refuse to turn it on until the next day. I thought there was something against the law that they could even do that at a time where you could freeze to death. I canceled my service will never go back with them. FYI I talked for an hour and 15 minutes to get my $10 fee removed today and it did work you just have to keep complaining and keep asking for somebody else. So do not believe them when they tell you they can't do it. They can you just have to make enough noise. Ambit, you should have listened to me earlier today now you're going to have to listen to everybody else just like me because now they know that they can get their money back if they make enough noise. The way to get their attention is to tell whoever is on the line I'm sorry you do not have the authority to do this but I know someone does so get me somebody with some Authority because apparently you just answer phone calls I need a person with a real job. I finally got someone with a real job and they gave me my $10 back to stop listening to me.

Never again from Addison
April 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST ELECTRIC COMPANY EVER!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR OVER A YEAR AND NEVER BEEN LATE ON PAYING A BILL IN FACT ALWAYS PAID EARLY THEN I GET A NOTICE THEY ARE STARTING TO CHARGE $10 FOR A DISCONNECT NOTICE IF YOU'RE EVEN A DAY LATE WITH A PAYMENT NOT A DAY LATE AFTER A GRACE PERIOD THEY WANNA SAY THEY HAVE A 5 DAY GRACE PERIOD WHICH IS FALSE THERE IS NO GRACE IF YOU STILL GET CHARGED A LATE FEE ON TOP OF THE DISCONNECT FEE WHICH THERE SHOULD NEVER BE A DISCONNECT NOTICE SENT IF YOU'RE GIVEN 5 DAYS GRACE PERIOD BUT A DAY AFTER BILL DUE DATE YOU GET A NOTICE REALLY? EVERY ELECTRIC COMPANY I'VE EVER KNOWN HAS NEVER DONE BUSINESS AS BAD AS AMBIT THEY ARE A RIP OFF AND I AM IMMEDIATELY LOOKING FOR SERVICE ELSEWHERE ESPECIALLY SINCE I'VE READ THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THEIR SERVICE CUT OFF FOR BEING 1 DAY LATE THAT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL I DON'T SEE THIS COMPANY BEING IN BUSINESS MUCH LONGER THAN ANOTHER YEAR I CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE TO SEE IF I CAN CHANGE MY DUE DATE ACCORDING TO MY PAY PERIOD WHICH THEY HAVE DONE BEFORE I WAS TOLD NO I WOULD NEED TO GET AN EXTENSION THEN TO GET AN EXTENSION I'D HAVE TO PAY PART OF IT UMMMM WHAT'S THE SINCE IN GETTING AN EXTENSION TO PAY LATER IF I GOT TO PAY IN ORDER TO GET AN EXTENSION I THINK THE CEO, THE OWNER OF THIS COMPANY ARE MONEY HUNGRY AND ARE DOWN RIGHT EVIL CAN'T WAIT TO GET SERVICE ELSEWHERE SO I CAN CALL AMBIT BACK TO TELL THEM TO KISS MY A**!

RACHELLE from Houston
March 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheater & Robbers

(1 / 5)

  Customer service worst, I m calling them from last 2 months to explain my bill, they said they will call back in 2 weeks, I callled again & again worst behavior from CSR, when I say I will cancel my contract they gave me fear to make my credit bad, we dont have that much use still get higher bills, when I called first for connection they say I can change my plan within 2 months but they show me different face after that

Chirag gandhi from Manvel
February 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They do not care .

(1 / 5)

  Let me tell you about my experiences here with ambit energy . I moved in to my small 2 bedroom apartment back in October .. I paid for my deposit before I moved in and had it set up to where I had electricity the day I got my keys . Anyways . First month goes by and I was only charged for half a month since I moved in on Oct 13th. That month my bill was $33. Now this is where it gets interesting . Remember Im in a small apartment . No TV (up until last month anyways) . No microwave . No computers or any of the such. Just a plain Jane apartment . The next month my bill shot up to $450 . This was due right before Christmas , resulting in me not being able to get my son a single gift. I put that on differed payments since being a single mom and having several other bills ... I didnt have an extra $450 to toss to ambit . Cool. The next month my bill shot up again, this time to $540 .. okay so something clearly is wrong . I called and spoke with ambit and their corporate just for them to tell me that my meter test came back fine and theres nothing they can do. The last bill I got (my current ) is now at $465 due on valentines . I have called multiple times , spoke to multiple people , spoke with their partnering company about my meter , spoke with several media personal.. you name it. But they have my name on a switch hold so Im screwed . Basically . Watch your meter for yourself and always double check and get a second opinion. I had a third party tell me something is wrong with my meter and had my ac/heater checked and still ambit refuses to recognize the issue . Just be aware of the type of situation you could get stuck into.

Vanessa. from Plano
February 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY EVER

(1 / 5)

  I started service with this shade tree company, and I made payment arrangements on my bill and paid $100 THAT DAY and a few days later they STILL disconnected my service. I spoke with the customer service rep and she stated that SOMEHOW they disconnected my lights in error and they made me wait 2-4 HOURS for reconnect service that THEY messed up on please save yourself the hassle and do not go to this unprofessional shade tree light company... Im switching asap.

Shandricka from Princeton
January 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  The customer service is poor and they are very rude!! I am going to cancel my agreement.

Hh from Dallas
December 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  I was apparently elected into an average billing account that i had no clue about, so this month i get charged an extra 180 dollars for a plan i had no clue about. I would highly recommend new customers or younger people new to paying bills such as i to avoid this company.

Avoid this company from Waco
September 19th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

One less customer to gouge

(1 / 5)

  I've been a customer with Ambit for about 2.5 years until today. Back in march I resigned my plan for a fixed rate of 8.3 cents. I typically prepay a fixed amount every 3 months or so so I never actually look at my bill. However in June I got a notice that said my bill was over $300 for the month! When I called to have it corrected they said it was because I was on a variable plan. I was baffled because not only did I enroll in a fixed rate plan online I CALLED TO VERIFY at the time(a call that has mysteriously vanished from their system). The CSR was full of attitude but did a "rerate" for my June bill. And we resubmitted my fixed rate plan (obviously higher than what i initially signed up for but WAY better than 18c). I asked if it would be fixed for July and was told it would. Come July .. ANOTHER $300 bill! Called again and was told it would be corrected but to give them time (until 8/5). Today I called and was told my services were being disconnected and not only do I had to pay the $300 bill but disconnect and reconnect fees as well! When asked what happened to my adjustment I was told I never should have been told I would get one and it's been denied. No warning, no explanation except "the agent should have advised you to pay the initial amount". BUT HE DIDNT HE SAID YOU WOULD FIX IT! I am livid! Leaving this company and i hope they go out of business SOON

Don't waste your money from Katy
August 7th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOW PRICE ENERGY "big LIE"

(1 / 5)

  a sales man from Ambit offered me a $ 05 cent per kWh he said the delivery charge will be about $ 0.10 per kWh
but my bill come to $ 185 .44 I all Ambit customer service "RUDE " people spend over ! hr. on the phone to found out that my bill include a charge of $ 146.50 for power delivery and $ 9.95 penalty for using less than 1500 kWh.
I dividing 196 kwh on $ 185.44 that means they are charging me $ 0.946122 per kWh
Where is the 0,05 pre Kwh? my bill suppose to be $ 19.60 at $ 10 cents per kWh
Ambit is offering low cost energy to customers but they don't tell that they make their money over charging customers for delivery.
I called the company that delivery the power and someone told me that Ambit charge just what ever they want for delivery and they have nothing to do with it on other words they make their profit that way.
and recommend me to fight for my money.
The easiest way for me will be cancel the account but they want $ 250 for cancelation .
Stay away from Ambit

Jose Meneses from Corpus Christi
February 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unsatisfied Customer

(1 / 5)

  I have been a customer for quit some time now and I feel that my rates are based on my neighbors. I don't think I am billed correctly. This up and down bill make me sick....

Alecia Adams from Houston
January 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Treat you like garbage when you leave

(1.4 / 5)

  Are used Ambit for one year. After the contract was over I changed energy companies. Ambit never sent me a final bill. Instead they waited 3 months tacked on late fees and interest and sent me to a collection agency. Their business practices are unethical. This doubled my final bill. I do not recommend them under any circumstances

Dan from Grand Prairie
January 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I got conned into selling Ambit service and was stuck in a contract. I got no notice of my contract expiring and my rate jacked up. I didn't have time to change to a new company and stayed with them another 3 months. I got a disconnect notice for 9/20 for $97. I paid it on 9/19. On 9/23 my power was cut off. I called to ask why and was told that I only had until the 17th to pay it. So 6 days later they cut my power off and now want me to pay a disconnect and reconnect fee. This is a total scam. I have never had a utility company cut off power after they received payment even when it was pending disconnections before.
This is a pyramid scheme. You will not save money in the long run nor will you make money.
I feel like sucker for getting involved

PISSED OFF from Pasadena
September 23rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TOO MUCH

(1.8 / 5)

  This place is horrible. I have NEVER had electric bills so high. They are non caring. They cut my lights off even though I advised them I had epilepsy. I told them I just needed time to come up with the fees. I told them I simply forgot and my neurologist advised them that it may have been due to medication. But they did not care. This is the worst company ever.

Damagedbyambit from Houston
August 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very bad customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  If you call them to fix an issue or to get a standard discount, they will say you have pay the full amount first in order to get the discout and they charge $5 extra to process the payment. In order to get a few cents doscount you will end up paying mote money. And the communication between two representatives will have two different information and you will emd up with a headache and a hold on the line for hours.
Very bad customer service. Specially, if you have a iphone, you don't have access to mobile app or to their online acct.

Sisindu from Houston
June 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL

(1 / 5)

  These guys are a bunch of crooks. I set a cancellation date months in advance because I moved out of the apartment. I got verification MULTIPLE times that the once the contract ended that they would automatically cancel the service. Got a huge bill a month after the supposed cancellation date. I called and they claim they have no automatic cancellation and refused to give any kind of explanation or refund. So they essentially told me the new people in my old apartment got a free month on ME.

Absolutely embarrassed that I could get scammed by such a "well known" company, I guess that's why they have contracts and huge early cancellation fees because they know they will provide terrible service and we will be trapped into paying.

Robert Hughes from Houston
June 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  I missed my payment by a couple of days and charged me 7 times the amount of my bill just to restore service. Bill was approximately 32 bucks and charged me upwards of 200 just to restore my service. Customer support supervisor was super rude and said that I could cancel and pay them 200 dollars for early termination of contract. I literally just paid 5 months of electricity for a on time late fee. Oh and since they don't own my meter I have to pay the other company that own meter a fee too.
Typical companies that nickel and dime you until the end.

Luis from Houston
March 28th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highly Disappointed

(1.6 / 5)

  I signed with Ambit Energy to help a friend that was a consultant. The promise of travel rewards was a nice perk and the rates were average. I encountered a billing error on one of the months; we normally pay $70 month for our apartment, but it jumped to $250 and I immediately contacted support. First of all, they are hard to get a hold of with customer care hours ending at 6pm on weekdays CST. That means having to take time off of work to be put on hold to attempt to speak with someone. When I do get to speak with someone, they want to blame the customer first...I got responses like are you sure you turned off your A/C...Our avg bill for the past 6-7months was $70 and it spike to $250....I was finally passed through to someone that assured me that they would send someone out to read my meter to fix. They do get one light bulb for ultimately resolving the issue, but it was a terrible experience. Oh, did I mention the travel rewards were not worth it. You get 1 pt for 1 kwH, trips cost 25k to 45k pts and had lots of stipulations and limited dates (down season).

Needless to say, I left Ambit as soon as my contract expired.

George from Grand Prairie
February 18th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Same Problems Across the Board - Billing, Customer Service, Errors and at YOUR EXPENSE!

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been an Ambit customer since 2009. They disconnected my service without notification once when I went to pay online and the transaction did not go through for some reason. I was never notified that there was a problem. When I called them back and tried to explain, they said they are able to see when someone was on their website and they had no record that I was on it the day I told them. I knew the day because I made a note in my checkbook. I told them I definitely was on the website and I would look up my computer history to show them when my electricity came back on. They charged me disconnect fees along with others and required a deposit to turn my electricity back on. After my electricity came back on, my computer history in fact did show that I was on the ambit bill pay site that day. They didn't care. Now, they have screwed up my billing for the past several months. I get one bill that says I owe one amount, or have a credit, and then get a disconnect notice the day after my bill is due, all because of their shoddy billing. It is an absolute joke. I haven't received a correct bill in months. I go to the online area to verify it and it is the same as my incorrect bill. Today, the lady told me to ignore the amount due and just pay the current charges amount from the usage. I told her I expected their math to be right and be able to tell me how much was due on my bill. These people are a special kind of STUPID! I am gone!

T. Taylor from Round Rock
January 5th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Charging after cancellation

(1 / 5)

  Absolutely the worse energy company! Stay far far away!!! I signed up with them in 2012. They screwed me with my renewal in 2014 so when moving in 2015 I decided to find a new energy company. Although I did call to cancel my service (I was told that it was no worries and that it would be done by a particular date). I'm still being charged and it's just ever so convenient that they have no record of my call to them when I canceled. They will take your money and are truly deceitful. Horrible customer service! Save yourself the stress!!! They are no help!!

Roxanne McCrary from Houston
November 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PLEASE I BEG YOU DO NOT USE AMBIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I was only a customer with Ambit for a few months.
1. I paid a half payment for my bill on 8/15/15 because I did not have enough to pay the $108 bill for a 600 square foot apartment using the air conditioner at 80 degrees from 8pm to 8am and I take my laundry to a washateria.
2. I received a voicemail on Saturday 8/29/15 that my bill needed attention..
3. I received another voicemail on Saturday 9/12/15 that my bill need attention.
4. I checked my mail on Sunday 9/13/15 and saw my normal white envelope that was my Ambit billing statement that I threw on the counter to open later.
4. I came home from work Monday, 9/14/15 at around 7:30 p.m. and saw my electricity has been turned off.
5. I called Ambit and their automated system said their business hours are form 8am-6pm central time and that in order to turn my electricity back on I had to pay $309 dollars including a $125 deposit, $40 disconnect fee, $25 reconnect fee and a $53.79 past due payment and all of it had to be paid before I turn my electricity on and NO ONE WAS THERE TO TALK TO WORK OUT A PAYMENT PLAN TO EVEN TURN MY ELECTRICITY BACK ON AFTER 6PM!
6. I called a friend to stay with until the next day.
7. I called Ambit the next day at work and was on hold for 30 minutes before I could talk to a live person.
8. Finally I spoke to Longa and when I asked if would work out a payment plan because I did not have $309 to turn the electricity on she repeated over and over that I had to pay $309 before I can turn on the power and that she did not have the authority to accept a payment plan.
9. I asked to speak to a manager and was on hold for 30 minutes before I hung up.
10. My coworker told me to call Reliant.
11. I called Reliant and they are open 24/7 if my power goes off and they take payment plans if it does, and I said sign me up!
12. My power was on that afternoon! No deposit! No Problem!
MY ELECTRICITY WAS DISCONNECTED FOR JUST A $53.79 PAST DUE BALANCE
A FRIENDS ELECTRICITY WAS DISCONNECTED FOR A 7 CENT PAST DUE BALANCE

Cole from Fort Worth
September 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

These people rip off customers

(1 / 5)

  These ppl rip off customers and they are the worst electric company that I've ever dealt with in my 50 years on this earth. I had to use them while I lived at The Enclave at Hometown apartments, because we were having a home built. I never paid as much monthly as I did with this company in my life. In my opinion and if you have an option, do not go with this company, it's terrible what they do to their customers. And if you try to have issues figured out with the customer service people, don't bother because it's a waste of your time. They don't fix anything and pretend like you are who is wrong.

Rebecca from North Richland Hills
July 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shut off week early.

(1.8 / 5)

  Order shut off on the 29th. They shut off on 20th. Centerpoint needs order to activate. So no electrify during summer for 2 days since Ambit has NO weekend hours. STAY AWAY!

Robertson from Houston
June 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible billing...Horrible customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ambit really messed my billing for multiple accounts which i have for 2 different rental properties. They disconnected the electric the same day that I called to question a weird, never seen before charge on a bill. When I called day later about the disconnected service, the rep said that she understood what happened and waived the disconnect /reconnect fee. She never sent the order to reconnect service to AEP. The following day electric service was finally restored after my tenant was without electricity for nearly 2 days. Ambit reps could not tell me why the service was disconnected or why the order was never sent for reconnection. HORRIBLE billing & customer service. They couldn't care less if you remain a customer.

Ellen Weed from Alpine
April 2nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

POOR Service and Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I foolishly renewed my contract with them and now my bill has nearly DOUBLED in price. They claim energy rates have gone UP since I signed up in July 2013. Sure they have, but not THAT much. Now I feel TRAPPED with a company that can charge me whatever they want. I am a widow and try to live as "Green" as I can. I can't afford to keep paying these rates. They are cutting off my power on the 29th because I don't get paid until the 30th. They wouldn't even bend to give me ONE DAY. I'll NEVER use them again.

Melody from Garland
September 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's a scam

(1 / 5)

  We were signed up with this fraudulent 3rd party scam. Do not sigh up with these ambit crooks and alert your family and friends of this travesty.

Kendra petrol sky from Petaluma
September 3rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AWEFUL

(1 / 5)

  Absolute WORST customer service I have ever experienced . I cancelled and they kept charging me for TWO MONTHS without an email like they had always done to let me know I had a bill but noooo they just charged me and let a debt collector handle it. Total CROOKS

Alexis Scott from Houston
May 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Owner

(1.2 / 5)

  Customer service is the worst I have had dealings with, took over 4 hours on the phone to get account open. Repeated calls, could not speak to same csr, on hold for hours, took 10 days to get power back on after a new account was setup.

Larry from Voca
May 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

it is awesome!!let me tell you why.

(1 / 5)

  Ambit energy is awesome, not only do i get very cheap rates their customer service team is awesome!!! The women at Ambit will let you eat their pussy and cream pie their face whenever you want!! Why would anyone not want to switch?

Fantasia from Edinboro
May 18th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Careful When Moving

(1.8 / 5)

  This is my experience with Ambit -- I had a 12 month contract with them, and a 12 month lease on my apartment. I called and paid what I owe on Dec 17th and was out the door. I asked them to cancel the service (as there were only 3 days left on my contract). Somehow they have no record of me canceling the service, yet gladly took the payment I made on the 17th over the phone. 5 Months later, with absolutely no communication (no e-mail, phone call etc) They sent me to collections on a 30 dollar balance that had late fees up to 80 dollars. They had automatically rolled me into a "month to month" plan, even though I had already moved and used zero energy. No one there is willing to help -- I paid the amount. But this is what I'm telling you to do if you use Ambit.

1.) Lawyer up! Just in case they try to pull a fast one on you

2.) If you're moving, make sure they actually close your account, and some random person in their service department doesn't just say they did, when they really didn't.

3.) Don't let them automatically roll you into a month to month

4.) Just because you pay "everything" you owe, doesn't mean there isn't another pending charge they haven't told you about.

Other than that -- I didn't have much issue with the actual energy provided

Tony from Houston
April 25th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Amit energy

(1 / 5)

  Made a huge mistake by choosing Ambit
My bills literally doubled. I'm changing as quick
As possible:/

marilyn from Whitehouse
March 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I strongly dislike this company

(1 / 5)

  Very difficult to make payments, high price charges.

Lilly from Round Rock
March 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT MY PROBLEM CUT OFF THE LIGHT!

(1.8 / 5)

  I have had Ambit energy for about 3 years now. Signing up with no credit for my first apartment was not a bad experience at all. From my first apartment to a house and a baby on the way Ambit has been my electricity provider through it. I knew times were going to be tough when I would take my unpaid maternity leave and having no health insurance for the baby as well. For the month of January my electric bill was over $300 and was due around the time my 2 month year old had gotten a cold. My bill was due on the 16th so I called the 17th. After waiting for an hour to get a hold of a customer representative I had informed them that I had the money but if their was any other way I could make a payment arrangement because I had to take my sick baby to his doctor appointment where I would pay cash, she asked me the necessary questions to proceed and detailed her notes about my situation and how my husband gets paid every Friday so a payment every week would be made on account. After thanking the lady she told me to pay the next Friday and call back for an arrangement, so I did but after calling twice and no answer and long waiting hours I gave up but still made my payment through the automatic system. That was a Friday that following Monday they cut of my electric. After calling and asking why because I had made the payment the supervisor said its because I didn't call and that was the end of it. I asked her if she could cut it back on because of the cold temperatures and my two month year old was sick and I would just pay it all but she said she couldn't and there was nothing else she could do because I did not call. Never again will I be with this company again after being with a company for years and the circumstances they made me feel like I was trying to not pay.

Candice from Arlington
February 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run from these people

(1 / 5)

  Payed online, the link acts like it is broke when you hit reenter, it deducts again without any conformation. Then when you call to dispute it, they don't want to refund your money. I wish you could give negative rating to this company.

Hurlbut from Round Rock
January 31st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't ever pay your bill late!!

(1.2 / 5)

  I've been sucked into some kind of crazy cycle because I was late on my bill. They are now disconnecting my power every two weeks.(no exaggeration) They've switched my plans twice without me knowing and doubled my rates. Both times I didn't find out until my bill doubled. I've never experienced such poor customer service before. The "travel rewards" is just a scam. I can't wait to be free.

Disappointed from Central
January 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  The company is ridiculous! It is very poorly run and has zero customer service. You cannot get through to anyone through their 800 customer service number. I have multiple rental homes with them plus had my primary residence just because I knew account representative in a prior job. When I moved from my primary residence I paid my last bill and moved on. Evidently there was a small balance left on the last bill of which I was unaware. They evidently mailed it to the former home where the service was discontinued and of course it was kicked back to them. Not sure why they couldnt see the other rental residences mailing addresses and mail it there. What do you think they did in this instance? Maybe youre thinking an email message or a phone call informing me that there was a small balance. Of course not, they dinged my credit with a collection within 60 days of moving out! I buy rental homes and use my credit extensively for my business so this is serious problem for me. It dropped my score by 100 points costing my thousands in extra financing fees. You may ask yourself what kind of idiotic company reports THEIR OWN CURRENT CUSTOMERS to the credit agencies with derogatory information without even a minimum attempt to collect it. AMBIT ENERGY does! That is a really creative way to keep customers. I love their long term business plan. After multiple drawn out attempts to contact them and pay the amount they informed me that they cannot remove the collection off my credit report. I still not sure why an crappy energy company has the right to ding a credit report when NO money was borrowed or credit extended. I will be telling everyone that will listen about my experience with AMBIT. STAY AWAY, there are too may good choices with well-run companies to mess with these amateurs!

Gary S from Allen
December 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of Ambit they scam you in every way possible

(1 / 5)

  RUN! All I have to say is run away from this company! Ambit will bend over backwards to make you a dissatisfied customer. They do not care about their customers, they are rude to their customers, you will see a lot of fraudulent charges on your bill and you are wrong for questioning them. You will be dropped from your low kwph rate at any given moment, for any given reason, even if you are under contract. Your monthly bill will quadruple even when you're out of town! RUN!!!

Scammed By Ambit from Houston
November 27th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of time and money

(1 / 5)

  They will shut your power out with out sending a bill... Then are rude when you are trying to get it back on... All the promos are fake I've been with then 2 years haven't seen anything they promised and have had my power shut off 3 times and left with out power for a day after they are payed up.. Stay away from this company.

Andrew McElveney from Fort Worth
November 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will not give me 6 days to make payment

(1 / 5)

  They cutting my power off tomorrow and will not give me a 6 day extension I do not get paid until the 25th. So now I will be without power for 6 days in Texas, this is the worst company I have ever delt with. This is the first time I was ever been angry enough to actually complain online about a company. I am asking for 6 days!!!!!!!!!!!!! LESS THAN A MONTH BEHIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

John Blodgett from League City
November 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Keep looking....

(1 / 5)

  I had Ambit for a little over a year. When I opened the account with them, there was a long wait on the phone. I also had to call back because their system was down. This shoudve been a sign. Anyways, a few weeks later, I realized that the guard light near our house was disconnected. So, I called them again to have the guard light reconnected to our account. This, again, involved multiple calls because they could not figure out ESID for that guard light (although the previous house tenant was using them too!). Unfortunately, I had to call them again a few weeks later because some tree branches were getting close to our power lines. Again, this involved multiple calls. Ambit (and Oncor) gave me different stories on who is responsible. For a while, I didnt have a reason to call them since I was paying my bill and I did not need anything from them. Until, I had to disconnect. I was already un-happy that I had to pay double because my contract had already expired and I couldnt get the "good" rate unless I go under contract with them. But, I accepted and moved on as this is "business as usual" for companies like Ambit. WHen I called to disconnect, it was fairly straightforward. Until I got another bill for the guard light. Apparently, I did not tell them to disconnect that although I cancelled my account. Because of this, I was still charged for a line that is part of a closed account. I am still working with Ambit on getting a refund for this but its not looking good. Stay away from Ambit.

Maria from Rowlett
October 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit - The worst of the worst

(1 / 5)

  Purchased a home and had the electric put in my name on a Monday. The previous owner had put in an order to take it out of his name on Tuesday. BOTTOM LINE - Ambit turned my power on, on a Monday then turned it off the next day on Tuesday, and refused to turn it back on until Friday. If you can find worse customer service from any company, I would be surprised.

Justa Newhomeowner from South Padre Island
October 11th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Early cut-offs, and unhelpful Customer service.

(1 / 5)

  Nearly 3 hours of phone tag with Ambit Energy's customer service, and I FINALLY get someone to talk to me about my account.

Long story short, and error on THEIR part, made my bill having to be paid today, for an additional 80+$. (Disconnect, reconnect, service etc)

I very politely explained, either they fix their mistake, or they will lose a customer. The turtle-shy women says, "There is nothing I can do.Let me put you on hold, so I may speak to a supervisor."

5 minutes more go by, she comes back on and says, "I am sorry, at this time we are unable to assist you. If you cannot pay the entire balance, including the disconnect fees, service charges, and reinstatement fees, we are unable to assist you in any way."

So, I somewhat frustratingly ask, "So, you turn my electricity off early, and I get to pay extra, or I have no electricity? Am I to understand this?"

Turtle shy lady, "Again, we are unable to assist you in this matter. Please pay the remaining balance and all fees in order to reinstate your energy with us."

I then explain, "Ma'am, I have been with Ambit nearly 2 years, I do not wish to change companies, but if you cannot take back your own mistake, you will lose a customer."

Turtle lady, "I am sorry, at this time we are unable to assist you. If you cannot pay the entire balance, including the disconnect fees, service charges, and reinstatement fees, we are unable to assist you in any way. Do you have anymore questions?"

I had a few, but she was useless, so I say, "Nope, that's all I needed to hear."

So, after having my electric off for 4 hours today, over half of which dealing with the AMbit that caused it, I switched to a new energy company, that not only agreed to turn on today for no extra cost after explaining what I just dealt with, They turned it on less than 5 minutes after hanging up the phone with them.

My house is now powered by 100% wind energy. 100% renewable resource, and such great customer service by Breeze Energy.

L.C.K from Crowley
October 11th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service

(1 / 5)

  I had the worst set up experience with this company. They could not coordinate among their national phone reps, the local rep, and our local electric supplier. They threatened that I could be without power all weekend even though I had paid additional money to have a particular set up date. This required me to call back and forth all day long to check on the work order status that never seemed to get entered. Other than my local rep, I always spoke to someone new and had to tell my story all over again each time. My rep tried to help, but he was limited by Ambit on how much he could do to get my power turned on. I should have run away screaming at the beginning. As it was, they did eventually work out the details and our local supplier turned on the electric late into the evening. I had a while without problem from them and I like the lower rates and cost each month, but a few months ago a problem occurred. I paid my bill on time, they received it before it was due, but they held it past the due date, then their bank rejected the payment. Instead of dealing with their bank to resolve the problem, they just expected me to absorb the fees due to the rejection of my payment. Now that is poor customer service, especially after an extraordinarily long hold time! I have never had a good experience reaching them by phone. I will be moving to another provider as soon as I find a good plan.

Shannon from Waco
September 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  Their employees should be trained better.. One employee says one thing the other says another thing..Turns out both were wrong...They need to get it straight..its the customer who ends up paying for their mistakes

sandra from Freeport
August 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS ASS!!

(1 / 5)

  these people just care about getting people in!!! once I called in as a new customer they answered right away but once I called to pay my deposit they never answered i literally found myself waiting for 45 minutes not only once but 3 times!!! they do not care people!!! please listen to me!! later onn think of this review once you've gotten involved with them!!

mandis from Garza
August 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit sucks!!

(1 / 5)

  Don't do it!!!!!!!!! I'm a consultant! And they screwed me over, just goes to show what kind if company this is! They are money hungry and just use the customer base to lure you in! I'm a very disgruntled consultant that got suckered in and lost over $800!! If you were that great of a company and was that sucessful, you shouldn't have to cheat me out of $319 bucks that I thought I had cancelled through a sc!! SCAMMED!!! Is how I feel!!! Never again! I'm gonna make it my mission to spread the word! I'm the best person to do it too, since I'm a hairstylist!!! You have not seen the last of me!!! ( evil laugh!!!!!)

Gigi from Sacramento
August 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

morons!

(1.8 / 5)

  I had ambit switch the power out of my ex wifes name and into mine. They sent an activation notice to the power company then a cancellation for hers so I had power for 2 days now no power and it is still 90 outaide at 10:00. Started calling them at 10 am they said it would be on shortly now 12 hours later and 2 phone calls later sitting on hold for 30 min on each call they tell me hopefully it will be on tomorrow. They said it is hard to send a second energy request. I dont care how hard it is do it fix your mistake. Now pay for my spoiled food in my refridgerator. They act like they care but dont believe it.

shane from Midlothian
July 12th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible think twice

(1.4 / 5)

  At first as usual everything was pretty ok but here we are almost three yrs later and they messed up and bigggggggg. So we moved for the third time and first they have us a weird excuse as to why we had to open a new account instead of transferring that was a yr ago. Last week we get a letter stating that if we do not pay the last bill of our old address (let's remember I moved a yr ago) it will be disconnected the bill was over 100 dollars . We were given the run around stating they tried to contact us. We asked were and they said at your old address Whattttt when we asked for our total all together it was over 200 dollars we have never had a bill over 100 it is just two of us in a loft . I am so disappointed and will be paying the cancellation fee and we will be going else where . This is the classiest way of stealing money I have ever seen.

Maria from Fort Worth
July 12th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No communication

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not be even one day late! No email or mail notifications- you just come home in 102 degree weather & have no power. I lost all my food vecause even after I paid them over the phone, I still had no power for over 12 hours. Hope they slept good in their a/c's that night.

Tracy from Round Rock
July 9th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No bills out just said mail delivery wrong .

(1 / 5)

  No bill out for me no call for late payment no note when drop your contract no note to disconnect your service . Hard to contact customer care . Call to auto pay system and you pay your payment but not still said you still owe money . I was pay 3 time same day , money in bank they take it but electric not turn on , customer care said I'm not make payment yet . I will complaint to PUC

Yen from Houston
July 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit is Extremely Unethical

(1.2 / 5)

  I had been an Ambit Energy customer for 1 year and paid my bill every month.

Account was due for renewal on 6/18/13 and I renewed for a 6 month term.

After my renewal, I did not receive my next bill, which was for an amount of $39.65 and was due on 6/6/13.

Ambit then issued a disconnect notice on 6/17/13, which was mailed on 06/18/13. This noticed stated that the past due balance must be paid by 6/27/13 or the service would be disconnected on 6/28/13. However, due to a delay with mail forwarding, I did not receive this noticed until AFTER the disconnection date.

On 6/28/13, Ambit disconnected my electricity without my knowledge. When I called them, they informed me of the past due amount. I told them that I had never received the notification and that I would be happy to pay the past due amount, but would NOT be willing to pay the inappropriate amount of additional fees since I had never received a bill or disconnection notice. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was denied. They stated that someone could return my call in 24-48 hours. I told them that I had 2 small children at home and I could not wait 48 hours to turn electricity back on. Again, they refused to assist me further. I told the representative that if I could not speak to a supervisor to get this resolved, I would need to contact another company to get electricity re-established. The representative informed me that I had just signed a new contract with them a few days prior and if I cancelled service, I would incur a $100 fee for breaking the contract. I stated again that I would be happy to pay actual charges for service, but that I was not paying disconnect and contract break fees for an issue that was not my fault. I requested a call back from a supervisor.

On 07/01/13, I contacted Ambit again about the charges because I had not yet heard back from a supervisor. I was told again that they would not remove any charges and that I could not speak to a supervisor. The representative stated that a supervisor would return my call in 24-48 hours.

I never received a call back from a supervisor and the staff continued to be of no assistance. The company is horrible and very unethical.

Kayla from McKinney
July 2nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away!!

(1 / 5)

  They trick you in signing a low rate but the charges come in soon. Forget to pay your bill they will disconnect immediately even if it's Winter and you will pay a re-connection + Your Bill + deposit ($150) then if you miss the deadline twice they screw you.They will keep you on month to month with very high charges and other crazy charges for six months. My bill used to be 70 bucks but it exploded to 160.

Just another money hungry company. Stay away!

Anonymous from Austin
June 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible- Money Hungry

(1 / 5)

  I would not recommend Ambit at all. We've always been good with turning off the lights were not using and my bill every month was $500 then the last one was $1000..Ya 3 zeros.. CRAZY PEOPLE!!

C GUERRERO from HOUSTON
May 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Definitely not recommended

(1.2 / 5)

  Totally not worth going with this provider,.. After the initial contract you will see the real colors and also once you miss the payment by one day they charge $120 deposit which you will never get back.. Very bad customer service.

Raj from Houston
May 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$124 for a one Bedroom apt Talk about crazy !

(1.6 / 5)

  Hi, my fellow consumers why would I have to pay 80 to 100 dollars a month for electricity I hardly ever use in the first place with a contract of course first bill pretty low 24 dollars but then sky rocketed too high. My apartment is pretty small 600 sq ft. When I cancelled the last bill was 108 I had to force them to split my bill in half. Customer service was mean the Rep said to me that he also has financial problems I was like " I dont really care has nothing to do with my bill " what can you do for me! ? thats my question SIR. My recomendation to all don't do contracts with no electricity providers try them first.

Iris from Houston
April 3rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM travel rewards

(1 / 5)

  Ambit's travel company scammed me out of $70. The travel date are ALWAYS UNAVAILABLE!!! So they expect you to keep asking for new dates until you give up and lose your deposit. When you ask for a refund, they will say OK, your money has been refunded then "forget" to send it. No proof of conversation. No email confirmation for refunds.

I have been waiting over 2 months for my refund. SCAM

SHAME ON YOU AMBIT!!!

Wade from Dallas
April 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CUSTOMER SERVICE & BILLING SUCKS!

(1.2 / 5)

  I'm a very busy mom in the family, so when it comes to bills, I pay whatever that comes in the mail- that means I don't keep track of what I did and did not pay yet. So when my energy was cut off one day, I called Ambit energy up. HORRIBLE customer service hours, because they closed at 7pm, the time I came back from work! So my family had to spend a cold night until 11am when their lines opened up! They couldn't DO JACK! I asked the service lady if she could open up the energy and I'll pay the fees (because it was my fault that time), but she said I couldn't do anything because apparently, they don't put back the energy on. What's worse, since it was Saturday, I had to wait until MONDAY to have my electricity put back on. So the next month came and my energy went out AGAIN. I became suspicious so I checked my checkbook, and no checks paid for Ambit-that means, their bill never came into my mail (and trust me, I pay all my bills on time as long as they come through the mail). I called them up and asked why the fuck did they never send me a bill. They checked my address and everything and said nothings wrong with it. Well then why the fuck have I not been getting any mail? They replied, "you're going to have to check with your local post office to see the problem". FUCK! Nobody has time for that, plus all my other bills are coming through nicely,except for this one. I WAS SO FURIOUS! They couldn't do shit. They also didn't had the decency to at least WARN me that i have not paid my bill yet before they cut off the damn electricity. WORST COMPANY EVER!

Melissa from Houston
March 29th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible company

(1 / 5)

  We were out of town and when I noticed we hadn't paid our bill yet, I proceeded to call to pay my bill but was told that because I was paying the full amount a day late, that there was still a possibility that I would get shut off two days later. There was no guarantee that I would still have power even after I threw my money at them. They were unhelpful, rude and unconcerned and didn't take any steps to ensure that I wouldn't get shut off, but they definitely took my money. They also lied saying that they left a voicemail about our bill. I am constantly on my phone doing business calls so I have to check every voicemail I recieve. I did not get any missed calls from them let alone a voicemail. They did say the correct phone number when they told me where they left the message but it left a really bad taste in my mouth when they lied to me.

Sally from Temple
March 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What customer service

(1 / 5)

  I am a new Ambit customer and frankly not pleased. I have had multiple problems with the online payment system. and when I call to rectify the problem, the customer service representative acts like they are doing me a favor, and that I have interrupted something very important by calling.

jrm from Dallas
March 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I switched from Ambit due to their horrible customer service, the purposely confusing bills, and their blatant theft. They doubled my rate and forced me to pay a $125 deposit because I was late. I understand that they are a business, however if I send you $400 and still have a balance of $37 do not disconnect me, and then force me to pay all of the increases. Their representatives are disgusting, the supervisors are even worse. I spoke with one, and then asked to speak to her supervisor she stated that she did not have one. I asked if she owned the company and she said yes and hung up. Whatever you do, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Autumn from Keller
March 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

USE ANY OTHER COMPANY!

(1.4 / 5)

  Ambit Energy is the ABSOLUTE WORST electric company you could use in Texas. They have the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. USE ANY OTHER COMPANY BUT THIS ONE FOR YOUR ELECTRIC NEEDS!

Jennifer T from Wichita Falls
February 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

liars, over taxed and no extensions

(1 / 5)

  this company will only give you one day to pay bill. Doesn't matter if you have a kid and it's
Freezing out they will still disconnect you. And they will charge an arm and leg to turn on. I also noticed that they will charge $30+ in taxes per bill.
This company is no good and they don't care about you they only care about the money. Go with another company.

Dennale from Pearland
January 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Rip Off Company

(1 / 5)

  This is the worst energy comapny ever! They overbilled me and requested I pay a late fee for incorrect charges. They also billed me 3 months late for services and said that I was late on my bill when they tired to roll the services back 3 months. Buyer beware this company is a total rip off.

Brad McMahon from Spring
January 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service, recommended by wicked realtor Jessica Escamilla with Coldwell-Banker

(1 / 5)

  Our realtor, Jessica Escamilla, suggested this company and claimed they had excellent customer service. She even provided the cell phone number of a guy who was supposed to take care of any issues. Needless to say, the good customer service only lasted until we signed up. They left us for the dogs when we had service issues. The realtor herself turned out to be a money-hungry person who took her profits and disappeared. Stay away from Ambit.

Jim Cook from West University
December 23rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

sorry company

(1 / 5)

  Hello my name is courtney morgan i paid my bill my lights was still cut off and had to pay full price and still are off. I have a medical condtion with asthma and sleep apnea and use a machine to sleep i will be getting a lawyer and filing sute againts ambit energy this is sorry display of a company. Believe me i will take you to court im a talker but a doer i cant sleep cause i cant breathe with out my machine. I will be in contact with my lawyer!

courtney from Friendswood
December 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THESE LIARS

(1 / 5)

  Not enough space to tell the whole story. Started with promised free weekend stay (total scam). Extra surcharges making the price per KWH 30% higher than previous provider. Customer service is truly a total joke.(expect hold times for at LEAST 20 minutes anytime of the day or evening). Disconnected service "accidently" and demanded a $125 deposit to turn back on (which they returned a month later). Bill is impossible to figure out but not worth the 20 minute hold time anymore to ask for clarification.

Jason from Katy
November 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1 / 5)

  Be warned: if your plan expires, expect your bill to be higher than TXU Energy (Oncor). I was in the process of moving out of my home right before my plan was about to expire so I did not renew. Ambit took advantage of that window of time and I ended up with a $400 electric bill for one month because they jacked up the price per KWH. When you ask them about it, expect to hear excuses such as needing to renew your plan and lock in, volatile energy markets, blah blah blah...none of which is believable considering their price was higher than TXU Energy's (Oncor) price to beat.

Also one last thing, Ambit requests large deposits--even if you have good credit.

Teri from Dallas
November 1st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst I have ever had to deal with

(1 / 5)

  I have lived in CT where the only option for electricity is CL&P, notorious for their terrible customer service and I can say that Ambit is far worse, the customer service reps are extremely rude and unless you follow their script you cannot get anything done because the customer service reps lack the common sense to follow what you are saying. I will never use this company again.

Bonnie from Corpus Christi
October 31st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE AMBIT

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit for a year and today was my last day. Last month I received a bill for $243.53, $60 higher than any previous bill. Looking at my usage I saw 1302, a decrease from the previous month but still a much higher bill. I immediately called to see what the issue was. Not only was the customer service rep extremely unhelpful, she actually hung up on me when she couldn't answer my question. I did not get a call back or an explanation for this bill. This month the exact same billing issue occured again. I called and was told that I was contacted 3 times by phone saying that my term was about to expire and therefore my average rate went up to 17.2 cents. I never received a phone call or voice mail about this. I'm still thinking this is a correctable issue at this time. As a customer with excellent payment history and good credit I asked if they could adjust my bill to the previous rate of 9.5 cents for the last month and I'll re-up my term for another year. I was told absolutely not. After some questioning I asked the rep if they really expected me to re-up for another year when I'm being charged double just because they can. Her answer- "yes". I wish I had recorded that conversation so people would could hear how blatant they steal your money and then expect you to stay. I switched to "Just Energy" today for a lower rate and easy set-up. DO NOT use Ambit.

Jason Teague from Harker Heights
October 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deposit

(1.2 / 5)

  I received my deposit from Ambit Energy today. It was short $10.87 because they can. Typical of their stealing, they charge $10/month Customer Charge. This is a charge for being their customer. Their rates are higher and you cannot trust them,Tthey will cheat you. I was gone for two weeks in November to California. I shut my apartment down. The Ambit bill was 50% higher for the two weeks I was here than any month before or since. Their explanation is the Christmas lights I am running. The problem? I don't run Christmas lights, no tree, no wreath, nothing. I think they spun the meter. No proof, but no other explanation.

Ronald Smith from Dallas
October 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!

(1.6 / 5)

  I'VE HAD SERVICE WITH AMBIT FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS NOW AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD ISSUES WITH THEIR POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE BUT THIS TIME WAS THE WORST. MY SERVICE WAS DISCONNECTED WITH NO NOTICE SO I TRIED CALLING THIS MORNING AND EITHER IT WOULD RING ONCE AND THE MESSAGE I WOULD GET SAID "PLEASE HOLD" AND THEN IT WOULD HANG UP OR I WOULD GET THE AUTOMATED SERVICE AND FOLLOW ALL THE PROMPTS AND IT WOULD EITHER DO NOTHING OR HAVE ME ON HOLD FOR 10 MINUTES AND THEN HANG UP. FINALLY 3 HOURS LATER WHEN THE AUTOMATED MESSAGE CAME ON I DID NOT FOLLOW THE PROMPTS AND JUST SAT ON THE LINE EVEN AFTER THE MESSAGE WOULD REPEAT THE PROMPTS AND IT EVENTUALLY CONNECTED ME TO A REPRESENTATIVE WHO WAS ALREADY IN A HORRIBLE MOOD AND BASICALLY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND COULD NOT EVEN GIVE ME A WINDOW AS TO WHEN MY ELECTRICITY WOULD BE TURNED BACK ON. I WILL BE SWITCHING SERVICE PROVIDERS FOR SURE AFTER DEALING WITH THEM THIS MORNING!

A from BEDFORD
October 1st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolute worst company I have ever dealt with

(1 / 5)

  This is absolutely the worst company I have ever dealt with. They don't send your bills on time (or at all) so when you go to pay them they are already late and then they get to shut off your power and charge you hundreds of dollars to get you power back on. If you have two disconnects they then double your rates and you end up with an outrageous bill.

I always pay my bills on time and haven't ever had a problem with any company. These people are absolute crooks.

David from Portland
September 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit will still your money with out them working for it.

(1 / 5)

  I understand that now in days they energy companies should charge for disconnection, but when they actually disconnect your service not just because they send a order in the computer. In the old times you could understand it because it was not just enter in the computer they had to come to you house. Now in day all they have to do is put cancel in the system, and if you ask them if they can give you one more day like the day they will send the disconnection day they will tell you NO. Because they want to charge $55. + $15 of disconnection on that day. That is Ambit energy. They suck

Kasandra ontiveros from Mc Allen
August 14th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Ambit Energy Getaway is a Lie!!!!

(1.8 / 5)

  They supposedly offer you a 2 night stay at a place of your choice so that you can join and get other people to join. The service that they use "grand incentives" says it can only be a midweek stay!!! It doesn't say that anywhere in the terms and conditions. When I called grand incentives, they said that the only place you can get 2 days hotel on the weekend is in Florida but when I go to Florida, I book package deals, so I don't need the hotel stay there...
It is a worthless deal but no wonder they push you to sign a contract!!

Texas girl from Arlington
August 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Started off good ended very bad

(1.2 / 5)

  I owned a home and had Ambit, service was ok because i was on a plan. I moved to apartments still under the plan and they never called to tell me that my plan was ending and HEY would you like to renew or try a different plan. (Ok that's on me, maybe i should have kept up). Stayed with them for the year i was in my apartment, bills was ok because i was never home. I just moved into a house in June and I paid the first bill because it still had a part of my apt and the new home on the bill. That's when things went arwy. They messed up my account when switching me over while being charged 15 cents per on the plan. I can't access my account, I can't change my plan, heck i can't even see what i'm being charged now. I called Cust Svc at the beginning of July they couldn't access my account and they would call me back when it's fixed. NO Call!! The next week their system was being updated and they couldn't get into my account EVERY Fk'n Day of the week!!!! Updated Really. Week 3 they submitted a ticket to I.T. because they couldn't pull up my account and that they would have the supervisor or manager call me back. NO Call!!! This week I.T. ticket on monday no call, called them on tuesday can't access my account, can i speak to the supervisor? Well he isn't answer his phone...oh really!!! Called today was on the phone with some nervous kid because I sounded pretty pi$$ed when i called. We stayed on the phone for 30min...he couldn't access my acount, supervisor couldn't access my account. After putting me on hold for the 100th time he comes back and says what is your date of birth....WTF that has to do with my account and why it isn't working. Finally i lost it...I said since you can't fix my account, can't help me in anyway form or fashion....and oh yeah YOU GUYS ARE STILL CHARGING ME @ 15 CENTS PER...How about this....You can't help me!! I'm not paying you!!! Hung up the phone and now I'm on here looking for a new company. I said all that to say don't ever use ambit energy! If you do...use your plan and change it before it ends because they don't give a flying FK about you after that! Thank u and good night!!!

Dominic from Pflugerville
July 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Sucks!

(1 / 5)

  Customer services is NOT helpful at all. They are rude, disrespectful and utterly disappointing. They messed up our transfer of ownership and treated as a new account, cutting up our power supply after telling them time and again that we were living in the apartment and we had powersupply. We called them after noticing that we had no power and they just gave us the runaround and told us that it will take them 3-5 days to restore energy, and they were sorry and could do nothing about it. They even turned down the request to transfer us to a higher authority. We ended up cancelling ouraccount and now we have to search for some other provider with no power in this 100 degrees heat and a fridge full of food.

A Sapkota from Edinburg
July 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Theives!!!!!!! DO NOT GET AMBIT ENERGY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I had Ambit at home and we have it for a family owned business. ONE HUGE DISAPOINTMENT! A month ago I missed payment andthey cut it off. I had called a few days before to see about renewing my contract and they said nothing about disconnection. I get disconnected and they tell me that it will not be connected unless I pay off what I owed which I did , but refused to pay a $52 connection fee. Today at the small family business I work for, the electrician doing a small installation in the warehouse said that there was no voltage on one off our faces. We called centerpoint energy and they let us know we were up for disconnection after paying our bill and another deposit of $600 dollars paying a total of $1034. They representative had said that I was paying two months and the deposit! Today I am told the deposit was not $600 but should have been $680! Why am I getting different quotes a week later? I went ahead and told them to leave my lights off at home, that I would find another company! The bad thing about the company account is that I've already made a $680 deposit and was short on the payment that i made of $1034 because I was told the deposit was $600! UNFORTUNATELY i CANNOT HAVE THEM CUT THE BUSINESS ELECTRICITY OFF OR i WOULD DO THE SAME THING i DID FOR MY HOME! This is the WORSE light company I have dealt with! When I asked to speak to a supervisor the representative told me " even if you speak to a supervisor , your lights will still get shut off.''. I asked when is my contract over and they said another year! We've forked out way to much money to just have them do this to us!

Maria from Houston
May 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam,Scam,Scam

(1 / 5)

  Make sure to call a month or two before your contract end date to get balance
and due date because they won't send a bill and they will disconnect your
service to charge you $$250 in fees!!!! All of a sudden your bill will be due 7
days earlier than normal. The company should be reported. Terrible.

A victim of Ambit
April 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ended up with a rate much much higher

(1.2 / 5)

  I had Ambit and all was going well until I got a bill over $500 for last month and I have a small home. Well, I left them and got with Star Tex which I should have done all along. They are higher rated.

JP from TX USA
March 13th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy Reward Programs is a Scam

(1.3 / 5)

  I was willing to pay for above market electricity rates from Ambit while accumulating travel reward points. I was very disappointed when I redeemed the travel reward points for a Carnival 'Fun Ship' cruise. Ambit advertises 39.95 per person per night and also the option of boarding at Galveston Texas. Step one was to call Ambit and cash in your reward points instructing me to wait for a letter in the mail. After a couple of weeks I get a letter which which contains a rebate number and requires that I fill out a form with this number and mail it mail to a non-Ambit travel company. Approx two weeks later, I receive another letter in the mail which also had a form to fill out with another different rebate number to be mailed to yet another address. This second round then required that I choose a Florida boarding instead of Galveston. Then, about two weeks later, I get yet another form to fill out, this time the prices have balloned to 5 times the Ambit advertized price. Just a SCAM

Michael Vickers from Houston
January 14th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ambit customer service cant do math.

(1.8 / 5)

  I needed to renew my electricity plan in September so I stuck with
ambit. They were pleasant enough, I've been with them for 3 years.
At the time I had no bill due but asked them to give me an
approximation, and I paid slightly over that. Well come to find out it
was less than half of what I owed. I am done with them, at least
once a year I have an outrageous bill when my usage stays the
same.

jamws
October 27th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

(1.3 / 5)

  I HATE this company..it is the worst ever it took them three days to connect my
lights when i paid for an expedited request for same day service. the rates are
way to high. customer service sucks. half of the reps dont know what there
doing. you have to tlk to a supevisor to get some understanding

Meosha from Killeen
September 14th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of AMBIT billing practices.

(1.6 / 5)

  If you miss a month's payment, the unpaid balance will not appear in subsequent bills until after your power has been disconnected and you get charged a hefty re-connection fee, security deposit, and your introductory rate is replaced with the AMBIT "standard" rate. I missed my June payment, but when the outstanding balance did not appear in my July or August electric bills, I erroneously assumed that it had been paid. My error cost me several hundred dollars. I also lost my introductory rate. I had reservations about signing up with AMBIT because of on-line reviews I had read, but I did it as a favor to my neighbor. Fortunately, I only have two months before my contract is up and I can switch electricity providers without further penalties. I was wrong in missing my June payment, but I think that AMBIT's practice of not rolling over outstanding balances is dishonest. They make it very easy to default. Buyer beware!

Mark Keehn from Houston
September 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bad customer service, bad account managment

(1.5 / 5)

  I have multiple rental properties, when trying to change the ownership of one of my accounts to my tenant, it was too difficult for Ambit to send me the 'Change Of Ownership Form', I talked to them 9 times on the phone, sent multiple emails to their careaction email address, sent letters, after 3 weeks and after I threatened to sue them (yes, I had to do that just to get the form that should have been listed on their site to begin with) I received the form. me and the tenant have signed the form faxed and mailed it to them. I just received the monthly bill for this property showing it to be still under my name, that is 3 weeks after I faxed it back to them.
I talked to them on the phone again today, but I don't have a lot of hopes.

az from Round Rock
August 29th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't sign up if you EVER have to pay late!!

(1 / 5)

  We have been with Ambit for a year and a half now. We are also on the
LITE-UP program because my husband lost his job recently. All of a
sudden, when we have fully paid every other bill, they say we will be
disconnected if this bill isn't paid within 13 days after the due date.

I called to set up payment arrangements for the first time in a year and
a half... their idea of "helping me out" is to expect 60% down with 40%
due in 10 days and a $20 FEE ADDED ON TOP OF IT! Now we are in the
middle of July in TX and they are going to cut my electricity off if I'm 13
days late or if I don't do their "ONLY PLAN AVAILABLE." It's highway
robbery, especially when they know we are struggling because we
qualified for the LITE-UP program.

If you are sure you will ALWAYS be able to pay your bill on time, then
Ambit is a great deal with great prices! But if you ever get in a bind,
don't expect them to help you out!

Beatrice Potter from Houston
July 19th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unhappy About My Previous Electricity Provider Ambit

(0.9 / 5)

  Ambit is not the company you want to go with, they are dishonest, uncaring, and are only out to make a buck off everyone in Texas with their dishonesty. Go with another company, do not go with Ambit Energy, they are very bad.

No longer Ambit customer from McAllen
April 14th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They get their money one way or another

(1.4 / 5)

  It was a pleasant and easy ordering experience, and I was excited about the low rate I was given. What I wasn't told was that I had to use a certain amount of electricity otherwise they started tacking on extra "Customer Charge"s to your bill. Of course, that causes the rate to be higher than the other companies, but I cannot change because then I get an early termintation fine. So, just be warned, they will get their money one way or another...

Tim Mitchell from Trophy Club
October 14th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't bother with Ambit

(1.5 / 5)

  I've been a customer for almost one year. They lured me in with their low prices. I have never been late, never missed a payment. A month ago I paid them $200 because I lost my bill. I waited for my next bill to discover I under paid by $54. I made my payment for this next bill, including the $54. They turned off my service anyway. Then charged me around $250 just to have it turned back on. It's 100 degrees outside, in the middle of summer and they are going to turn off my electricity? They will not have my business any more.

Shanna from Houston
July 14th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

fair review

(1.1 / 5)

  The worst customer service I have ever found
At first, price is good but then it becomes quickly bad

henri from Clear Lake
December 23rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it.

(1.3 / 5)

  I live in a 950 sqft. duplex. Every month there is something new with this company. Only two people live in my house but the bill is outrageous.... Just don't do it... Think about another company....

Roshunda Marable from Fort Worth
September 24th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company sucks

(1.5 / 5)

  The company start with a lower rate and then without notice your rates increase. The rates increase every month until you have a bill over 500 hundred dollars.

Anonymous
September 15th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions