We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, TriEagle Energy, Champion Energy Services and Payless Power

MISLEADING

(2.4 / 5)

  i HAVE BEEN AN AMBIT ENERGY CUSTOMER FOR YEARS AND FOR THE MOST PART THEY DO TRY TO WORK WITH YOU ( OF COURSE AT A PRICE) . RECENTLY THEY CAME UP WITH A NEW PLAN FOR FREE NIGHTS AND SOLAR DAYS. THEY ADVERTISE AN AVERAGE OF 12 CENTS PER KWH WHEN IN TRUTH IT IS 16 CENTS AND THERE IS STILL THAT PESKY ONCOR CHARGE WHICH GETS BIGGER THE MORE YOU USE ELECTRICITY. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE SO DECEPTIVE WITH THEIR PRICING AND HARD TO READ GRAPHS OF ENERGY USAGE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A PLAN LIKE THAT IT SHOULD BE EASY TO READ TO COMPARE SAVINGS SO YOU CAN CHOOSE HONESTLY AND WISELY. ONCE THEY HOOK YOU THOUGH YOU ARE RAKED OVER THE COALS AND CAN NOT OPT OUT WITHOUT A HUGE PENALTY SO I ADVISE ANYONE LOOKING TO CONSIDER EVERY OPTION INCLUDING THE PROVIDER.

ROY from Fort Worth
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late fees and delivery charges

(2.6 / 5)

  I do not appreciate getting a late fee for being less than 24 hours late on paying bill. $10.00 is robbery when you are paying basically on time. I also have noticed lately that whatever my light usage is I am paying half that amount in delivery charges... so for a $60.00 usage add $27.00 in delivery fee then and taxes....it is ridiculous....

Rosemarie S. from Killeen
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

its trick.dont trust them

(2 / 5)

  its trick playing.some how they charge you ever you dont use power. i left my home for vacution for 3 weeks
evey think is off. exspet 2 liaght 60w and cealing fan on. when come back found my bill is up 350%.
when you call Ambit Energy customer service they wel say smae do every time you complain about you bill.
wel check your meater elctric .after that they say like they do it for so many customers every think is ok. you must pay you bill. they stolen your mony some how . dont ever trust like this Ambit Energy or other like this .

its trick dont trust them from Arlington
July 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

In 2015 and they still charge you a fee to pay with a credit/debit card.

(2.6 / 5)

  Rates kept going up year after year, while payment via online using a credit card is charged "$2.50 - Electronic processing fee"

With all of the power transmission fees and usage fees, this is a pretty good deal for Ambit.

Kind of like how asian business only accept cash, no fees.

Winn Nguyen from Arlington
November 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company, but expensive

(2.2 / 5)

  Granted, I live in an older, not very well insulated apartment with one energy efficient major kitchen appliance, but after the TDU fees and all, I pay $135/month on average. I also missed the fine print that you're charged $10 if you use less than 1000 kW, which was the case when I tried to lessen my expenses by turning off everything on surge protectors.

I haven't had any issues requiring me to call customer service, I just attribute the expense to my selecting them as my option and not using the Power To Choose website. I'll soon be moving and changing companies as well. One with no minimum electricity usage.

Yolanda from San Angelo
October 25th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AMBIT ENERGY CONTACT INFORMATION

(2.4 / 5)

  I have many properties that are rentals and resale projects , a friend of mind suggested I try Ambit Energy . The service is OK , the communication is very challenging /

TRACY SWIMM from MESQUITE
June 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disconnect

(2.6 / 5)

  Even though there is an error in my bill and my lights got turned off.... Once I paid what they said I owed my lights were back on within 30 minutes after hours! So I have to be thankful for that until I get to call in tomorrow morning!

Ariesha Morehead from Houston
March 3rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again.

(2 / 5)

  The billing and customer service departments are nightmares. I had an issue with adding a new checking account. I think what happened is I entered the number incorrectly. I called multiple times and was told my payment was fine. Then I get a call saying it wasn't and that I'll have a fee... even though the gal I talked to couldn't help me fix the problem. I couldn't figure out how to delete or edit the account information and it wouldn't let me add the account because I already had one with that number. so I call customer service and am then told I have a 12 month block that will prevent me from even paying with a checking account at all. The supervisor says there is nothing they can do about it. My deal is if I couldn't edit the account numbers or even see the account numbers I put in I don't know if they are scamming me or if it was my mistake. I asked what the account and routing numbers were and no one I talked to apparently had the ability or authority to see them... they just knew the payment didn't process... even though I was told everything was fine.

The short version... shady, not helpful, parrot policy customer service because the only thing anyone could say is the exact sentence over and over, and an overall lack of training with their employees. Also, I tried to get help through their Facebook page and they deleted my comment. So now I am looking for every review site so no one has to be as irritated and frustrated and the lack of resolution as I am.

Kara from Waco
January 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

why to not go to ambit

(2 / 5)

  Customer service as a consultant or customer is very poor. They change your plan when they wish and give you excuses for doing it. you get no help or consideration out of them if you fall short do to a any reason you may have. Mine was a wreck and had my back broken, out of work and it was of no fault of mine. They did not care that i was a consultant and in a tight time , there was no help from them or care just cut off the electricity. Got it back on and the bills come late so the charge late fees and threaten you with cut off. Do not recommend them to any one.

John from Clute
October 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

There phone ad says: Ask us what we could do to help? yea right!

(2.2 / 5)

  I asked to talk to management to bring compromise to my situation. Twice I called the Dallas location hoping to speak to a regional manager but all I got was to hold and finally hung up on. Very insensative to customers needs. Oh yea the will sign you up quick and easy but after that your not even worth a number!

Roland from Houston
August 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Say NO!

(2 / 5)

  After being slammed by EnTrust energy, Ambit charged me a $199 "early termination fee." I called Ambit, Entrust Energy, and the PUCT and got everything straightened out EXCEPT Ambit's termination fee... they literally told me that the money was there's and it would be used toward future invoices... what am I, Ambit's loan service? I've been with Ambit since 2005 and this is how they show respect for a customer! I noticed a few attempts to boost Ambit's ratings by there consultant zombies giving good ratings, if you go to Ambit's Facebook site and try to post even a slightly negative comment, you'll be band, I think the same should be done here! I posted a copy of the PUCT's complaint I filed where Ambit was chastised for not taking care of business within the 21 days allotted and it was removed within hours of my post on a Saturday, Labor day weekend!

J. Gill from Victoria
September 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PUC whip

(2.8 / 5)

  Recently my Ambit account was hijacked by Entrust Energy. Ambit sent out a second bill which included 600 extra kilowatts I'd used and a $199 early termination fee... understandable. After contacting Ambit I was surprised to find out this situation is quite common. I had paid my bill before realizing it was a new bill so I asked when I would get the $199 fee back; they said it would be applied to future invoices. Now unlike some, I pay my Ambit bill early... I also round the bill up to the nearest dollar, and I've been a loyal customer for over 7 years (almost 7000 useless travel points,) how do they say thanks, by keeping 1.5 months worth of payments. As I was speaking with the Texas PUC about the account hijacking I mentioned Ambits policy of keeping the "spoils" of my situations and applying them to "possible future invoices" and the PUC said "we'll look into this." This morning about 9am I get a call from Ambit wishing to address my PUC complaint and guess what... suddenly I CAN get my $199 fee back as a check, not a credit. In closing, don't get angry; call the PUC. If you don't have a leg to stand on with the PUC, you shouldn't be complaining.

J Gill from Victoria
August 8th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No mam!

(2.2 / 5)

  This company is so easy to get, but beware they ask for deposits again and again! Their customer service is no where near proffesional. I am just waiting for my contract to be over!

Debbie Anne from Houston
May 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mr. Mike King

(2 / 5)

  This company has excelent customer service.

Mike King
February 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frank

(2.8 / 5)

  I'm extremely satisfied with my monthly bill, but, as i received my bills, i paid them "promptly" but, with my prompt payment i immediately received a "disconnect notice?" Then trying to get someone on customer service was like pulling teeth? Took 20 minutes? Explained to them that i paid my bill promptly and why the disconnect notice? Customer service looked over my bill and said, well, there my bill was paid in full? Said they would check that out? Yeah, got two more just like that? I dug into my trash and found the post marked envelope from "them&" was mailed to me (from them) on Feb. 08, 2011 and i received the bill between the 9th and 12th...and paid bill promptly on the 14th of Feb....Billing period ended Jan 20th so that took them about 18 days to bill me?? Billing department must have monkeys doing the work to save costs? I have the agent that sold me on this company checking this crap out!

Frank from Tyler
February 22nd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

about average compared to other providers

(2.4 / 5)

  What I dont understand is why when your plan expires they jack up the rate per kWh. Every provider Ive had does it including Ambit. What about customer loyalty? Doesnt matter - its all about hail to the ol mighty dollar. Was an Ambit customer for 2+years and paid late a few times because the bill was so high I couldnt afford it. They charge enormous late fees and will disconnect your service at the drop of a hat then demand the bill + deposit of $400 or greater. I had to pay over $600 to get it reconnected. They turned it off during the summer here in Texas and I have children in my home. I dont think that deregulation should mean deregulating completely. The fees they charge usurious and she be banned. I dont think I save any more money now then I did when TXU was the only provider. I think the whole electricity industry is running a racket.

Teri from Dallas
August 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will switch when my plan is over

(2.1 / 5)

  I have the date circled to switch. I have been using for almost 2 years and was an acquired customer through a buy out. I was signed up for an all green policy at a higher rate but thought it was worth it. When the company switched over, there was no all green plan but stated that theirs was comparable but not all green? I was not able to switch my contract without the high term penalty even if it was a different plan in the same company. Now my rate is high without the benefit of supporting 100% wind and solar power. I feel robbed. Can't wait to switch. I did like the ability to pay online and customer service was pleasant, just not helpful. Probably a green plan now, but I don't know that I trust them.

xavienne2 from Dallas
July 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the Most Affordable.

(2.2 / 5)

  Check for better prices.

Ivan Salazar from Edinburg
July 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions