Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Amigo Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.2 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
11%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
6%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
67%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Jose Catter

Se interesan por sus clientes
Amigoenergy tiene un departamento especial para dar solucin a cualquier mal entendido con sus clientes ,yo tube uno y se comunicaron por medio de su CLM Alicia que dio pronta solucin a mi problema por eso me mantengo 12 aos con ellos recibiendo buen precio y buena atencin !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jose Catter from Katy, TX on December 11th, 2020
Gracias por permitirnos ayudarle. No dude en contactarnos si tiene preguntas adicionales. Muchas gracias por ser cliente de Amigo Energy, ˇvaloramos su negocio!

Gracias,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy


Our Analysis of Amigo Energy

Community Outreach
5.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.2 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
4.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
3.9 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
3.8 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Market Perception
1.1 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Customer service for an issue I had was professionally resolved
I went from being upset about an issue I had, to being being very pleased with the professionalism of this company. As long as they make every voice count (as they are doing) then they are a great company to do business with, in my book. Thanks Amigo energy and keep up the good work.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joshua Nelms from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
Hi Joshua, thank you for the great review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Amigo Energy. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. We will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Saul Quintero
Satisfied customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Saul from Fort Worth, TX on February 7th, 2020
Thank you Saul, for leaving a positive review of your services with us. We look forward to our continued partnership!


Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Brenda
It's good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brenda Davila from Odessa, TX on September 24th, 2018
The WOW factor!
I really like my electricity provider. I've been with Amigo Energy for all most a year now and I think they have excellent customer service, prices are great, and a great perks program. If they had a commercial I would definitely be the one on there truly bragging about my experience and the wow factor they provided to me.

Thanks Amigo!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tiffany P from Lancaster, TX on August 22nd, 2018
Lots of choices
I was confused about all the choices offered for electric companies as I am from Maryland & there aren't many choices there for providers. I went with Amigo on the advice of an acquaintance & was very pleased that it was so easy to sign up for service. I called their customer service line & was happy with the help I got.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy With Amigo from View, TX on August 7th, 2018
Best electricity service so far
Good so far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rebecca Mcbride from Waco, TX on April 24th, 2018
Lower bills
I have used Amigo several times over the past 5 years. My bill was always considerably lower with the bundled plan available with Amigo. I also signed my parents up and they are very happy with the drastic drop in their electric bill. the past two months. I would highly recommend Amigo to anyone wanting to lower their bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura from Stafford, TX on December 27th, 2017
Quick activation
Talked on the phone with a wonderful lady that told me all the ins and outs of the plans and set me up with one perfect for me. I called at 11am and it was on before 2pm THE SAME DAY!! Wish I could thank her but I forgot her name
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Corpus from Corpus Christi, TX on December 12th, 2017
Awesome
Excellent prices for how much I use !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Asia from Spring, TX on December 8th, 2017
A Great Company
I had some bad experiences with some companies,But not Amigo.They works with you,and for as their customer service.They desrve a 100th.I have been satisfied.I'm glad I picked them as my electric provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Houston, TX on October 30th, 2017


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Se interesan por sus clientes
Amigoenergy tiene un departamento especial para dar solucin a cualquier mal entendido con sus clientes ,yo tube uno y se comunicaron por medio de su CLM Alicia que dio pronta solucin a mi problema por eso me mantengo 12 aos con ellos recibiendo buen precio y buena atencin !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jose Catter from Katy, TX on December 11th, 2020
Gracias por permitirnos ayudarle. No dude en contactarnos si tiene preguntas adicionales. Muchas gracias por ser cliente de Amigo Energy, ˇvaloramos su negocio!

Gracias,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Rates
Excellant co. no issues at all, except when 2 yr. agreement up had to go elsewhere because their offer was higher than competitors.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Saginaw, TX on March 4th, 2020
I am sorry to hear that you had to leave but glad that you had a good experience with us. If for any reason it doesn't work out with your new provider, feel free to contact us to get the services reinstalled. Thank you for your business!
— Amigo Energy
N/a
I have a good experience so far nothing off yet .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Clarissa from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2019
Hi Clarissa, many thanks for your great review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. ˇWe hope you have a lovely day!
Thank You.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
No problems
Good overall. Only point of issue would be the billing. They charge $5 to pay online (though I didn't get that charge last time I paid) and the bills come in the mail sometimes shortly before the bill is due!
But (because a bill came late) I got a disconnect notice and the date was due. I called and they were friendly and extended my date so my payment could go through.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven Ogden from Crowley on March 22nd, 2014
Pretty good experience
Re-upped with Amigo after an initial 6-month term. Without negotiating, I was offered another 6-month renewal rate lower than a new customer rate, and much lower than what is advertised as their returning customer renewal rates online. Renewal process took 5 minutes. Honestly, was very surprised, as I usually have had to ask for a new customer rate with my previous service providers upon renewal. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Also, person spoke English!!!! Was not based in another country. Allowed me to opt out from marketing calls, as well.

Lastly, like other customers, I was billed an Internet ACH fee of $5 in my last bill. Customer service gave me a solution to not paying it - just set up an auto-pay. It's auto-debited on the due date, so nothing lost.

Will see how things go this next 6 months and keep my fingers crossed that rates don't move upward too much by June.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keith from Houston on December 12th, 2013
5 years and counting for residential and business
Never had any trouble and I have 3 accounts with them 2 residential and one business account for an townhome community. The rate offered to renew has always been the best I can find at the time I need to renew. The customer service has been great. English spoke here and the customer service location is in Houston TX. I do not understand the other negative comments I have read on the reviews. They also are offering referral rebates but are not based on dog and pony show marketing. I like this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G. Davis from Houston on June 27th, 2013
Great company / no complaints
I had NO ISSUE whatsoever. they started on the day i requested, i had not 1 interruption at all.
the first bill was kinda tricky and high due to some billing issues and fine prints...i cant blame AMIGO ENERGY for it because its the freaking government that lets them do these "gotchas"....its just incredible that none of this is regulated. but over all, I was happy with them, my 12 months was up and i had to drop them due to an increase in rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elias Fuentes from Katy on June 18th, 2013
Nice Company
I found an affordable, 6-month rate with Amigo. I ordered the service a bit late--just a couple of days before move-in, but they were really understanding and had everything up and running in time for my move. I found the renewal plan too expensive, so I canceled without any trouble. Customer service was always nice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ollie B from Houston on May 22nd, 2013
Great company for 6 years
I've had Amigo since 2006 and they have been fine - even gave me the $25 referral credit after I contacted them though they said I didn't put in the right code. Only bummer thing is the $2/mo fee for using a credit card. But changing now because rates are too high... I'd definitely recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Cypress on February 13th, 2013
Service
Just had a little mishap when switching services but other than that, no probs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Katy on February 7th, 2013


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good experience
With them for 6 years, good experience, rates just went up at renewal time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul from Round Rock, TX on June 5th, 2019
Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to review us and being a valued customer of Amigo Energy for 6 years ! We appreciate your feedback.

Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Renewal quotes too high
There's alot I like about Amigo. Their initial rate through Texas Electricity Ratings was really good. They send weekly usage reports so I know how much I'm spending each week and estimated monthly bill so I can adjust usage. I never had a billing issue. Cons - It took a long time for them to set up the transfer. I made several calls in the first weeks because I never heard from them and I was afraid I wouldn't have power. Their renewal quote was 5 cents per kw hour higher than what my contract was, much higher than any company on this site. I hate to move companies again, but it's too high to continue. Recommendation if you have a good quote with them would be to lock it in for several years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Northlake, TX on February 8th, 2019
Hi JR, thank you so much for this great review. We appreciate your feedback and being a loyal customer of Amigo Energy!

Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor

— Amigo Energy
Good service
Lower price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jackie from Rio Bravo, TX on April 12th, 2018
Harvey storm
I live in Houston and like many trying to put my life back together after the storm. I was out of work for due to the weather for a week in a half so of course no work no pay. I ask for some time they give me until today but I called today to see if I could get until next Friday the men said sure but if you don't pay we will cut your light off. This is what got me why are why sending out emails to customers saying that y'all understand if we need time or help because many of us was affected by the storm to call. What help are y'all giving to your customers at this time? That's not helpful now I'm worried about what if I didn't make enough money to pay on everything and if my lights are going to be turned off.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Disturbed from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2017
Overall pleased but will be switching
My review is very similar to the last one. I have zero complaints from Amigo other than being caught off guard for a $2.00 monthly credit card autopay fee.

Their prices for new customers are very competitive, but thats where the good prices end. When it comes time to renew, their renewal offers are easily 1.5 to 2 c per kwh higher than average. If they had been able to provide the rate they provide to new customers (still seen on powertochoose.org) I would have stuck with them.

Alas I am not, I love switching from REP to REP every 6 months to get the lowest rate I am comfortable with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Fort Worth on March 22nd, 2013
Not bad
I picked their company based on price alone. It was a great deal. I had no problems with getting my bill by email every month, and I liked that they sent it .pdf, so I didn't have to log in to look at the bill. (They do only give it to you about 2 weeks before it is due though). Unfortunately, when it came time to renew, their prices were a lot higher than most of the other companies. They sent me several emails with 'deals' to renew, but every one of them was higher than the average of the other companies on powertochoose.org. I also appreciated that they reminded me of when my contract was going to expire, so I wasn't surprised when the rates went up. But at the end of the day, they didn't want to keep their customers long term, so I switched to save a few bucks. I would recommend them---if their rates are good on the day you are looking.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melissa from San Angelo on February 21st, 2013
Great!
Thank god Amigo is my Amigo!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sean from Houston on February 3rd, 2012
Great Choice
I totally recommend Amigo Energy ever since I switch with them my bill was a lot cheaper.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Evelia from Houston on December 3rd, 2011
3 year customer
Customer service is not great but the price is most of the time one of the best.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doc from Dfw on September 28th, 2011
Great Retailer!
Competitive pricing + accurate and timely billing
+ good customer service = no problems! Highly
recommended.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael A from Houston on August 3rd, 2011


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Highway Robbery
I was stuck in a contract for 2 years and one time I paid my bill 1 day late they charged me $25. Not to mention their rates are ridiculously high I was paying 13.9 cents per kilowatt!! Look at other companies do your research it will be worth it $$$ Do NOT sign with Amigo they do not accept their customers!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lookingtobevalvedasacustomer from Weslaco, TX on July 8th, 2020
Gotcha!!!
Leased a home, had Amigo for the 4.5 years we lived there. Landlord called TXU to transfer service for the first day after my lease ended. And since TXU contacted them before I did, they will not remove the $175 early term fee. I have provided proof that I was moving, and the new address isnt in an area that you can choose your own provider, which they admit is an acceptable reason to cancel and not be charged. Theyre not budging and CS Reps are not helpful - not real sure Im being transferred to a supervisor when I ask for one.

So, use caution if/when you move.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TKelly from Wylie, TX on May 13th, 2020
Hello TKelly,

We are sadden to hear about your recent experience with us and would appreciate the opportunity to take another look at your account to help resolve your concern. Please reply with your account number and best number to reach you so we can assist.

Thank you,
G.O.
— Amigo Energy
Don't believe the hype
Amigo is good about the first year are so, but when you start using less the bill goes up even higher not sure where these ppl live or (work) on most of these post hint! but I know differently don't believe me stick in there and watch the changes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PT from View, TX on October 10th, 2019

Hi PT, It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. If there are questions, please send us your contact information and, we will be glad to reach out and clear up any confusion.
Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Trying to intimidate their estblished customers
Amigo did not want to honor the program and suggested it didn't exist. I claimed it was a new home hook up and they did finally accepted the fact it did exist. they even sent me emails saying " we are sorry you are leaving amigo energy". what a bunch of uninformed ( employees? )
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Intimidation from North Richland Hills, TX on April 19th, 2018
$29 Late Fee's!
I have been a long time customer of Amigo Energy however in recent months I noticed my bill getting higher. Normally we just pay our bill but with my recent lay off we have had to pay closer attention to bills. Of course, because of the layoff, we have had to shuffle manage bills in a way that didn't always allow paying on time, thus the late fees. This is when I noticed the $29 late fees. Now don't get me wrong I understand a charge for paying late however what I am struggling with is a mindblowing $29 late fee! I can understand a $5 or even $10 late fee but $29!?!?! I just think this is nickel & diming people to death! So now I am looking for another carrier. Oh, by the way, be on the lookout for the $10-month fee that they never make mention of when they are pitching their low rate sale because it means your not paying that $0.07 per kWh, you paying more once you factor in this fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ziaros from Webster, TX on October 24th, 2017
Stay away
I missed one payment and my service was disconnected within 2 weeks. Never received a disconnection noticed. Really? I know I missed a payment but it slip my mind. You could at least wait for next service month. I was with Reliant for 10 years, never had a problem with them. I am switching companies, even if I have to pay an early termination fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennisse from Plano on December 4th, 2015
Bad Billing and Customer Service
Amigo had great service for start-up and a good price. Things went downhill from there. I was called about having them install a "smart thermostat" and it was explained that even though there was a $25/month charge it was guaranteed that I would save money. I saved no money the 1st three months (during the summer when there is the most opportunity for savings) I had them remove the stat within the 90 day "grace period", The $75 that I paid was never refunded. Now when I cancelled my service I was billed $295 for the thermostat that they took out. This was taken from my account by automatic draft. After an extended time on the phone and talking to several people, they said they would refund my money within 10 days. I called them after 16 days to find out where my money was and they said it was coming by check and would take 3 to 4 weeks.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ken Dalton from Fort Worth on August 13th, 2014
No bill received / late fee an termination notice recv'd 4 days later
I did not receive a bill in Dec 2013. I did not notice, possibly missed due to heavy email volume that I receive every day, or spam file delivery. Not really sure why. Due date was 12/23. On Dec 27 a disconnect notice and $22+tax "Disconnect Notice Fee" was sent to me and received on 12/28. This works out to a 20% fee on a $100 balance. I immediately paid the bill online. This is my fault for not noticing that I had not been billed, but a disconnect notice and $22+tax fee after 4 days with not even a "did you forgot to pay your bill email or letter"? Nope. Not going to stand for this. I've had electricity service for 40 years, and I've been with numerous companies over the last 10 years since power to choose. CAN'T WAIT FOR MY CONTRACT TO EXPIRE, then moving on to another provider. Note: on hold with customer service for 15 minutes, but they DID remove the late fee, so that brings down my anger level a little.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ALH from Housotn on December 30th, 2013
WAS a good company
Unfortunately, this company has been sold twice since I first signed up and is now owned by one of the biggest electricity providers. Gone is the great customer service provided by employees who cared. Gone also is any effort to retain loyal, longtime customers. In return you get treated just like you do with a huge company. Their policy seems to be to stick you with a much higher renewal rate if you are stupid enough to hang around. It's sad that any company operates this way. I'll be going elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M Campbell from Oak Point on July 23rd, 2013
Billing mistakes
They charge outrageous fees. Even when their Auto Payment system fails to work, you end up paying late and disconnect fee of over $25 for a $50 bill. If you didn't have your Auto Payment setup, you have to pay $5 to $10 fee towards "Payment", even if it check, or credit or debit card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Parth from Houston on April 6th, 2013


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

149 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not truly fixed rates
I just got my first bill and there is a $50 charge for a pass-through fee. When I spoke with customer service agent to order service I asked several times if the fixed rate meant only the kws consumed X cost per kw. He repeated and assured that it would be so. I have been on the phone several times waiting to speak with billing dept to no avail.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G Rodriguez from Harlingen, TX on February 17th, 2021
Hi Mrs. Rodriguez than you for accepting my phone call today to discuss the TDU charges on your bill. I am glad I was able to clarify the charge to you and make sure that everything on your account is set to your satisfaction. If you have any other question please feel free to contact us at 1-888-469-2644. Thank you very much for being a valued Amigo Energy customer!

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Total Disappointment
Had a 3 months plan with Amigo at an average rate of 8 cents per kWhr. Once I was out of contract, the rate went up to 19 cents per kWhr!! I did call their customer service and told them that it is acceptable that a rate increase is expected once I am out of contract, but, not double the rate!!! The gentlemen, although courteous, did not even offer any kind of a break and simply said it is what it is and this is the market price. So, I did tell him that I will write a bad review and this is it! They lost a customer for few dollars - Not the right kind of company that apprecuiates its customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sam Jabori from Houston, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We want to do everything we can to get this situation resolved for you as quickly as possible. Please check your email to assist you further. We hope to hear from you soon.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
RIP OFF
When I change to free nights, I new my daytime charges would increase, but really over 65 % was at night. I should save 25 to 30 percent on my bill with the increase amount. Of course they did the unthinkable. They graph my usage way up when I change to no heat days, no laundry days. no light downstairs days. up the heat at 9PM off at 7AM breakfast at 6AM laundry only between 9PM-7AM my bill went up $260 and I would told my bill would decrease from $167 .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jay from Glenn Heights, TX on January 24th, 2021
Hi Jay, thank you for your review. All feedback is important to us, but especially so when it relates to our customers' bills.
It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-866-587-8674. We can investigate this for you.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Amigo Energy
Deadbeat company
Been with reliant for years, decided to switch and what a big mistake. Nickel and dime. Bank payment and due date service were off by a day. Get a notice for service cutoff day after their due date. Avoid this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lesson Learned. from League City, TX on October 12th, 2020
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We can certainly help. Please call us at 1-888-528-2672. We will be happy to resolve any concerns.

Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
This company is a ripoff
Im not angry because Ive been with the company for four years, I would expect better customer service at this point but they only want your money and nothing less. I paid my bill the next morning after it was due and they charged a $25 late fee. Thats ridiculous considering the pandemic that we are still in right now! They should offer a grace period of a week, at least! I cannot wait until my contract is up so I can move on to better companies! Also, dont ever give up when trying to get out of paying their ridiculous fees. Spend as much time as you need researching their company and policies before you just hand over extra money. They are inexperienced to say the least and they argue like children. Fight for your money!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Natalia from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
Hello Natalia, We apologize that you had an unsatisfactory experience. We want to do everything we can to get this situation resolved for you as quickly as possible. To help with your concern and to access your account, please call us at 1-888-528-2672. Wed be happy to look into this issue for you.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor


— Amigo Energy
Amigo Engery is horrible
I have with them for years and in the beginning they were awesome, but I had nothing but problems since then. Most times their app does not accept payments, when you call you are put through the wringer and nobody is ever available. The website is not much better. Had to research to find a way to pay my bill more then once because their system was down and on top of that they will charge a horrendous late charge, even when you can proof that you tried to pay for several days.
Their customer service is bad.
Used to recommend, but not since the last year - stay far away from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T Gray from Tomball, TX on July 30th, 2020
Amigo is not your friend!
Amigo Energy is a terrible company to do business with. We were charged $175 for an early termination fee and we are moving to an area they do not service (could not transfer service). Additionally, the switch was initiated by the prospective tenant of the individual we sold our house to. While we were still transitioning from one house to another, they made the switch and Amigo charged me $175. They won't waive the fee because I "did not inform them." That is my point! I didn't inform them! They allowed the switch and charged me $175. Stay away from Amigo...they aren't your friend!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris O. from San Angelo, TX on May 26th, 2020
Amigo goes from good to bad
Amigo has change their prices along with their customers skills. This company went up on the cost and is very hard to talk to them . I got charge over 18 cents a kw and they drew money out of my bank without my permission ( they kept my bank account on file from previous payments). Anyone who decides to go with amigo be aware. I talked to four representative and they all seem to be hard to understand.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ernesto Castro from Corpus Christi, TX on April 10th, 2020
Letter to terminate
After being 3 days late on bill due to the coronavirus Amigo Energy sends a letter to cut your electricity off. They don't care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlie from Cleburne, TX on March 28th, 2020
Amigo Energy
Very disappointed with the plan and costumer service. I started out with a 12 month plan. The rate was very good, but when it was time to renew, I was told that the rate had change but it would not go up very much. My bill had almost doubled and my unit had not been on since the summer. When I call costumer service they will let the phone ring for hours while you listen to a recording. EXTREMELY DIASPPOINTED.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gladys Moore from Tyler, TX on February 13th, 2020
Hello Gladys,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we will make sure your feedback is directed to the appropriate department. We would also love the opportunity to help resolve your billing concern. Please provide your account information and the best time to contact you so we can assist.

Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy


All Amigo Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Bundled Rate
24 month
Bundled Rate
10.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$107 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Consistent Fixed Rate
  • Lock in for 2 years
  • No Monthly Base Charge!
  • 12 Month Bundled Rate
    12 month
    Bundled Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $109 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Simple, Fixed rate plan
  • Easy Online Approval