Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    23.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    22.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    19.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    22.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Amigo Energy are the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.9 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Jose Catter

    Se interesan por sus clientes
    Amigoenergy tiene un departamento especial para dar solucin a cualquier mal entendido con sus clientes ,yo tube uno y se comunicaron por medio de su CLM Alicia que dio pronta solucin a mi problema por eso me mantengo 12 aos con ellos recibiendo buen precio y buena atencin !
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jose Catter from Katy, TX on December 11th, 2020
    Gracias por permitirnos ayudarle. No dude en contactarnos si tiene preguntas adicionales. Muchas gracias por ser cliente de Amigo Energy, ˇvaloramos su negocio!

    Gracias,
    Alicia, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Customer service for an issue I had was professionally resolved
    I went from being upset about an issue I had, to being being very pleased with the professionalism of this company. As long as they make every voice count (as they are doing) then they are a great company to do business with, in my book. Thanks Amigo energy and keep up the good work.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Joshua Nelms from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
    Hi Joshua, thank you for the great review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Amigo Energy. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. We will be more than happy to assist you.

    Thank you,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Saul Quintero
    Satisfied customers
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Saul from Dallas, TX on February 7th, 2020
    Thank you Saul, for leaving a positive review of your services with us. We look forward to our continued partnership!


    Thank you,
    Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Brenda
    It's good
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brenda Davila from Odessa, TX on September 24th, 2018
    The WOW factor!
    I really like my electricity provider. I've been with Amigo Energy for all most a year now and I think they have excellent customer service, prices are great, and a great perks program. If they had a commercial I would definitely be the one on there truly bragging about my experience and the wow factor they provided to me.

    Thanks Amigo!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tiffany P from Lancaster, TX on August 22nd, 2018
    Lots of choices
    I was confused about all the choices offered for electric companies as I am from Maryland & there aren't many choices there for providers. I went with Amigo on the advice of an acquaintance & was very pleased that it was so easy to sign up for service. I called their customer service line & was happy with the help I got.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Happy With Amigo from Abilene, TX on August 7th, 2018
    Best electricity service so far
    Good so far
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rebecca Mcbride from Waco, TX on April 24th, 2018
    Lower bills
    I have used Amigo several times over the past 5 years. My bill was always considerably lower with the bundled plan available with Amigo. I also signed my parents up and they are very happy with the drastic drop in their electric bill. the past two months. I would highly recommend Amigo to anyone wanting to lower their bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Laura from Stafford, TX on December 27th, 2017
    Quick activation
    Talked on the phone with a wonderful lady that told me all the ins and outs of the plans and set me up with one perfect for me. I called at 11am and it was on before 2pm THE SAME DAY!! Wish I could thank her but I forgot her name
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Corpus from Corpus Christi, TX on December 12th, 2017
    Awesome
    Excellent prices for how much I use !!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Asia from Houston, TX on December 8th, 2017
    A Great Company
    I had some bad experiences with some companies,But not Amigo.They works with you,and for as their customer service.They desrve a 100th.I have been satisfied.I'm glad I picked them as my electric provider.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Linda from Houston, TX on October 30th, 2017


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Se interesan por sus clientes
    Amigoenergy tiene un departamento especial para dar solucin a cualquier mal entendido con sus clientes ,yo tube uno y se comunicaron por medio de su CLM Alicia que dio pronta solucin a mi problema por eso me mantengo 12 aos con ellos recibiendo buen precio y buena atencin !
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jose Catter from Katy, TX on December 11th, 2020
    Gracias por permitirnos ayudarle. No dude en contactarnos si tiene preguntas adicionales. Muchas gracias por ser cliente de Amigo Energy, ˇvaloramos su negocio!

    Gracias,
    Alicia, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Rates
    Excellant co. no issues at all, except when 2 yr. agreement up had to go elsewhere because their offer was higher than competitors.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bob from Fort Worth, TX on March 4th, 2020
    I am sorry to hear that you had to leave but glad that you had a good experience with us. If for any reason it doesn't work out with your new provider, feel free to contact us to get the services reinstalled. Thank you for your business!
    — Amigo Energy
    N/a
    I have a good experience so far nothing off yet .
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Clarissa from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2019
    Hi Clarissa, many thanks for your great review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. ˇWe hope you have a lovely day!
    Thank You.
    Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    No problems
    Good overall. Only point of issue would be the billing. They charge $5 to pay online (though I didn't get that charge last time I paid) and the bills come in the mail sometimes shortly before the bill is due!
    But (because a bill came late) I got a disconnect notice and the date was due. I called and they were friendly and extended my date so my payment could go through.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Steven Ogden from Crowley on March 22nd, 2014
    Pretty good experience
    Re-upped with Amigo after an initial 6-month term. Without negotiating, I was offered another 6-month renewal rate lower than a new customer rate, and much lower than what is advertised as their returning customer renewal rates online. Renewal process took 5 minutes. Honestly, was very surprised, as I usually have had to ask for a new customer rate with my previous service providers upon renewal. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

    Also, person spoke English!!!! Was not based in another country. Allowed me to opt out from marketing calls, as well.

    Lastly, like other customers, I was billed an Internet ACH fee of $5 in my last bill. Customer service gave me a solution to not paying it - just set up an auto-pay. It's auto-debited on the due date, so nothing lost.

    Will see how things go this next 6 months and keep my fingers crossed that rates don't move upward too much by June.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Keith from Houston on December 12th, 2013
    5 years and counting for residential and business
    Never had any trouble and I have 3 accounts with them 2 residential and one business account for an townhome community. The rate offered to renew has always been the best I can find at the time I need to renew. The customer service has been great. English spoke here and the customer service location is in Houston TX. I do not understand the other negative comments I have read on the reviews. They also are offering referral rebates but are not based on dog and pony show marketing. I like this company!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    G. Davis from Houston on June 27th, 2013
    Great company / no complaints
    I had NO ISSUE whatsoever. they started on the day i requested, i had not 1 interruption at all.
    the first bill was kinda tricky and high due to some billing issues and fine prints...i cant blame AMIGO ENERGY for it because its the freaking government that lets them do these "gotchas"....its just incredible that none of this is regulated. but over all, I was happy with them, my 12 months was up and i had to drop them due to an increase in rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Elias Fuentes from Katy on June 18th, 2013
    Nice Company
    I found an affordable, 6-month rate with Amigo. I ordered the service a bit late--just a couple of days before move-in, but they were really understanding and had everything up and running in time for my move. I found the renewal plan too expensive, so I canceled without any trouble. Customer service was always nice.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ollie B from Houston on May 22nd, 2013
    Great company for 6 years
    I've had Amigo since 2006 and they have been fine - even gave me the $25 referral credit after I contacted them though they said I didn't put in the right code. Only bummer thing is the $2/mo fee for using a credit card. But changing now because rates are too high... I'd definitely recommend.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nicole from Cypress on February 13th, 2013
    Service
    Just had a little mishap when switching services but other than that, no probs.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike from Katy on February 7th, 2013


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Good experience
    With them for 6 years, good experience, rates just went up at renewal time.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Paul from Pflugerville, TX on June 5th, 2019
    Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to review us and being a valued customer of Amigo Energy for 6 years ! We appreciate your feedback.

    Lily, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Renewal quotes too high
    There's alot I like about Amigo. Their initial rate through Texas Electricity Ratings was really good. They send weekly usage reports so I know how much I'm spending each week and estimated monthly bill so I can adjust usage. I never had a billing issue. Cons - It took a long time for them to set up the transfer. I made several calls in the first weeks because I never heard from them and I was afraid I wouldn't have power. Their renewal quote was 5 cents per kw hour higher than what my contract was, much higher than any company on this site. I hate to move companies again, but it's too high to continue. Recommendation if you have a good quote with them would be to lock it in for several years.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JR from Justin, TX on February 8th, 2019
    Hi JR, thank you so much for this great review. We appreciate your feedback and being a loyal customer of Amigo Energy!

    Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor

    — Amigo Energy
    Good service
    Lower price
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jackie from Laredo, TX on April 12th, 2018
    Harvey storm
    I live in Houston and like many trying to put my life back together after the storm. I was out of work for due to the weather for a week in a half so of course no work no pay. I ask for some time they give me until today but I called today to see if I could get until next Friday the men said sure but if you don't pay we will cut your light off. This is what got me why are why sending out emails to customers saying that y'all understand if we need time or help because many of us was affected by the storm to call. What help are y'all giving to your customers at this time? That's not helpful now I'm worried about what if I didn't make enough money to pay on everything and if my lights are going to be turned off.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Very Disturbed from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2017
    Overall pleased but will be switching
    My review is very similar to the last one. I have zero complaints from Amigo other than being caught off guard for a $2.00 monthly credit card autopay fee.

    Their prices for new customers are very competitive, but thats where the good prices end. When it comes time to renew, their renewal offers are easily 1.5 to 2 c per kwh higher than average. If they had been able to provide the rate they provide to new customers (still seen on powertochoose.org) I would have stuck with them.

    Alas I am not, I love switching from REP to REP every 6 months to get the lowest rate I am comfortable with.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Scott from Fort Worth on March 22nd, 2013
    Not bad
    I picked their company based on price alone. It was a great deal. I had no problems with getting my bill by email every month, and I liked that they sent it .pdf, so I didn't have to log in to look at the bill. (They do only give it to you about 2 weeks before it is due though). Unfortunately, when it came time to renew, their prices were a lot higher than most of the other companies. They sent me several emails with 'deals' to renew, but every one of them was higher than the average of the other companies on powertochoose.org. I also appreciated that they reminded me of when my contract was going to expire, so I wasn't surprised when the rates went up. But at the end of the day, they didn't want to keep their customers long term, so I switched to save a few bucks. I would recommend them---if their rates are good on the day you are looking.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Melissa from San Angelo on February 21st, 2013
    Great!
    Thank god Amigo is my Amigo!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sean from Houston on February 3rd, 2012
    Great Choice
    I totally recommend Amigo Energy ever since I switch with them my bill was a lot cheaper.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Evelia from Houston on December 3rd, 2011
    3 year customer
    Customer service is not great but the price is most of the time one of the best.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Doc from Dfw on September 28th, 2011
    Great Retailer!
    Competitive pricing + accurate and timely billing
    + good customer service = no problems! Highly
    recommended.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Michael A from Houston on August 3rd, 2011


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Highway Robbery
    I was stuck in a contract for 2 years and one time I paid my bill 1 day late they charged me $25. Not to mention their rates are ridiculously high I was paying 13.9 cents per kilowatt!! Look at other companies do your research it will be worth it $$$ Do NOT sign with Amigo they do not accept their customers!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lookingtobevalvedasacustomer from Weslaco, TX on July 8th, 2020
    Gotcha!!!
    Leased a home, had Amigo for the 4.5 years we lived there. Landlord called TXU to transfer service for the first day after my lease ended. And since TXU contacted them before I did, they will not remove the $175 early term fee. I have provided proof that I was moving, and the new address isnt in an area that you can choose your own provider, which they admit is an acceptable reason to cancel and not be charged. Theyre not budging and CS Reps are not helpful - not real sure Im being transferred to a supervisor when I ask for one.

    So, use caution if/when you move.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TKelly from Wylie, TX on May 13th, 2020
    Hello TKelly,

    We are sadden to hear about your recent experience with us and would appreciate the opportunity to take another look at your account to help resolve your concern. Please reply with your account number and best number to reach you so we can assist.

    Thank you,
    G.O.
    — Amigo Energy
    Don't believe the hype
    Amigo is good about the first year are so, but when you start using less the bill goes up even higher not sure where these ppl live or (work) on most of these post hint! but I know differently don't believe me stick in there and watch the changes.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    PT from Abilene, TX on October 10th, 2019

    Hi PT, It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. If there are questions, please send us your contact information and, we will be glad to reach out and clear up any confusion.
    Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Trying to intimidate their estblished customers
    Amigo did not want to honor the program and suggested it didn't exist. I claimed it was a new home hook up and they did finally accepted the fact it did exist. they even sent me emails saying " we are sorry you are leaving amigo energy". what a bunch of uninformed ( employees? )
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Intimidation from Keller, TX on April 19th, 2018
    $29 Late Fee's!
    I have been a long time customer of Amigo Energy however in recent months I noticed my bill getting higher. Normally we just pay our bill but with my recent lay off we have had to pay closer attention to bills. Of course, because of the layoff, we have had to shuffle manage bills in a way that didn't always allow paying on time, thus the late fees. This is when I noticed the $29 late fees. Now don't get me wrong I understand a charge for paying late however what I am struggling with is a mindblowing $29 late fee! I can understand a $5 or even $10 late fee but $29!?!?! I just think this is nickel & diming people to death! So now I am looking for another carrier. Oh, by the way, be on the lookout for the $10-month fee that they never make mention of when they are pitching their low rate sale because it means your not paying that $0.07 per kWh, you paying more once you factor in this fee.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ziaros from Webster, TX on October 24th, 2017
    Stay away
    I missed one payment and my service was disconnected within 2 weeks. Never received a disconnection noticed. Really? I know I missed a payment but it slip my mind. You could at least wait for next service month. I was with Reliant for 10 years, never had a problem with them. I am switching companies, even if I have to pay an early termination fee.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dennisse from Plano on December 4th, 2015
    Bad Billing and Customer Service
    Amigo had great service for start-up and a good price. Things went downhill from there. I was called about having them install a "smart thermostat" and it was explained that even though there was a $25/month charge it was guaranteed that I would save money. I saved no money the 1st three months (during the summer when there is the most opportunity for savings) I had them remove the stat within the 90 day "grace period", The $75 that I paid was never refunded. Now when I cancelled my service I was billed $295 for the thermostat that they took out. This was taken from my account by automatic draft. After an extended time on the phone and talking to several people, they said they would refund my money within 10 days. I called them after 16 days to find out where my money was and they said it was coming by check and would take 3 to 4 weeks.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ken Dalton from Fort Worth on August 13th, 2014
    No bill received / late fee an termination notice recv'd 4 days later
    I did not receive a bill in Dec 2013. I did not notice, possibly missed due to heavy email volume that I receive every day, or spam file delivery. Not really sure why. Due date was 12/23. On Dec 27 a disconnect notice and $22+tax "Disconnect Notice Fee" was sent to me and received on 12/28. This works out to a 20% fee on a $100 balance. I immediately paid the bill online. This is my fault for not noticing that I had not been billed, but a disconnect notice and $22+tax fee after 4 days with not even a "did you forgot to pay your bill email or letter"? Nope. Not going to stand for this. I've had electricity service for 40 years, and I've been with numerous companies over the last 10 years since power to choose. CAN'T WAIT FOR MY CONTRACT TO EXPIRE, then moving on to another provider. Note: on hold with customer service for 15 minutes, but they DID remove the late fee, so that brings down my anger level a little.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ALH from Housotn on December 30th, 2013
    WAS a good company
    Unfortunately, this company has been sold twice since I first signed up and is now owned by one of the biggest electricity providers. Gone is the great customer service provided by employees who cared. Gone also is any effort to retain loyal, longtime customers. In return you get treated just like you do with a huge company. Their policy seems to be to stick you with a much higher renewal rate if you are stupid enough to hang around. It's sad that any company operates this way. I'll be going elsewhere.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    M Campbell from Oak Point on July 23rd, 2013
    Billing mistakes
    They charge outrageous fees. Even when their Auto Payment system fails to work, you end up paying late and disconnect fee of over $25 for a $50 bill. If you didn't have your Auto Payment setup, you have to pay $5 to $10 fee towards "Payment", even if it check, or credit or debit card.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Parth from Houston on April 6th, 2013


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    151 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    10 plus years and multiple properties. clowns.
    Incase anyone is looking at electric providers in Texas, stay away from Amigo Energy. Ive been with them at every address Ive ever had as an adult (10+years) because they are cheap. Theyve always been a beating to deal with but for the savings I would deal with it on all of my properties in the past. As of today, they are no longer worth dealing with. If you dont like paying fees (hundreds of dollars) and arent cool with someone threatening your credit while they hide behind a contract, I urge you to use anyone else and save yourself the headache. The penny/kWh saving is not worth dealing with these clowns.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Hbpropertymanagement from Fort Worth, TX on September 2nd, 2021
    Hello Hbpropertymanagement, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and would like you to assist in getting a resolution for you. We value your business for more than ten years. We would like to have the opportunity to rectify this for you. A member of our team will be contacting you soon.

    Best Regards,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Hung up on me
    I have been with amigo energy for 5+ years and today I tried to pay my bill over the phone and the customer service representative hung up on me. How rude and disrespectful. I will transfer my services to a different provider after my contract ends next year.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brenda Ramirez from Houston, TX on August 27th, 2021
    Hi Brenda, we are sadden to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience but we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We would love to make things right. We have attempted to contact you but have been unsuccessful. In order to help with your concern, may you please contact us at 1-888-528-2672. Thank you very much for being a valued Amigo Energy customer!

    Regards.
    Alexandria, Social Media Advisor
    — Amigo Energy
    Not truly fixed rates
    I just got my first bill and there is a $50 charge for a pass-through fee. When I spoke with customer service agent to order service I asked several times if the fixed rate meant only the kws consumed X cost per kw. He repeated and assured that it would be so. I have been on the phone several times waiting to speak with billing dept to no avail.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Accoun