All 1 Star Reviews

107 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Amigo Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not truly fixed rates
I just got my first bill and there is a $50 charge for a pass-through fee. When I spoke with customer service agent to order service I asked several times if the fixed rate meant only the kws consumed X cost per kw. He repeated and assured that it would be so. I have been on the phone several times waiting to speak with billing dept to no avail.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G Rodriguez from San Benito, TX on February 17th, 2021
Hi Mrs. Rodriguez than you for accepting my phone call today to discuss the TDU charges on your bill. I am glad I was able to clarify the charge to you and make sure that everything on your account is set to your satisfaction. If you have any other question please feel free to contact us at 1-888-469-2644. Thank you very much for being a valued Amigo Energy customer!

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Total Disappointment
Had a 3 months plan with Amigo at an average rate of 8 cents per kWhr. Once I was out of contract, the rate went up to 19 cents per kWhr!! I did call their customer service and told them that it is acceptable that a rate increase is expected once I am out of contract, but, not double the rate!!! The gentlemen, although courteous, did not even offer any kind of a break and simply said it is what it is and this is the market price. So, I did tell him that I will write a bad review and this is it! They lost a customer for few dollars - Not the right kind of company that apprecuiates its customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sam Jabori from Houston, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We want to do everything we can to get this situation resolved for you as quickly as possible. Please check your email to assist you further. We hope to hear from you soon.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
RIP OFF
When I change to free nights, I new my daytime charges would increase, but really over 65 % was at night. I should save 25 to 30 percent on my bill with the increase amount. Of course they did the unthinkable. They graph my usage way up when I change to no heat days, no laundry days. no light downstairs days. up the heat at 9PM off at 7AM breakfast at 6AM laundry only between 9PM-7AM my bill went up $260 and I would told my bill would decrease from $167 .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jay from Desoto, TX on January 24th, 2021
Hi Jay, thank you for your review. All feedback is important to us, but especially so when it relates to our customers' bills.
It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-866-587-8674. We can investigate this for you.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Amigo Energy
Deadbeat company
Been with reliant for years, decided to switch and what a big mistake. Nickel and dime. Bank payment and due date service were off by a day. Get a notice for service cutoff day after their due date. Avoid this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lesson Learned. from League City, TX on October 12th, 2020
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We can certainly help. Please call us at 1-888-528-2672. We will be happy to resolve any concerns.

Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
This company is a ripoff
Im not angry because Ive been with the company for four years, I would expect better customer service at this point but they only want your money and nothing less. I paid my bill the next morning after it was due and they charged a $25 late fee. Thats ridiculous considering the pandemic that we are still in right now! They should offer a grace period of a week, at least! I cannot wait until my contract is up so I can move on to better companies! Also, dont ever give up when trying to get out of paying their ridiculous fees. Spend as much time as you need researching their company and policies before you just hand over extra money. They are inexperienced to say the least and they argue like children. Fight for your money!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Natalia from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
Hello Natalia, We apologize that you had an unsatisfactory experience. We want to do everything we can to get this situation resolved for you as quickly as possible. To help with your concern and to access your account, please call us at 1-888-528-2672. Wed be happy to look into this issue for you.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor


— Amigo Energy
Amigo Engery is horrible
I have with them for years and in the beginning they were awesome, but I had nothing but problems since then. Most times their app does not accept payments, when you call you are put through the wringer and nobody is ever available. The website is not much better. Had to research to find a way to pay my bill more then once because their system was down and on top of that they will charge a horrendous late charge, even when you can proof that you tried to pay for several days.
Their customer service is bad.
Used to recommend, but not since the last year - stay far away from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T Gray from Tomball, TX on July 30th, 2020
Amigo is not your friend!
Amigo Energy is a terrible company to do business with. We were charged $175 for an early termination fee and we are moving to an area they do not service (could not transfer service). Additionally, the switch was initiated by the prospective tenant of the individual we sold our house to. While we were still transitioning from one house to another, they made the switch and Amigo charged me $175. They won't waive the fee because I "did not inform them." That is my point! I didn't inform them! They allowed the switch and charged me $175. Stay away from Amigo...they aren't your friend!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris O. from Abilene, TX on May 26th, 2020
Amigo goes from good to bad
Amigo has change their prices along with their customers skills. This company went up on the cost and is very hard to talk to them . I got charge over 18 cents a kw and they drew money out of my bank without my permission ( they kept my bank account on file from previous payments). Anyone who decides to go with amigo be aware. I talked to four representative and they all seem to be hard to understand.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ernesto Castro from Corpus Christi, TX on April 10th, 2020
Letter to terminate
After being 3 days late on bill due to the coronavirus Amigo Energy sends a letter to cut your electricity off. They don't care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlie from Cleburne, TX on March 28th, 2020
Amigo Energy
Very disappointed with the plan and costumer service. I started out with a 12 month plan. The rate was very good, but when it was time to renew, I was told that the rate had change but it would not go up very much. My bill had almost doubled and my unit had not been on since the summer. When I call costumer service they will let the phone ring for hours while you listen to a recording. EXTREMELY DIASPPOINTED.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gladys Moore from Tyler, TX on February 13th, 2020
Hello Gladys,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we will make sure your feedback is directed to the appropriate department. We would also love the opportunity to help resolve your billing concern. Please provide your account information and the best time to contact you so we can assist.

Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy


All Amigo Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Bundled Rate
24 month
Bundled Rate
10.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$104 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Consistent Fixed Rate
  • Lock in for 2 years
  • No Monthly Base Charge!
  • 12 Month Bundled Rate
    12 month
    Bundled Rate
    10.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $104 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Simple, Fixed rate plan
  • Easy Online Approval