Home > Read Reviews > Amigo Energy


Amigo Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Amigo Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.4 of 5.


Amigo Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.





182 Reviews for Amigo Energy


Long time customer
(5 / 5)

  I have been a customer for years and I enjoy their
great customer service.

AJ from Houston
January 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Texas Company!!
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Amigo for almost 6 years since I
moved to Houston. I have seen them grow into a
great company, and the customer service has always
been stellar with really low rates as well. I
highly recommend!

Texas Pete from Houston
December 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excelent Customer Service and Rates
(5 / 5)

  I have been for more than 4 years with this company and I can tell, that they have the best customer service ever, including the service for the spanish speakers.

Jose Cruz from Houston
September 29th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

5 years and counting for residential and business
(4.8 / 5)

  Never had any trouble and I have 3 accounts with them 2 residential and one business account for an townhome community. The rate offered to renew has always been the best I can find at the time I need to renew. The customer service has been great. English spoke here and the customer service location is in Houston TX. I do not understand the other negative comments I have read on the reviews. They also are offering referral rebates but are not based on dog and pony show marketing. I like this company!

G. Davis from Houston
June 27th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The best Electricity Power Provider
(4.7 / 5)

  Customer service = 100%..I cannot say enough about
Amigo..I just love this provider. Customer service
says it all about a provider..no matter how little
it is.

BA from Sugar Land
February 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty good experience
(4.6 / 5)

  Re-upped with Amigo after an initial 6-month term. Without negotiating, I was offered another 6-month renewal rate lower than a new customer rate, and much lower than what is advertised as their returning customer renewal rates online. Renewal process took 5 minutes. Honestly, was very surprised, as I usually have had to ask for a new customer rate with my previous service providers upon renewal. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Also, person spoke English!!!! Was not based in another country. Allowed me to opt out from marketing calls, as well.

Lastly, like other customers, I was billed an Internet ACH fee of $5 in my last bill. Customer service gave me a solution to not paying it - just set up an auto-pay. It's auto-debited on the due date, so nothing lost.

Will see how things go this next 6 months and keep my fingers crossed that rates don't move upward too much by June.

Keith from Houston
December 12th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nice Company
(4.6 / 5)

  I found an affordable, 6-month rate with Amigo. I ordered the service a bit late--just a couple of days before move-in, but they were really understanding and had everything up and running in time for my move. I found the renewal plan too expensive, so I canceled without any trouble. Customer service was always nice.

Ollie B from Houston
May 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

love them
(4.6 / 5)

  never had any problems with them and they're prices on green energy are very competitive

cowgirl from Houston
December 7th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

love this company best rate i could find
(4.5 / 5)

  always very friendly customer service and the best rate i could find. I have been with them three years and counting and do not plan to change anytime soon. thanks amigo

Trisha Williams from Mckinney
February 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

excellent energy provider
(4.5 / 5)

  reliable company

luis andrade from Edinburg
June 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No monkey business, just low rates
(4.5 / 5)

  I've used them for over a year on the variable plan. I have not had drastic rate changes (month to month), and I am considering locking in my current or even a lower rate with them for a 6 month contract.

Anonymous
March 17th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Amigo is Honest
(4.4 / 5)

  I left a big company out of disgust a few years back when they pulled some strange stuff. It was even in the media that they were suspected of jacking up prices one very hot summer, taking advantage of folks. Amigo has never done anything but offer fair prices, good service and easy auto pay. I do appreciate that and have two accounts, have been with them for several years. Any strange stuff and I'm gone. But so far no worries about that. The reason I gave 3 on order - I did one account online and it said my electricity would be turned on a particular day - didn't happen, it was hot weather and I was mad. However, the weekend messed up things with Oncor - the Big Boss, so I got over it. Customer service was a 4 because sometimes the wait is long, however the folks are courteous and prompt in their service once you get through. Honestly you rarely need to call them, so no huge deal in the end.

JL from Dallas
February 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service
(4.4 / 5)

  Have used Amigo for 2 years. Pay electronically. Absolutely no problems with bills or service.

Richard Brimage from Spring
December 16th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problem
(4.3 / 5)

  I've been with this company for over 2 years, and I have no problems with this company. The only time I had to call customer service is when I need to renew my contract. It was very straightforward and the process was quick. I would definitely recommend this company.

Anonymous from Houston
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Rate Around
(4.3 / 5)

  I just renewed my contact with Amigo energy for another 12 months using auto draft and was giving a rate of 9.4 kwh. I have been very happy with their service this past year and new lowered rates. Amigo energy keep up the good work at helping Texas families save money in these hard economic times.

Happy Customer from Irving
April 8th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great company / no complaints
(4.2 / 5)

  i had NO ISSUE whatsoever. they started on the day i requested, i had not 1 interruption at all.
the first bill was kinda tricky and high due to some billing issues and fine prints...i cant blame AMIGO ENERGY for it because its the freaking government that lets them do these "gotchas"....its just incredible that none of this is regulated. but over all, I was happy with them, my 12 months was up and i had to drop them due to an increase in rate.

elias fuentes from Katy
June 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

got electricity just fine
(4.2 / 5)

  Nothing special to say. I got electricity they got paid. Price was below average for the term at the time. I think I will go with a one year or less for the term rather than a two. May or may not stay with these guys.

phillyg from Houston
January 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no problems
(4 / 5)

  Good overall. Only point of issue would be the billing. They charge $5 to pay online (though I didn't get that charge last time I paid) and the bills come in the mail sometimes shortly before the bill is due!
But (because a bill came late) I got a disconnect notice and the date was due. I called and they were friendly and extended my date so my payment could go through.

Steven Ogden from Crowley
March 22nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company for 6 years
(4 / 5)

  I've had Amigo since 2006 and they have been fine - even gave me the $25 referral credit after I contacted them though they said I didn't put in the right code. Only bummer thing is the $2/mo fee for using a credit card. But changing now because rates are too high... I'd definitely recommend.

Nicole from Cypress
February 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service
(4 / 5)

  Just had a little mishap when switching services but other than that, no probs.

Mike from Katy
February 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 11-17-2018
Example Bill
loading...