Home > Read Reviews > Apge

APG&E Customer Reviews

The best review categories for APG&E are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.0 of 5.

APG&E Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

APG&E Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
TrueClassic 24
24 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
TrueClassic 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
TrueClassic 6
6 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info


25 Reviews for APG&E


APG&E rocks!

(5 / 5)

  I recently signed up with APG&E for electricity service for my home. It was super easy. It took me under 3 minutes to sign up for service. Their price plans were transparent...no gimmicks. Very fair and affordable rates. Called their customer service line to check on my bill date. The customer service agent was extremely helpful and got me squared away in minutes. So glad I signed up with them!

Cindy in Houston, TX from Bellaire
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience, Great Company

(5 / 5)

  I recently enrolled with APG&E for my home in Houston. I got a great low rate without any gimmicks or tricks. When I called customer service they were so helpful and knowledgeable. I also started getting emails showing me how much power I use. This has been great. Overall, I'm very happy with this company and glad I chose them. I've already been telling my friends to sign up too.

Laura in Houston from Houston
April 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE it

(5 / 5)

  i have been a customer with APGE for 3 years and they have never dissapointed me. the customer service agents are always so firendly when i call and very helpfull they always find a way to help the customer out and bend over back wards to keep me as a customer satisfied.

Becky Harrison from Houston
July 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY

(2.6 / 5)

  Cheap fixed rate sounds good. Until you realize they run some wierd 20 day bill cycle so your bill is due a completely different time each month. Also sometimes it takes them 10 days to apply a payment and they will send you a disconnection notice and charge you a late fee. My last 2 bills have had 14 days and 17 days respectively from their mail date (printed on the invoice) and the due date. So basically I'm getting 2 bills a month from these idiots. If you do a budget like I do this company is a huge frustration. Also if you call them they say it's not their fault and blame their computer. Terrible company.

John from Beeville
November 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rates, but...............

(2.4 / 5)

  I have been with APG&E for six months. Their cash appliations is terrible. They have failed to apply my timely made payments for days / weeks and send me a disconnection notice every single month despite having my money. Although the price is good, the time spent each month trying to get this straight is not worth it. I haven't looked yet, but if they are reporting me to the credit bureau as a slow payor then that could be even a bigger issue.

Dennis Moon from Katy
December 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER A BILL

(2.2 / 5)

  I GUESS THAT THE SERVICE IS FINE, BUT AFTER SENDING OUT MULTIPLE MESSAGES TO THEIR CUSTORMER SERVICE I JUST CANNOT GET A BILL FROM THEM. THEY DO NOT SEND ANY AND IF I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT WHEN THE BILL IS DUE, GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND OBTAIN ONE THAT WAY, I WOULD LIKE MANY OTHERS LIKELY BE FACING A DISCONNECT. I WILL AGREE THAT THEY NEED TO GET THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ACT TOGETHER.

KERRY SHIRLEY from HOUSTON
September 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from...Didn't learn my lesson

(1.4 / 5)

  I always sign up for a fixed rate and have been with many different providers under different contracts in Texas. This has been by far the worst experience. Their online interface is powered by a 3rd party company. It (the signup interface) was broken when I tried to sign up. I spent 30 minutes on the phone signing up (I should have ran the other direction). I finally got my first bill in the mail, so I went to sign up online for online account access. Unlike any other normal company, where you can input your info (ESID, meter ID, account #, etc) and create an account, you are unable to do this. You must call them, so they can create your account internally, then you are able to create an online account. Of course this isn't explained online. The entire process is a joke. Nothing on their site works as it should. I just got a new debit card, and of course their website won't let you update the auto pay! Every interaction with this company ends up in a phone call because their site sucks. I am astounded.

Wes from Katy
January 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1 / 5)

  The customer service is the poorest I have experienced yet. They will shut your service off when you don't owe and will respond like an idiot when you request to go over the bill with them. Now I get a bill showing over payment of more than $600. The company has not contacted me to apologize or to return my money and with hat aid, the bill is still incorrect. I would never recommend anyone to use this company for utility service.

#totallydissatisfied from Dallas
October 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!

(1 / 5)

  First - the bill arrives and before it can be mailed and them receive and FINALLY post it, it is past due -
Second - the customer service is AWFUL - the rudest people i have EVER dealt with. Nothing works - the automated service is always down - paying online is a joke - the only other option is taking it to a CASH store to pay there and they charge a fee. Cannot wait for this contract to be up! I have a business account with 4 meters/bills and this has been the longest 3 years dealing with these people.

Sandy from Mission
October 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fast talking contract scam

(1 / 5)

  I called customer service when my contract was up. We worked out a price and contract length. After that she started talking very fast for a contract recording. I fell for it and agreed. I now have a higher rate, and my contract expired at 6 months instead of 12. I should have recorded her!

Matthew Banister from Corpus Christi
June 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Was never able to access my account online so I was force to call every month to pay my bill. Hold times would run way pass 30 minutes. Finally had to disconnect service as I was moving to a condo that already has electrical service. I pay my bill I the 1st of each month only to get a voicemail from a rep advising that my account will be sent to collections and it's the 5th of the month. I only owe $50 and the disconnection fee of $150. As I attempt to get a hold of this rep all day - I finally get a hold of her. When she asks if I am ready to make payment on my account I let her know that I am, but would like to speak to someone else. As she denies me that possibility - I now request that she forward my call to a supervisor which she again refuses to do - when I ask a 2nd time - DISCONNECTED!!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!! AVOID!!!!!!

Carolyn from Houston
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Avoid this company. They never answer their telephone. Their website is not user friendly. They don't send out invoices either online or mail them and you never know the total amount until it gets auto-charged. Their website never recognizes your password and never sends a password restore when you click the link. Then you have to register again, with the same password, every time with all those long numbers, just to view your monthly bill that they never send you. Right now, I have been on hold for customer service for 40 minutes with nobody coming on during business hours.

Nancy Graml from Houston
October 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sign up at your own risk!!!

(1 / 5)

  1) Never received an enrollment confirmation via email or postmarked mail
2) Never received EFL, Terms, or Rights documents
3) Never received notice to review and rescind the terms of service within 3 days for a switch
4) Never received a bill
5) Received a disconnection notice
6) Incurred late fees even though no bill was received
7) After several request of all pertinent documents with a customer care rep (and told within 24-48 hours), still no sign of the docs.

Anonymous from Houston
August 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAMMERS 4 SURE!!

(1 / 5)

  1. Who threatens disconnect for $35 without a 1st billing?
2. Who charges for a deposit over 1 month after contract start without notice or agreement whatsoever?
3. What website takes the full amount when the payee changes the debit amount?

HERE IS WHO! APG&E AKA www.apge.com

PAUL A. RHODES, SR. from HOUSTON
June 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Have been unable to get anyone to answer my phone calls. I've been calling all week to cancel service. I have also sent emails but recd no response.

Maria Sams from Waco
May 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam agents

(1 / 5)

  Beware when an "agent" comes to you claiming to be from your existing energy company. APG&E hires scam artist that LIE to you and trick you into signing an agreement. You then end up with a contract that obligates you to this company; which was through unethical and criminal means. I will be filing a complaint with BBB about their work ethics. I have very disappointed and angry. Please save yourself the hassle and stay away from this company.

Diana from New York
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Angry

(1 / 5)

  I own a hair salon and while working on clients 3 men entered my salon and said they need to help me straighten out my electric bill. They said I was being double charged for distribution and sales tax and they were sent by PECO to correct it. My husband had to come over from his bike shop next door to follow up with them because I was working on a client. They had him sign paperwork and left. Later I looked over the paperwork and they sign us up with APG&E energy. They LIED to us and scammed us into signing up with them. Of course I called and canceled right away and reported them to the BBB. What a horrible company. NO STAR'S for them at all.

Nancy Barr from Philadelphia
May 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(0.8 / 5)

  Changed providers and never saw a bill. Finally got a bill and discovered that it was mailed on 4/11/14 and was due on 4/14/14 or late charges would be applicable. Pay the same day or get extra charges? The statement indicated that seven days should be allowed for mail. Late no matter how you look at it. So I tried to call customer service. Waited 14 minutes the first time and then was disconnected. Tried to transfer to the pay bill option on the next call and waited 20 minutes or so and still no answer. Good elevator music but no agent. This company truly needs to get it's act together.

Wonder if a complaint to the Texas Public Utility Commission and the BBB will get their attention?

Tommy from Missouri City
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Risky Will Not Switch!!

(0.2 / 5)

  After reading others reviews, AND checking this company out at the BBB, (CHECK THEM OUT NOT GOOD), I feel it is too risky to switch providers. Customer service is just as important to me as a low rate, and I don't want/need any headaches right now. I will stay with the provider I have. These reviews and BBB especially, were very helpful!

Pat from Cleveland
August 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good - do your homework

(0.2 / 5)

  Doing research today on this company considering a switch to them. Their website shows them as a BBB accredited business and A+ rating. The BBB site shows they are NOT an accredited business, and their rank is 'F'. Look here: http://www.bbb.org/houston/business-reviews/utility-contractors/affordable-power-lp-in-houston-tx-16002165#reasonrating

Anthony from Houston
January 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...