Reviews Overview
The best review categories for APG&E are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
18%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
73%
 

Recent Good Review from Fwtank

Company
I have only been with them for a little over a year. I went through a broker ( ok, so that was my 1st time and scary), but with auto pay and a totally fixed rate from 1 kilowatt to 4000 kilowatts, I have never had a problem with their billing. I hate every electric company with rates for the 1st 500 kwatts, then up to 2000 kwatts, then a price for everything over 2000 kwatts. I love the flat rate. Don't really understand why so many people have issues with them. And I did a 3 year contract so I don't have to use powertochoose every year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fwtank from Arlington, TX on June 20th, 2021


Our Analysis of APG&E

Innovation
3.1 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
2.9 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
2.7 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Community Outreach
1.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Market Perception
1.8 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Company
I have only been with them for a little over a year. I went through a broker ( ok, so that was my 1st time and scary), but with auto pay and a totally fixed rate from 1 kilowatt to 4000 kilowatts, I have never had a problem with their billing. I hate every electric company with rates for the 1st 500 kwatts, then up to 2000 kwatts, then a price for everything over 2000 kwatts. I love the flat rate. Don't really understand why so many people have issues with them. And I did a 3 year contract so I don't have to use powertochoose every year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fwtank from Arlington, TX on June 20th, 2021
Love Them
I have been with APGE for years. I love the product offers, the customer service and ease of payments.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Alvarado, TX on May 26th, 2021
Electric ser
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gabaldon from Dallas, TX on February 21st, 2020
APG&E rocks!
I recently signed up with APG&E for electricity service for my home. It was super easy. It took me under 3 minutes to sign up for service. Their price plans were transparent...no gimmicks. Very fair and affordable rates. Called their customer service line to check on my bill date. The customer service agent was extremely helpful and got me squared away in minutes. So glad I signed up with them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cindy In Houston, TX from Bellaire, TX on May 21st, 2018
Great Experience, Great Company
I recently enrolled with APG&E for my home in Houston. I got a great low rate without any gimmicks or tricks. When I called customer service they were so helpful and knowledgeable. I also started getting emails showing me how much power I use. This has been great. Overall, I'm very happy with this company and glad I chose them. I've already been telling my friends to sign up too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura In Houston from Houston, TX on April 24th, 2018
LOVE it
I have been a customer with APGE for 3 years and they have never dissapointed me. the customer service agents are always so firendly when i call and very helpfull they always find a way to help the customer out and bend over back wards to keep me as a customer satisfied.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Becky Harrison from Houston on July 20th, 2012



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NEVER A BILL
I GUESS THAT THE SERVICE IS FINE, BUT AFTER SENDING OUT MULTIPLE MESSAGES TO THEIR CUSTORMER SERVICE I JUST CANNOT GET A BILL FROM THEM. THEY DO NOT SEND ANY AND IF I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT WHEN THE BILL IS DUE, GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND OBTAIN ONE THAT WAY, I WOULD LIKE MANY OTHERS LIKELY BE FACING A DISCONNECT. I WILL AGREE THAT THEY NEED TO GET THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ACT TOGETHER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KERRY SHIRLEY from Houston on September 15th, 2014
STAY AWAY
Cheap fixed rate sounds good. Until you realize they run some wierd 20 day bill cycle so your bill is due a completely different time each month. Also sometimes it takes them 10 days to apply a payment and they will send you a disconnection notice and charge you a late fee. My last 2 bills have had 14 days and 17 days respectively from their mail date (printed on the invoice) and the due date. So basically I'm getting 2 bills a month from these idiots. If you do a budget like I do this company is a huge frustration. Also if you call them they say it's not their fault and blame their computer. Terrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Beeville on November 1st, 2013
Good rates, but...............
I have been with APG&E for six months. Their cash appliations is terrible. They have failed to apply my timely made payments for days / weeks and send me a disconnection notice every single month despite having my money. Although the price is good, the time spent each month trying to get this straight is not worth it. I haven't looked yet, but if they are reporting me to the credit bureau as a slow payor then that could be even a bigger issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennis Moon from Katy on December 3rd, 2012



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

24 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Just Avoid Them
Had a 3 year service agreement that expired in May. Rate went from 6c/kWh to 20 c/kWh. I should have checked previous invoices with the fine print telling me that the agreement was due to expire. Did not receive any email advising me of the expriation date. Was with them since 2018. Shame on me for not realizing it was open season on out of contract accounts. Revolting practice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Houston "Valued Customer." from Spring, TX on July 1st, 2021
Customer service is horrible
I have been setup on automatic payments and the one time I needed to do a payment arrangement they charge an installation fee which they didnt disclose the right way. The lady was reading from a script and I didnt catch all the fine print details she was giving. And when I called back I complained that I wasnt aware and the rep says to me I am the one u talked to when I complained about the rep I spoke too. She had a very nasty attitude and even the manager Alex doesnt not know how to deal with people either. They gave me the run around about everything and even allowed me to listened to call and he didnt even do that correctly. He kept putting the phone on mute so therefore the recording wouldnt play like it was suppose to. Overall this company is horrible when it comes to customer services and how to treat people. Once my contract is up I will not sign up with them again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna from Fort Worth, TX on December 15th, 2020
Horrible
I can't get out from this service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.T. from Dallas, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Rude customer service rep and out dates equipment.
I went onto the APG&E website and post-dated my payment. My bill was due July 6th and I post-dated for July 9th. Well they sent me a disconnect notice on the 9th. Apparently they can't see post-dated payments. Not only is that unfortunate, but it's stupid and out-dated. So if anyone ever asks me what I think about APG&E, I'll for sure refer them to Centerpoint Energy. Centerpoint Energy is not so quick to disconnect your services. Three days late, but had a post dated payment on file. Shame on you APG&E. I'm very disappointed in your company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angela Simmons from Richmond, TX on July 13th, 2020
Highway robbery
We were customers with APGE for almost 2 years. When our contract expired, we received a call to renew and said we would like to. We thought that was it, but apparently, there was a packet that was supposed to be sent to us that never was. Consequently, they raised our rates to $.188 kWh! We had been paying $.6. Mind you, this is all in the midst of a global pandemic and in summer in Houston, TX. They refused to revise our bills to reflect the contract price we thought we had agreed to. Very shady business practices and zero customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thieves! from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2020
Horrible Company
The customer service is the poorest I have experienced yet. They will shut your service off when you don't owe and will respond like an idiot when you request to go over the bill with them. Now I get a bill showing over payment of more than $600. The company has not contacted me to apologize or to return my money and with hat aid, the bill is still incorrect. I would never recommend anyone to use this company for utility service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

#totallydissatisfied from Dallas, TX on October 26th, 2018
HORRIBLE!
First - the bill arrives and before it can be mailed and them receive and FINALLY post it, it is past due -
Second - the customer service is AWFUL - the rudest people i have EVER dealt with. Nothing works - the automated service is always down - paying online is a joke - the only other option is taking it to a CASH store to pay there and they charge a fee. Cannot wait for this contract to be up! I have a business account with 4 meters/bills and this has been the longest 3 years dealing with these people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandy from Mission, TX on October 17th, 2017
Fast talking contract scam
I called customer service when my contract was up. We worked out a price and contract length. After that she started talking very fast for a contract recording. I fell for it and agreed. I now have a higher rate, and my contract expired at 6 months instead of 12. I should have recorded her!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matthew Banister from Corpus Christi on June 19th, 2015
Tried Despite Horrible Reviews and Regretted It Ever Since!!!!!!!
I read reviews and wanted to give benefit of the doubt. All the things everybody is complaining about has happened to me. I didin't get my first 3 bills. They charged me a late charge as a result but did reverse it when I complained. I got a disconnection notice for no reason mid billing cycle and then another late charge after I had already been on autopay for 2 months. They did reverse the late charge and admitted their system had billing errors. (DUH!!). I don't like having to remember if my light bill has come in and have to comb over it because I don't trust the company but that is what I've experienced almost every single month. I can't wait to let the contract lapse so I can find a reliable company, even if it's a few cents more per KWH. The savings to me aren't worth the time I've had to spend calling them over and over and sitting on hold for over 20 minutes like today..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Belle B. from Houston on January 23rd, 2015
Horrible!!!!!
Was never able to access my account online so I was force to call every month to pay my bill. Hold times would run way pass 30 minutes. Finally had to disconnect service as I was moving to a condo that already has electrical service. I pay my bill I the 1st of each month only to get a voicemail from a rep advising that my account will be sent to collections and it's the 5th of the month. I only owe $50 and the disconnection fee of $150. As I attempt to get a hold of this rep all day - I finally get a hold of her. When she asks if I am ready to make payment on my account I let her know that I am, but would like to speak to someone else. As she denies me that possibility - I now request that she forward my call to a supervisor which she again refuses to do - when I ask a 2nd time - DISCONNECTED!!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!! AVOID!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn from Houston on December 5th, 2014


All APG&E Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Popular 1 Year Plan
12 month
Fixed Rate
13.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Stady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Simple pricing, no bill credits or gimmicks