Horrible
I can't get out from this service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.T. from University Park, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Rude customer service rep and out dates equipment.
I went onto the APG&E website and post-dated my payment. My bill was due July 6th and I post-dated for July 9th. Well they sent me a disconnect notice on the 9th. Apparently they can't see post-dated payments. Not only is that unfortunate, but it's stupid and out-dated. So if anyone ever asks me what I think about APG&E, I'll for sure refer them to Centerpoint Energy. Centerpoint Energy is not so quick to disconnect your services. Three days late, but had a post dated payment on file. Shame on you APG&E. I'm very disappointed in your company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angela Simmons from Richmond, TX on July 13th, 2020
Highway robbery
We were customers with APGE for almost 2 years. When our contract expired, we received a call to renew and said we would like to. We thought that was it, but apparently, there was a packet that was supposed to be sent to us that never was. Consequently, they raised our rates to $.188 kWh! We had been paying $.6. Mind you, this is all in the midst of a global pandemic and in summer in Houston, TX. They refused to revise our bills to reflect the contract price we thought we had agreed to. Very shady business practices and zero customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thieves! from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2020
Electric ser
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gabaldon from Fort Worth, TX on February 21st, 2020
Horrible Company
The customer service is the poorest I have experienced yet. They will shut your service off when you don't owe and will respond like an idiot when you request to go over the bill with them. Now I get a bill showing over payment of more than $600. The company has not contacted me to apologize or to return my money and with hat aid, the bill is still incorrect. I would never recommend anyone to use this company for utility service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

#totallydissatisfied from Dallas, TX on October 26th, 2018
APG&E rocks!
I recently signed up with APG&E for electricity service for my home. It was super easy. It took me under 3 minutes to sign up for service. Their price plans were transparent...no gimmicks. Very fair and affordable rates. Called their customer service line to check on my bill date. The customer service agent was extremely helpful and got me squared away in minutes. So glad I signed up with them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cindy In Houston, TX from Houston, TX on May 21st, 2018
Great Experience, Great Company
I recently enrolled with APG&E for my home in Houston. I got a great low rate without any gimmicks or tricks. When I called customer service they were so helpful and knowledgeable. I also started getting emails showing me how much power I use. This has been great. Overall, I'm very happy with this company and glad I chose them. I've already been telling my friends to sign up too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura In Houston from Houston, TX on April 24th, 2018
HORRIBLE!
First - the bill arrives and before it can be mailed and them receive and FINALLY post it, it is past due -
Second - the customer service is AWFUL - the rudest people i have EVER dealt with. Nothing works - the automated service is always down - paying online is a joke - the only other option is taking it to a CASH store to pay there and they charge a fee. Cannot wait for this contract to be up! I have a business account with 4 meters/bills and this has been the longest 3 years dealing with these people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandy from Palmview, TX on October 17th, 2017
Fast talking contract scam
I called customer service when my contract was up. We worked out a price and contract length. After that she started talking very fast for a contract recording. I fell for it and agreed. I now have a higher rate, and my contract expired at 6 months instead of 12. I should have recorded her!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matthew Banister from Corpus Christi on June 19th, 2015
Tried Despite Horrible Reviews and Regretted It Ever Since!!!!!!!
I read reviews and wanted to give benefit of the doubt. All the things everybody is complaining about has happened to me. I didin't get my first 3 bills. They charged me a late charge as a result but did reverse it when I complained. I got a disconnection notice for no reason mid billing cycle and then another late charge after I had already been on autopay for 2 months. They did reverse the late charge and admitted their system had billing errors. (DUH!!). I don't like having to remember if my light bill has come in and have to comb over it because I don't trust the company but that is what I've experienced almost every single month. I can't wait to let the contract lapse so I can find a reliable company, even if it's a few cents more per KWH. The savings to me aren't worth the time I've had to spend calling them over and over and sitting on hold for over 20 minutes like today..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Belle B. from Houston on January 23rd, 2015







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for APG&E are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.0 of 5.
5 Stars
19%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
14%
 
1 Stars
67%
 
2.9 / 5
Overall
3.0 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
3.0 / 5
Order Experience
2.9 / 5
Customer Service
2.7 / 5
Billing and Account Management
2.7 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About APG&E

APG&E, formerly Affordable Power and founded in 2004, has grown to serve thousands of customers in the state of Texas. APG&E is present and servicing retail customers in Texas, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Illinois.

Compare The Best Texas Electricity Rates

Texas Electricity Rates can be downright confusing. That's why we came up with TexasElectricityRatings.com. A simple web site that gives you more than just price information. Check out our reviews from thousands of Texans, compare the best rates and order online in minutes.

Energy deregulation in Texas has made changing electric companies easy, and the best part is that it's all free. There are no switching fees, your electricity stays on throughout the whole process, and no special equipment is needed. If you're moving to to Texas, your new provider will turn on your power and set up your new service on the same day.

We've made it easy to compare the best Texas electricity providers by sorting, ranking and rating every provider and then recommending plans and providers that have proved that they provide the best customer service and a great electric rate for your home or business.

If you're looking for the cheapest electricity rate, simply sort by rate, then compare provider ratings and details to ensure you get the best rate. Of course, the easiest way to get the lowest Texas electricity rate is select one of our recommended plans.

You have a lot of choices in Texas, from Green Energy to Smart Home, to Plans with Rewards and Incentives. We're here to help you sort it all out.



All APG&E Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 months
10.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$103 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Simple pricing, no bill credits or gimmicks
  • 6 months
    10.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $97 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Stady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 months
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $106 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month