APNA Energy Logo
PUCT# :

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services and TriEagle Energy

They sell my account ... I have to pay extra?!?!?!

(3 / 5)

  Apna was purchased by another energy company. They stopped my contract 2 days into new billing cycle and it will transfer to new energy provider, one I didn't sign a contract with. I have to assusme the details are the same - same 15$ base charge. So I am billed a 15$ base charge in the bill with only 2 days and I assume I potentially can get another 15$ base charge by the new energy provider that bought out APNA.
How does that make sense!? Why should I have to pay extra because they transferred my account?

Blunt from Spring
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor set up on web site

(1 / 5)

  They try to stick you for a deposit - AFTER you give them permission to transfer your service - even when you've had good credit service elsewhere for years. Then you sit on hold on the phone until you get tired of waiting trying to reject their service ... not good.

Debra Dean from Fort Worth
February 26th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never use APNA Energy again

(1.2 / 5)

  My experience with APNA Energy Company was horrible. They have the worst customer service and Billing system.

I had my credit card stolen not too long ago and when they billed me for my monthly payment, they got declined. However, I scheduled a bank direct payment to pay my bill by due date. My bank account was set to pay to an old account with APNA, so they considered my payment was past due. That was August 19th, 2013. They then tried to reach me through my home phone, which we do not usually check on a daily basis. They also have my email address but they never tried to reach me via email. So ONLY 2 days later, on August 21st, 2013, they actually CUT THE POWER OFF AT MY HOUSE!!!!!

Let's face this -- they have never send me any email, or mail trying to contact me other than calling me at my home phone number once. This is ridiculous considering I had no intention to avoid any payment. When I called them and questioned why they cut the power off in only 2 days without further attempt to reach me, the response I got from a manager was -- We cut the power off so that you can contact us.

This is a horrible company to work with and I will never ever recommend them to anyone. And once my contract expires I will never go back to them either. The rates nowadays power comapnies offer are relatively similar and there are a bunch of companies I know have a lot better services than them. So don't only look at the rate, but also pay attention to the customer service they will provide. At least, in my experience, my electricity service through APNA was not reliable at all, because they can cut off your power any time so that you can call them back!!!

Daisy from Houston
August 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service with a personal touch.

(4.6 / 5)

  I can't say enough about APNA's customer service. Sandra is an outstanding customer service supervisor who was extremely helpful in my situation. I will and have recommended this company to others already. When problems arise is when you see what type of customer service a company really has, and APNA has proven to me they are very customer oriented. They take a personal interest in trying to understand and resolve your issue. So glad I switched.

Kim Sonnier from Santa Fe
July 31st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible customer service!

(0.6 / 5)

  We live in a 600 sq foot apartment and were looking for 6 month fixed rate plans. Despite all the negative reviews on the customer service of APNA energy, we still (foolishly!) called them . After the terribly long wait (20+minutes), we finally got through and enquired about the rates on the 6 month plan. While the electricity facts label gives different average rates for 500 and 1000 kwh usage, the customer service rep insisted it was the same 10.2c for any usage. Despite trying to explain to him that their website said otherwise, the rep was cocky and laughing when we tried to ask him further questions on the rate per kwh. They apparently don't reveal the itemised details and only give you the overall number. I don't see the problem in revealing the charges/Kwh to a potential customer. Overall, it was a frustrating experience and shady , might I add. If this is the treatment rendered to a potential customer, imagine if you actually sign up with them!!!! No , Thanks!!!!!

Grace from Houston
June 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for $15 base charge

(2.2 / 5)

  If your monthly bill is less than 1000kW, they will charge a $15 base charge, which is higher than most, if not all companies. That means at 8.6 cents per kW, you have to spend at least $86 per month to avoid the charge. The charge will be in addition to your usage. To cancel a contract, they charge a cancellation fee (termination of service fee) of $150. Calculate you usage before using this company.

KT from Tyler
June 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electricity for my home

(5 / 5)

  So far so very good with my service with APNA. I've had APNA for a year now and have never had any issues. Rates much lower than Reliant and other power companies. They offer good package deals to fit your budget. High recommend APNA for your power needs.

Sylvia from Houston
May 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far, so good

(4.2 / 5)

  I accepted their offer for 6 months at 7.9 per kWh. The transition was smooth, their website is functional. No problems so far. Auto bill payment is not yet established, so I have to pay manually each month.

Paul from Sugar Land
February 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

APNA Energy Cares About People

(5 / 5)

  Happy with this Company 2.5 years of Great Customer Service!
Agents helpful & friendly, Rates great & all around wonderful experience.

Deonna B from Lewisville
October 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

(0 / 5)

  I Recently had a issue with my account, reguarding the amount due. I just did no understand how my bill could be so high. Well the representive i think her nam was Sandra broke down my charges were i could understand and compare my previous bills and my usage . This company has excellent customer service i would recommend my friends. Thank You

Selina Lee from Dallas
September 24th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best in Texas

(5 / 5)

  Wonderful company, great customer service, lowest rates.

d nguyen from Houston
September 21st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Serveice and Great Rates !

(5 / 5)

  I have had APNA since I moved to Houston. I have not had 1 issue with service, billing, or maintenance for that matter. I gotta be honest, I haven't had to focus one ounce of effort on my energy related stuff. Great job APNA!

Doug Asher from Houston
September 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.4 / 5)

  The customer service for this company is way below average for what it should. If you have one account then it seems to be okay but when you have multiple accounts with them then it gets all hay wire. Billing does not get done correctly. They might bill you one month but then bill you two or three months back dating all the service. I tried to talk with a supervisor about it but they are never around and there might be one person there all day. The supervisor team told me that they would call back but they did not. I closed one account down b/c I sold my house and that started the chain reaction of non billing and overcharging for their service. I set up auto draft and they were billing me the whole time but then decided to not bill for three months.

Chance Thomas from Rosenberg
August 21st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very angry about early termination fee

(1.4 / 5)

  Called to tell them I was moving a couple weeks ahead of time. No mention of an early termination fee for $75. Apparently it's refundable if we prove we moved. Would have been nice of them to mention that so I wouldn't have to call again.

Baree Blake from Houston
July 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great prices, great service

(5 / 5)

  I have now been with APNA for just over a year, since we moved into our new home in Round Rock. The prices are the most competitive that I have seen in our service area, and the customer service has been fantastic. At the end of our first year contract, we actually did not receive our contract renewal notice and our rates reverted to the standard monthly rates, but they worked with us to take care of it and sign a new contract. I'm very impressed with the customer service, and as I mentioned the prices are the most competitive you'll find. I highly recommend APNA to anyone searching for new electric service--the sign-up process is simple, the bills are easy to read and understand, and the service is fantastic.

Ty from Round Rock
July 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Higher total rate than Direct Energy

(0.6 / 5)

  When the salesman said that switching from Direct Energy would lower my rate from 9. to 6. I went with Apna. Now there are so many new charges on my bill that the total rate for the kWh is now 28.6cents. I called Apna today and asked them why it was higher. And the lady told me that the less I use the more my rate is. This doesn't make any sense to me.

Barbara Bundy (Tan & Tone) from Chandler
December 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

APNA Energy: Rashid EMP# 901 Coll. Sup. Rep.

(2.4 / 5)

  First,
using "power to choose" is a breeze to find providers. APNA Energy, relatively unheard of, provided great rates and service when in need.

Secondly,
towards the end of our contract we experienced delinquency due to our card being maxed out.

Thirdly,
Rashid, a collections supervisor EMP# 901, was willing to spend over an hour explaining each detail of the last six months. I had not been managing the account and had no invoices to go from. He met my pace and was willing to go over unclear areas. I was very direct in questioning and he delivered with professionalism that is parallel to any successful organization. Rashid is the one that should be acknowledged for providing exceptional service while operating within the needs of his customers, the company, and the law. Rashid's approach to a situation would accompany any title or position he could hold within APNA Holdings LLC. Thank you Rashid!!!

J from Dallas
November 4th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

elect

(4.5 / 5)

  apna is fair , good service also.

charles weems from Arlington
October 23rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spectrum ASSN. MGMT.

(4.4 / 5)

  APNA Energy has saved the HOAs our company manages
in Houston and surrounding areas at least 30% on
their electric bills in 2011 compared to the other
providers listed and used last year (2010):
Reliant, Spark, Direct, and Tara Energy! Our HOAs
are VERY Happy with the service and savings!

Community Manager from Houston
September 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(0.5 / 5)

  They charge things that are not in the bills. You have to complaint for charges that you don't see in the bill. Their costumer service are dumb,always lost in the conversation. I thought, I was going to save money but no, I was receiving a monthly charge from AEP of almost $40.00. Those are things they never mention and is only on the small prints. They wont give you your deposit unless you ask for it. That right there tells you how honest they are.

Honesty from Corpus Christi
August 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions