Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
12.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    22.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    20.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    21.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    21.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Brilliant Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.8 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.7 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Hayden

    Cut off my Power
    Recently moved into a new house. Signed up for Brilliant Energy's 3 month plan. I signed up on May 27, 2020 with a start date of June 5, 2020. Upon signing up i got two emails, one confirming my plan and another asking me to set up an online account which i did. Done, everything was set up and easy. We move in to the house on June 6 and have no issues, power is on. Fast forward to today, June 30, around 9:00am the power was shut off. I call Brilliant Energy and they informed me that my account was shut off because i failed to send them a copy of my Driver's license and something else. She tells me an email was sent to me the May 27 with a request for those documents. I tell her i did not receive that email nor any follow up emails regarding this. I ask if i can provide those documents now and she tells me that they no longer offer the 3 month plan i signed up for and i would have to sign up for a 1, 2,or 3 year plan at more per kW. At this point i am upset and ask to speak with someone else and she says no. So i ask her "What am i supposed to do then?" she says "You can go online and sign up for a different plan or i can sign you up for one of our reasonable plans". I say "Again i have no power so how am i supposed to sign up for another provider?" She doesn't respond and i hang up. I go to a local store and use their internet to sign up for another provider.

    The whole situation felt like a trap and i was lucky to be home when it happened so i could fix it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Hayden from Krum, TX on June 30th, 2020


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Zero Complaints - Happy with service
    I was with Reliant Energy for many years. Each year, I check powertochoose.org and saw the very low rates Brilliant Energy was offering. I signed up for the "Electric Plan G" back in January. Low rates were incredible. Very easy process to sign up on the web. I had a few questions, so I emailed their customer support. I received a response in less than 30 min from Nadia. Great!!

    Bill payment very easy thru their website.

    Overall, i have zero complaints. Happy with service so far
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Richard from Round Rock, TX on April 10th, 2017
    Great Customer Service!
    I've had several occasions to call Brilliant Energy. Every time I call, I get courteous treatment and knowledgeable information. I'm in my second year with Brilliant, and my bills are quite reasonable compared to other rates in today's economy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sylvia from Irving on September 17th, 2016
    Great experience!
    I continue to have a fantastic experience with brilliant energy! Great customer service!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Isabel from Houston on February 19th, 2015
    Best rates and service
    The best electric company. 3rd renewal goes in today !
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Trevor Khurana from Spring on December 7th, 2013
    LOVE This Company!!
    I love this company!!! The customer service is amazing! Super friendly, and when I had a question about my account they even respond to my email promptly! Awesome! Best Rate in Texas! I would highly recommend this company to anyone!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sarah from Plano on July 23rd, 2013
    Going on 3 years now
    Ive been using Brilliant Energy for 3 years and havent had any problems. I always receive a quick response to emails; havent had any issues paying through their website; no sneaky charges. They give me plenty of advance notice when my contract is about to expire, unlike other providers Ive used. Their prices are consistently lower than many of the others. Unless theres a significant difference in what they charge Ill stick with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Susan from Irving on December 20th, 2012
    Highly recommended
    Brilliant Energy provided a great 2 year price lock energy plan. No problem billing and service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John Robinson from Round Rock on September 11th, 2012



    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    No Problems, good rates
    I switched to using them and have been with them almost 2 years. I have been happy with them, rates are up front and I have had no issues with extra hidden fees. This is the 3rd electric company I have used in the past 6 years, and they all have been fine, it comes down to the money and terms. From the time I sent many inquiries about signing up with them before doing so, throughout my time with them, customer service has always been helpful and friendly. My renewal is up next month, so as before I shop around at each renewal period for best rates. If the price is right I would stay with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Monica from Pflugerville on October 12th, 2015
    1 Year - No Issues
    Switched from Gexa to Brilliant in 7/2012 due to Gexa pricing going through the roof. Had no issues for the year. Everything set up for auto-bill. No surprises. Not staying with them for the 2nd year simply because of pricing. Rated billing & acct mngt 4 stars instead of 5 simply because they did not get a web portal for the account until 12/2012. With everything on auto-pay, though, never really missed it. Not rating Customer Service because I never had to use it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    RCH from Cypress on June 27th, 2013
    2 Years and no issues
    I have never had an issue with Brilliant, and would recommend them to anyone. I havent not been over charged and my rate has never been not changes during the contract period. When I moved from one apartment to another there was no issue either.

    I have been a very satisfied customer
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Christie M from Euless on February 25th, 2013
    So far so good
    Great rates. I've been with them since 2010 and always take a 12-month contract, fixed rate only. The minimum usage went up from $5/500 kw to $9/1000 kw, which was disappointing, but even with that, it's still one of the lowest rates out there. I've only dealt with customer service twice, once before I ordered because I had questions and another time to change my email address for them to send bills. They didn't sound too friendly or enthusiastic or eager to help, but they did what I needed them to do. No billing issues except for one time I got a bill twice, but I just emailed back saying that I had already paid it, and they emailed back promptly to say that they were aware of a glitch in their system and to disregard the extra unnecessary bill. There are no extra charges or fees on the bill like I've seen with some other companies. I can't say I'll never switch, but right now I'm happy with Brilliant.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cee from Dallas on January 14th, 2013
    Trouble Free with Brilliant
    I have been with Brilliant for the past two years and recently left this October after my 2 year contract expired. During that two year contract Brilliant serviced my account flawlessly. I paid my Brilliant Electric bill via online banking bill pay with my bank. A couple of times my check arrived late and I called for customer service. Both times I was treated with respect and the customer service representative took care of me. I would still be with Brilliant, but after my two year contract expired I found another provider that was a few cents cheaper per Kwh, so I moved. Brilliant Electric is a great company to do business with. No regrets!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jay from Sulphur Springs on November 5th, 2012
    WOW!
    After moving from Alabama where you have no
    choice in electric company (Alabama Power or no
    power), and paying $300 a month (and that was
    with budget billing), to Texas, I was
    overwhelmed with the choices you have for power
    companies. I went with TXU and was very
    displeased with $400 a month power bills. I
    switched to Brilliant Energy (now my 2nd year
    with them) and my power bill was $120 for the
    months of July and August 2011 when it was 110
    degrees every day. This fall and winter, the
    highest I paid was $87. As long as you renew
    with them (and they will send you several
    notices) you can get rates as low as $.08 kw. I
    wish I knew about them before the TXU ripoff.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lori from Killeen on April 26th, 2012
    SATISFIED CUSTOMER
    NO COMPLAINTS WITH MY COMPANY.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    PAUL SELLERS from Fort Worth on March 23rd, 2012
    Good rates - minimal communication
    I've been with Brilliant Energy since October 2011. When my contract ended, I wasn't notified in a separate email that I was going on their month-to-month rate. This was my mistake - the notice was included with my billing email - which I missed. Other than that increase of 0.04/kWh, I have been very happy with their service. I renewed my service with them and my rate is lower than my original contract. I'll be staying with Brilliant.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anonymous from Fort Worth on March 19th, 2012
    Reliable and Straightforward
    We switched from direct energy last year. Our electricity bill from them had gotten OUTRAGEOUSLY high--we didn't respond to renew after our first year of a fixed rate with them, so we were put on a wildly variable rate. When I called to see if we could be put on a fixed rate, they offered something like 11 cents. So we shopped around. Switching to Brilliant Energy was easy--I called to cancel with Direct Energy, and Brilliant had already done it for me. I get my bill at least 3 weeks before the due date via e-mail, and it's easy to pay online or mail in a check. I was just sent a renewal notice, and was able to do THAT easily online as well---for the SAME price it was last year... 8.8 for 12 months. I appreciate that they will give returning customers the same deals they give new customers. We have never had a problem with them, and LOVE that our bills went from $140-$160 (with Direct Energy) to $60-$80 a month.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kate from Houston on January 23rd, 2012
    The place to get power from is Brilliant Energy
    It has been an awesome energy company.
    It's a low cost provider
    With out the head ache.
    I would refer people to Brilliant Energy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Seth Wilson from Hurst on March 3rd, 2011


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Cut off my Power
    Recently moved into a new house. Signed up for Brilliant Energy's 3 month plan. I signed up on May 27, 2020 with a start date of June 5, 2020. Upon signing up i got two emails, one confirming my plan and another asking me to set up an online account which i did. Done, everything was set up and easy. We move in to the house on June 6 and have no issues, power is on. Fast forward to today, June 30, around 9:00am the power was shut off. I call Brilliant Energy and they informed me that my account was shut off because i failed to send them a copy of my Driver's license and something else. She tells me an email was sent to me the May 27 with a request for those documents. I tell her i did not receive that email nor any follow up emails regarding this. I ask if i can provide those documents now and she tells me that they no longer offer the 3 month plan i signed up for and i would have to sign up for a 1, 2,or 3 year plan at more per kW. At this point i am upset and ask to speak with someone else and she says no. So i ask her "What am i supposed to do then?" she says "You can go online and sign up for a different plan or i can sign you up for one of our reasonable plans". I say "Again i have no power so how am i supposed to sign up for another provider?" She doesn't respond and i hang up. I go to a local store and use their internet to sign up for another provider.

    The whole situation felt like a trap and i was lucky to be home when it happened so i could fix it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Hayden from Krum, TX on June 30th, 2020
    Brilliant Energy maybe one of your best bets....
    Why aren't Texas consumers mad as hell and not gonna take it anymore? Contact the Texas PUC and ERCOT and tell them you have had ENOUGH of the non-standard pricing that Texas law allows electric providers to get away with. Some charge the $3.05/mo. smart meter charge EXTRA and ALL electric providers are allowed to charge ANY MONTHLY SERVICE FEE they wish. Some are charging $14.99/month for WHAT?....its all pure profit. Then, when using ERCOT's powertochoose.org website, NOTHING IS STANDARD. EVERY EFL(electric facts list) is different.....the price quoted for 1000kwhr per month is NOT what you are gonna pay after all the add on fees....RIDICULOUS...call/email the Texas PUC and complain...PLEASE. STOP THIS MADNESS. Remember when you were REGULATED and never had to sift through all these contracts just to get electricity? COME ON..START COMPLAINING...send email to your state representatives!!
    BrilliantEnergy is one of the better providers out there, but maybe not THE best. My contract expired and they only raised my cost/Kwh by 15%...most willl raise it more than 100%. Brilliant may not be the lowest and they do charge the $3.05 EXTRA and a $10.99/mo if less than 1000Kwhr is used, but they are ok.
    WHY are Texans allowing the PUC to raise the normal cost of a MW of power from $35/MW to $9000/Kwhr? This is insane. The PUC says it needs the cap to be higher to encourage power plant building and then in the same breath they let the Electric Power Providers charge you an extra $11/mo because you did not use enough power!!!! What the hell is going on here? The State of Texas does NOT have a law in place forcing the power providers to BUY BACK excess power from self generators, like homes with solar or wind generation..........START COMPLAINING!!!!! STOP THIS MADNESS!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Captain from Houston on June 11th, 2014
    Gunnerbb
    With Brilliant 4 years only problem had was with first bill, after that their on line billing has been nothing but very good.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jim from Mccann on September 4th, 2013
    Cheap, Dependable Electricticy
    I got my cheap and dependable electricity...the bills don't always come (2 out of 12 months with no bill so far) and no response when I email them requesting one, but I love the juice! Very dependable. Half what I was paying with the big boy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Duke Midler from Spring on August 17th, 2010



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Buyer Beware
    We signed up with Brilliant on a rate of 4.9 cent per KwH. The Electricity FACT Label listed our expect bill at 8.6 cents per KwH. First Bill arrived an it was 27 cents per KwH. Specifically, the charges were:

    807 kWh Energy Charge = $39.79
    TDU Charges = $158.14
    Plus taxes

    Calling Brilliant for an answer -- infinite hold... sent an email, no response. sending complaint to the PUC.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Buyer Beware from Hurst, TX on April 13th, 2018
    Billing Issues
    During the year of service contracted, I had no issues. Bills arrived, they were promptly paid and never heard anything good or bad from them. After the end of the contract and paying my final bill is when I received a letter accusing me of non-payment, breach of contract and threatening with all sorts of legal actions. I sent them my Proof of Payment issued by the Bank for this $7 payment sent almost a month ago, and expect to clear this up promptly.
    They just guaranteed a non-returning customer with their attitude.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Disappointing Service from Coppell, TX on March 2nd, 2018
    Doesn't Seem Right.
    This is my own fault.... I was supposed to renew my contract, but things got hectic and BAM! I got an electric bill double what it could have been. If you choose this company, you better stay on top of the contract date, cause they will hit you hard with their default rate. I couldn't make a living doing that to people, but they choose to. Paying the bill without question, but I'm surprised they are as greedy as they are. Not a way to treat your customers. I won't be back.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Eric from Dallas on July 20th, 2013
    Once they have you, they make it H#LL to leave.
    I tried to change my autopay. I got verification that the autopay was switched off, then I switched accounts, and turned it back on. Meanwhile, they indicated that one bill might not be auto-debited so I made a web payment to the 'new' account. The web payment was debited. However, when I turned autopay back on, that bill was again debited but still from my old account even though I'd switched accounts. Now, going forward, their computer says that they'll autodebit the original account which I want to close. Um, no - and give me my money back. Also, I tried to switch and my new company accidentally switched a day early. Now Brilliant charged a $200 early termination fee for 1 day early.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DN from Houston on March 20th, 2013
    Brilliant Energy is brilliantly priced
    Ordering and set up seemed easy. They transposed my address and turned off and on my across the street neighbor - I had NO electric the day I moved in. Once I got a customer service person, they fixed it as quickly as possible. I thought I signed up for auto debit which took several months to sort out. I never get a bill - neither on paper or email as promised. I can't even access a bill on line. My bill is strangely low - between $50 - $70, so I am not going to complain. You get what you pay for. I don't know how they do it, but it is SUPER cheap which is fine with me. I haven't had any problems really, so I don't mind that they have virtually no customer support.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience