We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

Worst electricity company ever

(1.8 / 5)

  I should of know I was gonna have problems the first day they told me my service was gonna start on the "18" and when the 18 came up there was no service, when I called they told me there was no transaction or notes on my non existing account. I've made payments through them, not the automated system, through THEM! and the following month I have a pending bill for last month, I check my bank account and there is nothing drafted. Even tho they specifically said the payment was processed! And when I ask they just say "there is no notes about that"

Lesley from Fort Worth
September 21st, 2017

Hi Lesley, We're so sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can investigate this further? Thanks!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Bad experience regarding the offers. Had to call multiple times to receive the credit that was offered. Customer reps don't understand te offers and give incorrect information

Frisco from Frisco
June 20th, 2017

Sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to investigate further?

Champion Energy Services Responds June 30th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Took over two years to get my bill straight.

(1.8 / 5)

  Worse customer service I have ever experienced. Talked with multiable customer service reps, supervisors and it took weeks to months to get back to me. Most of the time I had to bug them for answers. I was right all along got my money back. Don't go with them there computer system for billing is messed up. No telling how many people are owed money and they don't know it.

fancy from Plano
February 6th, 2013

Sorry to hear about your experience. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to get this resolved.

Champion Energy Services Responds March 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So Far behind the curve

(1.8 / 5)

  I switched over to Champions to get a better rate. First Problem is they charge $4 to pay online. I pay every other bill from water, cable, mortgage, phone, and security all online and no fee. Ridiculous! Second, I love the day payment is due. 9am I receive a disconnection notice in my email. Between 3-4 pm I receive another one saying thank you for my payment. So do I continually pay the late fee when I mail it with ample time or do i pay the online payment fee. Hard choice, because hours of arguing with them on the phone has not produced any better resolution.

S. from Wichita Falls
December 7th, 2011

There is no fee to pay online through one-time bank draft, recurring bank draft, or recurring credit card payment. A customer care agent can assist you with setting this up, or you can visit www.championenergyservices.com/paymentoptions for more details.

Champion Energy Services Responds January 30th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fair rates

(1.6 / 5)

  The rates are a fair deal but the early cutoff rate is to high.Customer service was not that great.

Looking for new provider from Graham
April 23rd, 2018

Not quite sure what early cutoff rate you are referring to? Feel free to email us at feedback@champion.energy to address all your questions or concerns. Thanks!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Delivery Charges surpass price of electricity

(1.6 / 5)

  I just finished my first year with Champion and was pleased with the rate and customer service. However, after renewal my rates have sharply risen. The first year I signed at an average rate of 9.7 cents per/kwh and after delivery charges the avg. rate would hover between 10 and 12 cents. I renewed at a base charge of 6.7 cents/kwh and now my avg price paid after deliver charges hit 16.7 cents/kwh. This months bill i used $30 dollars worth of electricity and paid 34 dollars in delivery fees. Delivery charges on pervious bills were .35 cents TOTAL. Now 15.00

Kyle from Houston
July 15th, 2013

Kyle, Since you renewed the structure of our products have changed. On your previous contract the delivery charges (Centerpoint) were bundled into your rate of 9.7 cents. To be more transparent of your charges we have separated your energy charge from your delivery charges. This is why it is higher than you were used to seeing. However, a jump to an average price of 16.7 cents seems odd. Can you email your account information to us to look into this further? Feedback@championenergyservices.com.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 2nd, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They lie and lie

(1.6 / 5)

  Their rate is low but they add in some surcharges to make it even with other company. And when they took my money and said it would be refunded for overpayment, it took 10 phone calls and an hour each time, the money still NOT come back. But the POLICY IS YOU NEED TO PAY BEFORE WE CAN GIVE YOU THE REFUND AND CREDIT. Then, These people said they would give me the money for referral, but month after month the money never came, they lied to me said if I renewed my contract, the money would come into new account. It NEVER comes. This is my second year with them, and I promise myself not to be stupid to use them again.

LE from FORT WORTH
September 29th, 2012

Le, Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com. We'll have a supervisor look into the issue with your paymen, refund, and referral. Rates are displayed on our web site as required by the public utility commission, and we avoid "gotcha" pricing tactics. Online, we display the energy rate, all additional fees, and the average price per kWh.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion of power

(1.6 / 5)

  So Far So Good.

Elaine Timmons from Houston
May 8th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Use Champion if you like threats

(1.5 / 5)

  I've been a Champion customer for over 2 years. After my first 1 yr contract expired, they immediately increased my rate by 50%. There was no notification on my bills that my contract was about to expire. I only went with them again because they had a lower rate than I had before the contract expired. But then I was about 1 wk late on a payment and they threatened to turn off my electricity within 5 more days. That did it. I'm going to another company as of Sept 2011.

Wayne from Houston
August 9th, 2011

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our service. If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com At renewal, customers always receive our published rates, and these rates are based on current wholesale energy prices. Every Champion Energy bill includes a notice. You have a contract valid from xx/xx/xxxx to xx/xx/xxxx This is in bold 12-point type directly below the average price per kWh. We also email customers multiple times prior to expiration, and, if no email is available, mail the expiration notice. Customers who receive a paper bill also receive a renewal bill insert. Champion's disconnect policy is similar to other providers in Texas. We send a Friendly Reminder notice 3 days after the due date, and then 1 week after the due date, a disconnect notice that allows another 10 days, for a total of 17 days past the due date. We offer convenient automatic payment options at no charge -- recurring credit card payment and automatic bank draft so customers can pay their bills automatically.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst systems I have seen in 50 years

(1.4 / 5)

  After being with champion for two months (starting Jan 2017) A new property was being developed a mile down the road and in the process of them trying to get power ... our power was shut off for days!!!

When I tried to call champion, it was impossible to get a hold of someone and then took them days to get it figured out

they explained that it was because of human error and due to addresses and such and promised to make it right with us ... but we've never seen one penny of reimbursement for losses

In that process They started a second account for us and said they would have to delete the old account... everything was fine as long as we were going along under contract

After calling over 30 times in the last weeks to find out about a notice that was sent to a five year old email address that had to picked up out of Oncore's digital archives, the customer service person said well I see your current email address
(Which is the correct one and he could explain how they got the old address and why the notification for going out of service was sent to that address that was not given to them by us in the first place

Since he was the first person we had gotten a hold of after all those calls and 27 minutes on the phone he told me he would have to have someone call me back. I said I rather stay on the line and he said he was sorry but he could not do that and HUNG UP ON ME. Wow!!!

I highly doubt that I'll get a callback...

The young man said since we are out of contract we would be paying nearly double for our electricity and Said he cannot backdate it to when the contract ended a week ago.

Wow again!!!

So the longer they wait to get a hold of me and resolve this they will continue to charge me double for my electricity

this is outrageous... I don't know what you would actually call this it's not extortion... it seems somewhat like I'm being hijacked or held hostage but however you slice it it's incredibly poor customer service.

Call the Texas utilities commission tomorrow when they open back up ...

By the way I think this is the second review I have done in my life.

I remained calm on the phone and was just trying to get this resolved ... Wasnt upset with the guy... just asked if he could put a supervisor on the line... but clearly being calm and kind doesnt work with these folks.

Todd a very Disappointed customer! from Burleson
January 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Busted

(1.4 / 5)

  I had my electricity off all day yesterday, according to my activity and how much it cost, it was the same as previous days. They say they give you ten dollars to sign up which translates as we are going to actually keep ten dollars of your money and you cant touch.

Can I just find honesty. from Galveston
October 17th, 2017

We're sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Please send us an email at feedback@championenergyservices.com to investigate this further.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Changed billing with no warning

(1.4 / 5)

  When I initially signed up the price was great and then without any notice my bills doubled. The rate was changed and I was never notified. Lost my trust in this company

BJ from Rockwall
August 11th, 2017

Hi BJ. We're sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Can you please send us an email at social@championenergyservices.com to investigate this further?

Champion Energy Services Responds August 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed in Communication and Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Champion Energy customer for 15 months. I am a loyal customer, and I pay my bills on time (automatic payments), - I've even had previous energy companies offer to be a credit reference. I haven't had any problems with Champion Energy until recently. I looked at my bank statement and noticed the payments were increasing by significant amounts each month. When I called to discuss this, they told me my contract was up 3 months ago, therefore I'm now paying the very high variable rate. When I asked why I wasn't informed of this, Maria got an attitude and told me they emailed me a renewal notification. Well turns out they've had my email address on file wrong from the get go (they switched the order of my first and last name). Their lack of information has unfortunately, cost me quite a bit of money I wasn't expecting to pay, as my bills at this time last year were significantly lower. Times are tough, and when I asked if there was anything they could do to assist or any sort of credit they could apply, With her attitude, Maria said she couldn't do anything. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, she got Lydia on the phone and Lydia was not apologetic and kept insisting they emailed me, so this is my fault. The only option I had was to start a new contract or have my electricity turned off today (Friday) until I could get another company to come out on Monday. Reluctantly, I renewed as I can't go without electricity for 3 days, but I'm moving out in 3 months so I'm going to have to pay $150 early termination fee to cancel. Needless to say, I will not renew with Champion when I move and I certainly won't recommend to anyone I know. I was extremely disappointed with the customer service experience. I would expect much more from a company that has such good ratings and reviews.

KB from Houston
August 13th, 2016

We are sorry to hear about your experience as this is definitely not the norm. Can you email us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can look into this further? Thank you.

Champion Energy Services Responds December 8th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too high!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  1st 2 years was ok. Champion decided to be greedy increased rates added extra fees & unreleastic charges. We are no longer charged for our electricity usage but a million more fees. Ridiculous. Champion decided Greed is better then Customers. I called customer service about all the new additional charges. Representative did not care!!! Its all about sucking more money out of your customers. Needless to say. I cancelled my service with Champion and signed up for service with a better company. Champion please do not reply to my review. Save the PR. You did not care when I contacted you previously.

nessa from Fort Worth
April 1st, 2015

Sorry to hear that Nessa. We have actually eliminated fees rather than adding fees.

Champion Energy Services Responds May 18th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service not flexible.

(1.4 / 5)

  Somehow I missed the emails that notified me about my contract expiring so my rate goes up in August/September to some 12+ cents/kWh. Incidentally, this is the month with highest usage of the year.
First, I am glad I missed the renewal notice because the rate they were offering was 6.9.
After, two calls and much frustration I was told they can give me $25 credit for renewing my contract or do me a favor and give me the rate that the first agent I talked to quoted me 5.9.
I simply wanted to adjust the billing charges that were made when I was out of contract and renew my contract. Response: can't enter two codes at the same time?? I asked to talk to a supervisor, the agent comes back with a message from a supervisor. Have to repeat again.
All I wanted was to bill me for my contract rate for the 1.5 months that I was out of contract and renew my contract. Not unreasonable in my opinion. They boast great customer service but can't help me with an honest mistake, in a reasonable way.

Milko Balakchiev from Plano
September 29th, 2014

Milko, Sorry to hear about the issues you had when you tried to renew your contract. Depending on the circumstance, our customer care team is flexible in working with customers, especially when we are at fault. Thank you for going ahead and renewing your contract. We are here to help and if you have any questions or issues when it is time to renew again next September, reach out to us at 877.653.5090 or email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to take a closer look into your account.

Champion Energy Services Responds December 4th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bogus warranty charges, average rates

(1.4 / 5)

  I've tried to stop them, I sent emails, I call.. but Champion continues to insist I be charged for add-on warranties I do not have active. So frustrating. Recently took rate increase over 30%. Champion used to be a decent deal.. now. same as others.

Steve C from Plano
September 13th, 2013

Steve, Please send us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can take a look at your account and ensure your warranties have been removed and credited.

Champion Energy Services Responds September 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO SWITCH MADE

(1.4 / 5)

  I emailed Cindy at Champion Energy, sent her my two most recent bills as she asked, but she never made the switch from our old provider to Champion. We didn't find out until we got the bill from our old provider charging us the month to month high rate that a contract hadn't been switched. I contacted Champion and was told that an error had been made....Cindy wasn't around...someone dropped the ball. I told Champion that if they'd make it right & refund the money we were out, that we would go ahead and make the switch to Champion. They only offered to refund $50 of the $345 we were out, so we decided to continue using our former provider. Don't trust that your account will be switched by Champion!

Laurie Oglesby from Spring
September 11th, 2012

The majority of customers are switched with no issue. We're sorry that your enrollment was not completed in a timely manner.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Read the Fine Print

(1.3 / 5)

  Champion has very few options for rate plans and if you have an unusual lease term, be prepared...

My rate tripled for the 3 months after my contract ended (no warning) and they do not have a 3 month plan. They have a large cancellation fee and an uncooperative spirit.

By the way, don't expect them to remind you to renew a contract. Also, the numbers they suggest for off-contract energy are only 60% of what they actually charge you (and that is before fees).

What a rip-off.

Nadia from Bedford
October 11th, 2011

I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience. Champion customers receive multiple emails and phone calls regarding their contract expiration, bill inserts in the 60 days prior to expiration, and the expiration date is on the bill. Also, contract cancellation fees are always waived if a customer moves.

Champion Energy Services Responds January 30th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Marketing

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been a Champion customer and was very happy with them. I got my renewal notice in an email, which promoted 7.2 cents for the Silver Senior Plan; however, when I got my first bill, the price per kwh was over 11 cents. They told me it was because they separated the delivery charges from their charge. Whatever the reason, I feel it was deceptive to market one price without the delivery charges and then send a bill which actually included delivery charges that jumped from $1.33 to over $27 the first month. This month my delivery charges went over $45! It should have been spelled out what was about to happen to my bills and at least provided an example of what the total bill would look like. As soon as I can find a different provider, I will cancel and pay the penalty to Champion. It will be cheaper than being locked into this contract for the next 20 months.

Marlene O'Keefe from Lewisville
September 7th, 2013

Marlene, A customer care supervisor will be reaching out to you shortly to review your contract with you. The renewal notice you received showed both your energy rate and the average price per kWh you would be paying with your renewal. We always advise customers to review the average price when comparing us to other providers as this is the "true" number to evaluate. This is calculated by adding up your current charges [charges from Champion (Energy Charge) + Oncor Charges (Delivery Charges and Monthly Customer Charge(energy efficiency cost recovery factor and advanced metering fees)] divided by your monthly usage for the month. By plugging in the numbers your average rate is similar to what you have been paying every month with us. The delivery charges only appear higher because we are no longer including it in your energy rate which we had done on your contract previously.

Champion Energy Services Responds September 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Offers products they cannot support

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up for a Time of Use program with Champion a year ago (I recently switched away upon completion of my contract at the end of August), and it was a complete fiasco. It took over 3 full billing cycles to receive my first invoice (in three days I got 3 bills for 3 months of usage, all due on the same day, in violation of the PUCT residential billing rules). After that, I had about 6 months where the bills were coming in seemingly correct and on-time, but it all fell apart for the last three months. I had several bills issued, each was withdrawn, and I was unable to make a payment on their online portal until a balance due was posted. Customer service was clueless, they simply said that I didn't owe anything so what's the problem (never mind I had several months of billing piling up). I finally had to resort to filing a PUCT complaint just to get my bill.

The conclusion from Champion via the PUCT was that their 3rd party billing provider was 'unable to support' the Time of Use product they offered me. So, at the end of the day, not only did they deliver a poor experience to me, they also clearly violated PUCT rules and the Terms and Conditions on my contract.

Sorry guys, I gave you 4 years of my business, and that is going to be that.

Tim from Dallas
October 17th, 2012

Tim, We did experience issues with this product, which charges a lower rate during certain times of the day. We've corrected this issue with our billing system, but that doesn't make up for the frustration you experienced. I do apologize and we're sorry to have lost you after 4 years of service. Our customer care manager will contact you.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 25th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy Year in Review. Zero Stars.

(1 / 5)

  I have been using Champion energy for a year now, and I cannot wait for my contract to be up so that I can switch.
I live alone, in a tiny, one bedroom apartment. My daily usage is of some lights, a TV and a computer.
My first two months the bills were around $80 which seemed fair. Then the bills started to climb and by mid july, my bill was around $140. I called to ask why that was, because my AC doesn't work and my usage patterns hadn't changed. And to ask why the weekly reports said differently, with many odd energy spikes happening at night when I was asleep. The woman on the phone, Katherine, exasperatedly told me it was because it was summer or that it "must be my fridge" and tried to wrap up the call asking if "there was anything ELSE she could help me with". I told her there had to be a mistake and asked if there was any way to check. She said they could send someone to check the meter but that's it. I said thank you and she just hung up.
Two weeks later I got an email saying the meter was fine and nothing else.
In september I got an email welcoming me and saying I was enrolled, as if I hadn't been for six months.
Then even when the temperature started to drop, my bills stayed high with odd usage spikes even when I wasn't home. Until this month, one month before I would need to renew my contract, my bill is going to be $250.
In this same city, my sister's four bedroom house with a pool costs half that.
I have no idea how this company has such good reviews.

Angela from Irving
January 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive and Harrasing

(1 / 5)

  When first signing up for Champion energy I was quoted a price and my bill was fine, that is for the first six months. Then suddenly my bill increased and doubled with no explanation. I decided to cancel my service after paying my final bill and have since been harassed via email and phone by Debbie Mulefu for what she is saying is an early termination fee. I never agreed to extend my service and its too bad that they are being given such a high rating. I believe that too is rigged and a lie. Apparently Debbie is unaware that once a consumer request that the company discontinue calling and emailing them it becomes harassment. Hopefully this email will make this clear or the $150.00 fee that they are trying to charge me will be paid ten times more to me for harassment. I have reported the company to the BBB and suggest everyone else do the same to ensure that these companies are transparent to consumers.

Jean from Rockwall
December 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Weird

(1 / 5)

  I called them to get a rate, decided to go with Cirro, but got a bill for 4.95 that said I owed them 1days fee. I didnt pay it.

Strange from Dallas
October 18th, 2017

That does sound pretty strange. Can you email us your information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can investigate this? If you aren't our customer there is no way we would be billing you. Thanks!

Champion Energy Services Responds October 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware...Bad Company to deal with.

(1 / 5)

  A very bad experience dealing with these people I feel that they lied to me and mislead me. My bill did not go down but instead went up. When I canceled with them I was hit with a $1700 early termination fee.

Bob DeTolla from Hermitage
January 28th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service Delivery Charge.... BEWARE!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  In the winter months [or so it appears], the service delivery charges on my electrical bills skyrocket. All year i have been charged, on average, approx. $3.00 per month for the 'service delivery charge'. Then in October, i start getting charged around $45+ per month for the same 'service delivery charge'. This is a ridiculous charge/amount. In summary, Champion Energy WAS NOT CLEAR when I signed up for/renewed my contract for service on what to expect with these fees and, how this will drastically affect your monthly bill/average kWh charge [AND APPARENTLY, ONLY IN THE WINTER MONTHS???]. They advertise their overall rates being cheaper than Reliant and TXU but that is simplify not true when you consider the significant increase in service delivery charges they say they pass on to us 'at no markup'. In my opinion, this is just a way for them to make money since winter months are typically less in kWh usage since many people use gas for heat. In summary, i signed up for a fixed kWh rate of .06100 and yet, my December bill reflects a 9.821 per kWh because of all the 'fees' they tacked on to my bill. Shameful... additionally, their online chat never works. Every time i try to use it, i get a message "online chat is offline, please call 800-xxx-xxxx". If you are not going to staff a customer care center to accept online chat, take it off your website.

Larissa Abell from Plano
December 7th, 2014

Larissa, All customers are charged delivery charges from the utility and all electric providers charge this to the customer with no mark-up. In your case, Oncor's monthly customer charges are $5.25 a month plus their deliver charges of 3.33 per kWh. You can read more about this here - https://www.championenergyservices.com/my-account/how-to-read-your-bill/delivery-charges-FAQ.asp. The difference between the 6.1 energy charge that Champion charges you, the 9.82 average price per kWh factors in the "all-in" rate based on your usage. Also, sorry to hear that you had issues with our online chat. It has been updated to only show when our agents are available to chat.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible electric provider

(1 / 5)

  Was with TXU and decided to switch to Champion Energy because they claim to have cheaper rates. They lied my electric bill is higher than it has ever been. I have never had a bill so high and the discounts that they claim do not help what so ever. I will be switching back to TXU and dropping Champion Energy do not believe what they tell you.

Craig from Houston
October 7th, 2014

Craig, There are many providers out there, some with lower rates and others with higher rates. If the cheapest rate is what you are going for, Champion Energy will not always be the lowest. What we can give you is a fair prices in line with the market, transparent billing, free payment options and exceptional customer care to name a few. We believe in transparency - giving customers the facts with no gimmicks or gotchas. Email us your account information at feedback@championenergyservices.com and we would be happy to take a closer look at your higher bill.

Champion Energy Services Responds December 4th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great customer service

(1 / 5)

  Great customer service

Geoffrey Mburu from Missouri City
August 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Criminals

(1 / 5)

  It is hilarious that all of their responses tout transperancy. They are crooked. They have hidden in their terms that they KNOW no one reads that if you are late on 2 payments, they do not return your deposit. I recommended my parents to Champion and am extremely embarrassed that I did. My parents stayed with them for 2 years and were late on 2 payments. They paid their late fees and Champion is also going to keep their $350 deposit. There is no way a delay in payment for a probable $150 bill justifies a 9,000,000% APR (that's a guess). My parents asked to speak to a manger and got a very rude girl name Shaquanda (something like that) who told them there was a clause in the contract they never signed or even saw. She suggested they download the contract and read it. This is the treatment they give their customers. I hope you are not late on any payments and have to pay late fees and lose your deposit.

You can always go to powertochose.org and find the best rates available in your area. Champion is very far down the list right now if you sort by price. Don't settle for a crooked and expensive source of energy. BE SURE AND READ THEIR CONTRACT no matter how long or incomprehensible. This just happens to be one of the gotchas my folks were hit with. If they are this crooked, I'm sure the contract is loaded with gotchas.

John from Mckinney
May 31st, 2014

John, Sorry to hear that you did not get your deposit amount back. Unlike several providers who will not return your deposit with 1 late payment, we are lenient in allowing up to 2 late payments because we understand that customers may easily overlook a payment. Also, we don't have any managers with that name so please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to look into your account further to ensure that you were given the correct information. Lastly, electricity contracts are long as mandated by the Public Utility Commission of all the information that needs to be disclosed to customers. We always advise customers to review the Electricity Facts Label of the provider they are looking at to see any additional fees that they may see on their bill to avoid surprises.

Champion Energy Services Responds July 16th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Attacked my credit rating

(1 / 5)

  So I always pay my bills on time. Perfect credit record until Champion comes along. They say they sent me my final bill when I moved but I did not get it. They just referred my account to collections and I got a letter from the collection agency at my new address. Nasty way of doing business, not even a second letter (maybe not even a first as I never saw it). Just immediately attack a person's credit rating. Not worth the slight savings of doing business with a company like this to risk your credit rating.

Frank Carter from Chicago
September 22nd, 2013

Frank, Sorry to hear about your experience. Looking at your account your final bill was emailed to you. If we have not received payment within a month or so your information is sent to a collection agency. Your credit rating has not been affected.

Champion Energy Services Responds September 25th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Delivery Charges were raised 100% from one month to the next

(1 / 5)

  This is bad business practice, how can Delivery Charges raise 100% from one month to the next? Horrible.

David N from Addison
August 14th, 2013

David, Your delivery charges were not raised. Your current bill may look slightly different than your previous bill as the structure of our products changed. Delivery charges are passed through directly from the utility. Previously some of these charges were bundled in your energy charge. We made it more transparent to customers by listing it directly on the bill.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Charge customers with extraordinarily high rates when fixed term expires

(1 / 5)

  This company charges extraordinarily high rates after fixed-rate term expires. The customer service is fine when you are their customer, but when you cannot buy their electricity anymore, they become rude and cannot care less about your questions on your bills.

John from McAllen
August 13th, 2013

Unlike other providers who may charge extremely high rates when your contract expires we will not raise your rate more than 30%. You can always view rates after your contract expires on our website, http://www.championenergyservices.com/HistoricalPrices/TX-Month-to-Month.html.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely ridiculous

(1 / 5)

  You have raised the customer delivery charge from an average of $1.30 to over $29.09 in 1 month....I renewed my contract last month and the new bill is delivered today, that is crap...I used less kwh this billing cycle and I am paying $13 higher for less power consumption for the month.

If you had told me last month I would be paying more than $28 higher delivery charges per month, I would not have renewed with you.

As it stands now, I will be canceling you as my provider, for the simple reason it will be cheaper to cancel and pay the penalty than give you more money per month for delivery charges.

Believe me I will send a request to a news station here locally to ask you all about this so you will have informed customers here in Houston and surrounding areas....

Mark N from Houston
August 5th, 2013

Your current bill may look slightly different than your previous bill as the structure of our products has changed. Delivery charges are passed through directly from the utility. Previously some of these charges were bundled in your energy charge. We did not raise your delivery charge. We made it more transparent to customers by listing it directly on the bill. We have changed the structure of our plans to be more transparent to the customer of Utility charges with an Unbundled Average Price. This separates the utilitys fees from ours - - Fixed Energy Charge + Passed-Through utility delivery and customer charges. The math nets out the same when you look at your average price.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE IT!!!

(1 / 5)

  I LOVE them!!! Not only are their rates reasonable, but with the use of a referral code, you'll receive $25 off on your bill! Afterwards, they'll provide you with your own referral code to refer to others. This allows both you and those you refer to receive $25 off of you bill! I definitely will not complain because the last two energy companies I had charged me an arm and a leg for their services!

Anonymous
January 24th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frank

(1 / 5)

  What a pleasure it was to speak with a rep (Ashley) this evening re: this company! What a magnificent change of pace of what I'm used to -- (anyway so far! -- once burned -- twice shy!) it was in dealing with a company that is OPEN 24/7 (and holidays) with a live person!! who was polite, articulate, spoke excellent English, and seemed really interested in my questions, and if she didn't know the answer, she placed me on a brief "hold" and got back to me with an "actual" answer! WOW!

fab807 from Grand Prairie
May 30th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions