All 1 Star Reviews

48 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Champion Energy Services Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
OUTRAGEOUS price increase
I've been a business customer of Champion for years. Out of the blue they increased my rate from .058 to .25016. They claim that is the "going market rate" for this area. A simple search online shows otherwise. This is theft.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eagle from Pflugerville, TX on September 3rd, 2019
Champion Energy makes every effort to alert our customers of their contract expiration in advance of the end date. Once the contract expires, the account will roll over on a month-to-month variable rate, which is visible at any time on our website. We believe in being 100% transparent. Please reach out to us at social@champion.energy or 877.653.5090 if you would like to discuss the matter further.
— Champion Energy Services
Fair rates
The rates are a fair deal but the early cutoff rate is to high.Customer service was not that great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Looking For New Provider from Graham, TX on April 23rd, 2018
Not quite sure what early cutoff rate you are referring to? Feel free to email us at feedback@champion.energy to address all your questions or concerns. Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Worst systems I have seen in 50 years
After being with champion for two months (starting Jan 2017) A new property was being developed a mile down the road and in the process of them trying to get power ... our power was shut off for days!!!

When I tried to call champion, it was impossible to get a hold of someone and then took them days to get it figured out

they explained that it was because of human error and due to addresses and such and promised to make it right with us ... but we've never seen one penny of reimbursement for losses

In that process They started a second account for us and said they would have to delete the old account... everything was fine as long as we were going along under contract

After calling over 30 times in the last weeks to find out about a notice that was sent to a five year old email address that had to picked up out of Oncore's digital archives, the customer service person said well I see your current email address
(Which is the correct one and he could explain how they got the old address and why the notification for going out of service was sent to that address that was not given to them by us in the first place

Since he was the first person we had gotten a hold of after all those calls and 27 minutes on the phone he told me he would have to have someone call me back. I said I rather stay on the line and he said he was sorry but he could not do that and HUNG UP ON ME. Wow!!!

I highly doubt that I'll get a callback...

The young man said since we are out of contract we would be paying nearly double for our electricity and Said he cannot backdate it to when the contract ended a week ago.

Wow again!!!

So the longer they wait to get a hold of me and resolve this they will continue to charge me double for my electricity

this is outrageous... I don't know what you would actually call this it's not extortion... it seems somewhat like I'm being hijacked or held hostage but however you slice it it's incredibly poor customer service.

Call the Texas utilities commission tomorrow when they open back up ...

By the way I think this is the second review I have done in my life.

I remained calm on the phone and was just trying to get this resolved ... Wasnt upset with the guy... just asked if he could put a supervisor on the line... but clearly being calm and kind doesnt work with these folks.

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Todd A Very Disappointed Customer! from Burleson, TX on January 15th, 2018
Champion Energy Year in Review. Zero Stars.
I have been using Champion energy for a year now, and I cannot wait for my contract to be up so that I can switch.
I live alone, in a tiny, one bedroom apartment. My daily usage is of some lights, a TV and a computer.
My first two months the bills were around $80 which seemed fair. Then the bills started to climb and by mid july, my bill was around $140. I called to ask why that was, because my AC doesn't work and my usage patterns hadn't changed. And to ask why the weekly reports said differently, with many odd energy spikes happening at night when I was asleep. The woman on the phone, Katherine, exasperatedly told me it was because it was summer or that it "must be my fridge" and tried to wrap up the call asking if "there was anything ELSE she could help me with". I told her there had to be a mistake and asked if there was any way to check. She said they could send someone to check the meter but that's it. I said thank you and she just hung up.
Two weeks later I got an email saying the meter was fine and nothing else.
In september I got an email welcoming me and saying I was enrolled, as if I hadn't been for six months.
Then even when the temperature started to drop, my bills stayed high with odd usage spikes even when I wasn't home. Until this month, one month before I would need to renew my contract, my bill is going to be $250.
In this same city, my sister's four bedroom house with a pool costs half that.
I have no idea how this company has such good reviews.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angela from Irving, TX on January 10th, 2018
Deceptive and Harrasing
When first signing up for Champion energy I was quoted a price and my bill was fine, that is for the first six months. Then suddenly my bill increased and doubled with no explanation. I decided to cancel my service after paying my final bill and have since been harassed via email and phone by Debbie Mulefu for what she is saying is an early termination fee. I never agreed to extend my service and its too bad that they are being given such a high rating. I believe that too is rigged and a lie. Apparently Debbie is unaware that once a consumer request that the company discontinue calling and emailing them it becomes harassment. Hopefully this email will make this clear or the $150.00 fee that they are trying to charge me will be paid ten times more to me for harassment. I have reported the company to the BBB and suggest everyone else do the same to ensure that these companies are transparent to consumers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jean from Rockwall, TX on December 4th, 2017
Weird
I called them to get a rate, decided to go with Cirro, but got a bill for 4.95 that said I owed them 1days fee. I didnt pay it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Strange from Dallas, TX on October 18th, 2017
That does sound pretty strange. Can you email us your information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can investigate this? If you aren't our customer there is no way we would be billing you. Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Busted
I had my electricity off all day yesterday, according to my activity and how much it cost, it was the same as previous days. They say they give you ten dollars to sign up which translates as we are going to actually keep ten dollars of your money and you cant touch.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Can I Just Find Honesty. from Galveston, TX on October 17th, 2017
We're sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Please send us an email at feedback@championenergyservices.com to investigate this further.
— Champion Energy Services
Worst electricity company ever
I should of know I was gonna have problems the first day they told me my service was gonna start on the "18" and when the 18 came up there was no service, when I called they told me there was no transaction or notes on my non existing account. I've made payments through them, not the automated system, through THEM! and the following month I have a pending bill for last month, I check my bank account and there is nothing drafted. Even tho they specifically said the payment was processed! And when I ask they just say "there is no notes about that"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lesley from Fort Worth, TX on September 21st, 2017
Hi Lesley, We're so sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can investigate this further? Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Changed billing with no warning
When I initially signed up the price was great and then without any notice my bills doubled. The rate was changed and I was never notified. Lost my trust in this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BJ from Rockwall, TX on August 11th, 2017
Hi BJ. We're sorry to hear that you are disappointed. Can you please send us an email at social@championenergyservices.com to investigate this further?
— Champion Energy Services
Bad customer service
Bad experience regarding the offers. Had to call multiple times to receive the credit that was offered. Customer reps don't understand te offers and give incorrect information
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frisco from Frisco, TX on June 20th, 2017
Sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to investigate further?
— Champion Energy Services


All Champion Energy Services Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
10.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$106 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • A 'People's Choice' favorite
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $112 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 6 time winner - J.D. Power Award
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • No Base Charge or Bill Credit gimmicks
  • Best Free Energy Plan
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $101 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan
  • Free Weekends!
  • 12 Month Plan