We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power, Constellation, Spark Energy, TriEagle Energy and Texans Energy

Threatened to cut my service when I was 5 days late

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been a customer for over 4 year - never a late payment. I mistakenly entered the wrong date on bill pay (one month later). The first notice (5 days after the due date) was an email disconnect notice. Wow. I paid the bill immediately and sent an email to that effect with a note that I entered the wrong date. One week later I received a paper cut off notice. I contacted two email customer service addresses (one on the cut off notice and one on their website) to tell them how I was unhappy with how they handled this issue. No one has responded. Really? Pathetic.

Wanda from Coppell
April 23rd, 2014

Wanda, Can you email us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com to look into this further?

Champion Energy Services Responds June 26th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Started out good

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been with champion for 4 years. They have good customer service and had great plans. But because they have gotten bigger overthe past few years, they no longer care about giving good rate plans. Their rates are no longer any better than reliant or txu. That is not how you keep good customers. I had rates in the 8's the whole 4 years but now the best they can do is 9.6. Really? I am very disappointed with how things are going and will try a different provider. Hopefully I will be one of the few and pick a decent provider.

Kenisha from Euless
June 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never sent me a bill, cut off my electricity after admitting it was an error on their part!!!!

(2.8 / 5)

  I signed on with champion last year, no problems until now. I have not received a bill since I moved into my new apartment, I called to check my bill and they said I was late on my payment. I was told they had accidentally starting sending my bills to my e-mail account ( I do not have internet service ) and that my electricity was going to be shut off within 24 hours. As an unemployed father of 4 children under the age of 6, I am unable to pay a $72 bill until next week and they would not allow me a few days to get the money together. Now our electric has been off for 3 days and my children are burning up! I paid a $350 deposit and they shut my electric off for a $72 bill!

Bradly K. from Baytown
August 9th, 2012

Bradly, Sorry you have this bad experience at your new apartment. I see upon review of your account that everything is now up to date. Please contact customercaremanager@championenergyservices.com if you have further issues.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great, great provider!

(2.8 / 5)

  I wish we had switched sooner. Easy to follow bill, great rates, and awesome customer service.

Chris from Houston
August 16th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Billing Practices

(2.6 / 5)

  Twice this year we have mailed in our check and they have sent us a notice that we were late in paying. Today when it happened my wife called them and told them that we mailed payment (through a postal box) 7 days earlier. Didn't matter. Not their fault. Well, it isn't our fault either. So now we have a late fee and a hit on our credit. Plus, she then paid by phone and they told her that if (when) the mailed check comes through that they will apply it as credit to next month's bill. Problem is that we do not have an extra $180 sitting in checking. But that's our problem. We have been with them for years and have never paid late. Plus, we have recommended them to many others. But no more recommending them since now we are being treated like slackers. I suppose they are all heartless and soulless corporations these days.

Bobby Baucom from Ben Wheeler
December 7th, 2015

Sorry to hear about your experience. The late fee has been waived and there is no impact to your credit. There was an option to void the duplicate payment over the phone. To discuss further, please call us at 877.653.5090 and we will do what we can to make your situation right.

Champion Energy Services Responds December 23rd, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good and Bad over 12 months

(2.6 / 5)

  Over the past 12 months I've experienced the good and bad of Champion Energy.

The Good:
Rates are competitive
Initiate and transfer electric service smoothly
Bill and apply payment on time
Helpful usage tools
Customer Service is professional, courteous, and answers on less than 3 rings.

The Bad:
Upon transferring service to a new location, a new account was opened. The current term plan failed to transfer to the new account. Although Customer Service was polite, 5 calls later over a 2 week period resulted in no change, despite many unfulfilled assurances. I was then informed their "contract dept" couldn't keep up with demand.

Obviously, I was forced to elevate the situation, and have decided I no longer wish to conduct business with a company that doesn't have the resources in place to properly service my account. Hard costs are one thing, soft costs (demands on my time) are the deciding factor.

Perhaps you'll have a better experience.

Matt from Dallas
June 29th, 2015

Sorry to hear about your experience. This is not the norm at Champion Energy. We invite you to give us another shot when your new contract is up for renewal.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Was Great but

(2.6 / 5)

  They were great for 5 years customer service etc. Prices are to high now I asked for a better rate ti see how much they appreciated their long term customers No can do,ok were not married lol so I found a much better rate

Joe B from Fort Worth
June 27th, 2014

Sorry to lose you after 5 years. Please check back with us in the future if things don't work out with your other provider.

Champion Energy Services Responds July 16th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New Charges

(2.6 / 5)

  As with several other customers of Champion, I was really happy when I made the change to Champion. Now I am regretting it. These additional charges from Oncor are boosting my monthly bill around $50.00 a month. Look at your bills, PLEASE. It does not say Oncor it says TDU Pass-Through charges. You may be riding on an old contract that does not have these charges so buyer beware when you renew. In the past Champion did not have these charges, I scan and keep all of my bills so when looking back on the older bills these charges were not there. This totally defeats getting a really good KWH rate. I will be looking to cancel my contract with Champion and moving onto another provider. Note to Champion.....some times it is just better to raise YOUR rate to absorb these Oncor charges rather than placing an additional charge on our monthly bill. So disappointed and I have been a long time customer. Many friends are cancelling over this also.

Teresa from Colleyville
January 11th, 2014

Teresa, We have absorbed increased Oncor several times in the past when these charges were bundled within your energy rate. With the new contracts everything is completely transparent.We want everyone to look at their bill, whether it is with us or their other provider. At Champion we have nothing to hide. The details are on your bill and if you want to see specifically how your delivery charges are calculated you can view it here - https://www.championenergyservices.com/my-account/how-to-read-your-bill/delivery-charges-FAQ.asp. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to review your specific account.

Champion Energy Services Responds January 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fallen from grace

(2.6 / 5)

  I've been with Champion Energy since 2009 and have always been VERY happy with my rates. I have always bragged about Champion and referred them to anyone who asked who I used. But sadly, they have driven their prices up and I will no longer remain a customer. I understand all electric companies have seen increases but even with that, Champion has gone from one of the cheapest to one of the must expensive and the no longer bundled TDU rates don't help. Their website has a lot of great features and is easy to use, the bills are easy to pay and keep track off and as of late they have been emailing me weekly usage rates so I know to expect what my bill for the month will be...if you are willing to pay much more for these things than it would still be worth it. But I have faith that my new provider can provide me a quality website and bill payment and I will be paying significantly less for it. I would return to Champion in a heartbeat if they decided to become the people's Champion again one day and return to being a low cost provider.

No longer a customer from Houston
August 1st, 2013

Sorry to lose you as long time customer. While we always strive to have fair prices in the market, we can not always be the cheapest. There are providers out there that can price really low, but have hidden fees that get ya later. We hope that you check us out again in the future.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

go's higher & higher

(2.6 / 5)

  starts out a good low price. then as you stay with them they will go higher and higher before you know it you will be up to 14. something. no good.

mcgraw
January 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Outside salespeople

(2.4 / 5)

  Champion hires other companies to go door-to-door, selling their services. The person who signed us up told my mom that she should be getting a discount of up to 40% because she is over 70 and that she could get the discount after her first full bill if she signed a 36 month contract. The only discount that Champion offers is a 10% and that is only on a 24 month contract. They took the person's information, but as he does not work directly for them, I doubt that there is anything they can really do. Personally, I felt that they could have offered her the 10% discount at least for the 24 months, but her contract is too long. On top of all of that, her bill was actually $70 higher than with her original company. We're stuck for 35 more months, and then we are out of here. Champion made no effort to make things right, and they should and could have done better.

Dannaa from Odessa
July 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion charges for paying on line

(2.4 / 5)

  Am I the only one that is brother by having to pay a $3.00+ fee for paying electronically? I've paid my electric bill on line for years without any fee and did not realize Champion charged for this convenience. Probably would not have choosen Champion had I known.

Betty Paulk from Sachse
September 13th, 2012

Hi Betty, We do currently have a fee for making a one-time credit card payment online or over the phone. We are working with our vendor to eliminate that fee. There is no fee to make a one time or recurring bank draft, or to set up a recurring credit card payment. You can find more information on this online at www.championenergyservices.com/paymentoptions, or give us a call at 877-653-5090.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad service and inept service personnel

(2.4 / 5)

  Had Champion Energy for my daughters college apartment. Put in a transfer notice for service at new address. After several confirming phone calls from Champion power was to be turned on Friday. As of this writing no power at 11 a.m. Monday. After many calls to the service department over the weekend and promises of calls from supervisors and emergency orders for connection ....no power. If and when they do get it on we will be shopping for a new provider. This is south Texas during the summer.

Randy West from Victoria
June 11th, 2012

Randy, sorry about your experience. The ERCOT system (state-wide system that manages all move-in transactions) was down for a system upgrade from June 8 - June 11, and move-ins were not being processed across the state (for any retailer, not just for Champion). That should have been explained more clearly over the phone. I'll have our customer care manager contact you to discuss your concerns.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 28th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bills Doubled

(2.2 / 5)

  switched to Champion when previous rate expired-Champions rate was .01/kwhr more, but my cost DOUBLED compared to last year's bills. Not happy.

Tami Haley from Arlington
July 31st, 2019

Hi Tami,
Sorry to hear that you feel like your rate doubled with us. Looking at your account, you must have had an energy rate of 3 cents/kWh. Unfortunately, we do not have rates that low right now. Email us at feedback@champion.energy with any questions you may have about your account.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable!!

(2.2 / 5)

  First, I was told when I first signed up for the service that this was a budget billing account, meaning the amount is the same each month and then I would true up at the end of the contract if there was anything owed. SO, I set up my banking to pay the amount I was told and now this is the 2nd time they have disconnected my power for 21 days past due, this time it was $52, the last time it was $35 and the last time I discussed this in detail with them and they said the account was fixed and would not happen again. WELL, IT DID TODAY!!! I have several issues with this. 1. Why is the bill more than what I agreed to when I signed up for this account? 2. WHY on earth would they disconnect for such a low amount which isnt even 30 days past due? 3. WHY would they disconnect when temperatures outside are near 100 degrees? I explained to them I have animals and I cannot be left to go 24 hours without power. The customer service was lacking. THEY DID NOT CARE. Why is your policy to disconnect 21 days past the due date? IF I can cancel service and go with a different provider, I will. I explained to the CS Rep that I lost my job 3 months ago and I am only on my 3rd week at a new job and would be paid on Friday and that I had NO money to pay today, he didnt care and was very rude when he said as much. But if my bill is supposed to be the same amount each month and you can clearly see I pay the exact same amount since the first payment, WHY on earth would I be treated this way? No compromise, allowing me to set up a payment plan to pay Friday or anything. It was their way, period. VERY Dissatisfied and WILL NOT recommend anyone to Champion energy. I am glad to see so many people are happy with the service but be forewarned, the CS Reps obviously don't have a clue about their product otherwise, this wouldn't have happened to me a 2nd time. ABSOLUTLY RIDICULOUS!!

Brooklyn from Dalals
July 22nd, 2015

Sorry to hear about this unfortunate situation Brooklyn. Obviously you have moved on but we'd like to take a look at your account in detail to see what went wrong on our end to correct it. If you have a moment, please email your old account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Margaret Williams

(2.2 / 5)

  I have had Champion for well over a year and was so happy with this company. I had been bragging recently to some friends and said I would gather my bills. Last month and this month seemed little high but I thought it was the colder weather. I went over every bill from the time I switched to Champion and discover in Nov 2013 I began having a delivery charge, on November bill it was $103 but this month it was $170 on top of my normal bill. This was not on any other bill! This makes Champion completely out of the league for competitive rates in this area. Very upset and looking for another provider!

Margaret Williams from Big Spring
February 7th, 2014

Margaret, Sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your bills. Please know that delivery charges are charges directly from the utility passed to customers without any mark up. You can see how this is calculated here - https://www.championenergyservices.com/my-account/how-to-read-your-bill/delivery-charges-FAQ.asp. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to take a closer look at your account. You might have renewed from an unbundled product (where delivery charges were part of your energy rate) to our new products where charges from the utlity are completely transparent on your bill.

Champion Energy Services Responds February 10th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What in the world happened?

(2.2 / 5)

  We've been hit with huge delivery charges after a renewal. Was very happy with Champion until this point. Suddenly, we're paying over $60 for a delivery fee? The "note" explaining these Delivery Charges does not match up with the cost of the fee. According the per Kwh charge, should be about $5. But it is over $60. We were expecting great rates, but this exploded the rate to almost double the cost.

That's very deceptive.

Champion says "no hidden fees" on their website. When we renewed we never expected to see this. See where someone else posted about same problem.

Wonder if this is 1) legal, 2) normal cost with other services. 3) ethical

DC from Dallas
July 28th, 2013

Since you renewed the structure of our products have changed. On your previous contract the delivery charges (Oncor) were bundled into your rate. To be more transparent of your charges we have separated your energy charge from your delivery charges. This is why it appears higher than you were used to seeing. However, it nets out the same. If you can email your account information Feedback@championenergyservices.com we can explain it in detail for your account.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware! Your Credit Rating will be impacted if you miss just one payment

(2.2 / 5)

  Overall, I was happy with Champion Energy Services until I inadvertently missed making a payment for one billing cycle. Our Champion Energy Services account was under my wife's name. I was always paying my bills on time and I had never missed a payment. One time, I made a mistake while setting up a payment using my Bank of America Bill Payment Service. I actually paid the wrong company while my intention was to pay Champion Energy Services. That was my mistake. What was shocking for me was that the one time I missed making the payment was reported to credit rating agencies. My wife's credit rating (the name on the account) was lowered because Champion Energy Services had reported the one time late payment. My wife asked me what happened. Initially, I responded by saying that the bill was paid on time. It took me a while to figure out that I have made a mistake. This is a serious issue. You may not be aware of that your credit rating has been ruined. In my opinion, Champion Energy Services should have made some effort to contact us before reporting us a delinquent. They should have also looked at our history of payments and take into account all this before reporting to credit reporting agencies. One mishap; your credit rating ruined! Since this very serious issue, I had to rate them very low.

Tesh from Houston
January 4th, 2013

Tesh - If you could email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com with your account number we can look at this further. We wouldn't report you to a credit rating agency for one missed payment. And we are pretty thorough in communicating with our customers via email or phone prior to the extreme measure of reporting to an outside agency. Look forward to hearing from you to get this resolved.

Champion Energy Services Responds January 31st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor service

(2.2 / 5)

  I came home to no power. Called an electrician out and they found that my power was shut off. I called Champion Energy and after 2 calls I found out that someone e-mailed them to cancel my service. I was on the phone with 4 people over 3 hours and they could not help me until they investigate. I was promised a supervisor call back from Ms. Anita twice which I never received. I did not cancel my power and had no reason to. Champion screwed up and I suffer.They absolutely did not care and gave me no idea when I will have power again.

Randy Davis from Cypress
April 3rd, 2012

Randy, I apologize for your experience. We received an online notice requesting service shut off. We appreciate you being with us since 2009. I'll contact you regarding a renewal offer, as your contract is expiring in May.

Champion Energy Services Responds May 7th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooks -- overcharging

(2.2 / 5)

  I had picked Champion Energy because of their low rates. That is until my contract ran out and I went to another provider. Even after the 12 month contract had expired I was charged using their month to month billing price. This was still very low, so no big deal. I went with another electricity provider and recieved my FINAL bill ( 16 days ) which was more than the whole month prior. I finally got my bill in the mail and noticed they had charged me 3 times to amount per kWh ( 21.444 cents per kWh )than I have every been charged. I guess that is thier way of saying thanks for your business and here's your stab in the back for leaving us. I'll NEVER go back to these guys again....I don't care if they are the cheapest listing, because I'll pay in the ass when I leave them. I'll also be reporting this over charge to the BBB.

Al C. from Fort Worth
September 12th, 2011

Al, Thanks for posting this and giving us the opportunity to explain. You can contact us directly to discuss this at feedback@championenergyservices.com. We never base a customer's rate on whether they are switching to another provider. Off-contract rates are calculated based on a published mathematical formula, or an "index." When customers are off-contract, they are charged a price tied to the daily wholesale price of electricity. When daily prices of power are up, your rate goes up. When they are down, the rate goes down. A history of this rate can be found here - www.championenergyservices.com/monthtomonth -- and will show that prices change with market conditions, not based on when the customer expires. The best way to avoid fluctuating month to month prices is to stay on a fixed price contract, regardless of who that contract is with.

Champion Energy Services Responds September 22nd, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service and Billing

(2.1 / 5)

  My personal home and businesses used Champion
Energy for over a year. I moved to a new home
that did not allow me to choose my energy
provider. When I moved I paid my final bill. 6
months later I get a call from a collections
agency saying that I owe Champion. I have never
received an email, phone call or a letter
stating that I had a balance that I needed to
pay although the customer service rep said they
tried to contact me. Tried to resolve it with
the customer service rep but "it was out of her
hands". Well I guess my other businesses will
be out of their hands as I will cancel my
service. Was told I would get a phone call to
see if someone could help me but guess they are
too busy to get back to me.

RJ from Southlake
April 16th, 2012

RJ -- sorry about your experience. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com. I'll look into the situation and work with you to get this resolved.

Champion Energy Services Responds May 7th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great price, bad service

(2.1 / 5)

  I have no problems with my bills from this company. They were always
right, always low, and always forgiven for their lateness when I forgot to
pay on time. Which I do often.

The thing is, they're really hard to get ahold of when you need to talk to
customer service. And the pay-online feature WOULD NOT work with my
computer (I have a mac), so I was constantly having to call and try to
figure out why. They may have finally solved this problem, but I'm moving
anyway so I'll probably switch.

CC from Plano
July 21st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor service

(2 / 5)

  Switched a few months back, nearly 7 months now. They cannot get my bill right, they keep apologizing but nothing happens. Of course the bill is too high, they don't seem to ahve any hurry in fixing the billing.

Poor billing and customer service from Houston
April 17th, 2018

Sorry to hear that you are experiencing some billing issues. Can you email us your account information to feedback@champion.energy to investigate this further? Thanks!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Empty promises

(2 / 5)

  This past summer, a Champion Energy rep "encouraged" me to contact her at renewal time and indicated she would work with me. I had replied to a survey and stated that price was paramount for me. When I contacted her, all she did was quote me the rates and state that Champion Energy's "system" could not handle any deviations. I was terribly misled.

C from H
December 19th, 2014

Sorry to hear about your experience. If you're still a customer please email feedback@championenergyservices.com and we'll take a look at your account.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden "Deliver" charge after 2 years-BEWARE of renewing!!

(2 / 5)

  I recently renewed my service because I absolutely loved the service and were the most competitive energy company out there. I renewed my service as I never intended to go anywhere else. Then recently I looked at my previous two bills wondering why my bill was so much higher. Then I see these "Delivery" charges on my account that are almost equal to my entire bill itself. I CANNOT believe this, and after I called and spoke to a representative, they said that the new contracts now have a delivery charge and the old contracts are no longer being used and if I wanted to change that I would have to pay a 150.00 charge. I referred this company to everyone and now I am warning everyone. I am extremely disappointed at how they take advantage of their faithful customers.

Frances from McAllen
October 10th, 2013

Frances, The delivery charges that we receive directly from the utility have always been on your bill with no mark up. Previously these charges were located in 2 places on your bill - - part of your energy charge and a separate line item. On new contracts we have changed the way this is displayed on your bill to have all delivery charges as one line item. We would like to take a closer look at your account to review it with you. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com

Champion Energy Services Responds October 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

After renewal, the bill skyrocketed!

(2 / 5)

  I was pretty satisfied with Champion energy until my contract expired & I didn't get change to renew it on time. Since then I did sign another contract with them for the lowest possible rate but my bills are astronomical now!!!!!!! I wish I didn't sign new agreement with Champion. This is crazy, highway robery!
I know it's summer & this is Texas, but our bill was never this high, ever! Our bill is double for this past month comparing to previous summer months. I will definitelly shop for new company before this contract even expires. Feeling cheated. I used to recomend them, but not anymore!

Melisa Moziek from Plano
September 12th, 2013

Melisa, Sorry to hear that you feel this way. Can you email us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can take a closer look at your account and why your bill may be higher? We want to make this right. Thank you.

Champion Energy Services Responds September 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Delivery Charges Substantially Higher

(2 / 5)

  Not happy with the $150 delivery charge on this months bill. I renewed my contract last month and locked in at a lower rate. While my usage was higher this month I expected the bill to be lower because of the lower rate. (.097 vs .122). The bill was higher.

Please explain $150 delivery charge and why it is not any any of my previous bills.

Darin from Flower Mound
August 21st, 2013

Your delivery charges were not raised. Your current bill may look slightly different than your previous bill as the structure of our products changed. Delivery charges are passed through directly from the utility. Regardless of who your provider is, all providers pass these charges directly to customers without mark up. Previously some of these charges appeared on 2 places on your bill - bundled in your energy charge and as a separate line item. We made it more transparent to customers by listing it directly on the bill. If you have additional questions, please call us at 877.653.5090 or email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Penalty Miscue

(2 / 5)

  I was threatened with disconnection even though Champiuon had my check (which was mis filled-out by me) They treated me as a deadbeat payer, I called and emailed customer sevrice to find out what the issue was and they ignored me. Just told me to pay. I repayed. Then they 2 weeks later informing me the check was address to the wrong company. The wonders of communicating with customet dis-servce. One department doesn't communcate with another. By the way, I am a long time customer and not happy with my treatment

Steve from Houston
May 31st, 2013

Steve - Sorry to hear about your experience. Please escalate any questions or issues you have regarding your account to customercaremanager@championenergyservices.com for prompt resolution.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 28th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Regrets - just another tricky reseller

(2 / 5)

  Rates are comparable to local service.
They bill separately from our provider.
Unreasonable payment terms (15 days) AND I had issues trying to pay on-line, every time. Got so aggravated each month I just said screw it and lety them wait for the USPS.

Watch the contract. They bail on you and stick you with a large "TERMINATION FEE." Wish I could tell my customers to buzz off and send them a bill - I'd be a mogul too.

DR from Chicago
July 31st, 2012

Hi DR, sounds like you are a commercial customer in Chicago. In that market, commercial customers receive one bill from Champion Energy for their electricity supply, and a separate bill from ComEd for their delivery. (Residential customers in Chicago receive one combined bill from Champion). Customers in Chicago can pay online using Automatic Bank Draft (one time or recurring) and a customer care agent can help you set that up.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be careful what they tell you.

(1.9 / 5)

  In summary, great pricing, extremely poor customer service. I had a representative tell me one thing before my contract expired and found it to be untrue after it expired. I called to follow up on it and received another answer and was told I'd be credited if I resigned my contract. What they failed to mention was how much I'd be credited. Their customer service is deceptive, so be very careful what they tell you and get specifics otherwise the will not honor what you were told, not get back to you when you contact them, and certain not try to work with you.

David Kepley
November 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

These guys are jerks

(1.9 / 5)

  Do not use Champion. They don't return calls, nor do they try to solve issues. They just blame you, charge you extras, and take no responsibility. Repeated phone calls never solve the problem, documented emails don't solve the problem, talking with customer service is like talking to a robot. And the billing department have attitudes that treat you unfavorably within the first call. And you get charged extras that aren't reasonable. ($50 one time charge for a returned check.) I would never recommend them...they start with low rates, but if you ever have problem, they won't solve it, they simply charge you additional fees you've never expect. And you have no recourse. The are very expensive if you have a problem. And when you're stuck in a contract, it feels awful.
Don't use Champion Energy....they don't deliver the promised savings. They recover the charges when problems arise. They are not friendly people.
I recommend 3 people based on the rates and recanted asap.

Sue from Houston
September 21st, 2010

Dear Customer: My name is Monique and I am the Customer Care Manager for Champion Energy Services. I would appreciate an opportunity to review your account and understand what you experienced with our Customer Care department and our agents. What you have described here is definately not up to the standards we expect and promise to maintain. Please contact me at mbarroso@championenergyservices.com or call me direct at 281.653.1824. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 12th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

O.K. rates -POOR Customer SERVICE!!!!

(1.9 / 5)

  Rates are good I guess but if you need to call with a question or concern they have VERY BAD and rude customer service. Also, you can't pay over the phone using an automated service. You can wait and wait and wait for BAD customer service reps who WON't help you.

Anonymous from Arlington
July 22nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions