All 2 Star Reviews

34 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Champion Energy Services Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bill to high
For the past 2 months my electric bill has jumped over from 60 dollars or to 100 more.and its only 2 in my household i chose this company bc of the lower rates.if this continues ill search for something in my price budget im extreemly upset about the price jumping were not doing anything different for this jump in my price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Grace Vaughan from Gainesville, TX on April 6th, 2021
Not what I expected
I wish i didnt signup with champion energy, i am not sure I had a good rate, my bill doesnt reflect that at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maoline Meghah from Richmond, TX on September 21st, 2020
Hi Maoline,
Thanks for sharing your feedback. The last thing we want is for a new customer to have buyers remorse. We will review your account and a member of our team will be in touch. Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Suddenly canceled service
After 6 months my year long contract was suddenly canceled with no warning and the only notification was a minor note on a bill. Got dinged for $150 cancelation fee (when I didn't cancel anything).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer Who Didn't Cancel from Fort Worth, TX on June 22nd, 2020
We are sorry to hear that your contract was cancelled unexpectedly. We would like an opportunity to look into this and try to resolve what happened here. Please email us your account information at feedback@champion.energy so we can review this closer.
— Champion Energy Services
Ripped off
I had signed up with Champion Energy then got a call from Green Mountain. Green Mountain offered me a better plan than the one I had before. I called to cancel with Champion, then I was told that I had passed the 3 day cancellation period, so I said "ok, then I'll stay with you". Next thing I knew Champion sent me a final bill for 4 days of service with a $275.00 bill. NOT something I expected :( In the span of 2 months I spent close to 850.00 in utility bills from both Green Mountain and Champion Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Totally Disappointed from Donna, TX on October 26th, 2019
Wed love to get more details behind your 2 star review. Can you please email us at feedback@champion.energy with more information and let us know what we can do to make this 5 stars?
— Champion Energy Services
Contract expires and price gouging begins
I switched to Champion Energy because I read to good reviews and my bill did go down for the time my contract was valid. However, my contract expired and no one told me until I received a ridiculously high bill. I immediately contacted their customer service and was told, "Well your contract expired, we sent you emails to inform you." I checked my emails and there was NO email from them.
With all that, I was willing to resign and asked that they make the rate retroactive to the bill they sent. I was told that is not possible and they don't do that.
They are more that willing to gouge up the price but are not willing to help. The customer service rep was repeating responses from a play book and offered no help whatsoever. I am very disappointed with their reaction, or lack there of, and lack of concern. If they are such a customer friendly company, maybe they need to train their customer service reps, or have supervisors around who can make decisions.
Very sad....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MC from Spring, TX on September 16th, 2019
Hello MC,our records indicate that we sent several renewal notices to the email we have on file for you, however we'd like the opportunity to show you that we do care. Can you please email us at feedback@champion.energy and let us know what we can do to make this 5 stars?

— Champion Energy Services
My bills Doubled
Switched to Champion when previous rate expired-Champions rate was .01/kwhr more, but my cost DOUBLED compared to last year's bills. Not happy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tami Haley from Arlington, TX on July 31st, 2019
Hi Tami,
Sorry to hear that you feel like your rate doubled with us. Looking at your account, you must have had an energy rate of 3 cents/kWh. Unfortunately, we do not have rates that low right now. Email us at feedback@champion.energy with any questions you may have about your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Outside salespeople
Champion hires other companies to go door-to-door, selling their services. The person who signed us up told my mom that she should be getting a discount of up to 40% because she is over 70 and that she could get the discount after her first full bill if she signed a 36 month contract. The only discount that Champion offers is a 10% and that is only on a 24 month contract. They took the person's information, but as he does not work directly for them, I doubt that there is anything they can really do. Personally, I felt that they could have offered her the 10% discount at least for the 24 months, but her contract is too long. On top of all of that, her bill was actually $70 higher than with her original company. We're stuck for 35 more months, and then we are out of here. Champion made no effort to make things right, and they should and could have done better.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dannaa from Odessa, TX on July 6th, 2018
Poor service
Switched a few months back, nearly 7 months now. They cannot get my bill right, they keep apologizing but nothing happens. Of course the bill is too high, they don't seem to ahve any hurry in fixing the billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor Billing And Customer Service from Houston, TX on April 17th, 2018
Sorry to hear that you are experiencing some billing issues. Can you email us your account information to feedback@champion.energy to investigate this further? Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Bad Billing Practices
Twice this year we have mailed in our check and they have sent us a notice that we were late in paying. Today when it happened my wife called them and told them that we mailed payment (through a postal box) 7 days earlier. Didn't matter. Not their fault. Well, it isn't our fault either. So now we have a late fee and a hit on our credit. Plus, she then paid by phone and they told her that if (when) the mailed check comes through that they will apply it as credit to next month's bill. Problem is that we do not have an extra $180 sitting in checking. But that's our problem. We have been with them for years and have never paid late. Plus, we have recommended them to many others. But no more recommending them since now we are being treated like slackers. I suppose they are all heartless and soulless corporations these days.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bobby Baucom from Ben Wheeler on December 7th, 2015
Sorry to hear about your experience. The late fee has been waived and there is no impact to your credit. There was an option to void the duplicate payment over the phone. To discuss further, please call us at 877.653.5090 and we will do what we can to make your situation right.
— Champion Energy Services
Unbelievable!!
First, I was told when I first signed up for the service that this was a budget billing account, meaning the amount is the same each month and then I would true up at the end of the contract if there was anything owed. SO, I set up my banking to pay the amount I was told and now this is the 2nd time they have disconnected my power for 21 days past due, this time it was $52, the last time it was $35 and the last time I discussed this in detail with them and they said the account was fixed and would not happen again. WELL, IT DID TODAY!!! I have several issues with this. 1. Why is the bill more than what I agreed to when I signed up for this account? 2. WHY on earth would they disconnect for such a low amount which isnt even 30 days past due? 3. WHY would they disconnect when temperatures outside are near 100 degrees? I explained to them I have animals and I cannot be left to go 24 hours without power. The customer service was lacking. THEY DID NOT CARE. Why is your policy to disconnect 21 days past the due date? IF I can cancel service and go with a different provider, I will. I explained to the CS Rep that I lost my job 3 months ago and I am only on my 3rd week at a new job and would be paid on Friday and that I had NO money to pay today, he didnt care and was very rude when he said as much. But if my bill is supposed to be the same amount each month and you can clearly see I pay the exact same amount since the first payment, WHY on earth would I be treated this way? No compromise, allowing me to set up a payment plan to pay Friday or anything. It was their way, period. VERY Dissatisfied and WILL NOT recommend anyone to Champion energy. I am glad to see so many people are happy with the service but be forewarned, the CS Reps obviously don't have a clue about their product otherwise, this wouldn't have happened to me a 2nd time. ABSOLUTLY RIDICULOUS!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brooklyn from Dalals on July 22nd, 2015
Sorry to hear about this unfortunate situation Brooklyn. Obviously you have moved on but we'd like to take a look at your account in detail to see what went wrong on our end to correct it. If you have a moment, please email your old account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com
— Champion Energy Services


All Champion Energy Services Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$113 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • A 'People's Choice' favorite
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 6 time winner - J.D. Power Award
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • No Base Charge or Bill Credit gimmicks
  • Best Free Energy Plan
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $108 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan
  • Free Weekends!
  • 12 Month Plan