All 2 Star Reviews

34 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Champion Energy Services Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good and Bad over 12 months
Over the past 12 months I've experienced the good and bad of Champion Energy.

The Good:
Rates are competitive
Initiate and transfer electric service smoothly
Bill and apply payment on time
Helpful usage tools
Customer Service is professional, courteous, and answers on less than 3 rings.

The Bad:
Upon transferring service to a new location, a new account was opened. The current term plan failed to transfer to the new account. Although Customer Service was polite, 5 calls later over a 2 week period resulted in no change, despite many unfulfilled assurances. I was then informed their "contract dept" couldn't keep up with demand.

Obviously, I was forced to elevate the situation, and have decided I no longer wish to conduct business with a company that doesn't have the resources in place to properly service my account. Hard costs are one thing, soft costs (demands on my time) are the deciding factor.

Perhaps you'll have a better experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Dallas on June 29th, 2015
Sorry to hear about your experience. This is not the norm at Champion Energy. We invite you to give us another shot when your new contract is up for renewal.
— Champion Energy Services
Empty promises
This past summer, a Champion Energy rep "encouraged" me to contact her at renewal time and indicated she would work with me. I had replied to a survey and stated that price was paramount for me. When I contacted her, all she did was quote me the rates and state that Champion Energy's "system" could not handle any deviations. I was terribly misled.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C from H on December 19th, 2014
Sorry to hear about your experience. If you're still a customer please email feedback@championenergyservices.com and we'll take a look at your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Was Great but
They were great for 5 years customer service etc. Prices are to high now I asked for a better rate ti see how much they appreciated their long term customers No can do,ok were not married lol so I found a much better rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe B from Fort Worth on June 27th, 2014
Sorry to lose you after 5 years. Please check back with us in the future if things don't work out with your other provider.
— Champion Energy Services
Threatened to cut my service when I was 5 days late
I have been a customer for over 4 year - never a late payment. I mistakenly entered the wrong date on bill pay (one month later). The first notice (5 days after the due date) was an email disconnect notice. Wow. I paid the bill immediately and sent an email to that effect with a note that I entered the wrong date. One week later I received a paper cut off notice. I contacted two email customer service addresses (one on the cut off notice and one on their website) to tell them how I was unhappy with how they handled this issue. No one has responded. Really? Pathetic.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanda from Coppell on April 23rd, 2014
Wanda, Can you email us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com to look into this further?
— Champion Energy Services
Margaret Williams
I have had Champion for well over a year and was so happy with this company. I had been bragging recently to some friends and said I would gather my bills. Last month and this month seemed little high but I thought it was the colder weather. I went over every bill from the time I switched to Champion and discover in Nov 2013 I began having a delivery charge, on November bill it was $103 but this month it was $170 on top of my normal bill. This was not on any other bill! This makes Champion completely out of the league for competitive rates in this area. Very upset and looking for another provider!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Margaret Williams from Big Spring on February 7th, 2014
Margaret, Sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your bills. Please know that delivery charges are charges directly from the utility passed to customers without any mark up. You can see how this is calculated here - https://www.championenergyservices.com/my-account/how-to-read-your-bill/delivery-charges-FAQ.asp. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to take a closer look at your account. You might have renewed from an unbundled product (where delivery charges were part of your energy rate) to our new products where charges from the utlity are completely transparent on your bill.
— Champion Energy Services
New Charges
As with several other customers of Champion, I was really happy when I made the change to Champion. Now I am regretting it. These additional charges from Oncor are boosting my monthly bill around $50.00 a month. Look at your bills, PLEASE. It does not say Oncor it says TDU Pass-Through charges. You may be riding on an old contract that does not have these charges so buyer beware when you renew. In the past Champion did not have these charges, I scan and keep all of my bills so when looking back on the older bills these charges were not there. This totally defeats getting a really good KWH rate. I will be looking to cancel my contract with Champion and moving onto another provider. Note to Champion.....some times it is just better to raise YOUR rate to absorb these Oncor charges rather than placing an additional charge on our monthly bill. So disappointed and I have been a long time customer. Many friends are cancelling over this also.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teresa from Colleyville on January 11th, 2014
Teresa, We have absorbed increased Oncor several times in the past when these charges were bundled within your energy rate. With the new contracts everything is completely transparent.We want everyone to look at their bill, whether it is with us or their other provider. At Champion we have nothing to hide. The details are on your bill and if you want to see specifically how your delivery charges are calculated you can view it here - https://www.championenergyservices.com/my-account/how-to-read-your-bill/delivery-charges-FAQ.asp. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to review your specific account.
— Champion Energy Services
Hidden "Deliver" charge after 2 years-BEWARE of renewing!!
I recently renewed my service because I absolutely loved the service and were the most competitive energy company out there. I renewed my service as I never intended to go anywhere else. Then recently I looked at my previous two bills wondering why my bill was so much higher. Then I see these "Delivery" charges on my account that are almost equal to my entire bill itself. I CANNOT believe this, and after I called and spoke to a representative, they said that the new contracts now have a delivery charge and the old contracts are no longer being used and if I wanted to change that I would have to pay a 150.00 charge. I referred this company to everyone and now I am warning everyone. I am extremely disappointed at how they take advantage of their faithful customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frances from Mcallen on October 10th, 2013
Frances, The delivery charges that we receive directly from the utility have always been on your bill with no mark up. Previously these charges were located in 2 places on your bill - - part of your energy charge and a separate line item. On new contracts we have changed the way this is displayed on your bill to have all delivery charges as one line item. We would like to take a closer look at your account to review it with you. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com
— Champion Energy Services
After renewal, the bill skyrocketed!
I was pretty satisfied with Champion energy until my contract expired & I didn't get change to renew it on time. Since then I did sign another contract with them for the lowest possible rate but my bills are astronomical now!!!!!!! I wish I didn't sign new agreement with Champion. This is crazy, highway robery!
I know it's summer & this is Texas, but our bill was never this high, ever! Our bill is double for this past month comparing to previous summer months. I will definitelly shop for new company before this contract even expires. Feeling cheated. I used to recomend them, but not anymore!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melisa Moziek from Plano on September 12th, 2013
Melisa, Sorry to hear that you feel this way. Can you email us your account information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can take a closer look at your account and why your bill may be higher? We want to make this right. Thank you.
— Champion Energy Services
Delivery Charges Substantially Higher
Not happy with the $150 delivery charge on this months bill. I renewed my contract last month and locked in at a lower rate. While my usage was higher this month I expected the bill to be lower because of the lower rate. (.097 vs .122). The bill was higher.

Please explain $150 delivery charge and why it is not any any of my previous bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Darin from Flower Mound on August 21st, 2013
Your delivery charges were not raised. Your current bill may look slightly different than your previous bill as the structure of our products changed. Delivery charges are passed through directly from the utility. Regardless of who your provider is, all providers pass these charges directly to customers without mark up. Previously some of these charges appeared on 2 places on your bill - bundled in your energy charge and as a separate line item. We made it more transparent to customers by listing it directly on the bill. If you have additional questions, please call us at 877.653.5090 or email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com.
— Champion Energy Services
Fallen from grace
I've been with Champion Energy since 2009 and have always been VERY happy with my rates. I have always bragged about Champion and referred them to anyone who asked who I used. But sadly, they have driven their prices up and I will no longer remain a customer. I understand all electric companies have seen increases but even with that, Champion has gone from one of the cheapest to one of the must expensive and the no longer bundled TDU rates don't help. Their website has a lot of great features and is easy to use, the bills are easy to pay and keep track off and as of late they have been emailing me weekly usage rates so I know to expect what my bill for the month will be...if you are willing to pay much more for these things than it would still be worth it. But I have faith that my new provider can provide me a quality website and bill payment and I will be paying significantly less for it. I would return to Champion in a heartbeat if they decided to become the people's Champion again one day and return to being a low cost provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Longer A Customer from Houston on August 1st, 2013
Sorry to lose you as long time customer. While we always strive to have fair prices in the market, we can not always be the cheapest. There are providers out there that can price really low, but have hidden fees that get ya later. We hope that you check us out again in the future.
— Champion Energy Services


All Champion Energy Services Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
10.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$106 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • A 'People's Choice' favorite
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $112 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 6 time winner - J.D. Power Award
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • No Base Charge or Bill Credit gimmicks
  • Best Free Energy Plan
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $101 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan
  • Free Weekends!
  • 12 Month Plan