All 2 Star Reviews

36 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Champion Energy Services Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Delivery Charges Substantially Higher
Not happy with the $150 delivery charge on this months bill. I renewed my contract last month and locked in at a lower rate. While my usage was higher this month I expected the bill to be lower because of the lower rate. (.097 vs .122). The bill was higher.

Please explain $150 delivery charge and why it is not any any of my previous bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Darin from Flower Mound on August 21st, 2013
Your delivery charges were not raised. Your current bill may look slightly different than your previous bill as the structure of our products changed. Delivery charges are passed through directly from the utility. Regardless of who your provider is, all providers pass these charges directly to customers without mark up. Previously some of these charges appeared on 2 places on your bill - bundled in your energy charge and as a separate line item. We made it more transparent to customers by listing it directly on the bill. If you have additional questions, please call us at 877.653.5090 or email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com.
— Champion Energy Services
Fallen from grace
I've been with Champion Energy since 2009 and have always been VERY happy with my rates. I have always bragged about Champion and referred them to anyone who asked who I used. But sadly, they have driven their prices up and I will no longer remain a customer. I understand all electric companies have seen increases but even with that, Champion has gone from one of the cheapest to one of the must expensive and the no longer bundled TDU rates don't help. Their website has a lot of great features and is easy to use, the bills are easy to pay and keep track off and as of late they have been emailing me weekly usage rates so I know to expect what my bill for the month will be...if you are willing to pay much more for these things than it would still be worth it. But I have faith that my new provider can provide me a quality website and bill payment and I will be paying significantly less for it. I would return to Champion in a heartbeat if they decided to become the people's Champion again one day and return to being a low cost provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Longer A Customer from Houston on August 1st, 2013
Sorry to lose you as long time customer. While we always strive to have fair prices in the market, we can not always be the cheapest. There are providers out there that can price really low, but have hidden fees that get ya later. We hope that you check us out again in the future.
— Champion Energy Services
What in the world happened?
We've been hit with huge delivery charges after a renewal. Was very happy with Champion until this point. Suddenly, we're paying over $60 for a delivery fee? The "note" explaining these Delivery Charges does not match up with the cost of the fee. According the per Kwh charge, should be about $5. But it is over $60. We were expecting great rates, but this exploded the rate to almost double the cost.

That's very deceptive.

Champion says "no hidden fees" on their website. When we renewed we never expected to see this. See where someone else posted about same problem.

Wonder if this is 1) legal, 2) normal cost with other services. 3) ethical
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DC from Dallas on July 28th, 2013
Since you renewed the structure of our products have changed. On your previous contract the delivery charges (Oncor) were bundled into your rate. To be more transparent of your charges we have separated your energy charge from your delivery charges. This is why it appears higher than you were used to seeing. However, it nets out the same. If you can email your account information Feedback@championenergyservices.com we can explain it in detail for your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Started out good
I have been with champion for 4 years. They have good customer service and had great plans. But because they have gotten bigger overthe past few years, they no longer care about giving good rate plans. Their rates are no longer any better than reliant or txu. That is not how you keep good customers. I had rates in the 8's the whole 4 years but now the best they can do is 9.6. Really? I am very disappointed with how things are going and will try a different provider. Hopefully I will be one of the few and pick a decent provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kenisha from Euless on June 26th, 2013
Billing Penalty Miscue
I was threatened with disconnection even though Champiuon had my check (which was mis filled-out by me) They treated me as a deadbeat payer, I called and emailed customer sevrice to find out what the issue was and they ignored me. Just told me to pay. I repayed. Then they 2 weeks later informing me the check was address to the wrong company. The wonders of communicating with customet dis-servce. One department doesn't communcate with another. By the way, I am a long time customer and not happy with my treatment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Houston on May 31st, 2013
Steve - Sorry to hear about your experience. Please escalate any questions or issues you have regarding your account to customercaremanager@championenergyservices.com for prompt resolution.
— Champion Energy Services
Beware! Your Credit Rating will be impacted if you miss just one payment
Overall, I was happy with Champion Energy Services until I inadvertently missed making a payment for one billing cycle. Our Champion Energy Services account was under my wife's name. I was always paying my bills on time and I had never missed a payment. One time, I made a mistake while setting up a payment using my Bank of America Bill Payment Service. I actually paid the wrong company while my intention was to pay Champion Energy Services. That was my mistake. What was shocking for me was that the one time I missed making the payment was reported to credit rating agencies. My wife's credit rating (the name on the account) was lowered because Champion Energy Services had reported the one time late payment. My wife asked me what happened. Initially, I responded by saying that the bill was paid on time. It took me a while to figure out that I have made a mistake. This is a serious issue. You may not be aware of that your credit rating has been ruined. In my opinion, Champion Energy Services should have made some effort to contact us before reporting us a delinquent. They should have also looked at our history of payments and take into account all this before reporting to credit reporting agencies. One mishap; your credit rating ruined! Since this very serious issue, I had to rate them very low.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tesh from Houston on January 4th, 2013
Tesh - If you could email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com with your account number we can look at this further. We wouldn't report you to a credit rating agency for one missed payment. And we are pretty thorough in communicating with our customers via email or phone prior to the extreme measure of reporting to an outside agency. Look forward to hearing from you to get this resolved.
— Champion Energy Services
Champion charges for paying on line
Am I the only one that is brother by having to pay a $3.00+ fee for paying electronically? I've paid my electric bill on line for years without any fee and did not realize Champion charged for this convenience. Probably would not have choosen Champion had I known.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty Paulk from Sachse on September 13th, 2012
Hi Betty, We do currently have a fee for making a one-time credit card payment online or over the phone. We are working with our vendor to eliminate that fee. There is no fee to make a one time or recurring bank draft, or to set up a recurring credit card payment. You can find more information on this online at www.championenergyservices.com/paymentoptions, or give us a call at 877-653-5090.
— Champion Energy Services
Never sent me a bill, cut off my electricity after admitting it was an error on their part!!!!
I signed on with champion last year, no problems until now. I have not received a bill since I moved into my new apartment, I called to check my bill and they said I was late on my payment. I was told they had accidentally starting sending my bills to my e-mail account ( I do not have internet service ) and that my electricity was going to be shut off within 24 hours. As an unemployed father of 4 children under the age of 6, I am unable to pay a $72 bill until next week and they would not allow me a few days to get the money together. Now our electric has been off for 3 days and my children are burning up! I paid a $350 deposit and they shut my electric off for a $72 bill!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bradly K. from Baytown on August 9th, 2012
Bradly, Sorry you have this bad experience at your new apartment. I see upon review of your account that everything is now up to date. Please contact customercaremanager@championenergyservices.com if you have further issues.
— Champion Energy Services
Regrets - just another tricky reseller
Rates are comparable to local service.
They bill separately from our provider.
Unreasonable payment terms (15 days) AND I had issues trying to pay on-line, every time. Got so aggravated each month I just said screw it and lety them wait for the USPS.

Watch the contract. They bail on you and stick you with a large "TERMINATION FEE." Wish I could tell my customers to buzz off and send them a bill - I'd be a mogul too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DR from Chicago on July 31st, 2012
Hi DR, sounds like you are a commercial customer in Chicago. In that market, commercial customers receive one bill from Champion Energy for their electricity supply, and a separate bill from ComEd for their delivery. (Residential customers in Chicago receive one combined bill from Champion). Customers in Chicago can pay online using Automatic Bank Draft (one time or recurring) and a customer care agent can help you set that up.
— Champion Energy Services
Bad service and inept service personnel
Had Champion Energy for my daughters college apartment. Put in a transfer notice for service at new address. After several confirming phone calls from Champion power was to be turned on Friday. As of this writing no power at 11 a.m. Monday. After many calls to the service department over the weekend and promises of calls from supervisors and emergency orders for connection ....no power. If and when they do get it on we will be shopping for a new provider. This is south Texas during the summer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Randy West from Victoria on June 11th, 2012
Randy, sorry about your experience. The ERCOT system (state-wide system that manages all move-in transactions) was down for a system upgrade from June 8 - June 11, and move-ins were not being processed across the state (for any retailer, not just for Champion). That should have been explained more clearly over the phone. I'll have our customer care manager contact you to discuss your concerns.
— Champion Energy Services


All Champion Energy Services Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Most Popular 2 Year Plan
24 month
Fixed Rate
10.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$108 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • A 'People's Choice' favorite
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $117 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 100% Green Energy!
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 6 time winner - J.D. Power Award
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • No Base Charge or Bill Credit gimmicks
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $106 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan
  • Free Weekends!
  • 12 Month Plan