All 3 Star Reviews

27 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Champion Energy Services Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
PriorFocusedonFishing Please Use Referral Code - Rmoore74459
We were with First Choice Power for 7 years. They started out great but then were bought out or merged with another company (from what we heard) and their customer service became awful. We are changing to Champion because of their awards for customer service for the last 3 years. So far so good. Making the switch was easy. The service representative was nice and also helpful. There were slightly cheaper electric
plans with other companies, but the reviews for those companies were not as consistent as Champion's. We will see if giving up about .5 cents/KW is worth Champion's claims of being the best choice. We will update as we go along.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R Moore from Dallas on August 8th, 2013
Thanks for being a new customer of ours. And we have been ranked high on our customer service in addition to other factors like price, payment options, etc. for the 4th year now from J.D. Power. We hope that your customer experiences are favorable. In the event you have any issues or concerns, email feedback@championenergyservices.com for prompt resolution.
— Champion Energy Services
Used to be competitive, now they are middle of the road.
My wife and I have been with Champion Energy for years, and have always been pretty happy with their service. In the past, before renewing, we'd check the rates on PTC just to see where their renewal offering was relative to their competition and they were always fairly competitive. Not always the cheapest, but they always had a plan that was competitive that we could feel good about choosing.

This last renewal period, however, it seems that you have to scroll WAAAY down the PTC list to find the first Champion plan. Electricity is a commodity and I can't justify paying 12% more for my electricity for no good reason when there are 46 other plans (I just checked) that I can choose from that are less
expensive. We called their service department and asked them if they could do anything with their renewal rate (given what other options are out there) are were told that they couldn't.

It's more expensive to find a new customer than it is to keep an existing customer, but it seems like nobody has told that to Champion. I will be switching to Gexa (8.54 cents vs Champions 9.50 cents) in a few days when my contract is up. I personally think they are experimenting with how many existing customers will stay when they raise their price by a penny.

As a side note, and this seems to apply to all of the providers out there, it seems a bit shady to get charged for using too little electricity and also for using too much electricity. Last month, we went over 2,000 kWh for the first time ever and got hit with a $60+ charge...we called Champion and were told that was a charge from Oncor. I don't ever remember reading anywhere that there was a penalty for using too much electricity in any plan we signed up under. But it seems that "gotcha billing" is the new norm in the Texas deregulated energy market. I can't wait to be a part of the class action lawsuit that will inevitably arise from this unscrupulous practice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christopher Harris from Dallas on July 12th, 2013
Dissapointed Champion was not competive to loyal customer
I contacted Jose at Champion about my renewal (3 year customer) to see if he could match or be competive with my bona fide 10% lower offer from another company. He could not or would not.
Adios, I am an ex customer now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Houston on July 3rd, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience Steve. As a loyal customer we try our best to give you the best rate. In the future, email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com and we'll take a closer look at your account. We hope that you check us out again.
— Champion Energy Services
Good service but about to switch
I switched to Champoin two years ago based on relatively low costs, good reviews and JD Powers ratings. Have had a good experieince with them but based on what I believe are uncompetitive rates, I am looking hard at switching. With some companies offering 12 month rates at $.085/kw and Champion not able to offer me anything better than $.097/kw, why would I stay? As a 1780 kw/month customer, one would think you'd be a more flexible/competitive for my business.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andy from Mansfield on June 27th, 2013
Andy, Email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com and we'll take a closer look at your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Kim
Although we have been pleased with the service we have received with Champion Energy Services the past two years, it is unlikely that we will renew our contract that expires soon due to the higher rates and fees. There is now a $6.95 penalty for using less than 800 kwh hours. (In the past the penalty was for less than 500 kwh which was reasonable for our family and we rarely had to pay.) We try to conserve energy as well as water. Now it appears that if we try to be responsible, we will be penalized nearly every month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Fort Worth on June 24th, 2013
Kim, The monthly fee we have for customers using under 800kWh is actually one of the lowest in this industry. When you're shopping around make sure to read the fine print to understand what you're paying for.
— Champion Energy Services
Disappointed in renewal offers
I switched to Champion Energy two years ago because my previous electricity provider was hiking prices up too high. I signed up for a 12-month fixed-rate contract with Champion Energy. My first year with Champion was great and I did save compared to my previous provider. Then when my contract was up my renewal offer from Champion Energy was even LESS than the previous year! I was very happy to sign up for my second 12-month fixed-rate contract. My second contract expires this month and I have to say I'm VERY DISAPPOINTED in the renewal "offers" coming in from Champion Energy. They are WAY TOO HIGH....so high in fact that I'm DROPPING Champion Energy and switching to a more reasonably priced provider. I hate to leave but they aren't even in the ballpark on their pricing this year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr. H from Harlingen on June 10th, 2013
Mr. H - Email us directly at feedback@championenergyservices.com and we will take a look at your account and renewal options. Unfortunately, rates are higher this year than your previous contracts. Sources like this site point out the reasons for increased rates in this industry.
— Champion Energy Services
Pleased until new base fee & usage minimum
We are seniors who were taught to conserve natural resources as children and, consequently, are very careful with our electicity usage. Since we rarely go over 500 kWh per month, we had to pay the $4.95 base charge at least 9 months of the year and now they have raised both the minimum usage and the base charge. Really. People who conserve are punished? That just does not make sense whatsoever. In a logical world, people should be charged more for wasting it. Fortunately, I have found a company that charges everyone the same amount per kWh and NO base charge. I can live with that. Since my account is drafted each month, it is not as if I cost them any more than anyone else.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marilyn Zaruba from Frisco on June 7th, 2013
Marilyn - Champion Energy has one of the lowest minimum use fees and we have have no intention of penalizing customers for conserving energy. Glad that you have found a provider who meets your criteria. Be sure to read the fine print of any hidden costs and we invite you to check us out again in the future in the event our fees change.
— Champion Energy Services
Stay away from their "balanced billing" plan
Overall, I would say I'm satisfied with the rates and the friendliness of their customer service. However, I got really hosed by their "balance billing" program. Most balanced billing programs adjust the monthly average as you go in a 6 month cycle (based on actual to-date usage) to make sure that at the end of the balanced billing cycle you are not left with a huge true up amount. It's of course based on the last year average but if anything significant has changed (in my case, a new pool), that can really throw things off. Bottom line is I ended up owing $1,000 at the end of my balanced billing 6 month cycle because of it. In fairness, Champion was willing to work with me so I could pay that over a period of 3 months and I even signed a contract stating those terms. However, I continued to get disconnection notices by mail and email. The agent - who was apologetic about the situation and very professional by the way - promised my service would not be disconnected. However, it's unnerving when you continue to get disconnect notices. Well, when I finally got the pink disconnect notice stating my power would be off in 1 week, well, I just went ahead and paid in full. The good: Competitive rates, friendly customer service. The bad: Balanced Billing does not adjust monthly based on actual usage to-date to ensure you are not stuck with a huge true up bill. Contract to pay true up amount over 3 months did not prevent disconnection notices from coming my way. Would recommend Champion Energy Services for their competitive rates and friendly customer service but RUN - DON'T WALK AWAY FROM "BALANCED BILLING" PLAN! :)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bret from Tomball on May 17th, 2013
Terrible web site, but pretty good company
I have several times tried to use their automatic credit card billing, but have had all kinds of problems. Their customer service people are polite and helpful, but they just don't seem to have the bugs worked out. The web site allows you to log on and check your bills, but almost anyting that you do kicks you out to start all over. I just tried to renew my service contract while logged on to my account. I was taken to a new page asking for my zip code and account number. I had the same experience trying to change payment details. It is like they don't think this whole internet thing is really a good idea, or expect anyone to actually use their web site.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill McReynolds from North Richland Hillls on May 16th, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Bill. We are constantly improving the user experience with our website and internal systems to make it easier for you to pay your bills and navigate your information.
— Champion Energy Services
Good rate, but poor business practices
I switched to Champion in late September 2012. I received my first invoice in seven days. I pay all my bills on-line or by automatic payment. I signed up for their Recurring Credit Card payment plan. I received an email on October 10, 2012 indicating that I had successfully enrolled in the Recurring Credit Card Payment Plan, but that I needed to pay the first invoice in another manner because the credit card payment would not be effective until the next invoice. So I paid using my bank's bill pay process. On November 26th I received a "Friendly Reminder" that my second invoice had not been paid. Since I had received the October 10th email I assumed it would have been paid already. I called and was told they had no record of me signing up for recurring credit card payment. To top it off I received a disconnect notice two days after the friendly reminder! Who did JD Power query to award this company with anything?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S Christensen from Cypress on November 29th, 2012
Sorry to hear about your experience in paying your first bill with Champion. This is not a normal practice. We are looking into this and will follow up with you directly.
— Champion Energy Services


All Champion Energy Services Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
10.8¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$108 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • A 'People's Choice' favorite
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $111 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 6 time winner - J.D. Power Award
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • No Base Charge or Bill Credit gimmicks
  • Best Free Energy Plan
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $101 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Popular Plan
  • Free Weekends!
  • 12 Month Plan