Champion Energy

(4.8 / 5)

  I did a price comparison utilizing EFL's and my historic energy usage. Champion Energy's rates and breaks matched well with my profile giving me the most energy at the lowest possible price. So far the costs are tracking to my estimates and that means I am saving money each month. This makes me happy and a little richer.
I have not seen any promotions and don't expect any so I could not give that category a 5 star. But, if one comes along Champion should get the 5th star.

New User from Plano
September 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service good company!

(4.8 / 5)

  The best customer service

Beatriz from McKinney
June 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fine

(4.8 / 5)

  No concerns, easy to work with

Steve from Fort Worth
June 25th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great!

(4.8 / 5)

  Had no issues with champion. Quick and easy billing, simple to start/renew/find information on my services. They send a weekly summary with a comparison to the previous weeks usage, and an estimation of your monthly bill based on your trends, and several other tools if you click around!

C from McKinney
April 30th, 2018

Thanks for the feedback!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

One Month Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  So far we are happy.

First Month from Roanoke
February 19th, 2018

We hope that you remain happy for years to come. If you ever have a question, comment or concern, call us at 877.653.5090 or email us at feedback@champion.energy.

Champion Energy Services Responds May 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.8 / 5)

  So far I am very pleased with a service that I have received and the pricing that this company offers.

Dork from Burleson
December 30th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would definitely recommend.

(4.8 / 5)

  I just moved about 2 months ago and chose to go with Champion Energy because of their available plans and great reviews. I have the free time on weekends plan and it's awesome! I'm able to plan out my activities so that I can conserve and save during the week and do laundry, etc. on weekends. Everything about my experience so far has been great and hassle free. I highly recommend Champion Energy.

Cassandra Gonzalez from Richardson
March 7th, 2016

We're happy that the free weekends plan works well for you. Thanks for sharing your your experience and for taking advantage of our Connect-A-Friend referral program!

Champion Energy Services Responds April 3rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company!

(4.8 / 5)

  This is a great electricity provider. They offer the best rates. I signed up for the plan where my weekends are free so my electricity bill is so low. I've been with this company for over a year now and don't have any complaints.

Saleema Maredia from Dallas
January 28th, 2016

We're glad that you could take advantage of our Free Weekends plan. Feel free to email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com if you have any questions.

Champion Energy Services Responds February 29th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOW RATES!

(4.8 / 5)

  My husband and I just renewed with an even lower rate than when we originally signed up with Champion 3 years ago. The customer service is excellent and the Weekly Tracker emails are very informative and helpful in being more energy conscious. They are also running a promotion when you can get free Astros Tickets. Go 'Stros!



Jenna from Houston
August 18th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service. Awesome Experience.

(4.8 / 5)

  This is a update of my experience with Champion Energy. This is my 3rd year with this company and I have no regrets since I switched from Gexa. No extra fees, great customer service and a great rate on my electricity. I am moving in the fall and I am transferring the services to my new place. I strongly recommend this company. If you would like a discount use the code ELasanta24073 when signing up and you will receive a discount. Thanks!

Ed Lasanta from Houston
July 13th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I went with Champion

(4.8 / 5)

  I went with Champion because of their history of great customer service through reviews from numerous website. After 2 years, I have nothing to complain.

Chris from Houston
June 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just switched over to Champion

(4.8 / 5)

  Just switched over to Champion, so far so good! Our first bill was almost HALF of what we were paying! Love the website---easy navigation and able to set up auto pay. Also love the weekly emails about usage. Customer service is awesome, I've made couple of calls and always reach a person immediately...no recordings or wait time.

DJ from Corpus Christi
April 21st, 2015

That's great to hear. Our customer service folks are based at our headquarters in Houston, Texas and are always ready to take your calls!

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no problems at all with Champion

(4.8 / 5)

  My 12 month contract is up and I have had no problems at all with Champion. I just renewed for 24 months, because I feel I will continue to be problem free. You can read my past review to see why I originally chose Champion and I still feel the same as before. I have not seen any of the price increases on Champions billing, except for Sharyland increases. Champion has all charges broke down for you to see, unlike some REP's who bundle everything together so you won't see the increases. Thank you for reading my review.

C from Midland
April 16th, 2015

Thanks for being a customer. We're transparent to our customers in everything we do, especially on what matters - - what they're paying and why. That's why our weekly usage reports helps customers monitor and manage their usage to avoid any electricity bill surprises.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2 year renewal!

(4.8 / 5)

  Now is a great time to lock in a good rate as energy prices are historically lower this time of year. Plus, you've got no worries doing this with Champion as their customer service is unparalleled. We've had no issues anytime we've called in with questions. My only complaint is that I wish they would develop an app for our iPhones.

Joshua from Houston
January 29th, 2015

Joshua, Thanks for your feedback in regards to developing an app. We are exploring this option.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been great for past 3 yrs no issues.

(4.8 / 5)

  Been great for past 3 yrs no issues.

Martin Nguyen from Houston
January 27th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy Discount code ELasanta24073

(4.8 / 5)

  I just recently started my second year with Champion Energy services. So far so good. No complains. Fair billing and great customer service. I used to be with Gexa Energy and I am not looking back. If you are looking for an energy company I would recommend Champion Energy Services. To get a 25$ discount in your first Bill use my Discount Code ELasanta24073. You will not regret it.

Ed from Houston
July 29th, 2014

Thanks Ed. We love to hear the words "I switched and not going back." We hope to keep you as a customer for years to come. Be sure to take advantage of our Connect-a-Friend tools on our website to share your Referral ID with your friends and family.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 28th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Helpful with switching energy providers

(4.8 / 5)

  I recently switched to Champion Energy from Green Mountain Energy. Green Mountain caused a lot of issues with switching energy providers, but Champion Energy was very efficient and helpful with helping out with the issues (removing a large liquidated damages charge due to Green Mountain's mistake, etc.). I highly recommend Champion Energy.

HLee28852 from Houston
June 22nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

get a discount when u sign up with this code JPortillo60395

(4.8 / 5)

  i just switch to this company i like how the track my day to day usage .. the fees are great in the plan i choose .. customer service is fast to reach

J Portillo from Houston
June 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates And Get A $50 Credit Towards Your Bill Using This Promo Code 1593302 At The End Of Signing Up

(4.8 / 5)

  I had Green Mountain Energy for four years and every time my contract expires I have to fight them to get a good rate. This time Green Mountain would not give me a good rate, so I went shopping. Out of all the energy companies in Texas Champion Energy is only one that is affordable and has great customer reviews. I signed up online and it was easy. If you sign up online you have to use it close to the end of signing up. I thought you had to use it at the beginning, but I found out it was the end.

James from Crowley
April 3rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Service Great Company- Referral code: ELasanta24073

(4.8 / 5)

  My wife and I were with a different provider for 5 years (Gexa). We were very hesitant to switch companies but we finally decided to switch, due to high renewal rates, and we are not looking back. Since the switch we've had a great experience from sign up to paying my first bill. Weekly usage emails keep you updated and aware of your usage. I have no complains so far about this company. I highly recommend Champion Energy.

Ed Lasanta from Houston
July 16th, 2013

Thanks for the kind words Ed. We hope to continue providing you with great customer service and perks like your weekly usage emails. Feel free to provide any suggestions to us at feedback@championenergyservices.com.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 2nd, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderful Company! Use referral ECampbell20452 if you sign up!

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with Champion Energy for over 2 years and I have never had an issue. There prices are competitive, the customer service is wonderful. Their referral program helps keep my bills low as well! $25 for each referral, for both you and the person you referred!

Erin from Dallas
May 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(4.8 / 5)

  I've been a Champion customer since December of 2012. I'm highly impressed with Champion's customer service. They are very responsive. Account management & bill pay through their website is easy, too. Their billing is straight forward, so there is no surprises. All I can say is that while Champion may not be the cheapest provider out there, they seem to be a reliable and trustworthy operation.

Anthony J. from Frisco
April 7th, 2013

Glad to have you as a customer Anthony!

Champion Energy Services Responds April 19th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched Over; Saving Money; Happy Customer

(4.8 / 5)

  We switched over a couple of months ago now, and I have been completely satisfied. Our bills are cheaper and the switch was seemless. I have had no proplems paying my bill and signing up for auto pay.

Jason Samford from Sealy
April 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion saves you money!

(4.8 / 5)

  After living for a year in Irving, TX, my wife and I realized we needed to switch electric providers due to such high pricing. I shopped around and Champion looked to be our best new option. After receiving our first bill, we compared it to one from our old provider and found that even though we used 450 kWh with Champion compared to a bill from our old provider at 300 kWh, we had saved money! The rates are great with Champion and I cant wait to see how the rest of year will put more money into our pockets. Their service is quick and friendly too so thats a plus.

Wes from Irving
January 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good company with the good rate

(4.8 / 5)

  So far so good. Also I just got the $25 credit using my friend's referral ID. I will recommend this company to my friends.

Meili Cui from Ingleside
October 6th, 2012

Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your Connect-A-Friend bill credits. Keep referring your friends and family.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is alive and well--and serving up great service

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with them for a month now and I really like what I see. They are very straightforward, and have great prices. Electricity in our house has been exactly what I would expect from a major provider. I can see my electricity usage through the month in 15 minute increments online. I have auto-payments set up online some I never miss a payment (which our local water utility doesn't have so it makes me like Champion even more).

David Thomas from Harlingen
July 16th, 2012

Thanks David, glad you like the auto-pay!

Champion Energy Services Responds August 13th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Have a Question

(4.8 / 5)

  I signed up with Champion from my previous state prior to closing escrow and moving after researching Texas Energy Companies via internet. This is my first year in Texas and the process of choosing your own Energy Company is very new to me.

I have had no problems with my relationship with Champion.

I am on a (1) year contract due to expire and am leaning towards renewing with Champion. But can you please explain something?

My contract rate is .087. But a blurb on my invoice reads "The average price you paid for electricity this month is 10.926 cents per KWH. Why the difference?

Sherry from Rockwall
March 21st, 2012

Thanks for asking. You'll find this with every electricity supplier. The rate you pay for energy and delivery is 8.7 cents per kWh. On top of that are additional fees that are explained in the Electricity Facts Label. These are fees from Oncor, your delivery company (Advanced Meter Fee, Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Fee) or from the Public Utility Commission (PUCT Assessment). Email me at rbridges@championenergyservices.com and I can review your specific bill.

Champion Energy Services Responds May 7th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion

(4.8 / 5)

  Excellent service,no service problems encountered in the last 10 months since the begining of service.

Anonymous
September 3rd, 2011

Thanks! Glad you are enjoying your service with us!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 20th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(4.8 / 5)

  No problems with Champion. Price as expected.

Anonymous
March 30th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I left TXU after 25 years!!

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been very pleased. On average I am paying 50 to 75 % less than I did
with TXU! And am am getting all of my energy from wind ! TXU SUCKS!

T Myers from Hurst
June 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates!

(4.8 / 5)

  I was paying 17 cents/kWH with Reliant and when my contract was up I
found that Champion Energy had the lowest rates with a variety of plans.
I am now paying 10 cents/kWH!! What a deal!

NewtoChampion from Houston
October 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great experience for 1 year

(4.7 / 5)

  I used Champion energy for about 11 months now. No issues so far and never had to deal with customer service. The switch over from TXU was smooth without any incident. Great rates compares to TXU, but I do wish they offer slightly lower rates.

Love their online account management. Had to pay using bank information (ACH) to avoid fees, but that's ok. Get bills via email and snail mail on time. Also love that all prior bills are available via PDF files for download. Easy to track my usage.

It's overall a good experience. And they're offering a small discount to renew for the next year.

Tom C from Dallas
February 17th, 2012

Thanks for being a fan!

Champion Energy Services Responds June 14th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great service

(4.7 / 5)

  I would renew with them for the 3rd year in a row but found another comparable provider for less. I never had one problem during my time as a customer. Sad to leave.

K
July 15th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Compare Providers

(4.7 / 5)

  I'm on my second year with Champion Energy prior i had changed every year because i didn't feel the provider was giving me the best rate they could i also noticed when i contacted Champion and they went over my options they gave me the best rate over all compared to the others and if they continue doing there part i'll do mine.

Stephen Coates from Ennis
November 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good rates and service

(4.7 / 5)

  We have been using Champions Energy for almost 2 yrs now. Their rates are very low and we have never had any issues with our service. The only complaint is I wish we could pay with a Credit card and not have to pay a fee.

Kelly from Houston
August 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy customer

(4.6 / 5)

  Champion energy was great , bill was much lower them with my past electric co.

Michael C. from Waco
August 15th, 2018

Thanks for choosing Champion Energy Michael!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Maybe I should have stayed with Champion

(4.6 / 5)

  I found Champion on PowerToChoose two years ago when we moved to Texas. They got great reviews and offered competitive rates. The customer experience was really good - I always knew what was going on with my account, there were no surprises or glitches along the way. When renewal time came around this year, the rate increase was pretty substantial, which was to be expected to some extent because everyone's rates are rising. I cross-shopped and found another company that beat Champion's rate by a significant margin, so I switched.

Suffice it to say the customer experience with the new company hasn't been nearly as good as it was with Champion. Not everybody makes it as easy to business as they do. Don't take this for granted - it is possible to take a big step backward in this area by switching to another provider.

Rates still matter but, looking back, I'm much closer to indifferent on whether or not I should have renewed with Champion. Staying with them would have cost more and would also have avoided some headaches. If you're considering Champion and their rates are close enough for your liking to the cut-rate providers, there is definitely a case for choosing them. If they just made the renewal offer a little more attractive it would have been a no-brainer.

Prof D from Woodway
July 18th, 2018

Hi Joseph,
Thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you decided to part ways after a long run with us. While we try our best to have competitive rates in the market, we may not always be the cheapest. However, we will always provide you exceptional customer service.

We do hope that you do consider us again when your current contract is up for expiration. Email us at feedback@champion.energy to review rates with you when it's shopping time again.

Thanks!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very reliable

(4.6 / 5)

  No issues. Recommended!

Scott from The Colony
May 21st, 2018

Thanks Scott! Remember that you can always refer a friend to Champion Energy using your referral id to get a $50 bill credit too!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer. Just got my first bill. Very happy so far. You can get $50 credit if you want...

(4.6 / 5)

  I switched from another Texan electricity company who made one set of plans for new members and a much higher plans for existing members.

Champion Energy sent me a $50 promo for LED bulbs, offers a $50 credit for any new referrals (the referral also gets $50 credited to their first bill), and their communication has been excellent.

Every week they send an email containing a chart of my previous and current electricity usage, along with the related temperatures for those days/nights, plus they project how much your estimated bill will be for the month.

This level of communication has been a drastic difference from my old provider who offered none of this.

I hope that after my 2yr contract expires they continue to offer the same prices to me as a current customer as they did a new customer.

Steve Day from Spring
May 5th, 2018

Thanks for your feedback Steve! We're happy to have you as a customer!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company with great discounts

(4.6 / 5)

  I love their weekends free program! I haven't had any issues with them!

electricsaver from Grand Prairie
August 17th, 2017

We're so glad to hear you are loving your current plan! Thanks for being a loyal customer. We appreciate your business.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service, Good Prices

(4.6 / 5)

  Champion's prices are a little higher than some plans, but they're steady across usage, don't charge any monthly fees, and their customer service is great. I've been a big fan of theirs for awhile. They're a nice, easy provider with solid rates that you don't have to worry about scamming you.

Matt from Houston
March 14th, 2017

Thanks for being a loyal customer Matt! We appreciate your business!

Champion Energy Services Responds June 2nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely Happy I Switched

(4.6 / 5)

  I was previously using TXU energy and my bills were especially high for a one bedroom apartment. I decided to do my research and saw that Champion Energy had a lot of positive reviews compared to TXU's negative reviews. I decided to switch, that was about a year and a half ago and I have been happy every since! The only reason I put 4 stars for Billing is because there is no App for your phone to pay bills!

Megan Thompson from Dallas
September 2nd, 2015

Megan, Thanks for your feedback. We are evaluating the options for creating an App to pay bills. In the meantime we have several easy ways to pay your bill, including the option to set up recurring payments to never miss a bill.

Champion Energy Services Responds November 4th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied but Shopping

(4.6 / 5)

  Looking for a 100% Renewable plan - they only have 2 and there are several other providers that are less expensive. Liked the initial 6 month term that allows a short evaluation period, but wish they had a 24 - 36 month plan with a lower rate to lock in. Doing extensive research on complaints of all providers to make final decision. I have had no issues with Champion and the only reason I might leave is price.

Derek Barksdale from Euless
February 3rd, 2015

Derek, Thanks for sharing your feedback on your experiences with Champion. We may not always be the lowest price in the market but our rates are fair in the grand scheme of things without any hidden fees. We hope you choose to stay!

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

(4.6 / 5)

  It wasn't a difficult decision renewing when my contract came up. They've got good rates, green options, and our JD Power Rated #1 four years in a row.

The weekly power tracker emails are a great way to stay on top of your energy consumption.

Duncan from Houston Heights
September 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion has been excellent!

(4.6 / 5)

  Champion has been excellent! I have used them for about two years & no complaints. Customer Service has always been friendly; reliable service at a fair price!



Lauren from Dallas
August 25th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy defines Customer Service: Ms Bates

(4.6 / 5)

  I returned from a trip to a disconnect notice....in the course of trying to resolve the issue I met Allison Bates in Champion's customer service dept. She was positive and very communicative while resolving the issue. It was almost a bit sad when the problem was solved and I returned to just receiving great service and reasonable rates. In Houston Texas you really need to be able to depend on your electric company .....but you should know that this customer CAREs because of your quality customer care

Wednesday Reaves from Houston
August 7th, 2014

Thanks for your feedback regarding one of our employees, Allison. We will be sure to let her know of your kind words.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 28th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far champion energy has been great.

(4.6 / 5)

  So far champion energy has been great. I received $25 off my first bill using a referral ID code, and you can get the discount using the referral ID

Rudy from Corpus Christi
May 13th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have been using Champion Energy for over a year

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been using Champion Energy for over a year and am very satisfied with their service. Best Customer Service among peers.

Amit from Fort Worth
April 2nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXCELLENT!!!

(4.6 / 5)

 
Champion Energy has been great! They have a reliable service with a competitive price.

hugo from Plano
March 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Swilkerson48241

(4.6 / 5)

  So far so good. Great and helpful customer service!

Shelby from Stephenville
December 23rd, 2013

Thanks Shelby!

Champion Energy Services Responds January 10th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the cheapest, but no hidden fees.

(4.6 / 5)

  Excellent energy company. Competitive rates overall. Not the cheapest company but there are no hidden fees and the customer service is excellent. The best part is the easy online bill pay and the weekly usage emails. Its a handy tool to regulate how much power your family uses. Ive saved quite a bit of money just being able to see my usage and changing some simple things. Great customer referral plan. Use my code KNupson55057 and we both get a $25 credit on our bills. Overall a great company to work with.

Kyle from San Angelo
November 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WE ARE A YOUNG SIMPLE COUPLE AND WE WANTED A SIMPLY GOOD DEAL

(4.6 / 5)

  We had been looking for an electric company for about as long as we where dreaming of an apartment....we where recommended by a family member who has had champion energy for two years but we still did our own research, they're prices are so competitive when we finally decided on this provider out of all ten it was a week before our move in and it was 12a.m at first I got a very rude impatient lady....and I was not happy so I called the next day and spoke to a guy who knew about customer service he answered all my questions and joked around with me.....we are about to receive our first electric bill ever and I hope the deal is as good as the guy made it sound! I'm happy our process went smooth and quick less than 20min to sign up. on our move in day we had electricity! If my family recommends then I will too! I will update when I get my bill :)

Mrs. Garay from Houston
October 22nd, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry to hear that the first person you spoke with did not provide you with the exceptional customer care we typically give our customers. We'll investigate this further with the rep you spoke with. Welcome to Champion Energy. If you have any questions, email feedback@championenergyservices.com and we will take care of you.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 29th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely competitive

(4.6 / 5)

  10-7-13: I've read a lot of the previous reviews prior to posting this one, and, while I feel bad for those customers, my experience with Champion has been excellent. They wouldn't be the JD Power rated Top electricity provider three years in a row if they weren't doing a lot of things right. Here's been my experience:

1.) The weekly power tracker emails are easy to understand and extremely helpful.
2.) Whenever I have questions, the customer service people are pleasant and easy to work with.
3.) They have a referral program where you get a 25 dollar bill credit if someone uses your referral id when signing up.

On average, there rates were extremely competitive with every other company I shopped.

Jenna from Cypress
October 7th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Jenna. And our Connect-a-Friend Referral program gives customers the opportunity to lower their bills by earning referral credits for each friend they refer. Be sure to share your Referral ID with our sharing tools - https://www.championenergyservices.com/programs/referral-program/.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service

(4.6 / 5)

  The service has been excellent, but the rates are going up significantly this year.

Customer for a Year from Wylie
June 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Referral Code: ALathrom60558 Love Champion's new Power Tracker email

(4.6 / 5)

  I have had Champion for a couple of years now, and just renewed for another year. I have been very pleased with their service. I did have to pay a higher rate this year, but I did not find other comparable quality companies to be offering lower rates, so I stayed with Champion. They are very competitive. I like the new email too to remind me of where I am at on power usage. I can sign in to Smart Meter Texas for this also, but the email is more convenient.

Tina from Richardson
June 11th, 2013

Glad to hear that the PowerTrack email has been beneficial for you. We hope that this added feature will help customers analyze their usage.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Signing up? Use referral code LBryant13677

(4.6 / 5)

  Champion Energy has been great, so far! They have fair to low prices and they were even willing to "work" with me when a newly hired employee messed up when entering my service's start date. My power came on within two hours after I called customer service.

L Bryant from Dallas
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Surprisingly happy with a Texas power company!

(4.6 / 5)

  We moved here from Idaho where power among other utilities are much less expensive! We contracted with another company our 1st year frustrated with so many choices and we chose wrong!!! Our bill was insane!!! last summer we switched to Champion afraid of our 1st bill, but I was shocked at our savings! I have 3 kids that don't know how to turn off a light or shut a door! Along with other large power using appliances and keep my heat and air at 76 degrees all year and have never had a bill near $200.00. This isn't bad considering our house is ran by power alone. They have been very clear with charges and no confusing extras tacked on. If they ever do have a billing issue they put the consumer 1st. I never leave reviews but, I read them and felt champion energy has earned my review.

positive energy from Killeen
June 7th, 2012

Yeah!!!!!! So glad you like us, and we appreciate the positive energy!!!!

Champion Energy Services Responds June 28th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Pleased

(4.6 / 5)

  Have used Champion for 3 years. Competitive rates, no billing problems,
good customer service.

Bill from Fort Worth
January 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome prices- great service

(4.6 / 5)

  I have had a great experience with Champion Energy - the rates don't change, no hidden costs and friendly, prompt service. Compared to Reliant, it is like a breath of fresh air!
The only thing I do not like is being charged by a 3rd party to pay my bill online. I think if you want to pay your bill online, there should be no additional charge.

Glenna from Tomball
December 30th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

why the bad reviews?

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been happy with Champion Energy; from my
end of the electricity market, they have been very
good ... There was a time when I took a doofus
break and forgot to pay my bill.

I called Champion and customer service had me re-
connected that day.

Dale from Pasadena
October 16th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wheless review

(4.6 / 5)

  So far so good. I am very satisfied with the service and the pricing.

David Wheless from Houston
September 3rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best in Texas

(4.5 / 5)

  Outstanding customer service and pricing!!

JY from Wichita Falls
January 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bhsfm

(4.5 / 5)

  A friend recommended Champion because of low rates. Rates were low, but it did not mean that Champion did not take care of their customers.
I'm moving to state where Champion does not provide service. It's the only reason for my not
continuing to be a customer. During the transition they have been most helpful. With low cost and good service how can you go wrong with Champion.

Anonymous
October 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It lives up to its name!

(4.5 / 5)

  No problems!

M Wilson from Fort Worth
June 20th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely Pleased

(4.5 / 5)

  I switched from Stream Energy due to their high KWH rate about a year ago. Champion's rate was lower and it has showed in my electric bills especially during the summer months. Online payments are easy & free unlike Stream which charges you $2.95, I did not have to make a deposit and the change order went through just like it should. I have recommended this company to several people who have switched and are just as pleased as I have been. Thanks Champion!

Rhonda from San Angelo
April 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great

(4.4 / 5)

  I found it easy to set up the account online. One unique think I like is the email that lets me know how I am trending (my use) for the month. This helps with keeping within the budget.

Karen from Denison
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy, solid choice for electricity needs

(4.4 / 5)

  The process was simple and transparent. They send a weekly usage report which is very helpful in understanding how your energy consumption varies, by day and time relative to the outdoor temperatures. The billing services is easy to understand and straightforward.

sbrown21 from Humble
September 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switching made easy

(4.4 / 5)

  Very easy transition. Previous provider allowed rates to become very uncompetitive without ever offering a competitive altrnative. Champion provided a competitive rate, and had good reviews making this a low risk switch.

Craig Miller from Prosper
December 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good prices and very helpful

(4.4 / 5)

  They did a good job. No complaints or issues as of yet

M.Mitchell from Fort Worth
September 13th, 2017

We're so glad to hear you are enjoying your service with us!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I just signed up with Champion energy.

(4.4 / 5)

  I just signed up with Champion energy. I was with Sharyland and they deregulated, causing me to find a new provider. I tried to do my homework and found this review site. I am impressed with the reviews and what set them apart was someone with Champion monitors all reviews and responds to all of them. Good or bad. I called them to get service, but they didn't have Sharyland yet. I left them my phone number and thought no one would ever call me back. I was wrong! Paula called like she said she would. She looked at all the plans and got me setup in no time. Also while doing my homework, I found that they were on the JD Powers award web site and was the top of the list. I hope I don't sound like I am advertising for Champion, I was impressed with all I found. I hope I find that I made the right choice.

Charlie from Midland
August 6th, 2014

Thanks Charlie for choosing Champion Energy as your electricity provider when the Sharyland market opened up. We are happy to have you as a customer. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions!

Champion Energy Services Responds August 28th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Well I just signed on with Champion.

(4.4 / 5)

  Well I just signed on with Champion. Sharyland deregulated and I had to find a new REP. Did my investigating. Found Champion had JD power awards and someone always responds to every review on this website. So I called them and they were super nice and got me signed up. I used a referal ID I found here to save me $25 on my bill after 60 days. So, please use my ID to save you and me another $25.

Charlie from Midland
April 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent!

(4.4 / 5)

  Champion has been excellent. I've had them for just about a year now & no complaints! Reliable service; fair price.

For a $25 credit for us both, feel free to use "LBryant13677"

Lacy from Commerce
February 28th, 2014

Thanks Lacy!

Champion Energy Services Responds April 2nd, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing

(4.4 / 5)

  I've been with Champion for 2 yrs and it's time to renew again. Unfortunately the emails they are sending are so confusing. I KNOW the rates have gone up and I KNOW the amount you have to pay if you use less than 800 kilowatts has gone up. What I can't figure out is how much. It sounds like they are lumping the fees in but I don't know just which fees those are. I've been researching companies for a month now and have really decided this deregulation is not all it is cracked up to be. I will try calling tomorrow and see where that gets me.

Stephenie Weissinger from Deer Park
June 13th, 2013

Stephenie - We will reach out to you directly to explain our rates.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Referral ID: YWang12184

(4.4 / 5)

  Very satisfied after 12-month contract. Get in touch with CSR a couple times to change my payment method. Everything feel smooth and organized with this company!

Ryan from Dallas
May 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just recommended Champion to a friend.

(4.4 / 5)

  So I saw all the negative and positive reviews and thought that I should add my experience in so that newcomers can have a good picture of what signing on with Champion is like:

I've been with Champion for 3 and half years, and I signed on their Savings plan because it was the lowest in the area. There were some additional fees to the base rate that I had not been expecting, but they were not unreasonably high - only around $15 for meter reading and tax (and both my previous electric companies had comparable fees as well - TXU and Reliant). We had no problems with any of our bills, in fact, because we were a bit forgetful, we didn't always get around to sending the payment until a day before the due date. Regardless, we were never charged any late fees unless our payment was post-marked after the due date, which we were grateful for. When we renewed with them, it was because they sent us several reminders for a rate that was 2 cents less than the current rate.

When we moved apartments, we brought Champion over to the new address, but we had a few difficulties with the switch. Everything was switched over the day of our move-in, but we didn't get our bill in the mail. Champion called to inform us that our bill had been returned to their office, and was now past due. The address we gave was correct, but for some reason the mailman apparently had decided that we weren't in need of electricity. Champion resent the bill without charging late fees, and we switched to paperless billing and online payments, as there was no charge for doing so.

Our rates had increased a little bit with the renew, but the new place was larger and had older A/C units, so we were a bit surprised to see the first bill - in the heat of Texas summer, it was $80 higher than the old place. We recently got the units replaced, and the electricity bill has gone down significantly. The only things that have ever bugged me about our electric choice was that 1) I had to change my username online when we moved (I used to have the same username/password for all the bills so that I didn't have to memorize 6 different combinations), which was also annoying because I could no longer access my previous bills from the old apartment and 2) their green energy plan isn't cheaper - I would love it if they could offer a comparable 100% renewable plan, as there are some other companies tempting me away with cheaper, renewable options.

Any other issues I've had with electricity has always been Oncor's fault (charges/meter issues), so I really couldn't blame Champion for that. I personally have not had any problems with variable rates, but I have never been off of their fixed price contract.

S.M. from Dallas
July 10th, 2012

Hi SM, Thanks for all your positive words! We do require that cusotmers change their user name and password for new accounts, so we can accurately pull up the right account. Our 100% wind energy plan is priced at a premium because wind energy is actually more expensive than traditional energy. But it's only a small premium, typically 1/4 of a penny (.002) more than our standard energy. And it's MUCH cheaper than the power offered by other Green-only companies.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far, so good!

(4.4 / 5)

  I have only been a customer for 2 months but am pleased with their service thus far. My main reason for choosing Champion was because they offered a lower monthly fee for not meeting the minimum usage and their minimum usage amount was less than other companies. My last bill showed I used 854kwh which with my last company would have resulted in a $9.99 monthly fee. Fortunately, with Champion there was no additional fee. I was also able to take advantage of their $25 referral credit by using a code I found online.

Lyla Martinez from San Angelo
June 25th, 2012

Glad to have you as a customer. On your bill, you'll find your own personal referral ID -- when you refer a friend, you get a $25 bill credit, and they get a $25 bill credit. Check out our Connect-A-Friend Toolkit for ideas on how to spread the word to friends! http://www.championenergyservices.com/programs/referral-program/

Champion Energy Services Responds June 28th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The only good electric company I have had in years.

(4.4 / 5)

  Unfortunately, their prices are too high to renew with them right now.

Jason from Fort Worth
April 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion is pretty good

(4.4 / 5)

  After a year of good service from Champion, I am moving on. They did a fine job, but when my contract came up for renewal, they sent me a letter offering a renewal price. I did not act on it for almost 10 days, and when I did, that price was not available. No mention was made of deadlines, and it was still close to a month before my current contract expired. Other reputable companies still offer better prices, and I am moving on.

R. Bruce Meikle from Richardson
July 16th, 2011

Thanks for the positive review, even though you were not happy with the rates offered at renewal. At renewal, customers receive our published rates, which can change based on current wholesale energy prices. Our renewal notices always include the text, Rate listed is the energy charge per kilowatt-hour (kWh) and is valid as of xx/xx/xxxx. Rate offerings are subject to change at any time without notice. Once the customer locks in a rate, that rate is fixed for the term of their agreement.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Electric Company I've had so far!!

(4.4 / 5)

  No worries with Champion - great rates and customer service -
Everything is as they tell you it will be - My bills are the lowest they have
ever been in my 3 years of living in the metroplex! Perfect fit with no
problems at all -

Diane from Euless
May 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Company yet..

(4.3 / 5)

  Best company so far 4 months with them, not a problem. Yea there
smaller and do have some billing issues at times, but they are ranked 1
with JD power and associates..I would def recommend them over other
providers I have tried.

i munoz from Houston
February 10th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheap and no problems

(4.2 / 5)

  It's only been two months, but we've had no problems since starting.

Sam from Richardson
October 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New company

(4.2 / 5)

  Only with company few months. I'm pleased with service so far.
Had a very deceptive, pricey, poor- customer -service company (Go Griddy) before changing to Champion.

Cecilia M. from Sugar Land
October 3rd, 2018

Thanks for your feedback Cecilia. Hopefully we can turn those few months into a few years staying with Champion!:)

Champion Energy Services Responds October 9th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Service

(4.2 / 5)

  Except for paying the bill, I expect my relationship with a service provider to be completely uneventful. I should be able to take it for granted that it will provide the energy I need when I need it. Champion does not disappoint. I am very pleased with my service.

Carlos from Cedar Hill
February 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints. No Stress.

(4.2 / 5)

  I have had no issues with Champion Energy. It is obvious they win their customers with good service and no shady business. I've renewed with them even if it meant losing another bonus offer because I don't want to deal with other people.

Bobby Schmurda from Houston
September 26th, 2017

Hi Bobby, Thank you so much for being such a loyal customer! We truly appreciate having your business!

Champion Energy Services Responds September 29th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Finally happy with an electric provider

(4.2 / 5)

  This is my 4th electric company. And, so far the best. Their rates are reasonable. The usage emails are helpful and nice to compare with the previous month. Customer service is helpful and friendly. I have had bad luck with other companies. Hidden fees and horrible customer service. I will highly recommend Champion.

E Berger from Bellaire
March 3rd, 2015

Thanks for choosing us. We hope to be your last electricity company and that you stay with us for years to come!

Champion Energy Services Responds November 5th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall Good Company

(4.2 / 5)

  Very good customer service. The only problem we had was online bill pay. Their website sucks when it comes to paying your bill. You can't set up an account to pay from and have to reenter the info over and over again each month. After paying online you can't get a good print out of your confirmation. Other then this we had no other problems and overall they are a good company to do business with. We would consider using them again.

Brad A Schofield from Keller
July 2nd, 2014

Brad, you are able to set up your payments online to store your payment information one time or recurring. If you run across any additional issues, email feedback@championenergyservices.com

Champion Energy Services Responds July 16th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Change of service

(4.2 / 5)

 
Please feel free to use referral Id TIson13077
We switched to Champion today based on customer service reviews and the low rates. We had to leave Reliant due to outrageous rates! Stay tuned to see how much our bill drops due to the switch.
With reliant our bill was $360-$490! Who can afford that?
Champion was very transparent and thats what I like to see!

Kayla from Temple
February 17th, 2014

Thanks Kayla! We always believe in transparency with no gimmicks or gotchas. What you signed up for is exactly what you get with no surprises.

Champion Energy Services Responds April 2nd, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company & service, but not as competitive

(4.2 / 5)

  I've had my service through Champion for around 2 years, but now making the jump to a competitor with significantly lower promotional rate for new customers. The competitor's customer ratings are similar, so I'm hoping for similar experience.

Phil from Colleyville
July 3rd, 2013

Phil, Make sure to mark your calendar for the "promotional rate" you signed up for as some providers will quickly change their lower promotional rate for new customers. Hope you check us out again in the future!

Champion Energy Services Responds August 2nd, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very solid company

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been with Champion for 3+ years. Very good company, however they are not competitive any more. I am taking some risks and switching to another one in a few days...

Mark Czer from Houston
June 18th, 2013

Thanks for being a customer Mark. Email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to see if there is anything we can do to keep you as a customer. If you decide to switch, please check your other provider's Electricity Facts Label for any hidden fees.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solar energy buy back

(4.2 / 5)

  Good experiences for 4 years. A friend who is a professional in energy management and conservation for businesses recommended them. He had dealt with several services providers and thought they had the best combo of price and service.

One regret: Wish they offered some type of buy back for excess solar energy

Greg G from Waco
February 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If you use under 1000 kWh

(4.2 / 5)

  I had to switch from the best company out there because they don't appreciate my efforts to conserve energy and now they (Spark Energy) will charge $8.99 if I go under 1000 kWh. Getting set up with Champion's online bill payment wasn't smooth like at Spark, but I think I did it. Clicked on several "set up recurring payment" links before I got one that actually did that. The first links took me to pay bill, which you can't do on first bill because it will incur a charge of like $4. My account still says I'm on one time payments, so we will see if I successfully enrolled. From reading other reviews, I know that I'd better be on top of it and be sure it all happened or I might get a disconnect notice. But Champion doesn't charge for under 1000. They do charge for under 500, but it is only about $5. So it is the company for the 'small fry'. They do have very patient customer service reps also, so if you stay on top of bill and call them, I'm sure everything should go fine. I think the bad reviews are from people who didn't read all the fine print. But at least if there is a problem, you can call in and talk to someone who can fix things. Call in a second time if you don't like the answer, because I did get several different answers from Customer service.

Vivian from Harlingen
January 9th, 2013

Vivian - we used to charge $4.95 for usage under 500 kilowatts. Contracts going forward will incur a $6.95 fee for usage under 800 kilowatts. This charge is still lower than many other providers out there. Also, in the future if you are not satisfied with your experience with our team, email feedback@championenergyservices.com for a quick response.

Champion Energy Services Responds March 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HAPPY USER

(4.2 / 5)

  EVERYTHING WAS AS CONTRACTED

NA from SUGAR LAND
January 19th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy Review

(4.1 / 5)

  Have used Champion for over 2 years now and have
not found a better company to go with.

MD Skaer from Houston
April 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy

(4.1 / 5)

  Had only great experience with Champion. Trying a service that is cheaper and will find out if I have as good service.

Gary from Katy
March 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ex TXU customer looking for new provider

(4 / 5)

  I was a 15 yr customer of TXU. We recently sold our home (much quicker then we thought we would) We are moving to an apt until we figure out what we want to do for our next long term home. Long story short we lost a small reward card ($50-$60) on a TXU reward program because we moved from our home 8 days before the end of the reward cycle. No exception made for a 15 yr customer,that was willing to signup for new servivce, just not until my new place is ready on Jan 9th. As I said we werent talking about much money, its the principle, no loyalty for long time customer.

So due to the above mentioned issue, we decided to shop for a new provider. I used texaselectricityratings.com and found that champion is one of the only companies that actually took the time to respond to both positive and negative ratings. That says a lot to me about the company. Based on mostly positive rating and the response from the company to the rating they are recieving, I'm signing up as a new customer.

John from Burleson
December 31st, 2015

John, We are happy to have you as a customer and try our best to answer both the positive and negative reviews to ultimately do what is right for our customers. If you have any questions along the way please reach out to us 24/7 at 877.653.5090.

Champion Energy Services Responds February 29th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy is a great choice.

(4 / 5)

  Champion Energy is a great choice. I trusted the reviews and was not disappointed. I am using the free weekend plan. Make sure you choose which one that suits your lifestyle the best.
Use Jchoi20692 as your referral code and get $25 off your first bill. I used someone's review referral code and it worked. Pass the favor on! :)

Joel Choi from Houston
September 27th, 2015

Our Free-Time 12 (Free Weekends) plan is great for customers like you who use a lot of their power on the weekends. Thanks for being a customer!

Champion Energy Services Responds November 4th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best in town!!!!!!!!

(4 / 5)

  I had called in to review the rates and Kayla was so patient and wonderful explaining the charges thoroughly and answering every question I had without leaving me with any doubts that this company was the best for me. I gurantee you I'll be referring my friends and family. Thank you Champion. You truly are the best in Texas.

Megan from Houston
August 27th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great energy company

(4 / 5)

  This company has been great so far. I like the usage report options you can view on the online account as well as the clear description of all the costs going into the total that is included with every bill. I picked this company because of its mostly good reviews and lower rates than most other places, also the lower minimum usage (800kwh) was more useful to me compared to other companies typical 1000kwh because I don't use a lot of electricity.

Additionally, By using referral code LCampbell20217 when you sign up for Champion Energy as your electricity company you can get $25 bill credit!

L. Campbell from Fort Worth
March 28th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I just signed up with Champion energy

(4 / 5)

  I just signed up with Champion energy. I was with Sharyland and they deregulated, causing me to find a new provider. I tried to do my homework and found this review site. I am impressed with the reviews and what set them apart was someone with Champion monitors all reviews and responds to all of them. Good or bad. I called them to get service, but they didn't have Sharyland yet. I left them my phone number and thought no one would ever call me back. I was wrong! Paula called like she said she would. She looked at all the plans and got me setup in no time. Also while doing my homework, I found that they were on the JD Powers award web site and was the top of the list. I hope I don't sound like I am advertising for Champion, I was impressed with all I found. I hope I find that I made the right choice.

Charlie from Midland
April 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Service So Far

(4 / 5)

  Our son was moving into an apartment at college, and we went with Champion Energy after researching other electricity providers, and felt they offered a competitive rate. Our dealings with customer service were positive. and so far our billing has been what we expected. Based on our experience with this company, we would recommend Champion Energy.

Becky Keefer from Fort Worth
October 3rd, 2013

Thanks for choosing Champion Energy for your son's apartment. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com if you have any questions.

Champion Energy Services Responds October 11th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switching over rates

(4 / 5)

  I have been with Champion 2 years and have had absolutely no problems. However, their rates are higher than I can get elsewhere. I live in a small house had sometimes go under 1000 kw/hr in a month - they don't charge a service fee unless you go under 800 kw/hr which is nice for those that are frugal with our natural resources. They are a good company - just wish I could still afford them.

Charlotte from Ft Worth
June 17th, 2013

Sorry to lose you as a customer Charlotte. Our minimum use fee is one of the lowest in this industry. While our fee is only $6.95 for usage under 800 kilowatts, others have been known to charge up to $19.95 for usage under 2000 kilowatts. Please check back with us again when your new contract expires.

Champion Energy Services Responds June 21st, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm happy with Champion energy services

(4 / 5)

  I'm a customer of champion energy services for 1 year. I'm happy with them and I'm going for a renewal.

Veer Konala from Plano
October 16th, 2012

Thanks for renewing, Veer!

Champion Energy Services Responds December 3rd, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We loved Champion - just wish their rates were more competitive these days!

(4 / 5)

  We've been Champion customers for three years and it's been a real delight. The rates we had when we started with them actually went down with each renewal. Unlike other companies, they do not seem to offer new customers better deals than current, loyal customers. Dealing with customer service has always been a pleasure as well - very short hold times and the reps are courteous and knowledgeable.

I just wish that their rates were more competitive. Our last 12 month contract expired, and they were almost a full cent higher than the competition so I went on a one month fixed rate extension that was competitive while I shopped around in the hope that Champion's rates for longer term agreements would drop in the interim. Unfortunately, that did not happen and the entire marketplace has actually gone up a little in the past 30 days. I was able to find a 'new customers only' offer from Reliant, who was our provider prior to Champion and have arranged to move to them. The Champion rep asked if she could see if they can do something to keep our business and I'm hoping they will be able to but otherwise we'll leave.

Gist of this review - Champion is great if you can get competitive rates from them but it seems that right now at least, you have to be willing to pay a premium for their service. (I hope I don't find that it would have been worth it but feel that we need to try a different company given the savings being offered.)

Marcy McGrady from Coppell
July 16th, 2012

Thanks for being a customer Marcy, we hope to welcome you back next year!

Champion Energy Services Responds August 13th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates are rising

(4 / 5)

  I've been with Champion for two years, but may have to change since they are now higher than other companies. I have been very pleased with them, and have had no problems. They just need to be competitive with their prices again.

C Miller from Ft Worth
May 30th, 2012

Mr or Ms. Miller -- thanks for your feedback. We work to balance competitive prices with our 24/7 award winning service, and have among the lowest complaint levels (per the Public Utility Commission). We hope to win your business again in the future!

Champion Energy Services Responds June 28th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Promotions! Great Rates!

(4 / 5)

  I am a first time apartment renter / bill payer and I chose Champion based on the several good reviews I saw on the company. So far I have been satisfied with the service and communication. After signing up, I have had to make several calls to verify online account information, and the customer service was great! They answered all of my questions and responded positively to any concerns. Their online web client is slightly clunky when trying to change info, but a quick chat with their reps fixed all issues I had and the account changes were immediately viewable. I have signed up for ACH transfer payments, and that went as smooth as possible, being deducted from my account next day! As far as rates go, The company seemed to have some of the lowest in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area I would definitely recommend Champion!

Corbin V from Irving
November 10th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BETTER BEST

(4 / 5)

  TRIED CHAMPION LAST YEAR AFTER BAD EXPERIENCES WITH FIRST CHOICE
AND RELIANT. CHAMPION DID EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID THEY WOULD
DO WITH NO MUMBO-JUMBO NOR HIDDEN RIPOFF CHARGES LIKE THE
ABOVE MENTIONED TWO. MY ONLY PET PEEVE IS THAT IF YOU PAY BY
CREDIT CARD THERE IS A $3.50 SERVICE CHARGE SO, I PAY BY MAIL AND
PAY 47 CENTS. AT THIS TIME (APRIL 16, 2011 AT 13:43) THEY ARE A TAD
HIGHER THAN OTHER PROVIDERS BUT MAKE UP FOR IT IN CLEAR
LANGUAGE OFFERS AND FAIR AND HONEST SERVICE!

SAM ROGERS/EL TEJON TEJANO from Dallas
April 16th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions