Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Chariot Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.6 of 5.
5 Stars
36%
 
4 Stars
16%
 
3 Stars
12%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
32%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Garcia Household

Chariot Energy !!!!
I like Chariot Energy, I love the weekly reports they give.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Garcia Household from Pasadena, TX on February 2nd, 2021


Our Analysis of Chariot Energy

Complaint Resolution
5.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Community Outreach
4.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
4.5 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
4.3 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Market Perception
2.1 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
0.6 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Chariot Energy !!!!
I like Chariot Energy, I love the weekly reports they give.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Garcia Household from Pasadena, TX on February 2nd, 2021
Very happy with them
Just switched from another provider. Very happy to use sustainable energy for such low price. Their website and customer service are very good, and they said they planted a tree on my behalf, which is a small thing but it's nice of them to have such projects. Highly recommended!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Tomball, TX on January 29th, 2020
Thank your for the glowing review! We're glad you value our services and hope to have your business for many years to come.
— Chariot Energy
Very pleased!
We found the process easy and the rates very acceptable. Very pleased with Chariot Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Watsons from Grand Prairi, TX on October 8th, 2019
Thank you for the glowing review! Glad you found the enrollment process to be so easy and we appreciate you instilling your trust in Chariot Energy.
— Chariot Energy
Totally painless.. great technology!
Enrollment process was seamless. No 'gotcha' stuff. Just simple low, fixed price. 100% clean power through solar farms in Texas!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mo Ali from Stafford, TX on August 21st, 2019
Mo, this is great to hear! We strive for transparency and glad you experienced that. We appreciate your business.
— Chariot Energy
Competitive Offers for Renewable Plans
Competitive rates and an easy signup process. They did a good job on their website and bill pay portal. Very intuitive and easy to use.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from Tomball, TX on August 19th, 2019
Thank you for the review Tim! Glad to hear you are enjoying our website and rates!
— Chariot Energy
Awesome
My bill is so low and no hidden fees, also 100% renewable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ashley from Spring, TX on August 14th, 2019
Ashley, we feel the same. There's no reason why clean power should cost more than power from other sources. Thanks for your business!
— Chariot Energy
Simple and Easy
Just received my first bill from Chariot - and they did as promised - no hidden fees - just a good rate. I think I just found my new forever electric provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cathy from Houston, TX on July 26th, 2019
This makes us happy, Cathy. Keep us in check and if there's ever an unlikely moment we're you're having doubt or concern with Chariot, please let us know. We appreciate your business!
— Chariot Energy
Clean Energy
I'm always trying to find ways to be more "green" in everything I do, this is an easy switch that I feel good about without a lot of $$!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cathy from Houston, TX on July 22nd, 2019
It's easy going green, Cathy. Or, at least, that's how we feel. Glad you made the switch to Chariot!
— Chariot Energy
No Pricing Gimmicks. Love the Solar!
It's great to know I am getting energy whose equivalent is generated by solar power. I also appreciate the clean pricing and EFL without the gimmicky fees and credits.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Katy, TX on July 11th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Survey
So far good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maria Kurvano from Del Rio, TX on January 31st, 2021
Good so far.
Everything went smoothly changing from our previous provider. Weekly emails detail our usage and monthly bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred from Weslaco, TX on August 19th, 2020
Thank you, Fred. We're so glad to hear the early indications of your Chariot Energy experience have been favorable. We appreciate your business!
— Chariot Energy
Amazing Company, AutoPay Needs Work
Chariot is a fantastic company. I love having affordable renewable energy powering everything in my house. Plus. it's really great getting an email detailing how my weekly and monthly electricity usage fluctuates--it really shows the impact that conservation efforts have.
The only complaint I've ever had was in regards to AutoPay: when I first set it up it doesn't tell you it has to be a certain number of days before the bill is due for it take effect. I ended up getting a late payment email, and when I called to clarify the customer service rep was very helpful. They took my payment right there and reduced the late fee I owed. I will be sticking with Chariot for as long as I am in Texas!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jacob from Haltom City, TX on June 27th, 2020
Jacob - Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate your patience with the auto-pay hiccup. Our customers are our most valuable form of feedback and we wouldn't be able to provide our customers with the best possible service, without feedback from folks like you. We're glad you've committed to us for the long haul.
— Chariot Energy
Set Up Auto Pay Day 1
I enjoy their weekly feedback on electric usage. The billing is a bit awkward but I called them and the autopay is working now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Adjuster from Trophy Club, TX on April 20th, 2020
Thank you for the kind words, Adjuster! We appreciate the feedback and will certainly review our billing process to identify opportunities for improvement. We're glad to hear you enjoy seeing your weekly usage report!
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Average billing is anything but
I have no issues with Chariot's rates or service. Their so-called "Budget Billing", however, is a crock. If you're expecting it to act like average billing from any other provider, think again. They actually reconcile the plan every six months, which means that a couple of months after the hot summer I received a bill for more than double the normal averaged bill. So instead of average billing all they're doing is kicking the can down the road for a few months. It would have been better to have paid the extra over the summer months. As my dear departed mother would have said, "Whoever came up with this doesn't have the sense God gave a billy goat." Rest assured that when my contract ends I'll be looking for a provider that understands the purpose of average billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathiec from Garland, TX on December 14th, 2020
Hello! We apologize this has been your experience with Chariot. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further and see if there is a better plan for you.
— Chariot Energy
Poor customer service
I get paid once a month and asked to have my due date moved forward by a FEW DAYS (like 3-5 days). They wouldn't change my due date because I wasn't drawing social security. We're in the middle of a pandemic, and this is how they treat their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CynAMe from Lake Worth, TX on September 15th, 2020
Hi there. I understand you have since spoken with our head of operations and customer care and we have reconciled this issue. We want you to know we value your business and appreciate your understanding and loyalty to Chariot Energy. If you ever have any additional questions, concerns or comments, please let us know by calling 855-524-2746.
— Chariot Energy
Month bill very High
Looks for watt details on bill i only switched for the cheaper watt but my bill is higher
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Issy from Missouri City, TX on June 27th, 2020
Issy, sorry to hear your bill went up. We are getting into peak usage season, when we're all using more electricity than normal. We'd love the opportunity to walk you through your bill to explain. Please shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com and someone will reach out to discuss. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss.
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Hidden fees
Went with a solar buyback plan. The CenterPoint fees are more than I pay for the electricity. In the winter, I should be be generating a credit. Instead, I'm paying 50$ a month. Summer is going to be rough.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CenterPoint Fees Outrageous from Spring, TX on December 28th, 2020
We are very sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your solar buyback plan! Centerpoint fees are not something that Chariot charges, but passes through. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further.
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Farmers Branch should not have recommended them!
My highest bill with old company was $127. Chariot said they would charge less. I just got a bill for $210! They cannot explain why. I find them very unhelpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frankie Reed from Farmers Branch, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi there. We take tremendous pride in our customer care and transparency and apologies for any confusion. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concern as this does not something Chariot Energy would do. Please reach out at your earliest convenience by calling 855-524-2746 or customercare@mychariotenergy.com.
— Chariot Energy
Terrible customer service if you call there number you will be on hold forever. .
I did not find a negative 5 stars on here for the customer service if your waiting for a live customer service agent good luck. And it did not matter how many times I changed my password I could not log into my account. I say run away as fast as you can. there prices looked cheaper than I was paying I'm not sure about the quality of there power. unless you want to sleep with your phone next to your pillow and pray that someone sees you waiting. this is why I hate giving reviews I am too honest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elbert from Odessa, TX on January 23rd, 2021
We're sorry to hear this! We hate for any of our customers to have a negative experience with Chariot Energy. Please give us a call, so we can make things right. 855-5-CHARIOT. You can also shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com. Our deepest apologies for this issue!
— Chariot Energy
Too High
This company is a scam. They are super expensive. The agents are rude each time I call in and they text my phone with wrong information.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Use This Company from Lewisville, TX on January 15th, 2021
Hello! We apologize this has been your experience with Chariot. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further.
— Chariot Energy
Customer service
I was lied to from the start.... I don't like being lied to, and will not do business with a company that lies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lied To A Customer from Dallas, TX on September 3rd, 2020
Hi there. We take tremendous pride in our customer care and transparency and apologies for any confusion. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concern as this does not something Chariot Energy would do. Please reach out at your earliest convenience by calling 855-524-2746 or customercare@mychariotenergy.com.
— Chariot Energy
Horrible ....
Did absolutely nothing for people who lost their income due to COVID19 - Bill was due on the June 4th ... late fees and disconnect notice received on the 8th .... 4 days late in a pandemic ... Good job Chariot Energy way to show your true colors... I will make sure to share your great business practices with the world. I am sure everyone will line up to do business with a company without compassion.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KDel from Richardson, TX on June 8th, 2020
KDel, we understand we're in uncertain times and have provided resources to help customers struggling to pay their bill on time during this pandemic. We also offer deferred payment options and will do what we can to help. In the future, please let us know if you need a little extra time paying your bill and we can discuss your options - we have several. Just give us a call at 855-524-2746.
— Chariot Energy
Disconnect Notice For One Business Day Late?
Please read this before you sign up with Chariot Energy! Each month, the due date changes...from the 6th then to the 5th the following month then to the 4th the following month, etc. Well, due to the due date changing each month, I was 1 Business Day Late & they charged me a disconnect fee of over $10 on an $80 Electric Bill. Yes, they put my account on Notice to be disconnected for being 1 business day late. Truly sad! I have never ever experienced being put on notice for disconnection for being late one business day with any other electricity company in my life.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rod from Houston, TX on April 6th, 2020
Hey Rod. Thanks for reaching out. We have provided a one-time courtesy credit of $10 to your account. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com or 855-5-CHARIOT.
— Chariot Energy
Disconnect Notice DNP Fee $10.37 + Late Fee 1.44 charged to account 2 days after Due date
Disconnect Notice DNP Fee $10.37 + Late Fee 1.44 charged to account 2 days after Due date .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Irate Fee Recipient from Tyler, TX on March 28th, 2020
Please give us a call or send us an email. We would like to address this with you directly and would be happy to provide you with a one-time courtesy credit on the late charge. Our email is customercare@mychariotenergy.com and phone number is 855-5-CHARIOT. Thank you for your business with Chariot Energy!
— Chariot Energy
Horrible Service
Get a bill 6-8 days before due and then you have 1 option to pay and that is auto bill or credit card over the phone because for some reason it takes 2-3 weeks for them to receive payment via mail or bank. Sounds like they are making up cost in late fees. Will be cancelling service with these people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry Customer from Houston, TX on January 8th, 2020
We're sorry to hear this! We hate for any of our customers to have a negative experience with Chariot Energy. Please give us a call, so we can make things right. 855-5-CHARIOT. You can also shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com. Our deepest apologies for this issue!
— Chariot Energy



Recommended Electricity Plans