Reviews for Constellation

Constellation logo

Texas Electricity Ratings's Gold Tier Providers are the best of the best in Texas electric. These are the best providers over the past year at providing customers and communities great service, stellar customer service, and top of the line resources, just to name a few things. When you select one of these providers, know you're choosing from among the best options in the Texas electric market.

The best review categories for Constellation are the order experience, with an average of 3.8 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 3.8 stars.


Recent Good Review from LLC

Great Experience
Easy to sign up all aspects of service originally promised have been met so far, making for a great experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LLC from Houston, TX on August 4th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

152 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great Experience
Easy to sign up all aspects of service originally promised have been met so far, making for a great experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LLC from Houston, TX on August 4th, 2021
Went back to them
Previously liked them ..a few years ago but the plan to reup wasn't sufficient...now back
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie from Pearland, TX on June 24th, 2021
Owner
This company cares about there customers and works with us threw our hard times
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christine Ferrel from Houston, TX on May 31st, 2021
Owner
This company cares about there customers and works with us threw our hard times
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christine Ferrel from Houston, TX on May 31st, 2021
Corinth Homeowner
Rates are good and I like the weekly updates estimating what monthly cost will be. This helps adjust usage quickly if needed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noel from Denton, TX on April 8th, 2021
Very Reasonable
The company I was with (Reliant) seemed to be a bit high and was going up, I looked at a few different companies and went with Constellation, I'm liking the prices so far, Nothing outrageous and fits my wallet.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S.Turner from Tyler, TX on March 15th, 2021
Review
Everything about my experience was amazing. From the minute I requested help on rates, explanation, I was incredibly impressed. Incredible service, attention and commitment to finding what I needed w a provider. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brock from Magnolia, TX on March 9th, 2021
New to Constellation and very Happy
I only signed up with Constellation about 2 months ago. So far so good. I was attracted by the price, terms of the agreement and other reviews.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ST from Dallas, TX on January 28th, 2021
Very pleased
I have tried several energy providers over the past few years and Constellation is by far the best!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kdalton from 75095 on October 4th, 2020
Constellation
Awesome experience & very easy to enroll and a lots of option to save.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joven Taberna from Sachse, TX on October 1st, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

148 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Currently pleased
Fairly easy to complete service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Fort Worth, TX on July 21st, 2021
Pretty Happy
Pricing for this electric company have been reasonable. During the winter storm NO price gouging, as a matter of fact my bill was lower than the previous month. Guess the truth will be in my next months bill. I will give an update.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary from Pasadena, TX on March 28th, 2021
New Experience
This has been a positive experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary B. from Katy, TX on October 16th, 2020
Read the EFL fine print
Order was easy. Account transfer no problem. First bill was higher than EFL facts said it was going to be. The distribution charge from the electric distributor was about $10 higher than what EFL said. Called Constellation and asked why, they said distribution charges had gone. They went up the first month after I switched. False advertising by Constellation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer In Houston from Kingwood, TX on October 7th, 2020
New electrical Source
I thought I was getting a little bit rate than the results
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert Mercer from Irving, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Decent company\Ok prices
Easy to set up, customer service is good..prices are mid way...chose company because previous used and they were above average and that's the type of company I want to work with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jace from Sherman, TX on September 11th, 2020
What can I say they bill me monthly for electricity
I had no issues with billing which is usually the cause to hate them. I had an issue with signing up since I had my credit locked. I wish they would tell online you who they use to check your credit so people can unfreeze or unlock their credit before hand. Like all electric company's they get you in with a good rate then charge a lot more to renew, but all companies do that. All that being said it was a good experience with them and I wish I could stay with them but on to the next with a better rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael H. from Mckinney, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Electricity
I have been pleased with the telling me how much electricity I am using and my bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Electrictiy from Aubrey, TX on August 24th, 2020
Expensive
Everything went smoothly transitioning to constellation. I dont about leaving them just yet as that will be coming up soon.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnston from Leonard, TX on August 21st, 2020
Electricity
I can't say anything negative - i get a weekly review on usage - so no surprises in the end when the bill comes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Loretta from Houston, TX on July 23rd, 2020


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Electric is ridiculously high!! As soon as we can switch we will be shopping for a cheaper services
Our electric is extremely way to high, $700 is ridiculous and then you can even get out of it because your contracted. Definitely shopping around for better prices.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Way To Expensive from Belton, TX on August 5th, 2020
Overall experience with the provider
Billing is very high during summer time
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Altaf Khan from on June 28th, 2020
Average
Online payments dont always get processed and had to submit payments manually, even though credit card info was already on file for autopay.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DMartin from Mission, TX on June 15th, 2020
Good
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erick from Houston, TX on April 12th, 2020
Constellation Energy
Billing is easy to read and understand, when it came time to renew I called and the customer service line was answered quickly, they spent time answering all of my questions to help me decide on the best plan for my needs. Pricing seems comparable to my last electric company before they were bought by Direct Energy who I do not recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karin Slough from Freeport, TX on April 2nd, 2020
"Authorized Representative" Option
I enroll our home, also two other accounts (older ladies, one is 93 and the other is 100) - in the application process, there is a place to include an "Authorized Representative" and I properly entered my name as an authorized representative - however, when calling customer service, I am NOT included as an authorized user on any of them - not possible to put the older ladies on the phone to authorize - including such toption is a good idea, but disregarding the "authorized user" is unforgiveable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Peter Manry from Houston, TX on November 14th, 2019
Fine at first
We were very happy with the price. very affordable and good service. but then it came time for renewal and I missed my time. the price jumped and now I have a ridiculous bill that I cant pay. I have been very unsuccessful at changing the plan to a lower rate. the website is useless for choosing a new plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janice from Temple, TX on August 25th, 2019
Review
Its been fine but the plan is very expensive for me, 300 bucks for 1 month is crazy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Cypress, TX on July 28th, 2019
Deceptive pricing
Posted prices are NOT what I'm paying.
That's ok. I'll stay with them for the one year contract but then I'm out.
Companies who play games like that get zero loyalty from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh Handler from Houston, TX on July 20th, 2019
Not completely as it seemed
We signed up with Constellation from Reliant due to the rate being lower. However, their fee to Centerpoint is higher which is really never spelled out. It's very difficult in comparing all of the providers since they all use a different format to explain their plans. Our first month my bill was higher than last year with Reliant. Hopefully we'll see an improvement during the hot summer months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hard To Know What You're Going To Be Paying from Cypress, TX on May 12th, 2019


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

72 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Misleading Customer Service Agent
Let me preface this by mentioning my experience in 2020 when renewing my service. The customer service agent was excellent, walking me through prices and selecting a plan that best fit my needs based on my usage going back to 2018.

When I contacted customer service to renew my contract in 2021 I requested a rate that works for me based on my usage, and was quoted 10.2 cents based on 1000 kwh. My usage usually hovers between 400 - 700 kwh, and I should have checked with him what the 500 kwh rate was... but going on my previous experience I trusted that it shouldn't be significantly higher than 10.2 cents.

It was 14.2 cents... a far cry from my previous rate of 11.3 cents. Did the customer service agent lie? No.

Did he clarify with me that his 10.2 c/kwh rate is nowhere close to the actual rate that I'd be paying according to my historical usage? No. I felt it was a deceitful tactic to say the least.

Moral of the story, don't make my mistake. Double check the EFL *before* you agree to renew.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Burke from Houston, TX on August 13th, 2021
Wow real jerks
We had constellation for two years. Paid on time, never had to actually talk to anyone and Oncor did all the work if there was a power outage. So we switched providers for a better deal. My wife accidentally forgot to pay the bill the 2nd to last month. I got no phone calls, no emails, zero notification until a pink slip showed up saying we had 10 days to pay or they're cutting off service - WOW. So I immediately paid the past due amount only to have a notification from their collections department show up two days later. Dude - I have a perfect payment history, its a flipping pandemic, you made zero attempt to contact me - this was such a sleazy move. I am so, so, so thankful we made the choice to leave. So they'll be great, just don't make any mistakes or you'll be dealing with their nonsense. Seriously - one missed payment with a perfect two year history. If I were constellation I would have called just to check on me to be sure everything was okay since it is so out of character. I cannot stress enough that I would not recommend constellation to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from Pflugerville, TX on September 29th, 2020
Was suckered into a 3 year contract
I was told the AEP delivery charges were included in my 0.9 cents plan. That's literally the only reason I agreed. I will be calling and speak to a supervisor to listen to the original sales call to dispute my contract. It's not right to lie to a customer to make a sale and lock them into a 3 year contract. This is dishonest and I won't stand for it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rebecca from San Benito, TX on August 5th, 2020
Nightmare
I transferred to constellation 2 week before service. I got an email saying I was confirmed and ready other service cut the electricity off but nothing was turned for over 8 hrs later. They lost my application..i had to go thru the entire process again. Just got my bill and without the bill credit it would be the highest in the last 5 yrs. Understand I put in a new unit 2 years ago. Not sure i will wait 11 months. I may pay the early penalty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nightmare from League City, TX on July 16th, 2020
Slow customer service response
They made error on ESID on contract and I have had a helluva time getting the rep to call me back to get it corrected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Corsicana Glass from Corsicana, TX on July 8th, 2020
Good price
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Faheem Uddin from Sugar Land, TX on July 8th, 2020
Operates poorly
I signed up for a new account. Despite telling them to start it on a specific date they went ahead and changed my plan immediately. They also never sent me the email containing my account informaiton resulting in me having to be on the phone with my previous and this company for several hours to no avail.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gil from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
Not happy with last bill
I was not aware of the surcharges over 60.00. If I knew this I wouldn't have chosen your company. I am a senior and on a fixed low monthly income. On just my social security. I can't afford it. I may have to break my contract and look elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NOT Happy from Tomball, TX on May 17th, 2020
Constellation???
Prices not bad. CS was horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Constellation Energy- ??? from Houston, TX on May 7th, 2020
On-line payment failed
Could not get the on-line pay system to work, even after several tries.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tommy Gibson from Christoval, TX on April 7th, 2020


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

186 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The Worst Energy Company In The World
This company called constellation would disconnect your power just to charge to several late fees. It takes 24 hr or longer for someone to get back to you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from Princeton, TX on December 6th, 2021
They Failed to Provide Service
I confirmed my contract start date in early July to match up with the end of my previous contract. I received multiple notices confirming the contract. After a month without a bill, I called, was told there was a database error and that it was fixed. A month later nothing had changed. I called in to be told my account was not active despite never being given notice of a delay or cancellation in my order. The service had defaulted to that of the apartment complex with disconnection fees because Constellation failed to provide service as agreed. I never received an explanation as to how this happen and once I was actually told they weren't providing service, I closed out the account to seek other service.

The price, if they actually provided service, was decent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stu from Houston, TX on September 7th, 2021
Website does not display what mail offer displays
Have tried to contact rep to renew with no response. should be able to do this online but website does not display what mail offer displays
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Friend Of No Friends from Houston, TX on September 6th, 2021
Bait and switch or outright lye when you call, by far the worst CS ever
Find another company. I can not record this enough.

Lets start at the plan. I called them to confirm and asked questions, I was told they charge buy the KWH, whatever I use, I get charged for, they confirmed the rate, so signed up as my previous contract was ending and they offered nothing at market rates. Set up to start, on the last day of my previous plan and the day my meter sends in its readings.

First bill come n a few days later for 150 bucks. I call them, they try to tell me my plan has a min charge of 159, Nope, then that I am prepaying for future usage, nope, so after 4 people finally get someone with average intelligence who can see it is wrong at my bill is correct.

After he first full month I get another bill. Again, charging incorrectly, charging me for almost twice my usage. Again I call, again chuck and jive. After multiple people finally get Simeon who can see something is off, but can not fix it. Get another and he stats telling me I clearly am stupid and can not understand math (side not, I hold a BS in mathameyics and a BS and MS in engineering, AND a MBA in finance, so clearly I have an ok understanding of math. After I get a claimed supervisor I get it partly corrected, atleast it is within 20 bucks of what it should be, bit I am done, 50 bucks to cxl worth every penny.
It 8 days into my moth and I start with another company. I get a bill for 748.24 cents. For 8 days and a 50 dollar fee.

Again, speak to several people, finally get s energy who comes up with 128 bucks, more than my average monthly bill the last 2 years.

I ask of an accounting, and a corrected bill.

I never got it, called again.

Now. Get a late notice. Call again, they refuse to send an invoice or tell me where they get the Balance due.

Still waiting.

Got another letter, but still no accounting. I pod it just t be done with this.

I highly recommend you find another company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris S from Arlington, TX on September 3rd, 2021
The worse liar
Is the worse expensive company with bunch of liars saying that will not going to have center point charger and we end up paying 500 dollars with center point we try to talk to them they know we are right but make everything worse very bad customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Magda Hussein from Houston, TX on August 22nd, 2021
Beware
I have been trying to cancel service since July 26.

I set up a move out they shut off early. Got it back on now refuse to turn off.

They are rude.

I get the run around and broken promises. The minute I mention puc they hang up and say they will leave it on. They have refused to disconnect and I do not live there. Now I switched my new hone and ready to fight paying that bill for old address or the eft fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PJ from Galveston, TX on August 5th, 2021
Lack if transparency
Called July 19 about 3PM with the intention of leaving GEXA. Plans and most reviews were pretty good. I asked the agent three very simple questions. Took 20 minutes to extract those answers. The questions were these. What is the price per kwh at 1000, 2000, and 3000. Was told the numbers would vary from the quoted rates. So I asked the questions another way. What is the highest kwh rate I would pay between 1000 and 2000, 2000 and 3000, and 3000 and 4000? Finally got answers after just flat insisting on them. Final question was: Will you send me those quotes in writing. Agent stated they would only send the 1000 kwh quote. Spoke to supervisor Daniel Garza. Again, went around the world to finally get the quotes I needed. However, would not agree to put the maximum kwh price in writing. Really disappointed in the lack of transparency on these calls. Would have signed up in 10 minutes if getting answers were not the equivalent of pulling a wisdom tooth whose roots were wrapped around the jawbone. What a shame. Was prepared to become a Constellation customer. Guess I should have tempered my expectations before I called. Really sad.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terence Gary from Cypress, TX on July 19th, 2021
Horrible Customer Service
Service not turned on as requested and agreed when I signed up for service so power was shut off when contractors trying to work. Customer service phone number required 20 minutes before I reached someone. Customer service claimed it was Oncor's fault. Oncor confirmed Constellation never submitted request. After 2 more hours, learned Constellation is a manual process and they didn't submit request. My contractors and I lost 4 hours of our day troubleshooting ourselves and waiting for power.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike In Dallas from Dallas, TX on June 1st, 2021
Long time customer
Have been with them for a couple years. Their prices are not great and the sneak in extra charges when setting you up initially. They did fix this for me, but only because I caught them and took the time to contact them. Then I had certain things removed from my account that they claimed would still be in effect and I did not find this out until it was needed. Shady.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Texas Cowboy from Houston, TX on April 7th, 2021
Rate abruptly doubled without notice.
Very dissatisfied with constellation. Planning to switch to another provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not A Good Provider from Grand Prairie, TX on February 20th, 2021