Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Constellation are the order experience, rated at 3.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.2 of 5.
5 Stars
25%
 
4 Stars
25%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
12%
 
1 Stars
30%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Noel

Corinth Homeowner
Rates are good and I like the weekly updates estimating what monthly cost will be. This helps adjust usage quickly if needed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noel from Hickory Creek, TX on April 8th, 2021


Our Analysis of Constellation

Rewards
4.5 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Community Outreach
4.3 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.2 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
4.1 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
2.8 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

148 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Corinth Homeowner
Rates are good and I like the weekly updates estimating what monthly cost will be. This helps adjust usage quickly if needed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noel from Hickory Creek, TX on April 8th, 2021
Very Reasonable
The company I was with (Reliant) seemed to be a bit high and was going up, I looked at a few different companies and went with Constellation, I'm liking the prices so far, Nothing outrageous and fits my wallet.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S.Turner from Tyler, TX on March 15th, 2021
Review
Everything about my experience was amazing. From the minute I requested help on rates, explanation, I was incredibly impressed. Incredible service, attention and commitment to finding what I needed w a provider. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brock from Magnolia, TX on March 9th, 2021
New to Constellation and very Happy
I only signed up with Constellation about 2 months ago. So far so good. I was attracted by the price, terms of the agreement and other reviews.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ST from Highland Park, TX on January 28th, 2021
Very pleased
I have tried several energy providers over the past few years and Constellation is by far the best!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kdalton from 75095 on October 4th, 2020
Constellation
Awesome experience & very easy to enroll and a lots of option to save.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joven Taberna from Sachse, TX on October 1st, 2020
Constellation was a suburb electric provider change.
Constellation filled our service request initiated through Texas Electricity Ratigs without any issues. Their billing is clear and concise with weekly updates to usage and approximate month to date billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Clay S. from Wall, TX on October 1st, 2020
Our experience with Constellation
Emailed weekly updates on usage. Posting payments quickly after receiving them. Good rates. Courteous Customer Care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SBA from Webster, TX on September 20th, 2020
Constellation Rocks!
No hassle.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Caroline from Lewisville, TX on September 4th, 2020
HAPPY CONSTELLATION REVIEW
I have enjoyed being with Constellation since I moved back to Houston. Never in my lifetime have I ever had such a lower priced Electric bill since living in Houston. AT one time HL& P-"RELIANT was the monopoly here in Houston. They charged more for my utility bill in my small apt as opposed to my larger home IN NW. I am so glad RELIANT energy now has other competitors.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RAYREY from Houston, TX on September 1st, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

147 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Pretty Happy
Pricing for this electric company have been reasonable. During the winter storm NO price gouging, as a matter of fact my bill was lower than the previous month. Guess the truth will be in my next months bill. I will give an update.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary from Pasadena, TX on March 28th, 2021
New Experience
This has been a positive experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary B. from Katy, TX on October 16th, 2020
Read the EFL fine print
Order was easy. Account transfer no problem. First bill was higher than EFL facts said it was going to be. The distribution charge from the electric distributor was about $10 higher than what EFL said. Called Constellation and asked why, they said distribution charges had gone. They went up the first month after I switched. False advertising by Constellation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer In Houston from Kingwood, TX on October 7th, 2020
New electrical Source
I thought I was getting a little bit rate than the results
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert Mercer from Irving, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Decent company\Ok prices
Easy to set up, customer service is good..prices are mid way...chose company because previous used and they were above average and that's the type of company I want to work with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jace from Southmayd, TX on September 11th, 2020
What can I say they bill me monthly for electricity
I had no issues with billing which is usually the cause to hate them. I had an issue with signing up since I had my credit locked. I wish they would tell online you who they use to check your credit so people can unfreeze or unlock their credit before hand. Like all electric company's they get you in with a good rate then charge a lot more to renew, but all companies do that. All that being said it was a good experience with them and I wish I could stay with them but on to the next with a better rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael H. from Mckinney, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Electricity
I have been pleased with the telling me how much electricity I am using and my bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Electrictiy from Tioga, TX on August 24th, 2020
Expensive
Everything went smoothly transitioning to constellation. I dont about leaving them just yet as that will be coming up soon.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnston from Leonard, TX on August 21st, 2020
Electricity
I can't say anything negative - i get a weekly review on usage - so no surprises in the end when the bill comes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Loretta from Houston, TX on July 23rd, 2020
Good experience
Good experience, about average prices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh from La Porte, TX on July 14th, 2020


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Electric is ridiculously high!! As soon as we can switch we will be shopping for a cheaper services
Our electric is extremely way to high, $700 is ridiculous and then you can even get out of it because your contracted. Definitely shopping around for better prices.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Way To Expensive from Temple, TX on August 5th, 2020
Overall experience with the provider
Billing is very high during summer time
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Altaf Khan from on June 28th, 2020
Average
Online payments dont always get processed and had to submit payments manually, even though credit card info was already on file for autopay.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DMartin from Palmview, TX on June 15th, 2020
Good
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erick from Houston, TX on April 12th, 2020
Constellation Energy
Billing is easy to read and understand, when it came time to renew I called and the customer service line was answered quickly, they spent time answering all of my questions to help me decide on the best plan for my needs. Pricing seems comparable to my last electric company before they were bought by Direct Energy who I do not recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karin Slough from Surfside, TX on April 2nd, 2020
"Authorized Representative" Option
I enroll our home, also two other accounts (older ladies, one is 93 and the other is 100) - in the application process, there is a place to include an "Authorized Representative" and I properly entered my name as an authorized representative - however, when calling customer service, I am NOT included as an authorized user on any of them - not possible to put the older ladies on the phone to authorize - including such toption is a good idea, but disregarding the "authorized user" is unforgiveable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Peter Manry from Houston, TX on November 14th, 2019
Fine at first
We were very happy with the price. very affordable and good service. but then it came time for renewal and I missed my time. the price jumped and now I have a ridiculous bill that I cant pay. I have been very unsuccessful at changing the plan to a lower rate. the website is useless for choosing a new plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janice from Temple, TX on August 25th, 2019
Review
Its been fine but the plan is very expensive for me, 300 bucks for 1 month is crazy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Houston, TX on July 28th, 2019
Deceptive pricing
Posted prices are NOT what I'm paying.
That's ok. I'll stay with them for the one year contract but then I'm out.
Companies who play games like that get zero loyalty from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh Handler from Houston, TX on July 20th, 2019
Not completely as it seemed
We signed up with Constellation from Reliant due to the rate being lower. However, their fee to Centerpoint is higher which is really never spelled out. It's very difficult in comparing all of the providers since they all use a different format to explain their plans. Our first month my bill was higher than last year with Reliant. Hopefully we'll see an improvement during the hot summer months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hard To Know What You're Going To Be Paying from Cypress, TX on May 12th, 2019


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

71 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Wow real jerks
We had constellation for two years. Paid on time, never had to actually talk to anyone and Oncor did all the work if there was a power outage. So we switched providers for a better deal. My wife accidentally forgot to pay the bill the 2nd to last month. I got no phone calls, no emails, zero notification until a pink slip showed up saying we had 10 days to pay or they're cutting off service - WOW. So I immediately paid the past due amount only to have a notification from their collections department show up two days later. Dude - I have a perfect payment history, its a flipping pandemic, you made zero attempt to contact me - this was such a sleazy move. I am so, so, so thankful we made the choice to leave. So they'll be great, just don't make any mistakes or you'll be dealing with their nonsense. Seriously - one missed payment with a perfect two year history. If I were constellation I would have called just to check on me to be sure everything was okay since it is so out of character. I cannot stress enough that I would not recommend constellation to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from Round Rock, TX on September 29th, 2020
Was suckered into a 3 year contract
I was told the AEP delivery charges were included in my 0.9 cents plan. That's literally the only reason I agreed. I will be calling and speak to a supervisor to listen to the original sales call to dispute my contract. It's not right to lie to a customer to make a sale and lock them into a 3 year contract. This is dishonest and I won't stand for it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rebecca from Harlingen, TX on August 5th, 2020
Nightmare
I transferred to constellation 2 week before service. I got an email saying I was confirmed and ready other service cut the electricity off but nothing was turned for over 8 hrs later. They lost my application..i had to go thru the entire process again. Just got my bill and without the bill credit it would be the highest in the last 5 yrs. Understand I put in a new unit 2 years ago. Not sure i will wait 11 months. I may pay the early penalty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nightmare from League City, TX on July 16th, 2020
Slow customer service response
They made error on ESID on contract and I have had a helluva time getting the rep to call me back to get it corrected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Corsicana Glass from Teague, TX on July 8th, 2020
Good price
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Faheem Uddin from Sugar Land, TX on July 8th, 2020
Operates poorly
I signed up for a new account. Despite telling them to start it on a specific date they went ahead and changed my plan immediately. They also never sent me the email containing my account informaiton resulting in me having to be on the phone with my previous and this company for several hours to no avail.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gil from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
Not happy with last bill
I was not aware of the surcharges over 60.00. If I knew this I wouldn't have chosen your company. I am a senior and on a fixed low monthly income. On just my social security. I can't afford it. I may have to break my contract and look elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NOT Happy from Tomball, TX on May 17th, 2020
Constellation???
Prices not bad. CS was horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Constellation Energy- ??? from Houston, TX on May 7th, 2020
On-line payment failed
Could not get the on-line pay system to work, even after several tries.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tommy Gibson from San Angelo, TX on April 7th, 2020
Started out on the wrong foot
My first bill was for 4 days and $95 where $89 was for penalties for not using a certain amount of electricity. Why bill me for 4 days? They did refund me the $89 but it took 2 billing periods. Seems like they like to make "errors" and see if you catch them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael H from Mckinney, TX on December 5th, 2019


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

178 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Long time customer
Have been with them for a couple years. Their prices are not great and the sneak in extra charges when setting you up initially. They did fix this for me, but only because I caught them and took the time to contact them. Then I had certain things removed from my account that they claimed would still be in effect and I did not find this out until it was needed. Shady.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Texas Cowboy from Webster, TX on April 7th, 2021
Rate abruptly doubled without notice.
Very dissatisfied with constellation. Planning to switch to another provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not A Good Provider from Grand Prairie, TX on February 20th, 2021
Horrible
Got a really high 1st bill for 21 days service not even used ac or heat
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tracy Gardner from Houston, TX on February 13th, 2021
Liars
I was not happy with my electric company, because my bills were running around $300+ a month. I spent $4,000 getting my A/C unit updated, which was supposed to save me on my electric bill. A salesman came to the door pushing Constellation and showed me numbers that guaranteed that they could cut my bill by at least $100/month. It was mumbo jumbo about how they figured the bill differently in the way that Texas New Mexico Power got its cut. I thought I would give them a try. Worst decision I ever made. The first bill was cheaper than my old plan. After that, it went up and up. My bill now for JANUARY is $387. That is the highest bill ever for my one-story, 3 bedroom house. I was going to cancel, and they informed me I had a 2-year contract. That's not correct, as I would never sign up for that long with a company I am trying out. Somehow, they slipped that in without my permission. What a rip-off. I will never use this company again. Don't believe whatever they tell you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lorraine from Pearland, TX on February 10th, 2021
2 hours per month to pay bill
Every month same run around to pay bill takes well over 1 hour
to pay bill online
all my other on line bills take only minutes
CONSTALLATION IS DOING SOMETHING WRONG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Richard from Harlingen, TX on November 10th, 2020
Constellation energy bad to deal with
Constellation has been difficult to get hold of, always at least one hour on hold. When i cancelled service to move to better provider i was immediately put on a variable rate plan without my knowledge that more than tripled my bill. When i contested this i was told that there was nothing they could do about it.

Do not use this company!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David S from Houston, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Avoid
They have terrible customer service.
They did not stop my previous provider although they said they would
Impossible to get through to them, by phone or chat
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allen from Houston, TX on August 24th, 2020
Will not follow through on transferring service
Sold the business and they have dropped transferring the service to the new owner for a month with multiple contacts from each party
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pet Hopsital from Moran, TX on August 17th, 2020
Con artists
I was never told about "hidden charges". My bill was over a hundred dollars more than with a previous company. Do not switch to this provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Deception from Wichita Falls, TX on August 5th, 2020
Fraudulent Charges, Scam-like Business
Constellation is the WORST electricity provider!

I was a loyal customer of theirs for eleven (11) years!

When I transferred their service from one address to another, they locked me out of my existing account, making it impossible for me to pay any bills from my old address.

They charged me my ENTIRE electricity bill for four days of service (the overlap period between addresses).

Now they have a Collections Agency bugging me to pay their FRAUDULENT charges. And folks like you and I are powerless to stop these greedy corporations from acting like highway bandits!

They have apparently sold the debt (for pennies on the dollar I'm sure) to the notorious collection agency, McCarthy Burgess & Wolff.

These folks are beyond unscrupulous and the fact that Constellation does business with them tells me all I need to know about them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dwight from Houston, TX on July 30th, 2020


All Constellation Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Best 'Bill Credit' Plan
12 month
Bill Credit
8.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$106 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Great Rates for Any Size Home!
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $106 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $109 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $109 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month