Star Tex Power - Hidden Rate Increases

(1.8 / 5)

  Star Tex Power raised my rates without any notice; my bill went from my fixed rate of 11 cents to over 20 cents per kilowatt! I didn't even notice for two months; when we called to ask why they didn't contact us about our contract expiring, the customer service rep said "we got too many complaints for calling, so we quit doing that..." Up until my contract expired, I was fairly happy with Star Tex... now I would not recommend them based on my experience.

Geraldine from Katy
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst online systems ever

(1.8 / 5)

  First bill came in LESS than 2 weeks of service
Tried to sign up online and their system is down
Tried to call their customer service ...and no one answers ( during hours 0
First impression is this is a slockey outfit and not recommended

Susan from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid

(1.8 / 5)

  I chose Startex due to low cost. Order experience and initial contact was fine. Like some others here thought I failed to renew their contract one month and was hit with a massive bill. Started calling customer service and found them EXTREMELY UNHELPFUL and RUDE. I canceled my account. They still make daily collection calls even after payment arrangements have been made.

K from Euless
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Experience Trying to Cancel

(1.8 / 5)

  I had no problem with StarTex when I was a Customer. The problem came when I moved and had to cancel service. They charged a $150 early termination fee that they do very kindly offer to refund when you show proof that you moved. That was good news! The bad news is it's now been 7 months since I cancelled service and I STILL haven't received my full refund. It's been 7 months of back and forth emails and phone calls to get it resolved. I will say each person I've talked to has been very kind and professional, but the problem is they don't follow up when they say they will and haven't resolved the situation for an extraordinarily long amount of time. I have wasted so much time having to email and call to get this handled. They were a fine provider, rates were good, and the people are nice--but this experience has been so so frustrating.

Chelsea from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No phone answered all day Friday 2/14/2014 Ridiculous. Hire more help!

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been with Star Tex Power 3 years. Probably will switch. 12 month rates are too high.
Supervisors lied to me. Let a Manager try to get through. Good luck Constellation on your stock sales.
The mule kicks you once its the mules fault. Twice its your own.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

James H Barker from Zavalla
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$9.95 minimum usage charge on <1000 kwh doesn't make sense!!

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been a startex power customer for more than 3 years now. It's time for me to renew but was shocked to see the min charge increased from $4.99 to $9.95 and criteria changed from <500kwh to <1000kwh. I am a student and never use more than 1000kwh in a month. This is clearly a way to extract extra money from the customers as I will end up paying $120 a year just because I don't waste electricity! Outrageous!!
Highly disappointed by this move from Startex.

AS from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds August 8th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They used to be great

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been with Startex for about 3 years now, they used to be awesome. Starting in late 2013/Early 2014, they cannot seem to send monthly bills and now in April it is worse. I cannot even log into my account and SEE invoices. Since they seem to have problems sending invoices on a consistent basis, I have to remember to go login to see what I am being billed for. For whatever reason, now I can only see the total due, not the itemized bill. That is just NOT acceptable! Waiting a response as to why I cannot see my bill and when will I be able to!
Whatever their problems are, just seem to be getting worse

Danelle Ericson from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No good

(1.8 / 5)

  If you ever have anything out of the ordinary happen on your account, there is no way to get any help or answers without RIDICULOUS wait times on the phone. They don't have an estimate for the wait time, and the hold music is the most frustrating short loop that repeatedly gets your hopes up. I relocated recently, and my husband called to arrange power. Apparently, he wasn't primary on the old address so he couldn't cancel the old account but they let him set up the new one. I cancelled the old one a couple of days later. Now, they are trying to collect an early termination fee for the first account even though it was a relocation. I have sent them documentation multiple times by email, but they continue calling to pester me to collect the money. When I return the call, I can never wait long enough to get a person on the line. They answer the phone immediately, but that initial person can only take payments or sign up new accounts, not provide customer service. Never been more irritated with a company before. I hate them. But now under a new 3 year contract fml.

DSS from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(1.8 / 5)

  I been with Star Tex for 4 years.Never had any problems until now. I was told that I would not pay for service charge and then they decided they wanted to disconnect me. They had on recoed from anthor company that the service charge was droped cause I didn't have anybody come.Now they want me to pay for something that was droped. I would not recmind thid company at all.Customer service is so bad.

Don from Katy
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Almost as crappy as cirro

(1.8 / 5)

  But still bad enough to move companies, oursourced work- its hard to understand the people talking and them you and thats if the comm is working... poor setup, quick to cancel and bill you, but not as bad a cirro at least.

Sean from Cypress
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Promo

(1.6 / 5)

  Watch out when you are comparing rates. Star Tex currently advertises 8.5/kWh for their month to month plan, one of the lowest labeling it a "promotional rate". You have to assemble information from two separate places on their web site find out what "promotional" means. If you are a NEW customer, you only get this deceptive teaser rate for one month. After a new customer's first month, or if you are a Star Tex customer and your contract ends, the current month to month rate is really 12.6, which is about 25% higher and one of the highest month to month rates.

GBR
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

.14 c and .17c month to month trap

(1.6 / 5)

  I have been with them since 2007. When in a contract there are not many issues. I have 2 accounts with them on auto debit. One time they debited one account, but not the other and sent me disconnection notice and fees demand. Notice, both accounts use the same CC. Took the fees off, but not off my record. Hmm. I have been off the contract for who knows how long. My month to month rate right now is 14 and 17 cents. Quite a high rate compare with 8 cents you can find somewhere else. I called several months ago and they offered like 12 cents which is way higher than others. My son got a much cheaper promotional rate at his apartment as a new customer. I guess they don't care about loyal customers! Very dissapointing. On the other hand I like they offer auto debit by CC and more organized than some other outfits around. I lost a lot of money being month to month for a couple of years and ready to move my business somewhere else.

Ira S from Friendswood
May 30th, 2018

Ira, my name is Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President at StarTex Power. I would genuinely appreciate the opportunity to review your accounts and address your concerns. Could you please be so kind as to contact me at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com? I look forward to hearing from you.

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expect 250% jump on your electricity rate when you forget to renew contract with this company

(1.6 / 5)

  Being a loyal customer with Startex for years, I recommend the company to my friends when they ask for suggestions, as I got the impression that their customer service was excellent.

Not when I got a $220+ bill which is twice as much as I have ever received. The reason? They changed the way to renew your policy when contract expires. Instead of variable (or flexible) rate they used to put your account on after contract expiration, they now have something called "transition" rate. Guess what? The rate is $20 cents/kwh. The only thing I'm glad about? My normal electricity bill is only about $100. I could have got a heart attack if I got a $400 bill.

Run away from the company! That's my suggestion now if anybody ask for opinion.

Kang from Katy
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jeryce Clayton, Customer Experience Consultant at StarTex Power. Please email me at jclayton@startexpower.com. I look forward to assisting you.

Constellation Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

StarTex Processes Received Payments LATE

(1.6 / 5)

  I had been with StarTex for several years and have several homes (all StarTex). If the payments are not sent in at least 10 days early to StarTex office in Dallas, StarTex will start sending out "Late Notices". Called StarTex up, they insist that they process ALL received Bills the same day. BS!! I am tired trying to get my payments mailed in 2 weeks early, seeing how StarTex (now Constellation) can not get their act together or at least acknowledge that they have a problem, I have decided to take all my business to Champion. So long suckers!

Mark Lippert from Bacliff
May 30th, 2018

Hello Mark, I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you. It would be our pleasure to review your account. Please contact us at service@startexpower.com with your account information and we will be happy to investigate this issue for you. I hope to hear from you soon. Best regards

Constellation Responds April 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  I waited on the phone for 25mins, to be told I needed to talk to budget billing dept, waited for 15mins and hung up. Their reps are clueless, the co. needs to hire more staff.

Lance Hall from Richardson
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

StarTex is forcing the low usage customers to leave!

(1.6 / 5)

  I am facing the same minimum usage fee issue too!

StarTex paid no effort in retaining their current customers - and raise the minimum usage bar and penalty! They used to only charge $4.99 for usage below 500 kWh per month, but increased the fee to $9.33 for a minimum usage fee for 1000 kWh! Customer service rep is not helpful either and said there's nothing else she can do.

I hope Startex will keep their old policy to service users with lower usage (without penalizing them!)- or else they are just gonna drive their loyal customers away!

Ka Chan from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds August 8th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  Switched from Startex with their minimum usage fee to another company that does not have one. Startex owes me several hundred dollars from a balanced billing account. Four months later, I am still waiting for my refund. Calls and emails to their so called top notch Customer Service go nowhere.

Frustrated from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  We recently moved and have had the worst experience with cancelling this power company. We filled out the online request to cancel service and completed all requested steps, but still got a bill for the electricity for our home for the month following our move-out date. We have called customer service on three occasions and forwarded our email showing that we have cancelled our service yet they still won't fix this bill. I have called three times to fix this issue and have waited over an hour on hold each time. I would never recommend this service to anyone.

Beth Rogers from Rowlett
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deposit Refund

(1.6 / 5)

  After 1 month from final meter read, I had not received my deposit refund. I called, and was informed that is because I had not requested the deposit to be refunded. After my request, the refunded deposit was received 2 months after the final meter reading date. Unacceptable.

sb from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Still billing me at my old address after I moved

(1.6 / 5)

  After I moved, they continued to bill me at my old address. I transferred service to my new residence and disconnected at the house I sold. Somehow a new account number was created in my name that I could no see when I logged into my account. They billed me for 3 months of power usage for the house I sold. Called them and they will not come off wanting to be paid. Goodbye Startex - was a customer for 9 years. Thieves they are

Sven from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware their "late fee scam"

(1.5 / 5)

  Give yourself a good 5-7 business days prior to the due date if you
bank on-line, since they refuse to set up an electronic relationship
with anyone but Wells Fargo. 3 times I've gone through this. If you
send your payment through another bank along with your other
monthly bills, leave lots of lead time, otherwise you'll get a nice pink
greeting from them in the mail along with a late fee charged to their
next bill. Then, when you call to see what happened and ensure that
your service is still on, they make you feel like you, as the customer,
have done something wrong by banking on-line, and not going to one
of their preferred payment systems (mail, call their payment number
over the phone, or wells fargo). Excuse me for not wanting to jack
around with 20 different service providers and desiring to handle and
manage my bill payments through my own bank on-line. As soon as
my current contract expires, I will be leaving this provider.

Reasonable Guy from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the payment issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Note: StarTex Power offers several FREE, FAST, payment options for our customers convenience. Payments can be remitted over the phone at 1-866-917-8271 with a live agent, online on our website (www.StarTexPower.com), or 24/7 using our toll free automated payment and billing system, all free of charge. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Startex bait and switch

(1.5 / 5)

  Got Startex on their low price on the
powertochoose site. I didn't read the fine print,
and the price went from about 6 kwh to 16
kwh...why even have those bait and switch prices?
Just put your price up their and quit trying to
screw the people.

Anonymous from CC
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power sincerely apologizes for any frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email our Office of the President at jbell@startexpower.com. I look forward to assisting you!

Constellation Responds October 26th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cutomer Service - take a nap while you wait

(1.5 / 5)

  Website account management is problematic. I called customer service last month and had to wait for 22 minutes. I'm on the phone again, its over 28 minutes and no luck yet. Startex Power, where customers see stars. Service charges have doubled.

James from Irving
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

retired and moved to Texas ! july2011

(1.5 / 5)

  here is Our experience
DEREG's : (not one co. explains the convoluted plans, very very bad for NOOBS)
what that means ,is vast complexity !
we moved Texas July 26,2011
some how the company changed hands , last month.
and we got no bills for July. (we keep reserves for when we travel out of country.
I got no warning that my rate would go from 9 to 13 cents/kw ! ouch (floating bla bla's)
I called and asked why no bill. Lost or USPS?
I owed a tiny extra amount and CC it, now.
and then was told our contract expired.!
ok ,been here 1yr +15 days,. so signed back up.
(but odd how contract ended in june?)(not told)
but at the end of the week , i get a huge bill.
NOT HAPPY, with StarTEX power.
I will switch and pay the $150 if they dont
agree to correct my billing.
No email was sent to warn us.
not resolved.
NOOBS,nail the contract end date to the wall.
or get burnt. In Texas.
Set stat to 79F. (works great in summer)

avoid Teaser rates ! dont eat the worm....

Ichabod Mudd from E.Texas
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jennifer Bell, member of the management team at StarTex Power. Please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or call me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds September 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out your bill!!!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been with this company for over 3 years. I used to really happy with the rate they have to offer until this year. I did not receive any contract expire like I used to. The price went up and I did not know because they did not send me the bill in the mail any more. I called in to ask why I was not notified this year. The representative said it was sent out both in the mail and e-mail.. I checked many times from all the mails I had but not found. The new rate for renew changed from $4.99 for min 499 kWh to$9.45.. I told him I was offered from Reliant Energy with lower rate plus $150 credit, he said he cannot do anything about. Okay then.. time to say bye..

Nipapak K. from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and thank you for your feedback. StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns related to your contract expiration, as StarTex Power sends all Residential customers notice when their contract term is ending, at least 30 days prior to the contract end date. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, we would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, as our customers are our #1 Priority.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Whatch out for Star Tex contract

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been with Star Tex a few years and let contract expire, they go straight to the highest rate they can give you in my case from .9 to .14 increasing my bill by more than a third. They do not care about retaining there customers, I would not suggest them to any one, they give you the excuse of sorry that what it is, when just about every other company out there has month to month for about .10 average. THATS bad business policy and that's how you loose customers. Thanks Ken

KB Lue from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mr. Ken Lue to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds October 10th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT sign with StarTex

(1.4 / 5)

  I have never been so mistreated by a company in my life. They ran my payment through 7-10 days before it was authorized. They did reverse it however it took several days to correct on my end. During that time i acquired $280 in over drafts fees. They were credited to my account. They did the same thing a month later only they didn't correct it and only gave me 50% reimbursement of the fees. I had letters from my bank, bank statements and even allowed them to contact my local branch to get it resolved once and for all.

I want to say that StarTex WAS a wonderful company and we never had a single issue. Until CONSTELLATION bought them.

Not Happy from Weatherford
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's easy to start but to renew....

(1.4 / 5)

  Contract came to an end....they raised their rates (not a biggie) but when you try to renew....it's MORE! compared to what's in their mailings. You call and speak to someone, they play the tag game and send you to another operator in which you are on hold for a Loooooonnnnnnngggggg time! Finally gave up as it seems they don't care about my account so I left.....see ya StarTex!

Mike from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been a Star Tex customer for 4 years now. Customer Service Rates right up there with Charter Cable. If you enjoy being on hold for 30 minutes to 1 hour plus, then Star Tex is the Company for you. Since the billing change over in January they have consistently sent e-mails stating that my account is past due, even though I spent an hour on hold re-authorizingt my automatic draft account. They really need to get their act together or they will soon be hated as much as Charter Cable/TXU and the Rest of the MONOPOLYS.

Larry Ledbetter from Kennedale
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  During the past few months they went through some type of overhaul with their payments systems and it has caused a lot of issues. I even received a letter in the mail in the beginning of Feb. saying that I would receive a $25 credit to my account because they acknowledged the issues. It is now March 26th and I have yet to receive any type of credit to my account. I have never waited on their customer service line for less than an hour.

Dan from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO HONOR

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for electricity with Star Tex Power for the price of 4.7 cents per kwh for every monthly usage over 1000 kwh. If I go over 2000 kwh then its 5.4 cents. EVERY MONTH without exception they have OVER CHARGED me. I have addressed this matter and sought a resoluion EVERY MONTH. Even the mangers can't /won't fix it. Their response to me is that the rate is based off of the usage. Are they deaf ??/ My usage is in line with the price. I AM SICK OF THEIR EXCUSES, and refusal to honor the terms of the agreement. This company is corrupt, under handed, and deceitful. I will NEVER again use them.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!!

karen young from Sulphur Springs
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good riddance

(1.4 / 5)

  I was with StarTex for eight years and was happy until Constellation acquired them, but I just ditched them. Before Constellation, the phone got answered faster and they were willing to negotiate renewal rates to be competitive. Now you're likely to get stuck on hold when you call and they flatly refused to come off a rate that was 13% higher than a rate from a reputable competitor. Odd way to run a commodity business.

Mel from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful!!!

(1.3 / 5)

  I switched to StarTex after Texas Power began raising our rates into the $.22 range without notice that our plan had expired. StarTex was great at first, bills stayed low then found out they had been estimating for months. Long story short, ended up paying over $700 in one month ON TIME and they still disconnected us the day after I came home from the hospital after major surgery. It took hours and numerous threats to "supervisors" for them to admit I had payed my bills on time &amp; they never should have disconnected our service in the first place. Even the Oncor employee that came to disconnect us said that he has heard lots of complaints on StarTex. They claim to have great customer service but it is among the worst I have ever seen right behind TexasPower. Swithched to Champion and hoping for a better experience.

Amy Carnes from Odessa
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Nightmare

(1.3 / 5)

  Received a rediculousely high bill. Obviouse meter read error. Customer service representative was rude. Said probably high because of electric heat (I heat house with fireplace).

Startex power has been a nightmare, and once again, I am having a terrible time with customer service trying to get them to correct the meter misread.

CUSTOMER BEWARE . . . STAY AWAY!

T. Jacjson
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Expensive - 6 years loyal customer

(1.3 / 5)

  Was a 6 year loyal customer, no longer. Their rates are no longer competitive and now they are charging an additional $9.95 because I don't use ENOUGH electricity. Really. Called and stated I would not be renewing and customer service could have cared less. Bye bye.

Will Wisenbaker from Irving
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds March 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thanks StarTex for charging $9.95 per month to use LESS electricity!

(1.3 / 5)

  I've been a StarTex power customer for 2 years and my renewal is approaching. To my surprise StarTex has decided to increase the penalty for conserving electricity from $4.99 to $9.95 per month and raised the usage from <500kwh to <1000kwh. Use LESS pay MORE. What a deal! I called Customer Service and was basically told 'too bad, so sad'. It's time to start shopping again and I suggest you do the same.

KH from Plano
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No More!!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Watch out if your contract runs out. I did and my bill doubled in price. I will not be jobbed by them anymore. This after 5 years, they are no help with it either.

Troy from Waco
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jeryce Clayton, Customer Experience Consultant at StarTex Power. Please email me at jclayton@startexpower.com. I look forward to assisting you.

Constellation Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Broken Promises & Horrible CS from a former great company

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been with Startex for over 3 years and had nothing but praise until Constellation took over. When renewing the new offered rates charged 9.95 for low use. I called to cancel and was offered to stay at same rate I previously had. When my contract was not updated and my bill was late I spent more then 20 hours on phone trying to get my bill and to get Startex to honor agreed on bill. It is now 7 months later and my bills are still messed up and I cannot get a straight answer from Customer Service or a promised call back from a supervisor. Something is seriously wrong with this company as they don't have the ability to bill correctly and customer service does not have the ability to resolve or correct any issue. In the past 7 months my bills have twice skipped months and I still don't believe they are charging me the correct rate. The really sad part is a call to this companies customer service will not resolve any issue.

Rob from Austin
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Little to Recommend

(1.2 / 5)

  StarTex was once independent and they were great. Then they were bought by Constellation Energy and it's been a nightmare ever since. They screwed up almost everyone's bills at one point and were impossible to reach during the fiasco. Further, they sent out delinquent notices due to their screw up. I asked for and received a letter stating so, just to cover my rear. Their plans are difficult to understand, which is saying something given how hard all of them are. Additionally, when my contract was up, I called them to see what they had available. I asked for the best price based on my service. They quoted me a plan based on at least 2000 kWh per month. Well, my average is only 1037 and I only hit 2000 or more four times in the last 28 months. But, wait, there's more. This first plan included (at no extra charge, just a higher rate!) Air Conditioning "insurance." Be very careful of such insurance plans. At best, they're simply prepaid inspections and at a very high price. So, I asked for a cheaper rate and after about 15 more minutes, I finally got to what their cheapest plan is. Why should one have to go through such nonsense to find the best rate?
So, given lousy customer service, rates that are on the high side, and statements that are a pain to retrieve, who needs StarTex/Constellation Power?

Texas Consumer from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Once Great - Not Anymore!

(1.2 / 5)

  Was a loyal customer for years, but recently their decline in customer service and care has made me reconsider. They were always so great about letting me know when my contract was about to expire (a huge perk in my opinion) and providing me different renewal plans with incentives based on length of service I could sign up for. This must be a thing of the past. I did not get a renewal notice this time (via email or postal mail) what I got was a big fat bill with outrageously charges once my contract had lapsed. I called customer services and they were anything but helpful - all they tried to do was push me into another contract. When I was on hold for nearly 10 minutes I had time to explore other much, much more reasonable options and told the customer service agent I'd be taking my business elsewhere. They couldn't care less. After over 5 years of customer loyalty, I feel that this company has gone downhill. I would not recommend them at all!

Troy from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SO MAD AT THIS COMPANY

(1.2 / 5)

  I MOVED AND ITS BEEN MORE THAN A MONTH AND THEY TOLD ME I WOUKD RECIVE MY WELCOME PACKET IN 7-10 BUSINESS DAYS AND WITH ALL THE INFORMATION I NEED. I HAVE CALLED THEM 3 TIMES IS TILL HAVENT RECIVED NOTHING AND THEY SENT ME A EMAIL THAT MU BILL.IS READY TO VIEW ONLINE AND I CREATED AN ACCOUNT SND IT JUST SHOWS ERROR I AM SOO MAD IM ON THE PHONE WAITIBG FOR THEM TO ANDWER ME THE WAIT TIME IS RIDICULES OMG. I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A BAD EXPERIENCE LIKE THIS SMH!!!!

ruby from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Left in the dark

(1.2 / 5)

  I was moving into a new home, scheduled my power to start, and a week into my new home, power off. Friday, 4:58PM. I call immediately, they tell me they have no record of my account or name, and there is nothing they can do until tomorrow, I'm given fake numbers to call back, fake operator names, and no power for 4 days.

The kicker is, the only reason my power came on, is because I gave up on Startex and switched to stream, who had my power on in less than 5 minutes after account creation.

Oregon Doner from Katy
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Rip Off

(1 / 5)

  My bill has went from approx. $189 a month, to $250 a month to this month of $424 Of course once they have angered you , then they want to offer better rates, and discounts. By this time the you are fed up... Call Texas Energy Choice, I phone call, and they find you the best rates, no $ out of pocket and they take care of everything Sorry Constellation You loose

RS-Dissatisfied from Houston
October 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEW CUSTOMER ONLY SCAM - PUC has been informed!

(1 / 5)

  I've used multiple provider for power in Texas over the last 5 years since deregulation kicked in. I've always gone to powertochoose to get the best deal when my previous contract expires. I did this recently and have learned that StarTex is now considering anyone who has used their service within the last 36 months to not be eligible for their best NEW CUSTOMER plans. In the past, the process was that if u were not an existing customer you were considered a NEW CUSTOMER.

Now StarTex has changed the rules to scam us. StarTex will publish a loss leader on powertochoose, but say you are not allowed to have that. They'll gladly sell you a plan that is more expensive so it's not that they think you are a risk. They just want to bait and switch users.

I've contacted my local congressman and he has had the PUC file a complaint about this bait and switch practice. Hopefully, this will be resolved to help the little guy.

AngryInRoundRock from Round Rock
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CAVEAT EMPTOR

(1 / 5)

  Purchase from Startex ever again? _ _ _ _ No.
I ordered a variable rate plan that started at a wonderful rate- about $0.072 per kw. They do mention that they can raise the price at their own discretion at any time. What they never mention in the terms is that yes, they are about to raise your rate after only one month of the promotional rate and yes, you will be shocked at how cavalier they are about dinging you once you have been roped in.
The idea that anyone would agree to have their rates raised by 64% after only one month (from 7.2 cents to 11.8) is so ludicrous that it won't enter into your thinking as a reasonable prospect, unless someone tells you in plain language that it will happen and that this is apparently routine business to Startex- hence my review here. Don't take a promotional rate unless you have done an exhaustive study of how your account will be handled after the first short period of service. They leave all mention of that out except by inference in "legalese".

Chuck G from Lindale
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mr. G to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds January 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(1 / 5)

  I was on a rate plan until this July and was very happy. I did not enter another because I knew I would be buying a home and was worried about breaking a contract. Even though I have been going month to month my bill has been good. Unfortunately I am forced to shop for another company because the new rate plans are very high. I have not had any issues, I love that I can go online and pay, and my bills were decent. They no longer offer any rate plans that are priced decent. I did try to call customer service to see if I could get a lower rate as a loyal customer but no luck.....so I will shop and read reviews until I find another company

ty
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STP Will Jack Up Your Rates If You're Not Paying Attention

(1 / 5)

  As many have noted, this company will sneakily jack up your rates if
you're not paying attention. They'll lure you in with a low introductory
rate, induce you to autopay your bills, then double your rate immediately
at the end of your term and hope it takes you a while to notice.
Exceptionally sketchy business model. I've used several providers and this
company is by far the worst.

Houston Customer from HOUSTON
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to assist you, as we do take customer service seriously. At your convenience, please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or contact me directly at 713-292-2551so that I may research what has transpired on your account. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have endured and look forward to assisting you. Jennifer Bell: Manager, Office of the President

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

StarTex stuck it to me!

(1 / 5)

  I had been with StarTex for several years and was happy with them until I received my bill yesterday. My variable rate excluding TDU surcharged increased 46%, from $.0879 to $.1286, from the June 2012 to July 2012 bill. I don't see how "market fluctuations" could account for such a huge increase. I checked their 12 month contract rate and StarTex is not offering competitive rates like they used to. Their current 12 month rate is $.108 kwh. For comparison I just signed a 12 month contract with Cirro for $.09 per kwh. Both quoted rates include fixed charges and are based on 1,000 kwh of usage. On the Power to Choose website about 70% of the competing 12 month plans are cheaper than StarTex. If your renewal is coming up with StarTex it is definitely time to shop.

Cody from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Hello Cody; I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you. It would be my pleasure to review your account. Please contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com. I hope to hear from you soon. Best regards, Jennifer Lewis

Constellation Responds July 27th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sold my Business-Still getting charged cancellation Fee?!!!

(1 / 5)

  In Dec. of 2011 I signed a 3 yr. contract expecting to be operating my business for another 10 yrs.
Unfortunetly, my parents in Vietnam (my homeland) have been sick and decided to sell my business
and move back home. The new owners and I have signed a Bill of Sale with no transferable debts,
contracts, liabilities, etc. They have other cleaners and have the same REP they have had for over 20 yrs. and will not transfer the contract with StarTex, Because of that I will have to pay thousands of
$7,000 in penalties. I am shocked, disheartened, because it will cost me to make this move and I cannot
afford that kind of cost. I asked the new owner to consider transferring,but his rate with his preferred
REP is .001 less. I cant blame them. Ive been told to file a complaint with PUC. Can anybody else help me? Should I hire and attorney? At this point the cost of an attorney may be less, if you can believe it.
I;ve told my story over and over and everyone tells me that it cannot be. But, the new owner does not have to enroll new move in with StarTex, not necessarily good for me. Please help me!!

Nguyen Bech from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of this company

(1 / 5)

  Beware of this company, I have been with them for five years, and I re-uped for 12 months each time. This last time they "lost" my sign up sheet, and when I noticed they were charging me .145 per klw vs .087 which is what they should have been charging me, they refused to do anything about it, except offer me twenty dollars off, if I would sign up again, no thanks, I moved on to Champion, who is by far the highest rated electrical co by JD Power, and this site as well. The best part is an even lower rate than this crooked co would offer me (.084) and don't bother with your phony offer to contact me from Startex which I see with ever complaint here, after three phone calls to even reach a supervisor, at Startex, I don't won't any more.

Mike Thurman from Mesquite
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Adios Startex

(1 / 5)

  They changed their billing system without notifying their customers. Exceedingly long hold times and no response to emails. Double billing, unexplained charges/credits, uninformed customer service reps, increased rates. Stay away folks.

Mike from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rotten service

(1 / 5)

  We've had StarTex for a couple of years now. We pay our bill on time.

Went on vacation, and Mrs paid the bill before we left. Get home, no power. Apparently she sent $119 and the bill was for $190. 10 days late with a "past due balance" and they see fit to turn out our power. Lost everything in the fridge and freezer because of it.

Customer service was not very sympathetic, and treat Mrs like we're some sort of trouble case. Now we have "reconnect fees" on top of our bill and lost groceries.

Helpful customer service my ass. What kind of company shuts off power that quickly, and with such a trivial reason?

Gummi from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused. It would be my pleasure to review your account. Please contact me directly at jclayton@startexpower.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Constellation Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM!!!

(1 / 5)

  BAD-BAD-BAD
I was told when I renewed my contract that there will b no monthly charge even if I didn't use the minimum monthly KW, but they did charge me $9.95 & after I requested to investigate what the rep told me on the ph, they said that I agreed to that, but when I told them to let me listen to the recorded conversation, they said no! They also didn't want to give me the address to their legal dept so I can send them a letter from my Atty.
DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS CO!!!
BAD-BAD-BAD

Adi Sharon from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Call us at 1-866-917-8271 and we will do our best to solve this issue for you.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Have a commercial building in McAllen Texas. I had ordered STARTEX to stop service due to a new tenant coming into the building. Low and behold STARTEX failed to stop service and tenant ran up a bill under my name. Then had a bill collector hounding me for the bill and was extremely rude and offensive. Having to clear up a problem created by STARTEX that should have been avoided by them. Definitely would not recommend and will never consider them due to bad service, ignoring my requests, and extremely rude unprofessional behavior.

Vicente from McAllen
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds November 20th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing sucks

(1 / 5)

  When I first signed on with them my bill was never more than 115. Now my bill is never less than 135. I've been having family tragedies and have been in and out of the city for the past 2 mths. The bill completely slipped my mind. So I figured it would roll over to the next and I would just pay it all one lump sum like most companies. HELL NO two weeks later I'm back in town and come home to no lights. They give you no lee way. I have 3yr old twin daughters this was an outrage for me and them. I call. And ask them can they reconnect and I could pay it the next morning when I get paid and the response I got was unfortunately our system is automatic and we can not restore power until the balance is paid in full and even then there is a reconnect fee. Miss me with the bs startex there is always a way. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. THEY DO NOT CARE FOR THE CUSTOMER. I'm switching to txu. I'd. Rather pay more and be service satisfied than deal with this scrappy company

Ty from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at Service@startexpower.com or call us at 866-917-8576. We look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds January 16th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Department Bad Bad Bad

(1 / 5)

  I had trouble with receiving my bills throughout by contract with this company. They sent me my last month bill but not my final bill, never sent me any notice of owing them money and then turned me over to a collection company for $43.50. Never, Never,Never do business with this company! You will regret it in the end.

Brad Peyton from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

Hello Mr. Peyton, We sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you. It would be our pleasure to review your account. Please contact us at Service@startexpower.com. We hope to hear from you soon. Best regards.

Constellation Responds January 16th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Warned

(1 / 5)

  After several years service and my contract ending, ST sent me a offer for renewed service. After filing the new service request I was under the impression of getting a new contract. After checking my last bill, I noticed my rate ($0.133) was not moved to the newer rate..!
What's the point of wasting the energy to contract for an additional period of time? So much for customer service. Bye, Bye Star Tex, you have a problem and I choose not to continue your service.

Gary Harvey from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your feedback. StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns related to your contract expiration, as StarTex Power sends all Residential customers notice when their contract term is ending, at least 30 days prior to the contract end date. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, we would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, as our customers are our #1 Priority.

Constellation Responds February 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company

(1 / 5)

  Avoid these guys at all cost. Downhill since
acquired!

Anonymous
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jennifer Bell, member of the management team at StarTex Power. Please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or call me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds August 12th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RATE CHANGED FROM 8.5 TO 14.4 KWH

(1 / 5)

  THE CONTRACT EXPIRED. THE RATE JUMPED FROM 8.5 TO 14.4 KWH. A PRICE THAT WAS NOT CONSISTENT WITH ANY OTHER RATES -- DEFINITELY A RIPOFF ! I OVERLOOKED THE EXPIRATION OF THE CONTRACT DUE TO A DEATH IN THE FAMILY AND NEVER GOT A NOTICE FROM STARTEX. I EXPLAINED THE SITUATION WITH THE SUPERVISOR. THE SUPERVISOR/COMPANY WOULD NOT GIVE ME A BREAK.

CHRIS from FORT WORTH
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Startex refuses to apply payment properly after I sent them copy of cancelled check

(1 / 5)

  I've been with Startex for a few years, and I have learned that they lack the competence to process 2 invoices (for 2 accounts I have) that I mailed them in their own envelope. They cashed the check but refused to apply the money to my accounts. Then they threatened to cut off my service if I didn't pay the amount due (of which the money had already been received, accepted and cashed!). I had to give them a credit card over the phone to stop my power from being cut off. I sent then a copy of the front and back of the cancelled check along with emails AND THEY STILL DIDN'T ALLOCATE THE FUNDS TO MY ACCOUNT PROPERLY.

Customer service is a joke as these folks dont even know how StarTex does the billing, how they apply funds received and then they tell me the computer allocates the money a certain way when its received. Well, if that's the case, why the heck do they have a line below the amount due on the invoice where we the customer are asked to fill in how we want the check allocated ??????? This alone is mis-representation and another scam to squeeze WRONGFUL late charges out of you.

Anyone out there know of a good lawyer to sue this company? I'm confident in a suit we can get their records of 1,000's of people they do this to all the time to add as additional plaintiffs.

Richard N. from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharged!

(1 / 5)

  I renewed with StarTex after my original contract ended and received a confirmation that my order was received. Three months later I figured out that my renewal had NOT gone through in spite of the confirmation I had received and that StarTex had been charging me much higher non contract rates. I had been overcharged several hundred dollars! It was an act of congress to get a refund! I will never do business with them again.

Beth from Flower Mound
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A sorry company

(1 / 5)

  After the switch, this company is worth a flip!

adrian watson from Burleson
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unfair overcharging & poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  Star Tex Piwer has claimed good customer service in the past. Now I would say that is in the past. They have over charged me. Representative's are rude and unhelpful. Forget about speaking to management. Be prepared to be labeled if you have problems with them. Labeled unfairly financially and with service.

Connie from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds April 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates keep going higher

(1 / 5)

  I have been with your business for years and I recently talked to your representative before April 10th for locking in low rates. Your rep said it would be 8.6 per kwH. She told me I could not lock in this rate. My contract will end May 24th, 2013. I am only able to lock in the rates after April 10th. She also told me the rates go up and down. It sounds like I have to call in every day to find low rates. I called again after April 10th and the rep told me it is now 8.9. Four days ago I called again and now it is 9.3. They transferred me to another department and they would give me it at 9.0. I said I have to think about it. Sounds like I can never get it back at 8.6 when I first called in. Your rates looks like it always goes up, never down. I think this is a game trap. I don't appreciate your customer service. I spent a lot of time calling in and it's not going low just high.

Alison from North Richland Hills
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds May 14th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry sorry people

(1 / 5)

  After 6 years with Startex I to stopped getting bills after changing my contract. I spoke with customer unservice 6 times no help. They promised they would not send a past due or turn off my service and now they are doing both. I'm running as far as I can. If they try to hit me with a termination fee I will pay it the same way they send there bills, never. Stick it where the sun don't shine Startex.

Robin Burke from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lack of customer convenience!!!

(1 / 5)

  I always had difficulty paying my bills due to lack of accessibility. My account was not accessible online to allow me to pay my bill more efficiently, despite my attempts to get this resolved, but it never was. The automated payment system would not recognize my account either, therefore I resorted to having to "hold for the next available customer service specialist" for at least half an hour "due to extremely high call volumes" to make my payments with a customer service representative each month. This was such a terrible experience! "At StarTex Power, customer service is our number one priority." ?? I would highly NOT recommend this company.

Unhappy User from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A bit misleading.

(1 / 5)

  A StarTex representative came knocking on my door with a story about a rate adjustment from Oncor to which I was entitled - I think that is what he meant. He spoke quickly and what he did say was not clear. As I asked him who and what StarTex was he replied "I'm not selling you anything." Clearly untrue. At that point I closed the door.

George from Keller
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our door to door salesmen. I assure you that our intent is to provide our customers with the best plan for their budget. Please call 1-866-917-8271 so that we can assist in solving this issue and finding you the right plan.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ever increasing rates

(1 / 5)

  I have been a long time startex customer. Their rates for renewals are higher than for new customers. SSDD, This company was great when it first started, now it's just doing what every other business does. Gets customers, treats them right for a while and then and then raises the bills and the plans.... not worth it anymore...

Stephanie from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback Stephanie; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds May 29th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE!!!! Incorrect charges, FOREVER WAIT TIME!!!

(1 / 5)

  Customer since 2011. GREAT COMPANY UNTIL A FEW MONTHS AGO.

My monthly bill(s) have more than TRIPLED (from$ 80.00 - $ 350.00) with NO ADDITIONAL ELECTRICITY USED! Have made SEVERAL calls. NO ONE HAS ANSWERS. Suggested we are turning all the lights on at one time....power surge.

LOCATION IS AN EMPTY NON RENTED LOCATION.

WAIT time for phone calls averaged well OVER the 30 minutes they project!! Today, I spent almost an hour waiting to speak to a representative. Several times I have been disconnected while they put me on hold to research this. Another 30 plus minutes on hold.... TOTALLY NOT ACCEPTABLE!

In their favor, once you speak to a representative, they are pleasant and try to be helpful. Unfortunately, their answers are generalized. Since December, I have asked to speak to a supervisor. 16 calls later, someone actually did call me back. They were going to look into the problem. Never heard back re: solution. So NOTHING HAS CHANGED. SO VERY UNHAPPY!!! BEWARE!!!!

SHOPPING FOR ANOTHER COMPANY!!!! STARTEK HAS LOST MY RESPECT!!!

Carolyn Wagner from Wharton
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch, Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  Their variable rate plan was great the first month, then the price per kwh doubled the second and subsequent months. They lure you with attractive rates. A bait and switch scheme for sure..

Steve T. from Magnolia
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concernss very seriously. The variable rate plan is not a fixed price protection. A variable plan is never recommended for more than a month because the rate can change at any time. Fixed price protection is what we like to offer. When StarTex Power offer a discounted variable rate, it is only good for 1 full service period and is something the customer have the right to select. StarTex Power would prefer a customer to select a fixed price plan to protect the rate for more than 1 month. If you would like to discuss this issue further please email your account information to Service@StarTexPower.com and we will be happy to assist you.

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What happened to this company?

(1 / 5)

  Didn't receive my March bill when I was expecting it. Finally, it showed up on line. I was billed for 832 kwh. The cost for electricity was about $90. They added an additional $1900.00 to the bill. It was itemized as a "check refund". When calling, the wait is usually over 45 minutes. I got ahold of a guy in another department who said he would e-mail my concerns to the appropriate department. The next day someone called and left me a voice mail saying they were working on it and would call me back. They didn't. They don't respond to e-mails. Finally spoke to another rep who couldn't explain the added charge. It's been almost a week and they still haven't corrected the bill. My contract expires this August. I'll be looking elsewhere. I have been with StarTex for about 4 years. I have never received such horrible customer service from anyone like this. Called Constellation....they don't seem to care. It's time for a PUC complaint.

Jeff Samuels from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

6 YEAR CUSTOMER----NOT ANYMORE

(1 / 5)

  Was a great company for 6 years, but they have now sold out to another comapany. Now they have too many hidden fees. Will not sign with them again.

ED from ABILENE
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Call us at 1-866-917-8271 and we will do our best to solve this issue for you.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Need to read your bill statement

(1 / 5)

  A note of advise: you need to read your monthly bill statement, and also be careful when you switch even after the contract expires. Additional charge is adding to your account every so often. Hate to call in every time to argue, but you can try to get over charged money back.

bob H from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your feedback. StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns related to your StarTex Power invoice. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, we would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, as our customers are our #1 Priority.

Constellation Responds July 25th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Fallen Way Down

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with StarTex last year because of the fabulous reviews. But I have been mightily disappointed. The difficulties with the website "upgrade" were bad enough, but now I received the notice that my renewal will be month-to-month at a much higher price, of course. No information given on the rate to renew for a year or any other period of time. I checked Power-to-Choose and found only a 3-month plan. I called customer twice because I didn't believe that, and the wait to speak to someone is 30 minutes!!! Who has time to be on hold for hour? What are they thinking? I emailed last week, got an automated response that it would be answered, and still no answer. So how on earth are you supposed to get a hold of these people in order to get information about renewal? I have no choice but to switch companies.

Hazel Greenberg from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  I was forced to use StarTex Power after a recent move. I have never dealt with a more incompetent company in all my life. Honestly. I have had numerous problems and tried every avenue they provide to resolve them. Wait time is always at least 30 minutes. Nobody ever calls me back. Nobody responds to complaint email or any email for that matter. Trust me, stay away.

Matt Elkins from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Dumb to Serve

(1 / 5)

  Some people are just simply too stupid to run a company of any kind. I sincerely doubt these idiots could operate a Lemonade stand much less an electric company. Service is a complete zero and their website looks like a Kindergarten class project gone wrong. It's not worth the trouble to save some money.

Raider from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Electric Company

(1 / 5)

  We moved from one house to new one. Both had Startex Power, they charge us more than $800 for early termination fee. We faxed them the lease for tho old house as they ask then they said it was separate account
Worst company ever deal with

Phil from Saginaw
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Seven year loyal customer bails out on Startex

(1 / 5)

  This was a great company. I got many friends to switch to them over the years. Now they are terrible. I gave them every chance to keep me as a customer. But customer service was terrible, rate plan options to renew were inflexible and expensive, and their recent billing changeover did not go well. Nice going Constellation...

Commish of TX from Frisco
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

unnecessary fees for no reason

(1 / 5)

  I had very bad experience with the billing of Star Tex Power. It has automatic bill payment through checking account and I have provided all the details and setup for automatic payments. After 2 weeks when I checked the Star Tex Power account online, I could still see the amount due and the bill was not processed trough my automatic payments. I provided my account details again for automatic payments and though this time it would process the billing. Later when I checked my Star Tex Power account online I could still see the online payment was not processed. I thought there is some issue with there billing system through bank account payments and I paid my bill through credit card. The payment was made on time and in the next month bill I could see Other charges as 40 $ I was not sure about that and called the customer care representative. He explained it was fees for not processing payment for my checking account, I explained him the all the effort I made to pay the bill, if the online payment system through checking account is not working from their end why should I pay for that. He said its their policy and he can't help. I don't understand if they are having issues with their bill payment system why customer has to pay for it. It ridiculous for no reason I had paid 40$. I understand there is not perfect world and every system has its own faults but it can be solved through analyzing the problem and make proper decision. If they are not ready to do, what is the use of customer care service. I am very much disappointed with the experience I had and I will never have this services again and never recommend to anyone. Very poor and disappointing experience.

Ashok from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Startex review

(1 / 5)

  real problems with online access can't sign on. In one instance it could not find my account when I did get on there was nothing there

Milton Fleming from Nacogdoches
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading reps.

(1 / 5)

  I was contacted by a rep by the name of Grant, to renew my commercial service contract. The best deal he quoted me was for a 4 year term at .04 something cents per kw. I signed a contract online but when I got my bill, it was for .05 something cents per kw. I have tried for over a month to contact this person, only to be put on hold for 10 minutes at a time, at which time I leave a message & they are SUPPOSED to call me back the 'next business day!' I have yet to receive a call back. Once I did get to talk to a live person but was told 'Grant' was on vacation & to call back Monday, which I did, only to be put on hold AGAIN! This company started out being a great company to do business with, back in 2011, but now, I would not recommend them to anyone!!!

BRENDA CHRISTIAN from CROCKETT
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They were great... not any more. Constellation is to blame.

(1 / 5)

  It all went down the toilet quick once Constellation completely took them over (2013). First they changed the website, which changed the bill payment system. Autopay doesn't work one month. It charges my card 5 times the next. Customer service is clueless after being on hold 75+ minutes.
Before the sale, I was never on hold longer than 5 minutes, and customer service was knowledgeable and could fix mistakes! Not anymore.
The rate I signed my contract changed - due to a "PUCT approved rate adjustment." They passed the charge on to me. It's their right - it says so in the contract.
It's also my right to leave them after my contract is up.
Marcie Zlotnik - you are deeply missed. She is no longer running things as of 2014.
What a shame.

Brian from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This Company has Gone DOWNHILL

(1 / 5)

  I have had about a dozen (12) rental properties with StarTex for 5 years. StarTex USED to have pretty good customer service. But since StarTex got bought by Constellation, the service at StarTex has gone downhill fast. I have elected to vote with my feet, I am renewing ALL of my previous StarTex accounts with another provider (Champion). Things may not work out to be perfect with the new provider, but I am sure that things cannot be as screwed up as things have gotten with StarTex.

David J from Bacliff
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

slammed on to month to month

(1 / 5)

  We had been Star Tex customers for some time. We renewed at a reasonable rate but the company slammed us on to a much higher month to month rate. When we finally caught it, they did nothing to to rectify it. Just another company trying to get and keep people on high month to month rates. PUC should shut these high complaint companies down.

Marc Rogers from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER EVER USE STARTEX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  By far the worst company ive ever dealt with in my life. I would rather not have electricity then use this TERRIBLE power company!!!! customer service is total trash!!! there service is even worse!!! They will cut your power off for no reason and refuse to turn it back on. AVOID STARTEX LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jon from Garland
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Theft

(1 / 5)

  This company took $150 for a deposit for services not rendered. I went through the lengthy "enrollment" and gave all required info, only to find when I moved to my new residence I had no electricity. When I called the representative said there was no record of me, ridiculed me for pointing out the charge on my credit card. Called again with the print out of my confirmation email. My son called (I had authorized him to talk about my account) and spoke to the "compliance" dept. He was told "enrollement" wasn't completed due to incorrect address entered by them. New acct. given, called to confirm the next day and was told: no record of me, my address, acct. # etc. Based on other reviews, I'm lucky I don't have a contract with them. Now I just have to get a charge back on my credit card due to services not rendered. I would tell anyone who is thinking about StarTex power company: They are thieves and liars.

Jay Moore from Mansfield
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Let the games begin or continue ...

(1 / 5)

  I signed-on and tried to see my renewal offer and after entering the renewal code the StarTex website pops up a message saying it doesn't appear I'm within a renewal period. That was FAIL#1. My service ends in 12 days which is within the 14 day window. So I called. Based on past calls to customer service I was prepared to be quickly annoyed. I asked for a 12 month quote. 7.1 cents per KWH and no minimum usage charge. I asked about a "base charge" (I have one on my current plan), then he mentions a "usage credit". That was FAIL#2. These providers are playing games! With all the credits, surcharges, etc. it's difficult to figure out what exactly YOU will be paying based on your usage. I opted to switch to a company that offered a reasonable flat rate per kwh + the Oncor delivery rate per kwh + 5.25 Oncor standard, and no minimum usage penalty fee, no base rate, and no "usage credit" B.S.. The combined rate is less than 7.1 cents and there's no telling what the parameters are at StarTex to get the 7.1. These companies are playing games to get themselves listed at a low 1 cent at the 1000 kwh level on powertochoose. I see one company that is 1 cent at the 1000 kwh but 11 cents at 2000 kwh which is what you'd probably be paying in the summer while running the A/C. The dishonesty and deception of the people running these companies is mind boggling! The "Electricity Facts Label" was supposed to simplify comparisons but the companies go out of their way to obfuscate their rates. As always, buyer beware.

Roscoe from Cedar Hill
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charge you and refuse to cancel your service

(1 / 5)

  Straight up scam. Bill was double what they quoted me and they continue to bill me after my contact expired and charge rediclulous "cancellation fees" to users that try and leave after their contact finished.

Sam
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

StarTex Power Idiocy

(1 / 5)

  I am not at this time a customer of StarTex Power but someone else's account has my phone number attached to it. StarTex will not remove my number because I am not the electricity account owner. That's just stupid and possibly a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Act. I've given up trying to get them to fix it. Their attitude is it's my problem and not theirs.

PattiB from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Call us at 1-866-917-8271 and we will do our best to solve this issue for you.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third party administrator claiming to be Oncor

(1 / 5)

  I've had several people with StarTex come to my door. Last month a young man came and stated he was with Oncor and after talking to him a bit he turns his clipboard over and it states StarTex. When I called him on it he denied everything and I had to tell him twice to leave. Today I had another gentleman show up and I told him I had already spoken to someone and he pushed the matter and when I told him about the incident last month he was not surprised.

Will lie to sell a plan from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with a door to door salesmen. I assure you that our intent is to provide our customers with the best plan for their budget. Please call 1-866-917-8271 so that we can assist in solving this issue and finding you the right plan.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no not keep deal/promos

(1 / 5)

  found cheaper plan, they would not offer same plan after contact up,so on last bill i did not get my usage credit, then they want to why i am leaving to another provider!!! i pay my bill on time and this is the way they treat you!!!

sorry co.. from Edinburg
May 30th, 2018

Thank you so much for informing us of your experience. We offer many different plans and would love to talk to you about finding one that would meet your needs. Call 1-866-917-8271 so that we can find the right plan for you.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$350 Security Deposit is a scam on the 3 month fixed plan April 2018

(1 / 5)

  Star Tex wanted a $350 Security Deposit on the 3 month fixed plan even though I have an above 800 credit score. I called and spoke with Constance. She told me that if I signed a 12 month contract, that I would get my $350 security deposit refunded at the end of 12 months if all payments were made on time. I asked her about the 3 month fixed rate plan that I was signing up for, and she told me that they would NOT return my security deposit at the end of the 3 month plan. THEY WOULD KEEP MY $350 SECURITY DEPOSIT EVEN IF I MADE MY PAYMENTS ON TIME.
BAIT AND SWITCH ALL DAY LONG.

Lindsey from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the confusion. All deposits are returned if payments are made. We will coach our Customer Care Team to ensure consistent understanding and communication of the deposit process. If you are still interested in our offers, please give us a call at 1-866-917-8271, and we can discuss your options.

Constellation Responds April 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions