I regret choosing constellation

(2.8 / 5)

  With my previous provider, I always paid on time with the exception of 3 times in 5 years when I made arrangements to pay at the end of the month due to unexpected bills. In Oct I I had car repair bills plus medical bills. I went to the constellation website and filled out a form requesting that I pay my bill 2 weeks later. I received a email back from constellation that it would be okay to do that. Being 73 and on Social Security I was very grateful that I could do that. In the past week before the extended due date I have received 2 phone calls from Constellation and a DISCONNECT NOTICE! I called the customer support number and asked them why they were harrassing me. They said that was their policy regardless if arrangements were made. I doubt that I will renew my contract with Constellation.

Barbara from Van Alstyne
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Met our needs

(2.8 / 5)

  Good price at the time, others are better now. No service or billing problems.

Dave from Ft Worth
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GREAT PRICE BAD SERVICE

(2.8 / 5)

  I was originally attracted to this company by their low rates and I have had service with them for over 2 years. That is until today, due to the Christmas holidays I was unable to make my payment due on the 2nd of Jan. So I figured I would make it with my next paycheck on the 15th. However, by the time I paid my power had been cut off and now I'm facing massive connect and disconnect fees. When I spoke to a customer service manager "NORA" she told me those were their policies and quite frankly I got the feeling she could care less about my disconnected service. In an effort to get some kind of reaction from her I even went as far as to tell her that it may be time to change electric companies to which she replied "I'm sorry you feel that way." Now I can go up to 2 days without power. Not sure if they know, but its "WINTER" AND I HAVE 3 CHILDREN!! LESSON LEARNED: With this company you are nothing more than an account number. They are quick to disconnect and leave you dark!

Ivan H from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds February 7th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates no longer competitive for long term loyal customers!

(2.8 / 5)

  Having been very happy with StarTex Power for the last 7 or so years, my annual contract is now up for renewal. Unfortunately their rates have soared and are no longer competitive. For a 12 month fixed contract they are offering 9.6c per kwh when competitors are offering 8.4c per kwh. Sorry StarTex. I've called a couple of times but was told this was your best offer. Hate to leave, but you leave me no choice. Maybe next year you'll offer me a better rate to come back???

MJohnson from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good at the beginning then prices went up

(2.8 / 5)

  I've had StarTexPower for a while now. Their promotional or beginning rates are good but since I moved to the new place, the price has gone up significanly (avg 13.69 cents, which is much higher than the initial price). Although I did not select the fixed option, increase from 5.2 cents to 13.69 cents is just too much. The first impression I got from this company was that they would care about such significant increase or maybe advise their customers of the high increase in price... but that's not the case.

Also, in this day and age, their bill payment system seems to be very outdated. Launches into a separate window, no email confirmation, etc.

Time to start looking for another provider...unfortunately.

A.C. from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We hate to hear you are considering leaving the StarTex Power family. I would love the opportunity to assist you and address your concerns. Please feel free to email me directly at jbell@startexpower.com. I look forward to assisting you!

Constellation Responds October 26th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No more 3 month plans 6 months in. Total bait and switch.

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been using StarTex since last September after seeing a competitive price listing on powertochoose and a recommendation from family members. Everything about managing my bill payments and my first renewal was excellent, but now that I try to renew my bill for 3 months again the second time, I was told I can only opt for a year or more. I have 6 months left on my lease, StarTex, you aren't amazing enough that I am going to pay an early termination fee or go on some wallet gouging month to month plan to continue your services.

Brent Gray from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds April 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power OK; Integrity, Not

(2.8 / 5)

  Our power service has been fine but it's time to renew our contract and I am reluctant to do it. Startex is not 100% honest and this is why I say this.
We had a sparking line outside our window so we did the natural thing: we called the emergency number on our bill. This is actually a number for Centerpoint, who shares guilt in the following fiasco. They sent out a technician to see about the situation. The tech concluded that the line belonged to our landlord, not them, and promptly left. The cost for 2 minutes of this guy's time? $50 on our next bill. They never once notified us of this charge; if they had, we wouldn't have called Startex-Centerpoint. We'd have called 911.
Startex was nothing but evasive when I called multiple times to tell them I was never informed of the $50 charge. It was either pay or get dropped. In the end I paid when I realized their system is designed to frustrate you to the point that you'll just give up. They never issued so much as an apology.
Disgusting behavior. We hate them for that.

Julian Morrison from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, the $50 fee that was charged is not a hidden fee from StarTex Power - it is a trip charge from Centerpoint Energy that your electric provider has to bill to you on their behalf - per the PUCT. Centerpoint has been contacted today regarding the dispute and an email is being sent to you regarding the outage call that was made to them and how to get proof of what did or did not take place during the call. StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They don't want to retain their customers

(2.8 / 5)

  It has come time for me to renew my contract with StarTex. If I use below 500 kWh per month, they were charging me $4.99 as a minimum usage fee. Now they want to charge me $9.33 for a minimum usage fee for 1000 kWh, but I normally only between 500 and 900 kWh per month. This is a double whammy for me, which will be about a $100 increase per year in energy costs for me. When I tried to call and talk to customer service, she was nonplussed and told me that she couldn't do anything about retaining my custom. Sad really, as I like to be a loyal customer. Doubling the fees is a heavy-handed way to hike their rates. Before this, I had been very happy with them.

Virginia Vigmostad from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mrs. Vigmostad to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to love...not anymore

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been with StarTex since July 2009. Every year, I have renewed with the 12 month contract, and I have been very happy. No issues with billing, and when I have had to contact them (I believe only twice over almost 4 years), no issues. They have resolved things to my satisfaction each and everytime. This year, I go to renew...wham, 9.99 fee unless you use 1,000 KwH. Well, my family only does that about 3 times a year. I was ok with the 4.99 fee for 500 kw, as we usually do that. I had seen some people talk about calling their CS and that they could offer the 4.99. Not true...just got off the phone with them, and they said I could only do the 9.99 fee. So, I guess I go with another company now. I am not willing to pay 9.99 a month because I don't leave my lights on and run the AC 24/7. Ridiculous...

Lance Rayborn from Pflugerville
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds August 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I like StarTex

(2.8 / 5)

  I've been with StarTex for the past 2 years at 2 diff apt. They weren't
the cheapest but they had good ratings. This past year I've been paying
$.11 Fixed (avg monthly bill is $70 for a 720sf 1bd apartment i keep
the A/C at 80 with fans on. They don't transfer service to a new
apartment so they'll set up new service for you. The only issue I had
with them was during my 2nd month at my 2nd apartment when my bill
totaled to $200. I called and after a very long wait, I reached them and
the person was really helpful. It turned out that the meter was read
wrong by the CenterPoint meter reader. I checked it myself and
followed the rep's instructions, and he reduced it back to the usual
$70. They're a fine company, but I'm moving again so I'm hunting good
rates but with a good company. I may just renew with StarTex. I also go
paperless and pay bills online on 100% renewable power.

Pros: Nice Customer Reps, Online billing, Green

Cons: Long wait to reach Customer Rep, No service transfer

Bkeo from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Supervisor Hung Up On Me!!

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been battling for almost a week now to get a charge removed from my bill for $40. I have been a loyal customer for 2 years now. I have never called to complain. I've never not paid my bill. I've never had a credit on my account. After speaking with a customer service Rep and her supervisor I asked for a higher supervisor. Then I got Simon in the collections department. After stating my case to him he became very rude. He began talking over me. He was very snappy. I asked him about customer service and this is how you treat people and he said well I'm in the claims department and I can do that. Several more rude statements were made before I finally gave up and demanded his supervisor. He said there was no one else above him. He was the final spoken word on my matter at hand. He then cut me off to let me go. I told him to not hang up and connect me with someone else... And then he just hung up on me!!
I am so shocked at how I was treated. I'm in the customer service industry and I cannot believe that happened. So disappointed. I was such a fan too...

Jennifer Roady from Euless
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mrs. Roady to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mixed Reviews on Service

(2.6 / 5)

  I requested the switch of 3 accounts. The first account was switched within 7 days and welcome materials rec'd so very satisfied with this switch. The next two accounts, I have been waiting for 4 weeks and have not received confirmation that anything has switched. I called customer service and was told that they showed one of the accounts had been submitted but could not confirm when the switch would take place. As pleased as I was with the first switch. I am equally displeased with the switch of the next two accounts since I have rec'd no confirmation that anything has been done. Telephone call to customer service was not very satisfactory so I am emailing today for status report.

Service Issues from Terrell
November 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to be awesome, now billing nightmare

(2.6 / 5)

  I've been a StarTex supporter since 2008. They were awesome - had the lowest rate, and offered great customer service.

However, they were purchased by another company and things have gone downhill with their billing. I was double billed once (which was actually Oncor's fault) but it took months to straighten out because of StarTex's inability to generate a bill in a timely manner. Even though I had no bill to even pay, I got collection notices and daily phone calls about not paying the erroneous bill.

Most recently, I moved, and even though I was assured my rate would stay the same since I stayed in the same service area, my rate went up 1.45 cents per kWh. I called and they generated a new bill, except kept the same rate. I called again, and they generated a new bill, but this time, they only gave me a credit for less than half of my usage. I had received a new meter, and they only credited what was on the new meter.

My contract is up in less than a month and will be finding a new provider. It's a shame they were bought out and the customer service has gone down hill so much. As they say "StarTex, where customer service is always free" - what they don't say is that it's not always right.

Tami from Watauga
May 30th, 2018

My name is Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President at StarTex Power. First and foremost I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you. I would sincerely like the opportunity to review your account and address your concerns. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com or 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you.

Constellation Responds May 31st, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't honor online rate.

(2.6 / 5)

  I currently am signed up with StarTex and have been happy with them through my one year contract since moving into my home. Their renewal price offered was not competitive. After researching rates I went to renew through Powertochoose.org with StarTex because they had a competitive price advertised. After entering all mo information to sign up I got a pop up that said the rate was for new (move-in) customers only. It did not state this at powertocheeose.org. That's not good advertising. I'm switching to a different company for a better rate then they offered for my renewal. I wanted to stay with one company but they prevented that.

Mr. JB from Spring
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plans offered to existing customers

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been a customer of StarTex since October of last year and have been very pleased with their service. Twice I have signed up for the three month plan, but at this renewal period, it is not offered. I asked via live chat if I could sign up for the three month plan and was told to call customer service and they may be able to sign me up. Customer service would not sign me up and was not concerned that I would cancel my service and switch to another company. I mentioned that the three month plan is offered to new customers and she suggested that I cancel my existing and sign-up as a new customer under my husband's name. That has to be the dumbest solution I have ever been offered by customer service representative. She could not offer and explanation as to why it was not being offered to existing customers. I would think that StarTex would be more inclined to offer existing customers better deals, so they will not cancel.

JoAnn James from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact JoAnn James to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds March 13th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(2.6 / 5)

  After having Star Tex Power for a couple of years I wanted to transfer my service to my new home. I was unable to do so, because they do not update their systems. I was forced to find another company. Even after being in the new home 9 months, Star Tex still has our home listed as a commercial meter. I was even told by the customer service rep to just pay commercial pricing! Before we moved into the home Center Point was sent out to verify if it is indeed commercial or residential. After verification Star Tex is the only company that has us listed as a commercial meter. Very disappointed.

K Mc Cloud from Houston/Rosenberg
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds August 8th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Check your bill instead of your contract

(2.6 / 5)

  The customer service department really needs work. We use them as a commercial provider at work. My contract states it runs from August 2014 to February 2015, no actual day of the month. We signed a contract on March 4th and that contract states it runs from March 2015 to March 2016. When we received our next bill it was at the higher "floater rate." I contacted them immediately and I was told I would receive a call back. No call back so I contacted them again and I was told no notes on the account. I was then told to contact my service rep who told me he was out of the office and would contact me the next day but did not. Three days later I contacted him and I was told they have the actual contract dates in their office and I should check my bill for the actual day of the month the contract takes place. I was not under contract and he would credit this bill to my old rate but I would now have to pay the late fee because it took so long to resolve the bill is past due.

Pamela Clark from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Auto Pay Problem

(2.6 / 5)

  I went with Startex because they had a great rate. This was my second to use them. I received my first bill and in Large Bold Red Letters it said "Do not pay, payment will be made electronically." I checked their website which confirmed that I was set up on auto pay. I get the second bill, it shows a past due balance and a late penalty fee. Again, it had the bold red statement saying "do not pay". I called the company for an explanation, after long hold time, it turned out I wasn't set up on auto pay. They said that possibly because I was a previous customer and was previously on auto pay, generated that notation. I said fine, please remove the fee and lets get me set up on auto pay. Gave my credit card info, etc. Was put on hold again. Then the very same customer service rep that I had been speaking with for over 45 minutes came back informed me that I had a past due balance and asked if I would like to go ahead and take care of that now before a disconnect notice was sent out! I was so shocked! I said, "Seriously? This is John, correct? The same guy I've been talking to for the last 45 minutes trying to get a billing error taken care of!". He said yes mam, then repeated that I had a past due balance and that I would soon be receiving a disconnect notice if I didn't take care of it! I told him that I was done with him and asked to speak to a supervisor. After another long hold time, the supervisor came on and defended John's statement saying that he was just trying to help me out! I had to give my credit card info to her to pay my "past due" balance. I'm so thankful that it was only a 3 month contract! I don't have time for this nonsense!

Janette from North Richland Hills
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates, HORRIBLE service

(2.6 / 5)

  Tried to get on their plan, as I have been using electric carriers in my name for 30 years with various companies and PERFECT credit. Never needed a deposit. Startex is trying to get me to deposit $350 (even pushing it on me). I put a security on my credit report to be notified if anyone looks at it. This requires them to get the name of a person at the credit bureau who calls me to get my permission, then I call the creditor to proceed with a credit check, or the credit bureau can call them; either way. This is what all companies have been doing. StarTex CS has no idea what to do, clearly stated that in our conversation, while I explained and said get your supervisor. He announced that his super was on the phone listening. Then the CS wants me to call the credit bureau because he doesn't know what to do but use another phone to call Credit Bureau, then tell them it's ok. I say, that's not how it works for me since I don't have another phone and no clue who to call back on a random call center. The dude says, "I am the best source for knowledge here". At which point I proceeded to say with authority, "You ARE NOT the best source of knowledge or you would KNOW what to do here and clearly you don't". I hung up when he kept insisting he was the best source. Delusional. And his super never stepped up to stop him. I guess he agrees and supports his stupid CS.

Laurie from Laurie
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do autopay!

(2.6 / 5)

  I made the mistake of putting the bill on autopay. The month before my credit card expired, I received my new credit card and changed it online for the autopay. I kept getting all these notices stating that my credit card on autopay was expiring. I knew I'd changed it, so I go look. Yep, right expiration. Still get notices. Now I'm thinking, notices are wack! Some sort of error? Still, I'm worried, cause I don't want to be late so I keep an eye on it. I log in the day it's due and look. Doesn't show a payment, but I figure, it will the next day cause it probably process at night. The following day, still shows no payment. Again double check autopay credit card on file. Shows the correct information. Send an email to company asking about what the issue is. Three days later get an email stating the old credit card date on file, but if I've changed it, not to worry. So I don't. Keep getting emails and text messages. Even though I see the correct date, I change it again. Three days after I've changed it the second time, I get a notice they are going to disconnect. I contact them and they say they see I just changed the date three days earlier and therefore, it was out of date when it processed. They want me to pay right then and there. No thanks. I don't trust these people. When I finally get a second supervisor I'm told that the credit card information has to be changed on both the auto pay area and the regular payment area?????? Sure. Right. If that were the case, then why does it have a notice, to change credit card date for auto pay, as a link that takes me to the one place to change it. Also, why would I need to have it in two places. Sounds like excuses for a poorly designed system and scapegoating customers for their issues.

Pissed Off At the Ineptness of this company
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric was fine customer service is useless

(2.6 / 5)

  I tried to pay a bill and it kept declining payment because the zip code on the account was wrong. I contacted them three times with no correction. I used the chat system and it took 10 ten minutes just to get through account verification. TEN FULL MINUTES to ask me my name, my social, the address and my email to change the damn zip code and pay a bill.

They can take a hike
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE customer service

(2.5 / 5)

  I've called several times asking to speak to a supervisor regarding my account, to no avail. I just want to speak with somebody with a brain in their head that cares about not losing a customer. In such a competitive environment, it seems they don't care at all about losing a customer, in spite of my willingness to pay the $350 cancellation fee. Get it through your skulls: I'm going elsewhere unless you work with me. Business 101. Clearly the CS reps don't care about their company or the future (or lack thereof) of their jobs.

Would like to add, much like many services today, it's easy as pie to sign up, but once they've got you, good luck dealing with their CS. Nowhere on their website makes it easy to change payment options, renew or otherwise.

Chris Yonker from Corpus Christi
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved. We are attempting to contact Mr. Yonker to ensure he is satisfied with the resolution of his account matter.

Constellation Responds January 7th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Loved StarTex, unsure about Constellation

(2.4 / 5)

  My service and rate(s) over the last 8 years have been great with StarTex. I used to refer friends\relatives and swear by StarTex. Since they merged with Constellation, I have lost my online login account info (Pay My Bill, etc) and for 6-months, I have gotten the run-around. I can login but no account info, so I have to call in to make a payment. I was promised a $25 credit for my troubles but prefer it to work. Never seen the $25 credit, either. Now I get my renewal rate and plans and they are double-digits (14.5 kWh for 12-mths), 12.9 for 24 or 36 mths). I see other attractive plans and shopping around.

CK Singleterry from Plano
July 3rd, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crappy Information from Customer Service

(2.4 / 5)

  I was charged almost an additional 11 days of service, without my knowledge, for power I never used. In fact it was power the next tenant was using on a higher premium rate! The information I received from the company when setting up my power was false, leading to overcharging and a complete lack of carrying from the customer service personnel. The customer service representative argued that I had never even called in, essentially calling me a liar. I am extremely displeased with the service I received from StarTex.

Mercedes from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Leaving after seven years

(2.4 / 5)

  I have had Startex Power for seven years and was pretty pleased. Recently (and without notice) they raised the minimum usage level from 500 kwh to 1000 kwh and DOUBLED the minimum usage fee from $4.95 to $9.95. I don't plan on paying an extra $10 a month for at least half the year for being conservative with my energy. There's way too much competition with power companies where I live for that. I will be cancelling and switching the minute my contract expires.

Cathy Whalen from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Company keeps going down hill.....................

(2.4 / 5)

  I have been a Star Tex Customer prior to the acquisition. Their Customer Service used to be good. Their pricing used to be competitive. I will probably not have a choice this year and will have to change providers. The rate I have been quoted for renewal screams LEAVE! They are not even in the market of competing for business anymore. Their competitors have got them beat in pricing.

They got paid on time, and I have been a loyal client. There is no reward in loyalty.

Mandy from Hutchins
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hugh increases in price

(2.4 / 5)

  I will be leaving Stattex after 5 years of great service and good pricing. Just checked and their rates went sky high. Best to mover on now and save a little money exspected this takeover company bad deal for Loyal customers.

desh
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jennifer Bell, member of the management team at StarTex Power. Please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or call me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds September 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No longer a loyal customer

(2.4 / 5)

  I have used Startex for years, when I renewed this year, my rate increased a bit, but what I was most surprised when my TDU charge increased from $3.30 to $47.70. This is not the same old Texas company that I signed up with. You can hardly understand the customer service reps.

Carolyn from Granbury
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have to leave, here is why

(2.4 / 5)

  We have been a customer since 2006 and our contract is up for renewal. I figure to save 20% on a 24 month term compared to StarTex best offer. I've stayed in the past even though the rate was higher than available and I got no rate consideration for customer loyalty when I renewed but figured it better to dance with the devil I knew. I would have stayed this time as well but for one thing... I didn't like the way I was treated when I called to renew. The young lady answering my call was nice but she was in a hard sell position and tried to double talk me into believing that the 10.3 cent per kwh offer was better than a 8.5 cent offer that had the same terms. Desperation is all I can offer to say.

We had no beef with StarTex up until that point. Of course, my wife pays the bills and is always on time with them so there is no real reason for a problem.

StarTex remains in the upper quartile of price point.

George Gest from Magnolia
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have gone way downhill since I signed up 4 years ago.. stay away

(2.4 / 5)

  Have been a loyal on time paying customer for 4 years but not after today. They had great rates when I signed up years ago and the customer service was on point as well. I have noticed the last year or so when I call in I don't get the same friendly customer service and the rates haven't been quite as competitive when I've renewed.

I called today for renewal and they said the only thing they could offer me was a 1,2, or 3, year plan. I won't ever do more than a 1 year plan as I rent not own. I know you can transfer service but I just get worried with doing more than a year contract on anything when I could be moving soon and possibly not be able to transfer the service where I go. I found a 6 month plan they offer online and it was a much lower rate. When I asked about this he said I couldn't do anything less than a 1 year. I asked them if they were saying they'd rater loose a long term customer who's always paid on time rather than give me a 6 month plan and said YES, CANCEL!!! I can not believe a company would choose to loose business. I called in again to ask to speak with a manager and he was rude and said well just cancel then. So that's exactly what I did. Signed up with another company and actually did a 12 month but they were offering 3 cents less per kwh at the 12 month plan and more renewable than Startex. It's too bad, they were a good company at first but I'd advise to stay away now.

Jessica from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sloppy Billing and Delay Payment Credits

(2.3 / 5)

  StarTex gives you 15 days to pay your bill and then delays crediting your payment for about 6 days in my experience. If you miss your 7 days to get the bill and get payment mailed to them, you get socked with a late charge. For the first time in 40 years, we were "late" on a payment even though we paid them within 2 weeks of receiving the bill. Beware this company.

Richard W from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Careful!

(2.3 / 5)

  Startex is a company that will be sufficient when everything is running fine. However, I had a payment sent a few days late (no late payments for previous 10 months), and they cancelled my power WITHOUT any notification. The power was shut off when my wife was home with our newborn baby. They threatened to keep the power off until I transferred payment to them, but then customer service completely fell apart when I broke off my contract. They keep calling for their final payment despite breaking the contractual obligations of warning us about service termination. Since that time they have added $300 more in fees. Be careful, this company is nice when you are paying on time, but miss one payment, and they will bring the house down on you!

Ron White from Deer Park
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issues described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would very much appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big issues - Faithful Customer + Contract of Promises

(2.3 / 5)

  Been with StarTex for 2 years and have been very satisfied. Billing is clear and I especially like that if I've forgotten to pay my bill by a certain date, StarTex will send me an email reminder a few days before the bill is due. And had alway recommended @ more than 50 times in pass years.
However, until I saw that the new rates they're offering for existing customer @ June 17, 2012, so I had sign up early.
After all, I never had any problems with their service. Always helpful over the phone and online, they made it easy on me every time I've had to renew early.
But, After little over month later got an unexpected renewal contract mail, said that due to StarTex Power were purchased by another company and things have to change.
What ???!!!! Why me???
So, now the StarTex Power staff saying they cant find my contract and they want me to use their month-to-month plan rate 20 cent per KWH.*(use under 500 kWh )
That rate is too high !!!!!! Very dissapointing !!!! jacked my rates sky high!!!!
What happening about my last early renewal contract that was promises to me ???
That was @ June 17, 2012 and June 18, 2012. I did sign up online and got confirmed two time by email, again !!!!
On June 18, 2012 they had told me their computer system had little error, but they will honor my online renewal contract.
That why she had resend me another WEB ### CONFIRMED AND LOCK ME IN FOR another three months renewal
contract new rate @ 9.1 per kWh.
Do they want my business ??? Decision, decision, decision ???!!!!

LL Hamilton from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You have got to be kidding!

(2.3 / 5)

  Good grief! I just got my first bill from StarTex and I believe that I chose the wrong company to provide my electricity.

I retired and moved from MN back home to TX last month and I can't believe how much more expensive electricity is here than with my electric coop back in MN. I am now paying 12.333/KwH here after paying 5.4/KwH in MN. I live in a 750 sq ft apt and I make a concerted effort to conserve on my energy usage. The very same amount of KwH would have cost me $35.91 in MN rather than the outlandish price of $81.99. $46 Is $46.regardless of whether or not I am on a fixed budget or not. It's illogical to keep paying a high rate like this one! After only one month with StarTex, I'll be looking elsewhere!

Cindy from Tyler
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Nightmare

(2.2 / 5)

  Have tried to obtain service for the past 2 months, promised service since jun 2 it is now jul 29. I was told the order never went through. I've never experienced such negligent service, it's as if they don't want customers. I must praise one agent Ally, she is trying to clean up the others' mess. We would like to have your the service but are still waiting.

Ann
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service and Beware of Usage Fees

(2.2 / 5)

  When I renewed, they changed the minimum usage fee from 500 to 1,000 KwH per month without telling me on the phone. I got a minimum usage fee hit of $10. When I called to express concern, the customer service agent named Angie became belligerent and confrontational and fought me tooth and nail on removing the charge. I am still waiting on a call back from the supervisor. Stay away from these guys.

BJ from Austin
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds March 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service and Beware of Usage Fees

(2.2 / 5)

  I've been with StarTex for close to four years and have been happy. However, I recently renewed for six months with StarTex and wasn't told verbally the minimum usage fee is now 1,000 KwH instead of 500 and was hit with a $9.95 fee. hen I called to express my concern to customer service, Angie became belligerent and confrontational. Not only did the meter reading not go for the full month, it was only 29 days and I was barely under the usage. When I tried to explain this she said Oncor controls it and they weren't removing it. It was one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had. I asked for a supervisor and am still waiting on a call back. Avoid these guys at all costs--they no longer value their customers from what I can tell. I would cancel them tomorrow but will get hit with a $150 cancellation fee.

Brendon Cearley from Round Rock
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds March 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price is very restricted and high for existing customers

(2.2 / 5)

  We have been with Startexpower since 2006. It's always hard to get a better rate as an existing customer. Tried to talk to Startexpower cusomer service a few times about the rate a few years ago, the only answer was that they did not really need our business. Being a very loyal customer for seven years, it is sad to find out Startexpower does not need a loyal customer.
We do like to stay with one provider and do not like to always switch providers.

Mrs. Perry from Carrollton
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Happy

(2.2 / 5)

  This company is terrible once you go out of your contract, more than doubled my rate unless I signed for a 12 month contract at not such a good rate. I had automatic billing and I still received a late payment notice and notice that my electricity would be turned off followed by another bill a couple of days later telling me not to pay this account, very confusing and caused extra clutter in my life. You would think they would reward you for faithful service after your first contract, but no, they will stick it to their faithful customers. Will not be back again, too many other choices out there. Customer service cordial, but cold and unsympathetic.

Peter from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Order Expeerience

(2.2 / 5)

  I use an energy consultant and asked for a specific plan. The first operator terminated my call since there was more than one person on the line after I would not agree to the upsell. The second operator continued the upsell efforts and the sign up was very unpleasant.

JLH from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fine if you don't leave

(2 / 5)

  Would not use again. Price to leave is $78 even when your contact is over. Got a great electricity rate so I chose this company over bigger names but when it was time to renew the offer they made was no longer competitive so I switched.

Turns out an "Oncor Electric Company Surcharges Approved" showed up on my last invoice, even though I was out of contract. The price to switch electric companies varies and in my opinion, anything over $20 is way too much, especially for something automated. Exact actual price to end service is not disclosed in terms of service, only a mention that a fee may be changed.

Also had some billing problems - signed up for auto-pay but didn't charge my card for some reason one month (even though they had the 4 months prior) then called to say my bill was overdue, and I had to go online and pay again. Later appologized via automated email.

Amanda from McKinney
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Call us at 1-866-917-8271 and we will do our best to solve this issue for you.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't bother with contract not worth paper written on

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for the startex "secure" one year plan at 10.8, guess what, 4 months later my bill has a rate of 10.94 and they didn't bother to send notice and refuse to honour my contract with them. They however intend for me to honour my end and will charge me for leaving early. Don't bother signing up for a "secure" rate, it isn't.

Terri Jackson from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the rate issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Displeased customer

(2 / 5)

  I recently switched my business account to StarTex Power where they say their
customers are treated like a star! This is the farthest from the truth! I have
found that their customer service people are rude and of no help at all! I would
strongly discourage anyone from signing with this company. I have switched
and will never consider them in the future!
T. Gilland

Anonymous from Anna
May 30th, 2018

My name is Jennifer Bell, Office of the President at StarTex Power. Although you are no longer an active customer, I would still like the opportunity to research what transpired on your account. At your convenience, please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or contact me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to hearing from you and am sincerely apologetic for the frustration you endured.

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst costumer service ever!

(2 / 5)

  We have had problems with the service and they have the worst costumer
service.
Choose another provider!

Laura from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Laura, StarTex Power would like the opportunity to assist you, as we do take customer service seriously. At your convenience, please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or contact me directly at 713-292-2551so that I may research what has transpired on your account. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have endured and look forward to assisting you. Jennifer Bell: Manager, Office of the President

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Every time that I've been able to speak with someone at Startex Power they've been able to help me with my problem. However, they rarely respond to emails that you send them for service. I also have the Signals program on my computer that tracks when someone opens an email that you send - Startex typically takes 1 week to open my email.

When Startex Power switched software programs the system forced a move out on my account so my power was turned off unexpectedly and I was charged a big disconnect fee. They were able to turn it back on within the day, but it was frustrating that it was off at all and that I had to sign on with a higher rate. Since then I've been receiving letters from collections for the old account, which is very confusing because there seems to be no rhyme or reason to when they send the letters and I've been told several times by phone that the account is completely paid in full.

Jessie Casadaban from Irving
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Since bought out by Constellation - STINKS !!!!!!!!!!!!

(2 / 5)

  I have been with StarTex Power for 4 years. they were a grat company - good rates and good customer service. Now - the rates are extremely high. They are pushing the envelope legally as far as making changes without proper notification etc. I have no plans to renew unless there is a significant change in this company before my contract expires.

Fed up in Fort Worth from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Startex does not want to retain its customers

(2 / 5)

  I have been a Startex customer for over 8 months (signed two, 3 month contracts and stayed on variable rates for the remaining months). I reached out to their customer service via their website chat option and was told that they couldn't offer me the same rate as advertised on Powertochoose.org because those prices were not available for renewals, even though I am out of my contract. It seems that the company is more focused on getting new customers rather than retaining their current customers. Also, their rates are on the high end compared to some of the other providers. To be fair, I have had no issues with billing and received contract expiration notices timely. I am just irked at the fact that they would rather charge their existing and on-time paying customers more than new customers. To top things off they sent me an email for referral bonuses. Why would I want to refer anyone to Startex if they won't do enough to retain me as a customer?

Fall Creek Customer from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email Service@startexpower.com with your account information. We look forward to assisting you.

Constellation Responds May 14th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(2 / 5)

  Not anymore, very disappointed with the service now, I have been trying to get a customer representative on the phone for the past 3 days, what happened to the great customer service? now I have to wait 30-40 mins to get someone on the phone or even after waiting for more than 30 mins they just hang up the call? what kind of business is this? this is ridiculous.

Jose from Irving
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would NOT Recommend-Horrible Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  My problem is with billing and customer service. When you need to talk to someone, do you want to hold for an hour. If you do, this might be the company for you. We use online bill pay. StarTex stated that they didn't receive an electronic payment even though we had proof from Chase bank. They even went so far as to say they didn't receive electronic payments. Something is very fishy. Chase even laughed when they stated they don't take electronic payments? They asked if you could pay over the phone. When I said yes, they said they take electronic payments. When you call, you are on hold for 45 minutes or longer. If I were you, I would go with a company that is honest and you can actually get ahold of. My advice, stay far away from them. Anything we saved was spent on my time to deal with the payment issue.

Stephany from Keller
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible accounting

(2 / 5)

  Stay away guys, horrible experience while trying to get my refund back.

Its over 5 months now (after my services terminated) and I am still struggling to get my refund back. I am making fortnightly calls and every time they tell me I will get back once accnt dept reverts back.

I have recommended people in past but I will never ever recommend and subscribe with them again

Neha
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds January 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late Payment for Nov. 2017

(2 / 5)

  Hello,
I am the current customer but very disappointed with how your company handle the paymentS, especially for Nov. 2017. I received a Disconnect Notice due to late payment for Nov.2017. Well, my bank account indicated that payment of $70.09 was withdrawn by Startex Power on 12Dec2017. I called Starxtex Customer service to explain today 12/22 and was told that still the amount has not been received. Startex requested me to send in the proof of payment and I did. I am very upset and definitely dont want to waist my time to help resolve your internal issues. Please do something to improve your service next time.

Tony Phan
Account no: 892512404
Service address: 14223 Prospect Point Dr.
Cypress, TX 77429

TONY PHAN from Cypress
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trying to charge us $3K for nothing!

(1.9 / 5)

  This company won't let us out of our contract! It's a really long story but they're charging us over $3K for terminating a contract when they haven't done anything! We even offered to switch to them once our current contract ran out but they're not having any of that! What kind of uncaring, selfish people are running that company?! Show some damn empathy in these harsh times for goodness sake! Where's the humanity & understanding & compassion in this company?

Poor House from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions