StarTex Turns off Online Account Management

(3.8 / 5)

  StarTex has a strange policy of turning off the online account management if you do not pay your bill in time. It seems to me that during these times, the online account management tool should be more helpful. Turning it off when you are needing to pay your bill seems contrary to good logic.

Jason from Bedford
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power sincerely apologizes for any frustration and inconvenience this matter has caused you and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email our Office of the President at jbell@startexpower.com or 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you!

Constellation Responds December 27th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consistent, as long as nothing changes

(3.7 / 5)

  I've been with them for almost 5 years. I made a mid-plan switch in May/Jun '09, when rates sank and I was tied into their 3 yr (roughly $.14/kWh rate) and got into another 3 year for (then) $.119/kWh. I had a bit of back and forth with them after the switch as their billing department didn't get the word that i was in a new plan. After 2 months, they got it straight. The only thing was I allowed them to continue billing the CC as I didn't want to discontinue and draw their ire. Shortly after I noticed that they never updated my new 3 yr plan 'end' date. After I called, they told me it was May/Jun of 2012. You can bet your last buck that I'll be on top of the change so that I'm not thrown into the non-plan summer rate. For others to note (but check, i'm not sure if it's law or the company's position) - but they told me I could submit my 'switch' request 15 days before the last period started). Be sure to check, don't take my word on this.

Overall-I'd definitely refer them!

Thom from Allen
May 30th, 2018


Thank you for your feedback. I would like to review your account to ensure you were given the Star Treatment. If there were any areas of opportunity, I would like to follow-up accordingly. I would greatly appreciate it if you could please send me your account information at jbell@startexpower.com. Thank you in advance. Jennifer Bell, Office of the President

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

h

(3.7 / 5)

  Have been with them for a while but rates are a little high versus comp in summer 2011 so jumping ship. other companies have month/month that looks like a deal.

Bob from Houston
May 30th, 2018

It is unfortunate to see you are considering leaving the StarTex Power Family. My name is Jennifer Bell, member of the management team at StarTex Power. Please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or call me directly at 713-292-2551, as I'd like to review what competitor price plans interest you, to ensure you are comparing apples to apples, as we would love the opportunity to retain your patronage. I look forward to assisting you!

Constellation Responds July 19th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Startex for me

(3.7 / 5)

  No problems at all with Startex. However, they no longer have the lowest rates.

Joe Pat from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric Co.

(3.6 / 5)

  They don't offer an estimated bill email like my old company, miss that feature.

Constellation from Houston
September 6th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer, question about possible plan bait n switch

(3.6 / 5)

  First things first, both reps I spoke with during the hour I was on the phone were professional and very courteous. I believe Constellation did what they could to "fix" the issue for which I called (read on).

Today is the first day of my relationship with Constellation so I have no feedback other than the phone reps handled my issue to my satisfaction. I am happy to update my review if possible when I have some time with Constellation under my belt.

I signed up for a plan with decent rates, $0.00 monthly charges. The "thank you" email I received from Constellation showed the exact plan BUT with 3.49 monthly fee. I spent an hour on the phone with Constellation, 2 reps. First rep said the $3.49 is an Oncor fee (I get that, but the plan said $0.00). The second rep apologized for the confusion and credited my account $10 and took the URL I used to select them and promised to send to marketing folks.

I was told that every plan will have an Oncor charge, and I believe that. I would not have a problem with this if the Constellation plan I selected did not show $0.00.

The hour spent with Constellation on this weekday cost me more than the total I will pay them for the $3.49 charge over the couse of this plan term. But, in my experience, when one thing is wrong then other things are probably wrong - I have no reason to think that... yet.

xWayne from Fort Worth
September 4th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No longer competitive

(3.6 / 5)

  I have been a Star Tex customer for at least two years. My contract is up for renewal, and at first I was going to renew with Star Tex; but I, too will have to switch providers. When I shop for rates, I am seeing prices as low as 8.8 cents per KWH from some companies, with most in the 9.2 to 9.5 cent range. I switched from Reliant because Star Tex had such good rates. I have never had any customer service issues with Star Tex, but I am frankly shocked to see their rates are now on the high end of the spectrum (10.7 per kwh). I can even get better rates now with Reliant!

I see several postings on that ratings site from customers who had the same experience as me. They loved the service but are leaving for better rates. I am not saying Star Tex has to be the lowest; but they are simply no longer competitive. It's a hassle to have to set up a new account with a new provider, but this price hike is too much to take.

David Keel from Stafford
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long Time Customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I have been with StarTex for several years now, have not had any major problems and would gladly renew with them if they offered a more favorable rate . My complaint is that every time my contract expires, their rates offered are not as competitive as some other companies. I typically get a 12 month contract and use approximately 500-1000 kwh per month. In their offer for renewal, the additional minimum charge for low usage is now being applied for usage below 1000 kwh instead of below 500 kwh, which drives my effective rate higher. I am once again being forced to evaluate other offers and will likely go with a different company if their renewal offer is the best they can do.

Billy R. Schulze from Hillsboro
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mr. Schulze to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds April 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Future Uncertain???

(3.6 / 5)

  StarTex Power (Houston, TX) began with and established a reliable platform in the retail electric market noted for their excellent Customer Service department. They have been sold to Constellation Energy (Baltimore, MD) which has very low retail customer service reviews and itself is being taken over by Exelon Corporation (Chicago, IL) which has terrible customer service ratings. Wait and See...???

Texas Consumer from Houston
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns in regards to our new ownership. Our customers can expect the same competitive rates and excellent customer care. Please feel free to contact me directly at jbell@startexpower.com, as I would be happy to answer any additional questions you may have in regards to this topic. I look forward to assisting you!

Constellation Responds October 26th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing System needs fixing

(3.6 / 5)

  Their system said I was signed up for Auto Pay but I received a past due notice. I then was told to set it again since their system had some old information on my account from a previous time with them. I reset it again and the same thing happened again the next month. I decided to do it over the phone with an associate.

PS from Missouri City
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal

(3.5 / 5)

  I have been with StarTex Power for 2 years and my contract is up for renewal. I have been happy with StarTex the whole 2 years until I saw that the new rates they're offering their existing customer are too high. Sad to say but I'm most likely to sign up with another provider.

Gina Phipps from Cypress
May 30th, 2018

Hello Ms. Phipps, thank you for your post. I was unable to locate your StarTex Power account. If you are still a StarTex Power customer, please feel free to contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com, as it would be my pleasure to attempt to retain your patronage. I look forward to hearing from you! Best regards, Jennifer Lewis

Constellation Responds July 27th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Two bills in one month

(3.4 / 5)

  Paid my August bill and then 10 days later got another August bill. I called Texas direct and was told that I didn't have account with them anymore and they wonder if I had even electricity anymore. CRAZY!! I been with Startex for more than two and a half years. Even got a new one year plan now. Had to call 3 times to get straightened up with a specialist . Was told my service was stopped by computer mistakes and it would take more than 2 weeks to correct. CRAZY!! Still waiting on my September bill. Hope I don't get some crazy amount. I've always paid my bills before they are due when they arrived in the mail.

Bobby Blackman from Stafford
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good online service

(3.4 / 5)

  Good service without problems.

gege from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you! We value your patronage!

Constellation Responds May 31st, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch Out When Your Contract Expires!

(3.4 / 5)

  I have been a Star Tex Power customer for the past 2 and half years. Although their rates were a little higher than their competitors their billing and customer service was always great.
However, my 12 month fixed rate contract recently expired and my 8.750 rate went to 13.390 on my next billing cycle. Evidently they don't mind gouging their current customer base with an excessively higher rate and really don't mind retaining current customers! I felt taken advantage of (screwed to us the popular venacular). Obviously, I went with one of their competitors renewing with a 7.9 fixed rate. Good bye and good riddens Star Tex Power. I hope you figure out that treating your current customer base fairly and equitablely is what keeps you in business.

Michael McDaniel. from Red Oak
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive!

(3.4 / 5)

  After looking a www.powertochoose.org I feel like I am way overpaying for electricity. I don't see a single company on that site that is charging more than I pay. My contract just started again, but at these rates I will have to make a change. Rates raise in the middle of a billing cycle with no notice.

Steven Kessler from Grand Prairie
May 30th, 2018

Mr. Kessler, I'll contact you directly regarding your account. Regards, Jeryce.

Constellation Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal

(3.4 / 5)

  We have been with Startex for 6 years and prior to this year (the first year after the buy out of a once great company )they do not care if they retain a customer . Their rates where always one of the lowest couple that with great service it was an awesome deal. I emailed to see if they where offering anything of the est rate to retain a customer and they said no, to bad they are pushing us out the door . Service is not worth the increase in cost over others companys like Amigo

Dorothy Stevens from Mckinney
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and our records indicate this matter has been resolved.

Constellation Responds May 14th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Retention efforts fall short

(3.4 / 5)

  We locked in good rates for the last two years and looked at renewing today. The price pr Kwh change is radically higher. My wife talked with customer service to try to maintain a reasonable rate and was offered even higher rates. Not a good sign for retaining our custom. We recently persuaded our caregiver to switch over to StarTex (I know nothing about a referral plan, but that would be nice). We will advise her to closely monitor her account when it comes up for renewal. In the meantime, we will shop and most likely change over our service.

Wylie Phelps from Mansfield
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns

Constellation Responds May 29th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricing seems less competitive after Constellation acquired StarTex

(3.4 / 5)

  Pricing seems less competitive after Constellation acquired StarTex. After several years with StarTex we have switched to another provider for a lower rate on this renewal. StarTex changing the minimum usage fee from $4.99 for less than 500 kwh to $9.99 for less than 1000 kwh was yet another reason to switch. During the months between A/C and heat we use less than 1000 and more than 500 kwh and it's an insult to be gouged. The folks from Maryland can go back from whence they came. And shame on the Texans (if there actually were any to begin with) for selling out! I guess the founders made their money and ran.

Roscoe from Richardson
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds July 25th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So-so

(3.4 / 5)

  I am not impressed yet.

Bob from Bedford
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds July 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Changing for the worse!

(3.2 / 5)

  First let me say the responses from Startex seem like corporate doubletalk. After some people contacted CS 3 times with an issue Startex says to write them, Really? I have been a customer over seven years but if the Min usage charge changes to 9.99 for <1000 then you will lose me also.
It is very sad to see this former great company push away loyal customers and not give personal helpful replies here. -1

Robert Smith from Austin
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Dont hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Adequate

(3.2 / 5)

  Adequate company
Poor web site for management

D Wear from Arlington
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry that you had a negative experience with our website. We are currently in the process of revamping a few things and are experiencing some growing pains. Our goal is always to make sure that our customers have the best experience possible, if you are still experiencing these issues please call 1-866-917-8271 so that we can be sure to address your problem.

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non Competitive in Renewal Pricing

(3.2 / 5)

  Very few issues, customer since 2008. Not competitive in renewal pricing for the first time in 5 years. Sad to switch from a company with very few issues, competitive pricing is crucial in this economy as our employers have stopped giving raises.

Cari from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at service@startexpower.com with your account information. I look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds May 29th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

REnewed many times but.......conflicted

(3.2 / 5)

  I am a long time Customer of Startex and I am so very conflicted because I had this service at two residences. Before the merger they were so superb. I referred friends to this company. Since Oct 2010, I have not been totally happy but tolerant of the services. . It is time to review and renew my services again and. I am leaning to shopping around. My rates end on 060213 and I have spoke to the customer service but. I wasn't happy with the response. Two years ago I was over charged with the smart meter installed on the new home I bought. HOHUM HOHUM, It was only me in the home at the time. I don't think I would recommend I only had one lost check, My mother was mad about it. Still conflicted.

chris from Cedar Hill
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Minimum Usage Fee increase

(3.2 / 5)

  I was a customer before they were bought by Constellation Energy. I called them shortly afterwards and told them I would give them a chance. One of the deciding factors in choosing them in the first place was the minimum usage fee. I use below 500 kWh one month a year (maybe) and in the past 12 months I have used below 1000 kWh 9 months. With the new minimum usage fee increase and not offering anything below a 12 month plan. I will be paying an extra $90 a year. I have decided to fire StarTex and switched providers. They were charging $4.99 as a minimum usage fee below 500 kWh. Now they are charging $9.95 for a minimum usage fee below 999 kWh. I did call customer service to see if there was anything they could do, since I had been a customer for over 3 years. I was told they have had meetings and was nothing they could do about waiving this fee or modifying it.

R. L. Allen from Sachse
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mrs. R. L. Sachse to discuss this issue.

Constellation Responds August 7th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Keep track of your contract dates

(3 / 5)

  I chose StarTex Power from several providers in the area. Their rates seem competitive and my service has been great. However, after my initial 6 month contract expired, StarTex never bothered to notify me or ask me to renew. They simply let my contract expire, started charging me a higher, non-contract rate. It's a shady practice and I feel like they've risked losing me as a customer for the $25 they swindled from me. As soon as I renewed, my rate dropped again but clearly I'll need to remember to renew early to avoid their expiration scam.

Eric from Plano
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your feedback. StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns related to your contract expiration, as StarTex Power sends all Residential customers notice when their contract term is ending, at least 30 days prior to the contract end date. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, we would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns, as our customers are our #1 Priority.

Constellation Responds October 25th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

One the fence

(3 / 5)

  I've been a Startex customer for several years now, Last year I willing signed up for another 12 months. I knew it wasn't the lowest rate on the market but all my hassle free experience with them I felt a couple of cents for less hassle was worth it. At least much better than a former company known by me as Second to last Choice (First Choice) but... Since being bought out by Constellation it seems this luxury will cost me more. or will it? Startex give me a reason why I should stay? Last year your company allowed a digit drop. This year I waited to see this offer and....nothing, well except much higher prices. I will be calling to see if you can offer something to keep a customer. If not I guess you will leave me no choice but to jump the fence and swim with the sharks again. Wish me luck.I got my lube and a speedo just in case.

DH from Lewisville
May 30th, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok provider

(3 / 5)

  Have not had major issues, prices were ok but made mistake of accepting 3 year plan. Bad timing on my part I guess since rate at time I initiated plan was 13.6/kwh. Nothing I could with a $300+ cancellation fee once rates dropped significantly. Not worth cancelling and changing. Will look at other companies to try to improve rate for a while and make up some of what I have lost with this higher rate I got stuck with. Not afraid to switch and may even consider staying if rate is reasonalbe on month to month but it doesn't look like they are beating others or even close even on 3 or 6 month plans Startex appears too high compared to others. Customer service ok and have not had problems on a few occasions when late over the last 2 years.

Anonymous
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power would like the opportunity to address your concerns. My name is Jennifer Bell, member of the management team at StarTex Power. Please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or call me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to assisting you to ensure you are brought to a satisfied resolution.

Constellation Responds June 29th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT top in Customer Service!

(3 / 5)

  They added a Late Fee on my April bill even though I've had automatic payment from the beginning. I called three times, and each time I called, the customer service rep said it would be credited on my next bill, but it took until July before I finally received the credit. They advertise they're top in Customer Service. I don't know what they base that on.

Judy from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the late fee credit issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can't handle the aggravation

(3 / 5)

  Good price, good service. BUT - can't seem to make the website work consistently. Every couple of months, it suddenly doesn't recognize me as a registered account holder. Wait on hold, cust svc can't figure out why. Gotta do registration procedure all over again. Works a couple of times, then ditto. NOW had to go out of town over holiday, can't log in, getting recorded msgs bill is due, no one in office because of holiday.

Can't handle the aggravation for the few dollars saves us.

Sharon T from Corpus Christi
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry that you had a negative experience with our website. We are currently in the process of revamping a few things and are experiencing some growing pains. Our goal is always to make sure that our customers have the best experience possible, if you are still experiencing these issues please call 1-866-917-8271 so that we can be sure to address your problem.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions