Home > Read Reviews > Constellation

A word from Constellation

Constellation, an Exelon company, is one of the leading energy suppliers in the United States. Offering you energy options is Constellation’s mission. For years, Constellation has been providing electricity, natural gas or renewable energy to homes, small and large businesses and state and federal agencies.

With a reputation for excellence, Constellation serves nearly 2 million customers, including two-thirds of Fortune 100 companies, who rely on Constellation’s commitment to innovation, transparency and service. That is the kind of value you and your communities can expect from Constellation.

Constellation Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Constellation are their plans and pricing, rated at 4.1 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 4.0 of 5.

Constellation Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

369 Reviews for Constellation


The Best Company overall

(5 / 5)

  I signed up with Star Tex Power about 2 years ago. I tend to do 6 mo. contracts because of lower price. I appreciate their NOT adding on trivial fees, such as "talking with rep, payment by phone, or payment online." It's good business, as usual, with Star Tex. I haven't found anything that would tempt me to change.

s.evans from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My StarTex Power

(5 / 5)

  I have been a StarTex Power customer for about 4 years at 2 home addresses, one being an apartment and one being a home and a business. When I first heard of StarTex and changed from "The Bigger and Well Known" company, I was impressed with StarTex's superior customer service, then shocked at the immediate drop in my electric bills. When I was in the process of moving into my home, which did not go as planned, I worked closely with the SAME customer service representative who again did not waiver in her performance and met all of my needs without a hitch. Since StarTex Power had been so awesome with service and pricing, when I opened a business, they again, provided the best customer service and quote. I have dealt with only one other electric company in my life and I have to say there is absolutely no comparison between these two companies. If you are with anyone other than StarTex Power, you should, at the very least, try them for one year. No hidden fees either, just ask.

Kathy Parrish from Carrollton
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service and Pricing

(5 / 5)

  I moved down to S. Texas almost a year ago. Well closing on my home, the realtor had suggested Ambit as the provider of choice here. It took all of 2 months to realize just how bad Ambit's customer service and pricing was. I called them one afternoon, well sitting on hold for 45 minutes, I started doing research of other providers and found StarTex. I called StarTex directly after hanging up on Ambit (never did get a rep, even after 45 mins). I was talking to a StarTex rep in less then 5 mins. She took my new order and I was on my way in just a few minutes. I just got my renewal notice from StarTex and I'm happy to say I'll be staying with them. Great service and definitely the lowest pricing. Keep up the good work StarTex. Thanks.

Rob Pickrell from Alton
May 30th, 2018

Robert, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company!

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Startex since 2006.I have been pleasently surprised with their prompt,friendly service.Unlike prior experiences with my local cable and phone company.When you call with a question.They have never let me languish on hold.Or subject you to some horrid robot goonie.Although,I have noticed a little cheaper rate elsewhere.I will stick with Startex.I guess that I am "old school".And In these times of poor service and rude people.That means alot to me.

James D Morrison from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

James, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have recommended them!

(5 / 5)

  I not only found their customer service above average but I have been
extremely satisfied with my electric bill. There are never any big surprises
just great service!

Sara Bramble from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Sara, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Had a Problem

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Startex Power for about 12 months now and never had a problem with them. Called once to update something on my account and the customer service was great and was handled quickly. I would definitely recommend this company. They have good rates and seem to focus on customer service. Looked around at other companies but will be renewing with them.

Josh Wingard from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Josh, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely satisfied

(5 / 5)

  I have been a StarTex customer for nearly 4 years, first at my apartment and
now my home. Their rates have always been some of the lowest on the market
with no hidden fees for credit card payments, auto debit, telephone payments,
etc. I have had several businesses I know and friends switch at my urging and
they have all been equally satisfied. My contract is up for renewal in June and I
fully expect to be renewing my contract for another 2 year term!

Eric Israel from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Eric, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate yo
ur account and have sent you an email in regards to renewing your contract with StarTex Power. I look forward to assisting you! Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome!

(5 / 5)

  I just switched from Green Mountain Energy to StarTex. Their rates are MUCH better for green energy. The customer service was AWESOME, she was very helpful, spoke very clearly, and was articulate. She knew what she was talking about and to make it even better she was an AMERICAN! I didn't have to press one for English! They also have a referral program for referring friends where they give you AND your friend both $25 credit to your accounts. I am very satisfied.

Tiffany from Killeen
May 30th, 2018

Tiffany, welcome to the StarTex Power family! Your satisfaction is our reward! We are proud to be your retail electric provider!

Constellation Responds May 21st, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great and no surprises!!!

(5 / 5)

  I switched to Startex 6 months ago, after being with another provider for almost 15 years. Should have changed YEARS ago. I did alot of research and decided to go with Startex due to price plans, reviews, ratings etc. I am very glad I did. I wanted to wait to review them until I had been with them several months. Things have gone great. Billing is spot on, NO surprises! Yay! Email reminders to pay bills etc. When I have contacted contact customer service, they are extremely helpful by phone but also they respond to emails VERY fast! Great company and I hope to be with them a long time! Just be sure to lock into a price and remember to renew when it expires. They take credit cards too if you pay your bills that way, I just wish they took American Express. That's my only complaint! Great company

D Ericson from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

Ms. Ericson, we are thrilled to hear you have been pleased with your services thus far! I have located your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words!

Constellation Responds May 21st, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Superior customer service

(5 / 5)

  StarTex's customer service rep was excellent. She was knowledgeable and patient when I asked all of the questions that I needed to have answered in order to make the decision to switch electric providers. I had had the same provider for nine years and wanted to make sure that I was making the right decision. Everything was explained very clearly. So far a great experience!

Sylvia from Katy
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Made the Switch

(5 / 5)

  We have used/tried with StarTex Power at our rental properties on and off in between tenants for the past two years. Had great experiences each time using their month-to-month plan, easy to sign on and off, with excellent customer services. Now that the contract at our own residence is up for renewal, we decided to look around. Not surprisingly, through this website, we saw that StarTex power has a very attractive competitive rate for the 100% renewable energy plan. So we just signed on. The whole application process only took about 2 minutes online. With the past experiences we had with StarTex Power, we know that it is going to be good. We are in!

Green Mom from Plano
May 30th, 2018

We are thrilled to hear you signed on with us at your residence! If you need any assistance at all, please contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com, as it would be my pleasure to assist you!

Constellation Responds June 29th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints

(5 / 5)

  I had StarTex for a couple of years and never had an issue. Their rates were fair and the costs were straight forward and easy to understand. I even like how their bills are organized. I also like their online system for reviewing and paying your bill. I had to leave them since I moved to a place where I was not responsible for electricity. I have recently signed up with them again since I purchased a home a couple of months ago. Even though StarTex was not the cheapest option, I did not hesitate in signing up with them. I am happy with them and expect to be a long term customer!

Rob Tuthill from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Mr. Tuthill, welcome back to the StarTex Power family! I have located your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your positive feedback towards StarTex Power. If you need any assistance at all, please contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com, as it would be my pleasure to assist you!

Constellation Responds July 27th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best service ever

(5 / 5)

  Great rates, wonderful customer service, & fast, easy access to talk to a "real" person.

Anonymous
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm Very Pleased

(5 / 5)

  I switched to StarTex 6 months ago and have consistently had lower bills than with TXU. I had a rate of .13 per kW in the winter and .15 per kW in the summer with TXU and now I have a fixed rate of .09 per kW. My bills have been at least $29 less a month even when I used more kWs. I have saved $289 in 6 months compared to the same time last year with TXU and I used more kWs with StarTex. They did not charge me a switching fee or a deposit. I have not had any interuption of service. I would recommend them.

DeeDee from Plano
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Local Company

(5 / 5)

  i really like the idea of using a local company..they have been great and after watching new companies go out of business i feel good about them

Lisa from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A very professional company

(5 / 5)

  This retail electric provider, in my opinion, has one of the best assets a company can have: excellent customer service. Here is where customers are retained or lost and I certainly intend to keep renewing my contract over the coming years.

Jim Blaine from Payne Springs
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback Mr. Blaine. StarTex Power appreciates your patronage!

Constellation Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Happy

(5 / 5)

  I just completed my first year with Startex and just signed up for my second. I could not be happier with this company. My bill has been cut in half. I live in a 2 story town home that was build in the 80s and I didn't have a bill over $200 all summer!

CaptJilly from Houston
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I am writing to inform you that you have an EXCELLENT employee by the name of Farena Davis. She went to great lengths to make sure that I was taken care of. It is employees like her that make a company so great. I will definitely be recommending Star Tex Power to anyone I know that may need an electrical provider. It isn't often that I find myself pleased with the customer service that utility companies provide, simply because it seems no one cares. It was very obvious that Ms. Davis cared about my needs and made sure to help me in any way that she could. She followed up with me and even sent me information I needed in a text because I couldn't write it down at the time. I am really impressed by the lengths she went to make sure my needs were met. Her service was outstanding. I wish my other utility companies had employees like her. I work in customer service myself and try my best to treat my customers like I would like to be treated. Farena definitely sets a standard and an example that I will follow in my own job. Needless to say. I hope that she is recognized for the excellence she provides!!

Kristin Davis from Alvin
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

StarTex is the best.

(5 / 5)

  Switched back in March. Process was totally seamless. No complaints
whatsoever. Haven't had to call customer service once.

Kevin from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Constellation Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electric Company

(5 / 5)

  I've NEVER had a problem with StarTex. I've had several others and their rates and fees always increase. Startex doesn't have the lowest rate, but they are about in the middle. I always use the "AMI" promotional code when I renew and it gives me the cheapest possible price...typically about .2 cents off per kWh. I pay via my banks bill pay system and have never had an issue. They send me monthly bills, they send me renewal notices, and their customer service has always been prompt and courteous. I would highly recommend StarTex for a reliable, cost efficient, and good power company.

Paul Fisher from Fort Worth (Oncor)
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your remarks Mr. Foster. StarTex Power appreciates your business!

Constellation Responds January 16th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 01-18-2019
Example Bill
loading...