Loyal customers for 45 years sadly disappointed about unauthorized cancelation of service
Sad and disappointed about unauthorized cancelation of service. We have been loyal customers since 1975. That is 45 years of being a loyal customer. We have never had issues with CPL . Outages and yard lights fixed in prompt manner. Service people friendly and knowledgeable but the phone customer care sadly not the same. Our issues are of late. Waiting for our bill and due date days away I called for info of bill payment to pay by phone( we always pay with paper not liking online nor by phone payments).. Only to be informed that some unknown ,unauthorized "entity" called and informed them, CPL, to cancel our service. Unbeknown to us(authorized account holders) I was informed of this and so I informed them we did not authorize it as we live there. I do not know how this unknown, unauthorized "entity" was given permission by them, since a person needs to give personal info, pins and such when trying to call and speak with an operator from CPL which I did not authorize nor give permission nor know the identity of such "person". And so I called yet again and they fervently said that we had to cancel our new "provider " first??? I asked which one since only we have had you since we built the house in 1975... and so they went ahead and did some clicking away and informed and gave a work order number. When we called nothing happened. I called yet again and given yet another work order number was given. Electricity was turned off a wk ago. Food was spoiled, my son I am having to take to a relative since school is virtual so he cannot use laptop nor our internet since it is down due to CPL turning off our electricity without our authorized request, water heater not working as electricity is off. And so it has been hard and stressful aside from worrying about the pandemic and all. We have or I should say" had" two accounts and I am just wondering and thinking if they will also do the same to that account being that it is a church. Very sad and disappointed and stressed out. Thankfully no one is on a medical machine at this time or it would be an even more tragic situation. Hoping I can find a solution to this unforeseen situation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed 45 Years Of Loyalty Customer from Donna, TX on November 10th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department. We care for you and we appreciate your trust and loyalty, so we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Sophie / Digital Care
— CPL Retail Energy
Trying to trick people into switching back to CPL
I have had to deal with block walkers who try to trick customers around my block to switch back to CPL from other companies by asking only permission to verify their meter on their properties. Multiple neighbors have complained and I have talked to the CPL workers walking the blocks trying to trick the people by the way of possible future shutdowns being reported to CPL since CPL runs the system. They use the same excuse with every neighbor I have spoken with until I verified that all they wanted to do was verify the meter on the property to switch the customer from whatever company they had prior to CPL and that's when they quickly held their hands and said good night when just a few days prior my neighbor to the left couldn't get them to leave her alone. That is a bad practice CPL for getting your old customers back. Shame on you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddie G. from Corpus Christi, TX on June 9th, 2019
Hi Eddie,

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We certainly do not want you to feel uncomfortable and taken advantage of. Feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat to have your address added to our internal Do Not Visit list. Please be advised it may take up to 30 days for all solicitation activity to cease once this has been submitted. We look forward to hearing from you, have a pleasant day!
— CPL Retail Energy
Rip off
I switched to CPL from a Just energy..they explained kw rate 0.137 free weekends starting Friday evening until Monday am..kids in school from 7am to 6pm..adults work out of town from 7am to 6pm Mom through Friday..yet my current bill $253.61. Saved $55.79..woopty do..cant believe we at home all evening Fri..all day Sat n Sun..do shit load of laundry and drying on weekend since its free..and only save average about $8.50 a day on weekends? Hasnt been cold or hot all month of Feb so havent used ac..our stove is broken so no 220volt items being used...AGAIN..rip.off...STAY AWAY from CPL and only been with them x 3 months..and a $29.95 recovery fee? WTF
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Corpus Christi, TX on March 19th, 2019
Hi David,

We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience has been less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. The $29.95 collection recovery fee is applied to the account each time a disconnection notice is generated and mailed. This fee is explained on the disconnection notice as well as in the terms and conditions documentation.
In reference to the free weekend plans, the free coverage applies from 6pm CST Friday until 1159pm CST Sunday. This is a great plan, if most of your household usage is consumed during this specific timeframe. The rate is higher at all other timeframes.
A great way to manage your usage is in your online portal under the Usage and Insights tab. In addition, here is a link for reducing your electricity usage: https://www.directenergy.com/learning-center/energy-efficiency Please feel free to contact customer care should you have additional questions and concerns, thank you and have a wonderful day!

-Marie
— CPL Retail Energy
Changed price of kilowatt usage
Very helpful caring personal who explained to me different plans to help customer lower price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helpful Towards Customer Needs from Laredo, TX on August 15th, 2018
This is a great experience to hear about! We are so happy that our Customer Service Agents could assist and really help you lower your price and overall. If you have any questions in the future, please don' hesitate to reach out to us by phone! Have a wonderful weekend - Kate
— CPL Retail Energy
Good company
You can depend on CPL
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Martine from Corpus Christi, TX on August 15th, 2018
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Knowing that you believe in our company and have come to depend on us for your Electricity needs is a huge compliment for us. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your wonderful experience and we look forward to serving you more in the future! Have a wonderful weekend! - Kate
— CPL Retail Energy
Terrible Service with their terrible technical online payment issues.
I've been a loyal customer for several yearz onlynfor them to shutboff my service after having troublr paying online. I eork ling uours and long days. I dont have time to contact anyone by phone to pay my bill.
So frustrating to come home from work after a long night of working to find the powers off. I contacted them by phone and the person who spoke to me said he would have the restoration in 2 to 4 hours but it depends on how the technicians feel. IT DEPENDS ON THEM ON HOW SOON THEY WILL TURN THE POWER ON. no one has time to be waiting on that. Terrible terrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M.g from Seco Mines, TX on July 31st, 2018
We would like to look into the issue you were having with paying your bill online. We want to ensure that you are given the ability to pay your bill in an easy manner, and if there were issues, we would like to make sure they are corrected. We do give estimates of 2-4 hours for any reconnect, since once we submit the approval it then goes to the utility to be processed and we can't guarantee how quickly that will be processed. If you have a smart meter it is generally much quicker. If you would like to discuss the issues you had with paying online, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and provide your account number and a detailed description of the issue you encountered. -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy
NOT how to treat 30+yr Loyal Customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

30+yr Loyal Customer LEAVING CPL from San Carlos, TX on July 10th, 2018
This is definitely not the experience that we want for any of our customers, but definitely not our loyal customers that have been with us for so long. Without having your account information, I can only go off the information above, but we should be able to assist you in getting back onto the best fixed rate plan for your specific needs, and then look to see what we can do about the time period that you were moved to a variable. We do try to email reminders when your fixed plan is expiring, but we understand that sometimes these are missed in your inbox. If you would like to discuss options, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number and a brief explanation of the situation and we will work on resolving this for you. Also, I am sorry if my previous messages came across as uncaring. -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy
Satisfied
Great website good prices good service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Website Good Prices Good Service. from South Padre Island, TX on June 28th, 2018
Thank you! We appreciate you letting us know how your experience has been with us!
— CPL Retail Energy
GREAT Service.
Needed a lower monthly bill...as a retiree. ..CPL was most accommodating with a lower monthly plan. THANKS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rockport Strong from Rockport, TX on June 14th, 2018
It is our pleasure! We try to ensure that our customers maintain lower rates and are educated on ways to decrease their usage as much as possible. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
— CPL Retail Energy
Great customer service
Customer service worked really hard to get us connected in our new house. They made it easy and we had power in just a couple of days after making the initial inquiry.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tomtefco from Poteet, TX on April 26th, 2018
That is great to hear, Tom! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with us!
— CPL Retail Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for CPL Retail Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.6 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.4 of 5.
5 Stars
20%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
17%
 
1 Stars
60%
 
3.4 / 5
Overall
3.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
3.6 / 5
Order Experience
3.4 / 5
Customer Service
3.3 / 5
Billing and Account Management
3.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About CPL Retail Energy

Central Power & Light was the incumbent electricity provider for areas of central Texas for 75 years until Texas electricity deregulated in 2002. American Electric Power (AEP) then sold the retail electric part of their business to Direct Energy, who has been operating in that region of Texas as CPL Retail Energy ever since.

Direct Energy is the largest competitive retailer of energy and related services in North America. With operations across Canada, Texas and the north-eastern United States, Direct Energy delivers $8 billion of energy and related services to over five million residential and commercial customers. They operate generation assets, as well as retail electricity services in multiple states across the US.



Recommended Electricity Plans