All 1 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All CPL Retail Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Loyal customers for 45 years sadly disappointed about unauthorized cancelation of service
Sad and disappointed about unauthorized cancelation of service. We have been loyal customers since 1975. That is 45 years of being a loyal customer. We have never had issues with CPL . Outages and yard lights fixed in prompt manner. Service people friendly and knowledgeable but the phone customer care sadly not the same. Our issues are of late. Waiting for our bill and due date days away I called for info of bill payment to pay by phone( we always pay with paper not liking online nor by phone payments).. Only to be informed that some unknown ,unauthorized "entity" called and informed them, CPL, to cancel our service. Unbeknown to us(authorized account holders) I was informed of this and so I informed them we did not authorize it as we live there. I do not know how this unknown, unauthorized "entity" was given permission by them, since a person needs to give personal info, pins and such when trying to call and speak with an operator from CPL which I did not authorize nor give permission nor know the identity of such "person". And so I called yet again and they fervently said that we had to cancel our new "provider " first??? I asked which one since only we have had you since we built the house in 1975... and so they went ahead and did some clicking away and informed and gave a work order number. When we called nothing happened. I called yet again and given yet another work order number was given. Electricity was turned off a wk ago. Food was spoiled, my son I am having to take to a relative since school is virtual so he cannot use laptop nor our internet since it is down due to CPL turning off our electricity without our authorized request, water heater not working as electricity is off. And so it has been hard and stressful aside from worrying about the pandemic and all. We have or I should say" had" two accounts and I am just wondering and thinking if they will also do the same to that account being that it is a church. Very sad and disappointed and stressed out. Thankfully no one is on a medical machine at this time or it would be an even more tragic situation. Hoping I can find a solution to this unforeseen situation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed 45 Years Of Loyalty Customer from Donna, TX on November 10th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department. We care for you and we appreciate your trust and loyalty, so we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Sophie / Digital Care
— CPL Retail Energy
Trying to trick people into switching back to CPL
I have had to deal with block walkers who try to trick customers around my block to switch back to CPL from other companies by asking only permission to verify their meter on their properties. Multiple neighbors have complained and I have talked to the CPL workers walking the blocks trying to trick the people by the way of possible future shutdowns being reported to CPL since CPL runs the system. They use the same excuse with every neighbor I have spoken with until I verified that all they wanted to do was verify the meter on the property to switch the customer from whatever company they had prior to CPL and that's when they quickly held their hands and said good night when just a few days prior my neighbor to the left couldn't get them to leave her alone. That is a bad practice CPL for getting your old customers back. Shame on you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddie G. from Corpus Christi, TX on June 9th, 2019
Hi Eddie,

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We certainly do not want you to feel uncomfortable and taken advantage of. Feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat to have your address added to our internal Do Not Visit list. Please be advised it may take up to 30 days for all solicitation activity to cease once this has been submitted. We look forward to hearing from you, have a pleasant day!
— CPL Retail Energy
Rip off
I switched to CPL from a Just energy..they explained kw rate 0.137 free weekends starting Friday evening until Monday am..kids in school from 7am to 6pm..adults work out of town from 7am to 6pm Mom through Friday..yet my current bill $253.61. Saved $55.79..woopty do..cant believe we at home all evening Fri..all day Sat n Sun..do shit load of laundry and drying on weekend since its free..and only save average about $8.50 a day on weekends? Hasnt been cold or hot all month of Feb so havent used ac..our stove is broken so no 220volt items being used...AGAIN..rip.off...STAY AWAY from CPL and only been with them x 3 months..and a $29.95 recovery fee? WTF
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Corpus Christi, TX on March 19th, 2019
Hi David,

We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience has been less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. The $29.95 collection recovery fee is applied to the account each time a disconnection notice is generated and mailed. This fee is explained on the disconnection notice as well as in the terms and conditions documentation.
In reference to the free weekend plans, the free coverage applies from 6pm CST Friday until 1159pm CST Sunday. This is a great plan, if most of your household usage is consumed during this specific timeframe. The rate is higher at all other timeframes.
A great way to manage your usage is in your online portal under the Usage and Insights tab. In addition, here is a link for reducing your electricity usage: https://www.directenergy.com/learning-center/energy-efficiency Please feel free to contact customer care should you have additional questions and concerns, thank you and have a wonderful day!

-Marie
— CPL Retail Energy
Terrible Service with their terrible technical online payment issues.
I've been a loyal customer for several yearz onlynfor them to shutboff my service after having troublr paying online. I eork ling uours and long days. I dont have time to contact anyone by phone to pay my bill.
So frustrating to come home from work after a long night of working to find the powers off. I contacted them by phone and the person who spoke to me said he would have the restoration in 2 to 4 hours but it depends on how the technicians feel. IT DEPENDS ON THEM ON HOW SOON THEY WILL TURN THE POWER ON. no one has time to be waiting on that. Terrible terrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M.g from Seco Mines, TX on July 31st, 2018
We would like to look into the issue you were having with paying your bill online. We want to ensure that you are given the ability to pay your bill in an easy manner, and if there were issues, we would like to make sure they are corrected. We do give estimates of 2-4 hours for any reconnect, since once we submit the approval it then goes to the utility to be processed and we can't guarantee how quickly that will be processed. If you have a smart meter it is generally much quicker. If you would like to discuss the issues you had with paying online, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and provide your account number and a detailed description of the issue you encountered. -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy
NOT how to treat 30+yr Loyal Customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

30+yr Loyal Customer LEAVING CPL from San Carlos, TX on July 10th, 2018
This is definitely not the experience that we want for any of our customers, but definitely not our loyal customers that have been with us for so long. Without having your account information, I can only go off the information above, but we should be able to assist you in getting back onto the best fixed rate plan for your specific needs, and then look to see what we can do about the time period that you were moved to a variable. We do try to email reminders when your fixed plan is expiring, but we understand that sometimes these are missed in your inbox. If you would like to discuss options, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number and a brief explanation of the situation and we will work on resolving this for you. Also, I am sorry if my previous messages came across as uncaring. -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy
Will never use or recc
I would never recommend cp&l to anyone. In August I called to c about making payment arrangements, I was approved. I was to pay 95.00 each month till I was caught up. In September during hurricane Harvey I contacted cpl again, I was still having trouble paying my bill. The gentleman I talked to at cpl told me to pay the 95.00 plus I told him I could make a 100 dollar payment on my regular bill. So I paid 195.00. I was told by cpl that I had not made my monthly bill so I defaulted according to them. When I called twice to try to fix the problem I was told both times I had to pay something immediately if they were even going to try to help me. I received a disconnect notice today for Monday the 23rd. When I called cpl the woman I talked to was rude and no help at all. My bill says I owe 765.00 when I called I was told I owed over 8 hundred dollars and that I had to pay the full amount or my bill could not be turned back on. Cpl also has a switch hold on my name and property, which means cpl would rather my family be without power rather than help me try to pay my bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TIFFANY FALCON from Petronila, TX on October 19th, 2017
Tiffany, we sincerely apologize for the experience. According to the activity on your account today,10/20/2017, I see that our agent was able to help you with your request. If you have further questions please let us know by sending them to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We always look forward to resolving your concerns. Have a great weekend! ~ Lynnen
— CPL Retail Energy
Horrible experience
My power was disconnected, come to find out I had been paying CPL for five months without knowing it. so I tried to reinstall service was told three different amounts to reinstall service by several different people after the fourth person they blacklisted my account. Said that I could not get service and that I could not even speak to anybody. Insisted I'd have to wait 3-5 for them to call me or pay $600. Then every person that answered my phone call was just plain rude! Five minutes later I got an account with TXU with a better rate nicer customer service and people who I could actually understand. I do not recommend CPL at all. I have been with them for over 10 years and had several problems!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied Customer from South Padre Island, TX on July 19th, 2017
We sincerely apologize for the kind of experience you had recently. We would like to review this further. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and a good phone number. Thank you. -Jane
— CPL Retail Energy
Horrible customer service...horrible interaction...just horrible!
Horrible customer service, don't listen, charge you for services you've already paid for, tack on "extra" "disconnect" charges, even though you did not choose to tx to another provider. Point the blame at the customer even though the customer was not the company that called to disconnect service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jerry House from Mcallen on July 12th, 2016
Good Morning Jerry, we apologize for the experience you have had with us. Could you please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can investigate this further for you? We would be more than happy to help resolve this or other concerns you may have. Thank you - Kate
— CPL Retail Energy
Customer Service
...or lack there of...incompetent employees... high prices and hidden fees...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AJ from Pharr on October 16th, 2015
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy
Worst Experience Ever
This has been the worst experience with a service provider. There was an inadvertent switch on our account whereby another energy company took over our account. Not sure how this happened, but was told by CPL in April that I would need to contact AEP to find out who. Upon calling AEP they said that CPL would need to take our bill back over. I worked with CPL from April until July trying to get our account reinstated. They eventually cancelled it saying that I waited too long. They told me I would need to set up a new account. I tried to do this but there was an error. I then received an email from them requesting me to call within 24 hours. When I did this the customer service rep had no idea why I was calling and didn't see my order for a new account. They told me I should actually connect this account to my other account. When this didn't work either, the rep told me someone would contact me in 24 hours. Same scenario. When I called back they didn't' know what the error was or how to fix it. They said it seemed like a credit issue. I asked to be transferred to their credit department but they only had an email address. I emailed the credit department and finally heard from someone who apologized for all the trouble but didn't have an answer. She promised to call back the next day. When the person called back they said my account was being set up as a residential account but needed to be set up as a business account and would transfer me to the business department and explain the situation. Upon transfer, the person thought I had called them and had no knowledge of my issue. When they looked up my account they did not see any orders and suggested I try again to set up a new account. They said I would need a separate account and not to add on to my existing account because they were different types of services. This is what I had originally tried to do! Supposedly the order is in place and will go thru this time. I'm not holding my breath. This has been the worst and hardest experience trying to request service. If it weren't' for our contract on our other account, I would choose someone else in an instant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leslie from Kingsville on July 15th, 2015
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— CPL Retail Energy


Recommended Electricity Plans