Home > Read Reviews > Cpl Retail Energy > 1534369268480259009


Changed price of kilowatt usage
(5 / 5)

  Very helpful caring personal who explained to me different plans to help customer lower price

Helpful towards customer needs from 78043
August 15th, 2018

This is a great experience to hear about! We are so happy that our Customer Service Agents could assist and really help you lower your price and overall. If you have any questions in the future, please don' hesitate to reach out to us by phone! Have a wonderful weekend - Kate

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


CPL Retail Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for CPL Retail Energy are the order experience, rated at 4.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.7 of 5.


CPL Retail Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






48 Reviews for CPL Retail Energy


Changed price of kilowatt usage
(5 / 5)

  Very helpful caring personal who explained to me different plans to help customer lower price

Helpful towards customer needs from Laredo
August 15th, 2018

This is a great experience to hear about! We are so happy that our Customer Service Agents could assist and really help you lower your price and overall. If you have any questions in the future, please don' hesitate to reach out to us by phone! Have a wonderful weekend - Kate

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company
(5 / 5)

  You can depend on CPL

Martine from Corpus Christi
August 15th, 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Knowing that you believe in our company and have come to depend on us for your Electricity needs is a huge compliment for us. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your wonderful experience and we look forward to serving you more in the future! Have a wonderful weekend! - Kate

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied
(5 / 5)

  Great website good prices good service.

Great website good prices good service. from Port Isabel
June 28th, 2018

Thank you! We appreciate you letting us know how your experience has been with us!

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GREAT Service.
(5 / 5)

  Needed a lower monthly bill...as a retiree. ..CPL was most accommodating with a lower monthly plan. THANKS

Rockport Strong from Fulton
June 14th, 2018

It is our pleasure! We try to ensure that our customers maintain lower rates and are educated on ways to decrease their usage as much as possible. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great customer service
(5 / 5)

  Customer service worked really hard to get us connected in our new house. They made it easy and we had power in just a couple of days after making the initial inquiry.

Tomtefco from Poteet
April 26th, 2018

That is great to hear, Tom! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with us!

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

10 star award
(5 / 5)

  Over the years going to other providers I found that even though prices all over have gone up every where. CPL has continued to provide low prices at times when I thought I was going to see higher prices.

Paul O. Hughes from Corpus Christi
April 26th, 2018

We are happy to hear that you have been pleased with the service! Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to assist.

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cpl energy
(5 / 5)

  Connected fast and great price love it!

Deborah Aleman from Pharr
April 26th, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a review about your experience, Deborah!

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

its ok not the best
(3.2 / 5)

  not the cheapest

frmtz from Laredo
June 28th, 2009

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Follow Thru
(2.6 / 5)

  CS Reps are nice - but there is no follow through for the promises made. It takes me about 5 calls in order to connect with a supervisor as I keep getting hung up on each and every month. I am trying to correct a mistake in my plan which goes back to June.

Bob from SPI
October 22nd, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Quick to disconnect--Slow to reconnect
(2.5 / 5)

  I switched to Direct Energy when a
representative came to the door at a time that
I was displeased with TXU. I was offered a $200
gift card that was never received. My billing
date was set immediately before my monthly pay
date. With 3 kids in college and a due date
three days before my monthly pay check, I
sometimes did not have the entire amount by the
due date. I tried to change my billing date,
but it couldn't be done. When I tried to
negotiate payments, I could never reach a
representative. I was disconnected twice. Once
was a week after my due date and
the other time was immediately after the due
date. Each day it was near 100 degrees when the
power was disconnected while I was at work.
When I called upon arriving home, the Canadian
service representatives said that service could
not be restored before two business days, even
though I had paid in full. Oncor could not act
until the order was eventually received from
Direct Energy.

Lori from Mesquite
August 10th, 2011

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Meh
(2.4 / 5)

  Everything customer service wise was a hassle, but the price was pretty good

Blanca Canales from Corpus Christi
July 18th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My Scary Bill
(2.4 / 5)

  Turn off the lights to save energy,I told somebody. "Mom the bill is here,someone yelled. Lets see the price. What! 400.00 dollars! How much?. Four hundred dollars plus tax,I yelled back.We better change company,I told them.

Lucero Nava from Mission
March 2nd, 2010

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Neighborhood Blackout
(2.2 / 5)

  I wouldn't recommend getting CPL as your electricity provider. They don't care about their customers. Their electricity goes out at least 6 times a year, sometimes for 10 hour straight, just like today. Oh there's a hurricane coming? One that's going to miss the city completely and bring about 10 mph wind? Here, have 3 days without electricity. They have these new RF meters they installed that reports back usage/diagnostics wireless like when the electricity goes out. Looks like it doesn't do it any good. What's the point of having it if your electricity goes out, while your front neighbors with a different electricity company still have theirs on? Brownsville, Texas.

Evan Stephen from Brownsville
August 6th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Policy leads to confused customer service
(2 / 5)

  I signed up with this company a year ago, from the beginning they seemed disorganized and confused. For example, the terms of the contract I signed up for was never applied and instead I received and different contract terms. I was about to contact them and perhaps the authorities to make them abide by their original contract but when I received the first bill I saw that the calculated TDU fees were in fact far less than the contract terms (about $0.012/KWh), this is in direct contrast to every single contract terms I have read on all energy company websites, and all of them say the TDU fees are not marked up and directly passed to customer!! However I took the discount and was happy with until the end of my when suddenly the fees shut up and it did not make sense any more to stay with them. I called and spoke to their customer service in INDIA but could not understand adequately what they say (sorry nothing against Indians but very very difficult to comprehend the accent) more over, they were fully uniformed about the process and could not provide any sane logical explanation. So their customer service appear just a cheap front facade to fool the requirements. Yet when the billing time comes around they are quick to charge you a 5% for paying ONE day late, happened to me twice. At best I would say they cannot explain what the charges are and how it is calculated, thus I am signing off with them and would go to try another-- hopefully a better un-confused company with English speaking customer service. I would say that the price was good for a while, and if they put their act together and clarify the charges they may have some success, but not under current circumstances. Every thing that I did and worked was online, never placed a request or order change through phone- the online stuff worked.

Qabel from Laredo
February 11th, 2016

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

customer service and rates
(1.8 / 5)

  Customer service ice pitched me a 6 month plan yet didn't have the patience to explain it. Maybe he was not educated himself. He later told me in the conversation that his rate was different than the one online with my account and it was my responsibility. I asked him where online can I educate my self on my responsibilities he turned rude. Management needs to clearly define their role to sell a product along with courtesy. I'm not one to raise my voice, I did come close.

martin from Beeville
February 8th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Closing account was a nightmare
(1.8 / 5)

  Customer service told me to pay separately because automatic deductions do not apply to final bill (I had sold my home). Well, I did just that and what happened? Of course, they also deducted the same amount automatically. Now they tell me that it would take 4 to 6 weeks to return my money. FOUR TO SIX weels... Wow.
If you are delinquent for that period they will charge you interest. They claim that is their policy. My reply: change your policy. CPL customer service is horrible.

Fernando from Corpus Christi
December 27th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bad service
(1.6 / 5)

  had a very hard time to disconnect to build new home now having a hard time trying to connect for new service

juan from Mission
December 9th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT how to treat 30+yr Loyal Customers
(1.4 / 5)

 

30+yr Loyal Customer LEAVING CPL from Edinburg
July 10th, 2018

This is definitely not the experience that we want for any of our customers, but definitely not our loyal customers that have been with us for so long. Without having your account information, I can only go off the information above, but we should be able to assist you in getting back onto the best fixed rate plan for your specific needs, and then look to see what we can do about the time period that you were moved to a variable. We do try to email reminders when your fixed plan is expiring, but we understand that sometimes these are missed in your inbox. If you would like to discuss options, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number and a brief explanation of the situation and we will work on resolving this for you. Also, I am sorry if my previous messages came across as uncaring. -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience
(1.4 / 5)

  my power was disconnected, come to find out I had been paying CPL for five months without knowing it. so I tried to reinstall service was told three different amounts to reinstall service by several different people after the fourth person they blacklisted my account. Said that I could not get service and that I could not even speak to anybody. Insisted I'd have to wait 3-5 for them to call me or pay $600. Then every person that answered my phone call was just plain rude! Five minutes later I got an account with TXU with a better rate nicer customer service and people who I could actually understand. I do not recommend CPL at all. I have been with them for over 10 years and had several problems!!

Dissatisfied customer from Port Isabel
July 19th, 2017

We sincerely apologize for the kind of experience you had recently. We would like to review this further. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and a good phone number. Thank you. -Jane

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service
(1.4 / 5)

  I always kept CPL because of their service, but a recent experience has changed my mind. Trying to get an error and its repercussions fixed has taken me over a month and many hours on the telephone. It is still not fixed and I have had too many people tell me they can not help me and not pass me to someone who can. Understandably I am looking for a new supplier.

Rick from Del Rio
March 21st, 2013

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 11-16-2018
Example Bill
loading...