CPL Retail Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for CPL Retail Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.3 of 5.

CPL Retail Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

50 Reviews for CPL Retail Energy


Poor customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  I always kept CPL because of their service, but a recent experience has changed my mind. Trying to get an error and its repercussions fixed has taken me over a month and many hours on the telephone. It is still not fixed and I have had too many people tell me they can not help me and not pass me to someone who can. Understandably I am looking for a new supplier.

Rick from Del Rio
March 21st, 2013

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trying to trick people into switching back to CPL

(1 / 5)

  I have had to deal with block walkers who try to trick customers around my block to switch back to CPL from other companies by asking only permission to verify their meter on their properties. Multiple neighbors have complained and I have talked to the CPL workers walking the blocks trying to trick the people by the way of possible future shutdowns being reported to CPL since CPL runs the system. They use the same excuse with every neighbor I have spoken with until I verified that all they wanted to do was verify the meter on the property to switch the customer from whatever company they had prior to CPL and that's when they quickly held their hands and said good night when just a few days prior my neighbor to the left couldn't get them to leave her alone. That is a bad practice CPL for getting your old customers back. Shame on you.

Eddie G. from Corpus Christi
June 9th, 2019

Hi Eddie,

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We certainly do not want you to feel uncomfortable and taken advantage of. Feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat to have your address added to our internal Do Not Visit list. Please be advised it may take up to 30 days for all solicitation activity to cease once this has been submitted. We look forward to hearing from you, have a pleasant day!

CPL Retail Energy Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Service with their terrible technical online payment issues.

(1 / 5)

  I've been a loyal customer for several yearz onlynfor them to shutboff my service after having troublr paying online. I eork ling uours and long days. I dont have time to contact anyone by phone to pay my bill.
So frustrating to come home from work after a long night of working to find the powers off. I contacted them by phone and the person who spoke to me said he would have the restoration in 2 to 4 hours but it depends on how the technicians feel. IT DEPENDS ON THEM ON HOW SOON THEY WILL TURN THE POWER ON. no one has time to be waiting on that. Terrible terrible.

M.g from Eagle Pass
July 31st, 2018

We would like to look into the issue you were having with paying your bill online. We want to ensure that you are given the ability to pay your bill in an easy manner, and if there were issues, we would like to make sure they are corrected. We do give estimates of 2-4 hours for any reconnect, since once we submit the approval it then goes to the utility to be processed and we can't guarantee how quickly that will be processed. If you have a smart meter it is generally much quicker. If you would like to discuss the issues you had with paying online, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and provide your account number and a detailed description of the issue you encountered. -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never use or recc

(1 / 5)

  I would never recommend cp&l to anyone. In August I called to c about making payment arrangements, I was approved. I was to pay 95.00 each month till I was caught up. In September during hurricane Harvey I contacted cpl again, I was still having trouble paying my bill. The gentleman I talked to at cpl told me to pay the 95.00 plus I told him I could make a 100 dollar payment on my regular bill. So I paid 195.00. I was told by cpl that I had not made my monthly bill so I defaulted according to them. When I called twice to try to fix the problem I was told both times I had to pay something immediately if they were even going to try to help me. I received a disconnect notice today for Monday the 23rd. When I called cpl the woman I talked to was rude and no help at all. My bill says I owe 765.00 when I called I was told I owed over 8 hundred dollars and that I had to pay the full amount or my bill could not be turned back on. Cpl also has a switch hold on my name and property, which means cpl would rather my family be without power rather than help me try to pay my bill.

TIFFANY FALCON from Corpus Christi
October 19th, 2017

Tiffany, we sincerely apologize for the experience. According to the activity on your account today,10/20/2017, I see that our agent was able to help you with your request. If you have further questions please let us know by sending them to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We always look forward to resolving your concerns. Have a great weekend! ~ Lynnen

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service...horrible interaction...just horrible!

(1 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, don't listen, charge you for services you've already paid for, tack on "extra" "disconnect" charges, even though you did not choose to tx to another provider. Point the blame at the customer even though the customer was not the company that called to disconnect service.

Jerry House from Mcallen
July 12th, 2016

Good Morning Jerry, we apologize for the experience you have had with us. Could you please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can investigate this further for you? We would be more than happy to help resolve this or other concerns you may have. Thank you - Kate

CPL Retail Energy Responds July 26th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  ...or lack there of...incompetent employees... high prices and hidden fees...

AJ from PHARR
October 16th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Experience Ever

(1 / 5)

  This has been the worst experience with a service provider. There was an inadvertent switch on our account whereby another energy company took over our account. Not sure how this happened, but was told by CPL in April that I would need to contact AEP to find out who. Upon calling AEP they said that CPL would need to take our bill back over. I worked with CPL from April until July trying to get our account reinstated. They eventually cancelled it saying that I waited too long. They told me I would need to set up a new account. I tried to do this but there was an error. I then received an email from them requesting me to call within 24 hours. When I did this the customer service rep had no idea why I was calling and didn't see my order for a new account. They told me I should actually connect this account to my other account. When this didn't work either, the rep told me someone would contact me in 24 hours. Same scenario. When I called back they didn't' know what the error was or how to fix it. They said it seemed like a credit issue. I asked to be transferred to their credit department but they only had an email address. I emailed the credit department and finally heard from someone who apologized for all the trouble but didn't have an answer. She promised to call back the next day. When the person called back they said my account was being set up as a residential account but needed to be set up as a business account and would transfer me to the business department and explain the situation. Upon transfer, the person thought I had called them and had no knowledge of my issue. When they looked up my account they did not see any orders and suggested I try again to set up a new account. They said I would need a separate account and not to add on to my existing account because they were different types of services. This is what I had originally tried to do! Supposedly the order is in place and will go thru this time. I'm not holding my breath. This has been the worst and hardest experience trying to request service. If it weren't' for our contract on our other account, I would choose someone else in an instant.

Leslie from Kingsville
July 15th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Does not Honor Terms of Plan!!! BEWARE, FIND ANOTHER ELECTRIC PROVIDER

(1 / 5)

  I HAVE NEVER POSTED A REVIEW ON THE INTERNET BEFORE BT I AM MOTIVATED BY THE OUTRAGUS EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD WITH THIS BUSINESS.
CPL is not honoring the term of our contract. I have spent many hours over the phone with them without a reasonable conclusion. I have provided them with the written proof of terms agreed to (I am a CPA so I keep Proof of everything I do... a good habit when dealing with those that can not be trusted) Even with the written proof they have been unwilling to honor the terms.... "someone put the wrong code into their system"... "they don't see that kind of plan was offered at the time I signed up"...it goes on and on... I sent them a copy of the letter I received in the mail from them and the detailed terms discussed over the phone with their employee. ... they are still not billing me according to those terms. THIS IS NOT THE CPL COMPANY WE GROW UP KNOWING. BEWARE AND FIND A MORE REPUTABLE ELETRIC PROVIDER THAT WILL ABIDE BY TERMS OF THE AGREEMENT!!!!

KATHY from CORPUS CHRISTI
April 1st, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible billing and collections service

(1 / 5)

  I am now on month 6 of billing. When I setup the account I gave them a credit card to run each month. They told me the card was a problem, so I gave them 2 more. It is weird they can't seem to run a card correctly, and I keep getting late fees, etc. This last time I gave them my Amex card which alerts me to charges. My bill says, DO NOT PAY, Auto Debit will be processed on 9/5. Of course it wasn't and I verified with Amex that they haven't even tried. What a poor excuse for a business. Every time I call they have the excuse their "system is being upgraded" please call back.

C Thompson from Tuscola
September 5th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RIP OFF AND RUDE

(1 / 5)

  I had a renter move out of my house and went to get the electric switched to my name, they set me up with a new enrollment and ran credit check...came back saying i needed a 50 dollar deposit, i said ok, they charged my bank card 50 dollars...4 hours i got a call from them and they said i wasnt enrolled that i had to do it all over again and that my 50 dollar deposit i couldnt get credited, i ended up losing 50 dollars....they are rude, didnt care to help even though the first person i spoke to said i was enrolled and got email confirmation saying i was good to go and payment went through....i will never use them again...and for all others out there.....STAY AWAY from CPL

C.E.M from Corpus Christi
April 23rd, 2013

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY COMPANY CANT EVEN PUT THERE REAL NAME

(1 / 5)

  CPL has lied to me for years i was told that i had the same compeny for 30 years wrong its direct enerrgy why cant they just say the compeny real name stay away why hide from the truth

anymous from Laredo
February 22nd, 2013

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bogus charges, horrible customer service --STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  My family and I have been with CPL for over 40 years. Weve never thought about shopping around for a better price. We have stayed true to CPL. Our bills are outrageous during the summer months, and of course we thought it was our home, older home poor insulation. Last summer I questioned their meter reading and they gave me a better kilowatt rate, but I had to agree to an extended contract with them for 1 year. Rarely do I look at my statements, I look at my bill online and pay it. But this time I took a look at my statement and found such a laughable bogus charge collection recovery fee of 29.95. I called them and asked them what that fee was about. I was told that when my account goes into disconnection status that they charge 29.95 for a disconnection fee. I was outraged! I paid my bill 5 days after it became due and on the website I had to option to split my payment for my next pay period. I got a reference I.D. number for both payments and that was that. So if arrangements were made, both given payment references, I asked why am I still incurring this bogus disconnection fee. Customer service was the worst! I couldnt get a straight answer from them. I was told that someone would be calling me to explain this charge. How can they explain away such a charge? My actual bill was not that high, but the additional charges and taxes were well over 100.00 dollars added onto my bill. I cant wait to get out from underneath these thieves! I wish someone state or federal would review how they are charging their customers. Now I question everything with CPL. I never thought I would. I do feel foolish it took so long to see their shady practices. They could care less about their customers as long as they can line their pockets with as many fees as they can tack onto each bill they send out. I will give a follow-up review of my conversation with the supervisor that is supposed to explain this charge, but that is giving them the benefit of the doubt that the call will actually be made. I would rate in the negative if I could.

Rick Villanueva from Corpus Christi
February 5th, 2013

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Post dergulation, CPL is AWFUL

(1 / 5)

  I have had several different accounts with CPL for years. Lately they have appllied the wrong checks to the wrong accounts repeatedlty, Lost multiple checks for 2 or 3 weeks and then "Found" them, Their customer service people have gottern rude and arrogant, and their prices on electricity just suck. While trying to clean up a misapplied check they posted to someone elses account, both my wife and I were treated as if we were idiots, told we needed to show our bill to our accountant and treated BAD. After I ordered a change in provider to Reliant I called them to again try to resolve their misapplication of a check. Over a 2 week period we faxed the front and back of the check 6 times. They now admit they have misapplied the check but still have not corrected the problem. 1 day before my electricity was to be switched, with them admitting they had misapplied the check, they disconnected. CSR's are uninformed, Unempowered and RUDE. Rates also dropped by about half after switch.

Bill from Corpus Christi
February 14th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CPL SUCKS

(1 / 5)

  The worst customer service ever experience ever.

Betty from USA
October 21st, 2009

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible

(0.8 / 5)

  The worst experience ever. I am trying to cancel now. The customer service representative actually hung up on me. I guess people aren't too concerned with keeping their jobs there.

joanna from Mcallen
September 5th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst customer service

(0.8 / 5)

  i called them today with an issue with my bill i have been with them for 10 years straight i have never, not paid them i always pay them but my bill is always paid 5 days late cuz thats when i get paid every month and they wont change my billing date to accomadate me but 25 years i have been with this company all together but ten years straight at one address and they treat me like im nothing a 25 year customer im just wondering how they treat new customers cuz man they treat long time customers like dirt to step on. on top of everything i got yelled at and attitude from a supervisor cuz they told me well your always five days late well i told them my situation and its been like that for ten years but for ten years i pay them. they were so rude to me i wanted to tell them to stick there electric but i just shut up but im looking for a new company asap!

Lori from Harlingen
August 16th, 2011

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Far FAR away

(0.7 / 5)

  My checks are applied to wrong accounts 3 times.

My payments take 10 days or more to post when they get there because...

My payments are always "Lost." I am an accountant. I never miss a date. They claim they send my payment elsewhere after they get it.

They say 7-10 days to process a mail payment... WHY?

They take more like 10-15 days... WHY?

They are nasty to you on the phone. Their people seem to know nothing and do nothing. Add a serious dose of "Snottiness" to their Phone Reps.

I will NEVER trade with these people again. EVER

I'd ground my daughter for a month if she ever said to me what their reps have told me.

Steph from Portland
February 14th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too EXPENSIVE; RUDE Customer Service; No work on Saturday even with a problem?

(0.5 / 5)

  Just STAY AWAY!!! Not so smart people work in customer service. If you don't like your job, find a different job and keep customers from a bad experience.

Jerry from Alice
August 18th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hassle to Disconnect

(0.5 / 5)

  My Bro in law is in Nursing home blind and
deaf. I got them to disconnect his Electricity only after days of Emailing back and forth
and sending documents to prove I had the authority to speak for him.

All other utilities were cut off with a simple phone call. Their Customer service Sucks!

Bettye Reeves from MC Allen
February 1st, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(0.4 / 5)

  I believe the company is a total rip off i called to discuss my charges and know one could give me a clear answer on what i was being charged or why the person i spoke to did not speak english well and hung up on me im very great a math and started add up my charges i used 62 kwh at 0.099 a daily charge of 0.33 ( which no one could explain) and a charge of 2.79 transmission and distribution if you do the math it adds up to 9.26 i was charged 9.60 i understand its not alot but i looked back and this happened everyday trust me it adds up. I started to think about it and i belive its just taxes if that is the case then why couldnt the three people i talked to just tell me that and it should show on the statement how much im paying for taxes needless to say im very dissatisfied with the company and have already scheduled to transfer to a different company

Angela from Victoria
September 20th, 2016

Hi Angela. We sincerely apologize for the poor experience thus far, and we want to make sure that we provide you with complete transparency regarding your bill. If you would like you may email your account number and address to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com, and we will investigate these charges and provide you with a full explanation. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, - Henry

CPL Retail Energy Responds September 23rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...