Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    23.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    22.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    19.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    22.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, with an average of 2.8 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.7 stars.

    Direct Energy logo

    Texas Electricity Ratings's Bronze Tier providers are solid retail electricity providers that have a lot to offer customers. These companies represent good options for discerning shoppers and have lots to offer customers. There are plenty of good companies offering good plans that can fit what consumers are looking for in an electricity company.

    Recent Good Review from Belem Gonzalez

    Best electric company
    I recommend it 100%
    The best rate, honest,they don't take advantage of their customers,, excellent customer service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on September 12th, 2021
    Good afternoon, Belem. Thank you for sharing this nice review with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your trusted electricity supplier again in the future. Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to serve you. Please feel free to reach us anytime you need us, we'll be waiting for you. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    143 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Best electric company
    I recommend it 100%
    The best rate, honest,they don't take advantage of their customers,, excellent customer service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on September 12th, 2021
    Good afternoon, Belem. Thank you for sharing this nice review with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your trusted electricity supplier again in the future. Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to serve you. Please feel free to reach us anytime you need us, we'll be waiting for you. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    $50 off with code Y8PT5E !!!
    I LOVE direct energy. Their customer service is fantastic. Every time weve called they have attended us in a friendly and efficient manner. Plus I got $50 off with this code: Y8PT5E
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ana Wilder from Dallas, TX on September 1st, 2021
    Good afternoon, Ana. There is no bigger compliment for us than when our customers say they would recommend Direct Energy to their family and friends! Are you familiar with our Refer a Friend Promotion? You and the new customer can each receive a $50 credit. To find out more information, visit our website at https://www.directenergy.com/refer-a-friend. We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience and we definitely appreciate when our customers share their awesome experience through reviews, so we thank you for taking the time to do so! Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Great rates and customer service
    I have been with Direct Energy in the past and left thinking I could get a better rate. The customer service is excellent when you have any billing issues they treat you with respect. I went back to them this year and put their service on 2 houses. You will be pleased to know Direct has great people working for them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    A from Lake Dallas, TX on August 7th, 2021
    Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this important comment with us. Thank you so much for giving us another chance to serve you. We are very happy to have you in our family and we will do our very best to continue as your electricity provider for many years to come! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Absolutely THE BEST!
    As other people have had problems paying their bills before, during and with the continued covid crisis, Direct Energy has been there for me and my family through it all! I have never had a more positive experience with friendly and helpful customer service representatives than I have with Direct Energy! In several states to include Texas, no energy company has delivered the best experience!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    The BEST Energy Company! from Grapevine, TX on August 6th, 2021
    Good afternoon. Thank you so much for this awesome review! These have been difficult times for everyone, and we are glad to have been able to serve you and always be there for you, because you are a very important part of our family. We know that together we can achieve great things. Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    I'm already a customer,,i give 5 star +good Custer service and my plan was exelent very honest company i recommended 100%
    I recommend 100% and i give 5+Star
    Very honest company
    They don't take advantage of in there customers like others company do,,thank you
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on June 12th, 2021
    Wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review, Belem. We are honored to have you as a customer. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    The best service in all terms! A happy customer
    Great deals. Good service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jeniepriyanka from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2021
    Hello Jeniepriyanka. Thank you for this great rating and comment! We are so pleased to know that we have earned your trust and loyalty, and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We will continue doing our best to be your trusted electricity provider for a long time to come! Have a great weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    A great big help!
    I contacted customer support because I used the wrong bank account to make a payment and they were quick to get it canceled so I didnt get an overdraft fee. Also assured me I would not be disconnected if my payment did not clear because the money came out of my cash app account and was denied but showed complete on their side. Completely satisfied with DIRECT ENERGY!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jennifer Medlin from Harker Heights, TX on June 3rd, 2021
    Hi Jennifer, wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! We noticed you mentioned that the mistake with the payment has been addressed and we are very happy about it. Feel free to contact us whenever you need it. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike from Houston, TX on May 25th, 2021
    Hi Mike, we're pleased to know that your experience with us was a good one. thank you for entrusting us with the care of your energy and for taking a moment to leave this review. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital care
    — Direct Energy
    Best in texas
    Gaddy helped us keep our power on when we made a mistake with transfer and it was seem less. They go above and beyond for customers
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ryan from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2021
    Hello Ryan. Thank you so much for taking some time to share this great feedback with us! We are so delighted to know you received the attention you deserve! We will make sure to congratulate Gaddy and her team for her commitment and the amazing job done! Thank you for your trust and loyalty, we're happy to serve you! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Thank you for understanding!
    Camila and Emma on the messenger option are amazing! Kind, professional, understanding and that is very rare to find in customer service nowadays. Thank you!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Diana from Mcallen, TX on October 9th, 2020
    Hi Diana, your story is incredible. We are overjoyed to know that Direct Energy exceeded your expectations and showed what the customer service experience should be! We are glad to have Camila and Emma as part of our Digital Care team. We will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for your business and your kind review. Stay safe! Happy weekend. Zoeh / Digital Care

    — Direct Energy


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    67 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Direct Energy order status
    Email says "We'll send you an email update within the next 3 days when your order has been completed." But I haven't got any email so I went to chat the customer service after the 3rd day to get an update. The customer chat representative checked my order and it said it was approved and gave me the order details. Customer service Chat was prompt and didn't have to wait for a long time to get a response.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DXC Houston from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2021
    Hello DXC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We care for you and we are really grateful to have you in our family! We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Chat Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience. Thank you for giving us a shot! All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Good service
    Customer
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    None from Irving, TX on October 6th, 2020
    Hello. Thank you so much for giving us this great rating. If there are any outstanding questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us through any of our communication channels anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Thanks for your trust! Have a nice day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    On-Line Chat GREAT!!!
    Thanks to Nery - we were able to resolve my doublepayment due to a quick finger and me not paying attention!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KLW from Little Elm, TX on October 23rd, 2019
    Thank you for sharing this feedback, KLW, and for giving Nery a special shout-out! We will make sure that the management team is aware of the awesome service that you were provided. Have a wonderful day!
    — Direct Energy
    Bad experience after 3 years
    I have been Direct Energy customers for 3 years, when I decided to move to my new house I called them (30 days before moving) to transfer my service to my new location (75056) but the representative told me the service is not available on that area and they don't charge me for early termination. When I saw my statement they charged me $135 for early termination, I called again and the representative checked my new zip code and agreed to waive this fee. Finally today after checking my credit card statement I saw they charged me $135. Really frustrated with their customer service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ali from The Colony, TX on June 20th, 2019
    We certainly wanted to take a moment to apologize for the less than exceptional experience. Upon review of your account, the early cancellation fee was included with your final invoice. A waiver request was submitted and a credit of $135.00 was applied to your card on file as of 7/8/2019. Please be advised it can take up to 10 business days for the refund to show on your account.
    — Direct Energy
    Customer Service
    The Customer Service Chat Representative "Amanda" Was Very Helpful and Was Very thorough. Thank you Amanda.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rhremodel69 from Baird, TX on May 21st, 2019
    Thank you for the wonderful review! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor and provide the positive feedback!
    — Direct Energy
    Good company, getting better
    I have been with Direct Energy for 8 or 9 years now and, except for a few minor issues, have been pretty happy with their service. I use the live chat feature most of the time but, if I have to call customer service, I am usually not on hold too long at all and it doesn't take long to resolve whatever the problem is. The rates are a little higher than some lesser known providers but given the lesser known providers ratings, the higher rates are probably going to be worth it. In fact, my contract with Direct Energy expires this month and I had been shopping around for an electric provider with a lower rate but decided to go ahead and stay for that reason. All the providers offering lower rates had terrible ratings and customer reviews. I also found a few outrageous hidden costs and fine print nightmares among some of the lesser known providers. I would rather pay a few cents more and avoid having to battle with some other company's customer service department about a promise they made at signup they failed to deliver afterwards.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jennifer from Alvin, TX on February 6th, 2019
    Good Afternoon Jennifer,

    We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

    -Marie
    — Direct Energy
    Direct Energy is GREAT!
    I've been w/Direct Energy for a few years now. Their plans & services are without a doubt, some of the best around. We're very pleased w/our ongoing rate of $0.0500 per kilowatt-hour is most competitive around. Their website is extremely user-friendly & customer service is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is the differences displayed online vs. paper bill. However, this primarily due to when I actually pay, a full week after the billing statement.

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DIRECT ENERGY AS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ELECTRICAL DISTRIBUTOR!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tommy from Fort Worth, TX on January 2nd, 2019
    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Tommy! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie
    — Direct Energy
    Good so far...
    I just started, but everything has been seamless so far. I dont even have to do anything to receive my echo dot! I have free weekends so with the kids home at that time, Im loving it!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Britney M. from Houston, TX on December 21st, 2018
    Thats great to hear Britney! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. - Allie
    — Direct Energy
    Customer Service
    Direct Energy Customer Service is awesome. I am not easy to deal with, but Chas took ownership of the problem and hung in with me until it was resolved. It was an AutoPay issue and he worked with me, even involved his supervisor to get everything taken care of. Seldom do I find Customer Service where "Service" is the key word!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Excellent Customer Service from Tolar, TX on December 14th, 2018
    We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
    — Direct Energy
    Cs was really helpful
    Needed help with my bill and cres from cs helped me out n was very kind
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Esther from San Angelo, TX on December 4th, 2018
    Thanks Esther! We are glad to see you had a great experience and will make sure Cres is recognized! - Allie
    — Direct Energy


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Customer service
    Cres was extremely helpful; answered all my questions and concerns.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dolores from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2018
    Yay!! We will make sure he is recognized!! Thank you. - Allie
    — Direct Energy
    Sorry to Go
    Have been a Direct Energy customer for only one year with a great rate and great customer service, unfortunately the renew rate is 30% higher than what is available elsewhere. 10/19/18.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rod from Wichita Falls, TX on October 19th, 2018
    We appreciate your feedback and will look into renewable rates in your area. Thanks - Allie
    — Direct Energy
    No notice that contract was expiring
    I have automatic withdrawal for the free weekends plan. I was not given notice that my contract was about to expire or had expired so I continued to lower the thermostat every weekend during the next 2 months. When my next bill was $100 higher, I contacted them to question it. That's when I found out it had expired 2 months prior and couldn't be restarted til the next month. I guess they will get extra money for the 2-3 months I was without the free weekend contract. Other than that, I have been happy with them. I just need to make note of my next contract expiration date because they probably won't notify me.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Debbie from Thrall, TX on August 29th, 2018
    Hi Julie, and thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are glad to know that you have been pleased with your plan and the overall experience you have had with us. To address you concerns regarding contract expiration and renewals, we want to assure you that we are proactive in notifying our customers of an impending expiration. We send out notifications between 45-60 days in advance of the contract end date, which include available renewal offers and instructions on how to accept a renewal offer. In reviewing your account, I see that your end of term notification was included with your statement dated 4/28/2018. You should expect the same renewal process to occur when your current contract is due to expire. We hope this clears up any confusion, and please feel free to reach out to us via phone or chat if there is ever anything we can do for you. Have a fantastic day! - Jack
    — Direct Energy
    Definitely Preferred Electric
    Excellent prices, but customer service not always the easiest to understand.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Michelle B from Arlington, TX on July 12th, 2017
    Thank you for the feedback, Michelle. We are sorry to hear that you have had some issues with communication when you contact us. Please feel free to email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com if you still have unresolved issues that we can assist you further with. We are happy to help. Have a good day! -Jane
    — Direct Energy
    Help with renewing with Direct Energy
    The customer service representative was most helpful.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Renewing from Blossom, TX on June 30th, 2017
    We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear the agent that assisted you with renewing was very helpful! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything. All the best, -Jane
    — Direct Energy
    Sign up an electrical plan
    Short waiting time, smooth, and straight forward
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Xg from Hyattsville, MD on June 12th, 2017
    Thank you for the feedback! Don't hesitate to contact us if you need our help! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy! -Jane
    — Direct Energy
    Electricity bill
    Melinda was very helpful and thorough in explaining
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dolores Garcia from Houston, TX on June 7th, 2017
    Dolores, we are happy that you had a great experience when you needed help. Thank you for being our customer! All the best, -Jane
    — Direct Energy
    Service and price
    Far better Service and prices than I Had with TXU
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Direct from Balch Springs, TX on April 20th, 2017
    We strive to remain competitive and friendly to meet your needs. Thank you. - Ally
    — Direct Energy
    They have a very lose definition of average billing
    I used Direct for over a year and never had any issues with them except for with their idea of average billing. They offer average billing, but it is unlike any average billing I have ever experienced, and to this day, when I inquire about how average billing works with potential energy providers, I have never encountered Direct's odd approach to the matter.

    Direct Energy doesn't average bill in the sense of keeping your bill around a steady amount and then adjusting it for over or under usage. Direct's average billing bills you exactly what you used that month, so the bill is always a surprise. I spoke to several customer service reps about this issue, and they all seemed confused by my confusion; like average billing meant regular billing. It's really weird.

    So if you are okay with your average bill being a mystery surprise each month, go ahead and sign up with Direct. Honestly, it's the only issue I ever had with them, but it was enough to inspire me to switch to another provider. Just my personal preference, though.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lori from Baytown on January 27th, 2014
    Power-to-go Plan
    The Power-to-go Direct Energy plan has been great. I get a daily email with my usage and cost. It's been really convientient. I haven't had to deal with customer service, so I cannot rate that, but set up was easy online!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Amanda from Houston on August 28th, 2012


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Sky rocket bill
    My bill is always paid in full each month. I just paid my bill for September on the 14th. I just checked my account and now my bill for October is $318 due on the 10th. How is that possible without any balance from the previous month? This is ridiculous, it really is. I NEED ANSWERS!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    D. Gold from Humble, TX on September 23rd, 2021
    Good afternoon, D. Gold. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to further investigate this matter and work with you to clarify all of your doubts. Please feel free to reach us through any of our communication channels:
    * Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
    * Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
    * Or you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com.
    We will do our best to solve your concern. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Bad online renewal
    Tried to sign up with PHONE# THIER WEB PAGE COULDN'T F0INE ME ALTHOUGH I'VE BEEN CUSTOMER FOR YEARS COULDNT LOCATE USEING CUST # EVEN METER NO DIDNT WORK CHAT DIDNT WORK FINALLY WELL U KNOW 2HOURS LATTER
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cliff C from Cooper, TX on June 1st, 2021
    Good afternoon, Cliff. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had trying to sign up. We are glad to know that your enrollment was finally processed, albeit with effort. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us by choosing us as your trusted supplier. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you again, the way you deserve and regain your trust in us. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Direct Energy
    I was trying to have service shut off at one address and switched to another address. What a nightmare. I wanted service at new address on January 29th and electricity shut off at old address on February 2nd. I was on the phone for over an hour and a half and went through 4 people. Finally I told them to shut off service at old address on February 2nd and would find another provider for new address. I will NEVER use Direct Energy again
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Katherine OBrien from Fort Worth, TX on January 26th, 2021
    Hello Katherine. We are truly sorry for the difficult situation you experienced and we are deeply saddened to know that we have lost you as part of our family. If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to contact us anytime through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Air conditioner nightmare
    I made the claim 3/13/20 it took til 4/20/20 to complete. Customer service took days to call me back, very slow responding. However When the technician arrived, everything became better. He was able to get the job completed! Ive used HWA for many years and this was the first time It took so long to handle.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    K Bodie from 29164 on April 24th, 2020
    Hi Bodie, We are so sorry to hear that your claim experience took longer than anticipated, and we can certainly understand the frustration that this caused. We are glad that to heard that the claim has been resolved for you. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding the claim you referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may take a closer look for you. Please reach out to our Live Chat team https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/ or Social Media support https://www.facebook.com/HWAHomeWarranty at your earliest convenience to proceed forward with assistance. Have a good day! - Emma / Digital Care
    — Direct Energy
    Waste of money.
    I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kayla Bishop from Killeen, TX on January 27th, 2019
    Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie
    — Direct Energy
    Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)
    On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Barre from Katy, TX on November 30th, 2018
    Barre, We hate to see you had a poor experience with the renewal. We are actively working to improve this process for our customers and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks, Allie
    — Direct Energy
    What customer service?
    When I moved it was a huge hassle to move my service. They made me change plans to a much higher rate and they are still charging me for a house I no longer live in. I have called and chatted and still no help. I hope the people living in my prior place of residence enjoy the FREE ELECTRICITY. PLEASE HIRE PEOPLE WHO CAN UNDERSTAND ENGLISH.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mad As Hell from Wichita Falls, TX on June 29th, 2018
    Clangston, this is definitely concerning to hear. We would like to resolve this as quickly as possible for you. Please connect with us through email dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or through our Facebook page to further escalate this situation. We are looking forward to speaking with you. -Eleanor
    — Direct Energy
    Web System faulty and states incentives that are not delivered
    I renewed with Direct Energy (Direct Energy Live Brighter Weekends 24) and the renewal form stated my incentives would be 2 $25 gift cards and a nest thermostat. When I called to find out when I would be receiving my incentives I was told I had a different plan and different incentives.

    Other users should beware that they do not honor what you will see when you renew your rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kevin from Houston, TX on December 8th, 2017
    Kevin, we want to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to investigate this right away. Please send us your account number, phone number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can look into this. Thank you, - Jane
    — Direct Energy
    Worst liars ever!!
    First of all this company is charging me way to much and I mean way too much for energy they charge me like if I lived in a house and I live in a mobile home of 2 bed 1 bath with no central air we have air units and only 2 one in each room charging me for one month $284 which is ridicoulous and the second is that this company never gave me a good explanation why they have me under a business when clearly this is residential company was bull**** from the start , I investigated why they had me under business for their own security so I wouldn't be able to switch to a different company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jina Reyes from Houston, TX on August 1st, 2017