Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.0 of 5.
5 Stars
33%
 
4 Stars
16%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
5%
 
1 Stars
42%
 

Recent Good Review from DXC Houston

Direct Energy order status
Email says "We'll send you an email update within the next 3 days when your order has been completed." But I haven't got any email so I went to chat the customer service after the 3rd day to get an update. The customer chat representative checked my order and it said it was approved and gave me the order details. Customer service Chat was prompt and didn't have to wait for a long time to get a response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DXC Houston from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2021
Hello DXC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We care for you and we are really grateful to have you in our family! We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Chat Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience. Thank you for giving us a shot! All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Our Analysis of Direct Energy

Community Outreach
4.7 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Rewards
4.6 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Innovation
4.2 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
3.3 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Plans & Products
3.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Market Perception
2.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

139 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
I'm already a customer,,i give 5 star +good Custer service and my plan was exelent very honest company i recommended 100%
I recommend 100% and i give 5+Star
Very honest company
They don't take advantage of in there customers like others company do,,thank you
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on June 12th, 2021
Wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review, Belem. We are honored to have you as a customer. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
The best service in all terms! A happy customer
Great deals. Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeniepriyanka from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2021
Hello Jeniepriyanka. Thank you for this great rating and comment! We are so pleased to know that we have earned your trust and loyalty, and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We will continue doing our best to be your trusted electricity provider for a long time to come! Have a great weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
A great big help!
I contacted customer support because I used the wrong bank account to make a payment and they were quick to get it canceled so I didnt get an overdraft fee. Also assured me I would not be disconnected if my payment did not clear because the money came out of my cash app account and was denied but showed complete on their side. Completely satisfied with DIRECT ENERGY!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer Medlin from Harker Heights, TX on June 3rd, 2021
Hi Jennifer, wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! We noticed you mentioned that the mistake with the payment has been addressed and we are very happy about it. Feel free to contact us whenever you need it. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Excellent
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston, TX on May 25th, 2021
Hi Mike, we're pleased to know that your experience with us was a good one. thank you for entrusting us with the care of your energy and for taking a moment to leave this review. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital care
— Direct Energy
Best in texas
Gaddy helped us keep our power on when we made a mistake with transfer and it was seem less. They go above and beyond for customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2021
Hello Ryan. Thank you so much for taking some time to share this great feedback with us! We are so delighted to know you received the attention you deserve! We will make sure to congratulate Gaddy and her team for her commitment and the amazing job done! Thank you for your trust and loyalty, we're happy to serve you! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Thank you for understanding!
Camila and Emma on the messenger option are amazing! Kind, professional, understanding and that is very rare to find in customer service nowadays. Thank you!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Diana from Mcallen, TX on October 9th, 2020
Hi Diana, your story is incredible. We are overjoyed to know that Direct Energy exceeded your expectations and showed what the customer service experience should be! We are glad to have Camila and Emma as part of our Digital Care team. We will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for your business and your kind review. Stay safe! Happy weekend. Zoeh / Digital Care

— Direct Energy
The Best!
I've RECENTLY switched over from TXU, not only are the agents better, but they help you more as well, would definitely recommend, thank you Direct Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yjl from Allen, TX on October 10th, 2019
Thank you for the awesome endorsement, we are proud to have your support! We look forward to continuing to provide you with oustanding service for many years to come!
— Direct Energy
Excellent Customer Service and knowledge of service plans
My agent Amanda, was amazing. She has extensive knowledge of the service plans, and helped me compare the plans to find the one that was best for my family. This type of customer service makes me happy to have direct energy as my energy provider. Thankyou Amanda
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tanisha from Houston, TX on June 28th, 2019
Thank you for the wonderful review, Tanisha! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor with your positive feedback! Have a pleasant day.
— Direct Energy
Super fast and easy live chat!
I was just concerned about when I'd be receiving my free Amazon Echo Dot, so I went in to live chat. To my surprise it was rather fast and easy to use. Cres got back to me quickly to answer my question. I thought I'd have to call and be on hold to speak to someone since mine was a new account, but I didn't and I was satisfied with the answer and service I was given!! Thanks so much for making it so easy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K. Whittington from Houston, TX on April 25th, 2019
We appreciate the positive feedback! We aim for excellent customer satisfaction and we are happy to hear we were able to satisfy your energy needs. We will be sure to inform Cres and his supervisor of your feedback as well!
— Direct Energy
Questions about a particular plan
Kim @ Direct Energy was great. She is professional and answered all of my questions.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen from Dallas, TX on April 5th, 2019
Good Afternoon Helen,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our chat agent Kim. We are pleased to hear she was professional and able to address all of your questions and concerns.

-Marie
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

67 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Direct Energy order status
Email says "We'll send you an email update within the next 3 days when your order has been completed." But I haven't got any email so I went to chat the customer service after the 3rd day to get an update. The customer chat representative checked my order and it said it was approved and gave me the order details. Customer service Chat was prompt and didn't have to wait for a long time to get a response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DXC Houston from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2021
Hello DXC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We care for you and we are really grateful to have you in our family! We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Chat Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience. Thank you for giving us a shot! All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Good service
Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

None from Irving, TX on October 6th, 2020
Hello. Thank you so much for giving us this great rating. If there are any outstanding questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us through any of our communication channels anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Thanks for your trust! Have a nice day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
On-Line Chat GREAT!!!
Thanks to Nery - we were able to resolve my doublepayment due to a quick finger and me not paying attention!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KLW from Little Elm, TX on October 23rd, 2019
Thank you for sharing this feedback, KLW, and for giving Nery a special shout-out! We will make sure that the management team is aware of the awesome service that you were provided. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Bad experience after 3 years
I have been Direct Energy customers for 3 years, when I decided to move to my new house I called them (30 days before moving) to transfer my service to my new location (75056) but the representative told me the service is not available on that area and they don't charge me for early termination. When I saw my statement they charged me $135 for early termination, I called again and the representative checked my new zip code and agreed to waive this fee. Finally today after checking my credit card statement I saw they charged me $135. Really frustrated with their customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ali from The Colony, TX on June 20th, 2019
We certainly wanted to take a moment to apologize for the less than exceptional experience. Upon review of your account, the early cancellation fee was included with your final invoice. A waiver request was submitted and a credit of $135.00 was applied to your card on file as of 7/8/2019. Please be advised it can take up to 10 business days for the refund to show on your account.
— Direct Energy
Customer Service
The Customer Service Chat Representative "Amanda" Was Very Helpful and Was Very thorough. Thank you Amanda.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rhremodel69 from Baird, TX on May 21st, 2019
Thank you for the wonderful review! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor and provide the positive feedback!
— Direct Energy
Good company, getting better
I have been with Direct Energy for 8 or 9 years now and, except for a few minor issues, have been pretty happy with their service. I use the live chat feature most of the time but, if I have to call customer service, I am usually not on hold too long at all and it doesn't take long to resolve whatever the problem is. The rates are a little higher than some lesser known providers but given the lesser known providers ratings, the higher rates are probably going to be worth it. In fact, my contract with Direct Energy expires this month and I had been shopping around for an electric provider with a lower rate but decided to go ahead and stay for that reason. All the providers offering lower rates had terrible ratings and customer reviews. I also found a few outrageous hidden costs and fine print nightmares among some of the lesser known providers. I would rather pay a few cents more and avoid having to battle with some other company's customer service department about a promise they made at signup they failed to deliver afterwards.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer from Alvin, TX on February 6th, 2019
Good Afternoon Jennifer,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy is GREAT!
I've been w/Direct Energy for a few years now. Their plans & services are without a doubt, some of the best around. We're very pleased w/our ongoing rate of $0.0500 per kilowatt-hour is most competitive around. Their website is extremely user-friendly & customer service is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is the differences displayed online vs. paper bill. However, this primarily due to when I actually pay, a full week after the billing statement.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DIRECT ENERGY AS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ELECTRICAL DISTRIBUTOR!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tommy from Fort Worth, TX on January 2nd, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Tommy! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie
— Direct Energy
Good so far...
I just started, but everything has been seamless so far. I dont even have to do anything to receive my echo dot! I have free weekends so with the kids home at that time, Im loving it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Britney M. from Houston, TX on December 21st, 2018
Thats great to hear Britney! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. - Allie
— Direct Energy
Customer Service
Direct Energy Customer Service is awesome. I am not easy to deal with, but Chas took ownership of the problem and hung in with me until it was resolved. It was an AutoPay issue and he worked with me, even involved his supervisor to get everything taken care of. Seldom do I find Customer Service where "Service" is the key word!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent Customer Service from Tolar, TX on December 14th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Cs was really helpful
Needed help with my bill and cres from cs helped me out n was very kind
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Esther from San Angelo, TX on December 4th, 2018
Thanks Esther! We are glad to see you had a great experience and will make sure Cres is recognized! - Allie
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Customer service
Cres was extremely helpful; answered all my questions and concerns.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dolores from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2018
Yay!! We will make sure he is recognized!! Thank you. - Allie
— Direct Energy
Sorry to Go
Have been a Direct Energy customer for only one year with a great rate and great customer service, unfortunately the renew rate is 30% higher than what is available elsewhere. 10/19/18.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rod from Wichita Falls, TX on October 19th, 2018
We appreciate your feedback and will look into renewable rates in your area. Thanks - Allie
— Direct Energy
No notice that contract was expiring
I have automatic withdrawal for the free weekends plan. I was not given notice that my contract was about to expire or had expired so I continued to lower the thermostat every weekend during the next 2 months. When my next bill was $100 higher, I contacted them to question it. That's when I found out it had expired 2 months prior and couldn't be restarted til the next month. I guess they will get extra money for the 2-3 months I was without the free weekend contract. Other than that, I have been happy with them. I just need to make note of my next contract expiration date because they probably won't notify me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbie from Thrall, TX on August 29th, 2018
Hi Julie, and thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are glad to know that you have been pleased with your plan and the overall experience you have had with us. To address you concerns regarding contract expiration and renewals, we want to assure you that we are proactive in notifying our customers of an impending expiration. We send out notifications between 45-60 days in advance of the contract end date, which include available renewal offers and instructions on how to accept a renewal offer. In reviewing your account, I see that your end of term notification was included with your statement dated 4/28/2018. You should expect the same renewal process to occur when your current contract is due to expire. We hope this clears up any confusion, and please feel free to reach out to us via phone or chat if there is ever anything we can do for you. Have a fantastic day! - Jack
— Direct Energy
Definitely Preferred Electric
Excellent prices, but customer service not always the easiest to understand.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michelle B from Arlington, TX on July 12th, 2017
Thank you for the feedback, Michelle. We are sorry to hear that you have had some issues with communication when you contact us. Please feel free to email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com if you still have unresolved issues that we can assist you further with. We are happy to help. Have a good day! -Jane
— Direct Energy
Help with renewing with Direct Energy
The customer service representative was most helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Renewing from Blossom, TX on June 30th, 2017
We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear the agent that assisted you with renewing was very helpful! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything. All the best, -Jane
— Direct Energy
Sign up an electrical plan
Short waiting time, smooth, and straight forward
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xg from Hyattsville, MD on June 12th, 2017
Thank you for the feedback! Don't hesitate to contact us if you need our help! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy! -Jane
— Direct Energy
Electricity bill
Melinda was very helpful and thorough in explaining
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dolores Garcia from Houston, TX on June 7th, 2017
Dolores, we are happy that you had a great experience when you needed help. Thank you for being our customer! All the best, -Jane
— Direct Energy
Service and price
Far better Service and prices than I Had with TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct from Balch Springs, TX on April 20th, 2017
We strive to remain competitive and friendly to meet your needs. Thank you. - Ally
— Direct Energy
They have a very lose definition of average billing
I used Direct for over a year and never had any issues with them except for with their idea of average billing. They offer average billing, but it is unlike any average billing I have ever experienced, and to this day, when I inquire about how average billing works with potential energy providers, I have never encountered Direct's odd approach to the matter.

Direct Energy doesn't average bill in the sense of keeping your bill around a steady amount and then adjusting it for over or under usage. Direct's average billing bills you exactly what you used that month, so the bill is always a surprise. I spoke to several customer service reps about this issue, and they all seemed confused by my confusion; like average billing meant regular billing. It's really weird.

So if you are okay with your average bill being a mystery surprise each month, go ahead and sign up with Direct. Honestly, it's the only issue I ever had with them, but it was enough to inspire me to switch to another provider. Just my personal preference, though.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori from Baytown on January 27th, 2014
Power-to-go Plan
The Power-to-go Direct Energy plan has been great. I get a daily email with my usage and cost. It's been really convientient. I haven't had to deal with customer service, so I cannot rate that, but set up was easy online!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Houston on August 28th, 2012


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bad online renewal
Tried to sign up with PHONE# THIER WEB PAGE COULDN'T F0INE ME ALTHOUGH I'VE BEEN CUSTOMER FOR YEARS COULDNT LOCATE USEING CUST # EVEN METER NO DIDNT WORK CHAT DIDNT WORK FINALLY WELL U KNOW 2HOURS LATTER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cliff C from Cooper, TX on June 1st, 2021
Good afternoon, Cliff. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had trying to sign up. We are glad to know that your enrollment was finally processed, albeit with effort. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us by choosing us as your trusted supplier. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you again, the way you deserve and regain your trust in us. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy
I was trying to have service shut off at one address and switched to another address. What a nightmare. I wanted service at new address on January 29th and electricity shut off at old address on February 2nd. I was on the phone for over an hour and a half and went through 4 people. Finally I told them to shut off service at old address on February 2nd and would find another provider for new address. I will NEVER use Direct Energy again
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Katherine OBrien from Fort Worth, TX on January 26th, 2021
Hello Katherine. We are truly sorry for the difficult situation you experienced and we are deeply saddened to know that we have lost you as part of our family. If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to contact us anytime through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Air conditioner nightmare
I made the claim 3/13/20 it took til 4/20/20 to complete. Customer service took days to call me back, very slow responding. However When the technician arrived, everything became better. He was able to get the job completed! Ive used HWA for many years and this was the first time It took so long to handle.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K Bodie from 29164 on April 24th, 2020
Hi Bodie, We are so sorry to hear that your claim experience took longer than anticipated, and we can certainly understand the frustration that this caused. We are glad that to heard that the claim has been resolved for you. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding the claim you referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may take a closer look for you. Please reach out to our Live Chat team https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/ or Social Media support https://www.facebook.com/HWAHomeWarranty at your earliest convenience to proceed forward with assistance. Have a good day! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Waste of money.
I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kayla Bishop from Killeen, TX on January 27th, 2019
Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)
On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barre from Katy, TX on November 30th, 2018
Barre, We hate to see you had a poor experience with the renewal. We are actively working to improve this process for our customers and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks, Allie
— Direct Energy
What customer service?
When I moved it was a huge hassle to move my service. They made me change plans to a much higher rate and they are still charging me for a house I no longer live in. I have called and chatted and still no help. I hope the people living in my prior place of residence enjoy the FREE ELECTRICITY. PLEASE HIRE PEOPLE WHO CAN UNDERSTAND ENGLISH.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mad As Hell from Wichita Falls, TX on June 29th, 2018
Clangston, this is definitely concerning to hear. We would like to resolve this as quickly as possible for you. Please connect with us through email dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or through our Facebook page to further escalate this situation. We are looking forward to speaking with you. -Eleanor
— Direct Energy
Web System faulty and states incentives that are not delivered
I renewed with Direct Energy (Direct Energy Live Brighter Weekends 24) and the renewal form stated my incentives would be 2 $25 gift cards and a nest thermostat. When I called to find out when I would be receiving my incentives I was told I had a different plan and different incentives.

Other users should beware that they do not honor what you will see when you renew your rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Houston, TX on December 8th, 2017
Kevin, we want to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to investigate this right away. Please send us your account number, phone number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can look into this. Thank you, - Jane
— Direct Energy
Worst liars ever!!
First of all this company is charging me way to much and I mean way too much for energy they charge me like if I lived in a house and I live in a mobile home of 2 bed 1 bath with no central air we have air units and only 2 one in each room charging me for one month $284 which is ridicoulous and the second is that this company never gave me a good explanation why they have me under a business when clearly this is residential company was bull**** from the start , I investigated why they had me under business for their own security so I wouldn't be able to switch to a different company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jina Reyes from Houston, TX on August 1st, 2017
Good afternoon, we are sorry to hear of this experience. We would love to help review this further. Can you please send us your account number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, -Cole
— Direct Energy
Be warned
Do not allowed the undertrained representatives to take your payment over the phone. I authorized one amount for a specific bill amount verbally and was a charge was placed on my debit card for the entire balance which was not yet due. When discussing their error with their rep immediately after I called back when seeing the incorrect amount on my bank account, I'm told I have to wait 14 days to receive the money back, and then pay the cirrec t amount AGAIN that day to keep connected. UNACCEPTABLE! I then requested next level who said they would cancel the incorrect payment and restore services until my refund is back and I can then pay the accurate amount. That's an ok attempt, but now it's been 3 days and the funds are still pending withdrawal, I have at least one NSF charge to deal with so far because of this, and am not able to buy groceries for the family until my next payday or this money is back in my account. When I asked the second mgr on the second call what happened I was told the initial representative "made a mistske!" Cancelling contract ASAP this is careless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JW In Katy TX from Katy, TX on May 12th, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve for a better customer experience. We would like to look into this more to assist in a resolution. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full name, service address, phone number and email associated with account for us to properly address your concerns. Kind regards. Ally
— Direct Energy
Good representatives
Your online chat, Michael C.,was very helpful. I believe he was the same rep I chatted with last time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Judy Gardner from Mabank, TX on April 3rd, 2017
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to let Michael know on your positive feedback! Have a great day! - Ally
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

176 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Tried to blame Oncor for their own incompetence
Direct Energy couldn't even submit an order to Oncor correctly!

Submitted an order to switch at the end of May, received an email saying that we'd have the switch done in seven days. Seven days later we get an email "welcoming" us to the DE family.

Fast forward to the next month, we keep waiting and checking their site to receive a bill and only saw that they "needed weeks worth of data" to show us our usage. Turns out they never even submitted the order to Oncor! Had to click a few different links to realize that our account was still pending! We reach out and all they do is deflect, deflect, deflect. They had the audacity to tell us first that Oncor hadn't "processed" our order, reached out to Oncor and it turns out they never received an order from DE. Once we informed them of that they changed their story to "the orders were pending" on their end, for a month!? Talked to customer service only to be told that it was our fault because the website said our account was pending and because they gave us a call once (ten days AFTER our service was scheduled to start!) and left no voicemail. They also said they put in three orders on the day our service was to start. Strange that they would put in three orders, not reach out to us THAT day, and then never tough the account again! Again, we had to search their website to see that our account was pending, why isn't that front and center!

Took them ages to finally accept some blame and admit they should have done better. We overpaid with our previous retailer because we got switched to a month-to-month plan and they wouldn't give us a credit to match the difference. They then stated that they could get our power on by the next business day without even understanding why their orders didn't go through in the first place! How can you promise that when you couldn't do it a month ago??

We don't want to deal with customer service that can't own their mistakes and won't do their best to rectify them in the moment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julio C. from Dallas, TX on July 6th, 2021
Good afternoon, Julio. We can only imagine how frustrating this situation was, and we are truly sorry about it.

Our customers are the most important thing to us, and we would like to be able to give you the attention you deserve. If there is anything, anything, that we can serve you with, please contact us at any time through any of our communications channels:

The Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
The Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
By phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828. For your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central
Or through our Live Chat department at www.directenergy.com.

We will do our best to show you we care. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for this important feedback. Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Customer service lied,
I am disabled vet. I was in the hospital for for heart issues, called customer service in June 2021 cause had disconnect notice. Rep said don't worry your power due to covet would not be turned off until July. 23. Got disconnect notice for July 7th, called customers service they stated listening to call after being on phone for over an hour and they said rep never said that, I might be old but I know the conversation I had with rep last month. All calls are routed out of the US so they don't hardly understand English, I have heart issues and have to have power and begged the rep just for 2 more weeks and I was denied. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH COMPANY!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William Isgeete from Temple, TX on June 30th, 2021
Good afternoon, William. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you the way you deserve and show you how important you are to us. For any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us through any of our communication channels:

The Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/

The Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy

Or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com.

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to regain your trust in us. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Ripoff hidden fees
I've had DE for about 2 years now, as I am stuck in a contract. I switched from Reliant. DE's rate was advertised lower per kwh than what I was paying so I fell for it... but failed to realize all bogus fees. I've been in 1brdm small places and avg below 400kwh monthly for many years now low energy consumption - my Reliant bills were always around $40 bucks and even in summer around $65 - it's been double that now with DE. Same low energy consumption, but getting ripped a new one by hidden charges. Customer service is standard nothing to write home about. Those fees are ridiculous however - I'm an on-time and in-full paying customer, but one day the bill slipped my mind and I paid 1 day past the 'due date' - NOT 30 days late mind you...1 DAY PAST DUE DATE and they charged me $30 for a reconnect fee when I wasn't disconnected!! Are you kidding me! I will be moving into a new home purchase and this company will not be moving with me! I'll go back to Reliant or some other company with straight forward billing at fixed rate and no hidden-bogus-padding their pocket-fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Real Review Not Fake from Allen, TX on June 15th, 2021
Hi, we apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that the standard was not met in your interaction with our business. Your satisfaction our number one priority. We would like to get another opportunity to deeply review your account and find the best plan to reduce your bill. Please connect with us at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/directenergy
Chat at: www.directenergy.com
We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
I will not recommend direct energy out of Houston Texas
I started with Direct energy back in February 2020 everything was going great on their average billing plan my payments electricity range about $176 per month at $.10 per kilowatt no problem from January up until May they called me and said they would adjust my bill to nine cents per kilowatt I said thats fineWhat they did not tell me was on a average billing plan for April might be it was $176 when they took the average billing plan off they went back three months and try to charge me $690 for 1500 kW for April I caught him an ally the person I dealt with was named Francisco they easily shift it there lies From one person to the other I talk to a supervisor in Charles he could not resolve the situation and still wanted me to pay the $176 for this month and tried to extort me out of another $400 this company is bad they have several lawsuits against them for fraudulent power service they should be out of business Rundo not use them I switched immediately!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carl Sims from Fort Worth, TX on May 7th, 2021
Good afternoon, Carl. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we apologize for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would like to further investigate this matter. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Unauthorized Annual Deposit
Direct Energy replaced my previous electricity provider without my knowledge or authorization. Direct Energy charged an annual deposit for an electricity service plan I did not request or agree to. When I discovered that Direct Energy had replaced my electricity provider without my knowledge or authorization, I switched to the electricity provider of my choice with terms and a rate I agreed to in advance. For the short period of time Direct Energy was my provider, I paid the monthly bill for the service provided by Direct Energy. However, I did not agree to a service plan with annual deposit for the electricity service that I used for a short period of time. I contacted the company to let them know that I did not request or agree to a short service plan with an annual deposit. Nevertheless, Direct Energy reported this unauthorized annual deposit to the credit reporting agencies.
I encourage Direct Energy to reach out to me to resolve the issue. I will post an update on this website in the near future to report if Direct Energy took action to resolve the issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William In Hurst from Hurst, TX on April 19th, 2021
Good afternoon, William. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. We care for you and we would highly appreciate the opportunity to take a deeper look at this matter and help in any way we can.

Please feel free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, or you can also contact us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or through our Live Chat department at www.directenergy.com, so we can better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Poor service from the top to the bottom
I spent over an hour trying just to get a new plan with a customer rep. Absolutely nothing was resolved in that time. So I sent an email to the Office of the President of Direct Energy. I got a response back within a day. However, it was addressed to my email but responded to someone I've never heard of! Direct energy has really bad customer service from the bottom all the way to the top.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bad Customer Service from Grapevine, TX on March 25th, 2021
Hi, we are very sorry and there is no excuse for what you experience with our team. We would love to further investigate this and find the best solution for your case. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to assist you! Have a good day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Terrible service
As a customer, I truly am not satisfied with this energy provider. Disappointed is the only word that comes to mind. Customer satisfaction is not a priority for this company from my experience. By next month I will be switching providers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed Services from Plano, TX on March 9th, 2021
Hi, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. We would love to further investigate this situation as soon as possible. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to assist you. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Outrage ove disconnecting service over a 1.65 is Silly
Called in and payed all I had to my name which was 160.00 and my bill was 161.65 and the agent was like a freaking robot sorry but sorry but.. the times we in and at least the bill is getting payed on. everyone has not bounced back from where I was before. Barely maintaining
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed from Round Rock, TX on February 10th, 2021
Hello. Thank you for this important feedback. We are really grateful to have you in our family and if there's anything we can do to help you out, please do not hesitate to reach us anytime, we will be more than glad to hear back from you and show you we care. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Billing
Be careful of their low rates TO PULL YOU IN, every single month we receive the bill in the mail 1 to 2 days before the due date. because we get the bill with such a short window we always send out the payment the day we receive it. never fails that we start receiving harassing phone calls wanting to collect, oh and don't forget about the late fees. I honestly believe they send out the bills with very short due date windows so they can charge the late fees. EVERY SINGLE MONTH IT IS ALWAYS THE SAME. STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT ENERGY

I have been a 25 year customer of TXU and never should have switched

MICHAEL TODD WELCH
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Todd from Midland, TX on January 11th, 2021
Hi Todd, we are sorry for your frustration with your bill. We would like to get the opportunity to deeply review your account and find the best solution for your case. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergu.com and we will be thrilled to help you. - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Think twice
Never been late . Only once and they cut the electricity off. Paid it right away when I realized the extension online did not go through. So I paid it right away and they told me 2 to 4 hours I'm still sitting here after 4 hours with no electricity in the covet pandemic. they said it's all electronic that don't have to come to your house so why can't they just turn it off but instead they make you suffer for 4 hours when you have deep freeze full of food knowing the pandemic and you cannot just replace that food.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tanya B from Copperas Cove, TX on January 5th, 2021
Good afternoon, Tanya. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced without power. Our customers' satisfaction means everything to us. We would like the chance to improve on any less than satisfactory experience you may have had. If there are any outstanding issues, we ask you please do contact us anytime, we would love any chance to show you we care. Again, we thank you for your time and the feedback you provided. We look forward to continuing as your electricity provider for many years to come! Best wishes to you and your family! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


All Direct Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$115 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 2 Year Fixed Rate
  • Bill Security
  • Consistent Bills
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $111 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 3 Year Low Rate!
  • Low Average Bill!
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $114 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Get rewards with Plenti
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month