Billing
Be careful of their low rates TO PULL YOU IN, every single month we receive the bill in the mail 1 to 2 days before the due date. because we get the bill with such a short window we always send out the payment the day we receive it. never fails that we start receiving harassing phone calls wanting to collect, oh and don't forget about the late fees. I honestly believe they send out the bills with very short due date windows so they can charge the late fees. EVERY SINGLE MONTH IT IS ALWAYS THE SAME. STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT ENERGY

I have been a 25 year customer of TXU and never should have switched

MICHAEL TODD WELCH
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Todd from Midlan, TX on January 11th, 2021
Hi Todd, we are sorry for your frustration with your bill. We would like to get the opportunity to deeply review your account and find the best solution for your case. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergu.com and we will be thrilled to help you. - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Think twice
Never been late . Only once and they cut the electricity off. Paid it right away when I realized the extension online did not go through. So I paid it right away and they told me 2 to 4 hours I'm still sitting here after 4 hours with no electricity in the covet pandemic. they said it's all electronic that don't have to come to your house so why can't they just turn it off but instead they make you suffer for 4 hours when you have deep freeze full of food knowing the pandemic and you cannot just replace that food.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tanya B from Copperas Cove, TX on January 5th, 2021
Good afternoon, Tanya. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced without power. Our customers' satisfaction means everything to us. We would like the chance to improve on any less than satisfactory experience you may have had. If there are any outstanding issues, we ask you please do contact us anytime, we would love any chance to show you we care. Again, we thank you for your time and the feedback you provided. We look forward to continuing as your electricity provider for many years to come! Best wishes to you and your family! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Duplicate withdrawals from my account
This is the 2nd month that Direct Energy has auto debited my bill amount TWICE!!! The first time for nearly 400 bucks and this time over 200! This caused an overdraft situation both times for me, and Direct Energy didn't give a crap!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J Cone from The Woodlands, TX on December 18th, 2020
Hi J Cone, thank you for getting in contact with us, we sincerely apologize as it is our aim to be as transparent with customers as possible regarding their payments. We would like the opportunity to investigate this further. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com with your account number and we are going to be more than glad to deeply review your case. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon. Stay Safe and Happy Holidays! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
No courtesy call to let us know that our electricity was being turned off. Our credit card on file was replaced by our bank after the number was fraudulently used. We forgot to update it and with no notice from Direct Energy our electricity was turned off. First time user & when our current contact expires, we will never use them again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mia from Manvel, TX on December 1st, 2020
Hi Mia, we wanted to reach out and apologize for the experience you had with Direct Energy. This is not typical of us and can assure you it wouldn''t happen again. We normally send disconnection notices and automatic phone calls. We would love to further investigate this situation. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you. - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Sales guy lied: beware! Know your rights
After the sales guy left my driveway, I realized that he lied to me the entire time and tricked me into filling out the application with all the answers he wanted. He had an excuse for every question. Saying things like "You can't see the contract without completing the application anyway because it has to be emailed, and we don't want to waste paper, so say yes that I showed you a contract " and, "The pandemic is why they ask if I left the house yet, but they really mean am I outside of the building." I'm cancelling because when he finally emailed me the EFL it was nothing like he said it would be and worse than my current electricity company (7 cents per KWH was what I was told). Honesty and trust is completely lost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hoodwinked Customer from Parker, TX on November 9th, 2020
Hi Hoodwinked, , we are disheartened to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve as a company. We are very sorry to lose you as a valuable customer. If there is anything we can do, please feel free to contact us at any time. Have a good day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Accidental Cancellation Led to HUGE fine
I had been a Direct Energy Customer for 2 years and had referred my friends to their service as well. Leading up to our first renewal on Oct 5, 2019 I called to renew my plan and spoke with Customer Service to get the best rate. I was not told there was a 20 day period before my contract renewed so instead of my new 12 month contract expiration date being Oct 5, 2020, it was now going to be Oct 24, 2020. This was not told to me, nor was it advertised in their renewal offers via email. Because of this, I was unaware the expiration had changed. When it came time for our plan to end this year, I decided to switch providers because we were not saving money with Direct Energy anymore. Unfortunately I didn't realize that our expiration date had changed so I actually accidently cancelled our plan when I switched to the new provider. Then I was hit with a $135 cancellation fee! I called to inquire about this and they were not able to do anything for me on this, they refused to work with me on a solution even though I did not intentionally cancel my service and I only cancelled in 19 days before the end of 12 month period.
I am very disappointed that they could not understand my side, that it was a miscommunication and misunderstanding that led to my cancellation. I wish they could have me me halfway in any way, especially because $135 is a lot of money to me right now as I am sure it is to a lot of people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Victoria H from Dallas, TX on October 26th, 2020
Good afternoon, Victoria. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had and we are more than sad to know that we have lost you as a part of our family. We would love the opportunity to take a closer look at this and help you solve your concern. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will work diligently to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Bad Customer Service
I've had service with them for some time, am paperless so I basically never see a bill and paid them on time during the duration. Just logged in to pay my bill like I usually do and found the bill to be $100 more than it usually was. When I called them, I was told that the rate I was under expired and the only thing they would do is offer me a $25 credit. The person I takes to told me that was "all the power she had" . I told her to please let the people that have power know that they just lost me as a customer. BYE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tkerr from Dallas, TX on October 15th, 2020
Hello Tkerr. Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are truly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at this and help in any way we can. Please feel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by bphone or through our Live Chat department at any time, we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Thank you for understanding!
Camila and Emma on the messenger option are amazing! Kind, professional, understanding and that is very rare to find in customer service nowadays. Thank you!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Diana from Pharr, TX on October 9th, 2020
Hi Diana, your story is incredible. We are overjoyed to know that Direct Energy exceeded your expectations and showed what the customer service experience should be! We are glad to have Camila and Emma as part of our Digital Care team. We will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for your business and your kind review. Stay safe! Happy weekend. Zoeh / Digital Care

— Direct Energy
Good service
Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

None from Irving, TX on October 6th, 2020
Hello. Thank you so much for giving us this great rating. If there are any outstanding questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us through any of our communication channels anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Thanks for your trust! Have a nice day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Worst company
Worst company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N/A from Dallas, TX on September 12th, 2020
Hi there! We appreciate you taking the time from your day to leave us a review. Our customers' satisfaction means everything to us. We see that you rated us 2 out of 5 stars. We would like the chance to improve on any less than satisfactory experience you may have had to earn a 5/5 Star Rating. If there are any outstanding issues, we ask that you connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department. We would love any chance to show you we care. Again, we thank you for your time. We look forward to continuing as your electricity provider for many years to come! - Camila / Digital Care
— Direct Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.3 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.3 of 5.
5 Stars
39%
 
4 Stars
19%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
32%
 
3.2 / 5
Overall
3.2 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
3.3 / 5
Order Experience
3.3 / 5
Customer Service
3.2 / 5
Billing and Account Management
3.2 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Direct Energy

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money.

The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.

Direct Energy has energy customers in Texas, New York, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, New Jersey, and Ohio

You can learn more on our Direct Energy FAQ Page.



All Direct Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 months
11.8¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$118 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 months
11.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$116 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
18 Month Fixed Rate
18 months
11.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$113 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 months
12.0¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$120 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Get rewards with Plenti
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 months
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 months
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $230 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month