We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, TriEagle Energy, Champion Energy Services and Payless Power

Customer service is outsourced and hard to reach

(1.8 / 5)

  The only feasible way to connect to Direct Energy customer service is via phone - the online chat option is a joke as the wait time is very long. The customer service is outsourced and poorly trained (thank you for creating US jobs. NOT). Also, you can ONLY contact them during the week so if there is an emergency you're kind of screwed. I am planning on giving this company one last chance before I cancel, even though my mind is sort of already made up.

LA from Houston
February 13th, 2019

Thanks for the feedback LA. We currently are available Monday-Friday 8-5pm and are working to improve our online experience. For now our customers can call, chat, or email us. Thanks for giving us another chance to win you over! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Moving

(1.8 / 5)

  I changed residences back in May. I scheduled a connection to my new residence. They connected to another residence instead of the one I told them. I got charged for their mistake. Been billed separately multiple times. Being inconvenienced and billed multiple times has caused me to want to consider looking for another service provider when the contract is up. I was a happy customer until this happened.

Christopher J Leal from Sweetwater
June 14th, 2018

Christopher, we are concerned that this transfer of service was not properly actioned for you. I can only imagine the frustrations you and your family have faced up to this point with having this matter resolved. We would like the chance to apologize for the delay in response for getting back to you through this review website, and would like the opportunity to rectify these errors for you. Please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or connect with us through our Facebook page at any point to open an investigation. Thank you for your time. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor pricing, mediocre service

(1.8 / 5)

  We have struggled with this company. With the latest snafu, we underpaid a bill by $12 due to a misunderstanding on our part. Shame on us for the mistake. However what was aggravating is that the company cancelled our service without so much as a phone call.

With the rates they are charging us now that we are month to month this level of service doesn't fly. We are shopping for plans now and see rates that are ~40% less than what we are paying with them today.

Aron from Houston
July 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

direct thievery

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved one block over and switching electricity has left me and my kids in the dark. I have a 41.00 dollar balance but I've been given the run around lied to and told that the floor supervisers don't have supervisers don't have supervisers. They are holding on to my 41.00 dollars and have cut off my lights because supposedly my balance is too low. Well if they would give me my balance from before my move that is being tied up with "unfortunately I cannot help you'd" I would have a higher balance. This company has blatantly robbed me! Who can help me with this. I have called direct energy and center point and Texas electric commission. And here I am with no power although this company has my unspent money.

olivia from Galveston
June 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charged by Direct Energy Power to Go

(1.8 / 5)

  3 months ago I signed up for the power to go plan and things were great until recently. DFW area experienced a lot of power outages and my family was without power for 2 days in 20 degree weather. Well once we received power, we were billed for those days by power to go. I called and CSR placed a dispute for those days and dropped my rate down 1.8 cents for the next 6 months so I went on and funded the account again and 2 days later, power is off. Now I'm pissed!! Call again CSR tells me it usually takes 3-5 days for those disputes to be finalized so I guess it the mean freaking while you just continue to overcharge me huh!! Again I had no choice but to find the account because my kiddos get home before me and they were home without power. Mind you, account shows that I find this account faithfully every week. Now one day later, I added up the previous days kWh used to find out I was overcharged $6 once again CSR does a freaking dispute. Aldo tells me it's taking longer because since the power outage a lot of customers are calling and that department does not have enough staff to handle the call volume and disputes. Okay well hire more dang people. Can't take this crap anymore, will be going back to traditional electric plan and it will not be with DE!!!!

Michelle from Irving
December 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam Artists

(1.8 / 5)

  After years of using Reliant Energy I was coaxed into applying for a Price Advantage 12 Plan for 12 months at a fixed rate of 9.8c a Kwh, only to find upon reading my first bill that the rate was 12.1c kWh. After repeated enquiries and calls to their useless customer help line I am still no better off. I have email confirmation from Direct Energy of the rate they advertized and contracted, however their "investigation" shows no such rate. Seems odd to me that their rate is still advertized as I originally saw it, I wonder if anyone else has been scammed by these con artists.

Keith Williams from Houston
October 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Department is horrible & rude!

(1.8 / 5)

  Give me a break ... I've had two billing issues now, two months in a row. The first one involved Direct Energy crediting me three times for the amount of my bill - twice on the due date, once the day after the due date - and then reversing the first two payments, leaving me with the payment they credited one day late. I double-checked with my bank, and they only paid one time, so this whole "one day late" was completely Direct Energy's fault, and to top it off, they had the audacity to charge me a late fee. I called and was told they would forward my request for that late fee to be removed, which it subsequently was. This month, I called and made my payment over the phone, several hours before the cut-off for it to be credited that same day (the due date) ... and guess what, but they didn't credit my payment until the next day ... another late fee! When I called, I was told by their billing dept that I needed to pay earlier in the day (that would mean earlier than Direct Energy's phone system says it needs to be paid by???) to be credited that same day. When I explained that I called in plenty of time, she proceeded to explain time zones and that it can be difficult when people live in different time zones ... since I live in Texas and therefore in the CT, and the cut-off time was listed specifically for the CT zone, that didn't wash. It was at this point that I was scolded by this woman for always making my payment one minute before the deadline every month (can't control when they put through a payment from my bank's WebBillPay ... and it is still before the deadline, right?), and she stated she could not understand why I would call "every month" to find out if there was a late payment. That ticked me off, because I have only called twice, both for billing errors on Direct Energy's side! She then stated that she had never seen the kind of errors I was bringing to her attention ... as if this was all somehow my fault, or maybe it's just me being annoying because I don't want to pay a late fee for payments that aren't late??? The call ended when I told her that there is obviously a glitch in their system, that I was the unhappy recipient of their glitch, and that instead of telling the customer to "pay earlier in the day" that it might be better to instead look at why these billing issues occurred in the first place. There was silence, followed by this person telling me that she had made a note of my comments in my file ... I'll bet! And guess what? Since my contact expires shortly, I have made a note of her comments as well and will not be renewing my contract with Direct Energy, because nothing is achieved by blaming the customer for billing and accounting errors, other than to piss off the customer!

Laura S. from Bedford
January 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Use Direct Energy

(1.8 / 5)

  Over the course of my years with Direct Energy, my bill rose from around a couple hundred dollars to over five hundred dollars? And this was way more than just fluctuating gas prices and weather changes. One month I tried to use as little electricity as possible and still got a HUGE bill. Direct Energy claimed that something must be wrong with my home's insulation. They claimed my meter was functioning perfectly. After I switched providers, my bills have shrunk back down to a normal size. These guys are not to be trusted.

John K. from Dallas
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company scam artists

(1.6 / 5)

  They continuously disconnect service regardless of payment! They disconnected me TWICE in ONE MONTH, HOW IS THIS LEGAL OR POSSIBLE?! I've paid over $500 in two months and have been disconnected 3 times! I'M IN THE DARK AS I LEAVE THIS REVIEW!! Customer service is TRASH unless you speak Spanish!! If not they are going to read a script and not offer any assistance!! I've had to go all the way up to corporate about this issue! I have a disabled parent in my home and they do not care at all! I'm switching companies TODAY and direct energy and they entire spanish speaking customer service crew can kiss my entire ass!

Lizz from Pflugerville
July 18th, 2018

We can understand the strain that can be caused by being without electricity service, Lizz.lewis. I apologize for any inconveniences these temporary energy interruptions caused you or your family. If the outage was related to non-payments or account cancellations, the disconnection would have been authorized on our end. For all other instances, the outage would be arranged by the utility company. For example, if there was inclement weather or technicians completing repair work on electrical lines in the area.

Our agents are trained to provide the best customer care possible and the customer experience should not be impacted by the agent location. If you have any concerns that you would like us to escalate please know you may reach out to us through email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you for your time. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  I was told one thing by one representative. Then when i call back noone know idead what I am talking about. When I ask to speak to a supervisor Jen(in panama) she tells us that if we would pay our bills on time that we would not need an extension. We just lost a loved one and she did not care. Then after the affect apologizes come and they still don't care. Karma is a B.

Changing companies from Missouri City
June 20th, 2017

We regret to hear that you had this kind of experience when you called in for help. We would be more than happy to assist you with any questions you have. Please email us your concerns or questions at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com along with your account number, phone number, and address. We will also submit agent feedback for you. Thank you.

Direct Energy Responds July 5th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  I was new in the area so they required a $400 deposit to open an account, which was ok.
The deposit would be "refunded when your bills are paid on time for 12 consecutive months".
Fast forward 10 months and all my bills had been paid in time. The 11th bill was more than double from any bill I had received from them, including the hot summer months when the A/C is on full speed.
Mind you, the 11th bill was for November when the bills are usually a lot lower.

10 days before the bill was due I emailed them asking what the bill was about. It took them 5 days to reply, and I tried to call them several times during those 5 days. They apologized and blamed it on internal billing issues. I asked them to give me the correct amount so I could pay the bill in time.
They never replied to my email so I kept calling them but since they never picked up the phone after 25-45 minute on hold, I gave up. One day before the bill was due, I just paid the full amount, even though it was wrong. I didnt want to mess up my 12 months of paying on time.
But of course, they received the payment 1 day late. I then paid the 12th bill on time and contacted them for the deposit, but since I was one(!) day late on the 11th bill, I did not qualify for a deposit refund and had to make 12 new payments on time.

I was pretty pissed but, for some reason, I decided to stay with them. Fast forward again and I had 12 payments on time and contacted them again for the deposit refund. And guess what, the deposit would be refunded towards the account balance and used as a credit towards future invoices.

Excuse me?! Towards future invoices? What exactly does that mean? I asked them if they could just use those $400 for the next invoices until the deposit account was "empty".
No, it "didnt work that way". I asked them for an explanation but never received one.

So, you can imagine if they require a $400 deposit from, lets say maybe 5000 customers or whatever - that would give them $2 million which they could just keep and, on top of that, get interest from.
So their customers is actually giving them a free loan and THEY get the interest. If thats not a scam, I dont know what is. A deposit is YOUR money and its supposed to be paid back in full, as long as you dont violate your contract in any way. Yes, I was one(!) day late the first time, after THEY made a mistake on the bill. It would not surprise me if they did that deliberately.

I cancelled the contract and moved to another provider. I asked for my deposit (again), and they sent me a check of $150. I asked them where the rest of the money was. Of course, that was kept as termination fee.

Worst company I have ever dealt with.

And dont expect to get any answers or explanations from them. If they do answer, its just jibberish and they always leave you stranded if you ask them the "tough" questions.

I would rather live in the dark than to give these folks my money.

Erik from Sugar Land
February 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible billing policies

(1.6 / 5)

  Month after month we have seen bills not show up until 3-5 days before the due date. If you pay the bill as soon as it is received, you are still likely to receive a charge for being past due as they do not credit the payment to your site until several days after you make the payment (even if you make the payment on their web site or using their phone service. We have received cut-off notice emails three days after a phoned in or online payment was made! I am convinced that they are holding off on mailing invoices and then holding on time payments to post after the due date in order to charge their past due fee to as many clients as possible. This is a fraudulent business practice and should be investigated.

As for me, fortunately I have a choice in who my electric provider is and it will no longer be Direct Energy!

Ron Barnett from Waco
September 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst cust service ever experienced

(1.6 / 5)

  I am dropping them after 5 years due to lack of customer service! I tried calling and using their on line account management sys several times to set up direct draft, and it still doesn't work. Then when I logged in again they said my service was being disconnected and I had been sent a disconnect notice. I had not received any such notice. I called to talk to a rep and they said their system had a problem and then hung up on me. I thought the cable industry was bad, but their customer service is worse. I haven't shopped rates yet, but I have filed a complaint with the PUC and will read reviews about customer service before getting stuck with another company like this. Buyer Beware!

Tom R. from Richardson
December 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm always talking to a MACHINE!!!!

(1.6 / 5)

  i didn't start having trouble with them until one day my energy was cut off without notice. they have an option online where you can choose how to be contacted when you balance is due. i never got a message!!! my energy was just cut off and im a stay at home mom that does not always have a car available to her.

so im here pissed off and trying to figure out a way to pay the light with no car and a dying phone.

CUSTOMER SERVICE??????? they dont know what that is!
WEBSITE???? piece of crap and not at all helpful. logging in and making payments have never been more difficult!
PAY OVER THE PHONE???? almost took over thirty minutes! i have not idea what was going on with their automated payment service but it kept repeating itself or hanging up.

i tried talking to A REAL PERSON but when i finally got through she told me she had to transfer me. WTF? cant you just take my payment over the phone?? i got transfered put on hold and then i was hung up on.
dont waste your time!!! i will be switching after this month.

Gloria from HOUSTON
December 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing and Accounting Disaster

(1.6 / 5)

  Direct Energy uses an online billing and customer system that appears to have been developed in the 90's. It is cumbersome, inefficient and failed multiple times to accept my credit card change. Then, the system failed to correctly credit my account for my manually-input payment, even though they sent me an email confirmation of the payment. They finally sent me a letter asking for payment for the same invoice they had already confirmed payment for. The letter included a threat to disconnect service on October 19, and although the letter was dated October 2, I did not receive it until October 17. I could not deal with the disaster of customer service and poor billing and payment systems any more and switched to Bounce Energy.

Ken Rice from Houston
October 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO INTEREST IN KEEPING CUSTOMER

(1.6 / 5)

  WOULD NOT WORK WITH ME TO GET A LOWER RATE AS I WAS TRAPPED IN CONTRACT WITH NO FLEXIBILITY. SERVICE REP NOR SUPERVISOR WOULD NOT LET ME SPEAK TO THE RETENTION DEPT TO KEEP ME AS A CUSTOMER. PAYMENT SITE DOWN MANY TIMES.

BONNIE from BEDFORD
October 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to be good still not as bad as the worst

(1.4 / 5)

  A 4 cent per kwh increase in one year. Oncor delivery rate increased. Direct Energy used to be better than other providers. Now they are just as greedy as the rest. Customer service is lacking too. Took me 5 weeks of calls/cats with 6 different people to renew my plan. Online option did not work.

Kim from Dallas
August 15th, 2018

Kmieure, we are definitely concerned that it took multiple requests and actions on your end to renew your contract with us. This is certainly not the experience we want our customers to go through when calling in or chatting in for help.

The cost of energy is currently elevated because there were several power plant closures recently. This has the Energy market concerned that there may be a shortage of power supply during peak usage periods this summer. We have also received reports that there was a large population increase in the state of Texas over the past year which is adding to the increase in electricity demand. This decrease in energy supply and increase demand for cooling is causing the price to steadily grow higher across the board for all suppliers and utilities.

We absolutely do appreciate your business and would like the opportunity to work with you to find you a lower rate. Please know you have the opportunity to connect with our Email Team at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or Social Care Team through Facebook at any point to proceed forward with assistance. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT PICK THIS COMPANY DIRECT ENERGY Auto pay does not work and they shut off service.

(1.4 / 5)

  Its 7:53 am on a Wednesday morning and Ive been on hold without power since 7:11. My account is on auto draft and there is plenty of money in the account including when the payment was supposed the go through on Jan 22, only 2 weeks ago. In fact the phone system asked if I wanted to pay with the card on file and it was approved. Why am I cut off only 2 weeks after declining payment anyway. No phone call, no letter.
Now on hold again because they cant figure out why its doing that. Meanwhile I sitting in the dark. Readers of this might assume that I didnt have the money in the account. WRONG. But if I didnt, wouldnt they call, email or send a letter? My last bill says DO NOT PAY, your bill will be auto drafted on 1-22-18.
If you like having your service cut off for no reason at 7:11 when they dont answer the phone until 8:00 then youll love this company.

Brad Frost from North Richland Hills
February 7th, 2018

Hi Brad. We regret to hear your experience was anything less than exceptional. We would like to investigate what caused the service to be disconnected and further assist you with making this right. Please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and include a copy of this review for assistance. Thank you, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds March 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Billing

(1.4 / 5)

  A poorly run company. They take forever to process payments and will very quickly send out disconnection notices. They refuse to allow direct bill payment from banks (wire payments) so if you use online bill pay your bank has to mail them a check. Direct Energy takes forever to process the payment and then sends out disconnect notices. We had this happen several times and despite proof from the bank that the check was mailed promptly to them, Direct refuses to admit they are slow to process payments and blames everyone else. Don't use them unless you want to get disconnection notices.

Don't Use. Slow to process payments from Grand Prairie
November 27th, 2017

Thank you for sending your feedback. We would like to take a look further into your account. Please send us your account number, phone number, and address. Thank you, - Cole

Direct Energy Responds December 1st, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Paid but power was still cut off

(1.4 / 5)

  I paid my bill at 6:15AM in the morning. Between 8:00AM and 12:20PM the same day my power was cut off. I don't understand why. At least they cut it back on before I got home.

Service really sucks....

Choose another company, I am going to transfer my service today

Eric from Mesquite
January 22nd, 2016

Eric, we sincerely apologize for the frustration we have caused. If you still have any concerns or questions please email us your account number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. All the best, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds February 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Warned Them

(1.4 / 5)

  Shockingly dishonest bad company with horrible customer service experience. Compared to other electric companies, they absolutely stink. Repeated over charges, incompetent billing and astounding arrogance. I would not do business with them again if their "promoted" price (likely a myth) was 1 penny a kwh. I paid their billed extortion but promised them I would tell everybody I knew. Be forewarned.

Brad Varmland from Dallas
April 26th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What Customer service?

(1.4 / 5)

  After viewing the offer online I attempted to oder service online. The plan that was advertised was not available.
"Price Protection E-Plan 24 month" with 2 free months of service

I called to see if there was a different way to access this plan and spent most o my first contact giving out all of my infomation without getting any information from them.

Then I was told that this pland offer is not available in my area. But I could be transferred to a servcie group who could likely determin what special offeres were available.

I was then sent to another automated phone program. After completing the drill I was sent to yet another automated phone program, this time asking me to choose English or Spanish. (voice was in english by the way) I selecte #1 for English and was then sent to yet another automation asking if I was a new or existing customer. Keep in mind I spent more than 5 minustes giving my personal information to the first person.

I selected New custoemr and was prompted again for English. #1 and a person answered asking how may I help you. I began by saying how long I have been on the phone and how frustrating the autmated system was. And would she mind passing on my comments. The proceeded to esplain what I wanted in terms of service and pow..."please press 1 to continue in English, opremre dos para espanol.

I hung up.

Ralph Cossey from Killeen
October 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

West Texas

(1.4 / 5)

  I have not been happy with being charged a late fee plus a 25 dollar collection fee is not paid by the due date { mind you which is changed. If you pay the bill in full early they will give you another due date earlier. Talk to representative and requested copy of all charges for year. but statement did not include the date due. They change the date due every month just about so they can charge you a late fee plus the collection recovery fee. I sent letter of complaint to the Attorney general and better business bereau but they did not do anything about this problem. and just close the case.

Tonya Lane from Odessa
January 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Company

(1.4 / 5)

  A Direct Energy rep came to my door yesterday, and I stupidly signed up. After I did so, I had a really bad feeling about this company, so I did a google search and read some BAD things. The following is a link to a WIKI article. I think everyone should read.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Energy

Today I called and canceled.

Carol from Detroit
May 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad billing!

(1.4 / 5)

  I have a habit of paying all my bills upon receipt. This company messes
up the billing on a regular basis!

Anonymous from Rockwall
November 6th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Good !

(1.3 / 5)

  My rate for this company is $0.1537/KWh very high this has been like this for the past 4 months. I pay between $400 and $475 a month I have talked to the company and they tell me that wene my acount is at $0.00 balance they can then offer me a "good rate".So I did just that. I called and direct energy told me that they can not help me because their is still a balance but the bill is not due yet. I have been with them from 2006 and I have never recived a "Good rate". DIRECT ENERGY IS NOT THE WAY TO GO!!!!!!

MARIA CERDA from HOUSTON
October 6th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bate and switch

(1.2 / 5)

  The internet offered a fixed cost and when I received my welcome package 3 weeks later it was another price over 2000 kilowatt . I even called Direct Energy customer service to confirm fixed pricing before committing to my contract and they confirmed my fixed price . I cancelled my service and sent a email with a copy of what they advertised on the Internet . They apologized and did not charge me their cancelation charge of $150.00, but I received a very expensive bill for their bate & switch.

Mark from Cypress
July 23rd, 2018

Mark, I apologize for any miscommunication regarding your initial rate. We would like the opportunity to go over your past enrollment with us to investigate this error further for you. Please send us an email to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or connect with us through Facebook to continue forward. Thank you for your time. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience ever.....Never again will I use them.

(1.2 / 5)

  This has been the worst experience ever with the electric company and I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas to even get an answer. Been living here for 2 months with electricity and even got a bill for a $150 deposit. But all the sudden we got shut off May 1st after we payed $300.00 March 6th then $150 April 17th. They said as of March 8th this meter was on a switch hold so we had to fax them proof we just moved in here on March 16th. At this time we was told it will take 24-48 hrs once fax was received. We waited and STILL at this very moment (5 days have pasted) we have no electricity but on May 1st at around 7:00 pm they confirmed they got the fax... Every time I called all they could say "we emailed our back office and are waiting for them to send back a response". Then when I would check up on it after a few hours they would repeat the same stuff. They say they have no other means of communication to this "back office" other than an email. For 5 days of begging, crying, and pleading with them still nothing. And when I ask them how have we had electricity for 2 months they cant tell me how cuz they don't know, but yet my meter is on a lock down due tempering as of March 8th.Today I finally got someone from there to call me back after I filed a complaint on them today just to tell me the paperwork I sent wasn't matching the county records? Well no shit we go through a "RENTAL" agency. They can't seem to understand that this is our "LANDLORDS" the people we pay rent to.... I would love to just switch company's but I need a deposit to get set up with someone else.... Direct Energy has my $450.00 ... In order to get that money back I would have to wait 4-6 weeks? I finally got them to call my Realtor so they can explain. ... I mean hell I have only told them 20 times to call the phone number on the cover sheet from the fax where it says "If there are and problems please call this number (***)***-****". I will be switching if I do ever get my electricity turned back on......... its 4:21 pm May 6th still am waiting.....ugh...

Christy from Odessa
May 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Promotional Gift Cards

(1.2 / 5)

  In the fall of 2012 I renewed my contract with Diret Energy and was so foolish as to believe the would actually send a Visa Gift Card for that renewal. It was promised in 3-10 weeks. Now, 4 months later I am still waiting. They say some time in the future I will get one; but, I do not belueve it!

Bob Evans from Allen
February 9th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The most frustrating company I have ever dealt with, period.

(1.2 / 5)

  This company bumped my install date by 8 days, so I had no power to
cook during Thanksgiving of 2010, and they couldn't even be bothered
to tell me. Their customer service department is rude, and the highest
level, the Office of the President is either incompetent or evil

I've had to escalate 2 issues to the Office of the President, and on the
second issue (asking them to add 5 words to the bill), have waited for 3
months and received no answer as to whether or not they were even
considering it.

Their autodialer system calls me and hangs up on me at least twice a
week. Managers and supervisors in Customer Service have hung up on
me, and even refused to speak with me.

I chose Direct Energy because their rates were the lowest fixed rate I
could find at the time ($.10 /kWh), but they are undercut ($.09) by
over a dozen different fixed rate plans today.

If I had a time machine, I would go back in time and save the world from
Direct Energy - there is no better use of time travel. -G

George from Houston
August 4th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

difficult to cancel

(1.2 / 5)

  My mother in law recently passed away, so in the process of cancelling service Direct Energy demanded a Power of Attorney and copy of the Death Certificate in order to cancel the power. Of all the service companies I have dealth with none have required a Power of Attorney to cancel the service. What does a dead person need with power, it is just common sense.
I would never do business with these people.

Charles Evans
September 20th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Couldn't Wait to Switch

(1.2 / 5)

  While Direct Energy's rate was reasonable and I didn't have too many problems with what I paid per month, my main issue arose from their lack of customer service. I was set up on auto pay on my credit card, which allowed me to pay on time EVERY TIME for 7 or 8 months. GREAT! One less thing to worry about. Then, as my credit card was expiring and I got a new one, I proactively updated my credit card info, however, it kicked me off of auto pay, which I didn't know. So, their reps started calling me at 7:00 am. Yes, 7:00AM! In the MORNING! Finally i answered, told them I was on auto pay and just to run my card for the balance. YOU HAVE MY INFO! RUN IT!. The Rep refused because it wasn't the card set up originally on auto pay & said I had to pay by money order. I said, "Uh... Nope." Run my card if you want my money. She replied, "Well, We Just Gonna Turn Yo Powa Off!" - I replied - "Don't bother, I am switching today". Adios, Direct Energy, go play basketball with the Rockets or something.

Robert C. from Houston (Midtown)
May 15th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible rates for returning customers

(1 / 5)

  Last year my rate was 9.4. This year they could only see fit to give me a 12.8 rate. How's that for customer appreciation.

Karen - Houston from Channelview
July 4th, 2018

I can certainly understand where you are coming from, Karen. We absolutely do appreciate your business and would like the opportunity to work with you to find you a lower rate. The cost of energy is currently elevated because there were several power plant closures recently. This has the Energy market concerned that there may be a shortage of power supply during peak usage periods this summer. We have also received reports that there was a large population increase in the state of Texas over the past year which is adding to the increase in electricity demand. This decrease in energy supply and increase demand for cooling is causing the price to steadily grow higher across the board for all suppliers and utilities. Please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or connect with us through our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com to continue forward with securing a new price. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

UNHAPPY WITH DIRECT ENERGY

(1 / 5)

  I have tried for the past 2 weeks to get ahold of someone. Every time I call from all hours of the day, 3 times a day it says that all circuits are busy. This is ridiculous! I'm just trying to have a question answered! I call just about every number there is provided and stay on hold for 1 hour. There service is horrible! I have yet to receive the answer I am looking for!

Ashlynn from Richmond
February 7th, 2018

Ashlynn, we are sorry to hear that you have had trouble speaking to us. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and phone number along with this review so we can assist you right away. Thank you, Cole

Direct Energy Responds March 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  After years of service at the same address, they have managed to screw up a change of address in SIX DIFFERENT WAYS and continue to fight me every time I ask that they fix their screw up! They terminated my account a week early at the address I was leaving and it took over 24 hours to have the service reconnected. Now they billed me $116 to reconnect. When I called to dispute they said that it was Oncor's billing, so I would have to get them to remove the charge. In addition, at my new address, I went four days without electricity. After being lied to and dismissed for four days, a supervisor threatened to charge me $75 to have a technician come back out to see why I didn't have power. Once a tech did come, he explained that it was an external breaker that needed to be flipped and that DE should have told me to flip the breaker. I have easily spent 10+ hours on the phone in the past two weeks, not to mention no heat, no cooked meals, sleeping on the floor one night in an empty apartment because there was heat there. TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TJTX from Dallas
February 2nd, 2018

We apologize to hear that your experience was less than exceptional. We strive to provide great service to all customers and want to follow up with you to see what can be done to take care of your concerns. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, address and a copy of this feedback for assistance. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds March 1st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal

(1 / 5)

  We have had Direct Energy for several years. Last week I called to question my bill. Then I was advised our renewal had expired and that was why we were paying a higher price. At that time the associate told me she would FIRST set me up a new renewal and then see what she could do for the months we paid a higher rate. After the recorded renewal was complete, she said she could not adjust any changes for the higher charges we had been paying for Oct to Dec. if I had known this I would NOT have agreed to the renewal. I am reporting this to the Utility Commission in Texas. You could say monies we saved were taken back by D E by not notifying us that our contract had expired. We live on disability. This is a very unfair practice by Direct Energy.

Roblyn Brown from Sweetwater
December 17th, 2017

Roblyn, we are sorry to hear of this experience. We would like to review this account and see what we can do to get this taken care of for you. Please email us your account number, address and phone number to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and put "Attention Cole". Thank you, - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'd give zero or negative stars if possible

(1 / 5)

  I had nothing but trouble!!! Signed up online and received the incorrect plan. Called the number they provided and it rang and rang... No answer..then it disconnected me altogether!!!. Could not get a human to talk to to answer my questions and resolve my issues of WRONG ADDRESS.
FINALLY utilized chat. TWICE BC I COULDN'T GET ANYONE TO ANSWER! Thought it was resolved. Nope. Had to get on chat again to find out (CORRECT) service address STILL NOT SHOWING. the chat head did verify incorrect address WAS cancelled. BUT service at the CORRECT address was never received. Was told by chat I had to reenroll. I did this 3 times now.
No verification received which was why I was try g to talk to a human... So fed up when I was told I still needed to enroll AGAIN...SO FED UP I told them I was going with another provider.
I JUST REVEIVED A BILL FOR 3 DAYS PF SERVICE I NEVER HAD AND A EARLY TERM FEE FOR SERVICE I NEVER RECEIVED AT AN ADDRESS I NEVER LIVED.
Glad I did screenshots of all of chat conversations.

I'd give NEGATIVE STARS IF POSDIBLE from Houston
August 6th, 2017

Good afternoon. We are so sorry to hear of the poor experiences you had. Would you mind emailing us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number and address so we can look into this further with you. We would like to be sure everything has been resolved fully for you. Thank you, -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service, poor everything

(1 / 5)

  I had nothing but trouble!!! Signed up online and received the incorrect plan. Called the number they provided and it rang and rang... No answer..then it disconnected me altogether!!!. Could not get a human to talk to to answer my questions and resolve my issues of WRONG ADDRESS.
FINALLY utilized chat. TWICE BC I COULDN'T GET ANYONE TO ANSWER! Thought it was resolved. Nope. Had to get on chat again to find out (CORRECT) service address STILL NOT SHOWING. the chat head did verify incorrect address WAS cancelled. BUT service at the CORRECT address was never received. Was told by chat I had to reenroll. I did this 3 times now.
No verification received which was why I was try g to talk to a human... So fed up when I was told I still needed to enroll AGAIN...SO FED UP I told them I was going with another provider.
I JUST REVEIVED A BILL FOR 3 DAYS PF SERVICE I NEVER HAD AND A EARLY TERM FEE FOR SERVICE I NEVER RECEIVED AT AN ADDRESS I NEVER LIVED.
Glad I did screenshots of all of chat conversations.

Giant Cluster f#ck from Houston
August 6th, 2017

Good afternoon. We are so sorry to hear of the poor experiences you had. Would you mind emailing us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number and address so we can look into this further with you. We would like to be sure everything has been resolved fully for you. Thank you, -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unethical Fees

(1 / 5)

  If my bill is one day late, they consider that past due and send out a disconnect notice and charge my account $29.95 and on top of that charge an additional late fee. Should be illegal. Also, customer service is the worst with hard to understand foreign accents and they do nothing to try and remedy the situation.

TLow from Grand Prairie
June 13th, 2017

Good afternoon! We see you had some concerns regarding out late fees, and the collection recovery fee we charge. The collection recovery fee is only assessed anytime a Disconnection Notice is generated because of a past due unpaid balance. This is completely separate from a standard 5% late fee for being 1 day past due for example. Please let us know if you would like us to review the account further by emailing us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We would be happy to look at your bills and ensure you have been correctly billed. Thank you, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service sucks

(1 / 5)

  I was calling as new customer to find out when mt order would be completed. Everyone I talked to barely spoke English and after going through 3 people I finally asked to be transferred to an American and the lady was very rude and told me No. I asked to be transferred to a Manager and she told me No, then hung up on me! I will gladly pay more money with TXU than to have to deal with this incompetent people. I have never been so put off by agents. If you are going to outsource you need to train your staff how to talk to people! Absolutely disgusted!

Terrible Customer Service from Lewisville
April 12th, 2017

We apologize for the customer service you received. This is not the experience we want for you. We would be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns that you may still have. Please contact us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your name, address, and phone number. Look forward to assisting you soon. - Ally

Direct Energy Responds May 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just awful.

(1 / 5)

  In December 2016, Direct Energy cut my power 9 days before the $98 bill was due. It happened sometime that morning and I awoke to a cold, quiet house. My wife and 2 year old proceeded to get ready for the day in the dark. I contacted Direct Energy by phone and spent 20 minutes on hold before speaking with someone who said the bill was past due. I took screenshots of the bill which clearly show a previous balance of $0 and a new balance, due in 9 days, of $98. After approximately 1 hour of explaining an re-explaining to the seriously lacking customer service folks, I was told that the power was accidentally shut off and it would be on in 1 hour. I left for work and returned home 8 hours later with my 2 year old to a cold and dark house. The power was never turned on. I contacted Direct Energy and went through the same experience as I did in the morning. I refused to hang up the phone until the power was back on. 2.5 hours later, the light returned. After at least 12 hours without power, most perishables were spoiled. I never received as much as an apology. At least $300 of food. The entire experience was awful and humiliating. I cannot express how terrible the customer service was and how frequently they were dishonest during my many interactions. If you care about your family and ensuring they are warm and fed, you must choose a different provider.

M. Wise from Dallas
March 31st, 2017

Good Afternoon. We sincerely apologize for the disconnection and the customer service you received. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your personal experience with us. We are working diligently to improve our processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. We would be happy to look into this for you. Please contact us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, service address, and phone number. Kindest regards. - Ally

Direct Energy Responds May 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  Customer service representative who claimed to be Eddie kept pushing mute as I stated my claim & playing on the phone and would not transfer me to the United States. After being transferred, the other guy who had a better understanding accent who claimed to be Fabian, transferred me back to someone who was already laughing as if they were juggling my call within the same vicinity. I'm so disappointed in this company whom our family been with for over 10years. Cheaper is not always better;and that's for the company.

Anitra from Venus
March 7th, 2017

Anitra, we apologize that your experience was less than exceptional. Our goal at Direct Energy is to provide the best service experience always. We would like to investigate the agents behavior and provide the appropriate feedback. Please send us an email with your account number and address along with a good contact number to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds March 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exorbitant TDU charges

(1 / 5)

  Initially signed up I was told that TDU charges were included with my cents per kilowatt after getting my first bill I found out that was a lie my $250 bill turned into a $400 bill with $150 in TDU charges do not sign up with this power company. Needless to say I am canceling my contract with them and will probably have to pay the remainder of the contract

Jim T from Arlington
October 4th, 2016

Hi Jim, I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We certainly are happy to assist in anyway that we can. I am sincerely sorry that the rate was not communicated accurately. Please email us your account number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com for further assistance. Thank you for your review. -Eris

Direct Energy Responds October 17th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct isn't any good.

(1 / 5)

  They sold me an in-home wiring warranty plan and when I tried to use it nobody at the company seemed to know what it was. I couldn't get any service for the plan I was paying $5.50 a month for. But the major problem with them is they started passing along $50-$70 a month in electric provider fees without letting me know about the change. Couldn't believe it when I looked at the bills. They used to be competitive but now have snuck their rates up without telling any of their customers.

Mike Hurd from Flower Mound
June 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst service ever.

(1 / 5)

  As I type this complaint I have been attempting to simply disconnect my electricity service for over 45 minutes (second attempt this disconnect) but due to the "automated answers" and customer service reps unable to assist my request I have been unsuccessfully transferred or disconnected to other reps who have been unable to complete the task at hand. One rep in particular had me on hold 15 mins. After returning to the line, he simply said "noone is avail to help". I said, "okay". Pause. Pause. Pause. He offered no resolution and simply became mute to my questions. All I needed was a disconnection in which I had attempted to resolve 5 days ago in but was put on an excessive hold at that time as well. Now, as I am typing. Less than 3 minutes was I finally able to speak to live rep, give forwarding information and be done. I AM BEYOND FURIOUS. 3 min???? Are you serious?? This could have been simply handled but the way in which Direct Energy handles incoming calls with automated system is broken, to say the least. I am an efficient consumer and expect to handle my electricity payments responsibly. I can only expect the same professionalism with the electric provider. Rest assured I will NEVER be a Direct Energy customer again.

Anonymous from Irving
June 3rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switch without Concent

(1 / 5)

  This company is horrible!! They switched me from the month to month to the power to go without my concent and when I asked to get switched back they told me it would take 45 days! Mean time I'm without electricity even after I explained to them that I have a parent with terminal cancer!!! They didn't care and they have the nerve to call me and ask me 12 days before my last bill is due what kind of payment I wanted to keep on file for them to run on the due date!! NEVER WILL I GO BACK TO THEM!!

Betssy from Houston
May 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Repeated Dunning Notices for Early Termination Fee that was promised to be waived if Imoved

(1 / 5)

  You may cancel without penalty if you move to another location and provide evidence of the move, such as a forwarding address and any other reasonable evidence that you no longer occupy the service location and you agree to provide us with at least 14 days advance notice of your move date.

This is what their booklet and reps continued to tell me yet I provided a months notice and forwarding and am still getting dunning calls and bills. I paid the entire usage off in full so they are just trying to squeeze the $300.00 ETF that they told me repeatedly I don't owe, out of me.

Suzanne OBrien from Dallas
May 18th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

MISERABLE HORRID EXPERIENCE

(1 / 5)

  If there were a burned out light bulb rating system, to gauge this company, I would give it 5 burned out bulbs! That's how difficult it's been to deal w/reaching them, accessing my account, dealing w/bouncing around customer service reps - 4 x the other day, to only get one I could not understand, kept either playing a recording or talking incessantly. I finally got through to a decent one today, but it took two calls. I terminated my service, and WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE.

Cathy D. from Houston
April 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Disapointed

(1 / 5)

  I took over managing a business that used Direct Energy, We would typically receive the bill less than a week before it was due which was annoying but something we can all work around but can be a little hard to juggle at times. My issue came when our contract was ready to be renewed, They gave me there rate and it wasn't completive so we decided to switch to another provider. My mistake was telling the sales rep who I had been talking to for about a week while looking at options that I wasn't interested and wanted to cancel, the sales rep did not inform me that in order to cancel I must talk to customer service that nothing I said to the sales rep mattered for cancelation. Now I'm getting billed at twice the standard rate. I believe that this system is manipulative and is designed to take advantage of customers who are looking to cancel. I admit I didn't follow the correct procedure according to our contract that was signed long before I started, but anyone in the business should have been able to inform me that when I said I needed to cancel which department I needed to talk with.

Lock Stock & Barrel from Decatur
September 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud Alert!

(1 / 5)

  I had 2 accounts with this company taken out at the same time. They say they stay current with the economy's needs but she found over the last several months they had beenraising her rate monthly. When addressed about this issue they refused to help. They doubled her bill in less than 6 months. Complete fraud! Do not use this company.

Laurie from Pekin
August 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  this has been the worst company that i have used for electricity. Customer service is very bad, everyone at the customer service tells you something different. They raise rates although it is not on your plan. They can not even do the simplest thing. Please please don't use that company!

Rukiye from Dallas
August 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AWFUL! STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  By far the worst company out there. HORRIBLE customer service. The company is out to deceive you. It is an absolute joke that they have a referral program because no one in their right mind would refer unless they are pulling a cruel prank on their friend.

Unfortunate customer from Fort Worth
August 16th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free Saturday, 10.4 Mon thru Friday Lies

(1 / 5)

  I validated with no less than 3 reps that the advertised rate was indeed 10.4 and every Saturday free, midnight to Midnight. I left better rates behind thinking I would save money with free Saturdays and am stuck 24 months, unless I move. Saturdays may be "free" but the 10.4 rate they claim you are receiving is untrue. They are guestimating what your free Sat may lower your obnoxiously high per kilowatt rate DOWN to and they DO NOT TELL YOU THAT when you sign up. 3100 square feet and a home over 100 years old, clearly I am always looking for the best kilowatt hour deal. so now I'm good and pissed off and I make sure on Saturdays I turn every light on every fan on every electric thing on that I possibly can turn on. I reallywant to help the environment, but right now I'm just bloody angry. considering moving

Suzanne OBrien from Dallas
August 9th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Landlords and Tenants Beware

(1 / 5)

  As a landlord and Direct energy customer, I was happy using the prepaid service while I was between tenants at my rent houses. When a new tenant moved in and tried switching power into her name using Direct Energy. I was told that the account cannot be transferred into her name, rather the tenant would have two wait 3 days until the system could close the account at which time a new account could be opened at the house. After probing into this odd process for long enough, they said that I could speed up the process by submitting the lease and tenants drivers license to assure them that they were really moving in there. It was the most backwards day of dealing with a utility provided I've had yet, and I've had many.

Michael from Fort Worth
July 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liers! Beware of transferring your account.

(1 / 5)

  Started with Direct Energy at an apartment that I was living at for three months. When I moved I called to cancel with Direct Energy. They convinced me to stay with them and "transfer service" so I did. After reviewing my bill three months later I realized I was still being billed for the old address on top of my new address. When I filed a complaint I was told I cancelled my disconnect service request and never called back to schedule the transfer. Meanwhile they added service to the new address. When I asked why would I need service at two locations they had nothing to say expect I never requested to properly disconnect the old service. That's because they conned me to saying I want to transfer. Word of advice, don't use Direct Energy but if you do when moving to a new location, confirm a disconnection date with them. They lied and said things I never said to make it benefit themselves. The customer service rep and supervisor were rude and should not be in a customer service role.

Jeff T from Dallas
June 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT RECOMMEND

(1 / 5)

  If you are in a temporary home such as an apartment. I would STRONGLY advise you not to use this company! Horrible customer service and terrible rates! You might as well stick with a contacted electric company.

Ashlynn
June 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service and deceptive billing practices

(1 / 5)

  Direct Energy has the absolute worst customer service. I was placed on a higher rate plan than I had signed up for. It is almost impossible to get a hold of a human being in customer service to rectify problems, and when you do, you will be speaking to outsourced staff from outside the US who basically read from a script. I was told I was wrong, that I had signed up for this higher rate plan, and they were not willing to accept proof (the EFL and confirmation from PowertoChoose.org when I signed up). Once I contacted the Texas Public Utility Commission, all of a sudden they were willing to look at the issue. Of course, once they were forced to correct their error, the horrible customer service continued in the form of treating me like a deadbeat for not paying the overcharges while waiting 1-2 months for them to issue a credit. Read the reviews - they are systematically billing customers rate plans that are higher than what the customer signed up for. This is clearly deliberate on their part. Good luck getting a direct phone number for anyone there, or having any electronic communication whatsoever. Their website is also down frequently. Worst of the worst. Devoid of any business integrity whatsoever.

Andrew from Round Rock
May 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible company that lies, cheats, and steals! DO NOT GET!

(1 / 5)

  THE WORST company I have dealt with in my life. Sales rep came to my door offering lower prices and to waive my cancellation fee with my current provider (Reliant), but when I called them back their number changed. Tried getting this solved with DE and they are trying to charge me $300 as a cancellation fee. So basically I've wasted 2+ hours of my life, have to deal with paying the early cancellation fee from Reliant and supposedly now another from DE (total of $550).

They life, cheat, and steal so PLEASE DO NOT get this company as your service provider.

JS from Fort Worth
April 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service - Not Efficient

(1 / 5)

  There was an inadvertent switch at my parents' home. They did not switch companies, nor received a call to confirm such switch. Their power was turned off in the afternoon. They spent about two hours trying to connect and speak with the correct person. To every single rep they spoke they had to explain the whole situation from the beginning. They just wanted their power back (their payments have always been on time). This time was during the cold fronts and house was freezing. They are elderly and when asked how should they sleep during the night - the representatives state "I am sorry - I don't know what to tell you" They did not receive power the next day nor the day after. Without exaggerating, there were about 15 call to Direct Energy. Those calls took hours and to every rep we had to explain the sitation from the beginning!!! At the end, my parent switched companies and received power within an 1hour!! I did write and e-mail to CEO of Direct Energy, but apperantly he fowarded it to a manager to handle. The e-mail was pitiful!!! End of story - horrible customer service / inefficient employees!!

Frustrated Daughter from Houston
April 4th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible company

(1 / 5)

  They keep charging me 30.00 for something called a bill collection fee??? What in the hell is that? Then they keep calling me to "remind" me when my bill is due. When I question the 30.00 I get the run around. Stay away from this company at all costs. They Also bill 15.00 for a disconnect notice to be sent out but you never receive it.

Jennifer steele from Bay Town.
March 18th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very upset

(1 / 5)

  for the past 3 months i have been recieving a bill that has increased tremendously, looking at the svc charge to me makes absolutely no sense so that does not help, except that they don't match up to what they are advertising, calling the 1-888 number - what a joke, on hold for a operator for over 20 mins and still have not talked to anyone. what are we to do, is there anyone we can call to help with this, i don't even know if i can switch with out getting sometype of fee... FRUSTRATING.

M.V. from PA.
March 4th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Tried to Switch Plans on Me

(1 / 5)

  After reviewing several plans, I recently attempted to sign up with Direct Energy to take advantage of a low rate. The rate they were offering on chooseenergy.com was 8.8 cents per kwh per 2000 kw used, I made a copy of the Energy Facts Label and signed up. After a couple of hours, they sent me a confirmation email which had an Energy Facts Label that stated a rate of 10 cents per kwh for 2000 kw used. I immediately emailed them back pointing out the error but received no response so I emailed them again. Still no response. At this point, I was getting angry so I emailed them again to cancel my request and the agreement. No response. All this was on the same day I signed up for the plan. Called them the next morning, and after several minutes of the guy treating me like I was an idiot and could not read the table at the top of the Facts Label, I was told that there was nothing they could do until my account became active, but I did not want it to become active. Anyway was told I would have to call back with nothing getting done. Called them later that day and found out they had already switched my service and had taken over as my electricity provider. This guy also treated me like an idiot who could not read the table at the top of the page of the Facts Label. All in all, do not trust this company. I signed up for a plan and they signed me up for a different higher rate without even contacting me and then tried to act like I was crazy for being upset. They never even acknowledged that there was a mistake made somewhere. Might still be with them if they had, but when they lie to you from the get go and refuse to admit any mistake, it is best to run away fast. People reading this should just stay away.

Sean from Tyler
March 4th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used car salesmen

(1 / 5)

  Their promotion was good, the original price was good. Then the promotion was over and without any contact to let me know they raised the rate. And then raised it agin . If I had signed another contract the price would be about the same as before. So why without the contract is the price 33% higher. When I called to reason with them after waiting almost 35 min on the phone. There was nothing they could do even if I would sign the new contract. I said that I wanted to change back to ComEd and they told me to contact them direct. ComEd answerer in 3 min and said that Direct Energy needed to call to switch me back. I have paid my other bills, surfed the web, had a sandwich and a pepsi, written this review and i am still on hold. They finally came on the line and said I would be transferred to the cancelation department. Ten minutes latter they answered and told me because of high call volume (the cancelation department ) the computers needed to be updated and I would need to call back tomorrow. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she would not let me. I asked her to take my name and call me tommorrow after they canceled my account .and she wain no I would need to call back. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE CROOKS. AND THEY HAVE THE WORST COSTUMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.

Allen from Fox Lake
February 25th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ughhhh

(1 / 5)

  Direct Energy is the worst company ever..my bill is increasing by 119% per month for the last three months..they can't give me no answers and there customer service sucks to the extreme..they keep me on hold for 30 minutes to tell me they could not help...losers!

Josh from Houston
January 31st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Didn't connect on start date, didn't follow up

(1 / 5)

  This is a horrible company. You should avoid them. There was some problem with DE finding the meter identifier associated with my address and they didn't connect me on the day I was supposed to be connected. Even though I called ahead to verify that everything was on track with the connection, they failed to get it started on the right date and did not call in advance or after there was a problem. I ended up using a another company because they also could not resolve the problem. They would say things like "your address is our enrollment system but not in the other system do you need to submit another application" instead of just fixing the problem and adding the address. Direct Energy = Incompetence.

Roth from Grapevine
December 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

direct energy gave my account information to a stranger

(1 / 5)

  direct energy changed the phone number on my account with out my permission. they called a complete stranger and gave my account information for months. the person whom they were calling even notified them of the mistake several times and they never fixed it nor did they contact me to verify. my electricity was turned off and when i tried to have it turned back on they told me the only way was to pay a fee.
direct energy doesn't care about their customers!!!
any other company is better!

in the dark and freezing from Dallas
August 9th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very sneaky and untrustworthy

(1 / 5)

  This company took my ssn and ran my credit for service, then I supposedly had an account with the. I moved into my apartment and got a small bill for 2 weeks due to my billing cycle. Then somehow I didnt get a bill the next month. I was told by my apartment manager that her company is paying for the bill because there is no energy provider with an account for me in my name in their system. I thought this had to be a joke. I called Direct more than once just to be told i did have an account, and their company Green Mountain was trying to make me their customer. I got bills from my apartment manager for 2 months from then. So then I said enough and I called Oncor just to be told there is no account in the state of Texas with my name. I was so upset that I made a complaint to them to pass on to the right people. Then I called Direct and told them I am upset that they took my information and even billed m once, but somehow managed to take me out of their system. They told me that I never signed up for service with them, but mysteriously I had a two week bill. This company is full of liars, scam artists, and rude employees that do not want to take their blame for their mistakes. I would not tell a millionaire to start electric service with them in their party pad, they are a joke and untrustworthy in every way. No wonder the sales people are so cheerful when you start service, they suck you in and scam you behind closed doors afterwards. I have never had this experience ever with any electric company, and I have lived in a few states due to my husband being military over the years. This company does not need to be sneaky to make money, be honest when you mess something up and maybe you can keep customers!

realhousewife from Fort Worth
June 9th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE Direct Energy

(1 / 5)

  Direct Energy is difficult to deal with on every level. I have received 4 phones in 2 days regarding my bill that is not even due until May 31. I feel as if I am constantly being harassed. I changed service to Texas Power when I recently moved. Unlike Direct Energy that haggled with me over transferring my rate, Texas Power was easy set up and very helpful, plus I got a cheaper rate.

Krista from Cypress
May 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They double your bill

(1 / 5)

  Do not sign up with this company. After 6 months of normal bills our gas bill doubled in price. We use about the same amount of gas every month and payed over a 100$ more. It did not get colder, so no reason there (warmer actually). After calling them they said " it's because of the variable rates". Yes sure, variable rates I understand but paying double feels like a rip off. Ooh and it will also take them 2 months to cancel. Just be prepared. Please if you can don't sign up with this company!!

Bianca Pepple from Bay Village
March 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

More Bogus Hidden Penalties than "Hide and Seek"

(1 / 5)

  Direct Energy is a Rip Off; high priced energy. It is nearly impossible to sign up for new service and just as hard to sign up for auto pay, and they charge you $5 for every call...and they charge you $15 for "Autopay Breakage Charge" to which will be their fault for not properly setting you up in their system. They also will charge you for a Late Penalty when your not late, an advanced Metering charge, etc. I will file (and have had success filing claims) with the Federal Consumer Protection Agency, and suggest you do the same any time these guys or a bank messes with you. It's easy and you get results, as I have on two or three occassions!

Jim Sayre from Dallas
December 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company.

(1 / 5)

  I'm single man with no kids and I receive a bill every two weeks for at least 80 bucks. I don't know if they are double billing me from when I transferred but overall they are a horrible company.

Due to me having two due dates in a month apparently I'm paying my bill late and they charged me 29.95 for being 3 days late.

I called for an explanation and get nothing.

Worst customer experience I've ever had in ANY situation in my life.

Dwight Palmer from Plano
December 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EX EMPLOYEE KNOWS WORLD CLAS CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I am an ex emplyee of Direct Energy. I worked for the customer service department a little over 4 years and have never heard such ATROCIOUS customer service, and I've heard alot! These representatives are so unorganized, unprofessional and overall HORRIBLE at their job. These people will not be hearing from me again. I want to deal with them as little as possible. I wish I still worked there so these people can get the PROPER customer service training they NEED! I used to close all complaints for Direct Energy and now I would hate to have an open complaint because nothing would ever get done. I hope one of those agents read and report this so something can get done.

Signed,
Anonymous..

ME from YOU
November 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

USE A DIFFERENT COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  The absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. They are rude and do not care about their customers. I had to move out of my apartment 2 months early due to getting a job in another state, so for 2 months I didn't live in my apartment. Somehow not only was my bill still high in the first month I wasn't there (even though not a thing was turned on that month), but my bill increased the second month I wasn't there! Save yourself the headache of having to deal with these people and use another company!

Sarah from Irving
May 23rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible people

(1 / 5)

  I pray this company goes out of business. The people here are lazy and rude. They don't know the first thing about customer service and really don't care what you have to say.

Jeff from Spring
May 10th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

sucks

(1 / 5)

  this company had solicitors go through my neighborhood and sign people up. I actually signed up for a better rate before these guys with green mountain but when my contract was up the rate went up, so i thought what the hell. i signed up with these guys direct energy and my first bill had a ten dollar fee for using less than what they wanted me to use. then i call to speak to someone and they tell me that because i signed up for the e-plan that i will be charged when i call with questions. I was furious. I signed up for e minders and I just now tried to go onto the website and i'm locked out for trying too many times to logon. I'm spent. I would not recommend this company to anyone, and I will most definitely be changing services asap

byron benitez from Fort Worth
May 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievably dissapointing

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with Direct Energy when I moved
into my new apartment and thought everything
was fine until I received an electric bill
from my apartment complex a few months later
saying that I owed them a couple of months of
electricity payments. I contacted Direct Energy
and after about 3 hours of talking to 5
different people found out a fluke had occurred
and caused by electricity to be switched out of
my name after one day. I received a refund
check for what I had payed them and basically
re-started my account. Another few months went
by and the exact same situation occurred; bills
from my apartment complex, phone call to Direct
Energy, found out I had electric with them for
one day before a random switch back out of my
name. This time I switched to a different
electric company but I am still dealing with my
apartment complex to get all the electricity
bills paid. One time might be a fluke but since
it happened twice I can only express how mad I
am.

Alex from Fort Worth
February 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service and billing practices

(1 / 5)

  This is by far the worst utility company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I never had a late bill until I signed up with Direct Energy.
As a recipient of Social Security, my check is deposited once per month, approximately 1 week after the due date. Direct energy has refused to change the due date, tacking late charges onto my bill. I was told to contact Oncor, my service provider, who referred me back to Direct Energy. Every month, from the day after my bill was due, I received phone calls from DE, (up to three times per day!) asking when I would pay my bill. Each month I explained the reason why I could not pay on time (it was supposedly noted in my account), this continued monthly for my 2 year contract. I even had a call asking when I would pay my bill an hour after I'd paid it. I said I would give my confirmation number, but the employee already had it!
I also could not get an extension until the day the bill was due, and only two per year without penalty.

Anonymous from Killeen
November 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(1 / 5)

  Can't receive my bill, very distrubing. Have to call every month and fight for a bill, never experianced such a thing. what is going on? They can not get a correct address. sick and tired of this hassel

s cutler
December 14th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

REFUNDS

(1 / 5)

  I used direct energy for my first house and at first it was great then our bills skyrocketed. from about 200 a month(during summer) to double that. i had no problems paying my bills on time with the direct credit system, but i canceled it to have more control of my bills. in September another high one and so i sent the check which arrived on time, they also took the same amount out of my account on the same day. This sent my bank account overdraft and 3 checks bounced. my bank was very helpful and said as soon as they credit the money back all the charges would be dropped. Well you have to wait 4 to 6 WEEKS to get any kind of refund from DIRECT ENERGY. I know I'm rambling but this is a very serious issue to me. I couldn't wait 4-6 weeks to pay them. They need their money on a certain day and so do i.

Stephanie
October 8th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Positively Worst Experience

(0.9 / 5)

  I have used several different electric companies through out Texas, but I have to say Direct Energy does a superior job at being the absolute worst electric company I have encountered thus far. Their customer service is by far the rudest, most difficult group of disenchanted, jaded customer service reps in the industry. I found out today my contract is up at the end of this month and I am so overjoyed to be switching I almost teared up a little. I was paying a much higher rate at my previous eletric company, and I would have GLADLY gone back to pay a higher rate and have superior customer service than continue to subject myself to Direct Energy. Buyer beware - you definitely get what you pay for with this company.

Erin from Little Elm
December 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheat Customers

(0.9 / 5)

  They will charge you a $25.00 fee just to call you to let you know you are one day late on bill. Croooooks!

Sammie from Dallas
September 6th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing

(0.9 / 5)

  It's been 4 months and Direct Energy still has not been able to process an automatic withdrawl from my checking account. My account has accumulated several $25 collection recovery fees due to Direct Energy's inability to process a direct withdrawl from my bank. Direct Energy informed me that they will only waive one $25 fee. Regardless of the fact that they are causing the delays in payment.

If you have a choice, choose another electricity provider.

TEG from Katy
May 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions