Home > Read Reviews > Direct Energy > 1515468777597161595


Excellent
(4.8 / 5)

  I had trouble trying to log in, it never recognized my account number or my zip code. Today I called First Choice to fix my problem and in a matter of minutes I was able to log in. Thank you Dulce and everyone working in customer service

Gramir from 78504
January 8th, 2018

So glad we could get this taken care of right away for you. Thanks for the great feedback! Have a good day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Direct Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Direct Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.98 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.98 of 5.

This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Direct Energy


Direct Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






306 Reviews for Direct Energy


The Best Energy Provider Here
(5 / 5)

  I had renewed with Direct some months before but I guess it was too early for a renewal but one phone call and it was done immediately by a very knowledgeable Customer Service Rep. Direct has been my choice for some time now and I don't plan to change any time soon.

Randy H from Houston
January 17th, 2018

We are so glad to hear this feedback, Randy. Thanks for sharing your experience. Have a great evening. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

experience with Direct Energy
(5 / 5)

  My experience with Direct Energy has been great but mostly the cost. I have had such great savings and for me that is most important in my time of financial difficulties. Thank you so much.

Maria Flores from San Juan
January 5th, 2018

Maria, thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are glad to hear that you are able to see a savings while being with us. Have a great day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HAPPY CUSTOMER
(5 / 5)

  I happily report that in my almost 4 years of being their customer, I have zero complaints

DANIELLE W. from Grapevine
December 21st, 2017

Danielle, thank you so much for the kind words. We are always happy to hear from our customers on how we are doing. We appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love
(5 / 5)

  I absolutely love Direct Energy. Ive had them for a few years now with no complaints. I have the free weekends plans and its the best for my lifestyle since Im usually not home on week days

Alia M from Dallas
December 20th, 2017

Thanks for the kind words, Alia! We appreciate the feedback. It's nice to hear that the free weekends plan is working out well for you. We hope you have a wonderful day. - Cole

Direct Energy Responds January 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Melinda in Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  My Family is facing an extremely hard time at the moment paying bills due to a death and job loss back to back. Melinda gave me all the information needed to help my family in our time of need. she is definitely a blessing is disguise and I couldnt be more thankful!!!

Amazing customer service rep from Arlington
November 29th, 2017

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We understand that sometimes our customers run into hardships and we always want to be there for our customers in their time of need and offer any assistance we can that will be helpful. We are so pleased to hear that our customer care agent, Melinda was able to provide you with options to get this resolved in your time of need. Please don't hesitate to reach out should you need our assistance again. Have a wonderful day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 30th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Prompt Service
(5 / 5)

  Direct Energy was quick and easy to be a customer with and understood the neccity of having your home equipped with service

Prompt Service from Alice
November 21st, 2017

Thanks for this terrific feedback. We strive to provide great customer service and rates that are affordable. We also understand how convenience is very important. Glad we could help. Have a great day! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

By far the best
(5 / 5)

  This is the absolute best electric company I have been affiliated with. Their rates, plans and customer service has never failed to impress me.

Keri from League City
November 20th, 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. This feedback is very helpful. We try to ensure we are always providing the best customer service possible and happy that we can offer affordable rates. Have a great day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds November 22nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Satisfied
(5 / 5)

  I noticed that the electricity plan that I was paying was not the correct plan and the agent was able to help me and get my account lined out. And even offered a credit on our account for the trouble.

CMTIPP from West Columbia
November 2nd, 2017

This is wonderful to hear. Thank you for sharing the experience you had. Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else. All the best, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nice peoole, affordable service
(5 / 5)

  Had an issue with mailing information due to an uncomfortable situation. It was taken care of promptly and politely.

Recommended to anyone from Alvin
October 24th, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear that everything was resolved efficiently. We hope you have a great day! - Cole

Direct Energy Responds October 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service
(5 / 5)

  The customer service is simply great

Tammy from Grand Prairie
October 11th, 2017

Thank you, Tammy. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Have a fantastic weekend. -Cole

Direct Energy Responds October 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service
(5 / 5)

  I saw my bill with the surge charge protection plan which I had declined but I hate calling and waiting so I tried the online chat and the issue was fixed quickly the lady was very helpful, efficient and polite.

Customer service from Laredo
September 12th, 2017

We're so happy you loved the online chat function! If you have any other questions or concerns we're always happy to help via chat or email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com!

Direct Energy Responds September 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates
(5 / 5)

  My bill was so much lower when I switched.

O&GMOM from Houston
August 30th, 2017

We're so happy we were able to lower your bill! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account or any of our other offerings please feel free to email us at @dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Thanks again, - Henry

Direct Energy Responds September 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great job!
(5 / 5)

  Melinda did a wonderful job of helping us transfer our service from our apartment to our new house. She was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Maria from Plano
August 25th, 2017

Hi Maria! We love Melinda here at DE, and we're happy she was able to provide you with the service you needed! We'll be sure to pass this along to her manager and assure she's recognized. If you have any other questions you may always chat, call us at 888.305.3828, or email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Thanks again, - Henry, Direct Energy Digital Care Team

Direct Energy Responds September 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Direct Energy for some time and have always been satisfied.! The customer service it's the best.! The staff is willing to help and accommodate you to your likeness. The prices are great.! Thanks Direct Energy staff for your lovely and friendly attitudes., A special thanks to Kelsey!!

Sonia from Humble
August 22nd, 2017

Hi Sonia! Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to see that Kelsey was able to take care of everything you needed in a professional and friendly manner. We will give her this feedback. We hope you reach out if you ever need assistance in the future. Have a wonderful weekend! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love direct energy
(5 / 5)

  I have been with direct energy for 3 years now and they have always been very helpful and clear. not to mention they don't have crazy prices, even during summer our bill has never been outrageous. they are a fantastic company and I totally recommend them.

Kristen from Round Rock
August 21st, 2017

Thank you for the recommendation. We really appreciate all the wonderful feedback. Have a great day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 24th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best ever!!
(5 / 5)

  Perfect customer service experience

John from Dallas
August 21st, 2017

Thank you, John! We are glad to have you as a loyal customer of ours. Have a terrific day! -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best energy company
(5 / 5)

  After being with maybe 3 other companies, and receiving horribly high bills, we decided to make a change. My mother suggested Direct Energy and everything has been great since then. During the summer, we receive low bills, ones that are "almost to good to be true". But there is no surprise, it ends up being exactly that. I love this company. During winter, we also get incredibly low prices. Right now, we have a wonderful plan where we received the nest and a great plan for three years. Thank you, Direct Energy!

Best choice we could have made from Houston
August 14th, 2017

Wow! Thank you so very much for this feedback. We are glad that you are able to see a savings while being with us. Customer feedback is super important to us, so be sure to let us know if you have any other suggestions. Have a great day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  Melinda was very helpful and answered the question I had.

Minerva from Mission
August 4th, 2017

Thank you for this feedback. We are glad to hear, Melinda was able to assist you with everything you needed. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need our assistance again. -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Transfer Service via Chat
(5 / 5)

  Online chat for transferring service was so easy. I was having a hard time online verifying new address, but upon chatting with Kelsey she helped me process change. She was fast and had no problems what so ever!!

Sonia Gonzales from Donna
August 4th, 2017

Hi Sonia. We will be sure to give Kelsey recognition for this! Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Have a wonderful day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service
(5 / 5)

  EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Paige is the person I spoke with today on my live chat and she was Awesome! The plan I renewed with was the Give Brighter Plan. The Give Brighter is a plan that includes a Luci Light for our home. This is a solar powered, inflatable, waterproof light for you to use in your home. In addition, as part of this rate, they donate one of the Luci lights on my behalf to a family in a developing country that lives without electricity. Whereas, the Live Brighter is just our regular everyday plan without any promotional items. The price per kilowatt was exactly the same (which is still cheaper than the other guys) and we're locked into this rate for another year. The Luci Light program is wonderful and it gets you a free light too! WAY TO GO DIRECT ENERGY!

Tiffany D from Kennedale
August 3rd, 2017

Hi Tiffany! Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so excited that you enjoy the Give Brighter plan as much as we do. Please be sure to share this with your friends and family, and provide your referral id number so after they enroll with us, you can get a referral credit and they will also get a referral credit! Thank you for the feedback. Have a fantastic day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Direct Energy gives customers choice, simplicity, and innovation where energy, data, and technology meet.

Direct Energy makes energy work harder for their nearly five million home and business customers across North America. They compete to earn their customers' business every day. They empower their customers with simple solutions to track, understand, and control the electricity they use. Direct Energy provides the insights needed to make smarter decisions, be more efficient, reduce energy use, and save money.

Direct Energy will continue to lead energy innovation through connected experiences that make a difference in people's lives.


Updated: 02-17-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar