We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

harassed after I switched

(2.8 / 5)

  I used to have Direct Energy, but decided to switch when I moved.

When I called to tell them I was moving and switching companies, they asked if I wanted to pay my last bill over the phone. I didn't have my bank account information at the time so I told them I would just pay online. The rep kept asking me over and over again, until I started to get annoyed.

Then I started to get calls asking to pay the bill, WAY BEFORE THE DUE DATE. They said it's a courtesy call.

Then after I paid the bill, they called me still to tell me to pay the bill. I had to tell them I already did.

I was a good customer, never behind on paying, so they should not have had to harass me.

A
September 24th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good representatives

(2.6 / 5)

  Your online chat, Michael C.,was very helpful. I believe he was the same rep I chatted with last time.

Judy Gardner from Mabank
April 3rd, 2017

Thank you for your review. We will be sure to let Michael know on your positive feedback! Have a great day! - Ally

Direct Energy Responds May 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be warned

(2.4 / 5)

  Do not allowed the undertrained representatives to take your payment over the phone. I authorized one amount for a specific bill amount verbally and was a charge was placed on my debit card for the entire balance which was not yet due. When discussing their error with their rep immediately after I called back when seeing the incorrect amount on my bank account, I'm told I have to wait 14 days to receive the money back, and then pay the cirrec t amount AGAIN that day to keep connected. UNACCEPTABLE! I then requested next level who said they would cancel the incorrect payment and restore services until my refund is back and I can then pay the accurate amount. That's an ok attempt, but now it's been 3 days and the funds are still pending withdrawal, I have at least one NSF charge to deal with so far because of this, and am not able to buy groceries for the family until my next payday or this money is back in my account. When I asked the second mgr on the second call what happened I was told the initial representative "made a mistske!" Cancelling contract ASAP this is careless.

JW in Katy TX from Katy
May 12th, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve for a better customer experience. We would like to look into this more to assist in a resolution. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full name, service address, phone number and email associated with account for us to properly address your concerns. Kind regards. Ally

Direct Energy Responds May 30th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not good if you have to pay late

(2.4 / 5)

  They not the worst, but certainly not the best. The rates are 'ok', but what will get you is if you have to pay late. 3 days after the due date, they issue a disconnect letter, and there is a $30 charge if they send it. It's a ridiculous practice and the customer service dept is not very helpful.

Destiney from White Settlement
October 22nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free A/C-Check

(2.4 / 5)

  I do like that they have a deal with Hallmark A/C. They check our system for free and that is a nice touch.

rick ortiz from Cypress
August 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Is Just Average

(2.4 / 5)

  It wasn't the best reason to choose an electric company, but I chose Direct Because I'd been seeing their banners all over the place at the Rocket's games. I figured I'd give them a shot. Well, I did, and I would have to say that they haven't done anything to set themselves apart from any of my past experiences with Reliant and TXU. Their prices are ok, but not fantastic. I would recommend them to someone else, but mostly just because of worst experiences I've had with other providers than anything special they've done for me.

Matt M. from Houston
June 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What customer service?

(2.2 / 5)

  When I moved it was a huge hassle to move my service. They made me change plans to a much higher rate and they are still charging me for a house I no longer live in. I have called and chatted and still no help. I hope the people living in my prior place of residence enjoy the FREE ELECTRICITY. PLEASE HIRE PEOPLE WHO CAN UNDERSTAND ENGLISH.

Mad as hell from Wichita Falls
June 29th, 2018

Clangston, this is definitely concerning to hear. We would like to resolve this as quickly as possible for you. Please connect with us through email dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or through our Facebook page to further escalate this situation. We are looking forward to speaking with you. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst billing dept

(2.2 / 5)

  I have been with them for over a year. My avg bill is around 700/month so you would think I would be somewhat important. I signed up online and gave a credit card to direct pay monthly. The credit card number was stolen and had to give a different number. Easy right? NO! I get a call every month and have for the last 6 months from them telling me I need to give them a new credit card number b/c mine is no good. I tried calling once and b/c I am an "online customer" I had to pay 5 or 6 dollars to speak to a live person regarding this. They will not let you speak to anyone that is important. Just the guy from another country that calls you to get the card info every month. Very frustrating when you try to make sure all bills are paid every month and you have to deal with this. When I redo my electric, direct energy will have to be substantially cheaper for me to stay.

Matt from Fort Worth
September 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Contract ended rat almost doubled.

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up with Direct Energy one year ago when they claimed that they charged less for electricity than their competitor. When the contract ended the charge per KWH (kilowatt hour) went from 7.3 cents to 12.8 cents. ($99.00) I changed electric suppliers at 6.4 cents and for some reason it will take 2 months to switch. So Direct Energy will be raping me for the next two months.

Mark steele from Ware
August 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop from Killeen
January 27th, 2019

Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)

(2 / 5)

  On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre from Katy
November 30th, 2018

Barre, We hate to see you had a poor experience with the renewal. We are actively working to improve this process for our customers and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Web System faulty and states incentives that are not delivered

(2 / 5)

  I renewed with Direct Energy (Direct Energy Live Brighter Weekends 24) and the renewal form stated my incentives would be 2 $25 gift cards and a nest thermostat. When I called to find out when I would be receiving my incentives I was told I had a different plan and different incentives.

Other users should beware that they do not honor what you will see when you renew your rate.

Kevin from Houston
December 8th, 2017

Kevin, we want to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to investigate this right away. Please send us your account number, phone number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can look into this. Thank you, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds December 15th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst liars ever!!

(2 / 5)

  First of all this company is charging me way to much and I mean way too much for energy they charge me like if I lived in a house and I live in a mobile home of 2 bed 1 bath with no central air we have air units and only 2 one in each room charging me for one month $284 which is ridicoulous and the second is that this company never gave me a good explanation why they have me under a business when clearly this is residential company was bull**** from the start , I investigated why they had me under business for their own security so I wouldn't be able to switch to a different company

Jina reyes from Houston
August 1st, 2017

Good afternoon, we are sorry to hear of this experience. We would love to help review this further. Can you please send us your account number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripoff service

(2 / 5)

  I switched to direct energy but ended up having to cancel on the third day after signing up they charged me 135.00 even though I called on the third day and they try to tell me Saturday is a federal business day to them because they are open so do not use them they will rip you off in the end.

Mark from Houston
July 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Sucks

(2 / 5)

  I had an incident where I paid for my lights & they show a positive balance but Direct Energy (power to go) still disconnected my service. No one could tell me why this happened & after 4 hours, the electricity was still not turned on. Mind you I am 34 weeks pregnant & on bed rest. I spoke to a rude rep named Audrey who kept over talking me & telling me the same thing over and over that I was going to have to wait close to midnight before my lights could be turned on when they turned them off at 2:30. That's ridiculous!! I have been with them for several years and this is the second time this has happened and no one could tell me why BOTH TIMES. I will be taking my services elsewhere especially if they have employees who are rude to loyal customers.

pissed customer from Cedar Hill
June 26th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cancel;ling service, never to return

(2 / 5)

  They suck you in with a low rate then jump it up. Let the buyer beware. Look at your bill and the cost of a Kilowatt hour (KWH) Compare Direct Energy's cost with your local provider and all other companies.

Jay Petersion from Mt. Airy
May 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very sketchy outfit

(2 / 5)

  I have twice been promised a particular price from Direct Energy but then actually received a much higher price then promised. Plus, they got into trouble a few years ago and got permission to raise my rate mid-contract. I switched carriers, paid my last bill, have proof I paid my last bill, never received any collection activity from them and all of sudden get a hit on my credit report for the amount of my last bill. I can actually still log in my account online, which shows my last payment of the amount they say I owe. I would caution anyone from doing business with them.

Lynnelle from Dallas
November 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Directl Energy can be expensive

(1.9 / 5)

  They look cheapest on paper, but were more expensive than Green Mountain Energy (and it was a not a month to month contract). I have been shocked by the amount of the bill...even in the winter.

Anonymous from Seabrook
January 15th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unfair Pricing

(1.9 / 5)

  This company offers discounted rates to NEW customer only. For example, the rate currently offered for new customers is .11+ cents per kwh. The cheapest offered to exsisting customers per my conversation today with Direct is 12.2+ cents. Not much difference, but every penny counts in today's market. You would think Direct would want to keep customers, not offered cheaper rates to a select group and offending the rest of their customer base.

Grandma J from Houston
July 17th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions