Home > Read Reviews > Direct Energy

Direct Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Direct Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.8 of 5.

Direct Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

Direct Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
Bright Choice
month to month

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Power on Command 24
Echo Dot Included
24 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Weekends on Command 24
Echo Dot Included
24 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Live Brighter 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Free Power Weekends 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info


362 Reviews for Direct Energy


Super fast and easy live chat!

(5 / 5)

  I was just concerned about when I'd be receiving my free Amazon Echo Dot, so I went in to live chat. To my surprise it was rather fast and easy to use. Cres got back to me quickly to answer my question. I thought I'd have to call and be on hold to speak to someone since mine was a new account, but I didn't and I was satisfied with the answer and service I was given!! Thanks so much for making it so easy!

K. Whittington from Houston
April 25th, 2019

We appreciate the positive feedback! We aim for excellent customer satisfaction and we are happy to hear we were able to satisfy your energy needs. We will be sure to inform Cres and his supervisor of your feedback as well!

Direct Energy Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Questions about a particular plan

(5 / 5)

  Kim @ Direct Energy was great. She is professional and answered all of my questions.

Helen from Dallas
April 5th, 2019

Good Afternoon Helen,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our chat agent Kim. We are pleased to hear she was professional and able to address all of your questions and concerns.

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service!

(5 / 5)

  I have had a great experience with DE. A few hiccups along the way but nothing they could not handle quickly. I am pleased! The chat has actually worked awesome for me!

Lisa from Fort Worth
April 4th, 2019

Good Afternoon Lisa,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great communication thru the" Chat"

(5 / 5)

  I tried to sign into my.new account, couldn't find my account #. Plus,I was concerned that my rate would be very expensive since I use less than 500kg
On average. Chat with Kim Relieved my worry. Thought I would be charged for .500 even if I only used 350 0r 400
She assured me that I wouldn't!.
Good news, Informed personnel are the heart blood of Customer Service.
Kim exemplified great customer service!

Great Customer Service Thru " Chat" from Addison
February 26th, 2019

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our chat agent Kim. We are pleased to hear she was professional and able to address all of your questions and concerns with ease. Please feel free to reach out should you have any additional questions or concerns.

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Perfect service

(5 / 5)

  This company is amazing, not just the plans they offer but the customer service as well.

ashley from Jacksonville
February 12th, 2019

Thanks for the positive review Ashley! We appreciate you :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  I used the Chat Now option to ask a question about my renewal. It was fast and easy. Javier answered all my questions in a friendly fast manner. Renewed for 2 more years!

Jessica from Waxahachie
February 5th, 2019

Hi Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a wonderful rating based on your personal experience with our company. We certainly value you as a customer and look forward to servicing your future needs.

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Excellent customer service, always helpful when I need them.

Tricia from Baytown
February 1st, 2019

Good Afternoon Tricia,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

-Marie

Direct Energy Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I switched

(5 / 5)

  I used to be a Reliant customer and finally got tired of being over charged, so I switched to Direct Energy and I am so glad I did.

Lisa from Kerens
January 14th, 2019

Yay!! We are so glad you are apart of the DE family also. Hope you have a healthy and happy 2019 :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy thums up

(5 / 5)

  Great company, great prices, great plans, and on top of that, you can speak with a real person on the phone when you need assistance the most.
I've been using them for over 4 years, and never once I had an issue.
I moved 3 times while I had Direct Energy as a provider, and every single time, there were there to switch my service in no time (no issue)

Customer from Cypress
December 20th, 2018

We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  My rep, helped me all my questions, and answered all of the concerns i had.

Kesha from Houston
November 15th, 2018

We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I highly recommend Direct Energy to everyone. They really do care!!

Rudy from Mission
October 29th, 2018

Yay!! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The best company in Houston TX

(5 / 5)

  They always there to help me !
Always the best rate.
Love this Honor company

Yuval from Humble
August 23rd, 2018

Good Morning, Yuval. We certainly appreciate these awesome ratings and the review! It is our pleasure to provide you with an outstanding customer experience, and we are thrilled to have you on the Direct Energy team! Thank you for the feedback, and have a fantastic week! - Jack

Direct Energy Responds October 15th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I was able to chat with Megan regarding plan options and she was able to answer all my questions. Thank you, Megan for all your help. She provided links and took the time to look up information on plans for me in my area.

Deanna from Killeen
July 10th, 2018

Thank you so much for leaving this positive review, Deanna! We will ensure Megan, and her immediate supervisor is notified of this feedback. We appreciate your time. Have a wonderful day! -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Breeze

(5 / 5)

  This is Awesome. I was very disappointed with my previous service provided and unfortunately the relationship of more than 4 years had to end. I reviewed several other companies before arriving here and was displeased at their demands for a huge activation deposit. None of them could clearly explain why those startup monies were necessary or could confirm if they were refundable minus all the fees if the relationship had to end. I would have been okay to pay it out installments but no one was hearing that. Just hand us 220.00 and well turn it on. Im glad i found you guys and very pleased there's no deposit. This is how you become and remain #1. Im telling everyone I know at the old company to follow me. (#high5) Thank you ..Now lets do business one kilo watt at a time. Praise God!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok2BAwesome from Dallas
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, Ok2BAwesome. We are so pleased to hear of your experience and attitude towards our service. It makes us happy when our customers are happy! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account in the future, please know you can connect with our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com. Have a nice day! -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE DIRECT ENERGY

(5 / 5)

  MY PLAN EXPIRED 2 MONTHS AGO AND I DID NOT REALIZE IT UNTIL I GOT A HUGE BILL. THEY HELPED ME GET A NEW RATE AND RE-BILLED AT THE LOWER RATE. I HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 11 YEARS AND WOULD NOT CHANGE DUE TO THEIR AWESOME CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

SHANNETTE from Tomball
June 29th, 2018

We appreciate your loyalty, Shannette! Our Customer Care team is always willing to help, and explore different options that are available. We are so glad our team was able to take care of this for you. Please know you have the opportunity to connect with our Live Chat team at any time through our website if you are in need of assistance in the future. Thank you! -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Amazing Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I love direct energy. They are very helpful and understand to the needs of the customers.

Glenn from Killeen
June 18th, 2018

We appreciate your feedback, Rashadglenn! Here at Direct Energy, we always strive to put our customers first. We are glad this has been this case for you too! Please know you may reach out to our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com in the future if you have any questions regarding your account. Thank you for your time! -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very happy with my service!

(5 / 5)

  Easy to sign up, get weekly emails with usage numbers, and customer service was great! We are up for renewal next month and will definitely renew!

Sara from Mabank
June 5th, 2018

That is great news, Sara! We are lucky to have a loyal customer like you. Thank you for the positive review and 5-star rating! -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  The live chat is now my go to.

NeeSha M from Corpus Christi
May 24th, 2018

Excellent! We love our Chat feature too. Thank you for the wonderful rating, NeeSha M! We hope you have a great day. -Eleanor

Direct Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad we switched!

(5 / 5)

  We switched to Direct Energy several years ago, and have $aved. Reliant calls us from time-to-time, but we'll never go back. So glad we made the switch!

Savings from Victoria
May 21st, 2018

We know it's been a while since you've left this review, but we are wanting to sincerely thank you for the great rating! We appreciate your loyalty and you're the reason we love doing what we do each day! We hope you have a wonderful week! -Kate

Direct Energy Responds August 21st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best price around

(5 / 5)

  Always a good price on electric. Great customer service reps !

Sharon from Sulphur Springs
April 26th, 2018

We're so happy that you've enjoyed our customer service and have advised others about your great experience! Thanks for the review! - Kate

Direct Energy Responds August 21st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Direct Energy gives customers choice, simplicity, and innovation where energy, data, and technology meet.

Direct Energy makes energy work harder for their nearly five million home and business customers across North America. They compete to earn their customers' business every day. They empower their customers with simple solutions to track, understand, and control the electricity they use. Direct Energy provides the insights needed to make smarter decisions, be more efficient, reduce energy use, and save money.

Direct Energy will continue to lead energy innovation through connected experiences that make a difference in people's lives.



Example Bill
loading...