Direct Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, rated at 4.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 4.2 of 5.

Direct Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

373 Reviews for Direct Energy


Customer service

(5 / 5)

  The customer service is simply great

Tammy from Grand Prairie
October 11th, 2017

Thank you, Tammy. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Have a fantastic weekend. -Cole

Direct Energy Responds October 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(5 / 5)

  I saw my bill with the surge charge protection plan which I had declined but I hate calling and waiting so I tried the online chat and the issue was fixed quickly the lady was very helpful, efficient and polite.

Customer service from Laredo
September 12th, 2017

We're so happy you loved the online chat function! If you have any other questions or concerns we're always happy to help via chat or email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com!

Direct Energy Responds September 13th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates

(5 / 5)

  My bill was so much lower when I switched.

O&GMOM from Houston
August 30th, 2017

We're so happy we were able to lower your bill! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account or any of our other offerings please feel free to email us at @dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Thanks again, - Henry

Direct Energy Responds September 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great job!

(5 / 5)

  Melinda did a wonderful job of helping us transfer our service from our apartment to our new house. She was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Maria from Plano
August 25th, 2017

Hi Maria! We love Melinda here at DE, and we're happy she was able to provide you with the service you needed! We'll be sure to pass this along to her manager and assure she's recognized. If you have any other questions you may always chat, call us at 888.305.3828, or email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Thanks again, - Henry, Direct Energy Digital Care Team

Direct Energy Responds September 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Direct Energy for some time and have always been satisfied.! The customer service it's the best.! The staff is willing to help and accommodate you to your likeness. The prices are great.! Thanks Direct Energy staff for your lovely and friendly attitudes., A special thanks to Kelsey!!

Sonia from Humble
August 22nd, 2017

Hi Sonia! Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to see that Kelsey was able to take care of everything you needed in a professional and friendly manner. We will give her this feedback. We hope you reach out if you ever need assistance in the future. Have a wonderful weekend! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love direct energy

(5 / 5)

  I have been with direct energy for 3 years now and they have always been very helpful and clear. not to mention they don't have crazy prices, even during summer our bill has never been outrageous. they are a fantastic company and I totally recommend them.

Kristen from Round Rock
August 21st, 2017

Thank you for the recommendation. We really appreciate all the wonderful feedback. Have a great day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 24th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best ever!!

(5 / 5)

  Perfect customer service experience

John from Dallas
August 21st, 2017

Thank you, John! We are glad to have you as a loyal customer of ours. Have a terrific day! -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best energy company

(5 / 5)

  After being with maybe 3 other companies, and receiving horribly high bills, we decided to make a change. My mother suggested Direct Energy and everything has been great since then. During the summer, we receive low bills, ones that are "almost to good to be true". But there is no surprise, it ends up being exactly that. I love this company. During winter, we also get incredibly low prices. Right now, we have a wonderful plan where we received the nest and a great plan for three years. Thank you, Direct Energy!

Best choice we could have made from Houston
August 14th, 2017

Wow! Thank you so very much for this feedback. We are glad that you are able to see a savings while being with us. Customer feedback is super important to us, so be sure to let us know if you have any other suggestions. Have a great day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Melinda was very helpful and answered the question I had.

Minerva from Mission
August 4th, 2017

Thank you for this feedback. We are glad to hear, Melinda was able to assist you with everything you needed. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need our assistance again. -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Transfer Service via Chat

(5 / 5)

  Online chat for transferring service was so easy. I was having a hard time online verifying new address, but upon chatting with Kelsey she helped me process change. She was fast and had no problems what so ever!!

Sonia Gonzales from Donna
August 4th, 2017

Hi Sonia. We will be sure to give Kelsey recognition for this! Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Have a wonderful day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Paige is the person I spoke with today on my live chat and she was Awesome! The plan I renewed with was the Give Brighter Plan. The Give Brighter is a plan that includes a Luci Light for our home. This is a solar powered, inflatable, waterproof light for you to use in your home. In addition, as part of this rate, they donate one of the Luci lights on my behalf to a family in a developing country that lives without electricity. Whereas, the Live Brighter is just our regular everyday plan without any promotional items. The price per kilowatt was exactly the same (which is still cheaper than the other guys) and we're locked into this rate for another year. The Luci Light program is wonderful and it gets you a free light too! WAY TO GO DIRECT ENERGY!

Tiffany D from Kennedale
August 3rd, 2017

Hi Tiffany! Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so excited that you enjoy the Give Brighter plan as much as we do. Please be sure to share this with your friends and family, and provide your referral id number so after they enroll with us, you can get a referral credit and they will also get a referral credit! Thank you for the feedback. Have a fantastic day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New agreement

(5 / 5)

  Kelsey, was a tremendous help.

Jose Baez from Dallas
August 1st, 2017

Glad to hear this! Thank you for this review. We will be sure to let Kelsey know she did a wonderful job helping you! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer support and perks

(5 / 5)

  Excellent customer support and perks

Chandra from Irving
July 26th, 2017

Thank you Chandra! We appreciate your feedback! Customer feedback is very important to us, so we are happy to hear of your experience! Have a great day! -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience & Service!

(5 / 5)

  Customer service representatives are attentive, quick, and resolve issues and answer questions promptly and appropriately, we will continue to use Direct Energy for our electricity needs.

srand7 from Houston
July 25th, 2017

We understand how important it is to get your issue resolved quickly, and to be available to assist you with questions you have as well. We are glad to hear of this awesome experience you have had. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything! Thank you for being a loyal customer! - Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great

(5 / 5)

  everything went smooth on the sign up and renewal

Roger K from Burkburnett
July 22nd, 2017

Glad to hear the sign up and renewal process was easy for you, Roger! Thank is what we want for all of our customers! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy! Have a fantastic day! -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(5 / 5)

  Great experience

Singh from East Windsor
July 21st, 2017

Glad to hear you had a great experience. Thank you so much for leaving your feedback! Have a good day! -Cole

Direct Energy Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's better to call when you renew!

(5 / 5)

  They search and see how you are as a customer and give you the same rate as you had or better!

Adam M. from Grand Prairie
July 20th, 2017

Thank you for sharing your personal experience with us, Adam! We understand saving money is very important to our customers, so we strive to ensure we offer rates that are reasonable. We hope you have a fantastic day! Thank you, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Chat Online

(5 / 5)

  I am a new customer, I had some concerns, because I spoke to a lady with a very strong accent and couldn't understand her. I decided to view my contract online and had some questions. I decided to chat, rather than talk to somebody that I wouldn't be able to understand. I chatted with a wonderful lady by the name of Paige and she answered all my questions and concerns I had. Thank you Paige!

Sara from Laredo
July 19th, 2017

Thank you for the feedback, Sara! We are happy to had a great experience with out chat agent Paige! We will be sure we give her props. Thank you for being a Direct Energy customer! Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any concerns or questions! All the best, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I got answers for my query

(5 / 5)

  It was very easy to get the answers for all the queries over chat.

Gues from Richardson
July 14th, 2017

We are glad to hear that you had a good experience when you chatted with our chat team! We appreciate your feedback! Have an awesome day, Gues! -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

online chat

(5 / 5)

  I have phone anxiety, so I went to the online chat. My contract was up, and I wanted to see if there were any lower rates. Kelsey was so helpful, I found a lower rate, and I had no anxiety! Super easy, super helpful, and super fast!

Emma from Houston
July 14th, 2017

Hi Emma, we are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with our chat agent, Kelsey! We can understand how calling is not always the preferred option for all of our customers, so we are excited to have chat as another option for our customers to take advantage of. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need us! All the best, -Jane

Direct Energy Responds August 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Direct Energy gives customers choice, simplicity, and innovation where energy, data, and technology meet.

Direct Energy makes energy work harder for their nearly five million home and business customers across North America. They compete to earn their customers' business every day. They empower their customers with simple solutions to track, understand, and control the electricity they use. Direct Energy provides the insights needed to make smarter decisions, be more efficient, reduce energy use, and save money.

Direct Energy will continue to lead energy innovation through connected experiences that make a difference in people's lives.






Example Bill
loading...