Discount Power Logo
PUCT# :

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, 4Change Energy, Frontier Utilities and Cirro Energy

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

(1.8 / 5)

  RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF!

STAY AWAY from this company.

If there was such a thing as a negative star review I would have given Discount Power a (-10) as opposed to the one star I'm confined to here.

Oh my God, where do I even start? It's all about customer service. The attitude of the staff over the phone was ridiculous. And my negative experience with them wasn't a one-time occurence; it happened numerous times. It was so bad that I actually do remember the names of some of the notable ill-mannered service reps that I talked to (Jessica, Erica, Letti). Letti is actually not a customer service rep but works in the billing/accounting/customer-refund department. The girl should never be allowed to interact with customers.

There was a systemic glitch (admitted to and explained to me by all three mentioned above) within the company that led to an over-billing of my account. These folks wouldn't offer a simple apology for their mishap. It took four phone calls that lasted hours before they could finally come to reason with my complaints and agree to issue a refund. THEY WERE ALL SO RUDE AND DISMISSIVE. It was a horrendous experience. To make matters worse, Discount Power continued to charge me for 38 days at my old address even after they had disconnected service at that address. These ladies still wouldn't apologize for such an egregious error. I was beyond shock and dismay.

If you're looking for an electricity provider with a decent customer service, Discount Power is not the company to sign up with. The company needs help.

I wouldn't have written such a negative review if my negative experience with it's customer service reps was a one-time affair. It happened too many times and therefore took it as an obligation to have my voice heard.

Houstonian from Houston
December 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing and Account Manager Errors

(2.6 / 5)

  I signed up a 18 months power contract with Discount Power in September 2018 with auto pay in my account. I received my first bill in October and the payment due date was on Oct. 29, 2018. I received a payment confirmation e-mail on Oct. 29, 2018 from Discount Power stated that they have received my payment on that date. Today, October 31, 2018, I received a disconnection e-mail from Discount Power to state that my account was past due. I called the customer service right away and they admitted that it was a communication error by them. The representative told me they would correct this error. From now on, I will really need to pay attention to the billing. I will make sure that they will not charge extra to my account.

C.K. from Sugar Land
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible and Dishonest

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for power with Discount Power on Aug 24th and got everything switched over. Received my first bill on 09/28/2018 with a due date of 10/01/2018. We usually pay all our bills on Wednesday of each week. Wednesday was 10/03/2018 and we received a disconnect notice in the mail. We paid the bill that day, but the next bill had over 40.00 worth of late fees for paying a bill due on 10/01/2018 by 10/03/2018.

I called to ask for leniency since I did not even receive the first bill until 3 days before its due date and the gentlemen on the phone who was clearly from another country rudely stated that I could look at the bill and see that it was late after the first and if I didn't want late fees I should pay by the due date.

The next bill has a due date of 10/29/2018, just 11 days after receiving the bill. I hear they charge $250.00 for discontinuing their service, but at this point they can eat that.

Run far and fast from Discount Power. They have 0 American support by phone and their website payment method only works some times. I had to try 3 times to get a payment to go through. Each payment would fail. I got a call from the bank asking me If I was trying to make 3 payments to Discount Power for the same amount and told them no. They canceled all 3 payments. I then made the actual payment over the phone. They want to charge you an inconvenience fee.

Texans with no Power from Rowlett
October 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Energy Ogre signed us up with this company, great rate for a year, then sky rocketed. Would not even consider working with an established customer. Due date for payment constantly changed as well.

Susan from Pearland
July 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Discount Power Review

(5 / 5)

  I had this company for a year and was very satisfied with their service that I signed up for another 3 years. Great service.

Evelyn from Richmond
June 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

18-month customer--very satisfied!

(5 / 5)

  Our home is 1500 SF and it's only 2 years old. My husband and I set the thermostat at 72 in the summers and 68 in the winters. Our bills with Discount Power are the lowest in our subdivision and average about $55-$60/month. The one from this month was only $37. I'm not sure what the issue everyone is having, but our experience has been excellent with Discount Power. We enjoy our fixed rates and no additional surcharges like the other electric providers. Thank you, Discount Power!

Florence from Abilene
May 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Floating due dates and non posting of payments

(1.4 / 5)

  I am just about fed up with these people. They issued me a disconnect notice the day the bill is due which was irritating as anything because the due date was always on the 15th and that month they changed it to the 12th. But that was my first unpleasant experience with them and they did waive the late fee when I called them. Forgiven.... Then I made a payment through their portal like I have been doing since I signed up with these people almost a year ago yet "they never received it". It cleared my Bank of America checking account the evening I made the payment yet after 15 days of still fighting with them, they tell me BOA is famous for taking the money out of an account yet not paying them. Really???? I have never had that problem anywhere else and I have been with BOA since 1988. Had to make the same payment again using a credit card not issued from BOA. Double my payment and they said unless BOA sends the money (again) they won't post the 2nd payment on my account. Can't wait for my contract to be O.V.E.R!!!!

Done in La Porte from La Porte
May 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible biling system

(1 / 5)

  Bill due 04/09/2018. Online bill pay system failed to function. 04/11/2018 DNP issued and $22 fee on a $45 electric bill. Rip off company. Stay away.

Michael from Deer Park
April 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.

(4.2 / 5)

  Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.

No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.

When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.

I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive. from Round Rock
March 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(1.8 / 5)

  Just paid a $443.17 bill for heating a 1500 square home in Galveston. This was for January. Yes, the house is well insulated. Do NOT try to work with this company. You can't even pay them through your bank when paying other bills.

Clara from Galveston
February 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will make you fool

(1 / 5)

  Dont go with them, they will make you fool. My average billing is monthly $60 - 80, but last month i got $ 290 for 2 Bedroom Apartment. I asked them why its so high, then they told me its may be very cold weather in Houston. I asked 2 months ago Houston was very warm, then my bill should be $500 and I set auto temperature 67, so it can come 2100 Kwh usages. If you have 4-5 bedroom house, then you have to ready to pay $1000 every month.

They are not ready to help and its a fake company.

Anshuman Khandelwal from Houston
January 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Future former customer!

(1.8 / 5)

  Simply, their web site log in is horrible!

Jan from Houston
November 30th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.

Customer from Frisco
October 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(5 / 5)

  I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.)
Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.

Satisfied Customer from Houston
September 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of outrageous late fees

(2 / 5)

  If you are late with your payment by even a day, you will get hit with two charges: late fee and disconnect fee amounting to over $50. Even if it's their fault when the website malfunctions and bills are not being emailed to customers as expected. So if you are one of those people who is always on top of your bills or if you are willing to let them take money out of your account automatically, you will be ok. Otherwise, look elsewhere or risk loosing all those savings you are hoping to get by signing up with this company.

A from Houston
August 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Billing and Account Management

(2 / 5)

  I have excellent credit scores (in the 800s) and always pay my bills before they are due. I received a Delinquency and Disconnect Notice from Discount Power on 5 days AFTER they deposited my check. I have back records that prove they received my check and and deposited it before the payment was due, yet I still received a delinquency / discount notice. When I called customer service that could not confirm receipt of the check...all they could tell me was that I have until the 5th of the next month before being disconnected and to check back before that time to see if they can verify my check has been deposited. This is nuts!

Highly Dissapointed from Houston
August 23rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip-off at end of contract

(2 / 5)

  Everything was Ok until my contract ended. I was on autopay and did not notice that I had not received the paper billing in June or July. This was convenient for them right after my contract had ended and my rate went up so I would not catch it until it hit my credit card billing. True I should have been on top of it and I will set a calendar reminder when I sign up for the new replacement provider. My previous provider was nice enough to send a reminder and suggest one of their current plans as a replacement just before the contract ended. In addition to this they added a $5 manual billing charge for each of the 2 houses each month even though they had my card and automatically charged it.

Dan L. from League City
August 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait & Switch

(1 / 5)

  Discount Power has sketchy billing. Says one thing, and does another through add ons expenses.
The kicker was an Undisclosed Termination Fee.
Done.
Don't use this Electrical provide.

Burned from Houston
August 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2nd Renewal-Great $$

(5 / 5)

  Renewed with Discount for the 2nd time. The rates were the lowest when I signed up 2 years ago and they've offered me virtually the same renewal rate 2 years in a row. Both renewal offers have been significantly less than what is on the current market for other providers. Sign up was simple and I have never had a need to contact Discount for anything in the 2 plus years of service. Would highly recommend Discount Power.

TC from Houston
May 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues

(1 / 5)

  My mail goes through an annex which causes a few extra days for me to get my mail. The company can not mail out my bill a few days earlier and always charges late fees and fees for sending me a late bill. I have resorted to sending in random payments of $50 so there is some sort of payment until I get the bill in the mail.

Disgusted from Houston
May 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions