Cramming
DISCOUNT POWER/US RETAILERS LLC started sending me bills for service in the middle of a two year contract with Stream Energy. The Kw rate was grossly inflated. Complaint filed with PUC - buyer beware.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Papa Cap from Mansfield, TX on October 31st, 2020
Worst Electric Company
This is worst electric company on the planet! I was a customer of Windrose Energy (AMAZING company!) and then they switched me over to Discount Power. This is a joke. They havent billed me correctly since the switch. Windrose even evaluates my bills, confirmed the error, and spoke to them to resolve the issue. A month goes by where I got no notification of a bill due, so I thought they credited me the $135 for their error. Then all of a sudden, I get an email about a pst due amount and a notice about a scheduled disconnection! When I called them, the customer service reps I spoke to were completely u helpful and blamed me for their error! I finally spoke to one woman who understood my frustration and did everything in her power to help me. Besides her, the entire company is a f-ing joke! Go to Windrose Energy! You will not be disappointed!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Danielle L from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2020
Overbilling
My account was transferred to Discount Power from another company. Received my first bills and found out they were charging me CenterPoint delivery charges which were included in my base rate with the other company. Contacted Discount Power and was told they would look into it and correct the issue and credit my account. Received my next bill with delivery charges again and not credit. Contacted them again and they will fix the problem and credit my account. Call to pay the last bill but did not want to pay the pass thru part of the bill and was told a disconnect order could be put in place ask to speak to her supervisor who put a hold on the overcharge until it could be corrected. After numerous calls and being told they were working on it I finally cancelled my service. Three working days later I received my credits to my account. The next day I received my final bill with early cancellation fee. When ask to talk to my account manager's supervisor was told twice he was out.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tommy White from 776584 on October 12th, 2020
Was charged for 7 months after cancellation
I e-mailed them to cancel, they've charged me 7 months and never once tried to get in contact even after someone rented out the apartment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't Do Business Here from Humble, TX on October 7th, 2020
Didn't transfer service to my new address when I moved
1. My account with Windrose Energy was converted to Discount Power without advanced notice from either company. I found out about the transition before moving, when I called Windrose Energy to change my service to the new address. I was told to contact Discount Power.
2. I contacted Discount Power, and was assured that the transition from Windrose Energy to Discount Power would be seamless, and my service would transfer to my new address.
3. Discount Power did not terminate service at my old address on the planned date, and billed me for 8 extra days after the move-out date, until the account was force-canceled due to a new tenant beginning service at that address. This was the first email I ever received from Discount Power - I was never given a chance to create an online account.
4. Discount Power never initiated service at my new address, so my apartment complex is charging me a "vacant service fee" and 12 days of electricity at a very bad rate, until I became aware of Discount Power's failure and initiated service with another provider.
5. Discount Power was unhelpful via chat and phone when I tried to get the issue resolved. I was told if I wanted service at the new address, I would need to re-apply as a new customer, get a new credit check, etc., instead of the seamless transition I was promised.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Round Rock, TX on August 16th, 2020
Horrible customer service
Spoke to a customer service supervisor named Ismail today. Ismail raises his voice and questions me back on the energy charge on my EFL. I was with Windrose Energy and they sold my plan over to DiscountPower and it was immediately night and day between the two companies. I thought a with a title of Customer Service Supervisor, they are supposed to know how to explain to the consumer in a calm and clear manner, so that the consumer can understand the bill. Well, not today. Today was the first time I called DiscountPower and it will be the last. I don't intend to call again unless I have to. I will definitely switch to a new utility provider when this contract is over. DiscountPower deserves a 'F' in the customer service rating. Hopefully this review helps some other people out there.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NV from Sugar Land, TX on August 12th, 2020
I have been taken advantage of. Overcharged
I have been overcharged for energy services. I have been a long-term customer & have been charged more than double market rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary G from Tomball, TX on August 6th, 2020
4 days and no electricity
I had submitted my id when i asked to simply switch over my services to my new adress they said it will take up to 48 hours, it has been 4 days already and still nothing and when i call they jus keep saying oh give it a little more time it should come on, still nothing. Was told to wait until 4 if not call back and they close at 5 do ive got 1 hour to get this figured out if not itll be another day without power, but when they need a payment they are all up on you trying to collect but when it comes to services not working theyre so quick to get you off the phone by saying oh just wait it out
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Martin Solorio from Houston, TX on December 9th, 2019
Be Aware
I had a great plan for 15 months. When it came to renew, no such plans. They gave a saver 9 plan and mumbo jumbo it so I didn't catch that there was utility charge. All those hidden charges. Now they have messed me around and will make up all the money from the original plan. All the flowery words. Be Careful you will get screwed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancy from Pearland, TX on November 22nd, 2019
Terrible Company
Do not pay this company through online banking. They will hold your payment until after the due date and charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee along with late fees. I have had to call the last 4 months because of this. They are now refusing to refund me my money because in their words, "they cannot control how long it takes their accounting department to post payments unless the account is set up with auto draft." I have spent over 4 hours on the phone dealing with this issue and now they are refusing to refund over $50 in late fees even though I have proof of when the checks where mailed, received, and deposited by them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from View, TX on November 4th, 2019







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Discount Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
13%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
18%
 
1 Stars
56%
 
2.0 / 5
Overall
2.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.1 / 5
Order Experience
2.0 / 5
Customer Service
1.9 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.6 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Discount Power

Discount Power is an electricity provider that began operation in Texas in 2008. They service both residential as well as commercial customers in the deregulated areas of Texas.


All Discount Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 months
11.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$119 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month