Electric Plans & Rates


All Plans
Fixed Rate
12 Months
24 Months
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
12.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$125 est. avg. bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
12.1¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • The best review categories for Discount Power are their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.1 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Love my light company!

    Beyond Happy
    My light bill has literally gone down 60% cheaper with Discount Power! Excellent customer service and always helpful! 5 STARS!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Love My Light Company! from Hitchcock, TX on August 11th, 2021


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Beyond Happy
    My light bill has literally gone down 60% cheaper with Discount Power! Excellent customer service and always helpful! 5 STARS!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Love My Light Company! from Hitchcock, TX on August 11th, 2021
    After 12 months of service. Zero issues. Great prices all year.
    I used GeekYourRate. com and found Discount Power as one of my top choices. Part way through the year they it sounded like they were bought out by Pennywise Power. After about 5 months of this it went back to Discount Power. Then entire 12 months I received great rates. Cheapest year I spent on electric in over 5 years. 100% renewable wind energy. I have no complaints and would do it again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    1 Year Later... Here's My Review from Lake Dallas, TX on May 17th, 2019
    Glad we couple help! We're if you need us.
    — Discount Power
    Discount Power Review
    I had this company for a year and was very satisfied with their service that I signed up for another 3 years. Great service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Evelyn from Richmond, TX on June 5th, 2018
    18-month customer--very satisfied!
    Our home is 1500 SF and it's only 2 years old. My husband and I set the thermostat at 72 in the summers and 68 in the winters. Our bills with Discount Power are the lowest in our subdivision and average about $55-$60/month. The one from this month was only $37. I'm not sure what the issue everyone is having, but our experience has been excellent with Discount Power. We enjoy our fixed rates and no additional surcharges like the other electric providers. Thank you, Discount Power!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Florence from Abilene, TX on May 15th, 2018
    Great Company
    I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.)
    Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Satisfied Customer from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2017
    2nd Renewal-Great $$
    Renewed with Discount for the 2nd time. The rates were the lowest when I signed up 2 years ago and they've offered me virtually the same renewal rate 2 years in a row. Both renewal offers have been significantly less than what is on the current market for other providers. Sign up was simple and I have never had a need to contact Discount for anything in the 2 plus years of service. Would highly recommend Discount Power.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TC from Houston, TX on May 22nd, 2017
    It seems to me that satisfied customers are underrepresented here
    I've been with Discount Power for over a year and have had an excellent experience. Great low price, great customer service, no extra fees on my bill, bank account debited for the correct amount on the 20th of every month like clockwork. Absolutely no complaints.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Peter from Houston on June 3rd, 2016
    Discount Power is GREAT !!
    I signed up for the 2 year Discount Power saver - no gimmicks option with a $ .0681 per kwh fixed rate charge. which included Oncor delivery charges, in January 2016. I cancelled a contract with Reliant that was averaging 12 cents per kwh overall including Oncor and paid a cancellation fee to boot. I also signed up for direct billing to my credit card each month to avoid paying more and to eliminate any/all contingencies such as late payments etc. To date thru 5/1/16 I have saved over $230 bucks over what I would have paid Reliant and I'm under contract for 2 full years so I expect to save close to $2000 or more thru the contract period especially when it gets hot and usage is 1500kwhs or more. I CHALLENGE anyone to find a cheaper fixed rate anywhere. Do your homework thru powertochoose.org and check out the savings, BUT read the fine print. Get a FIXED no gimmicks rate that applies to any/all usage hours so you are not blindsided. . Pay your bill on time and avoid costly charges. I read all these negative reviews and they do Discount Power a disservice. My experience has been absolutely fantastic and I save , save and save.......I could not be happier. Feel free to contact me and discuss !!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Wally Dering from Bedford on May 4th, 2016
    No Problems at All - Great Rate - Perfect Service
    I just renewed with Discount Power and got $0.0794 / kwh for 24 months fixed. I have been with Discount Power for 1 year. When I originally signed up I was concerned with the negative reviews regarding customer service. I went ahead anyway, and carefully followed all of the rules for signup, including sending in their CC authorization form. I have had NO PROBLEMS since signup. Every month they email my bill well in advance of the CC auto-payment, giving me time to question any charges. NO PROBLEMS. RATES AND CHARGES AS CONTRACTED. So it looks to me like folks who can't understand or don't care to follow contract terms probably just shouldn't sign contracts - or write reviews.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    L. Carpenter from Katy on January 26th, 2016
    High Five to Discount Power!
    High five to Discount Power! No hidden service charges or fixed charges to pad your bill. The effective price you pay per kilowatt is the same regardless of your level of usage. I am paying less now per kilowatt than I have over the past eight years. 16% less than Spark. 17% less than Frontier. 15% less than Reliant. 9% less than Tri-Eagle. 13% less than Startex.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mark Wagner from Houston on September 8th, 2015



    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.
    Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.

    No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.

    When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.

    I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Good Prices For New Customers. Long Contract Terms Available. Renewal Offers Aren't Very Attractive. from Round Rock, TX on March 1st, 2018
    Good service and good price
    I have had Discount Power for one year now. Never had any problems. I saved $330 this year over my previous year with TXU.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    GW from Plano on February 24th, 2016
    Pleased with Discount Power after new ownership
    I started using Discount in May following the change of ownership in March. I've been very pleased. Initially my auto billing had a hiccup, but I found customer service to be fast and helpful.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Thomas from Round Rock on August 28th, 2014
    Improved Customer Service
    At first I was hesitant to call Discount Power due to the experience I had with them in 2011. However, after holding on the phone for an hour to speak to an Apna Energy agent, I figured I owed them a second chance. I was shocked to find that I got to speak to a representative immediately who later informed me that the management had just changed. The representative was friendly, informative, and knowledgeable about all the questions/concerns I had. He set up my account rapidly, and I was off the phone within 20 minutes!

    I am big about customer service and that is something Discount Power has tremendously improved on in the past two years. I would definitely recommend them now after their management change !!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mehwish Ali from Cypress on July 29th, 2013



    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Website is always dysfunctioning
    I like the electricity company it stays decent for the most part but their website is never functioning properly I'm always having problems making a payment online it never fails and it's quite irritating now
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Carleda from Fort Worth, TX on July 12th, 2021
    We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying Discount Power but we are sorry that you are experiencing issues with our website. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
    — Discount Power
    When Contract is Up - Switch Providers
    The prices are fine for new customers. When the contract is up switch providers. My renewal offer was higher than my current offer. I called to see if a better renewal offer could be given seeing as more competitive offers were available (at nearly half the rate) at other companies. I spoke with a monotone sounding agent who did not seem interested in retaining me. I signed up with a new company in a matter of a half hour and called Discount Power back to let them know I would be leaving when my contract was up. The agent did not seem concerned. Moral of the story, it is business. Know the game. When your contract is up be ready to switch to the next best "new customer" offering by another electricity provider. I am now going from around 9 cents per kWh plus the $5 per month to pay the bill fee to a flat around 5 cents per kWh (without the $5 to pay the bill fee). Nice.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Power Game from Houston on December 25th, 2016
    Works for me
    This is my 4th electricity provider. At this point, I'm just looking for the cheapest provider. All providers have lots of fine print making it not easy to comparison shop, even among different plans from the same provider. However, switching is easy. They took my order, there was no disruption in service, you have to sign up for auto bill pay in order to not get charged the extra service fee (which they tell you when you sign up.) 3 months later, no issues, just the lowest power bills I've ever experienced. Discount Power is a no frills operation. No weekly emails reporting your usage. The website is primitive. I have not had to contact customer service. But if all you care about is low cost power, this is the place.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ScottW from Houston on October 12th, 2016
    Excellent rates...poor billing management, worst customer service
    Even though they offer very attractive and competitive rates, their billing management needs a lot of improvement as well as their customer service section.
    You have to be clever and carefully check your bill every month. I had two bad experiences, the first one regarding charges not disclosed in the bill and the most recent involved my Lite-Up discount. Discount Power did not apply this discount even though I got them proof of my certification. After clarifying this issue, they got me a credit but they did not apologize for their mistakes.
    Basically they just do billing, representatives do not know their product/services, so you can't expect much from them at the time of resolving issues.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Maurice from Harlingen on July 24th, 2016
    Read before you get into it.
    Signed up for something called Prime Product didn't really read what I was getting into apparently had to user more than 1000 to get $65 and the 3.5 cent avg. what a rip off. called them was able to get another plan for 8.14 no matter what i use. Which is still saving but no what i expected
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Gabriel Munoz from Houston on February 11th, 2016
    DIDNT WANT TO TRY IT, BUT GAVE IT A TRY
    I had received several calls from this company Discount Power. Told them i was not interested in every single call. But when i spoke with one of their representatives, Joe he was a very well educated person with vast knowledge and passion in his job and showed me that what they actually wanted to do was just help me out with my light bill and reduce my bill to help me start saving money. He informed me of how the discount works and all the terms and procedures in order to get my discount applied Only thing i didn't appreciate was the noise in the background but after i got my discount applied i was a bit nervous of the following months and the electric bill. But it has been my 5th month now, and i am still paying under the duquesne rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    CHRISTOPHER from Aliquippa on November 19th, 2014



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    When are lights coming on
    I paid a deposit 3 days ago and still dont have lights their employees are writing the reviews do not use this company didnt want to give them not 1 star but 0 only way I could leave a review
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anice from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2002 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Unauthorized Payments
    My bill was not due until the 7th of June and I am not enrolled in automatic payments. However, that didnt stop this company from taking money from my account without my authorization. Of course they did it on a holiday so there is no one for me to speak to about correcting this until the next day. Prices are competitive, but not when they decide to encroach on my finances.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James M. from Mesquite, TX on May 31st, 2021
    We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1272 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
    — Discount Power
    Horrible customer service
    Spoke to a customer service supervisor named Ismail today. Ismail raises his voice and questions me back on the energy charge on my EFL. I was with Windrose Energy and they sold my plan over to DiscountPower and it was immediately night and day between the two companies. I thought a with a title of Customer Service Supervisor, they are supposed to know how to explain to the consumer in a calm and clear manner, so that the consumer can understand the bill. Well, not today. Today was the first time I called DiscountPower and it will be the last. I don't intend to call again unless I have to. I will definitely switch to a new utility provider when this contract is over. DiscountPower deserves a 'F' in the customer service rating. Hopefully this review helps some other people out there.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    NV from Sugar Land, TX on August 12th, 2020
    We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    4 days and no electricity
    I had submitted my id when i asked to simply switch over my services to my new adress they said it will take up to 48 hours, it has been 4 days already and still nothing and when i call they jus keep saying oh give it a little more time it should come on, still nothing. Was told to wait until 4 if not call back and they close at 5 do ive got 1 hour to get this figured out if not itll be another day without power, but when they need a payment they are all up on you trying to collect but when it comes to services not working theyre so quick to get you off the phone by saying oh just wait it out
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Martin Solorio from Crosby, TX on December 9th, 2019
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1254 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Shady
    When shifting from Discount to PennyWise and back to Discount, rate changed even though was pledged it would stay the same. When I contacted Customer Service was told they had lost those records. Lying or sloppy, either was it's unprofessional. Finally get it rectified after about three months. Finished out the term of contract but did not renew.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marc from Krum, TX on August 1st, 2019
    Hi Marc,
    We appreciate you providing this feedback. We apologize for your negative experience. We will be happy to look in to your account. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account number and a good phone number to reach you at and we will be happy to further assist you.
    — Discount Power
    Poor Customer Care: Shut off power without notice or communication
    Discount power cut off my power. I could not figure out why since I schedule my payments on auto pay. I checked my emails. The most recent email was from 2 days before telling me my bill was due May 2nd (2 weeks away). There was no indication that my account was in peril. I went online to my account and there was no autopay set up. Okay, no problem, my bill wasn't due for 2 weeks. I called them and never talked to a real person but the automated system confirmed that my bill was due May 2nd. And then they mentioned that I had an overdue amount of $120. I never received any communication concerning an overdue amount. I paid the amount through the automated system. Interesting though is that they only charged me for the amount of $280 due on May 2nd. It was a mystery I didn't care to solve. It was poor customer care and poor customer service. I promptly hung up the phone and switched to a provider I've used in the past. Their rates may be a few cents higher but their customer service is rock solid.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Texas_woman70 from Dallas, TX on April 24th, 2019
    Billing and Account Manager Errors
    I signed up a 18 months power contract with Discount Power in September 2018 with auto pay in my account. I received my first bill in October and the payment due date was on Oct. 29, 2018. I received a payment confirmation e-mail on Oct. 29, 2018 from Discount Power stated that they have received my payment on that date. Today, October 31, 2018, I received a disconnection e-mail from Discount Power to state that my account was past due. I called the customer service right away and they admitted that it was a communication error by them. The representative told me they would correct this error. From now on, I will really need to pay attention to the billing. I will make sure that they will not charge extra to my account.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    C.K. from Sugar Land, TX on October 31st, 2018
    Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service
    Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Customer from Frisco, TX on October 6th, 2017
    Beware of outrageous late fees
    If you are late with your payment by even a day, you will get hit with two charges: late fee and disconnect fee amounting to over $50. Even if it's their fault when the website malfunctions and bills are not being emailed to customers as expected. So if you are one of those people who is always on top of your bills or if you are willing to let them take money out of your account automatically, you will be ok. Otherwise, look elsewhere or risk loosing all those savings you are hoping to get by signing up with this company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    A from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
    Terrible Billing and Account Management
    I have excellent credit scores (in the 800s) and always pay my bills before they are due. I received a Delinquency and Disconnect Notice from Discount Power on 5 days AFTER they deposited my check. I have back records that prove they received my check and and deposited it before the payment was due, yet I still received a delinquency / discount notice. When I called customer service that could not confirm receipt of the check...all they could tell me was that I have until the 5th of the next month before being disconnected and to check back before that time to see if they can verify my check has been deposited. This is nuts!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Highly Dissapointed from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2017


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    55 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Twrrible onlone features, not worth the lower price!
    Website functionality is bottom tier, service support decent but you cannot have this quality of service online simply unacceptable. Autopay is broken, $30 charge if any payment method fails online, online usage history(day to day) non existent. Avoid imo.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sam from Houston, TX on August 19th, 2021
    We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power.
    — Discount Power
    Robbers changing plans without notice. Online billing link never works
    My previous company sold customers to Discount power in 2020. The letter stated that the contract will not change from the previous provider. However, then changed my plan into monthly plan starting from March 2020. I contacted with customer service to complain, however, even the manager couldn't care less about the contract and did not resolve billing problem. The claimed that they sent me reminder about the change, however, they have never done so. I also told them that my contract change date is July not March.
    Besides, monthly ebill they send does not work. I told them when we click on bill, it shows e-captcha, which changes every time you type letters, however does not let you get in your bill page. Manager could not care less about billing issue either.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Leaving Customer from Houston, TX on July 22nd, 2021
    We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1274 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
    — Discount Power
    Took my deposit and still dont have lights
    This company has given me the run around for 3 days and I still dont have lights must have their employees to write the reviews because the only way to write this was to give a star they dont deserve
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brooks from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021
    We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brooks. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2001 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Neglect Loyal Customers
    We are with Discount Power and really regretting it. We have been without power since 2:30 Sunday morning February 14th. It is now Tuesday the 16th at 5pm and still no power. We have not heard a word from Discount Power and have no idea when or if our power will return. They are obviously not fighting for their Customers with ERCOT because Discount Power Customers are getting the brunt of the curtailments. Still zero communication. What a terrible way to treat loyal Customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brad Orr from Texas City, TX on February 16th, 2021
    We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brad. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1267 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Terrible experience
    I used Discount Power as electric provider, but because of high bills I switched to another. After I disconnected the service my credit card was charged for final bill $37.89 from unknown business, which is U.S. Retailers LLC. Unauthorized charges has been rejected and fined $25 for wrong transation.
    Even after I filed complain to BBB about unauthorized charges, the U.S. Retailers LLC charged my credit card 3 more times. My bank charged them $25 for each unauthorized charge, which is total $100. The Discount Power responded 'satisfactorily closed', but filed case to collection agency after that.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anonymous from Round Rock, TX on January 23rd, 2021
    We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1262 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
    — Discount Power
    Awful systems, awful transfer, awful experience
    My account with Discount Power was short, one month. My account was 'sold' to them just as my contract with another provider was ending.
    Conveniently, neither Discount Power nor the other provider found it important to tell me this. Once I'm up and running with my new provider, I received a letter from Discount Power that tells me I owe them for DOUBLE what I normally pay a month in electricity usage. Remember, I don't know who Discount Power is, I never signed on with them, or know they 'owned' my account.
    The Customer Service reps could care less about the fact that 1) I don't know who you are and I've never signed any agreement with you, 2) why my bill is DOUBLE what it historically is for that month.
    I argued that during the transfer of accounts something must have happened for my usage to be almost exactly double what it historically is. Discount Power's suggestion? Send a tech to see if my meter is ok. My meter is fine, oddly enough my new provider and the prior provider had no issues with it, only (you guessed it), Discount Power.
    The cherry on top of all this is that they never sent me a final bill for this one month of service (which I would have argued anyway), but sent my bill to a collection agency.
    Truly, an awful company to do business with. Stay away.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Customer In Spring from on January 13th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1258 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Cramming
    DISCOUNT POWER/US RETAILERS LLC started sending me bills for service in the middle of a two year contract with Stream Energy. The Kw rate was grossly inflated. Complaint filed with PUC - buyer beware.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Papa Cap from Mansfield, TX on October 31st, 2020
    We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Worst Electric Company
    This is worst electric company on the planet! I was a customer of Windrose Energy (AMAZING company!) and then they switched me over to Discount Power. This is a joke. They havent billed me correctly since the switch. Windrose even evaluates my bills, confirmed the error, and spoke to them to resolve the issue. A month goes by where I got no notification of a bill due, so I thought they credited me the $135 for their error. Then all of a sudden, I get an email about a pst due amount and a notice about a scheduled disconnection! When I called them, the customer service reps I spoke to were completely u helpful and blamed me for their error! I finally spoke to one woman who understood my frustration and did everything in her power to help me. Besides her, the entire company is a f-ing joke! Go to Windrose Energy! You will not be disappointed!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Danielle L from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2020
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1245 and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Overbilling
    My account was transferred to Discount Power from another company. Received my first bills and found out they were charging me CenterPoint delivery charges which were included in my base rate with the other company. Contacted Discount Power and was told they would look into it and correct the issue and credit my account. Received my next bill with delivery charges again and not credit. Contacted them again and they will fix the problem and credit my account. Call to pay the last bill but did not want to pay the pass thru part of the bill and was told a disconnect order could be put in place ask to speak to her supervisor who put a hold on the overcharge until it could be corrected. After numerous calls and being told they were working on it I finally cancelled my service. Three working days later I received my credits to my account. The next day I received my final bill with early cancellation fee. When ask to talk to my account manager's supervisor was told twice he was out.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tommy White from 776584 on October 12th, 2020
    We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.
    — Discount Power
    Was charged for 7 months after cancellation
    I e-mailed them to cancel, they've charged me 7 months and never once tried to get in contact even after someone rented out the apartment
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Don't Do Business Here from Houston, TX on October 7th, 2020
    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with Discount Power.
    — Discount Power


    Electric Plans & Rates


    All Plans
    Fixed Rate
    12 Months
    24 Months
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!