We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power and Spark Energy

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

(1.8 / 5)

  RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF!

STAY AWAY from this company.

If there was such a thing as a negative star review I would have given Discount Power a (-10) as opposed to the one star I'm confined to here.

Oh my God, where do I even start? It's all about customer service. The attitude of the staff over the phone was ridiculous. And my negative experience with them wasn't a one-time occurence; it happened numerous times. It was so bad that I actually do remember the names of some of the notable ill-mannered service reps that I talked to (Jessica, Erica, Letti). Letti is actually not a customer service rep but works in the billing/accounting/customer-refund department. The girl should never be allowed to interact with customers.

There was a systemic glitch (admitted to and explained to me by all three mentioned above) within the company that led to an over-billing of my account. These folks wouldn't offer a simple apology for their mishap. It took four phone calls that lasted hours before they could finally come to reason with my complaints and agree to issue a refund. THEY WERE ALL SO RUDE AND DISMISSIVE. It was a horrendous experience. To make matters worse, Discount Power continued to charge me for 38 days at my old address even after they had disconnected service at that address. These ladies still wouldn't apologize for such an egregious error. I was beyond shock and dismay.

If you're looking for an electricity provider with a decent customer service, Discount Power is not the company to sign up with. The company needs help.

I wouldn't have written such a negative review if my negative experience with it's customer service reps was a one-time affair. It happened too many times and therefore took it as an obligation to have my voice heard.

Houstonian from Houston
December 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Energy Ogre signed us up with this company, great rate for a year, then sky rocketed. Would not even consider working with an established customer. Due date for payment constantly changed as well.

Susan from Pearland
July 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(1.8 / 5)

  Just paid a $443.17 bill for heating a 1500 square home in Galveston. This was for January. Yes, the house is well insulated. Do NOT try to work with this company. You can't even pay them through your bank when paying other bills.

Clara from Galveston
February 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Future former customer!

(1.8 / 5)

  Simply, their web site log in is horrible!

Jan from Houston
November 30th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Credit fraud ALERT

(1.8 / 5)

  When I signed up to transfer my service to Discount Power I was required to provide my SS#. While I hesitated, I gave it (bad move). I had not given it to any other persons in the recent 12 months. Within 8 days I was contacted about an attempt to obtain a new credit card using my SS# . I contacted Customer Service about this but was told their online application was completely secure (are any of them?). When I responded that I did not use the online application but provided all the info to one of their employees,. there was no response.

Linda from The Woodlands
May 14th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud Problems With Discount Power

(1.8 / 5)

  Discount Power's signup process has a fairly significant fatal flaw. They offer discounts for direct debit or direct charge to a credit card, but fail to take the necessary data to enable that during the signup process. As the on-line sign-up process is a secure connection, the moment the consumer selects the credit card option, the signup process should include collection of the necessary credit card data (more on this in a minute). The consumer gets an e-mail after signup indicating it contains the Electricity Facts Label and Terms of Service, which any smart consumer read before signing up, and which most consumers probably delete as so much trash mail. Camouflaged in that same e-mail is the warning that the consumer must contact Discount Power and provide bank or credit card info.

When that does not happen, not only does the direct debit discount disappear, but they fail to grant the electronic communications discount as well, and no amount of contact can get an adequate explanation or a refund for the overcharge.

Discount Power also fails to disclose whether the monthly meter reading is "actual" or "estimated" and during my transition away from them, I was shocked to receive two bills, the second one a credit for an overbilling the last month, based upon what is now obviously an estimated reading.

Lastly, Discount Power demands a photocopy of the front and back of the credit card and drivers license. This is insane and of great concern from a fraud standpoint. It is tantamount to handing them a second copy of the credit card. The customer has no idea what is done with the data, how it is maintained, and most importantly, how it is disposed of when they are done with it. With an image of both the front and back of the card, the potential for fraud is huge. In fact, some months after I provided this data to them, there were several fraudulent charges to my credit card, and presumably the individual had the CCV code from the back of the credit card for them to have been authenticated. Only one firm, Discount Power, had a copy of those codes. No site that I am aware of maintains CCV data for the obvious reason that it makes fraud so much easier.

Discount Power had some attractive rates when I signed up a year or so ago, but when that contract expired their idea of a customer loyalty program involved raising the rates, at a time when others were offering more attractive rates than the one which was expiring with Discount Power.

Discount Power still owes me money, but as the PUC doesn't care, and the State Attorney General doesn't care, there is literally nothing I can do about it.

phil unger from Houston
May 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Charge Your Credit Card Without Your Authorization

(1.6 / 5)

  It has happened twice already that I was late to pay my bill and when I login to pay the bill online, I realize that they have charged my credit card without my authorization. When I called to complain, they try to divert the conversation without denying and they don't know what to answer when you ask "who authorized this transaction". This is illegal. Beware!

FT from Houston
March 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yo

(1.6 / 5)

  Horrible. I was late on a payment.....they cut my power. Made the payment. Power back on. I am not allowed to login to my account online for 6 months....as the penalty.

I wish I was kidding, but no.

Can't wait to get away from these clowns.

Roberto from Houston
January 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

beware of autopay method which Discount power will try to cheat you for the $5 monthly fee

(1.6 / 5)

  I was told pay by my bank then I will not have any other charges. Later I learned after payment I have to signup with Discount Power auto pay method in order not to be charged with $5 monthly fee. Discount Power never told me at time of signup I have to use their signup in fact One can NOT logon to their website since you have not start with Discount Power. Sounds like a scheme just to charge the new customer $5 per month until customer questioned the %5 fee.

Shane from Fort Woth
August 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Carefully read the "fact sheet"

(1.6 / 5)

  I strongly encourage you to look at the fact sheet. You will NOT get 500kw, 1000kw, or 2000kw rate as advertise. It's a shame.

Bic V. from Houston
July 9th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Company

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not pay this company through online banking. They will hold your payment until after the due date and charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee along with late fees. I have had to call the last 4 months because of this. They are now refusing to refund me my money because in their words, "they cannot control how long it takes their accounting department to post payments unless the account is set up with auto draft." I have spent over 4 hours on the phone dealing with this issue and now they are refusing to refund over $50 in late fees even though I have proof of when the checks where mailed, received, and deposited by them.

Unhappy Customer from Abilene
November 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bought out, then bought out again, then bought out again.

(1.4 / 5)

  You want your account on autopay? Then avoid them like the plague they'll "SWITCH" companies every few months and reset all your information online, make no mistake this is done to scalp fees on those who had autopay setup

Joe from Pearland
May 17th, 2019

Hi Joe, we value your business and your experience is important to us. Could you please send us your account information at feedback@discountpowertx.com, so that we may identify the account and help better assist you?

Thank you

Discount Power Responds June 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Floating due dates and non posting of payments

(1.4 / 5)

  I am just about fed up with these people. They issued me a disconnect notice the day the bill is due which was irritating as anything because the due date was always on the 15th and that month they changed it to the 12th. But that was my first unpleasant experience with them and they did waive the late fee when I called them. Forgiven.... Then I made a payment through their portal like I have been doing since I signed up with these people almost a year ago yet "they never received it". It cleared my Bank of America checking account the evening I made the payment yet after 15 days of still fighting with them, they tell me BOA is famous for taking the money out of an account yet not paying them. Really???? I have never had that problem anywhere else and I have been with BOA since 1988. Had to make the same payment again using a credit card not issued from BOA. Double my payment and they said unless BOA sends the money (again) they won't post the 2nd payment on my account. Can't wait for my contract to be O.V.E.R!!!!

Done in La Porte from La Porte
May 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign with Discount Power!

(1.4 / 5)

  If you use less than 1000 KWH, you get hit with an under utilization charge. If you use more than 1000 KWH, you get hit with an over utilization charge. Watch your meter. When it hits 1000, turn off the pwer to your house. Discount Power cheated me out of lots of money!

Mad as Hell
September 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Advertising!

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up for Plus-12 from Discount Power, that promised Average Price 6.3 kWh (based on 2000 kWh per month). When I used 8000 kWh the first month, my average price was above 9 kWh! I called customer service and was told that only if I hit EXACTLY 2000 kWh do I get the 6.3 kWh rate!

Joe Smith from Dallas
June 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE

(1 / 5)

  I was a customer with Discount Power for 2 years before they switched over to Pennywise. During the transition, I never received a renewal notice in the mail or an email, so I got my bill for the next month that was over $250 for the winter. I immediately called to figure out why it was so high, and they informed me that I had failed to renew my contract and was switched to a variable plan. I told them I had never received a notice telling me it was time. They checked their records and told me I had received an email in JULY. This is December. Sorry, bro, must've slipped my mind that I was supposed to renew in SIX MONTHS. They then proceeded to tell me that I would be credited $85 for their mistake. WRONG. Here we are in May. We are moving, so I'm having to cancel the account. Not only have I never (and will never) receive the credit (even after calling MULTIPLE times and speaking to representatives to get the money owed), but I'm also having to pay the $75 early termination fee because I'm moving and absolutely not going to be using them again. I will never receive the $85 because I never "reached the minimum kilowatt usage for the account." This is a company that will do anything for a buck -- cares more about money than its customers. The customer is definitely not "always right," but actually "needs to be convinced they are wrong no matter what."

Jordan from Sealy
May 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible and Dishonest

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for power with Discount Power on Aug 24th and got everything switched over. Received my first bill on 09/28/2018 with a due date of 10/01/2018. We usually pay all our bills on Wednesday of each week. Wednesday was 10/03/2018 and we received a disconnect notice in the mail. We paid the bill that day, but the next bill had over 40.00 worth of late fees for paying a bill due on 10/01/2018 by 10/03/2018.

I called to ask for leniency since I did not even receive the first bill until 3 days before its due date and the gentlemen on the phone who was clearly from another country rudely stated that I could look at the bill and see that it was late after the first and if I didn't want late fees I should pay by the due date.

The next bill has a due date of 10/29/2018, just 11 days after receiving the bill. I hear they charge $250.00 for discontinuing their service, but at this point they can eat that.

Run far and fast from Discount Power. They have 0 American support by phone and their website payment method only works some times. I had to try 3 times to get a payment to go through. Each payment would fail. I got a call from the bank asking me If I was trying to make 3 payments to Discount Power for the same amount and told them no. They canceled all 3 payments. I then made the actual payment over the phone. They want to charge you an inconvenience fee.

Texans with no Power from Rowlett
October 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible biling system

(1 / 5)

  Bill due 04/09/2018. Online bill pay system failed to function. 04/11/2018 DNP issued and $22 fee on a $45 electric bill. Rip off company. Stay away.

Michael from Deer Park
April 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will make you fool

(1 / 5)

  Dont go with them, they will make you fool. My average billing is monthly $60 - 80, but last month i got $ 290 for 2 Bedroom Apartment. I asked them why its so high, then they told me its may be very cold weather in Houston. I asked 2 months ago Houston was very warm, then my bill should be $500 and I set auto temperature 67, so it can come 2100 Kwh usages. If you have 4-5 bedroom house, then you have to ready to pay $1000 every month.

They are not ready to help and its a fake company.

Anshuman Khandelwal from Houston
January 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait & Switch

(1 / 5)

  Discount Power has sketchy billing. Says one thing, and does another through add ons expenses.
The kicker was an Undisclosed Termination Fee.
Done.
Don't use this Electrical provide.

Burned from Houston
August 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues

(1 / 5)

  My mail goes through an annex which causes a few extra days for me to get my mail. The company can not mail out my bill a few days earlier and always charges late fees and fees for sending me a late bill. I have resorted to sending in random payments of $50 so there is some sort of payment until I get the bill in the mail.

Disgusted from Houston
May 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If only I'd checked reviews! Worst service ever

(1 / 5)

  I use the Power to Choose website to look for a good deal, and I mistakenly thought I'd found one. Discount Power sends out disconnection notices within two days of the due date, regardless of whether the bill has been received or not, and charges for the notice - not the actual disconnection. I was appalled to get a disconnect notice *before* I even got my very first bill!
Their customer service and billing practices are awful.

Razzie from Houston
February 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service/Non-Existant

(1 / 5)

  Untrustworthy company. Never honored advertised promotion. Most importantly, extremely poor customer service. Never returned calls. On many occasions, waited to speak to a customer service representative for hours. After such a lengthy wait, the call directed to a recorded voice mail!

AA from Cypress
December 23rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Discount power it aint

(1 / 5)

  These guys suck, unethical late charges claim my bank sent the payments late every month. C/S rep just wanted to argue about how my online bill pay works. called back and cancelled and emailed.

carl simpson from Euless
October 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just bad

(1 / 5)

  i've had discount power for less than 60 days and I am switching providers. I just received my first bill Friday, which says it's due later this month, but with a previous balance. They just shut off my power, and when I called to ask what was going on, they said I had until yesterday to pay the previous balance. They acknowledged they hadn't given me a disconnection notice, but refused to change the due date on the balance(till tomorrow!), or turn the power back on. It's the first time I've dealt with them and I can't believe the total lack of professionalism towards a brand new customer. When I asked to cancel my account, and what the balance was total I could expect to be deducted from my deposit, she 'wouldn't' tell me, and kept wanting me to get online( which I can't do, because, you know, power), and send an email to cancel, before finally going 'okay, fine, you're canceled.' Who knows what will actually happen?
This whole thing is over $50.00, by the way, not some astronomical amount. I'd pay it, but I couldn't believe they'd admit they were in the wrong and expect me to sit without power for 24 hours.

Abby from Houston
October 13th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

overcharged

(1 / 5)

  If one day late you get hit with penalty charges, late charges, payment charges and it just goes on and on and on. Called them after receiving my 3rd bill with added charges and they kept insisting the past 2 bills late charges were not paid. So untrue as all late charges were paid in full, after a long tug of war on this with them finally placed a request to remove.. Argued with them to remove late charges to current bill not due until another 2 weeks but they kept wanting to keep on my bill insisting that late charges have not been paid. Extremely very poor customer service. If you don't pay by or before due date you receive disconnection notice plus lots of late charge on 1 day after bill is due......soooooo outrageous. Never encountered this issue with past utility service TXU....definitely will reconsider my options.

naya hicks from Houston
September 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up with Discount Power

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with Discount Power. When I got, they charged me $2.00 for paper bill. I never had to pay any fees for a paper bill. When I called their customer service, no one could help. I asked for billing department, they had none. I asked for a supervisor. I talked to him and he said he would remove $2.00 paper bill fees and I would see credit. I will wait for the next bill. If it is not removed and I do not see any credit, I will report to Texas Public Utility Commission.

Joe from Frisco
February 8th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooks

(1 / 5)

  I signed up the company a few months back at a rate of .0069. That didn't last long once I see that the fees were getting way too high I called and cancel them as my supplier. Apparently customer service sucks because my request got lost and it's been over 3 months of billing cycle I received my bill for February and it was outrageous. I called again and raised HELL so hopefully this will be the last of me contacting them. I will stick to UI.

Simone from New Haven
February 1st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripoff!

(1 / 5)

  Raised rate from 0.0989 to 0.219. Don't use or get outrageous electric bill!

Marty from Danbury
January 26th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Offs

(1 / 5)

  their rates more than doubled after initial sign up period with no warning. Just received an outrageous bill. Total rip off company Do Not Use them!!!

ates more than doubled after initial period with n from West Haven
January 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions