Discount Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Discount Power are the order experience, rated at 2.9 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.6 of 5.

Discount Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

Discount Power Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
Prime Plus 15
15 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
EFL - more info
Wise Buy 24
24 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Wise Buy Complete 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info


69 Reviews for Discount Power


After 12 months of service. Zero issues. Great prices all year.

(5 / 5)

  I used GeekYourRate. com and found Discount Power as one of my top choices. Part way through the year they it sounded like they were bought out by Pennywise Power. After about 5 months of this it went back to Discount Power. Then entire 12 months I received great rates. Cheapest year I spent on electric in over 5 years. 100% renewable wind energy. I have no complaints and would do it again.

1 year later... here's my review from Lake Dallas
May 17th, 2019

Glad we couple help! We're if you need us.

Discount Power Responds June 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Discount Power Review

(5 / 5)

  I had this company for a year and was very satisfied with their service that I signed up for another 3 years. Great service.

Evelyn from Richmond
June 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

18-month customer--very satisfied!

(5 / 5)

  Our home is 1500 SF and it's only 2 years old. My husband and I set the thermostat at 72 in the summers and 68 in the winters. Our bills with Discount Power are the lowest in our subdivision and average about $55-$60/month. The one from this month was only $37. I'm not sure what the issue everyone is having, but our experience has been excellent with Discount Power. We enjoy our fixed rates and no additional surcharges like the other electric providers. Thank you, Discount Power!

Florence from Abilene
May 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(5 / 5)

  I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.)
Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.

Satisfied Customer from Houston
September 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2nd Renewal-Great $$

(5 / 5)

  Renewed with Discount for the 2nd time. The rates were the lowest when I signed up 2 years ago and they've offered me virtually the same renewal rate 2 years in a row. Both renewal offers have been significantly less than what is on the current market for other providers. Sign up was simple and I have never had a need to contact Discount for anything in the 2 plus years of service. Would highly recommend Discount Power.

TC from Houston
May 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It seems to me that satisfied customers are underrepresented here

(5 / 5)

  I've been with Discount Power for over a year and have had an excellent experience. Great low price, great customer service, no extra fees on my bill, bank account debited for the correct amount on the 20th of every month like clockwork. Absolutely no complaints.

Peter from Houston
June 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Discount Power is GREAT !!

(5 / 5)

  I signed up for the 2 year Discount Power saver - no gimmicks option with a $ .0681 per kwh fixed rate charge. which included Oncor delivery charges, in January 2016. I cancelled a contract with Reliant that was averaging 12 cents per kwh overall including Oncor and paid a cancellation fee to boot. I also signed up for direct billing to my credit card each month to avoid paying more and to eliminate any/all contingencies such as late payments etc. To date thru 5/1/16 I have saved over $230 bucks over what I would have paid Reliant and I'm under contract for 2 full years so I expect to save close to $2000 or more thru the contract period especially when it gets hot and usage is 1500kwhs or more. I CHALLENGE anyone to find a cheaper fixed rate anywhere. Do your homework thru powertochoose.org and check out the savings, BUT read the fine print. Get a FIXED no gimmicks rate that applies to any/all usage hours so you are not blindsided. . Pay your bill on time and avoid costly charges. I read all these negative reviews and they do Discount Power a disservice. My experience has been absolutely fantastic and I save , save and save.......I could not be happier. Feel free to contact me and discuss !!

Wally Dering from Bedford
May 4th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems at All - Great Rate - Perfect Service

(5 / 5)

  I just renewed with Discount Power and got $0.0794 / kwh for 24 months fixed. I have been with Discount Power for 1 year. When I originally signed up I was concerned with the negative reviews regarding customer service. I went ahead anyway, and carefully followed all of the rules for signup, including sending in their CC authorization form. I have had NO PROBLEMS since signup. Every month they email my bill well in advance of the CC auto-payment, giving me time to question any charges. NO PROBLEMS. RATES AND CHARGES AS CONTRACTED. So it looks to me like folks who can't understand or don't care to follow contract terms probably just shouldn't sign contracts - or write reviews.

L. Carpenter from Katy
January 26th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High Five to Discount Power!

(5 / 5)

  High five to Discount Power! No hidden service charges or fixed charges to pad your bill. The effective price you pay per kilowatt is the same regardless of your level of usage. I am paying less now per kilowatt than I have over the past eight years. 16% less than Spark. 17% less than Frontier. 15% less than Reliant. 9% less than Tri-Eagle. 13% less than Startex.

Mark Wagner from Houston
September 8th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Improved Customer Service

(4.8 / 5)

  At first I was hesitant to call Discount Power due to the experience I had with them in 2011. However, after holding on the phone for an hour to speak to an Apna Energy agent, I figured I owed them a second chance. I was shocked to find that I got to speak to a representative immediately who later informed me that the management had just changed. The representative was friendly, informative, and knowledgeable about all the questions/concerns I had. He set up my account rapidly, and I was off the phone within 20 minutes!

I am big about customer service and that is something Discount Power has tremendously improved on in the past two years. I would definitely recommend them now after their management change !!!

Mehwish Ali from Cypress
July 29th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service and good price

(4.6 / 5)

  I have had Discount Power for one year now. Never had any problems. I saved $330 this year over my previous year with TXU.

GW from Plano
February 24th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased with Discount Power after new ownership

(4.6 / 5)

  I started using Discount in May following the change of ownership in March. I've been very pleased. Initially my auto billing had a hiccup, but I found customer service to be fast and helpful.

Thomas from Round Rock
August 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.

(4.2 / 5)

  Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.

No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.

When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.

I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive. from Round Rock
March 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

works for me

(3.8 / 5)

  This is my 4th electricity provider. At this point, I'm just looking for the cheapest provider. All providers have lots of fine print making it not easy to comparison shop, even among different plans from the same provider. However, switching is easy. They took my order, there was no disruption in service, you have to sign up for auto bill pay in order to not get charged the extra service fee (which they tell you when you sign up.) 3 months later, no issues, just the lowest power bills I've ever experienced. Discount Power is a no frills operation. No weekly emails reporting your usage. The website is primitive. I have not had to contact customer service. But if all you care about is low cost power, this is the place.

ScottW from Houston
October 12th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When Contract is Up - Switch Providers

(3.6 / 5)

  The prices are fine for new customers. When the contract is up switch providers. My renewal offer was higher than my current offer. I called to see if a better renewal offer could be given seeing as more competitive offers were available (at nearly half the rate) at other companies. I spoke with a monotone sounding agent who did not seem interested in retaining me. I signed up with a new company in a matter of a half hour and called Discount Power back to let them know I would be leaving when my contract was up. The agent did not seem concerned. Moral of the story, it is business. Know the game. When your contract is up be ready to switch to the next best "new customer" offering by another electricity provider. I am now going from around 9 cents per kWh plus the $5 per month to pay the bill fee to a flat around 5 cents per kWh (without the $5 to pay the bill fee). Nice.

Power Game from Houston
December 25th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Read before you get into it.

(3.6 / 5)

  Signed up for something called Prime Product didn't really read what I was getting into apparently had to user more than 1000 to get $65 and the 3.5 cent avg. what a rip off. called them was able to get another plan for 8.14 no matter what i use. Which is still saving but no what i expected

Gabriel Munoz from Houston
February 11th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DIDNT WANT TO TRY IT, BUT GAVE IT A TRY

(3.2 / 5)

  I had received several calls from this company Discount Power. Told them i was not interested in every single call. But when i spoke with one of their representatives, Joe he was a very well educated person with vast knowledge and passion in his job and showed me that what they actually wanted to do was just help me out with my light bill and reduce my bill to help me start saving money. He informed me of how the discount works and all the terms and procedures in order to get my discount applied Only thing i didn't appreciate was the noise in the background but after i got my discount applied i was a bit nervous of the following months and the electric bill. But it has been my 5th month now, and i am still paying under the duquesne rate.

CHRISTOPHER from ALIQUIPPA
November 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent rates...poor billing management, worst customer service

(3 / 5)

  Even though they offer very attractive and competitive rates, their billing management needs a lot of improvement as well as their customer service section.
You have to be clever and carefully check your bill every month. I had two bad experiences, the first one regarding charges not disclosed in the bill and the most recent involved my Lite-Up discount. Discount Power did not apply this discount even though I got them proof of my certification. After clarifying this issue, they got me a credit but they did not apologize for their mistakes.
Basically they just do billing, representatives do not know their product/services, so you can't expect much from them at the time of resolving issues.

Maurice from Harlingen
July 24th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be very careful!!!

(2.8 / 5)

  My plan rates are cheap and ordering it was a snap. But if you are so much as 3 days late in your payment they send out a disconnection notice... and charge you $20 plus tax for the privilege! After I complained on the phone, the agent agreed to waive the late fee for this one time; we'll see if this actually happens.

Jason from Houston
August 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Care: Shut off power without notice or communication

(2.6 / 5)

  Discount power cut off my power. I could not figure out why since I schedule my payments on auto pay. I checked my emails. The most recent email was from 2 days before telling me my bill was due May 2nd (2 weeks away). There was no indication that my account was in peril. I went online to my account and there was no autopay set up. Okay, no problem, my bill wasn't due for 2 weeks. I called them and never talked to a real person but the automated system confirmed that my bill was due May 2nd. And then they mentioned that I had an overdue amount of $120. I never received any communication concerning an overdue amount. I paid the amount through the automated system. Interesting though is that they only charged me for the amount of $280 due on May 2nd. It was a mystery I didn't care to solve. It was poor customer care and poor customer service. I promptly hung up the phone and switched to a provider I've used in the past. Their rates may be a few cents higher but their customer service is rock solid.

texas_woman70 from Dallas
April 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...