Discount Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Discount Power are the order experience, rated at 2.9 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.7 of 5.

Discount Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

68 Reviews for Discount Power


Billing and Account Manager Errors

(2.6 / 5)

  I signed up a 18 months power contract with Discount Power in September 2018 with auto pay in my account. I received my first bill in October and the payment due date was on Oct. 29, 2018. I received a payment confirmation e-mail on Oct. 29, 2018 from Discount Power stated that they have received my payment on that date. Today, October 31, 2018, I received a disconnection e-mail from Discount Power to state that my account was past due. I called the customer service right away and they admitted that it was a communication error by them. The representative told me they would correct this error. From now on, I will really need to pay attention to the billing. I will make sure that they will not charge extra to my account.

C.K. from Sugar Land
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Incompetent, unprofessional, poorly trained customer service phone representatives

(2.6 / 5)

  Inquiry about a billing issue resulted in my being given false information about payment authorization; CS rep refused to transfer my call to a supervisor. I had to call back twice to get a supervisor to resolve the bank authorization issue.

Dissatisfied customer from Richmond
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

shady

(2.2 / 5)

  When shifting from Discount to PennyWise and back to Discount, rate changed even though was pledged it would stay the same. When I contacted Customer Service was told they had lost those records. Lying or sloppy, either was it's unprofessional. Finally get it rectified after about three months. Finished out the term of contract but did not renew.

Marc from Krum
August 1st, 2019

Hi Marc,
We appreciate you providing this feedback. We apologize for your negative experience. We will be happy to look in to your account. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account number and a good phone number to reach you at and we will be happy to further assist you.

Discount Power Responds August 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Billing Management

(2.2 / 5)

  I have been with this provider for 8 months. At the beginning I just had a complaint on the fee they charge for not enrolling yourself in the auto-payment.
Lately, I have received an extremely confusing bill containing a series of "debits and credits" concepts, but no explanation at all. I called asking for details but they stated that they just collect the information from AEP (field operations contractor) and they do not know the exact nature of such charges/debits. It has been a very unpleasant experience dealing with Customer Care? Representatives that are not interested at all in giving a good service.

Mauricio E from Harlingen
April 28th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.

Customer from Frisco
October 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of outrageous late fees

(2 / 5)

  If you are late with your payment by even a day, you will get hit with two charges: late fee and disconnect fee amounting to over $50. Even if it's their fault when the website malfunctions and bills are not being emailed to customers as expected. So if you are one of those people who is always on top of your bills or if you are willing to let them take money out of your account automatically, you will be ok. Otherwise, look elsewhere or risk loosing all those savings you are hoping to get by signing up with this company.

A from Houston
August 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Billing and Account Management

(2 / 5)

  I have excellent credit scores (in the 800s) and always pay my bills before they are due. I received a Delinquency and Disconnect Notice from Discount Power on 5 days AFTER they deposited my check. I have back records that prove they received my check and and deposited it before the payment was due, yet I still received a delinquency / discount notice. When I called customer service that could not confirm receipt of the check...all they could tell me was that I have until the 5th of the next month before being disconnected and to check back before that time to see if they can verify my check has been deposited. This is nuts!

Highly Dissapointed from Houston
August 23rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip-off at end of contract

(2 / 5)

  Everything was Ok until my contract ended. I was on autopay and did not notice that I had not received the paper billing in June or July. This was convenient for them right after my contract had ended and my rate went up so I would not catch it until it hit my credit card billing. True I should have been on top of it and I will set a calendar reminder when I sign up for the new replacement provider. My previous provider was nice enough to send a reminder and suggest one of their current plans as a replacement just before the contract ended. In addition to this they added a $5 manual billing charge for each of the 2 houses each month even though they had my card and automatically charged it.

Dan L. from League City
August 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

(1.8 / 5)

  RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF!

STAY AWAY from this company.

If there was such a thing as a negative star review I would have given Discount Power a (-10) as opposed to the one star I'm confined to here.

Oh my God, where do I even start? It's all about customer service. The attitude of the staff over the phone was ridiculous. And my negative experience with them wasn't a one-time occurence; it happened numerous times. It was so bad that I actually do remember the names of some of the notable ill-mannered service reps that I talked to (Jessica, Erica, Letti). Letti is actually not a customer service rep but works in the billing/accounting/customer-refund department. The girl should never be allowed to interact with customers.

There was a systemic glitch (admitted to and explained to me by all three mentioned above) within the company that led to an over-billing of my account. These folks wouldn't offer a simple apology for their mishap. It took four phone calls that lasted hours before they could finally come to reason with my complaints and agree to issue a refund. THEY WERE ALL SO RUDE AND DISMISSIVE. It was a horrendous experience. To make matters worse, Discount Power continued to charge me for 38 days at my old address even after they had disconnected service at that address. These ladies still wouldn't apologize for such an egregious error. I was beyond shock and dismay.

If you're looking for an electricity provider with a decent customer service, Discount Power is not the company to sign up with. The company needs help.

I wouldn't have written such a negative review if my negative experience with it's customer service reps was a one-time affair. It happened too many times and therefore took it as an obligation to have my voice heard.

Houstonian from Houston
December 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  Energy Ogre signed us up with this company, great rate for a year, then sky rocketed. Would not even consider working with an established customer. Due date for payment constantly changed as well.

Susan from Pearland
July 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(1.8 / 5)

  Just paid a $443.17 bill for heating a 1500 square home in Galveston. This was for January. Yes, the house is well insulated. Do NOT try to work with this company. You can't even pay them through your bank when paying other bills.

Clara from Galveston
February 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Future former customer!

(1.8 / 5)

  Simply, their web site log in is horrible!

Jan from Houston
November 30th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Credit fraud ALERT

(1.8 / 5)

  When I signed up to transfer my service to Discount Power I was required to provide my SS#. While I hesitated, I gave it (bad move). I had not given it to any other persons in the recent 12 months. Within 8 days I was contacted about an attempt to obtain a new credit card using my SS# . I contacted Customer Service about this but was told their online application was completely secure (are any of them?). When I responded that I did not use the online application but provided all the info to one of their employees,. there was no response.

Linda from The Woodlands
May 14th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud Problems With Discount Power

(1.8 / 5)

  Discount Power's signup process has a fairly significant fatal flaw. They offer discounts for direct debit or direct charge to a credit card, but fail to take the necessary data to enable that during the signup process. As the on-line sign-up process is a secure connection, the moment the consumer selects the credit card option, the signup process should include collection of the necessary credit card data (more on this in a minute). The consumer gets an e-mail after signup indicating it contains the Electricity Facts Label and Terms of Service, which any smart consumer read before signing up, and which most consumers probably delete as so much trash mail. Camouflaged in that same e-mail is the warning that the consumer must contact Discount Power and provide bank or credit card info.

When that does not happen, not only does the direct debit discount disappear, but they fail to grant the electronic communications discount as well, and no amount of contact can get an adequate explanation or a refund for the overcharge.

Discount Power also fails to disclose whether the monthly meter reading is "actual" or "estimated" and during my transition away from them, I was shocked to receive two bills, the second one a credit for an overbilling the last month, based upon what is now obviously an estimated reading.

Lastly, Discount Power demands a photocopy of the front and back of the credit card and drivers license. This is insane and of great concern from a fraud standpoint. It is tantamount to handing them a second copy of the credit card. The customer has no idea what is done with the data, how it is maintained, and most importantly, how it is disposed of when they are done with it. With an image of both the front and back of the card, the potential for fraud is huge. In fact, some months after I provided this data to them, there were several fraudulent charges to my credit card, and presumably the individual had the CCV code from the back of the credit card for them to have been authenticated. Only one firm, Discount Power, had a copy of those codes. No site that I am aware of maintains CCV data for the obvious reason that it makes fraud so much easier.

Discount Power had some attractive rates when I signed up a year or so ago, but when that contract expired their idea of a customer loyalty program involved raising the rates, at a time when others were offering more attractive rates than the one which was expiring with Discount Power.

Discount Power still owes me money, but as the PUC doesn't care, and the State Attorney General doesn't care, there is literally nothing I can do about it.

phil unger from Houston
May 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Charge Your Credit Card Without Your Authorization

(1.6 / 5)

  It has happened twice already that I was late to pay my bill and when I login to pay the bill online, I realize that they have charged my credit card without my authorization. When I called to complain, they try to divert the conversation without denying and they don't know what to answer when you ask "who authorized this transaction". This is illegal. Beware!

FT from Houston
March 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yo

(1.6 / 5)

  Horrible. I was late on a payment.....they cut my power. Made the payment. Power back on. I am not allowed to login to my account online for 6 months....as the penalty.

I wish I was kidding, but no.

Can't wait to get away from these clowns.

Roberto from Houston
January 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

beware of autopay method which Discount power will try to cheat you for the $5 monthly fee

(1.6 / 5)

  I was told pay by my bank then I will not have any other charges. Later I learned after payment I have to signup with Discount Power auto pay method in order not to be charged with $5 monthly fee. Discount Power never told me at time of signup I have to use their signup in fact One can NOT logon to their website since you have not start with Discount Power. Sounds like a scheme just to charge the new customer $5 per month until customer questioned the %5 fee.

Shane from Fort Woth
August 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Carefully read the "fact sheet"

(1.6 / 5)

  I strongly encourage you to look at the fact sheet. You will NOT get 500kw, 1000kw, or 2000kw rate as advertise. It's a shame.

Bic V. from Houston
July 9th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bought out, then bought out again, then bought out again.

(1.4 / 5)

  You want your account on autopay? Then avoid them like the plague they'll "SWITCH" companies every few months and reset all your information online, make no mistake this is done to scalp fees on those who had autopay setup

Joe from Pearland
May 17th, 2019

Hi Joe, we value your business and your experience is important to us. Could you please send us your account information at feedback@discountpowertx.com, so that we may identify the account and help better assist you?

Thank you

Discount Power Responds June 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Floating due dates and non posting of payments

(1.4 / 5)

  I am just about fed up with these people. They issued me a disconnect notice the day the bill is due which was irritating as anything because the due date was always on the 15th and that month they changed it to the 12th. But that was my first unpleasant experience with them and they did waive the late fee when I called them. Forgiven.... Then I made a payment through their portal like I have been doing since I signed up with these people almost a year ago yet "they never received it". It cleared my Bank of America checking account the evening I made the payment yet after 15 days of still fighting with them, they tell me BOA is famous for taking the money out of an account yet not paying them. Really???? I have never had that problem anywhere else and I have been with BOA since 1988. Had to make the same payment again using a credit card not issued from BOA. Double my payment and they said unless BOA sends the money (again) they won't post the 2nd payment on my account. Can't wait for my contract to be O.V.E.R!!!!

Done in La Porte from La Porte
May 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...