Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Express Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
3%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
6%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
77%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Nick

Actually Not That Bad
To preface, all electric companies you'll work with in Houston are terrible. They will squeeze as much money out of you as possible and use very tricky tactics to run up your bill and bait and switch you into a bad deal. That said, Express was actually not that bad compared to others. They had very transparent pricing, they did warn me when my plan was up for renewal, and worked with me to get the best deal at renewal time. After moving out of state, the termination procedure was also uneventful, without complications or hidden fees. The only rocky part was in the beginning when they charged me a full month for like four days. Per the contract, they could technically do this, but I had specifically discussed this with a representative beforehand who told me that wouldn't happen. After much complaining, they did end up prorating the bill, probably because I had recorded the conversation with that representative, so they had to honor it. But other than that, a fairly pleasant experience. Your cost will go up after the intro period, but that's typical for any electric company, so just shop around and if you find something better, Express may match it without having to switch companies and deal with another sketchy provider. Customer service people were generally quite helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nick from Houston, TX on February 1st, 2021


Our Analysis of Express Energy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Perfect for me
Simple and easy is the way to go with the upfront, clear, and awesome rates. I have payed 37 bucks for each of the past two months, the month before them was a hot July. So yeah, this Express Energy is for real, I like saving money and I never use these companies for anything other than paying my electric bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Round Rock, TX on October 10th, 2017



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Actually Not That Bad
To preface, all electric companies you'll work with in Houston are terrible. They will squeeze as much money out of you as possible and use very tricky tactics to run up your bill and bait and switch you into a bad deal. That said, Express was actually not that bad compared to others. They had very transparent pricing, they did warn me when my plan was up for renewal, and worked with me to get the best deal at renewal time. After moving out of state, the termination procedure was also uneventful, without complications or hidden fees. The only rocky part was in the beginning when they charged me a full month for like four days. Per the contract, they could technically do this, but I had specifically discussed this with a representative beforehand who told me that wouldn't happen. After much complaining, they did end up prorating the bill, probably because I had recorded the conversation with that representative, so they had to honor it. But other than that, a fairly pleasant experience. Your cost will go up after the intro period, but that's typical for any electric company, so just shop around and if you find something better, Express may match it without having to switch companies and deal with another sketchy provider. Customer service people were generally quite helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nick from Houston, TX on February 1st, 2021
Good Experience
Have been satisfied with all aspects of their plans and service. Would recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PTin BigD from Dallas, TX on July 16th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
First tier of customer support frustratingly unhelpful
Once I got to the second tier of support (the one that resides here in the USA) I was able to get the issues taken care of
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jed Blanks from Santa Fe, TX on November 14th, 2018
Poor phone support
I've been using Express Energy for nearly a year now. Only time I've had to talk to them in the past was when I set the account up, and that went flawlessly. However, I now have a question about my current bill (no bill this month and no new charges posted online). So I called...many times over the last few business days. I can't get anyone to answer the phone. M-F, 9a-6p are their advertised hours. I get into their IVR, wait on hold for about 7 1/2 minutes, and then my call is dropped. This has happened every time I've called them. I'm about to decide that, yes, they have a customer support line. They just don't staff it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Saginaw, TX on April 30th, 2018



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible
They over charged and would only allow us to pay our account through auto draft. I get paid bi-weekly and it never fell on a pay week and wouldn't allow us to change to draft date.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thiele from West, TX on May 22nd, 2020
Shorten my Deposit Check
I called and they had every excuse in the book pertaining why I didn't receive my $245 deposit and plus interest...They didn't even know what I was talking about when I questioned about plus interest for staying full 12 months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TEE from Wichita Falls, TX on November 8th, 2018



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

24 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Predatory, borderline criminal company!
Flash 12 plan only credits $100 monthly bill credit if 1,000 kwH usage is reached. When my second months bill was double the price of 1st month, I immediately cancelled. $206 Early Termination Fee assessed to my bill. What a freakin joke. Are you kidding me!? Switched to Reliant energy, same usage this month, bill less than half the price or Express. Honestly these people are equivalent to snake oil salesman from the turn of the century. Will step over your dead body in an effort to north get their shoes dirty. Electricity providers are now the modern days scum to our society. USE ANY OTHER COMPANY OTHER THAN EXPRESS ENERGY, YOU CAN THANK ME LATER!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Irvin from Dallas, TX on April 6th, 2021
Express Energy Sucks!!!
This company is a joke! Do not do business with them! They cut power randomly to conserve energy and then they turn off their customer service phone number for 24 hours to avoid having to take calls from their rightfully so upset customers. I have a $0 balance due, have had no power for 24 hours and their phone is off and the only thing you can do is pay your Bill over the phone. Keep in mind, its currently 19 degrees here too. Con artists who dont care about your family and will play with your comfort and lovely hood even with a ZERO balance or bill due! Also when half of Austin is out of power, its all Express Energy customers who lost power. Everyone else I know with a 1st party provider has their power on right now. This pathetic excuse for a company has had me in the dark for 24 hours with no one picking up their phone and in below freezing weather.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Express Energy Sucks from Round Rock, TX on February 15th, 2021
Horrible dont do it
The customer service is horrible. The male to begin with had a accent and made it hard for me to understand and having to explain myself while being ignored and him talking over me just aggravated the situation. They credited the wrong account and the customer service man insistently stated that I gave the payment wrong. How could I, its just one account I have and the account info was correct, they credited the wrong account and didnt want to reverse the transaction!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CL from Rio Bravo, TX on February 10th, 2021
Charged me a full month for 3 days
I was not allowed to change my company until the 3rd of august without paying a fee. The Billing day was up July 31st and then I was switched to my new company. My bill was over $400 because they charged me a full month for the 3 days. They also didn't send me a notice or a bill like they always do by email, they just deducted it automatically from my card. They do this because they know you will not let the false charge go through. I emailed them and they refused refund because my contract states any usage from 1-1000 kw will be charged. So I asked them if they felt OK charging a full month for 3 days of usage and they stated again about the contract, no regrets on their side. They have no problem because they have your credit card. You are also not allowed to remove your credit card from your account so they will always have access to that card until the credit card expires. I am tempted to go ahead and call my bank and have them flagged because I really feel like they are going to keep charging my card, why else would they not let you remove it after you are no longer a customer. This is one of the worst electric companies I have ever seen.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ronda Shepherd from Houston, TX on August 18th, 2020
If I could give them a zero I would!!!
Horrible customer service and billing!!! Because of a glitch in THEIR SYSTEM they ended up charging me several times but it appears in their system i wasn't charged. After getting on the phone with them for WEEKS and providing bank statements and calling the bank several times, THEY CUT OFF MY ELECTRICITY!!!!
of course since it was 100 degrees out and in the middle of a work day and I tried to get in touch with them for 2 hours I ended up switching to another provider. And now they're charging 400 dollars for a termination fee! I wouldn't have to if you didn't CUT OFF MY POWER!!! but of course since their customer service is quite inexperienced and they aren't trained so its like talking to a brick wall.

DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nadean Khedr from Katy, TX on August 13th, 2020
Beware of these guys
Pay extra attention to your bill, especially the advertised Oncor Delivery Charge that's shown.

I noticed that they increased mine to a different rate in my bill than what was originally advertised on the EFL label.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Mansfield, TX on July 7th, 2020
Hard to sign up
I tried to sign up on line, and after completing all forms and information, they made me call customer service. After 45 minutes on the phone, I thought all was good. 3 days after my service they called and said they needed my credit card information (which I already had given) to start service. Very shady.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Spring, TX on June 15th, 2020
Shady company do not use!!!
Had a flat rate itroductory plan that looks great on paper cant complain about it but they set up my billing cycle so that the plan expired 3 days after my final full month billng cycle so that they could collect a whole months payment for 3 days of service even if i had stayed with them and renew on one of their high dollar plans... and will not budge on the payment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Annoyed Former Customer from Katy, TX on May 26th, 2020
Please Dont Choose
The is low first time continues to go up. I paid $200 the next electric cut off no warning during the pandemic charged me 480 to turn back on. Lie you ask for a manager its the same person thats CS REP, crooked
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra Tinsley from Lancaster, TX on May 18th, 2020
Horribly expensive. Worth paying to get away
I was shocked at my first bill. The fees, alone, were more than I'd been paying for an entire bill with previous companies. Try MP2 Energy! I did, and I'm very pleased!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kymberlie from For Worth, TX on May 17th, 2020


Recommended Electricity Plans