Charged me a full month for 3 days
I was not allowed to change my company until the 3rd of august without paying a fee. The Billing day was up July 31st and then I was switched to my new company. My bill was over $400 because they charged me a full month for the 3 days. They also didn't send me a notice or a bill like they always do by email, they just deducted it automatically from my card. They do this because they know you will not let the false charge go through. I emailed them and they refused refund because my contract states any usage from 1-1000 kw will be charged. So I asked them if they felt OK charging a full month for 3 days of usage and they stated again about the contract, no regrets on their side. They have no problem because they have your credit card. You are also not allowed to remove your credit card from your account so they will always have access to that card until the credit card expires. I am tempted to go ahead and call my bank and have them flagged because I really feel like they are going to keep charging my card, why else would they not let you remove it after you are no longer a customer. This is one of the worst electric companies I have ever seen.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ronda Shepherd from Houston, TX on August 18th, 2020
If I could give them a zero I would!!!
Horrible customer service and billing!!! Because of a glitch in THEIR SYSTEM they ended up charging me several times but it appears in their system i wasn't charged. After getting on the phone with them for WEEKS and providing bank statements and calling the bank several times, THEY CUT OFF MY ELECTRICITY!!!!
of course since it was 100 degrees out and in the middle of a work day and I tried to get in touch with them for 2 hours I ended up switching to another provider. And now they're charging 400 dollars for a termination fee! I wouldn't have to if you didn't CUT OFF MY POWER!!! but of course since their customer service is quite inexperienced and they aren't trained so its like talking to a brick wall.

DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nadean Khedr from Katy, TX on August 13th, 2020
Good Experience
Have been satisfied with all aspects of their plans and service. Would recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PTin BigD from Dallas, TX on July 16th, 2020
Beware of these guys
Pay extra attention to your bill, especially the advertised Oncor Delivery Charge that's shown.

I noticed that they increased mine to a different rate in my bill than what was originally advertised on the EFL label.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Mansfield, TX on July 7th, 2020
Hard to sign up
I tried to sign up on line, and after completing all forms and information, they made me call customer service. After 45 minutes on the phone, I thought all was good. 3 days after my service they called and said they needed my credit card information (which I already had given) to start service. Very shady.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Spring, TX on June 15th, 2020
Shady company do not use!!!
Had a flat rate itroductory plan that looks great on paper cant complain about it but they set up my billing cycle so that the plan expired 3 days after my final full month billng cycle so that they could collect a whole months payment for 3 days of service even if i had stayed with them and renew on one of their high dollar plans... and will not budge on the payment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Annoyed Former Customer from Katy, TX on May 26th, 2020
Horrible
They over charged and would only allow us to pay our account through auto draft. I get paid bi-weekly and it never fell on a pay week and wouldn't allow us to change to draft date.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thiele from West, TX on May 22nd, 2020
Please Dont Choose
The is low first time continues to go up. I paid $200 the next electric cut off no warning during the pandemic charged me 480 to turn back on. Lie you ask for a manager its the same person thats CS REP, crooked
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra Tinsley from Lancaster, TX on May 18th, 2020
Horribly expensive. Worth paying to get away
I was shocked at my first bill. The fees, alone, were more than I'd been paying for an entire bill with previous companies. Try MP2 Energy! I did, and I'm very pleased!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kymberlie from For Worth, TX on May 17th, 2020
Very poor customer experience.
I was switched back to express after two months under a new provider without my consent. By the time I figure it out express had withdrawn over $1k from my bank account nothing like paying twice for the same energy. Ive call and tried to work out a plan with express as their rate was almost twice as high the plan I actually signed up for. Instead of working with me they just sent me to collections. What I really hatted was their customer service saying over and over I understand how you feel. Really you understand how it feels to be charged twice as much for something than what you agree to and anyone you talk to cant help you or give you any information on how work out a solution. I really dont understand how this company feels about the way they treat customers and stay in business.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied Customer from The Woodlands, TX on April 28th, 2020







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Express Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
4%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
7%
 
1 Stars
78%
 
1.5 / 5
Overall
1.8 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
1.8 / 5
Order Experience
1.3 / 5
Customer Service
1.4 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.2 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Express Energy



Recommended Electricity Plans